(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Annie: Wow, what a news! But I guess we cannot forbid all our family members from going out, so it's inevitable. Just make sure you sterilize everything your BIL used, hopefully the gems can be cleared away

Dolly- he don stay here but the children are staying here so banned the kids..jus told my 14yr old niece she not to enter my room & go near my baby

bbjun,
hw did u knw ur bb has reflux? PD said so? and how is reflux like?
my Jarius has been vomiting out milk leh, for the past wk or so... i tot he's jus reguitating or posetting, but doesnt seem like to me leh, from the description from babycenter, i suspect he may be having stomach reflux....

bottle feed, half way burp, also vomit, and he's not drinking alot, the most only 80-90ml...

latch him on, also vomit... alrdy tried to burp and den carry him in a sit up position for like 20min or so, but he stil vomit out milk, either in watery form or in beancurd like form...

and he will vomit also whenever he does those stretching... when he stretches and like use alot of energy like dat, he confirm will vomit out one.

last night, i gave in to giving him formula, wanting to test if whether it's cos of my breastmilk dat he keep vomiting out... but formula stil the same leh, burp also vomit, dun burp also vomit, carry in situp position for 20min wanting to let the flow go down to his stomach first, but also vomit.

each time i latch him on and den see him vomit out, i feel like crying... i dunno wat's wrong with him.

tmr we may be bringing him to see PD.

and my damn mil keep saying it's cos got wind in the stomach... but it's not lor, from wat i read, it's cos of stomach muscles nt strong enough, dats y he cant take it and will keep vomiting out.

split,
my boy like nt drinking much leh... i also dunno why leh... todate, im still using the glass bottles from TMC leh... he been drinking only like 80ml, the most 90ml nia... latching on times i dunno hw much he drinks lah, but max 15-20min nia... only once in a blue moon, he will latch for like 45mins.

been reading dat some of the babies 3wk old alrdy drinking 120-140ml of milk le, but mine hasnt even drank 100ml yet wor... i really dunno wat's wrong with him.

everyday see him i feel like crying, i dunno wat's wrong wif him, he jus keep vomiting out after each feed.

jus nw i went to bathe, come back, i checked on him, i found dat his collar, neck all got milk stains lor, and his mouth also got milk stains... he vomited again lor... and den on the bed, got big patch of vomit too lor... den i changed him and changed diaper again... today alrdy 3x le i changed his clothes.

i think im gg crazy soon... i haf this feelng dat my boy is feeling uncomfortable, but i dunno wat's wrong wif him and i cant help him and he cant talk, all he does is wail and cry, hw am i supposed to know how is he feeling!!

u see, ur boy alrdy drinking like 170ml of milk leh, somemore every 3hourly leh... mine every 3hourly only 80-90ml.
but his thighs are still meaty and fleshy and his eyes are looking bright to me leh. haiz

makes me wonder if my breastmilk is lousy for my boy... if nt y is he nt drinking 90-120ml now at his age which is 3wk+...

and i remb when i read babysister's post abt giving fm is nothing wrong ... and abt bfg is jus for 6mths of a child's life... shouldnt be too stressed over it... i actually cried, cos she really say the things dat's been troubling me... and she really send some relief to me, by saying dat it's nth wrong with ebm or tbf or fm...

diana, I oso encountered this when I delivered my son 4yr back.. I can still remember everything.. One good thing, TMC delivery room has a clock above us.. it allows us to check the time easily..

11.50pm - admitted hospital due to chest pain and was sent to observation room. Told my husband to go to ward n rest cos 1st delivery will normally take very long to deliver.. (which I made a big mistake).. oso the nurses disallowed my husband to stay around there..

12.40am - been induced cos contraction very regular and already 2cm dilated.. but i felt nothing - maybe thick skinned la

Ard 3am - Told the nurse I wt epi cos hearing a mom to be scream in pain. The nurse saw me being frigthen n decided to put me in the Delivery room. and reminded her that i want my husband to be with me (MY NIGHTMARE BEGIN)

So need to do the last wash up n pass motion if any.. Came out from toilet.. found out my bed missing.. the ah mah told me to walk to the delivery room myself..

