(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

For 1st option, her place is around 3 bus stop away but only 1 bus can reach fr my place, not on the way to work though. And good thing is she dun mind using cloth diapers.

2nd option sound a bit reluctant using cloth nappy. And yeah, the only prob is she's already taking care of 1 baby. But she is seasoned nanny, got all baby stuff already.

Dolly, i think need to look for more options ... Nanny 2 macham quite impossible to take care 2 babes at once... but Nanny1 got no experience... and not convenient?

Yeah, I'm still waiting for more options to come. I prefer nanny around my place, rain or shine also good won't kena. But then yeah, Nanny 2 like running a mini child care and then got school going kids.

Dolly,
seasoned nanny does not mean she is able to multi-task to look after 2 babies... she got similar exp b4 in caring for 2 babies? can she let u "trial"her service? if so, then maybe you can spot check her at diff timings to see if she is up to your standard.

as for nanny 1, though she has no nanny experience, she still got baby-caring experience (she brought up her 2 kids right)... maybe no nanny exp better coz she might take extra care of your baby.

today i tried giving my boy the pacifier again and he likes it, it comforts him. When he woke up after a short nap, I just popped it into his mouth and he continued to drift off to sleep for a while more. Earlier when he was fussing, I gave him the pacifier and he has been sleeping with it blissfully. It is coming to 4 hrs since my last feed. This hardly happens. I guess this means he is no longer treating me like his human pacifier. So I think i am glad his feeds are more spaced out as compared to the hourly feeds i had previously. I have to see what happens tomorrow cos sometimes my boy very unpredictable. He might like it today, tmw he might spit out or something else might happen. hmmm.

Today he tried rejecting my right boob again, only managed to get him to latch on the right one in the morning and evening. had 2 consecutive feeds for the left boob. Hopefully the supply doesnt drop for the right boob or else it will make him reject more.

sweethalo,
I use my fingers instead. or u can apply on the pacifier and give. mine is orange flavoured and she likes it..

createjoy,
your gynae did ultrasound for u?else how he know if its blocked duct or not? the LC told me to keep massage. it may take some time to go away.. as long as dun get bigger or painful, its ok..
i dun drink lactating mothers' milk but I take calcium, vit C and fish oil.. i think even if not breastfeeding also must take supplements.. but I do agree that bf may be even more expensive than formula milk with breast pump and everything... now I thinking of buying chest freezer to store milk, another sum of money..

bbaugustine,
I also struggled with the sling initially.. u can try to google for videos which show you how to use..

sweethalo, artist: Thanks for the views! Yeah, sometimes not seasoned might be good too! And Nanny 1 is doing out of boredom, not for money
But it's harder to visit whenever I like, cos it's inconvenient to do so.

bbaugustine: Great, you have 4 hours of peaceful time today! My boy still spit out pacifier now!

dolly, but if no.1 is doing out of boredom, will she after taking care for 2-3mths, decide that she doesn't actually enjoy taking care of kids anymore, and tell you she "quits"? Then you have to scramble to find another one...

Morning ladies
how was the nite?? hehhe

Last nite my hb told me i hv muscles on my arms oredi... wahhahaha

Happy it's the wkend again but then again, wht's the difference huh.. still the same routine... wake feed wake feed.. cry feed cry cry..hahhaha

wow feel like eating roti prata this morning... sigh

Chidori - hmmz.. i still dare not give him the pacifier so think will hv to use cotton bud...

Dolly - when u put the calendula cream does ur bb squirm and cry? hmmz.. Noah kept screaming ytd when we put the cream on his face...

sweethalo: My boy kinda enjoy it leh! But dun take too long to apply though, he dun like his face being touched.

