(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

FirstMum, actually after 6mths no need to sterilise anymore... I haven't been doing so for a couple of months already. They're crawling all over the place and sticking EVERYTHING into their mouths, sterilising seems redundant doesn't it?

LFB, if you are still sterilising, can consider using sterilising tablets, or those Medela microwave steam sterilising bags (only if your hotel has microwave ovens).

newmum0109, S has never had a pillow, and won't be having one till she's older, maybe after 1yo or so...

Thanks mummies, for the pillow info. I am undecided and keep giving pillow and then removing it halfway thru her sleep because i am afraid to strain her neck if its too high. I've experimented with bean pillow and normal polyester stuffing and still end up removing it..

playmat
yes, i thought parklon is better cos of the 'dent'. Proves that it really cushions the impact doesn't it!

Dolly and tubbymummy,
thanks. I am taking Cathay Pacific. No idea whether hotel has microwave. Probably will get the sterilising tablets then, want to be safe. Thanks for replying.

Thanxs everyone for yr advice on washing of toys!!! I appreciate lots!!

Any plans for our bbs one year old celebrations??? I mean wif all the other bbs in June here as well???

<font color="cc3399"> newmum, oh! Kyle doesn't have a head pillow. He has lots of bolsters though.
A beanie bolster, a pair of little baby bolsters and a BIG almost adult bolster

styli~, OH DEAR!!! How horrid... will she be immune for the rest of her life though? Hmmm...
I sure hope you all survive the episode without "war scars".

Re: Sterilising
My steriliser has been packed away for months now... </font>

styli, i heard that even with the chix pox jab, there is still a possibility of getting it. just that it will probably be a milder version.....

lovelytulips, then like that I die. I've never had chickenpox, I'm only innoculated against it. Think it's super serious if I get it in old age...

styliciously, think don't separate them... if both get when they're so young, I think it's a good thing. It'll be super troublesome for you, but hopefully it would be the end of this chickenpox story for them for life... Plus their skin is amazing at this age, so doubt will scar

<font color="cc3399"> Argh. First monthlies are in town. *bleuurgh* Think happy thoughts, think happy thoughts!

Happy thought #1. Getting my "limited" edition pikkolo in about 1.5hrs! *yippeeeeeeeeeee*!!
Happy thought #2. Kyle's drinking from his magmag straw! Yay!

I'd held sippy cup low when I first offered him the straw. Realised that didn't make sense cos he's learnt to raise the cup high to get water into the spout, so he didn't realise he was supposed to suck without that "signal". So I let him hold straw magmag by himself and he tipped it as he would a spout, then seemed confused by the suddenly shrunken 'spout'. After half a day of drinking through the straw, the clever little cookie realised yesterday that he doesn't need to tip the cup anymore
In fact, when he tips it back with straw, more often and not he can't get anything instead. Kekeke... I'm so impressed. *yippeeee* again!

bluedream &amp; styli~, how are A &amp; A?

TubbyM~, I'm SO glad Skyla's well again!

Kyle's getting accosted by mozzie's at mum's. Spotty faced now.
Plus a scratch on eyelid from stumbling onto a little nut/bolt thing on his stroller yesterday. HUMPH.</font>

urgently need help here... anyone's bb suddenly stopped latching?

my boy suddenly refused to latch on sunday... till now... treating my nipple like a foreign object... only stare at them n pull at them!!! ouch ouch ouch!!! how to get him to latch again?

will be travelling to US soon... was hoping that he'll latch on flight so tt i dun hv to pump... and also to keep him quiet...

long time since i last came in... how is everyone?
I have to manage a clingy and heavy baby... back is breaking... any recommendation for baby carrier? most carrier only take max ard 10kg?

Would also like to ask, any babies still no teeth? Jack is already 9months+ but still no teeth... previously the middle lower 2 came out but went in again... any advise?

Poohcsl: self wean frm the breast?