I was so pissed off.. cos I was in operation suit.. back not properly tied... n there are a few father to-be around.. so ma lu.. the worst is i dunno which delivery room.. The ah mah just told me which room n walked away.. no wheelchair or assistance.. I walked n leaned the back against the wall to the delivery room.. silly me.. regreted listening to her.. is a curse...

Reached delivery room, the nurse give me a pentini injection.. drowsy.. i fell asleep

4.45am - woke up.. feel like wanting to pass urine.. sat up n realised that no one in the room.. n the bed was levered to very high... tot of jumping off the bed.. sudden recalled that my water bag has burst.. worried baby may dropped out.. so decided to press the bell for help..

nurse came with urine pan.. try to force the usine out.. thought is due to posture (lying on bed), cant pass urine. so press bell for help again.. This time, nurse came in and checked.. n told me that I CANNOT PUSH ANYMORE.. SHE SAW MY BABY HAIR.. I was shocked and scared.. so started to feel very tense up n groaning in pain..

Kept crying for my husband.. no one to hug.. so i hugging to the bed fence.. tighted my legs not to let the baby come out.

5.20am - waited for very long, my husband came.. (After delivey, Scolded my husband for taking so long to come to my rescue. he said he was not sleeping in the room and only receive the call ard 5.15am. He also commented that he saw my face was in blue black @ that he came in.)

The nurse scolded me for not wanting to use the GAS.. I told her i cant cos I am going to black out.. I wt 100% oxygen.. The nurse insisted she has switched 100% oxygen but i insisted not when my husband checked.. he told the nurse off..

this is a tip from Wong Boh Boh.. if u in scared n panicked.. going to black out.. switch the gas to 100% oxygen.. as you wont over-exert yr muscle to grab for oxygen and nitrogen will make u black out.. more for calming down purpose..

5.45am - Finally the gynae came and forced open my leg cos my muscle had tense up. As a result my right hip was injured. my baby was delivered..

During the baby's weight taking, the nurse told my husband that they have been short-handed for a few weeks..

My husband and I do not know the nurse should push the baby to us in the next 2-3hr after delivered.. means should be ard 8am-9am.. but I didnt till my bro came ard 12noon and asked how my baby.. innocently, i told i have not see my baby.. he was shocked and angry.. he stormed to the nursery to find out why there is a delay.. The nurses explained that they found some blood clots in my son's eye and a few cuts on his lip.. so they cannot wash him till the PD checked him.. Since is a Sun, PD will take a longer time to arrive.. Once the PD certified everything is fine.. they will push the baby to me.. I was crying n crying.. My parents were so worry that they kept praying hard..

God received our prayers and my son is fine.. I got to see my son around 2pm..

My husband and I were traumatized by the delivery that we took a few years to decide to hv a 2nd one..

ahnetsan, sound like yr baby is colic.. he cried n wailed.. taking in too much air as a result he reguitating or posetting after feeding.. my baby gal oso happened like this when she was 1-2 weeks old..

I got this med (RID-wind) from my PD.. feed her 0.2ml the med half an hr before her milk feed.. it work..

Have you checked w yr PD?

ahnetsan- i also suspect yr baby could be having wind in his tummy..Nesher also gt wind in his tummy & will vomit during his stay at KKH & the mid wifes was scolding me must burp him throughly & feed him halfway then burp drink again then burp

TPY mommy / annie,
huh, colic?? but he isnt cranky leh. so i tot it's reflux, and cld be bad reflux.

and my boy is almost 1 month old le.

u mean after ur gal took the rid-wind, she no longer vomits between feeds and after feeds?

going to PD tmr...

<font color="119911">Hi all,
i have got lobang to buy nan pro 1 400gm @ 24 cans per carton for this time onli... those interested, pm me... thanks

yes.. she is better now.. seldom reguitate.. last time, milk can came out from her nose too..