TubbyMummy: Yeah, nanny 1 might quit on me, cos nanny should be a long term thingy... huh

dolly, an experience nanny doesnt mean she can take care of 2 bb at the same time? whats the other bb age? if is abt the same as ur bb better dun let that nanny look after, when bb start to cry for milk at the same time she can only handle with one and might be frustrated the other keep crying..my mum is a bbsitter and look after more that 10 babies so far..she herself also admit she cant take care of 2 bb at one go even though my 2 brothers is like 11mths apart..

vogue_mommy, bluedream and all mummies whose wrist is pain, i bought a wrist and thumb guard from guardian.. quite good in locking the wrist and preventing wrong posture of carrying baby. Maybe you all can try if your wrists heard badly

Yesterday was the first time i went out with the Pupsik pouch, most of the time i used it at home.. still abit cannot make it, can put him in but dont noe how to take him out haha

dolly, i think nanny 2 sounds better cos she's closer. Primary 5- Primary 6 ,they are usually more independent so she only have 2 babies on hand to take care of. nanny 1... hmm.. my mum oso raised me and my sister up, but when comes to taking care of babies, she took quite some time to tune back. And some people (older generation) may have their own ways of taking care of babies.. etc

my office got staff kena H1N1, haizz.. hopefully no more staff kena

tubbym/ sweethalo,
yea, wadeva works man! i also didnt like how my boy looks with the pacifier, not handsome at all!

so far ive only used Avent, and he liked it fine until now, cos hes grown quite pissed with it. There was 1 day i refused to carry him and kept trying to stuff it into his mouth to stop him from crying, and that turned him right off! ever since then hes been spitting it out whenever we try to give it to him. im quite sad actually but my "last weapon" has lost its power...

was gona ask the 2 of u whether ur babies are enjoying their mobiles, i regret not getting the tiny love one. im using the one from First Years, and my boy enjoys it (also only recently) but hubby still prefers the TL one...

split: The other baby is 5 mth old. But one thing good is the 5 mth old is still too young to disturb another baby.

skylerMum: haven't met the nanny yet, it'll be good if I can meet the family members

My mum also baby sitter last time, and instead of burden I helped take care of babies since primary school. But then nowadays kids are different lah

dolly,
if really no choice then I would take nanny 1.
But for nanny 1, make sure you let her know exactly what you want for your child. She may be out of touch already. Ask her for commitment.
coz nanny 2 is taking care of 5 months old, not easy to multi task leh.

I'm also looking for a nanny near my place. I rejected the first one coz she is looking after a 2 year old. considering that 2 year olds are mobile and still ignorant, I'm worried that she might disturb my gal.
My agent found me another one, going to meet the babysitter tonight. hoping that this one works out coz I'm returning to work early Sep..

Dolly - thnkz... just now he didnt object to the cream anymore.. maybe ytd was abit burning effect on the pimples??

First Mum - Noah only started enjoying the mobile early this wk so abt 6th wks... now he is getting to be able to focus better and laughs at the little animals attached. he tries to knock them too..hahhaa

Chidori- u returning to work so soon!!

sweethalo,
times flies.. 3months in early sep.. the 4th month will take at later date..
doing this with heavy heart.. pretty worried abt leaving bb with babysitter..

Dear MOMMIES,
Badly needed help on how to get my girl to accept bottles..tried many methods e.g Someone else feeding her/ using my worn tee wrapped on the shoulder of my caregiver / letting her play with teat when not hungry / caregiver bottlefeed her and after rejecting for some time before i give in/ transfer nipple to teat when my girl dozy off at my breast...etc..

Qn: Is trying to feed my girl bottle once or twice daily too overwhelming? ( ended up not taking it anyway)..whats the right time of the day to bottle feed?

Any links I can gather ideas from?
thks thks

There's a small gathering at my place on next Thursday 13 Aug 2009 @ 11am. My house is located at Yew Tee (Choa Chu Kang Crescent). Mommies who are interested, can ask for my address from fifi_cash.

Mummies coming:
1. Fifi_Cash
2. Kikismum
3. Innocentwar

Fifi: Tks for keeping track

Diddy

VogueMommy - u hv the opposite problem from me.. I used the mtd suggested by the book Secrets of the Baby Whisperer... The bk suggests to train baby to accept new feeding mtd by withholding the breast for 48hrs and only giving by btl.. u can chk it out...

I did exactly that by withholding btl, and only doing latching. Although Noah protested quite loudly with crying and turning purple fr crying each time, he slowly was able to go back to total latching. It's been one wk since I tried the mtd and so far I still dare not give him any btl yet.

