(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

I new here,juz went to see my gynae in the morning,BB is about 6.5week ..EDD is 31th july..
I been feeling nausea since ytd..Can eat at all..but still have to pull myself to work..

Ah !!! can't drink sugar cane ah ??? alamak...i feel soo... good to calm down my thrist with the sugar cane juice !!!feel guilty now...but my favorite drink is sugar cane juice

Thanks mummies and mommies-to-be for advice, look like i must forgo my favorite sugar cane juice, what a sacrify !!
Hopefully my bb is ok...this Fri, i'll go for the 3rd scan, really wanna know if bb inside doing well.
sunsweet, i don't think office feng shui leh, 'coz u preggy
Me also feel dizzy after coming back from lunch, i thought maybe i walk a lot during lunch!

Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread. Previously thought I was due in Aug09 but my gynae told me that my EDD is actually 28 July 2009! Went for my first checkup/scan today, baby is 1.1cm and heartbeat could be seen.

Now wondering if I should go for my holiday (booked long ago) during X'mas. Doc says should be no problem, but my family is quite concerned...

Hello mummies..

me just back from the long weekend plus my birthday yesterday..was kinda diff as this is my first bday with my little one inside me ; )
ooo...so excited abt my 2nd appt on Friday...hopefully this time round I can see baby's heartbeat..

Also welcome to all the new mummies who have just joined us...

Oh Sheryl,
hope you feel much better by end of the day...just rest well and sleep off the day..sometimes its just the relaxation we need..

Sunweet,
did you tell ya gynae abt your bad MS? maybe there are some pills to overcome it?

Re: Fruits to avoid
Heard from mum to also avoid papaya and pineapple completely..so do take note mummies!

Blessed,
happy belated birthday!

Sunsweet,
my gynea told me the peak of MS is at 12 weeks.
after tat, either our body is used to all the hormones or we carry on having MS till the end of the pregnancy.
fingers crossed!!!

hee....tis second pregnancy i am also abit bochap
eat alot of "not supposed to eat" food/fruits.

aaawwwww.....i missed sushi n sashimi

welcome to Zhen, Jessie n Sunnyduck

Blessed09,

I've told my gynae abt the MS.. but i told myself as long as i can tahan, i'll try not to take medication..

HKBB,
maybe you are rite.. dizzy maybe bec from the walking .. wah like that I'm like very weak ...

sunnyduck,
where are you planning to go during christmas?

Sunsweet,
I'm going to BKK to attend a friend's graduation (she lives there) then heading (by 3hr train) to Hua Hin for a couple of days before coming home to Singapore. Total length of trip is 6 days. Gynae thinks it should be okay, but since it's my first preg my parents are nagging me not to go.

I don't really have bad MS, just occasional feelings of nausea (esp if I'm hungry!) and sometimes feeling v tired.

If you often feel dizzy, try putting your feet up and rotating your ankles to improve blood circulation to your head. It sometimes helps... Also, rest more if you can.

Blessed09
Happy belated birthday!!!

Re:fruits

Actually i have spoken to my gynae about papaya. She said that papaya is ok to eat, but fruits which is orangy or yellowish in colour, will turn you to look yellowish if you consume too much.. It's the colouring that is making the trick that makes one look like we have jaundice.. So it's better for us to avoid such collouring food no matter we are preggy or not.. The colour change on our body is actually harmless to our body or bb.. But!!!! No matter how harmless it is, still, having overeating of food, will not do our body well too.. So eat in moderate.. Actually, even when bb is born and able to eat semi solid food, we should be feeding our precious one with too much of carrot also.. If bb eat too much, they will turn yellowish.. And i have heard that watermelon that is selling at those cut fruit stall is a no no for preggy as it contains alot of bateria that one preggy may not be able to handle... Just for your references..

Hi sunsweet, take care during your trip, maybe have medicated oil (if you can tahan the smell) on hand in case if you had dizzy spells during the journey.