Jling: I'm currently using ergo. No pain, no ache either! Cassey's using pikkolo which I tink is pretty gd too cuz cuz face front and back. Beco is also popular bt u mus try it to see which one jack prefers. Cuz all the carriers are "different feeling"
one! I can sms u my contact for the ergo if u wan!! =)

Why am I watching the academy awards when I should be sleeping? Because I like movies.... Wonder when I would next get to watch a movie in the cinema, seeing as I don't have babysitter...

Cassey, well done Kyle!
I'm guilty of not even letting S try a straw... In fact, I've hardly even let her use her sippy cup. It's just so.... troublesome. That's what it is. Imagine bringing 2 bottles out, together with bowl, jars, containers of snacks etc, then still must have another sippy cup to take up space. At home, I'd rather let her try a proper cup than a sippy. Hmmm, maybe I should skip the whole sippy thing altogether? Lazy mummy finding easy way out haha!

jling, S has no teeth at all at 9mths 1wk. How come Jack's teeth can come out then go in again one??

THE BODY SHOP WAREHOUSE SALE

10 - 13 March (Wed to Sat)
10.30am - 8pm
(Member preview on 10 March, 9.30 - 10.30am)
Suntec Singapore Convention Centre
Gallery West Level 3 (next to Pearl River Palace Restaurant)

jamie,

ya... self wean from the breast... dun wan to suck at all... arch his head back and push my breast away when i tried to put it to his mouth.. sigh..

jamie,
would love to have the contact.. TIA

tubbymummy
We are clueless too.. the teeth actually cut through the gums but few days later went back in, leaving two tiny holes, can see the whites in the gum but no progress.

K fell down from the bed on Sunday - her first injury at 9 months old. I left her on the bed with all the pillows to "protect" her while she's sleeping. Needed to use the toilet so thought it's ok since it will only take a while. Who knows within that short span of time she woke up (without making any noise which is unusual of her) and climbed over the pillows. I rushed into the room the min i heard the loud thump onto the floor and her super loud cry. Picked her up from the floor and immediately checked her for visible injuries. She landed on the floor facedown so her upper lip has a angry red bruise. I felt sooooooo bad and regretted being so assuming and careless with her safety. Rude wake up call. Luckily she didn't land on her head or it will be so scary.

Kate, so sad to hear that, Hope K is recovering well and not affecting her eating or drinking

Ladies, any of u order from catering dinner? Like 2 dishes 1 soup for 5 days per week for adult and kiddo? my sil urgently looking for 1. Thanks

<font color="cc3399"> Kyle climbed up the shortest stretch of staircase at mum's to the first landing. Sheesh! He crawled on the floor at an empty tcc yesterday... crawled and stood to check out their cake display. I thought that was such a hoot! A son after his mummy's heart! Hahahahaha!!

florpoh, I think you mean Styliciously... she was the one who bought the robomop. I had a robomop - brand RoboMop - given to me once. Maybe it wasn't a high-end one, but I didn't find it very useful as a cleaner. As a toy for my cat to chase after, it was great though!

Bluedream, I am so glad Ashton is all better. I presume he's eating well again. Yay!

pooh, has anything changed on your side - exercise? intercourse? Maybe try before he sleeps or when you know he's really hungry and doesn't have time to play around with boobs..? Kyle's looking at and grabbing my girls all the time. It annoys me to no end. Especially when I'm dozing off...
Sometimes he nibbles too. I smack his cheek lightly.

jling, actually most carriers take up to 40lbs wor. Only 10kgs meh? I'm using Pikkolo
Quite enjoying it. Very nice design... compared to Ergo and Beco, Pikkolo can front carry outward-facing and HIP CARRY (I LIKE!!!) But having said that Tubbym~ recommended Boba Organic and I quite like it too... except those with petite bubs want to note that it's made for taller babies fr 1yr onwards. It's very affordable too (only about S$180) - compared to the Pikkolo (~S$250), Beco (~S$230) or Ergo(??). You can try some of these carriers out at Baby Carriers and Slings at Square 2 level 1 before making a decision. I just went last week and the ppl there were so nice. I was also interested in the Partapum (only about S$150 for baby and $170 for toddler) and they recommended the Manduca too. But I only tried Pikkolo and Boba.

