(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbaugustine, my PD gave me the paracetamol when i brought him for a jab a week ago. it wrote to take if temp is >37.5. was reading on babycentre and it says if bb is still alert and playing as usual, not a big concern. wonder what to do sometimes....

vogue_mummy, the thing is, we feed him FM before he sleeps and sometimes, he doesnt want to finish his FM. so cant be that he is not satisfied. dont know is it cos he wants the closeness and cuddling feeling before wanting to sleep. my mum always say, baby wants to smell mummy's smell at night - wonder if it's true.

artist, i think my hb will be very interested to bring bb to swim. how u manage for a 2.5 month bb? and after that, how to bathe?

bbaugustine, you are right... i brought my son to see the PD at the Children's Clinic. She charged $40 for consultation (think she charged slightly more for first visit). the 6 in 1 jab cost $138 for 1st jab. as for rotavirus and prevenar, i paid $95 and $167 respectively for the first jab/dose.

hehe did not use any float for my bb. my husband just carried him and let him "pao pao" water. for such small bb, think can only use neck float... it is quite costly any my husband prefers to carry baby to let him get use to water.

Bluedream,
i did not prepare any swimming suit for bb. didnt want to invest in buying things that bb will outgrow fast... hehe just let him wear the swim diaper and the normal romper...

yeah! now TP's kiddy palace got sell swimming diapers... no need to go too far to get. ;p

lovelytulips,
i brought bb to my relative's private pool to swim... so i can bathe him quickly at my relative's hse... think in public pool.. got some prob... think got to wrap bb in towel first then quickly bring him home to bathe..

those interested in getting bbs to learn to swim, can sign them up for courses at Hua Xia... but dunno good or not...

my mil went for her overseas holiday (yes, she knows how to enjoy life) and i was left alone to take care of my 16mth old and 2.5mth old son.... and the great thing happened today was one cried and caused the other to cry... and both wanted me to carry them!!!!

vogue mommy...
your PD is right. bb will sleep when their hunger is satisfied... last time i used to give extra 1 or 2 oz of milk to bb to make him sleep...but you are latching... so bb is now using your boobs as pacifier as well as to take more milk...

artist/lovelytulips,
yea, BB prefers to fall asleep on mummy's arms..esp when looking for comfort not just for milk..Think if u believe in sarong can try.. I tried sarong when I know it is BB's bedtime.. i will shake gently and humming some tune..hitting the backside lightly..it works for me..do ensure the room temperature/lightings is gd for the BB..if not, if time permits, u can latch him to sleep since it is the last feed of the day. I intend to do that, thats the only bonding time after a day's work.

Lovelytulips, i think you can follow the instructions and feed if temp exceeds 37.5 degrees and also monitor if baby is not behaving like his usual self. My baby was more sleepy than usual and his forehead felt a bit hotter than usual so fed him the paracetemol.

Artist, actually the jabs cost abt the same as my PD. Its just the consultation fee that was the additional cost. How is the PD though? Is she good?

Gathering on 13 Aug, 11am @ Blurmom Hse (Yew Tee - Choa Chu Kang Crescent)

Mommy list
1. Kikismum
2. Fifi n Cash
3. Innocentwar
4. Ahnetsan
5. Shelisa
6. Superbee
7 . qi7
8. Bluedream
9. Createjoy
10. Mummy Ash

Mummy Ash,
yes, its a mummies n babies get together session.

Mummies, pls pm me if u need Blurmom's address. on the bus and directions to her place, i aint sure too. hmm..i will get her to log on and help.

Hihi, sorry I got a hard time logging in ya...

Fifi, tks for helping to keep track and coordinate...
Maybe can pm them my contact no. also...

Alight @ Yew Tee MRT, walk down to bus-stop take bus no. 302... Alight @ 2nd bus-stop (not counting the one we boarded)...

Tmr, I will go and check the block no. in front of bus-stop and get back to you all again...

GREAT! to see so many mummies coming... kekeke...

Hi mummies that are breastfeeding,

Can i know if any of your baby has eczema? My PD told me that it is possible that BF baby can hv eczema but i hv never heard of this.

I started my bb 1 bottle of formula and she started to hv eczema on her face and i tot is due to cow's milk but i hv stop since 2 weeks ago but eczema still getting more. Very lost.... Can anyone help?

