(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

For all those who are stressed up abt bf/ not enuf ss, don't be so stressed. Speaking from experience, actually altho we all know bf is impt, it's all of only abt 6 mths of the baby's entire life... after 6 mths they start ceral n slowly proceed to solids and milk will play 'smaller' supplementary role. When the toddler grows up, you'll find all this behind u and there'll be more 'interesting' things llike educating him/her, training to be indept, tantrums to deal with and all. I also used to be very worried/guilty/stressed but later realised so silly. such a small part of our lives only. so, try your best but don't be too stressed. FM FM lor. EBM EBM lor. Can bf bf lor.

split

haha.. but he from morning till evening. he got wail?

my boy is awake. but he play with himself.. nv wail.haha.. at night then he disturb me. every 2 hour feeding. everytime i went back to sleep, i felt like i only slept 5 min! hahaha

junebabyboi09, I think u shd bring your boi to PD to ascertain if he has colic. Doc will prescribe wind drops if so. U just have to keep on burping him until he burps before putting him down. If he is hungry, try to make sure he gets his feed asap cos excessive crying creates more wind and it's a vicious cycle. Mine boi's colic is getting worse by the day. Started with just evening colic and now practically the whole day with reflux some more. PD says it's normal and we can only do so much to help soothe his discomfort. The rest is just waiting for it to pass as his digestive system matures.

It's very heart wrenching and frustrating dealing with colic bb. Do not stress yourself out like I did for the past week. Now, I just try my best to make him comfortable where possible. He cries becos he wants to tell us he is in pain. Take it as that and u try to catch his cues for wanting food and discomforts.

Hopefully, your boi doesn't have colic. Perhaps it's other things that he is not comfortable with. Try swaddling him if it's not wind. If not, use yao lan to create the womb effect for him to sleep. You can slowly wean him off the yao lan after he learns to sleep better. Alternatively, u can take him out of the yao lan n put him in his cot when he has fallen into deep sleep.

since we are on amt of milk for bb. Can I ask? Any baby taking Nan1? My boi is 8 days old and he is consuming 90ml of Nan1. Is this too much? I have also heard that Nan1 is more diluted compared to other brands so drinking more is the reason. Moreover when the nurses cut down to 60-70ml(upon our request), they told my PD that my boi seems hungry and not contented! Can anyone enlighten me over this issue? TIA!

Babysister,
spot on! Guess we have more to worry in futire! I am pumping for 2 simple reasons, that is to prevent engorgement as well as keeping for future. Honestly, I am thinking of not latching even when he is back. I know I am somewhat cruel, but I realised that many suffered alot when latch on and if pumping also can let him have my milk, I shall do so! It's quite a dramatic change in our life when bb enters and I have heard how hubbies suffered when their wives are depress. I decided to take things easy and not stress myself and my hubby. In actual fact, I don't think my confinement is really one. I have been out almost everyday to feed my boi, and yesterday even joined sister's family for diiner in coffee shop! I ordered a ham and mushroom pizza somemore! Hee hee! My mum is not super tradition, so having fan on and eating other than confinement food is fine with her! I am quite relax and happy and enjoying my rest. Think this is more impt!

yes,i realised we must be happy in order to take care of baby properly.

no point being obsessed about milk supply or latching and in the end baby suffers because the mummies are always grumpy or crying or super tired.

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies, yah agree that if it's too stressful to BF then better you give FM and when you see baby is contented you can go back to BF.

just remember that BF is the only gift that you can give to baby for life. it builds their immunity and don't expose them from contamination of bottles/teats which are not properly sterilised, overfeeding of FM and possibility of diarrhoea etc. so don't give up completely on BF, even if a few feeds at least better than nothing! and if bottle-feeding, take necessary steps to ensure it's sterilised and amount of FM is correct.</font>

LFB

my bb is on NAN1.. been feeding him since he abt 8days also. Actually mine boy depend. SOMETIMES 90ml, sometimes 60-70ml.

but i guess is normal they demand alot of milk as they are growing. If u look at NAN 1 TIN. Recommended for 1-2week old bb is 90ml. so is normal ba?

dolly - dun think so..coz when i carry him he still cranky..dunno wad he wan..

bbjun - thanks for ur advice..my baby burps quite fast after feeds..we will try to let him burp more..maybe is colic..

nicolle ann,

thanks for the info! I went to the hospital and today I fed him only 70ml. I hope that I am not starving him. Will check with PD when I get to see him. Haven't got a chance to ask nurse what abt his poo and pee. Thanks!

lfb,
my boy is 8 days old now too and ive been supplementing with enfalac. he takes anything between 30-90ml every 1.5 to 3 hrs. so i guess yours is perfectly ok. dont worry.

LATCHING
my boy cant latch properly and he gets frustrated on the breast. sometimes he can be on the breast for 45 min and after that still hungry! anyone has any tip to correct latching pls leme noe.

