(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

SkylerMum, my baby gal who is coming to 4 weeks drank 120ml.. I think it should be normal.. Babies are smart.. if they are hungry or not full, they won't sleep.. When my gal drank 120ml, she can sleep @ least 3hr and it is breastmilk..

But my gal does cry whenever she pass urine, motion or fart.. cry so badly as if she is in pain.. i am observing it now, if this persitent for another 2 week, I will consult the PD when she goes back for her 2nd injection.

Babies alway have Sleep, drink, cry or poopoo problem.. so dun worry..

<font color="0000ff">hee thanks thanks..

I will try to drink more water and using hot pack now before pumping as well. I getting 110ml combined from pumping at the moment. But so pain.. And much lesser from the painful side

Anyway my bb seems like on growth spurt. Suddenly not sleeping much and hungry every hour.. 2 ounce (60ml) every hour which is double his usual.. And wide awake after milk somemore. Usually will just sleep. Hmm</font>

Thanks babysister.. yes I am looking for a good lactation consultant but not from TMC one.. Any advice/recommendation..

Dun stand &amp; walk too often.. Women should always on bed during confinement (this is what my confinement lady kept saying).. but I didnt follow this rule too cos I'm active type and can't lay on bed all day long to sleep.

As for breathless and weak, my confinement lady said is due to lose of blood.. so please eat as much of dong guai during yr confinement.. and this confinement is very important for you to recuperate.

Dolly is right.. chicken wine is very important.. You will not be afraid of cold next time, if you will to drink it during yr confinement.

My confinement lady is experienced and nice.. so sad she is leaving on Tuesday afternoon.. Then I have to be alone.. dealing my gal

I always wonder how much milk can a mommy pump every 3-4hrs?

Why I asked? cos my mom kept buying fish bone n unripped papaya for my confinement lady to cook soup.. drank @ 6 times.. but I can only pump @ least 100ml (min) or 130ml (max) every 3-4hrs.

While my confinement lady kept telling not to drink too much as too many pumping is not good for myself. Imagine almost a litre a day.. where does all these milk come from? is mommy's nutrients and mommy will not benefit any. So a balance between produce milk and taking in nutrient is very important..

My confinement lady advice me not to take too much of papaya soup (to stimulate milk) after confinement cos I will hv stop taking tonic. And I myself will be weaken for producing too much milk.

So which theory is right? caught in between mom and confinement lady..

there are some threads here with info on doris Fok or sister Kang from Mt A and some other good LC but yes, dun go to TMC. Not the best I feel...

my bb 2 wks now... i pump ard 90-100ml now every 3 hrs... everyday like increase abt 10ml... fluctuates here n there at diff time of day. sometimes latch on to stop bb from crying when CL has things to do.

got eat tonic soup leh but boh bian got to walk around n do things cos got to entertain my elder one... wish i can lie down in bed n sleep the whole day. I got maid but she like busy with housework n I dun want to neglect my elder one...

I think for me between tonic to strengthen myself n papaya soupd for more milk, I may choose papaya soup cos I wanna proritise bb leh... but poor mummy lor. sigh. welcome to parenthood - sacrifice.

babysister..
i really envy you that yr baby wt to latch on.. I will try to contact sister Kang from Mt A after my CL leave.. no interuption.. n do it secretly without hubby knowing.. cos he doesn't encourage me to continue to breastfeed if gal doesnt wt to latch on.. inflexible la especially i have my 4yr son to take care alone @ night when hubby need to work late.. cant imagine when my gal crying, boy attention seeking and I engorge in pain... n no more CL around..

let me try the LC then see how it goes.. likely wish me good luck.. last try.. still cannot then i hv to terminate my breastfeed..

huh, just tried pumping again and there's only few drops! Already tried different angle... not much use, maybe a few drops more

TPY Mommy: we are totally opposite! My boy can latch from day 1 but I can't pump at all!

wow u r best.. but must start to find way to pump else.. it will be tough for you if u need to go back to work..

i am sad... my 4yr son oso like this but hope my gal can.. failed..

tpymummy, yah.. in the middle of his sleep, he will suddenly wake up and scream then fart.. then have to either pat pat him or carry him to sleep again. Give him pacifier then he will suck so furiously, always make me think his hungry.

very difficult to read their cues sometimes

Aircon
Thanks for those who replied. Think I will try without aircon first. Thanks.