<font color="0077aa">harlow mummies! wah i see posts even at 4am..you girls must be up pumping or feeding! been reading on off but cant contribute much cos Alya will ask for my attention just as im done reading.

re feeding: i give her bottle for afternoon feeds because at the boob she falls asleep and dont spend more than 15-20min so i scared she's not getting enough hindmilk. also since my boob is almost always full that i never go without breast pad. so with the bottle feed she gets more hindmilk since i can see the color of the milk and she will poo by night time. if exclusive latching (like over the weekend because when i go out i lazy to pump) then she won't poo/poo little and it'll be more greenish than yellow.

re sleeping: alya sleeps from 11pm/12am to abt 6/7am. i get her to play in the day. i used to worry why she never sleep after feeding like before but then my mum said if she's really tired then she'll sleep through the night. just that in the day i cant do much.

re jabs: bringing her to ESH for first paedi visit this Friday!

re carriers: my baby bjorn is a lifesaver. i got pupsik also but not so easy to use i find. when i bring alya out, she almost never sleeps for long in her stroller. but when i put her in baby bjorn, she sleeps throughout and only wakes up for feeding. which is great for me and hubby cos quite paiseh when baby cry in public, everyone look at us like we dont know how to care for baby like that. also when we eat, used to be that we take turns to take care of her. but i find past 2 outings that she likes to be in baby bjorn so i just carry her around. and when i need to take her out, i put her tummy down in her stroller.

i bought books to read to alya over the weekend. and she seems to enjoy seeing the pictures and listening to my animated storytelling.

turning in now...this coming week im handling baby all alone including getting my own meals. sigh..so just eat out.</font>

<font color="0077aa">btw, read something abt one breast leaking when you're feeding or pumping with the other. in this case, a breast shell will help to collect the milk. im selling my medela breast shells which i used only one. at that time it was because of sore nipples so i used it to prevent chaffing against my clothes. sterilised it and put it back into box, never used after that cos after single use of purelan nipple cream my sore nipples got better.

breast shell can just insert into your bra (if you're using nursing bras at home/work during feeding or pumping). if you sterilise the shells before use, you can add the milk collected to your bottle immediately after for future feeding. but you CANNOT sleep with breast shells as i learnt the hard way...hehe..cos the shell got air holes.

for me i currently just use breast pad to absorb the leaking milk.

if anyone is keen, just PM me. im selling for $20, original price $26.90.</font>

Dear Mommies...

My son having fever these few days I'm not sure if I can make it to blurmom house this thu.

sigh... busy taking care both elder boy and the little girl, can't post much.

Also need to job hunt. My son see doctor these 3 days cost me a bomb.

Hihi mummies, sorry was out whole day, here's the list, please correct me if I'm wrong:

FB name: nick name
Julyn Lim: doglefox
Kelly Tai: fifi_cash
Michelle Lum: junebabyboi09
Rosalind Leong: createjoy
Vera Ng: 11 beans
Shirlaine Teng: Skylermum
Hetty Muliaty: styliciously
Rachael QiQi: Qi7
Florence Poh: TPYMommy
Split Ang: split
Debbie Ng: SuperBee
Xu Weiling: chidori
Junice Pang: innocentwar
Regina: bbaugustine
Abigail Ng Wai Ling: babycow
Katty Chia: kikismom
Di Ddy Lim: blurmom
Janet Tan: ahnetsan
Carine: EC_mom
Luah Seok Peng: BlueDream
Annie: LimSiewLeng Annie
Doris: dolly

Mummy missed out (please identify yourself)
Reigi Chew

bbaugustine: Hopefully our babies all start to sleep more then 4 hr at a stretch!
Went to MEV and got a few tops from there, the sales items are cheap!

BB: Is it like pimple or red dots on face? Have been putting Calendula cream and the white head kind of pimple subsided.

Superbee: I'm interested in gathering in town too! Better to be some place w MRT access. Just read from TODAY's forum that we cannot carry stroller onto the bus unless it's folded and with our baby in arm, wondering how we can do it single-handedly!

superbee, how abt sharing a cab to blurmom's pl? I think mrt to yew tee frm our pl is too long a journey! Heh.. I'll b bringing stroller.. N my baby normally sleeps in sarong in e daytime i hope he wun fuss on tt day! Superbee, i'll pm u my hp no. Later.

Vogue mummy, e box of tomme tippee pads cost 10.90 for 36 pcs. Just a little more ex than pigeon bt i think cheaper than medela.

Ahnetsan, me stay in sembawang. But I think it will be better if we share cab home bah. Cos need to depend on baby feeding timing before I can left home.

Hi Jun mummies, I'm from jul thread.

May I know what's the typical ang bao rate for confinement lady leaving? is it in tenths or hundred+?

why must use stroller? I mean... it's so bulky... I rather sling her with one big bag of her stuff either in bagpacked or the other side. I'm not going to put her in stroller/pram until her head is stiff enough.

dolly: what is MEV?