And ya... how can teeth errupt and then bury themselves again?!?!?!?!?! I'm absolutely baffled.
Maybe everyone looked so much the teeth got shy and went into hiding.

Tubbym~, I was the same. Didn't want to bother with a sippy cos so bulky to bring in bag with stupid handles. But what to do? I wanted to bypass bottles altogether since Kyle doesn't get bottles. I'm glad I did. At least now I can just offer him his cup and get on with my food while he holds it himself and drinks. *kekeke*

KateLee, don't be too hard on yourself. They're hardy little creatures and these things happen all the time. I've shared my story.

Today, on half day leave and will be taking half days a few more days this and next week. My Aunt helping to take care Aisha.

Thanks mummies for sharing,
doc also says Ayuni might get milder version of chicken pox. He ask to separate just so tat Ayuni won't get at all. Tat's impossible! Now, they are still in contact with each other. So far so good. It is Aisha's Day 5. Read that it will subside after Day 5. hopefully so. Some of the spots have fully healed. She got mostly on her inner thighs(the biggest initial spot that still yet to heal), nappy area, upper chest and limbs. There seems to be alot tiny ones at her lower legs but not all become bigger with pus. Maybe during infant, it milder. So far, none on her tummy, lower back and face. hope it stays tat way. She got it from other babies at daycare. 4 cases, 2 each from infant and toddler class. Recently a few infants promoted to toddler class.

seems there's many babies falling sick and poor mummies have to take care.

poohscl,
sometimes babies stop latching coz of different taste. are u pregnant? ur menses come regularly?

jling, that's weird. Maybe Jack's gums are growing too? Some of my friends' kids' teeth also take sometime before emerging, after 1 yr old.

1st birthday:
contemplating doing bday party at home or venue outside. I love to have pple come my place! but can't invite so many pple coz my house not big. Anyone has good venue suggestions?

cassey/styliciously
Yup i also find it weird, maybe everyone find it interesting so put their fingers in to touch and kind of press it back in..

cassey
Ooh thanks for the info..For those baby carriers i saw are baby bjorn, infantino and combi, states up to max 10kg or 12kg.. think i better make a trip down to try out.

jling, blurmom, i sms u ok! =)

poohcsl: self wean then how? u use bottle?

cassey: ergo => abt $160-$220 depending on which design or organic or nt! =D

Hey girls, my fren jus set up tis webby selling carriers. She lovessss carriers.. Tried almost every carrier ever made.. check out Www.gagaovercarriers.com.. Maybe u can find something suitable in thr! Btw, she mentioned that Angelpack carrier is like ergo, but the shoulder straps nt as bulky..

Cassey, I went to the same shop at Novena Square to try out the carriers! The man was really nice to explain all the different types. He also recommended the Manduca to me. I tried the Beco, Pikkolo and finally the Manduca. He didn't show me the Boba. I preferred the Beco amongst the 3 so im going to get that. I have an Ergo already but i can still feel the weight bearing down on my pelvis area and sometimes my C section wound hurts because of that. It gets tiring when carrying him for a while in the Ergo. When I tried the Beco, I didn't feel the weight at all. I was absolutely impressed!!!

jling, I am quite sure the bjorn can carry a baby more than 10kg but it's definitely not gg to be comfortable carry a 10kg bub in bjorn! The stress on your back is no joke!

bbaug, yeah.. I love my beco carrier and Dylan loves it, too.