Pump and BF
I am ok with both. When my bb comes back, I will try to let him latch on to see whether he wants or not. I am just afriad he will get impatient. Now already he is an eager drinker, drinking faster than he can take it. Will try to pump more often, to yield abt 6 feed per day instead of 4 now. Trying to cut down milk powder cost too! Hee hee! Nan1 quite expensive! $32 per 900gm! And I read bb usually finish a tin/week! Yikes! Will be more diligent and pump and pump! Jia you, everyone!

Confinement lady
Mine came today. She is scouted by mum. Mum saw her walking in market so often and asked her to help me out when knowing she does confinement. Not bad. Her fried kway tiao really good, got standard! Maybe becos she is from Penang! Mom said she can cook very good Penang laksa! Drool!
Hubby said now our house got zi char! Very funny!

LFB: Wow, your mum very sharp eye huh! Can spot a CL from the market! Good for you to have a zi char cook for CL! Mine not bad too, so I'm not tired of my food yet

farting: My baby fart when he's latching on... and most of the time there's poo or pee

Dolly,
my mum works in market mah. Anyway, she is still cutting, wrapping and doing work, very hard working! But too early to tell. My main concern is her taking care of bb. Cos I want to rest more to pump more milk when bb is back. So from tmr onwards, I will increase pumping. She will take care of bb then.

<font color="0000ff">babysister

We same, got both maid and CL. Maybe cos like that, i find the cl not much help other than cook. Cos my maid will help with baby also. Cl cook, my maid wash and clean. During the night, maid will wake up make milk while cl feeds bb.

And still the cl take shortcuts like never make proper soups for me, change diaper for bb never wipe first, my bath water also just make and leave there. Soup make liao, i want to drink also din heat up first. Anyway think she quite lazy lor. Not worth the money.

During the day she naps, cook and sms all day while i take care of bb.

So i'm thinking of terminating her services at 2 wks. Or is it my expectations too high?

LFB- avent comes 3 in one.. auto electrical pump, battery pump or manul pump cost me $299 ...
rather expensive but no choice as i dont wan to have a hard breast..kekekekkee

today hubby parents &amp; his elder bro &amp; his wife &amp; children came visiting... nagged at me i washed my hair..me one ear in one ear out..
then said i shuld be wearing socks or slipper but i jus wore a t shirt &amp; shorts.. aiyah next time i suffer wat not them wat ..
as baby still sleeping, his mum keep shaking him to get him to wake up as wan to see his eyes open... stupid old lady

Annie,

wah, Avent not cheap also hor. Think I will just use SIL's pump. Noisy bo bian lor. Actually think the nipple harden liao, ha ha ha!

For confinement, I don't wear slippers, still shorts and even sleeveless t shirt. My fan also on, just not blowing not blowing twds me. Some pple are like that, just ignore lor. Don't bother!

hi ladies, haven't logged on for a few days. been upset about BF thing. supply still the same. no increase! dropped when i'm upset for sure but increase not seen.

took papaya and ribs soup twice, still the same. started pumping every 2 hourly yesterday, and tried to re-latch baby but he tends to bite cos he's been bottle fed a few days since his hospitalisation.

last jaundice check on sat was 158, only 2 point drop from wed! end up still have to go back on tues. hope it will drop more more more then no need to go anymore.

i started my massage on fri (day 10 from delivery). good experience so far. to my horror, i'm 5 inches away from pre-pregnancy waistline, and my womb is still bulging like i'm still pregnant. very bad shape. lots of wind inside. after massage started passing gas the whole day. kind of having diarrhea, passing lots of wind at the same time, but i dun feel unwell so i guess should be fine..