Bluedream: maybe the three of us can share cab to and fro... hahaha! I'll let you guys know by tonight. If my boy gets better and go back school tomorrow, I should be able to go on thu. Maybe we meet sunplaza then take cab from there?

But just wondering how many mommies bringing pump? I wonder if blurmom have spare room to pump. And if I go pump, who is going to look after my girl? I doing manual pump both side 20 mins when I am out (copying my electric pump of both side) hmmmm.....

oh yes... any mommies need nuk latex teat 0-6mth small feed hole? i bought too much my girl switched to medium already... usual price 5.10 i'm letting go at $5. Have 2 packs Brand new unopen.

yeah, the tops are pretty good, but sizes are limited, better go there and try try, cos sometimes the cut might not be so suitable. Especially now our bust bigger

vogue mommy, the difficulties you face are expected... that's why i mentioned you'd need a lot of patience!!! there are various factors to take care of that you really have to go by trial and error. sometimes it's the teat, sometimes it's the position, maybe the milkflow is too fast? even the temperature of the milk may play a part.... it's beyond just the emotions of the baby... however you want to train your baby on theh bottle, it should be the method that is most acceptable and you feel most comfortable to your baby. no hard and fast method

see if any of the points in this site can help you http://www.pamf.org/children/newborns/feeding/refusal.html

superbee, i wouldn't mind attending a gathering in town area if there's one

artist, that's a nice tee! I got project too! Paint Aisha's name on the wall and hang photoshoot phoots!

MEV tops are worth it leh... Will drop by if I'm going town this week. I like Spring maternity but their nursing tops are limited.

dolly, thanks for the FB nick list!

Any mum whose babies having growth spurt just before turning 2 months? Aisha seems to be throwing up more often.. esp if she drink continuously non stop very fast. But her feeds nv increase in freq.

dolly, hehee i'm not artist lah. just like to do some craft n drawings when i feel like it.

ya, my kris also. pumped up a lot n outgrown many clothings liao. gotta upgrade him to bigger n longer rompers. ;p

thanks dolly for the list!

sorry blurmom, wont be joining cos i will be starting work ler and have to prepare. Such a pity, it will be nice if can see all the babies together! Take more pics dear~

<font color="cc0099"> <font size="+1">Yo mummies!</font> SUPER long time no see!

I've been out and about with Kyle and Justus Sr (who's on leave) every day so don't usually go online except maybe once a week to check my email. I do pop by in here sometimes to read the posts, but haven't had anything to respond to so haven't been posting.

Kyle a week short of 3 months old today and is sucking his fingers, blowing bubbles, "talking" lots to various people and smiling his gummy smile, learning to crinkle up his eyes as he does so. He's SUPER CHUBBY.

By God's grace, milk supply has still been good and Kyle's a superb sucker. Just that now he gets distracted and wants to stop and grin up at me every now and then. Neck muscles are stronger and he fights me when I try to turn him back onto the breast. *kekeke*

Glad you all have been doing well, ladies!!
Hope you have a really fun gathering at BlurMom's!</font>

<font color="cc0099"> BB, Re: Ezcema
Do bath your little one with a soap-free emollient wash and moisturise her LOTS after... from head to toe. Nice airy cotton clothes help too. There is no cure for eczema but it can be effectively controlled as long as you look out for and identify any significant triggers (E.g. change in temperature, dust, dryness, etc) and avoid them as much as is possible. It is seldom related to intake of cow's milk formula.

A personal recommendation: I like SebaMed's baby face moisturiser. My sis bought it for my niece and I tried it on Kyle. It's a lovely texture in an effective pump bottle. A ~$28 bottle goes a long way.

Kyle Justus (my boy) has atopic dermatitis too. I'm not surprised cos I suffer from skin conditions atopic eczema and rosacea... and hubby has bad skin too. Kyle's skin has cleared up now with lotsa moisturising after his baths. Dr's orders were to include face and scalp if need be.

I hope this helps and your darling girl gets better very soon.

p.s. do note that these sensitivity often comes as a package of 3 - sensitive skin (dermatitis), sensitive sinuses (rhinitis, I think) and asthma. Check for baby rubbing face furiously (really it's her nose) against things to indicate a sensitive sinus.</font>

hihi Cassey! Really long time no see!

you go out everyday! That's quite tiring right?

My baby do rub his scalp and suck his hand pretty furiously, but then he do everything (like sucking) furiously, so not sure if it's of concern.

Went to visit nanny2 today, her house is very tidy and clean, but then the baby she's taking care of happen to be back home. She's quite young and got certificate, but never take care of 2 babies at the same time. Any other opinion?

