(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Hi Fang, I'm fine... busy w work as well. In Singapore this Dec cos projects still go on...
And yeah, can utter some words... not that I can understand all

Ah Ching: So far K is quite ok with strangers, guess it helps that nanny place got quite a few relatives visiting. Won't be putting him to center yet. Anyway, my hubby mum has been part timing at many centers for many years. She's one of the first gotten herself certified in infant care and she's deadly against putting kids there some how also.

While at nanny's place, K will start to ask for mama around 7pm. Nanny has taught him that only when the door bell rings there mama will be here. So he'll be very excited when the door bell's ring! Guess it helps that he's still breastfeeding and he love the latching part... sometimes after one side, he'll unlatch and want the other side.. hahaha

Ah yo dolly: How I wish I can still bf my boy..
not sure whether he'll still want to bf after I deliver his mei mei.. ha ha
do u think will have enuf milk if i bf both of them?
milk powder very expensive!

I am looking for:

a) 2nd HAND RAINFOREST JUMPEROO.
b) BRILL KIDS FLASH CARDS

Please email me if you have 2nd hand jumperoo & Brill kids flash cards for sale. thanks.

Ah Ching, now i'm also looking for childcare for my gal so she won't associate mei mei with us not being around her so much. sigh.. so last min as i only started searching these 2 weeks. previously tot i can look after her till after my maternity leave ends. but think it's good for her to socialise with other kids and perhaps learn some discipline cos she wants to watch mickey mouse all day! and when she sees other kids, she just stands there staring at them. maybe waiting for them to approach her like adults do cos ppl usually want to come over and play with her.

hmm.. as for bf, think i'm most likely be expressing for her. had a hard time weaning her off. so thinking maybe expressing for one feed for her. hope can have enough milk for both too!

re: water
had a hard time trying to give water to my gal too. she refuses water in any container and only drinks when she's really really thristy which is after i play with her sometimes. but she drink yakult lite. only wants to play with the original yakult and refuses to drink. refuses ribena, suspect cos it looks like the medicine we feed her for cough the other time. refuses oranges with she used to like.

tofeecat: I also thought can look after my boy until after ML.. but I think I cant cope as my boy is always throwing tantrum and seeking my attention now.. at least your gal still want to watch mickey mouse

should bring your gal to the cc of your choice a few times and see how she interacts with the teacher and peers..
i brought my son twice.. so far he is ok roaming around on his own.
hopefully can start him in Jan at least 2-3 weeks before I pop.

abt bf.. i think I also wont latch my boy cos he got 9 teeth already!
will give him leftover milk from mei mei's supply.. ha ha.

RE: water and food
I guess each individual child got different behaviour..
I also think they behave erratically as my boy is now also taking less food.
he is also less interested in eating as compared previously.

btw: anybody's tot managed to open the fridge?
My son opened my fridge yesterday..
now need to go get those latch.
anyone got a brand to recommend.. cos I saw a few but not sure which brand will be the most secure..

my son actually broke one of the latch on my cupboard that contains the detergent!!!!
The one I used was Safety 1st.

annticipating: so do u plan to install latches?

I latched up most of my cupboards in the kitchen.. cos got dangerous things like detergent and knife..

There was once I was washing some dishes and I didnt hear any sound from my son..
so I went to look for him..
he was quietly taking things out from my kitchen drawer which contained several knives!!!!

I almost got a heart attack.. it was just for 3 mins that I took my attention off him!

My house window has no grille so I also headache as my son knows how to climb onto stool to reach for things out of his reach..
I've kept all the stools in my house now..

If you are using contact lens of -7.50 degree, and interested in daily disposable contact lens, pls contact me at [email protected]

I have two boxes of Acuvue for sale and price is negotiable.

Expiry date 2012 & 2013

ANNticipating, Ah Ching: I put up a gate at the kitchen door, so he can't come in. And yeah he starts to explore other drawers, but at least no dangerous stuff.
We also install windows grille after he turns 1, nowadays he steps on anything to make him taller, not just stools!

Recently he starts to tiptop, cos he found can reach things easier!