11_beans: Your CL should count herself fortunate that there's a maid! I dun have maid and my CL got to cook and wash. Also take care of baby when I sleep.

Annie: My CL also ask me to wear socks at night when I sleep. So I just do loh, anyway, wearing socks helps my heel to be smoother, so I dun mind lah
Day time I wear short pants, only night time I'm asked to wear long pants.

amk_gal: I'm not sure about my supply, cos haven't pumped successfully yet. I also found that after one day of FM w latching, my boy dun latch that well the next day, but as I do total latching, he has no choice but to learn again.

<font color="0000ff">hi dolly,

Yes i agree.. So i dun like it when i see she like super enjoy having the maid and bullying her lor. All baby diapers and clothes also my maid washing. So she super free. Still take shortcuts so i not very happy abt spending this money. So think just terminate and tahan myself lor.. Hopefully can. Anyway i intend to formula feed at night or use ebm so mostly is my maid got to wake up.

I just let my maid take afternoon naps nowadays also but she sleep half hour wake up to iron baby diapers liao. So i think my maid doing much better than the cl. And cl costs 3 times more! And yet, not much help. </font>

haha.. My hubby went out and bought me 2 t-shirts and a long pants. He say he saw material thin thin can wear for show. Lol. Cos everyone make me wear long pants all day and i very hot and pek chek. Haaa

Started bathing 3 days liao. Using herbal water instead of water. Better than nothing. All these, instructed by my mil. My cl doesn't really seem to care. Dunno is good thing or bad thing also. Lol.

11 beans:
wow I think your CL is very bad leh. U may wanna sack her really or redefine her duties. My $2K worth CL handle all bb stuff and my maid doesnt touch bb or do bb related stuff at all. She cooks for my elder one and cleans house, wash my clothes still. CL handle bb and cooks for family n me. My mum does confinement food marketing for me.

TPY mommy: lemme know how u cope hor... i dreading time when CL leaves... hope i survive managing 1 adult, 1 kid n 1 baby!

yay next week i going to do massage.

amk_gal,
don't fret, sometimes it is like this. My baby has been hospitalised for 10days, right after born! I haven't latch him since day 2. So I sort of see open that I won't have an easy time if I latch him on. I just pump. Even if you don't have milk, just use formula lor. It's ok, don't stress youeself too much! Baby needs happy mum to be happy and contended. :>

My CL cooks for hubby and me, wash dishes and clothes, sweep and mop and takes care of bb. She told me these are all her duty. She is only here one day, still have to monitor and see. The only grouse, which I think is common, is she cooks with lots of oil and caused my kitchen to smoke! The worst is I have clothes on the bamboo and I am sure they are reek with oil now. Sigh. Cannot control I guess. These are old habits die hard!

HI LFB - wht happened to your boy? how come warded for 10 days?

Actually, I find pumping quite troublesome and tiring ... also I get more sore from pumping than latching... maybe when bb comes home, u can try latching... shld be ok slowly

Sweethalo,

jaundice lor! His level went up and doc needs to monitor. So no choice! But since I allow them to feed just formula, the level came down and he has improved. Tomorrow coming back, yes!

Actually I was thinking of latching, but with latching I can't monitor his feed. At least with pumping, I can see how much. Moreover I am afraid that with all those bottle feedings, he will not be patient to suck. May try, but I am ok with bottle, as long as he also get to drink BM.

LFB- cos i used to avent so stick to the same brand
&amp; it not so noisy so can pump inside the room &amp; wont wake hubby &amp; Nesher up...
i will on the fan towards me as i cant stand having sweat... at nite cos he inside the room i will put temp 24 &amp; not on the fan so he wonty catch a cold..

Dolly- hubby also ask me to wear socks but i jus not used to it anywher i try to put the RED SUN plaster to extract the waste product frm our body...