BlurM - i hv no confidence to get out on my own yet leh...

bbaugustine, you staying @ Toa Payoh.. Let's meet up one day..

chidori,
I can understand.. the feeling of separation is terrible.. today, siqi will be back with me.. finally, the 5days separation is over.. seem that she cant really recognise me.. like baby has only short term memory.. when i bathed her this morning @ my in law place, she was fussed..making those unhappy noise.. that not her norm when i used to bath.. very sad..

Dolly, will your breast fit collect the milk when you pump? Mine will.. Pump so regular that the soft fit will collect my milk when i pump and will drip when i remove the fit from my boob.. heart pain to see the milk drip away..

I will go back to work Next tuesday .. supposed to be this tuesday but delayed due to son's fever..

Quest:
Any mommy has experience continue nursing when returned work? What to bring? What is the recommended outfit? I bought a few nursing tops but still trying to put the breast fit thru the gap to pump. so wonder should i wear the normal top. I will take off my shirt n bra when I pump @ home.. I cant be doing it @ work..

My pumping session is every 3hr. Any min later, i will perspire like a water tap. My supply is low.. so need to pump regularly.. but it will be very disruptive to my work.. n boss wont like it..How to tackle this?

When I using single pump to pump the right boob, the left one leak... Vice verse..Very wasteful.. Do you have the same exp? how do you handle?

vogue_mommy,
My worry is different.. Siqi is comfortable to be bottle fed but she is a lazy sucker.. she doesnt like to suck the teat, likewise for nipple.. she will suck awhile n stop sucking.. expect the milk automatically drip into her mouth..

Now, I changed from latex NUK teat to silcon one.. worst!!! need more energy so she become more tired after a few sucks.. give up and fall asleep..

Everyday, she will miss 1 feed. Instead of 2 FM & 3 BM, it will be 1 FM and 3 BM.. 150ml each feed, ard 30min to complete.. feed so long, end up her stomach bloated with gas..

Her last feed suppose to be 12pm (FM) but always stop @ 8/9pm (BM) and can last till morning 5/6am..She is very lazy to wait up for her 12pm feed.. When I heard her making some noise @ 2am, I feed her but she will only drink 20-30ml. In the end, i gave her pacifier instead of feeding her.. she is ok and continued to sleep.. My hubby and parent concluded that she is not hungry cos she will cry if she is hungry n want milk..so they discouraged me to feed..

they told me not to worry cos she is gaining weight but @ a slow pace now.. unlike the first month 350g per week.. now avg 200g per week

My hubby told me she is smart.. she used sleep as an excuse to SIAM the feeding..and is a good to let her maintain her weight @ National Average range..

SO wonder if she is underfed.. how much does a baby drink each day? 10ml X 4 feeds.. is it sufficient?

TPYmommy: Yeah, I always have tissue standby when I remove the funnel, some milk will be there.
My pump requires me to pump both side at the same time. But when my boy latch, sometimes the other boob will leak, just need to use a tissue and hold it there for a while will do. But must remember to remove any tissue left at your boob.

My boy is the opposite of Siqi! He latch frequently, but I think he drinks real slow

If their behaviour can mix then it'll be good!

Blurmom: Thanks for the arrangement! It's too far for me too, on top of that my CL leaving on that day itself

TPY mommy

Re your Quest:
i have 2 pump - 1 duo pump at home and a single pump left in office. But i'll bring home the part home for sterilise daily. Outfit is wear those long/short sleeve shirt with front button so that easier to pump. I dont buy/wear nursing top cos i can managed to pump/breastfeed with normal top. just lift up your t-shirt/top and open the clip of nursing bra will do. for me, i pump early in the morning 7-8am, lunch time, after work ard 6-7pm and b4 i sleep previously during my #1.

as for leaking milk is very common cos even when i latch my girl, the other side leak too. so i latch one side and hold the glass bottle to catch the leaking milk on the other side. i can get abt abt 10-30ml sometime.

Superbee: wow your supply must be a lot! Just put a bottle and can catch 10-30ml! Sometimes i pump also not that much, especially after not too long after my son drink

Thanks dolly..