Sunnyduck, my gynae said that it's ok to travel as long you do not experience any discomfort/bleeding during normal times. I had read it somewhere that it's the pressure if you are taking flight that might affect pregnant women. And also if anything is to happen (Touchwood!), oversea medical help might be hard to come by (usually for those developing countries) and the type of medications they give might be different especially if you have allergies.

Been eating unhealthy food and cold soft drinks these days.. feel so guilty and everytime after meal will have weird taste in my mouth..

Abt fruits, i read that it's ok to eat ripe papaya as it contain lots of fibre but not those unripe or semi ripe type as it might cause contraction (did i spell correctly?) That is why most pregnant women avoid papaya during the 1st trimester.

sunnyduck,

i think for travelling just don't strech yourself too much.. keep the trip easy going.. should be find..

also becareful of drinking water & food consumed..

make sure they are well-cooked

i avoid ice if possible too..

i tot 12 week is end of 1st trimester?

keke now me approaching 8th week..

already feel so "sigh" cannot imagine 12th week.. what will happend ???

sunsweet yes week 12 is the end
and thats the peak... i also duno y is it week 12

funny thg is now thou im in week 10.. i feel slightly better than when i was in week 5/6

so i tink it might varies with different ppl.
so mayb u will get better too
rem to eat sth when u feel sick.. that was what i did.. i am literally eating every 2 hour. and that was hw i overcome the bad ms part. i puke if i eat the wrong thg example sweet stuff..

I had MS for my first pregnancy till end of second tri.

Cannot drink sugar cane? O O, I have been drinking big time man. For my first, I was more cautious, so only drink cold stuff on and off, but towards the end cannot really be bothered, coz I feel thirsty all the time.

For fruits, I eat everything in moderation. When I ask my gyne about food, he say everything also can drink, just moderation. Dont overeat or undereat.

Hi ladies, i've seen my gynae before i left for my trip. Can detect the heartbeat of the bb already. V interesting & exciting. My EDD is 16 jul 09

blessed09

hahah, i cheated with my first pregnancy, was actually stopped from eating pineapples but when there were no family members around, i ate it by the truckload or at least till i was so bloated that i could miss lunch and dinner. :p

hbb

are you sure about this MS thing coz i just started it. did not have it with my first at all. now its just puke and puke all that i eat even if it just 2 soup spoons of porridge. its so sick. only had 2 soup spoon of porridge for the day and am puking till now.

jasmine wat u mean am i sure bout the ms thgy?
u mean the peak?
i was told peak is week 12.. and also by other mtbs too.

as to when 1 will start ms.. it varies one leh.. i started pukin since week 4/5.. now not so bad already.. thou still puke. i hoping my peak is over LOL still keeping finger cross bout week 12 lor

i tink diff pregnancy will varies one leh cannot compare

i tink u might b hungry... eat sth so u dun puke 2 spoon of porridge is v little
when i am pukey.. means i need to eat liao leh
but mayb diff ppl diff symptom

try the soda cracker ok.. it helps to curb a bit of the puking.

MS peak at wk 12? oh no... already feel so sick. can't imagine when it peaks. actually like HBB, my MS seems much better than when wk 5/6. Some days feel very lousy but some days ok. Unlike last time, everyday lousy.

can't wait for my gynae visit on sat to see how much baby has grown.

babyethan.. glad u also getting better..
i tink realy diff ppl diff one. but i know our body will continue w alot of hormones production till 1st trimester becos till then.. the uterus n amino sac is still developing.. canot provide any nutrient for bb. so the hormone will work till they r ready. (read online)

HBB... really hopes it will get better very soon. nowadays i'm eating a lot of junk food than proper meals. lunch time always eat malay food like mee siam, penang laksa, mee soto. have been a long time since i eat those economical rice with veg n fish. can't stomach those. dinner always cannot finish especially veg. can trigger my nausea very easily. wonder how to provide bb with the proper nutrients.

babyethan
i tink our body got back up nutrients one. dun worry
this is what i know from the nurses in kkh soemwhere earlier this year.
my sis wasnt eating well and worry her breastmilk no nutrients for her boy. but the nurse assured her our body always got back up one. so no worries.
i guess its the same for us bah. cos i ask my gynae if i need multi vit since i cant eat properly.. i can onli take carbo food like porridge n pasta. no vege or meat either. he also say no need.

yes yes i like meeiam now also! but i dund are eat too much cos is care when i puke then heart burn cos its a bit spicy... hehe

we will get thru this tough period soon!!! 3 to 6 weeks more for everyone before 1st tri is over!!!!

