(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun,
actually this 5min latch feed is nt set by me one... i realise dat after 5min, my boy will auto spit my nipple out, means he doesnt wan anymore le.

i also hope to increase his feed longer...worried dat he's nt getting enough foremilk or hindmilk.

i jus fed him 5min again... burp him and vomit a bit, den nw he jus poo.

tpy mommy,
nope, my food no alcohol one.

bbjun,
for bottle feed wise, guess i shd jus let my boy drink as much as he wants right? dun haf to set must drink at least hw many ml right?

i agreed w bbjun idea.. but that will be very wasteful if u r bottle feeding breast milk..

u pump so hard.. pour away those he doesnt wt..

Good thing, yr food not alcohol content.. but best you check with yr Cl to reconfirm

ahnetsan: Guess just feed on demand, maybe your baby knows who's good for him that's why he spit out. For me I've been at the back and call of my boy
Haha, dunno how much he drinks cos he latches on, but can tell whether he wan milk or not. So just feed him whenever he wan loh.

End up sometimes feed him every hour, each time half and hour, and then feed again. And then sometimes he won't sleep after feeding, just lie down there and look around. When it's time, he'll cry for milk again.

And then sometimes he'll sleep for 2-3 hours, we'll just let him sleep. He'll cry for milk again once he wakes up.

tpy mommy,
my confinement done my mil. i dun haf cl.

yeah lor, initially i was worried dat my milk supply nt up to my boy's demand... now dat it's the other way round.. quite sad.

think will continue to use the glass bottles from hosp ba... since he's nt drinking much...

i know feeding on demand is good. but im scared dat he jus sleeps and sleeps... had bad experience on his 4th day when he slps non stop for 8 hours without feed... and it's not supposed to be dat way.

haiz, quite depressing ...dunno y my boy got so many problems one...

relax, ahnestan..as what dolly said, he knows what he wt.. mayb his body need more rest.. lesser movement, lesser milk.. take it easy..

Dolly, do u bb sleep in sarong? Mayb u can consider this idea.. cos he may wt you to cuddle him.. bb is smart.. when u feed, u will carry him..

Now, i'm trying to study bb's feeding and sleeping pattern.. she is quite routine except very kan cheong and fierce tigress.. wt to drink milk, or fart, or pass motion/urine oso can cry..n her cry is super loud.. can cry till ceiling fall.. else everything is still manageable..

TPY mommy: hehe, my CL will carry him, but when he really wan milk then carry will not help. And then most of the time I feed him when I'm in the sleeping position, so he's just lying next to me, he's not being cuddled

Really lucky he can latch on in that position, else super siong for me especially at night, sometimes I feed till both of us slept ...

ahnetsan, if bottle feed u have to try and error to find out how much he wants to drink. We started at 40ml and he takes that fine. When we notice he seems to want to drink more frequently or doesn't seems satisfied after a feed, we try to increase by 10ml to see if he finishes it.

Dun feel upset with your boi's situation. These are part of his growing up process and u are there to help him grow. Dun see these as probs. Stay positive.

ahnetsan: Hopefully you can get over it! Or just think of your MIL to distract yourself ... hehe You sound more lively when describing your MIL... hahaha

Those who r using NUK teats,

there are 3 diff teat holes... for thin fluid, milk feed & thick feed. which one are u all using? i used the milk feed n my gal always choke while drinking. do u all face the same prob?

ya ahnetsan.. u sound more lively when talk about yr MIL...

Dolly, i really envy you.. can lie down n berastfeed..

For me different.. all the opps..
Let my gal suck pacifier, use supplement FM @ night, sleep sarong...

babyethan,
I'm using NUK milk feed step 1. U feeding FM or BM? So far I give BM ok but if plain water, usually will choke. U can try pulling out the teat after ur baby suck a few times so that can swallow the milk first. Its quite common for baby to choke, esp if suck too hard or too fast. Not necessary for u to change the teat.

ahnetsan,
goggle abt reflux on babycenter. Need to see Dr only when -
* The spit-up is bright yellow or green.
* There's a large amount of spit-up.
* Your baby arches her back or cries during feeding.
* Your baby vomits with great force (projectile vomiting).