Do u Rem my mystery quest.. Why i can still pump 30ml from left boob after siqi latched on for 20min? Confirmed.. she is a lazy sucker..

Superbee, ya..yr supply must be a lot.. what do you eat? how much do you pump for each session? only 3 session a day.. enuf?

TPY mom,
you can try using the breast shells on the other breast to collect the leaking milk.

my plan when return to work is to pump every 4 to 5 hours. Currently, this is what I'm doing at night.

so my gal is lazy sucker too.. coz I can pump 30 to 40ml after 20min latch too..

sweethalo,
selling EBM is akin to selling your organs to me.. haha.. every drop is like my blood..

I bought 2 nursing tops from mothersenvogue but its the wrong size for me.
bought at $43.80 (including postage), letting go at $18 each (postage included).
size is M (bust up to 38.5" and waist up to 31.5").

2783017.jpg

2783018.jpg

chidori, now already perspiring like mad.. pumping time @ 5.20pm.. dun think can tahan till 4hr.. some school of thoughts said that BM is made of our persipration.. wonder if it is true.. if it is, means that my body produce more persipration than BM..which could be the reason for my low supply.. sad

Need to $$$ again to buy milk shield.. Sometime wonder if it is worth to BM. i feel that more $$$ on BM than FM.. those $$$ spend are can buy lot of FM.. But tell myself is for the sake of better immune system.. esp now got h1n1

I oso buy the black one from mothersenvogue.. but is a dress.. @$19.90.. the day i bought the bras..

TPY mommy,
you perspire a lot? I dun perpire a lot compared to pregnancy days..
if dun buy breast shield, maybe can use bottle to hold..
yah lor, bought the tops but too big for me... sigh..

TPY mommy,
for leaking milk, you can buy breast shells (medela and avent) to collect the leakage. but quite a challenge to pump 1 side and keep the shell in place at the other side. u can also wear the shells inside your bra when not feeding to collect leakage to prevent wastage.

i'm trying to plan how to make a smooth transition to work with the expressing. have to go slow in introducing pumping sessions cos when i switch to fully pumping in the day i get blocked ducts within 2 days. kena 3 times in 50 days already.

anyone having problem with baby's sleep?? my boy sleeps very little in the day.. like today, he only slept for like 1 hour in the day and only really fell asleep at 6.45pm.. not grumpy though... dunno if i should be worried.

anyway, anyone invested in a baby weighing scale??

chidori: Wow, you so small size, I got to wear L! Why not just go and do exchange? Got excuse to go out this weekend

amk_gal: Think at night can latch and let the blocked duct be cleared?
Weighing scale: Didn't buy baby type, just weigh myself, then carry baby and weigh again

sweethalo, i apply calendula on her face when I'm nursing her. She'll flinch a bit cos maybe the cream is a bit cold, but that's it. For her, nothing interferes with milk drinking haha...

Firstmum, actually haven't used the mobie on my girl yet! I have it fixed up on the cot, and she's still sleeping in her bassinet. But she's beginning to like her Gymini, so I think she will enjoy the mobile, cos TL products are rather simlar (bright colours, the animals look similar etc).

vogue_mommy, think I read somewhere that the middle of the day feed is the easiest to switch from breast to bottle. Think the first feed of the day and the last feed at night are the hardest to replace.

amk_gal, I thought of getting baby weighing scales hehe, cos my girl's weight makes me insecure, but not sure where to get. Think there's a toy rental company that rents the scales, but not cheap, $25 a week I think.

TPY mummy,
I think it is okay to just feed your baby as and when she wants to be fed. Depends on how many weeks old is she..some babies by 2 or 3rd month is able to sleep throughout the night. Babies are smart, they will not starve themselves. Unless it is during the 1st month, where BB sleeps alot and needs to be woken up to feed. In fact, many ppl told me sleep is more impt than feed. Sleeping is where BB body and mind is developing. Have you consulted your pediatrician? If BB is always sleepy and doesnt want to eat could mean she is ill...
If your baby is feeding less frequency, just ensure during each feed she consumes more..But as long as she is putting on weight normally, having about 6 - 8 wet nappies..should not be a problem at all. I think pacifier will curb BB hunger as well. so try not to give unnecessarily.