Hi MrsC and Sunsweet,
Thanks for the advice and tips about traveling. I think that for now, since I can't get my money back on the tickets/hotel, I probably will still go on the trip, although like you have said, to take it easy and be careful with what I consume. I am still fairly active even in Singapore so I guess I should still be okay in BKK, right? (Hopefully no airport closures though because my gynae visit is the day after I return!)

jasmine... mayb is a passing phrase.. aft awhile it will b ok...

start late better hehe...

i am entering week 11 tomolo too...

hahah HBB

we will be one of the early mummies here.

really hope so. coz it sucks... hahah now i know what it feels like coz i use to tell my galfriends that its just a passing phase. :p hoping it will end off at week 12 though.

HBB
Chances quite high wor... i think i may deliver in end june if going for planned csect.

any mummies here who had csect for previous deliveries and planning vbac this round?

heheh

will be going for vb this round coz did it for #1 and it was easy. recovery was within a week and i was back to normal.

yaps the dr was saying that my #2 should be edd between 1 to 3rd july. :p hahah cant confirm coz i also cant confirm my lmp. :p

heheh

will be going for vb this round coz did it for #1 and it was easy. recovery was within a week and i was back to normal.

yaps the dr was saying that my #2 should be edd between 1 to 3rd july. :p hahah cant confirm coz i also cant confirm my lmp. :p

blessed09, happy belated birthday! update us after yr gynae visit ok?

re: MS i cnt imagine if MS peak at wk 12. now still at wk 10. MS is on n off.some days gd some days not.... sigh! its a terrible feeling bt at least i know bb is well.

btw gals,we cnt eat sushi ah? oh no...i am gg to jap restaurant with my frezs tml for dinner. thought i cn take e cooked sushi?

heheh

BabyEthan and all mummies

I had c-sect on the #1, so i really have no idea how it is going to be. My first Gynae said (after my 1st delivery): for #2 i can try v-b, chance are 60% ! I will ask my current Gynae tomorrow when i'm going for the 3rd appt/scan. Kindly of worrying as a lot of ppl said, if #1 is c-, high chance the #2 same. My best friend #1, v-b, #2 c-sect, #3 she managed v-b again

My EDD is 1Jul, not sure it will be earlier, like late Jun or not.

I read a book abt preg, to avoid feet/leg water retention, try not to stand too long during the day, put up your leg when sleeping, not to cross your leg while sitting...i need to change my habit, i always cross leg when sitting.

Sunnyduck:take great care of yourself during the trip ok, hope everything in ok now in BKK

Does anyone know when we should start applying stretch mark creams? I heard from another friend that the earlier you start (before tummy starts growing), the better. Which brands are good? So far I've only heard about Clarins Tonic Oil and Palmer's Cocoa Butter. Would prefer something not too oily or sticky.

Hkbb,
Thanks! Yes, hope BKK won't erupt in chaos again. And I also need to break my habit of crossing legs when I sit! :p

I just went for my check-up today. 11wks now. Baby 4.27cm long. Slightly longer than the average as shown in baby center website.
Check out this website for average fetal length and weight chart: http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart

sunnyduck,
You can start applying the stretch mark cream now. I used Palmer's cocoa butter for my #1 but started to hv itchy tummy from 3rd trimester. So this time, I'm switching to Clarins Stretchmark cream. Not oily or sticky. Nice smell. I find Clarins tonic oil a little oily.

Yes, my sis also told me can start applying the stretch marks cream now. She tried Palmer's before and say the effect is quite good.

My 1st gynae strongly advised not to travel during 1st trimester. But I still go ahead and have just came back from HK

You just need to be extra careful on what you eat and dun tire yourself out.