So its true abt the merlion vomit. hehe..
U can check out the link below. It says most babies outgrow after a few months. Don't worry.. Babies knows when n how much milk they need.. their cries tell it all.. Old pple say when they puke out milk means wanna grow. hehhe.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_how-to-handle-your-premature-babys-reflux_10300037.bc

thk u ladies for ur advice...
.. colustrum is getting more now, at day 4 of childbirth,. Bt even if i let the baby suckle for 45min at 1 breast or even 1hr at both breasts.. His hunger is still nt satisfied.. We tried cupfeed n spoonfeed bt it is proving vv tiring for both myself n hubby, so we gave in to using nuk bottles nw which the baby cleaned off 30ml of milk after each breastfeed.. Sigh.. really stressed. Whenever im getting him to latch or pumping.. I feel depressed at times, feel like a milk machine w sore nipples.
Moreover, he did nt pee this morning n afternoon tdy!! Which scared me enuff to tell myself tt i gotta supplement w fm ...
statlrted to pump tdy at 2 to 3hr interval.. Gonna try pumping later at nite after feeding too..hopefully situation improves.. Never know its so tedious to b a mother.

mummyash, the initial period is very trying. But don't give up. I know how it feels for I tried so hard until my nipples bleed. Do take care and air your nipples as much as possible. Once u get over the first month, things will get better.

ahnetsan i check with my mum (she's a bbsitter) reflux is like merlion, everything out and during feeding. example said ur bb reach his max, everything will throw out. My mum ever look after a bb that have reflux b4, she said the bb got one max, only can drink 95ml max each time anything she feed more than that the bb will throw out everything like merlion..so maybe ur boy just having colic not reflux

styliciously
i feed her wif BM.she seems so reluctant to drink from it.gets angry when she chokes. i tried pulling back the teat. but scared by doing so, introducing too much air n cause wind. And she drinks only 30-40ml n refused to drink from the bottle anymore.

do Avent teats really cause wind? i'm very tempted to try but after reading what u gals commented, i'm hesi tating.

babyethan,
hmm.. does ur baby starts to move about b4 she starts to choke? u will need to pull back the teat b4 she starts choking. Just make sure burp her more often during feed to get the air out. Are u latching on for bfeeding? If u are better to use NUK rubber teat coz closest to mum's nipple. Other brands like Avent or Pigeon, its easier to suck so will make ur breastfeeding effort harder. If totally on bottles, it doesn't matter.

bbethan,
let me check wif my hb on nuk teats and let u knw which teats we are using... btw, u using the rubber latex ones or the silicon ones?

styliciously,
thanks for the info..
eh, but my boy is not premature leh.

split,
ic... dunno leh, we gg to monitor for another day. if nt tmr, will bring him to baby clinic. jus nw at 9+am my mil bottle fed him, think only 60ml or so nia. she say he din vomit, but dunno true or nt lah. cos i was pumping and din see.
i jus cant trust her lor.

styliciously, ahnetsan
yes... she does indicate she's going to choke. so i try to pull back a bit. maybe i shd try the latex one since i'm still latching most of the time. hopes she doesn't get nipple confusion.

breastfeeding can dye hair. my gynae said can. but if really worried chemicals get in, some ppl suggest throwing away the 1st pump after dyeing to play safe.

<font color="cc0099"> THANKS TO SO MANY OF YOU WHO RESPONDED TO MY NURSING ROOMS IN CITY AREA QUERY!!!

Heehee... settled reasonably well at home now. Now busy with going out and chores instead of catching up with sleep. Have gone out with Kyle a few times on my own to meet friends and family. Yesterday was a super packed day and thank God hubby left car for me. Otherwise wailing baby on public transport is NO FUN!

Brought him to my ex-workplace yesterday morn, then rushed back home for IL's visit... then drove across the island to mum's, nursed him there and left him with her helpers while I went shopping for baby stuff and leisure
Then went to pick hubby up from work. Spent about 10hours out with Kyle altogether from 11a+m til we got back home at 9+pm

Nicolle~, it's been some days and I hope your FIL is getting his act together...? Perhaps as I read thru the archives, there'll be a good report.

dolly, thanks! Crazy Tubbym~'s sussed out all the nursing rooms in town. I've nursed at Jurong Point and found nursing rooms at a number of places... Isetan, Parkway Parade... BHG, Bugis Junction. Tubbym~ says there are nursing rooms at Raffles City, Tangs, Vivo.. and a whole lot of other places!