Sweethalo,
If you are going back to work, it is good to have your BB taking bottles...i think you intro bottles too early thats why. BB should prefer bottles than nipples ( nipple confusion ) becoz lesser effort to obtain the milk. My BB prefers Bf becoz she just likes to be comfort. Perhaps my fault as I always intro her nipple when she is crying to comfort her. Now she doesnt even want pacifier. My friend withhold her breast and only intro bottles. She fed BB herself and BB was angry with her for 2 weeks. Refused to look or smile at my friend. So does your BB accept bottle now that has accepted latching on?

TubbyMummy,
thanks for your advise. will try to leave the house few hours in the day.

Dear Mommies,

I'm back from my massage for 2 weeks! sooooooooooo busy take care of kaelyn plus the heat and wrap at night is just killing me.

BM made of perspiration?

I think more likely made of blood. Sometimes I hold up in the sunshine and kinda saw it pale reddish. Maybe I lack of sleep (only like 3 hours a day) cause me to think that way.

Tanking for the next pump at 2am. I reckon 6 am wake for her next feed. SIGH!

When can I have proper rest? I reckon when I stop Bmilking...

today i brought baby out to a nearby place and i cld see he was feeling uncomfortable. The bright daylight and the noise of the traffic bothers him that he keeps putting his hands on his face till it was red. I had to keep patting him to reassure him. I also had to give him the pacifier to soothe him. I think i gotta bring him out more often so he gets used to it. He is so comfy in his own room where its dim and quiet that he cant get used to the external environment. When he came back, he made a fuss and refuse to sleep.

Chidori, i also ordered 2 tops from Mothers en vogue. Hopefully they fit me. Their cutting seems to be slightly bigger as compared to Maternalove where I have ordered some tops as well.

Pop by Marina Square for Maternity Exchange's National Day Treats - 8 and 9 August only! They're offering 10% off purchases of maternity and nursing wear and swimwear, extra rental with any rental package and Loyalty card with just $200 spend (U.P $500)

Also, check out their online offers (http://www.shop.maternityexchange.sg) on those two days! There's free shipping!

See you!

P.S Don't worry about traffic. Raffles Boulevard, the main road leading to Marina Square, is FULLY accessible at all times. More info on their facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Maternity-Exchange/50687767530)

chidori,
S size giant diapers is from 4-8kg. S sizemamypoko from 3-8kg. so u can buy giant diapers and haf a try.

11beans,
great idea to organise an exercise group... hmm, im at sembawang. do jio me if u do decide to exercise...

dolly,
my mil is babysitting a slightly over 1yr old boy.. and i tell u! it's scary to take care of tat boy and my Jarius! and seriously, i dun think she being alrdy taking care of a toddler means dat she's able to multi task to look after both of them ok. my mil is those bo chap, negligent kinda to me...i seriously cannot tahan the way she take care and now i hide in my room the whole day wif Jarius... which is partly the reason why i decided to latch full time now instead of pumping cos in dat way, she cant bottle feed Jarius.

so, for me lah, i wont leave my baby with someone who alrdy is taking care of another baby or toddler. cos you will never know when an accident will occur. wat if the toddler hatams ur baby den how?

Re: pacifier
i give Jarius pacifier at night when he's crying and u know dat dat cry is cos he wants to sleep...den he will jus suck suck and den spit it out when he's drowsy.. i find giving pacifier at this time is better than giving my human pacifier.. cos giving him human pacifier, i need to burp him after dat!! cos he will sure vomit one... im using avent pacifier

TPY mommy,
HI 5!! i changed from latex NUK teat to the silicon one too...now i only pump a bottle or two for my hb to bottle feed him... Jarius doesnt like to suck on the silicon teat too.. and he super kanasai lor, he will suck a few times and den make noise and stop sucking le, den he will swallow when the milk flow out slowly on its own... super lazy he.
tried to feed him friso fm.. worse...cry until machiam kenna tortured like dat... refused to suckle too and jus let it flow out slowly

ur Siqi drinks 150ml per feed.. wow.. my jarius still only drinks like 70ml nia.

