(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Can I join this thread? I suspect I am preggy but still can't cfm yet.

Mummies, can share with me on more details of Dr Douglas Ong & Dr Adrian Woodworth?

They are near my hse but I am not sure who to use.

TQ~

hi december,

if u worry abt flying, get ur gynae 2 diagnose u not suitable for flying and show 2 ur travel agency.

the most u can get ur tickets delayed for probably 3 months whereas ur hotel accomodation money will be forteited.

sheryl
I actually dun feel secure without those pills as I also had MC in last cycle. But since gynae said no bleeding & spotting, can stop. I'll monitor & keep my fingers crossed.

I think 1.3cm is not the bb's measurement. What's your bb's lenght now?

Hi Tays21s,

I'm seeing Dr. Adrian. He is a man of little...very little words. You got to make a list of things need to ask him. If you depend on him to feed you with information, it can be very disappointing. Not very good for first time mum.

This is my first pregnancy but I'm sticking to him because his clinic is very near to my house and is open till 9pm. This save me lots of trouble of having to take leave from work to go for checkup and not having to rush from one point to another all the time.

Updates

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josey</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Mashy,

Can add me? Baby#1 Dr James Lee NUH 20-Jul. Thanks..

Hi Tays21 &amp; Josey,

The very weird robotic Dr that I mentioned for my 1st visit is Dr Adrian Woodworth. Talk very little, and like machine gun, see you within 5 to 10 mins, but charge very expensive. He's the one that give me hormone tab 3 times/day tat make me goo goo gah gah.. You better reconsider..
Dun mind, are you satying at Chua Chu Kang? I heard from SIL, alot of friend mentioned the gynae clinic just beside Dr Adrian at CCK central is very good.

LS,
Did u tell yr gynae abt yr fears? N is he aware of your previous MC? I last saw my gynae on 15 Nov. I was then 6 wks plus n bb is abt 0.7cm. Not sure abt bb growth now. Kinda excited n worried too. Coz I was sick last week n still having occasional coughs now... worried that it will affect my dear bb. Having bad MS too, its just getting better these few days.

I am confused or rather worried. Supposed to be seeing my gynae only on 13 Dec. Its a long long wait. However, I was sick last week n still having occasional coughs now... especially at night now I will cough non-stop. Is it called cold cough? I am worried that it will affect bb. Also, having bad MS at times. It just seems to get better yesterday.

Do you all tink I shld push forward my visit to next week instead? Am i worrying unnecessarily?

Hi Tays21 &amp; Josey,
I'm with Dr Adrian too. This is my 2nd pregnancy.
I find him quite ok. Suits my needs. But if you need a gynae who is chatty, he's definitely not the one. He will however answer all your questions. As for cost wise, by pte gynae's standard, he's pretty ok. Package can start from 1st visit, can claim from medisave when you deliver. Unlimited visits. I'm seeing him fortnightly now.

Hi Tays21 and Josey,

I'm with Dr Adrian too. He is a man of little words but when he talks its like machine gun, my hubby has difficulty catching up with him sometimes haha. Initially wanted to switch after my first visit but decided to give him a second chance and find him quite ok after my second visit. You jus have to list out all the questions that you wanna ask him and he'll ans them. His package is really cheap and its near my hse too. He was highly recommended by my friend.

Hi Tays21 and Josey,

Yes, what enidmummy and hazelle hav mentioned is right, Dr Adrian is a man of little words but he is a caring gynae. During my first pregnancy, i hav experienced a very bad MS and gotta stay in hospital for drip. He made an effort to spare out some of his time to visit me at hospital. So eventually before you visit him, just list out a note of questions at home first and asked him on the spot during ur next visit...

Btw, Dr Adrian Woodworth antenatal package charges $550 + 7%GST = $588.50

Package can start from your very 1st visit, can claim from medisave when you deliver. Unlimited visits.

During my first preggy, i was sick quite often.. he did not charge me all those flu, cough etc etc medicine which he has prescribe for me too..

wow, so many patients from Dr Adrian Woodworth...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josey</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Now wait to see gynae start to worry abt a lot of things.... What if it's ectopic? What if there's no heartbeat? Gosh. Now beginning to wanna see gynae earlier.

sheryl
He got the record of my previous MC so I didn't remind him yesterday. He just said it's alright not to take the hormones pills.

About your cough, have u seen any GP? If u feel more comfortable to bring your appt forward, just do it. No harm i think! Worrying whether or not to see your gynae earlier, won't help at all. So, if your gynae could do a scan &amp; prescribe some medicine for your cough, it'll give u reassurance.. Take care!

On a totally non-related topic to pregnancy and its related topics, I went to see the pantomime Snow White &amp; the 7 Dwarfs last night at the Drama Centre. It was super, super good! In fact, I laughed so much my MS temp took a back seat (with the help of a packet of suan mei)! If you are free and in need of a few laughs, do go catch it. Well worth the $$. And I don't work for Wild Rice, if you are wondering

Mashy, mashy dear, fret not, chill chill...breathe...I am sure things are fine, just relax, write down all your queries and send your gynae an email. Just counted - we have 23 July MTBs - woohoo! That's a good number and it will only grow. How nice for my little one to grow up with at least 22 other little friends...

FOZ

Can't help it leh. When I had my #1, I was already puking and sleeping like crazy in my week 5. Now I'm not getting any of these. And I'm having back aches &amp; shoulder pain. Dunno it's coz last night didn't sleep in proper position or ectopic. Really dun feel fang xin until see the bb in the scan.