Hi ladies, I'm a June2009' mummy n I've got a question to ask. I've stopped breastfeeding my gal since she was 5mths plus. But today as I was massaging my breast(routine inspection) I managed to squeezed out quite a lot of thick creamy milk! I've stopped for 4mths so y hasn't it dry up? Anyone has any idea?

xu(1) jing(1) yi(4) chang(3)... bb tonite back to latching me liao... HB says bb was traumatised by me on sunday ttz why refused to latch... sun he was poking my nipples then suddenly juz pull real hard.. think i screamed and scolded him... he cried and cried and refused to latch after tt... n had been super cranky the last two days.. this evening initially he din wan to latch oso... but think he buay tahan liao... when i offered him again, he cant resist anymore... he super cute lo... he was really gentle.. suck suck for a while, glance up at me and give me a smile... felt tt he was worried that I'll scream at him again... i felt so guilty... keep hugging him and tell him tt i love him... sob sob...

ladies, for those who are still breastfeeding, have you started your menses? mine came last month... now 2 weeks late liao... izzit normal? hope i'm not preggie...

kate, do monitor your baby for fever n pukes after a fall... i oso realised tt pillows and bolster no longer form an obstacle for our bb anymore... they can easily climb over... better to put them in their cot and be sure to pull up the gate and lower the bed so tt they cant climb over...

styl~, I oredi booked safra chalet for my son's 1st bday... now sourcing for cake... duno wat design to get for him since he has no preferred cartoon character now... probably will get my favourite pooh for him! hehe...

cassey, so u no longer sterilised the bottles? juz wash wif the bottle detergent n ttz it? was thinking of doing tt as well so tt I dun hv to lug the steriliser when we travel...

Need 5 More Parents to Take a Quick Survey - help a grad student

This is the last time I will bug you about my survey.
I need to have 5 more surveys completed by March 12 to be able to do my study. If you haven't taken it already, could you please take 5 minutes to respond? I really appreciate your help! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley
University of St. Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Poohcsl: gd to hear that ur bb is latching again! Because mine has rejected my boobs for the 2nd morning already!! Usually I'll latch her once a day only, which is her morning feed, or if she wakes for nite feed. But these 2 days, totally reject. =( I'm sad!!!!! It's like no more bond.. I told hubby, it feels like a sudden break up!

Baby carriers
mummies, all these talk about carriers are making me itch to get one!

Question: is it only useful if u often bring bb out alone and need your hands free? do u still need the pram?Does your baby stay in it for long without protest? When used outdoors, does it get v hot for mum n bub after some time?

I used to hv e ergo n it gets v hot after awhile. N I find it quite bulky.

First mum: I tink all carriers same la. handsfree and warm after awhile. Haha! But it's very useful when out alone. Can even pee with it at ease! Lol!

hihi everyone!

wow, was reading the archives, realised dat ive nt been cleaning Jarius' toys. haha. i only used wet cloth to wipe nia... now i must use the washing btls cleanser to clean clean those toys. heehee
thanks for sharing the advice!

styliciously,
hw u knw aisha might be infected wif chickenpox? her sis's cc got kids kenna is it? (sorry if ive missed out on prev posts)

re: sterilising
hmm, im still sterilising my btls leh. dunno when to stop too. but i reckon since it's still wrking, might as well use lor, dun waste. haha.
but i hate to sterilise pigeon's plate and bowl. the rubber at the bottom always come off and very hard to put it back.

cassey,
hw u train kyle to drink from magmag straw ar? J still doesnt knw to raise the magmag higher to drink from spout leh. i haf to raise it for him. if i give him straw, he will bend his head to go further downwards and 'eat' the whole straw. faint

re: formula milk
jus nw we tried to give enfapro to J. he tasted it from the teat and den refused to drink anymore! we wanted to try cos nt sure if he's recovered from the so-called cow milk allergy. den we tried to syringe him. he took 5ml by force though. haha. so gg to try again later... sian leh...

poohcsl,
glad it was xu jing yi chang...phew... so sweet of bb rgt, to look up at u n smiled at u.

