(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

morning

this monring while brushing teeth.. I feellike puking..

thinking of something sour to kerb the puky feeling... thinking of mee siam for b'fast..

but mee siam bought not sour enough.. sigh..

wonder what is good to eat for lunch.. its only 10.30 and i'm thinking abt lunch.. :p

hahah

me too now just had breakfast and thinking about lunch already.

sunsweet
thats quite normal, its a regular for me for my first and now experiencing the same thing again. but in this case its something sweet that helps.
every pregnancy is different.

my #1.. basically did not give me and MS/ cravings / early bludge and I was full of energy.... everything was like as if i was not preggy..

now #2.. have a bit MS, feels tired easily, early bludging lower adbominal..
is it bec i'm older now? keke..

sunsweet

hahah i don think so coz for me there is only a year in difference but for me i was enjoying the first pregnancy. for now it seems the least thing can trigger MS (though not vomiting yet), feels tired easily, and am having earlier bulging lower abdominal....

Jasmine
Heehee, could be in the same shop before cos' my #1 is 2 mths older than your #1. Pretty close period that we were both preggy at that time. I used to visit the Raffles Place & Suntec branch. U?

Sunsweet
I'm using Pigeon sterlizer. So far so good. But dun buy so soon, wait for those baby fair (Esp Taka baby fair) got freebies & is cheaper.

sunsweet wats a 3in 1 steamer? do u mean the ones that can steam food?

i intend to buy sth liek food steamer so nxt time aft no need sterilise i can steam food with it =p

sunsweet

am using the philips 3 in 1 sterilizer, i would recommend it to anyone who wants. it going at 104 at isetan scotts currently don think there will be further discounts for it as there was no discount for it at the previous isetan private sale. i used the avent 1q 24 before but i find that in the long run the philips is better. cant say for pigeon as i have yet to use it.

janbb

hahahah yaps but i only visit the suntec branch as i go there to shop on the weekends with hubby.

Han Bao Bao

I did the same thing too for my #1. I got a Tefal Steamer and sterilised my boy's bottles, my pump with it. Now it's steaming his bao among other food. It's so much more useful than a dedicated steriliser.

jasmine,

once sterlize the bottles, the bottle compartment can be remove?

then can attached on the compartment for warming up milk?

in this case the milk bottles are still kept in a clean condition right?

cos i see form the internet is seems to be a base with different attachement on it for different usage.. am i right?

Oh, as a feedback from this mother who has been thru it, don't get Avent Bottles.

They've been leaking very badly. When we first had it in 2006, it was ok, but the later batches were very bad. It leaks even with new bottles. A lot of complaints from mummies.

really?

have been using nuk teats with avent bottles with my boy no such prob leh? oh heheeh i actually do order the avent bpa free bottles from the us, using that for my boy.

for me i would just sterilise what i need, then seal them as that way they are sterile for up to 2 hrs, then i change the top to the one for warming milk / steamer.

Friend of Zoo(jerene)
Very kind of u to offer emailing the recipe! I'm craving of Siomay Bandung and found yesterday that it can be bought @Lucky Plaza. There're a few of indonesian stalls there. But thank u so much! Really appreciate it!

Other mummies, any of u experience lower back pain? I had this pain last evening on my right lower back until it's diff to move & stand but it went away this morning after a good sleep. I've been having this pain since my 1st miscarriage in Sep'08 but it's ON and OFF.

Feeling sick & wanna vomit but nothing comes out. How do u all tackle this? Is lemon water help?

jas,

how many bottles can it sterlise at 1 go?

I'm planning to use pigeon's narrow neck bottle for my #2.. same as my #1.

heheh not sure about the pigeon though coz i have never used it. :p hahah i am an avent fan (rather everything that i got for my boy was avent on my mum's recommendation for my #1). i intend to use back what i can with #2. :p

sunsweet,

i just went through the manual, it say can sterilize 6 normal bottles at one go.

han bao bao
i agree, it come very highly recommended by my friends who work as nurses.

in fact they say that till now its one of the best in teh market for baby teats. only bad thing is that its abit difficult to match the teats with other bottles eg. pigeon, avent (there is a trick to how you have to hold the bottle to prevent leakage. more difficult when trying to feed a newborn)

jasmine ya the hole gotto face down or sth like tat rite?
that teat resemble the nipple most i tink.. so bb might not reject bottle or breast so easily if we use the other oen too much...

heheh

maybe for my #1 i was lucky, never had a prob with feeding him. but i must say that this is definately the teat that resembles the nipple the most. coz it seems that it how mine looks like now after being a mummy cow for close to 9mths.

think its the hole is facing up.but there is an angle to hold the bottle too otherwise will still leak.

ya cos of the hole i tink so will leak but use properly then ok.. onz.. i am buyin nuk liao.. after waiting for 6 yrs hahaaaaa

hahah

don buy yet wait for the christmas sale there will be loads of good deals going on. am waiting for it to
but i think there will be a taka baby fair in march you may want to wait for that. also think there may be an expo baby fair in the pipeline too. now its really not worth getting yet. as its still to early

ya still early
i tink in states nuk is cheaper also rite? will get dh to buy fr states hee.. gg to buy the breast pump thr as well hehe

really can lunge back for me too?
hahah
i am thinking of getting the avent 1q duo. hahah i survived on the manual avent pump for the last 9mths. my hand is breaking down already

a bit hard haaa cos he is asked to buy bk 1200pcs of milk bag already apart fr my medela PIS/freestyle haha unless he post bk LOL

goodness 1200pcs of milk bag?
what is it for? so many!!!! :p hahaha hmmmm that is why i am still considering . coz to post back its still rather costly. making the diff in price from sg about 150 only
haiz i should have bought it when the usd was low
then coz my boy was already 4 mths, decide that i can continuse with what i had to save costs.