I agreed with Annie.. my CL does that.. feed her.. burp her when she stop.. n continue to feed her.. then burp again.. must be a through burp.. my gal burping is super loud.. my CL said she is not feminine..

we burp him between feeds, halfway stop den burp, den drink milk again den burp again. and his burp is those loud one

but stil vomit..

jus nw worse, vomit le den cry!

den nw hiccup

ahnet, don worry so much each bb different one..my no1 last time worst only take like 60ml at 6mt old but cuz he is premature bb lah..anyway i think ur bb got colic too cuz sound like my no1, we bring him go see doc that time and doc said is colic and give us colic drop..maybe u can try to buy the colic drop

ahnetsan, I think ur BB has colic. Like what tpymommy says u shd go get ridwind from PD. I am also feeding my bb that. His condition has improved. Same as what u described, he vomits out milk even after burping him. NOw it's much lesser. But some times one hour after feed, he moved ard too much or sneeze, some milk will be vomited out. This is very much normal for BBs. A lot of BBs do have reflux at some point in time.

Re: burping
Burping once does not means he has gotten rid of all the wind in his stomach. It's good to continute to burp him some more to see if he still have some more wind to burp out. Try to observe him and look out for cues where he still has wind so that u can continue to burp him. My BB has a different cry when he is uncomfortable with wind. He also makes clearing throat noises and has different facial expressions... that always makes him turn red.

As for feeding amt, due to colic and reflux, we also watch the amt we are feeding our boi. He is officially 3 weeks old after tonite and still drinking 90ml since about two weeks old. There are times he just finished 70ml only. But as he is having more freq feeds during the day, I think 90ml is fine. Of cos, there are ocassions where he drank 100ml or a bit more cos after the 90ml, he is wailing for another top up. Take his cues and don't worry about whether he has enuf or not. if he is hungry, he will cry for food.

If BB is on BM, my mother always describe it this way, after one feed, one poo and one pee, BB will want another feed. Works for my BB as sometimes within less than 2 hrs n becos of the poo n pee, he wants another feed.

Re:hiccup
My bb hiccups very often. As what Cassey assures, it's normal. Mine oredi hiccup alot when in my tummy. Now, he still hiccups. If u think his hiccups lasted too long, u can put him upright and burp him. Some times, it will stop. Otherwise, feed a little water and burp him.

Note: I was impatient to see ridwind showing results on my BB soon. But after two days, it got worse. PD told me to be patient as the medication may need up to one week to help BB improved. Also, we find that direct feeding of the medication via syringe to BB more effective than mixing with his milk (suggested by PD). After we changed the mtd of giving him medication, his condition improves a lot. Today is a marked improvement for my BB and I am so happy that he has less discomfort today.

ahnetsan, I can understand how u feel cos I went thru that for 2 weeks plus. Super heartwrenching and on top of that, I have to deal with a CL who has her set of thinking. Please do not stress yourself out. Rem that colic and reflux is normal and BB vomits, cries becos he is trying to tell us how he feels. There is no other means for him to tell us his discomfort.

One other thing that u can do.
After morning bath, apply ruyiyou to your palm, rub and apply to BB's stomach, back (near lungs), and his feet. Keep these areas warm after that. Do the same at nite when u change him into PJs. This gives them some comfort.

ahnetsan, u can also change his feeding bottle. I changed mine from avent and pigeon to Dr Brown's anti colic bottles which has internal vent to prevent intake of air. U can get this from kiddy palace. Expensive but worth it.

Hope the info helps. I go and get myself a wipe down and pump milk. Will log on to answer ur qns if u still have any. Don't worry too much, k?

bbjun, my no1 use dr brown bottle too but no2 is usin bfree plus..find tat bfree plus better maybe next time u can try

im letting my boy use the nuk teats now leh. apparently it's also supposed to be colic-free? i do haf avent bottles which are bpa-free.

use nuk cos din wan to create nipple confusion leh.

btw, colic and reflux - are they the same?

even if he doesnt cry for another feed, jus latch him on after he poo and pee and had a feed?

Wow, my boy slept for more than 2.5 hours after the marathoon feed. Guess his stomach is getting bigger now. My breast is engorged and a bit leaky again! Hope he wake up soon

bbjun: Thanks for the advice, good to know about it.

Ahnetsan: Dun worry too much, guess you'll feel better after bringing your baby to PD tmr and confirm it's colic/wind. BTW, my CL will put RuiYiYou on baby tummy after bathing even without wind problem. Guess it's some precaution which we can do.

i jus latched my boy, make him in upright position and latched for awhile.

and he burped loudly and no vomit!! yay!!

now he slping soundly le

bbjun.. my bb also hicupp very often..