Latching on-
Nesher prefer to be bottle feed than latch on..he still sleeping &amp; it more than 3 hours ..mum scold me not to wake him up as baby will grow fast if they sleep alot than having more feeding

11_beans, if I were u, i think I wld terminate the CL liao. My CL also not fantastic. Driving me nuts. She has obsessive compulsive disorder and likes to keep cleaning things instead of taking care of my BB. She spent so much time bathing herslef and handwashing her own clothes. When my MIL or my mum comes over, she super happy she dun have to take care of my BB. She is also not a good cook - made me lose appetite. My mom now cooks dinner for me twice a week and I really eat like yao gui when she brings over her food. CL doesn't know she has this OCD, keep tidying n cleaning thgs when the priority is to take care of my BB. N she so scared when BB makes one noise. My boi likes to exercise and stretch and will let out sounds like he using a lot of strength. Usually he will settle back to sleep after a stretch. But she so bloody scared that he will cry, quickly carry him. Ask her to stop carrying him non-stop at nite, she dun listen. Ytd, I caught her carrying the baby n she sit on her bed, back to the wall, sleeping. Wah liew. I scared she really fall asleep and drop the baby. Immediately wake her up n ask her to put the BB to the cot. She still got the cheek to tell me BB was crying when I didn't hear anything at all. I was already up, gg to pump milk since 15mins ago. BB never cry and I am a light sleeper some more.

If I have a maid, I wld rather just let the maid take care of hsework, get my mom to cook n I take care of BB. Dun need to tolerate nonsense from CL. She is also very dishonest. Was telling my hb that after confinement when I have engaged a maid, I will write a full lenght story about this CL in the forum to share with ppl to warn them. Lied to me 3 times and then still can talk back to me. When my MIL and mother is ard, she behaves herself. when not ard, I say one thing, she talk back to me. This morning, I told her to put bb down and she can do her hsework. She immediately retorted, i carry so that he sleeps deeper so that u n I have time to shit. I was so angry. I know my BB has colic but he is not cranky to this extent and BB at this stage to not have deep sleep. They just move in and out of sleep zone and she just refused to recognize that my bb is just active.. even in his sleep. All she wants to do is to feed him as much as possible so that he can sleep like a log n then she can sleep or read her book.

LFB- at last u going to have yr baby by yr side...

me super tired &amp; try to take a nap when he asleep.. hubby still downloading the movie so he can watch tonite &amp; i told him we already not enough sleep &amp; u still wan watch movie..jialat..

tomorrow he going to bath Nesher before going to work...later ask him to massage my feet since he so free.. ohhh got to go eat my half shell durian.. my sister &amp; her hubby drove to Malaysia to wait for free durians to drop &amp; pick...

bbjun- ohhh i thought having a CL life be easier for us mum.. i don have CL so doing most of the things ourselves...
&amp; it super tired..if only i can get to sleep one whole day then got full energy to take care of him..

<font color="0000ff">bbjun

Your cl also sounds horrible! How long already?? Actually mine also like tat. Tell her to feed ebm at night, she say bb wake up must immediately feed. Dun have time to heat milk up.

Fine. Den i say wake me up i will feed lor. She say u feed bb not full will keep waking up. Everything also got excuses. Sick of it liao. Anyway 2 wks later also she will leave, i rather now start and save the 900 bucks if not spend liao also dun feel worth it.

Annie - i can do without cl cos i got maid. Else, i confirm guarantee cannot handle! And lucky my maid quite auto type. No need to say will action liao. And efficient too.

11_beans, I still have 10 more days with her. I just need to dong a bit more. I have no choice. No maid, hb works overseas (just went back) so really need a CL. My MIL and mom comes over once in a while to help. After CL leaves, my MIL and mom will rotate morning and afternoon shift to help me at home with BB, until I find a maid.

I was preparing CL's pay and red packet before delivery. Even prepared a $200 tips packet if she do a good job. Last week, I reduced it to $50. after this morning episode, I decided not to give her any. Why bother!!!???