First mum, why don't u go and see a lactation consultant? They will be able to help advise u how to correct BB's latching. Best to do it soon so that BF-ing can be a success for u.

Dolly- no Nesher's nail is not sharp at all...

thks but daddy been coughing badly tis few days...&amp; he cant sleep at all.. guess his depression back again so i dare not trouble him let him rest &amp; even help up wif the hsework when nesher sleep...

LFB- i also gave birth on the 19th my EDD.. when KKH took my baby away frm me on 22nd till 24th then return me i was down there crying non stop at the KKH &amp; stayed ther alone at the mcdonal for the next visiting hours while hubby go work..
i gladful &amp; appreciate the encouragement frm mommies here

hope yr baby be wif u soon

mummy ash- thks
he my darling &amp; i dont wan him to have jaundice again so keep putting him near the sunight not direct &amp; bath him wif yellow flower

my family said my baby looked so small but he drank alot 80ml-100ml per feed then sleep for 2-3 hours..i managed to pump out 100ml every 3 hours..

Nesher still had a lot of phlegm &amp; wind in his tummy ..heart pain to see him breathing so difficulty when he drank his milk..my mother brought pearl powder for him to apply on his gum then drink some waterso he can poo out or vomit out &amp; feel better

first mum,
I search internet that time when i got desperate too.. Think about.com got some good articles with pictures..

I think, good latch shd not be painful for you ba.. And bb lower lip always flipped outwards.. That's my only gauge..

at night my son producing those breathing. IS it normal? or is it like what u say annie. phlegm? how to get rid? at night, he breath really loud..

Hello Annie,
I didn't cry so much as I know it will be hard on hubby. Already I knew he is sad too. Moreover I moved to my sister's place to stay and with family's companion, I felt much better. I am home now, will receive my CL tmr and bb will return on Monday. So motherhood will start officially on Monday. I am also seeing my OB on monday. Hopefully he will be able to tell me why my C-sect wound still abit painful.

Pump
I managed to borrow a Medela single electri pump from SIL. Wah, I am impressed! Was using hand pump all these while. The electric one though noisy, but quite efficient. I manage to get 110ml just now. I only pump in 6hr interval. Will pump more frequently when bb is back.

LFB, no problem..
during his first week, i also got same problem as u. THINKING THAT he drinking too much.

what my PD say was, is normal la.. coz he is still growing.. as long as he DRINKING MORE N PEE N POO MORE.. nothing is wrong.. : )

I have gave birth to my gal on 1st June.. Tomorrow is my last day of confinement... honestly, I hate being confined but I enjoys my confinement. All thanks to my confinement lady.. She is experience and all was well taken care (baby and mommy).

I am new here. I have been trying to breastfeed my baby gal but failed.. Now, she is coming to 4weeks.. is it too late to try? any expert to recommend or anyone can provide me advice? the worst is I have given her pacifier.. so she tend to bite me..

Pls help to advice this confused mommy..

babysister,
yeah i think u r right... 6mths of the baby's entire life... let us dun get too stressed up over tbf.

btw, my boy latches for like 10min den he will fall aslp...is this normal? he does wake up and suckle again after like 5-10min later, but den after 10min suckle, he will slp again...

and must burp him, if nt he will puke... den even though burp le, he stil need to be carried in an upright position, cos he will vomit out later again

Ahnetsan,
I tried latching when I am in hospital. I think my boi too young or too sleepy. He hasn't been latch on since then. I don't think it is possible when he is back. So I will just pump and let him drink. My only consolation is I will know how much he took and can record.

LFB: Baby should be able to latch on since day one, maybe can try again? Then next time going out is much easier... ready stock

ahnetsan
my gal is also like that... latches on for 10-15mins then break off already. seems to have enuf. sometimes will go back to sleep, sometimes stay awake. if awake, after playing for abt half an hr, will want to suckle again. this time less than 5mins n fall asleep already. v sure this time it's just comfort sucking. w

wonder if she's just drinking all the foremilk n got any hindmilk.

nicolle ann- we did ask the poly doc but he keep saying his lungs is ok.. so mum brought pearl powder to get rid of the phlegm..either shit it out or he vomited out &amp; nesher after takin it keep having soft liquid stool but breath much more better than the las few days...

LFB- me also using electronic pump but using avent brand... every 3 hours can pump alot of milk

&amp; sometimes get fed by hubby cos one side pump longer one side faster as he still dont know how to carry nesher... he scare of handling him &amp; i got to pump half way to help him &amp; i told him c lah one breast heavier than another...

Dolly,
he did, but too early for milk then.Will try when he is back. But my boi very eager drinker, so I am afraid he will get frustrated over the sucking!

Annie,
the medela though very powerful but I realised quite painful for my nipples leh. But the hand pump so tiring! Sigh! The hand pump uses the silicon pout, so not that painful. Now my nipples sore. Ouch!