chidori,
the purple nursing top looks nice. heehee. how big is it? is it those loose loose kind or nicely fit as in the pic?

tubbymummy,
i also tell my hb dat perhaps we shd get weighing scales... den guess wat he say?? he wonders whether we can jus walk to kidslink sembawang and ask to weigh the baby as and when we like... i was like 0_0"
and my hb say cos he dunno where to buy mah..and since kidslink nearby our plc, might as well make use of it.

blurmom,
wah, got gathering ar... heehee

ahnet, tried searching online can't find weighing scales to buy leh. You think places like Kiddy Palace will sell??? That time I also stroll into Kinderclinic @ paragon to weigh baby hehe... they're ok with it, so i guess a lot of ppl do this. But don't go Kidslink everyday lah! hehe.. maybe once a month is ok? Then they won't recognise your face keke. Hey, how is Jarius' reflux? Manageable?

bbaug, my girl is the opposite of your boy. She loves being outdoors. All the noise is like white noise to her, and she sleeps thru all of it, unless there really is a very sharp or sudden loud noise. It's at home where it's all quiet where she tends to jump at the slightest thing.

I'm posting at this time cos I got up to nurse, then just ate some biscuits, cos having bad gastric. I'm also running a fever and having headache, generally feel so uncomfortable I can't sleep. Shall go take paracetamol then try to sleep again. But now wonder if paracetamol will make my gastric worse...

ahnetsan: Thanks! Still hoping maybe more nanny will call.
Pacifier: If only my boy take it, I wanna give him! When my hubby mum see that we begin to give pacifier, she dun like and wanna let him suck thumb. We then tell her we wanna give pacifier but my baby dun even wan, like so easy like tat.

TubbyMummy: Do take care! Better eat more biscuit and maybe soya bean drink before taking the paracetamol.

I woke up cos my boy start to fuss at 4am, and didn't wan to drink lying down. Got to sit up and let him drink.

Gathering on 13 Aug, 11am @ Blurmom Hse (Yew Tee - Choa Chu Kang Crescent)

Mommy list
1. Kikismum
2. Fifi n Cash
3. Innocentwar
4. Ahnetsan
5. Shelisa (pending)

Superbee- Wah! No pump and can get 30ml leaking.. really good!

TubbyM- aiyo! How come suddenly kena fever? Rest well and take more water/vitC?

Noah's face has improvement after Calendula Cream application but he cried so much at night tt seems to be more rashes coming out again! Give up!

11Beans - I live in the North too.. at Seletar Hills nearby Jalan Kayu

BBAug - u are so brave to bring bb out even though u kn he will fuss... I still can't get the courage to bring Noah out leh.. Afraid he cries and cries and I dono wht to do...sian!

VogueM - So far it's been a week of retrainnig him to latch on... I still hv no guts to give him btl yet leh.. dono how to start introducing btl cos scared hv to go through the same shitty problem again.

Re: BB Weighing Scale- managed to buy one on WTS few mths ago...The brand is Redmon. It's quite useful and fun to weigh him except tt my mum says some bb will fuss alot after being weighed??? Old wives' tale and pantang ba??

sweethalo: Good that the Calendula cream helps! I apply it on my rashes as well, smell nice!

Do you all notice if your babies like to rub their face? Mine like to rub a lot, beside licking his right hand

sweethalo,
Depends on what your boy will rely on thereafter. As for me, need to go back to work end Aug.. so no choice but to intro bottle asap. My ideal situation would be to have my girl take bottle during daytime and evening / night time ( latch )

Mommies: any of your babies like to put fist in mouth? Does that mean they are hungry or wants comfort? When I saw that, i quickly took a pacifier to let her suck but she keeps pushing it away. This noon I will go see TCM for my wrist..only caregiver and BB at home.. Wish Me Luck with bottle trying today...

dolly:
My girl rub her face / her ear when she is sleepy but doesnt know how to fall asleep on her own.. She will have abit of cross-eyed when she is sleepy too.

sweethalo:
hey, when you mentioned you tried the method of latching on only for 48 hours.. does your boy eventually drink from BF? I scared i will give in eventually becoz my girl will cry so hard till she exhausted and fell asleep ( means missing one feed)