Previously, she dun want to trouble herself to steam my pumping equipment, she keeps telling me that I shd latch my bb. So day and nite she bring BB to me to feed and she can go back to sleep. After my BB got colic, PD advise me to bottle feed after realizing my BB's reflux is worse when latching direct as milk flow is not good when he is latched lying horizontally. Then I need to pump my milk out. She so bui song, still every day as me if I want to latch BB so she dun have to warm milk and wash bottles. Dunno why so lazy!!!

any PD to intro in the west area? prices is reasonable?

Anybody know how much is cck kids clinic charging for hep b injection??

Just finished a 50 min long latching, hopefully my boy will sleep longer ...

11_bean: Ironing diapers? haha, ask your maid not to waste time lah! My lil calf change diaper super frequently sometimes, cos he pee, then poo then pee again...
I bathed everyday leh! My CL will make some ginger water for me to bath. And I've washed hair twice.... She'll make me drink some wine after that, make me super hot after that... and perspire more
Count yourself lucky that you've a good maid! I heard a lot of horror stories about maids liao and my hubby is against getting maid.

babysister: My CL is like yours, and now my mum is w me for these 2 weeks, so she do marketing while CL do the cooking. Trying to ask if CL can stay after confinement now.

LFB: haha, I seldom step into the kitchen now
No eye see!
Can try latching and see how, for me, my CL will tell me if baby is hungry, basically, if it's not pee or poo, and carrying him still cry then try put your finger near to his mouth, if he follows it then he's hungry, else no need to feed. But I notice my boy has some fussy time very day, he'll need to latch and drink a lot in 3 hours, like 3 feed each lasting 20 to 40 min. Other than that, he starts to be able to tahan for longer time before crying for milk now

Annie: Got CL also cannot sleep mah! Think because I've no choice but to total latch on, sometimes after she bring baby over at night, I just let him sleeps beside me after he's fed, else it's easier for him to wake up and cry for milk again

bbjun: So no choice got to tahan this CL liao. Maybe she'll suddenly turn angel at the last few days to earn your red packet!

11 bean- so employing a maid is worth much more than having a CL..
going to bed soon as later got to wake up feed him ... he now active &amp; moving his hand ..he slept for more than 4 hours jus had his milk so me now worry he wont be able to sleep..

Dolly- yr CL sound like a nice lady....

wow piang!! after reading all the horror complains.. I should count myself lucky.. although I do not know whether my CL is cheating me or lazy.. Anyway, I dont have maid just dolly.. so the the CL does help me to cook for my family on weekends and wash my family clothes. Of cos, also taking baby day and night. My MIL will do the marketing..

My MIL &amp; mom told me only let the CL hand wash my clothes, they said that machine i used should not use by other family..I didn't follow their instruction. cos i think is only Myth la.. how about the house I stay..does it mean that my hubby n son can not stay too (dun make sense).. To be fair, is very siong for her to hand wash (she is 60yrs old) and take a longer time for the clothes to dry.. She will clean the kitchen everyday but dont expect to be very clean la..

As for food, she cook what, I eat what.. after eating those food (wine, ginger, herb) for almost 1 mth, my taste buds already become numb.. but she is nice and trying hard to be creative too.. sometime, she will cook Martell fish soup mee hoon, steam chicken, dark soy chicken.. all these can be confinement food cos it use ginger too...

She can control my food dosage well. I have allergic skin and heaty type so she will know when to cook with more wine or ginger (to avoid baby to hv jaundice) or what herbs to use.. to date, I do not have any skin rash (touch wood) unlike my 1st confinement (i got ecezema)

She can be quite naggy @ times.. keep telling me to sleep.. she will set a fix timing for me to rest in the day.. &amp; night she will handle the baby by herself.. In the day, she will teach me a few tricks to soothe the baby..

In fact, I let her watch her fav 4.30pm channel 8 show everyday.. must give her personal time too.. so I believed is a kind of give n take.. she happy, I happy..

So sad she is leaving on Tues afternoon..

bbjun: yr maid can read.. must be educated one.. not easy to handle.. dare to talk back...