BbEthan, haha! *hi-five* to the gobbling up of 'unorthodox' hospital confinement foods! THANKS for the nursing room summary! It's REALLY useful cos I'm usually in that area.

caramelle, I smsed daerius telling her frankly that it's getting really annoying the way she is way behind schedule with no courtesy of an update. She apologised back then. Today she sent an sms of her own initiative saying she's received the goods and will be sending them out immed. So ok la, I appreciate it if ppl try to make amends.

+ The last few weeks, dropped out forummate audreyaw has been on my mind. Anyone knows if she's popped and is doing ok?

bubu~, went ok! Cos i brot a bott of fresh ebm just in case n he ended up not needing any nursing

*lazy shortcut typing now cos holding kyle with other arm.*

OH!! another update - I'm having first post-preg period

sweethalo, i started massage on day 5 or 6. can start day 4.

l'tulips, hv to exercise caution now that h1n1 is gaining momentum. Glad I managed to face my fears b4 everythg started happening.

~end of part 1~</font>

<font color="cc0099"> lin, your hubby is pregnant. HA! Just kidding!! Tt's acid reflux n/or heartburn. drs sometimes prescribe antacids to neutralise acids in stomach. Other remedies: eat smaller meals more oft, cut down spicy, sour &amp; greasy foods, do not lie down/recline at least 30min after meals... hope this helps.

ahnet, safety gates abail at ToyRUs and various places. Hv seen good deals on WTS thread too. But oft must self-collect la.

deerdeer, Kyle is taking a dummy (pacifier) already. else i can't remove him from my breast at night tho he has fallen asleep. Wakes again n wants to comfort suck. So after Wk 4, we chilled n offered him a dummy. mind you, it took 5 days of intro'ing b4 he stopped rejecting it. And a few tries b4 he can keep it in mouth for a while at a time
Now i find it a Godsend as it helps him soothe himself to sleep when he wakes after we've put him down to sleep.

sweethalo, as i mentioned b4, Cassey isn't very interested in kyle. the most she has done was tap his leg with a paw when we first brot him back. She hated his wailing n would lie down a distance away n look over with a put off expression now n then. Now home, she sometimes stares at him sleeping in Snuggle sleeper or car seat, but isn't keen on going any closer.

bbEthan, I think it's good supply, but NOT oversupply. Don't worry. Once a bott's bn offered, I'll hv to pump n usually get 4oz (120ml) in 5 min or even less. My sis has forummate on April MTB thread who can pump 300-400ml at a time even tho 3hrly pump!! THAT'S SUPER SUPLY!! I passed some extra ebm to niece. sis said no smell at all n looked so nice she was tempted to drink it too! haha... Hubby takes 1 shift on wkends so will bott feed ebm. When I go out, i bring a bott just in case too. Once kyle was past wk 5 n latching well, i stopped being as strict with botts. Will offer MIL one if she visits (not v often) so she can bond with kyle too.

junebbboi, colicky bb? Is it all times of day or only certain times like evenings?

ahnet, kyle's head smelt greasy when i applied bb oil night b4 to get rid of cradle cap... mayb that's why?

Re: how much bb should drink
Abt 1 oz (30ml) for each kg of his weight. For most of us, 90-120mls.

nicolle, kyle's awake most of day now wanting to interact. he no longer sleeps more than 1.5hrs at a time but kps awake in btwn feeds even tho there are 3 hrs from end of 1 feed to start of next. Thkfully he sleeps better at night.

LFB, there are mums who exclusive pump bm. So its tbf, but w/o latching on. for me, I want the convenience of latching on when we go out. needn't heat up, wash n sterilise botts copiously. At the end of the day, it's a personal decision, isn't it?

TPYmum, I saw Gleneagles lactation consultant Milla. Rates are affordable n I really like her n will strongly recommend her.

ahnet, i bf kyle at an incline cos of the possetting (spit up of milk). it's not a big prob. no need to stress, kyle possetts a LOT but he's not bothered, bright-eyed, active... putting on weight n producing several dirty diapers. it's easy to over-estimate the amt of milk coming back up. when latching, just let bum sit on your lap n raise his head to breast, oft i pat his back as he suckles n he burps better.

one night he drank greedily for 20 min, then zonked out... then possetted FIVE times!!!! but i'm not overly concerned cos he's still happy n healthy. tt's the best gauge at the end of the day ok? So don't stress. only hv to stress abt the amt of laundry given how many burpcloths n tops he gets thru each day. Curdled milk is such a nightmare to rinse off!!!