How come most of our bb have this colic problem.. seem like is a common problem..

good try, ahnetsan.. all the best... btw, when is yr bb born? mine is 1st june.. tomorrow 1 mth old..

btw, is nuk teat good? wont crate nipple confusion? tot of trying...

Ahnetsan, I tot avent bottles are anti colic but no lor. It still creates wind in my boi. a couple of my frens have the same experience as well. Colic and reflux are diff. colic is just the wind that creates discomfort. Reflux is the vomiting of milk out. Reflux can happen even if BB is not colic.

No, u don't feed after BB pee and pooed. Just that it means he will soon cry for another feed, even if it's not time yet. Just as a tip to look out as u wouldn't want BB to cry too much and get wind. Happens to my boi a few times lor.. sometimes one hour must feed again but he may not take the full 90ml.

Actually regardless whatever teats and bottle I used, my boi can still latch. I actually don't think they have any confusion with nipples and teats.

no leh, we din give him pacifier. tried once, cos he was crying nonstop, but he spit it out

nuk is nt bad leh... dun dare to use avent nw cos scare of nipple confusion, but since bbjun says no difference, den may try soon. cos i scare he wont latch...

den my boy has both colic and reflux ba...

my boy born on 4th june at TMC

hubby jus called. he say tmr bring bb to KK for checkup instead of gg back to TMC.

i hope it's not got anything to do with my breastmilk, dats y he's been feeling and behaving this way....

ahnetsan: Nothing wrong with your BM lah! Remember FM also has the same problem right? Dun worry too much, nothing wrong with you. Just let Dr check on him tomorrow. Think KK might be better, but do you have any PD assigned to baby?

ahnetsan: dun go KK.. esp now got h1n1 everywhere.. that side hv to wait for very long (@ least 3-4hr).. i been there when i brought my son there a few years.. super bad experience.. in the end, my husband said he will not go back there if given the choice..

Go to MT. Alvenia (PD).. My friend said not bad.. but very expensive

dolly,
oh ya, last night gave formula to Jarius and stil vomit too. so i guess nt due to my breastmilk ba... ok ok i shall not anyhow think and make myself stressed up.

my PD at TMC, Dr Keoy.

hb say go KK cos his fren suggested as his fren also went kk dat time when his boy had such problem too. ended up they went to kk too late cos turned out dat the mummy's milk nt suitable for baby, and baby has to drink those special soy milk.

so cross fingers lor, but we dun haf any PD at kk leh... wonder who to look for tmr.... anyone can advise?

I used avent pacifier.. guessed I confused my gal with it.. now she bite n not suck.. very painful..

Now change to Nuk pacifier.. dare not let her suck my nipple again.. try to call sister kang for lactation advice but cant reach her.. sigh!!...

I envy those mommy whose bb can latch on..

my PD is @ TMC.. Dr Ang Poon Liat..

Maybe you can check w yr hubby's friend for PD recommendation @ KK... but be more careful

TPY mommy,
i also haf the avent pacifier leh. u mean nw she bite ur nipple when u latch her on? maybe u din latch properly , dats y painful?

hello mommies
how are all of you? busy with the little ones? im so tired! baby daryl is 7wks as todate. since last wk, he demands to be carried every min during day time. once put down, will starts to cry. so tired of the carrying and no 'ME' time at all. the only relief thing is that he is sleeping well at night, waking up 3times for his feeds. so i only managed to rest during night time!!

ahnetsan
my bb also drinking only 90ml every 3hrly. he used to drink 120ml from wk4 onwards but he gt reflux so i reduced to 90ml. then from then, no more increase and sometimes cant even finish too.

ahnetsan, but i stop using it. now using NUK.. Do you think I should seek Sister Kang's help... if girl failed to latch on, i hv to terminate my breastfeeding.. hubby discourages me to keep pumping..cos he said very inflexible.. must carry a pump ard.. n we do not hv car

I enjoys pumping.. now start my pumping session after 3.5hr.. 1st 5min pump already got 120ml.. i am so happy..

Now, I am confused..

How much must a bb drink if is 4week old this week. Mine is born in 1st June.. tomorrow will be a completed 4 week..