Wow, my baby slept for almost 4 hours! Improvement, and he just took another 50min milking session, hopefully can last long. Once again, he suck until my leaking breast no longer engorged!

11_beans: Do you still feel nipple tingling? I no longer feel that today.

TPY_mommy: We dun have rules of hand washing my clothing, except CL will wash my undies separately. Now the weather so hot, and I'm hot still, I changed clothes very often leh. Today is my 13th day, seems like I dun feel that hot anymore, less "rain" falling from my hair.

Cassey, TubbyMummy Where are you?

<font color="0000ff">hi dolly, still feeling it.. Abit lumpy too. I think some blocked ducts and mainly engorgement. Ah!! Hate this feeling.

My maid loves to iron.. Iron everything. She fold into diaper and iron it, put nappy liner, and put in drawer ready for use. Lol. So convenient. And no one told her to do it she auto do.. So i let her lor. Now still hav to be discreet. Once i fire the cl (tomorrow) i will tell my maid if no time no need iron just fold and prepare can liao. Haaa

I was up at 3am as well pumping cos very engorged, but replying from handphone and accidentally deleted my reply then gave up hee</font>

Out of curiosity!!

Do you let yr baby wear pampers or cloth diapers during confinement? Same thing, my mom kept telling me to use cloth diapers.. she said very $$$$ siong to use pamper cos breastfeed baby poopoo and urine a lots.. anyway, is CL was.. not I.. (my mom so bad!!!)

Again cant be bother, I used pampers, cant afford to wash wash n wash.

hi dolly,

Today is the last day of my confinment but I stll have the "rain" fall feeling from my hair.. How much you intend to pay to extend CL stay? can share?? PM me... very $$$ siong to pay CL rate.. thought of extenting too.. but she already has lobang for july so os can't stay long..

we are in the same boat.. what CL told us to do... we just follow.. I told myself is only for 1 mth and ensure that I recuperat well cos is my last time (i will stop @ 2) and that is the whole idea why i hired CL (their expertise).

but really lot of rules to follow ie.. wear long pants and slipper/sock, cannot touch tap/cold water, must wipe dry sweat and change new shirt once wet, all food must eat immediately after cooked while it is hot, no cooling or seafood foods, must rest often, no direct blowing from fan and etc..

amk_gal, u got enough sleep? I notice that enough sleeping also do a part to increase milk supply, lately haven been sleeping well and notice a big drop in my milk supply from normally 125ml every 2 hr to only abt 30ml very 2hr..den sat my mil ask hubby to let her look after the bb cuz i wanna put bb at mum house today..with mil helping me on bb manage to sleep quite well and supply increase to 150ml every 3hr.

ahnetsan, can check with u how much ur bb feeding now since our bb same dob. I scare my boy like taking too much le, think he's more stable now can feed like every 3hr le but he's like taking 170ml fm/ebm..my 1 tin of 900g friso finish in 3weeks and he's taking ebm duirng the night..

Just tried to pump again, nothing but a few drops come out from my left, then I tried on right, it's still on the first phrase mode going to 2nd phrase and my left is leaking! hahaha... So my left response better to the right breast pumping then pumping from left directly. Now I'm thinking of letting Kendrick latch on my right later and pump on the left at the same time

11_beans: My CL also pre-fold all the diapers with the nappy liner so they are all ready to use when needed, but no ironing though!

TPY_mommy: I have both pampers and cloth diapers and CL automatically uses the cloth one. But at night she'll change into pampers (or whatever sample diaper I have). She also mentioned that Huggies has smaller cut, so she pick those and use first. And yeah, baby poo a lot, he can poo 3 times in like 30 min time, and she got to change 3 times.
Well at least when your hair "rain", you can always wash your hair! haha And wear short sleeve + super short shorts.

I've not gotten my CL rate yet, but heard she charges like $50 per day.

split: wow, sleep so important huh! No wonder my breasts were engorged middle of the night
I actually woke up at 1am w full and leaking breast and hoping baby will wake up. He only woke up close to 2am and by that time a big patch of my t-shirt is wet.