*give up ot liao.*

<font color="0000ff">argh.

Dolly, i think the tingling and pain is due to thrush leh.. I may have breast yeast infection! Cos my boy mouth also got white white.. And somemore pain only on one side

Cham. Need medication for both bb and me if really is thrush..

Cassey: Welcome back! Good to see that you are coping fine! Guess a lot of us will have be left alone after CL finish their duties too.

11_beans: Still got tingling feeling huh? Mine no more pain liao. Boy mouth white white is it because it's full of milk?

<font color="cc0099"> 11Beans, I thought I had thrush too... but white spots in Kyle's mouth could be wiped off. I'm fairly sure it's my silly chronic eczema wreaking havoc with my right areola. Sometimes there's an unbearable itching and some weeping.
Trying to put cream and air as much as possible... n refrain from using soaps when possible.

I sure hope it isn't thrush, else both of you need to see a dr and get meds.</font>

Cassey: When Kyle has his full month celebration, did you order the cup cake tree from Sweethest moment or the full month boxes?

Got order decoration like balloons? Now I'm planning for Kendrick's full month...

<font color="cc0099"> I ordered full month boxes - cos wanted guests to go away with somethg.
Didn't order deco. i wasn't tt into it... more a formality to make my parents happy.
I don't really like crowds... more an intimate gatherings person.

Kyle's still wide awake til now.
i'm sleepy liao!! he still wants to play. yawn.

OH... YES!!! He's soothed himself to almost asleep with dummy! I'm going to shower &amp; sleep soon too! Ciao!</font>

anybody wanna take over my medela mini electric plus. bought end may/early june at abt $300. Used for 1 week. Looking to sell at $200 (neg)

Also hv an avent manual pump for sale. used for about 2 weeks. bought abt 3 mths ago. Hope to sell for $60 (neg).

for both items, You'll get everything that comes in the original pack.

interested, pls email me at [email protected]

i'm glad to say that my bm flow has been greatly improved since i latched baby on again since day 12! (today is day 14) though supply has only increased by 10 ml to 60-70ml per pumping session of 15 mins, i'm still happy cos the flow is definitely better.

looking after baby at night has been exhausting. i sleep like a log in the day when my mother's around to help. waiting for baby to wake up in 30 mins time to empty my breasts. full full.

had another juandice check this morning. sian. no change to the level. still 158. have to go back AGAIN next tuesday. Doc says breastfed babies are like that one. a double-edged sword? good yet causes juandice to go down slow.

amk_gal:
try drinking the red dates water each time after you latch your baby and after you express your milk this helps a lot. Then you also have to think positively and keep telling yourself baby don't have enough milk, I must have more milk for baby to drink. This will help. It did help for me. The type of pump you use is also important. I am using Ameda Twin pump. It expresses milk from both breasts at the same time and you can adjust the suction to your comfort. I have cracked nipples but and comfortable with the pump's suction.

hi amk_gal/ cassey,
so envious of ur MS. i can only get a pathetic 40ml after each pumping session. haiz. im not latching baby because he seems very agitated and upset when the flow is slow. i commited the mistake of giving the bottle after a week cos my supply is insufficient. since then he wants instant gratification and refuses to latch properly. i tried fish and papaya soup, red date tea, BF milk powder but nothing seems to work. so depressing.

amk_gal, before day 12 how did u feed baby? how to relatch baby successfully? can share?

Cassey: Thanks for the info. hehe, the 1st month celebration is more like a gathering for hubby and I, but too bad, I'm still not out of confinement yet.

amk_gal: Good to hear that your milk supply has gone up! I still can't pump more than 2 teaspoon of milk! Because of that, got to do exclusive latching. Wonder why there's lactation consultant but no pumping consultant ... hahaha

anyone has any idea or suggestion on how to slim the thighs and hips??

i see my ankles area im very happy, cos they are back to pre-preggie state... but i find the thighs like big...
hips also... esp the hip bones...

feel like sawing away the hip bones!!!

oh ya, and the waist!! it's still so thick!! how to slim down!!!

and my collar bones are still hiding!!! can feel but cant really see... which means im still fat lah.

feel like gg to london weight management to slim down. haha... but no $$...

need ideas/suggestions on slimming those areas i mentioned.

tia!!

ok, i think im gg crazy... i feel like cutting short my hair!!

i also wan to dye hair leh... but my frens all say cannot dye... cos of breastfeeding.... argh...

anyone dye or done treatment to hair yet during breastfeeding...

mayb i shd give up breastfeeding le... im getting impatient and the pumping is not as good le... mayb din pump for days le...
if i give up breastfeeding, den im able to dye hair and eat all sorts of junks and drink lots of coffee and no one will care!!

ahnetsan: haha, I never say I got abundant ms lah, haha... sometimes my boy seems to be very impatent and moves a lot when he latch, wonder if it's because the breast is suck till dry and no more milk liao. But since can't pump out, so no idea how much I have.