She only drink 100ml -120ml and sleep @ 2hr after every feed.. is it enuf? but she will reguitate @ times.

Her last feed for the day is 10pm. so @ night she will wake twice ard 1pm and 4.30pm for her feed. Did my CL under feed her?

lose and confused.. how shou

hb jus called. we wont be gg to PD tmr.

jus checked wif fren... as long as baby never throw up as in merlion kinda and not those super throw up kinda, then it's ok.

call parentcraft tmr and check with them and see wat they say before deciding to bring bb down to tmc ba.

bo bian lor, should be reflux lor... his throat or stomach muscles nt strong yet... so cannot take in too much milk at one go...else will vomit out

must burp him and burp him after feed. and must give small feeds only

even latch on, also must only be 5min nia, cannot be 15min, if nt the stomach cant contain too much and den will vomit out again.

for the past few days, ive been complaining dat baby only latched for 5min den he spit it out le, i wonder if he had enough or not. so now, after wat my fren says from her experience, i guess i haf to latch him on and off for 5min every now and then... damn shiong.

haiz,... dunno why my boy like dat one...

now he stil sleeping...so far no vomit yet

TPY mommy,
according to TMC childcare book, 2-4wks old baby shd be taking 90-120ml per feed, 5-6 feeds a day... 1-2months taking 120-150ml per feed, 5 feeds a day.

now i cant follow this table for feeding guideline for my boy anymore...

ahnetsan, I never follow the guideline... cos my boy take about 10feeds (incldg 2-3 FM feeds at nite) a day leh. BM not as filling as FM. I think FM can follow this guideline.

After reading what u describe, I think ur BB doesn't have colic. Sounds like just reflux. He will outgrow it in a few months. It's very normal for BBs, so dun feel bad about it or stressed about it. Some take a few months to get over this reflux stage.

bbjun,
i dunno if it's meant more for fm or bm leh.

shd i wake my boy up for 5min latch feed or shd i let him continue to slp?

bbjun,
yeah my hb's fren also say its more to reflux. bo bian lor, seems like my boy has a tiny stomach and weak muscles.

as long as no fever and no super duper merlion vomit, he shd be fine. if nt, den it will be a virus le..

nw he's making those stretching noise again

ahnetsan,
I guessed yr baby is those small amt drinker but many feeds drinker type.. peepee an poopoo.. all gone.. so they tend to be very cranky.. cos always hungry.. n cant eat more

My friend's bb who is 3mth old, belong to those type.. his stomach is small.. so cant drink much but the amt cant last long esp BF cos mostly water..

What she is doing now is.. feed baby only 1 side every hr..An 1 hr interval for each side.. feed for 5 min.. ie.. 1pm - left side.. 2pm - right side, 3pm - left side.. Honestly, it can be very siong n tiring.

n put him on yr shoulder to burp him.. she said this method of burp is more effective than sitting posture.

She told me.. depending on the BB.. some can last till a year.. she knows this cos she has 3 kids and it also happened to her 2nd one.. She was like you very lost.. but manage to get the advice from a friend too..

try this method.. no harm..

TPY mommy,
dunno leh, but he doesnt feed every hourly everyday... mostly is 3 hourly one. wonder hw come he gets enough when he only latch for 5mins.

yeah lor, very shiong leh, den i also dunno whether to wake him for feeds nw or not... nw 7pm le...his last 5min latch feed was abt 5pm. should i wake him up?

try wat method? burping on shoulder? or feed every hourly?

Ahnetsan, if he wants to sleep, just let him sleep first. He will cry and let u know if he is hungry. U can continue this 5mins latch approach for a couple of days, then increase to 10mins to see if he can take more milk. If he can't, just go back to 5 mins latch again. When my boi reflux got worse with 100ml feed, we just reduce back to 90ml. If he doesn't finish that feed, we also let him be and wait til the next feed. Now his situation is improving and with him moving on to 3+ weeks in the next few days, we will see if we need to feed him more. If not, will still stick to 90ml.

ahnetsan,
Btw does yr food contains lot of liquor? if yes, reduce it cos some bb cant tahan alcohol content..

As for method, try putting him on shoulder after feed since his feed already 5min.