Below is the bio again:

Nanny 1
Introduced by colleague, No nanny experience
children are adults, alone during day time
need to take bus to reach her place,Willing to take care day time only

Nanny 2
Found by putting slips into letter box.
Currently taking care of a 5 mth old baby
children are primary 5 and 6, husband at home most time and can help out little
No need to take bus, rain or shine
Willing to take care day and night if needed.

dolly,
Nanny 2 sounds good except the part that she's taking care of 5 mth old baby. My daughter and my niece are 5 months apart. It will be quite tough to care for 2 babies esp if u are alone with no help. When babies start to be mobile, accidents are bound to happen even if house is baby-proof. Now, my daughter is 22 mths n my niece is 17mths, its hard to make them get their nap and behaviours like hair-pulling/biting/hug until fall down quite common when we meet on weekends. Does the other baby's parents mind if u decide on nanny 2?

Will the nanny arrangement be permanent? Do u have alternative? Actually, Nanny 1 is not too bad but if the bus ride is more than 10 min, not so good idea.

My first daughter was taken care by my aunt, she's not married and older than my mum. So even if no nanny experience, u still can guide them on what to do etc.

Blurmom, you don't accept PM.. can we have your hp no. just in case we lose our way to your hse! heh .. can you pm me pls..?

artist, is there usually a long waiting queue at the children's clinic? And are they open on weekends? Cos we went past on Sat and they r closed.

Dolly, I am still waiting for my tops that I ordered from MEV. Hope they fit me cos the cutting seems to be a bit bigger. what size did you take? yes I am hoping that my son sleeps longer at nite then no need to wake up so many times=P. Now I wake up abt 2 times at nite on average. Early morning he was a little cranky. Woke up at abt 5 plus and refused to go back to sleep. I had to feed him twice before he was willing to sleep and he woke up abt an hr later to feed again hmmm.

dolly,
if you need more options..
I found my babysitter through an agent.. but in the end, hubby decided to let mil take care.. long story..
he is good and agent fees is $30. pm me if u want his contacts.

bbaugustine,
sometimes may need to wait a bit longer. usually late morning got lesser pple. on sat, they only operate to 1pm. on weekdays up to 12pm, closes in the afternoon and opens again in the evening. u wanna bring your child for next jab?

lovelytulips,
my Jarius also has tat problem. my mother realised dat he jus wan to suck before he sleep.. and cos i always offer my breast to him and den he suck suck a while and he will fall aslp. and den cos of his reflux and vomiting, i haf to carry him upright and burp him or prop him after dat.... my mother reckons dat he din really wan to drink milk, he jus want to suck...so she offered him pacifier, he suck suck a while, den he will fall aslp and spit it out himself. so now, when he cries after changing diaper, after feed, stil cannot be pacified, den i give him pacifier, he will suck suck and den spit it out and sleep le...

CASSEY!!! IT'S BEEN SUCH A LONG TIME!!!
you arent gg to blurmom's plc?
how haf u been? kyle's been a darling, im sure! wow, you been going out everyday?? dat's cool!

styliciously, artist: Thanks for the views

styliciously: Nanny 2 place is not baby proof though, the coffee table has a glass top and it's rectanglar shape (w sharp edges) the play area is pretty small because of the large sofa there. She said the 5 mth old baby parents don't mind about her taking care of another one.

The bus ride to nanny 1 should be less than 10 min, but the wait for the bus can be longer than that.

There's another nanny at my place who will be available next year January. I was thinking can switch to her if either of the nanny doesn't work out!

artist: hmmm, on practical terms,nanny 2 seems to be better except the part about another baby. She even show me certificates on baby sitter kinda thingy.

chidori: Thanks for the offer, you reminded me! I've an agent's number also, but didn't call him cos I was thinking of getting nanny at my area. Could you PM me the agent's number? Do they charge if cannot find a match?

My hubby and I have both decided years ago that his mum will not be taking care of the baby. *phew*

bbaugustine: For MEV, I took size L and XL, depends on the fitting. I can wear size L but some of the cutting is not so nice w L. I really got enough nursing top now... have to resist buying new ones!

When I reach there, another lady was there exchanging her clothes, guess she ordered from internet and don't fit well.

<font color="119911">Hi all, I am supposed to be a mid July MTB but my baby Austen has a mind of his own and came out on 25 June, so I would like to join in this thread too, to make sure his development etc are on par with his peers :p

This thread seem to be moving super fast, I have loads of catching up to do. And wow, you guys already organised a gathering, very impressive...

Oh Casey, I am using SebaMed too for Austen's bath, this is def a good brand. However for moisturiser, I am using California Baby's calendula cream.</font>