re: teeth
J's upper left tooth is sprouting liao. can see the white white liao. sigh... nw the upper right tooth is coming out too! sian.... 3 teeth and 1 more on the way. so ugly.

katelee,
oh dear.
poor K. i also very scared J wil fall down from bed one day.

ahnetsan
i'm thinking to stop sterilise at 1yr, read some articles reccommend sterilise till that age but huh u sterilise the bowls?? no need right.. from i read is the reason to sterilise btl is beco milk tend to ganna bacteria easier so must sterilise as for cutlery n bowls no need..

jayden also have 2 teeth no leh i find him still very cute when he smile showing the 2 little teeth so tiny haha so cute!

anyone keen to order baby piano?i hav contact for http://www.wbkidztoypiano.com Her best price for portable(black only) is $59.90 excluding delivery which is $5 if no changes and the upright piano(white n black only) for $39.90 with cosmetic defect like scratches but will not cut fingers, no defect is $79.90. anybody have friends who bought this brand? cos i see demo got a pressing sound not as smooth as Schoenhut piano but price also way different lah.. but she very funny lah say can only deliver to few place in 1 fixed date if we order BP.dont understand her logic.. she say no transport gotta go borrow but 1 person order and many person order still borrow car what then the delivery charges should varies.. whatever it is, if anyone keen pls PM me.

Am still quite free in office .. hope it stay this way hahaha but dont get fired lah. 7min more before i dash off to fetch jayden.. oh i miss my darling

Been super busy now i've started working part-time, back in office mon, wed and fri. Tues, thurs and wkend spend quality time with Claire.

Cant believe it 3 more mths and our little bubs will be turning 1! I'm planning to book function room at Safra coz my place was a disaster after the 1st mth celebration. Also planning to bring Claire for a professional photo shoot. Now that she is super mobile all the pics we take are blurred...hmmmppp...any recommendation on what to bring to the photo shoot?

Was thinking of organizing playgroups for babies in west area. Claire gets to play with her cousin brothers age 4 and 2 during wkday at my in-law place but so bored at home during wkend. Any west side mummies keen? Can come to my place. Ill make sure ill clean all her toys first hehe haven't been diligently cleaning it.

Carriers - how long you reckon our darlings be able to continue using it? Coz i have Baby Bjorn but never really got to using it. Definitely not more than 10 times tho Claire is light weight my back still ache.

Katelee, magic kisses for K! She must have gotten a big fright. And you must have been traumatised. Glad she's ok. S had an angry red line on her face/head when she rolled off the bed, cos she hit bed frame (before falling on her face into a pile of cables!). Now, she always sleeps in her cot, and if on the rare occasion she's asleep on my bed and I have to go to the loo, I leave the door open, and watch her. I've even moved her travel cot into my room (hardly any space left to walk) so that I can chuck her inside to play while I shower with door open haha... This of course her nothing to do with her falling, just to keep her from screaming her lungs out when I go "missing". Now she just whinges haha!

Cassey, maybe you should order the Pik additional support belt thingie thru bbPotato? Seems cheaper.

poohcsl, your boy is so cute, doing that hesitant and sweet smile thing
Glad he's latching again! And I've stopped sterilising too, just wash and air dry and use again, less hassle. Oh, and I've only been partial bfg for about 2mths now, but menses still not here. Wonder why... I DON'T miss it of course! Hehe

jamie, haha yes, so convenient to go pee when using carrier! No need to worry about what to do with the pram etc etc. Couple of my friends asked how do I do it, and I don't know how to answer... I mean, why not wor??

ahnet, you even sterilise the plate and bowl arh? A couple of my baby books say no need to sterilise anything from 6mths onwards... My stupid steriliser kaput after ONE MONTH, so I am even less motivated to sterilise beyond 6mths haha!

<font color="cc3399"> Just something interesting I came across while scouting baby recipes.

When can my baby eat cheese?
Guidelines for the introduction of cheese vary from one part of the world to another.