Anyone want to nursing pillow? branded new.. my baby doesn't wt to latch on.. so didnt get to use it..
Seling @ $50.. i will deliver to you..

very siong to wake up in the middle of the night.. to pump.. i guessed i am spoilt.. i slept throughout during the confinement night except the 1st week.. My CL advised me not to cos morning wind is the coolest.. so is not good for confinement women. her tip is last pump @ 11pm and no drink after pump and go toliet to piss.. so that less water in the body..

1st 2 days tough to practise.. then after I can tahan till 6.30am and I can pump 200ml.. my best achievement of the day.. so I strongly agreed enuf rest is very important.

but i must start to learn to wake up in the middle of the night now.. to feed baby.. else i will be sleeping like a dead log.. irresponsible mommy..

babysister.. sure i will update you.. guess lesser time online.. i will stay @ my in law in the day (more hands) n i can go shopping if time permit.. heehee..

but is the night time.. I will have to deal with 1 child n 1 baby.. not too worry cos my father in law will come back with me and stay back till my hubby is back.. he is nice father

Hubby took leave on Tues &amp; Wed.. so my DIY day start on Thursday..
keep my fingers n toes cross... all the best to myself..

hi mummies who had given encouragement to me since my last posting..was discharged yest and had my first nightmare with my hubby on e first night home w our baby..

Its the 3rd day of childbirth.. And tho my baby is lattching well,he dun seem satisfied even after at least 30min of feeding on both breasts.. He ll refuse to sleep n fuss ard until i feed him 30ml of formula milk w spoon.. we had been doing this for the past 1.5 days tho PD advised nt to.. Bt we cant think of other ways to make him sleep.

Tried pumping to test hw much colustrum flows out, n after punping for 10min after massgage,only 2drops from each side!! ... No milk so far.. Im gettg stressed, n beginning to wonder if i shld persevere breastfeeding. Each feed of breasfeed n formula takes 1 hr after his fussing n burping.. broke down at times while lookg at him..

Mummies,do u think im doing the right thing by supplementing w formula? .. no sight of any milk supply yet.

Mummyash, dun be despair if u need to supplement with FM. My milk ss was in in about day 3/4 but was too engorged to feed the BB. Too painful to massage and he cannot suck anything out. We syringe feed him some FM to sooth him lor. Else he will be crying non stop. Even when I have my milk ss now, I can't latch him due to his colic situation and the frantic sucker mode he is on, I just pump everyday. I can notice a drop in my milk ss via pumping but no choice. I supplement FM at nite feeds for my boi. Soon, I may have to do that during the day as well. But it's impt not to give yourself too much stress. Just give whatever amt of BM u have and the rest goes on FM. The more stress u give yourself, the longer your milk ss comes in and the lesser it is.

I kena nagged by my mother for spending so much pumping milk. Dun have encouragement at all. Everyday, I have just shut my ears and focus on giving my boi the best I have while I have. Do look upon ur HB for some support!

Massage - must really massage hard and spend about 3mins or so on each breast. Helps milk flow and let down. Some times I massage until the milk auto letdown and have to quickly attached the pump.

Don't give up ya!

Sandra: Welcome to the June thread and congrats to your new born!

MummyAsh: It's only the 3rd night lah! Milk might not have come in till tomorrow, it should still be colustrum. I also cannot pump till now, baby already 2 weeks old
I just tried a new way, to latch my baby on the right and then pump on the left, collected 1 spoonful of milk after 20 min... considered improvement liao!

The first few days in hospital was ok for me, I can still latch every 3 hour. But after discharge, baby also doesn't seem to get enough, so sometimes I got to latch him for 30-50 min hourly.
Now that my baby is bigger, can latch for 50 min on one breast and then rest for 1- 2 hour before the next latch. I didn't supplement w FM after the phototherapy day.