Hi Tay21,
My gynae is Dr Douglas Ong, he's very friendly and patient, answer all my queries (which im abit blur as 1st time MTB) . As he's BP clinic only open from 7.30-9.30 at nite, it's usually quite crowded thus advance booking for visits is a must. I heard he's good in complicated pregnancy and stitching after birth (frm forum mtbs). Beside the BP clinic, he has one in Mt E which operate in the morn - afternoon.

For thos mtb travelling to cold countries, do remember your ear mufflers or have a cap that is able to cover your ears. You will feel cold even u have ur glove, scarf, cap but ears expose.
Yes, the anti slip guard that is put undearneath the shoe is a must especially if it's hard snow and not those powdery snow. Remember to have good comfort high cut boots/shoes. I encountered a heavy snow pour in Hokkaido and the snow on the roads was so hight it caused my leather shoes to be soaked cos it's not high cut.

i agree w FOZ. Most of my colleagues seems to be free of MS, same goes for my SIL. I felt sick n weak instead...

For my 1st pregnancy, MS was only very mild. Only tired and feel like puking in the evening. This time round, a little worse. more puking in after lunch and dinner.

FOZ

going next tues. somehow feel this preg like dun feel very much leh. Till now still dun have MS. Like having an easier preg already. Hahaha. Maybe i'm having a gal.
But sometimes when so easy, no ms, start to think of a lot of things.

same here...feeling super down and also restless..was at home the whole day yest! wanted to leave the house for some fresh air but did not do so after while..just slouched in my sofa...

now too just no mood for anything...

Hi Cecelia,

I took 3 duphaston a day too, so far I'm fine. I guess different body react differently to the dosage bah.

blessed09

5 weeks. Next tues should be abt 6 weeks. At first wanted even later but coz my gynae going on leave and I'm going HK so brought forward. Good thing didn't book so late else I'll be so anxious just waiting for the date.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josey</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Mashy,

just relax and dun worry much for now okie? guess we have each other to just support ; ) Just 4 more days and you will be able to see your little one...tahan abit more ya..

LS

Yes, I will be going for the OSCAR test on 22nd Dec. As to nec or not depends on your level of comfort. NT Scan alone is 80% accurate while OSCAR is 90%.

Hi ning
Do u know if OSCAR test claimable from Medisave? Should we need to do amniocentesis after OSCAR test if we're categorised as high risk of carrying DS baby, there'll be another 1k plus to be paid on top of that. Is that claimable too?

Hey girls, what is OSCAR test? What's it for??
My next appt is this coming Monday, on 1st dec, I should be close to 8 weeks then. Poor Mashy! I hope you rest well tonight and tomorrow the gynae can tell you nothing to worry abt...

Thanks for the comments.

I will get the kit and test this weekend....Hopeful is good news as I also have MS in the evening....Feeling tired too.....

I find Dr Adrian is good when u hv a normal pregnancy no complication. He is really cheap and good.

But will try Dr Douglas Ong first if cfm preggy to see how is it.

I heard eating soda biscuit can help on MS but dunno sure or not...

FOZ
OSCAR test is a test like ultrasound to know our chances of having bb w/ DS (Down Syndrome). If we're on the high risk category, more invasive test will be carried out (amniocentesis) by inserting a needle to extract some of amnio fluid to confirm whether bb is alright or not. The 2nd test has 0.1% risk of MC &amp; costs around 1k plus. I've ever read that most of those who had their OSCAR done &amp; with high risk, did the 2nd test &amp; most came out with good result (normal babies).

I'm confused now because this means OSCAR not really reliable &amp; should you decide to do OSCAR, be prepared also for amniocentesis (unless OSCAR's result is low risk).

What do u think? Will u do it?

LS
I thought its better to do... at least we know the risk.

Btw i have seen a GP for my cough. Given very mild medicine, thats why didnt recover much lo. Bt I am feeling better now. Will be pushing forward my appt till next Fri. Cnt wait to scan n chk on my bb.

Mashy, how r u? hows yr chk up? hope everything is well.

Mashy,

hope you are better this am and you hear only good news from your doc...

Re: MS

Yes, I thot I was just one of those 90% till 15mins ago! Yup had my first puke! oh boy feels so much better after puking...the before effect was sooo horrible...could not sit, stand and concentrate on anything..

sheryl
Glad that u're feeling better now. Hope u'll have a total recovery by next Fri &amp; see your healthy bb! Our babies must be very busy these few weeks. Lots of things to develop

mashy
Sorry to know that u have bleeding. Do u bedrest? Hope to hear good news from u today! Take care too!

Hi Mashy,

So how? Have you seen gynae today? So worried for ya suddenly..

Josey,

maybe up to individual bah.. Like I say it's the chemistry between the person and the DR. Didn't have very great impression of him, so perhaps whatever he asked me to do, I will sort of ??? Even the medication. Ha HA!! But dun be affected by my comment really if you feel tat he's good..
kao_smile2.gif

Hi Mashy,

U try to rest more, hopefully the baby is fine, u should rest well over the weekend.

Hi Sheryl, as my earlier, i've got the same like what you have, i've bad sorethroat and cough, saw GP and also given mild cough syrup, paracetamol...it takes so long for me to recover, not like before pregnancy, it's been 2weeks and i still have cough, very irritating.
My next appt will be at 12weeks time.

Any mummy know when Gynae will suggest the OSCAR test ?
I recalled (at my 1st pregncy), the detailed ultrasound for DS carried out about 4-5months pregnant if i'm not wrong

Mashy,

Hope you are feeling better after seeing your gynae. Take Care and rest more ya!!

RE: Oscar

I don't think we can claim OSCAR and Amnio test from Medisave. From what I remember we are only allowed to claimed maximum of S$550 for pre-delivery expenses.

I have utilised the full S$550 for my antenatal package signed from 4th months onwards. Hence the Oscar test cost is out of my own pocket.