In the UK, for example, cheese is typically included in the infant diet from around 6 months of age. Guidelines in the US, however, are more conservative, with some sources suggesting waiting until 8-9 months to introduce cheese - and others go so far as to rule out dairy products altogether until at baby is at least 12 months of age.

Cheese isn't your typical dairy product, however. The milk protein commonly responsible for dairy allergy is largely broken down in cheese as it matures and cheese is often well tolerated by individuals with sensitivities to dairy products. The same applies to yogurt, which is why many pediatricians will agree that it is safe to introduce both of these products prior to baby's first birthday.

It's certainly worth delaying the introduction of cheese if there is a family history of food allergy (particularly an allergy to dairy products), or if your baby has asthma or eczema. This is because cheese may act as a 'trigger food' for these conditions.

From: http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/when-can-my-baby-eat-cheese.html

<font color="cc3399"> pooh, yup. I've been just washing with dishwashing liquid (used to use baby one but don't bother anymore) and sponge... but you might want to use a teat brush with spouts and teats or other little nookies where things can get stuck. For my nipple shields, I just give them a blanch in hot water after washing.

Lin, FREAKY...! Google it and see what you get?

First Mum, I use the carrier when:
- I'm taking public transport
- I'm going to an air-conditioned place
- I'm not doing a lot of walking (unless I decide to use it cos I'm going to a fair or something)

It can be uncomfy cos you have to lug your bags and all as opposed to just hanging it on your stroller... But in terms of ease of getting around, it's pretty good. Especially if you'res taking a bus... or if you have a demanding baby and find yourself often carrying your bub while pushing a stupid empty stroller around
The latter was what triggered me to return to carriers, this time going for the higher range ones considering my little sumo.

ahnet, no real training wor. Just let him go with it. With spout, do you raise the cup for him? I usually show Kyle how to do things - like I will hold his arms and raise them instead of holding up the cup for him... or I will guide his index finger to a puff instead of putting it in his hand kinda thing... Nvm la. Let him learn in his own time. I'm sure he will eventually!

Audrey, Re: ur current brand of carrier, let's put it this way - I saw an online bb carrier comparison chart of Partapum, Pikkolo, Ergo, Beco and that brand. Under the "Who is it for?" row, this well-received carrier's column said an emphatic "NO ONE". So compared to many of this higher-end carriers (although some are on par in terms of price), your current carrier really doesn't provide a lot of relief from baby's weight. At the end of the day though, don't buy one just cos everyone else seems to be getting one!
Get one only if it's what you think you'll use</font>

Wanna to earn extra income need abt 30 mummies with babies age fr 6mths to 36mths to do a survey for 2 hrs

Interested pls call mdm Lum - 62874715

Cassey,
Ashton is never good in eating solid.. With mouth ulcers, he totally rejected solid. Now he is just taking solid (a milk milk king).. but never reach jack or trey standard. :p So now he still not reach 9kg.. I hope he will maintain his weight till he 1 yr cos he has a big tummy.:p

Kate,
is barely water improved your baby breath? My mil say don't eat egg till 1 yr cos can have bad breath.

First mum,
Think carrier mostly for carry baby in the house or go for quick errant when raining. You need to let baby get use of the stroller. The first few times, take him downstair for a quick walk and see whether he like to be in the stroller.

Have you ordered cake for your baby? Where and what kind of cake have you ordered or plan to order?

How to train baby to play alone? My boy start screaming the sec he did not see me.

Yoplait,
My boy like it regard of the sourness. And it is good for constipation for now.

sorry to interrupt here..I have a fully reclinable bb chair cum rocker(bb can sleep or have meals on it) and a combi stroller(limousine kind-fully reclinable) for sale as my bb is 15 mths now.
Selling at..
BB chair cum rocker - $60
Combi stroller(suitable fr infant up) - $50

Condition: 7.5/10, no stain on fabric.
Interested pls email me at [email protected]
Tks.