Maybe you can try to latch on hourly and alternately each breast, cos one is always more preferred than the other. If you just keep feeding on one, then the other breast will not produce enough, so got to latch on both sides evenly.

dunno if u all still rem me... anyway, i gave birth last week on 23/06/09 at TMC and here's my birth story:

22/06/09
7.50pm - Check-up with gynae, he mentioned might have to induce as water bag not much fluid left. 2cm dilated so doc ask to admit at 12am to induce. 1 day b4 edd.

10pm - stomach cramp and very bad backache, so zhun having mild contractions already.

12am - admit to TMC, very slow service during admission.

12.30am - went to observation room to be induced and went poo poo. have to wait for contractions to be nearer. very pain but tahan-able yet can't slp..

7am - finally brought me to delivery suite, needa wait for my dr to come.. the pain was unbearable but still wanna act tough n dun wan painkillers. Tried the laughing gas, it should be called smelly gas.. tried n felt like puking cos of the rubbery smell =p

8.45am - dr finally came, i was already screaming my head off n crying like mad woman. only 3cm dilated and dr say 7 more hrs to tahan till 10cm. How to tahan man! finally succumbed to epidural when dr left.

9++am - fell asleep cos cn't feel anything liao. 1

11am - nurse came to check, 9cm dilated! called hubby to come back.

1pm - kuku dr took 2hrs to come... fully dilated n can see bb's head.. lowered epi dosage but still can't feel anything leh. asked to push so jus push but dunno pushing what... after 4-5pushes, baby elijah's out! @ 1322

sweethalo, if ya still updating the table, kindly update mine =) Thanks!

Now having uper sore n cracked nipples =(

jiayou all TBF mums!!

Finally, can sit down n rest.. Start cleaning up my house while CL still around.. really lot of things to clean, pack n throw.. (10mth of rubbish).. Later will try to contact Sister Kang.. Hope she can advice me some tips to get my baby to latch on

Welcome Sandra.. I am new too.. 3 days old

Dolly, Ya hoh, i should let my CL use cloth diapers can save a bit but now too late.. yes now I can wash my hair but only allows once a day.. I washed my hair 4times during confinement..

bbjun, my mom also said that.. no choice, we are their daughter so they feel heart pain to keep seeing us keep pumping n lack of rest... but very importantly, do within your mean.. dun over-tired yourself and always remember to relax so that you can enjoy yr confinement and time with your baby..

Mummyash, Bbjun is right.. must not stress yrself.. supplement with FM is ok.. I oso do that for night feeds.. My objective to treasure and enjoy my time with my baby during the confinement cos CL is around to help and take care of us.. Once she goes, it is time we need to DIY eveything ourselves.

Some tips to share so that every mommy can enjoy ourselves during confinement

Get CL to boil a big pot of herd everyday.. Let's it cool and add hot water as &amp; when you wt to wash yr hand or clean yr body.

Wash hair - I use a damp towel to clean my hair (not hair scaple).. This will help to clean away the hair stickness n dry yr hair with hair dryer.. this method is called dry cleaning, learnt it from my hair stylist

Wash body - Use baby johnson / baby bath to bath.. Rinsin off with the warm herd water.. a quick bath. Dun spend too long (my 5min the most) in the toilet n close all the toilet windows. Quick wipe dry every part of yr body esp the back n joints. This advice is from my CL. she said baby use baby wash to bath by dilute it with water and we dun rinsin baby w water again so it can also apply the same to us.. It is impossible not to bath n we need to maintain our personal hygenie esp we r breastfeeding

Confinement menu to enjoy during yr confinement
Steamed white chicked w lot of ginger
Dark soy chicked w lot "blue" ginger
Mixed pig kidney and stomach soup.
Bah tuk teh soup
Martell fish soup mee hoon
curry chicken (go to curry stall n tell them to mix confinement curry powder)

still got 3 more weeks to go... very tired &amp; not enough sleep.. Nesher breathing getting better except he doesnt drink so much &amp; sleep most most of the time..

shit dad jus called me my brother in law kana H1N1 now in Tan Tock Seng.. got to ban the children frm entering my room