Im letting go 1 tin of BN 1.8kg Gain iq stage 3 as my boy dont like it and am sticking on to Wakodo till he is 3yr olds.

Kindly PM me if you are keen. Goin at $58. Cheers!

mummies, any of your kids taking vanilla pediasure? i have a small tin 400g to give away, exp 27 jun 2011. self collect in loyang or meetup at tanjong pagar mrt only.

I have 2 x 900g Karrihome goat milk 3-7 yrs old.
Letting go at $35 each, own collection or meet at Somerset.
Expiry 2012 Oct.
Interested PM me

my pediasure taken

dolly, Alya will step on the cats to help her reach the tabletop. luckily the cat never scratch her!

she's so mobile and active now, that my mum cant keep up so sending her to playgroup starting in jan. im very sad to do this cos she's always had a good life at home. but she'll have so much more to benefit from, socializing skills and hopefully language skills. the centre will only have 3 kids including her in the playgroup so quite close attention. im just worried how she's going to cope not being around family. i have to send her really early, like 7-715am to be in the office by 830am. and i leave the office sharp at 530pm to pick her up around 6plus.

and now expecting a 2nd one, i dont know how im going to manage but such is the strength of a mother. just when you think you cannot take it anymore, you give it one more push and you're back up.

Caramelle congratulations on your #2. Can feel your pain as Kate going to full day childcare comes Jan 3 as my MIL doesn't want to take care of her anymore. Totally dreading her first day of school in less than 2 weeks time. The teacher to kids ratio at the centre u picked is really good at 1:3. Mine is 1:6. I am also worried about her adapting to not being the center of attention. Now it's 2 caregiver to one kid at home. Also worry about her not eating enough, not drinking enough milk and water ..... in school.

Caramelle: Nice to see you here again! Yeah, I dread leaving Ken in childcare/nursery, luckily nanny is still fine with him
Thinking of sending him to JG for sunday class only next year.

Kate Lee: How about your own mum? Is she ok to take Kate?

caramelle!!!! congrats!!! happy to hear that you are expecting #2!!!
nw hw many wk le?

btw, check wif u all, if conceive in jan, will it still be in time for the rabbit year?

hi caramelle: congrats to u too!

Katelee: i have chosen a school ratio is 1:8 but I feel that it is still ok after visiting the school..
i visited several cc the last month and spoke to many pre-school educators..
in fact they told me it is better for children to start school earlier as they can adapt better.
those who go cc later will cry longer as they are aware of the difference between home and school.

ahnet: thinking of getting rabbit baby?
CNY is on 23 Jan 2012 so conceive in Jan will be rabbit year..
but dragon year also not bad..
all the dragons i know got very blessed lives
but tough on the parents got very competitive as many babies in dragon year

Dolly, unfortunately both of kate's grannies not willing to take care of her leh. She's my Mom's 11th grandchild so interest in grandkids has somehow waned.
Ah Ching, that sounds very encouraging. Thanks. Really hope that she will adapt and enjoy school.

My other headache is how to keep my helper occupied at home. With her alone at home with nothing much to do from 8am-7pm I am worried that she will go out on her own or bring people home. She has another 7 mths on her contract and I wanna fulfil the contract to he fair to her.

ah ching,
ya lor, dragon year very competitive... nw cow year alrdy very hard to get into cc liao, let alone dragon year, thk primary sch also cannot get in...

if jan conceive stil in time for rabbit ar?

ANNticipating, I used to suck my left thumb
I'm NOT left handed. I guess it's cos I'm right-handed, and need to do things with my right hand, so there's only my left thumb that's available to suck hahaha!

School: Hai, I'm also wanting to send S to school only starting 3yo. But am worried that the longer I keep her at home, the more antisocial she'll be. I used to be a PAIN when it comes to going to school (my poor mother), I had very bad separation anxiety. I don't want the same to happen to my kid, so wondering if I should send to those 3hr classes everyday, just to get her used to the idea of school. It's sad though, cos this is the only time in her life where she has nothing to worry about, so I would rather she spend it playing freely, instead of being sent to any form of institution...
Dilemma...