ha ahalf is for myself and the other half are formy gfs who need them.. is nto alot actualy cos if use avg 4 pcs a day.. 10 mth use up 1000pcs liao and v much cheaper thr.. mayb u girls shld spree haa

afternoon mummies! just back from lunch and already panting...ooo also do you mummies have freq cramps at the abdominal area? this am was kinda bad...me also waking up almost 4 times to pee at night! phew!! all this is soo new!

waking to pee so soon?

until the bludge really press on your bladder then u'll have more frequent night toilet trips..

just dun drink too much water at night.

as for cramps.. once a while i have a slight pull.. probably its normal..

think i remember that dr was saying that slight cramps are normal. part of our womb adjusting to the new life in us.

as for night pees
i am having the same prob too. only that its not so frequent. about 1 per night as compared to sleeping through.

Hi Mashy & HBB, thanks for the info!, will bypass bugis and chinatown this weekend to shop for pants.. was so alarmed when i couldn't button my jeans! I dun believe it's the baby, it's more of the bloatedness...

I tend to spend more on taxi fare nowadays as i will get queasy at certain bus rides (hate it especially when the bus driver was jerking the bus all the way!)..

Night pees/Cramps
So lucky! I have been waking at least thrice every night to visit the loo, such an inconvenience, plus it is so not restful, sigh...but lucky no cramps so far, so sorry to hear some mommies are suffering from frequent cramps, I imagine it must be so uncomfortable and scary.

Sales
Isetan has their private sales (members can bring in some guests) next on 26 Dec 08 (Friday). Apply for leave now? You also get to enjoy an ultra long weekend...

LS
My helper does not know how how to make siomay bandung but I google for it and posted it here so all other mommies can also enjoy the recipe.

SIOMAY BANDUNG(FISH DUMPLING BANDUNG STYLE)
Ingredients:
1 kg Spanish Mackerel (ikan tengiri)
50 gr Pork fat
400 gr Tapioca flour
1 Egg
Sesame oil
Salt & Pepper
Spring onion (optional)
5 Baby Potato, peeled and halves
4 Hard boiled egg, peeled and halves vertically
1 pack Won Ton Skin
10 sheets Cabbage leaves
1 pack Firm Beancurd

2 stalks Spring Onion, chopped finely
(Optional - 1 Bitter Gourd(Pare) - sliced horizontally about 2cm thick)

Directions:

1. Take out the meat of the fish and chop using food processor, together with all the seasonings.
2. Mix the seasoned fish ground with flour and egg, add the spring onion, mix through until you can make ball from the mixture.
3. Cut the beancurd into six cube and half them diagonally, take out a piece to make a small hole in the middle, same with the potato as well. (if you also using the bitter gourd, make sure you take out all the seeds)
4.Put a tbsp of mixture on top of all beancurds, potatoes, eggs, bitter gourd and fill the wonton skin with a tbsp of mixture as well and form a pocket.
5. Heat the steamer until the water boiled, keep the heat high, and steam all the siomay for 20 minutes. Make sure you give a space between the siomay (it may need to cook in batches).
6. Serve with Peanut Chilli Sauce and Sweet Dark Soy Sauce/Kecap Manis.

Enjoy!

Friend of Zoo (jerene)
Thank u for the recipe!!! Die die must eat this within this week! My colleague told me when we're preggie & feel eating something, go for it! Otherwise, baby comes out will tend to drool..Hahaha.. I dun quite believe it lah & guess it's mummy who drools if can't get what we want..

Jasmine

Maybe coz it's used with nuk teats? Hmmm... Besides myself, a lot of my other forum friends have been complaining abt them.

Re: Cramps & Urine
I've been waking up at night to pee ever since I had my #1. It just didn't go away. sigh.

I've been getting cramps too. ouch! Went to sleep just now to forget abt it.

Friends of Zoo
wow, how come u know so fast? Already got the newsletter? I haven't received it yet. I'm a big fan of Isetan's Pte Sale.

LS
You are most welcome, do try it out and let me know how it turned out, I am darn curious!

Mashy
pssst...my mom works in isetan and I even get extra discount (staff privilege)!

i'm currently 8 weeks and do not experience and MS...wonder if its normal? Anyone here with no MS till now?I'm getting worried.

oh hahah friend of zoo

that means that we can meet up to shop.... hahah coz my mum's office is nearby. isetan scotts is like my only hangout now adays.

Hi MTBs,

Newbie here.

Any MTBs seeing Dr Benjamin Tham from KK?

Can share the consultation fees, and package fees if any?

Friend of Zoo

Wow woo wee!!! THanks! If there's any sale updates or bb fair, do let us know. TIA!

pleasance

It's normal lah. In fact if you don't have MS, u should go and thank God liao. There are pp who don't get MS so no need to worry.

mashy

hmmm never thought of that, haha but once you get the hang of how to hold the avent bottle at a certain angle it dont have that prob anymore. so am ok with it.