First Mum: If your 40 ml is pathetic, then my 2 teaspoon is super duper pathetic lah! At least you can see the bottle is filling up, I'm counting the drops from the funnel to the milk bottle leh! I do hope that I can pump out more milk soon, else if I start work, and can't pump out, then got to give FM liao! Moreover,if I can pump hor, then others can help bottle feed my boy at night, I can have more peaceful sleep!

good wat, i always read dat ur boy can latch and suck for very long, so envy lor. somemore can suck until ur breasts feel empty... so good lor. dat means ur milk is abundant, dats y can latch for so long and can empty ur breasts and ready for milk production for the next round.

my boy nw cant even latch for more than 15min.

ahnetsan
dun be despair... feel stressed will affect supply. maybe just supplement with FM first. When BM increase, slowly reduce FM.

bf can dye hair. i did that for #1.

dolly: I'm back! hehe... I also want a pumping consultant! I'm in your "pathetic pumping" gang... This morning, I was supposed to feed from right breast, but left side felt full, heavy, a bit painful, so decided to pump. Thot will have decent amount, cos pumping from full breast right? WRONG. Only managed to pump something like 10 or 15ml. Faint. Skyla also like Kendrick, finsh eating half hr later need to feed again, i got no rest in between. Then no rest in day and at night got me very frazzled for last few days, that's why MIA. Since can't pump out, so I also bo bian, have to total latch, my mum can't even help me feed once a day so I can nap. -_- Today started my massage, masseuse said best if I can sleep for an hour after the massage. I said see how lah, baby will probably need a feeding by then. And sure enough, she started crying 15min before my massage ended. And she had just fed right before my massage started (ML had to wait for me to finish feeding some more).

ahnet, just feed whatever BM u can, and if supply really run out at some point, then so be it. There's nothing wrong with formula. I was so tempted to switch to FM over last couple days, cos I doubted my own supply. I mean, if I am producing enough to feed her till her tummy is full, why does she want to be fed all the time? Was worried that for some reason, my supply had plunged, and I can't see cos I latch her, dunno how much she manage to suck out. Now still monitoring her behaviour over next few days. Almost feel like going to her PD, get her weighed and checked, just so that he can tell me everything is ok or not. I smsed her PD last night, ask how come her poop is bright green. I actually wanted to ask SO MANY more questions lor, about her feeding, her crying etc etc, but felt pai seh to ask so many things on his private time.... Btw, BFng does not prevent me from eating junk food wahahaha!

tubbym,
did u get the answer as to why it's bright green poo?

i haven had junk food for this month, apart from one mac meal... nt been having very good appetitie though. and no craving for any foods too...

and i haf a feeling dat my hb wan me to use fm instead of bm... there was one night we gave fm and my boy slept thru the night. and before i gave in to fm, cos i wanted to test test see whether he will also vomit out or not if he takes formula....

well, he did vomit even though on formula, so i can assure myself tat it's not my breastmilk dat's making my boy vomit.

and when i say give fm to boy lor, my hb looked happy leh... dunno if im being too sensitive or wat, but he will say things like if no bm den give fm lor, no big deal wat, why stress urself over bm... not as if baby will know and appreciate dat mummy giving bm. den when i asked him whether he wld prefer me to give fm instead of bm, my hb jus says no lah, got bm den give bm lor (in a nonchalant way)... haiz...

ahnetsan: haha, actually I feel otherwise when my boy need to latch VERY long... is that my milk comes slow and he needs to suck super hard to get it!

TubbyMummy: Lately I observed that my boy will have a few marathoon feeds like 30 min latch every hour to 60 min latch, then he'll sleep for 2 to 3 hours! But the thing is I can't control when he did that. So this early morning,he only take that long 4 hours nap after 4:30am. If only he did it earlier