Kate Lee: Yeah, if your mum has 11 grandchild, then slim chance! hehe, my mum ask if I can leave K in HK for 1 month so that she can play with him... but I want to see K leh. She only got 2 grandchild

TubbyMummy: hihi! Yes, I also wanna wait till he's 3. Anyway I try to let him interact with young ones more often

Ah Ching: My cousin rabbit but born in late late rabbit year... so got to compete w a whole lot of dragon during school days! haha

Congrats caramelle!

Ahnet, even if the kid is born in jan 2012 (rabbit year), will still be competing with the dragon babies for vacancies in schools leh, cos they go by calendar year leh...

Re: CC
i'm sending my gal when she turns 19 months end jan 2011, the one i enrolled her is 1:5... i've heard people telling me it's good to send them to school, cos they interact with kids their age and tend to adapt better when they r younger...

Finally I managed to confirm a place for my son at the cc..
I was quite happy because it is one thing off the list I needed to do before I pop in another month or so..
but I am also very apprehensive and couldnt sleep last night!
Kept worrying whether he can adapt to school, will take his milk etc..

I can just imagine the kinda anxiety we're going to face when our darling go to Primary 1!!

I also hope my son will learn patience in school and independence..

cos when I went to visit (3 times at diff times of the day, I was quite encouraged by what I saw)

1) children as young as our kids are self-feeding
2) children are chatting among themselves
3) there are lots of arts and crafts in the classrooms
4) children are going to the loo by themselves
5) most of them are laughing and looks happy
6) most important, the school will arrange activities like sand play and water play things that I wont be able to arrange

Some researches in US actually said that children in daycare will be more agressive, trouble forming relationships, etc..
I hope that is only in US.. not in Singapore..

sigh..

katelee: have u considered putting in half day CC so that your helper wont be free the whole day?
otherwise u can trf her to another mummy who require a good maid..
i see in the forum several mummies looking for trf maids

just some queries hope mummies can help:
starting CC: what steps are u taking to increase the immunity?

if my son cant take dairy product, can he take colostrum?

currently he is taking cod-liver oil but i notice he gets some red rash around his mouth if i give daily..
so I am only giving him 1 tablespoon 2-3 days..

Congratulation caramell!
Ah Ching, think colostrum is best 4 newborn cos it is quite dilute. If u let gor gor try then try don't take any food that cause gor gor allergy.

Me also has cc anxiety and has decided to wait for till I feel he is ready. The reasons are
- he is still passing motion every 2-3 days n I don't think the teacher is cc hv the time to chase him ard to feed him water.
- he is now able to sign if he want to go toliet but need held to remove n put on his pant n put on the toliet seat. But the cc is only ready for toliet training after n2.
- my boy is quick to imitate now n is difficult to teach him not to do some bad habits fr cc. Partly he has not hv the concpet of right or wrong now.
I think my boy is quite slow on development milestone n he dislike things that r he cannot do with ease. I will keep toys he is not interested n intro again till he can play n enjoy it. Lastly my boy like to throw everything now. He has no concept of using the amt of strength n direction. I do fear he will hurt others.

Merry Christmas!

Talking about learning fast... this morning when I was in the lift w K, a family comes in and the young boy shouted very loud towards us (my ears ringing kind). And just minutes later when I send him to nanny, he tries to scream/shout many times! headache..

Merry Christmas everybody too!

Hi caramelle, congrats on no. 2! & poor cat being bullied by Alya.. haha..

hi Tubbymummy, I wanted to ask whether you were left-handed the last time! haha, you answered my question without me asking. Well, my baby is also using her left hand to feed herself with the spoon... and when she climbs the stairs, it's usually the left foot first. so we gathered that she is left-handed.

hi Kate, I also wonder how the young kids like ours can take school bus. do they have so many bus attendants?

Ah Ching, as I had not yet let my girl take Pneumococcal vax, I'm going to let her take the injection in Jan.

Annticipating, the school bus actually takes in 18 mth old kids and they have one auntie attendant but I am not considering it at all as I think K is still not up to it.

I have a friend whose son started taking the school bus at 18 mths old. He's three now and he goes to learning vision cc at temasek poly (may have moved to expo now) while they live in Tampines. Friend told me it's alright but I just bu fang xin lor

hi ladies..

Anyone here have tried or going to Chiltern House on Halifax? Im thinkin of sending my boy gareh there wen he is 3yr but now researching wats gd. They only do half day but any advise if its alrite for this age kids to take sch bus as my aunt is too old to travel so far to pick him. Myself and hubby work daily so no way to arrange for transport.

Im leaning towards this sch as my boy till date cant talk much. Not even calling Mummy or daddy.. He only have words like car car which is his fav and also cold cold meaning cold drinks. Haiz.. am very worried as seems like he is very slow in speech. How are the kids here advancing as gareth is in effect a june baby only edd was suppose to b july.

I feel he is so pampered by my aunt tat now if i throw him in CC he will sink! Cant hold own bottle till tis stage and dun eat on his own. Any kids here tis way?

My boy screams and flares up wen he is not happy such as hungry or tired wen we r out. He even loves to throw things so much he does it dail and anytime of the day. One last issue is he loves to take things into his mouth to eat n i really mean anything coz tat include shoes!

Help, dear mummies.. wat shld i do with this boy! Sorry im really venting out my frustration as he is really driving me up the wall this whole weekend.

Hi Sylvia, never heard of the school before..

can understand your frustrations. taking care of toddler is really not easy esp when they are so tantrum prone..

all i can say is that children will outgrow all these weird habits.. sooner or later.
we just need to grind our teeth and ride out this tough period..

ah ching

ya really cant take it with his tantrums.. he wasnt this way in the past n now everyone blame me for spoiling him so he became tis way.. haiz.

I really ask myself if its me tat is the reason he became this way.

Sylvia,
I agree with Ah Ching. It is not so much on spoiling as my boy is also throwing tantrum n things now. My brother just told me that the amazing thing of my boy is when he prepare himself to stick to floor and refuse to move.

But as he grow bigger and minimize throwing tantrum n things, there will be other issues to face. This is part of growing bah. The key is don't give up.

You can try reading vehicle picture book to him. My boy is picking 'ba' - 'bus', 'bike' and truck without the 'k'. Think boy pick language slower, as long as he understand you, it should b ok.

As for eating everything, it will take time as it may be due to his teething but a strict no with something he can chew on to let him understand what can he chew.

My boy don't pick up thing fast. But after ample times of repeating(sometime need months), he will roughly know what to do.

bluedream

thanks for the reassurance! i feel so bad at times wen i see other kids around same age as gareth and already talking so well.. Its like i wonder if its me who is not teachin him well or if something is wrong with him.

We all did everything to stop him putting things in his mouth even to the extent of smacking his mouth wen he do it but he simply dont give a damn to any of us.. so quite lost on this point coz no one really knows y he does tat.

Im getting so tired of his tantrums lately especially wen its in public coz he is simply jst kicking and making a huge fuss but fingers cross u r rite tat its a passing phrase.

When your baby throws a tantrum, just distract him from the situation such as giving him his favorite toy or picking him up and showing him some decorations.

I find this is usually the best method. And also try to identify wat are the usual triggers of his tantrums and try to avoid it

At their age, distraction is the key. Cos their attention span is v short

Don't worry abt him talking. As long as he understands you and is responsive, think it's ok. Talking can come later. Anyway, boys usually develop slower

Hi Sorry to disturb your thread.
Would like to check if there are any mummies staying at Tampines st 44 or nearby? I'm a march 2009 sahm mummy and I'm looking for playdates for my boy. Pls email me at [email protected]

Thks

Sylvia, if my boy is too tired, he will b unsettle n frustrate even with his fav toys. U can try bring him to a quite place n c if he can calm down.
I feel now is the most fun as he is learning instead of just eat n sleep. If doc assessment is ok, just hug him more. He will soon refuse to hug u as he grows. The learning part will take time. Just enjoy the moment with him.

bluedream

ya i knw i will miss his hugs n kisses as he grow coz as boys they will distance faster away compare to gals..

i jst scared he lackin wen he is with other kids.. coz can see he at times quite conscious of himself. u r rite, shld njoy the best moments wif him now if not really very fast no more chance!

i feel so much better now seeing the feedbacks frm u mummies