<font color="0000ff">hey

i'm about to fire my confinement lady.. anyone using confinement food catering??

think i shd order for the remaining 2 weeks? Cos MIL works.. dun think can get nutritious food if i ask my maid to cook huh?? Though it seems like simple >> ginger and sesame oil huh

thos whose MIL doing confinement for you, what do u do for food?? MIL cook for you ah?? is it manageable??

TIa !!</font>

11 beans - my MIL doing confinement for me..quite simple dishes..like ginger with veg and one soup..ask ur maid to cook..save money..my MIL says the main thing is must eat when it is hot..not cold food..so dun nid confinement catering..

im feeling quite upset now.. i jus checked babycenter website. it seems dat my boy keeps vomiting out milk is due to his weak stomach muscles, from diaphgram to abdominal muscles are still weak, thus he always either vomit or posset.
be it bottle feed or breastfeed, he stil vomits out. each time must let him be upright for some time before putting him down to lie on bed, if nt he will vomit out again. and it's always those like beancurd kinda vomit.
though the babycentre website says dat the muscles will grow stronger as the baby grows up, but im worried tat it cld be my bfg position dat makes it worse...cos i cradle him when bfg and hw can dat position be in upright position??!!

sian, jus when i feel happy dat i can finally latch him on le... den got this problem

ahnetsan: since he vomit no matter it's latch on or bottle feed, then dun be sad! Either way he vomit anyway. But BM is better in this situation cos it's easier to digest.

ahnetsan,
my bb also vomitted curd on thursday and on Fri, he vomitted when I tried feeding him in hospital. I consulted my PD and he said those were isolated cases. The nurses think I didn't burp well. Maybe you try burping him for a longer period? My bb took a while to burp at times. Hope that your bb will be better soon! Don't be too sad. Check with PD if you are worried.

Annie,
The suction is really strong. I am torn cos the hand pump is quiet and quite painless but super tiring, and the electric one is fast but painful and noisy! I need only to pump max 40min to get 100ml, but for hand pump, usually is 1hr with abt 80ml. So my conclusion is to toughen my nipples! Ha ha ha! A friend of mine find the machine painful, therefore switched to Ameda. I am unwilling to buy, cos if SIL can lend to me, why waste the money. My only concern is I read from web that the motor is not durable and will break down after sometime. How much is the Avent one? Is it single or dual?

11_beans,
my confinement food very easy kind. My mum cooked for me soup, meat, kidney, veggie and fried rice when I want a change. Her only concern is to eat them while hot. As my bb has jaudince, I have abstained from wine, sasames oil and ginger now! Will resume next week when bb can take my milk better. I think no point wasting money. Get your maid to cook for you. You just supervise and tell her what to add and how to cook.

BTW, anyone bb not sleeping in aircon in the night? BB coming back tmr and hubby and I cannot decide whether he should sleep in aircon or not. We are not pro aircon as it's no good for his respiratory system in the long run. Moreover after the confinement, he will probably sleep in our room. We don't really like aircon, so dunno whether how now. Is it ok for bb to sleep in non aircon environment? Will he be too heated up if we just have the fan on? Can he later get use to non aircon environment when he is bigger?

Hey LFB Welcome back

Ahnet - dont get upset ba.. is the vomit alot/ equal to the whole feed? I think it's normal, also need to burp well and not let them lay flat immediately unless no choice.

Cld it be wind in the stomach?

Agree with Dolly tt BM will be better in this case as it's easier on the tummy.

Caramelle- great tt ur mum has time to play the kitties.. I find mine are quite neglected as my parents seem to be tied up with the baby too... hahaha... even the small one seems to suddenly be very attached to me, follows me everywhere now... Last time he is so bochap and spends his time sleeping all day!

TubbyM - yeah I know tt weepy feeling when u look at their sad dejected faces... sigh

Now I tend to be more laxed with them and let them do as they wish cos I find them so poor thing..

Spoon Feeding - Is anyone still doing this? I find that I waste alot of BM when doing so cos it leaks out at the side of his mouth! Mum decided to use bottle feed cos more efficient and less wastage of precious BM... I didn't object. Anyway, bought a spoon feeding bottle from Pigeon, dono if it works but mum seems to not wana use it... sigh

well, i wldnt say the vomit is equalvalent to whole feed.. cos dat wld be too scary.. but den hor, i also dunno whether if it's whole feed or nt cos i latch him on...

for bottle feed, he will also vomit, even though burp le and wat not, still will burp one...

found this on babycenter -
http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/health/vomiting/

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/health/vomitingexpert/

now im nt sure if jarius vomiting is due to gastric reflux....

and btw, jarius tummy looks round and big leh... looks as if he's too full ... but mayb it's got wind inside?
and he does fart at times.. cos when he does dat farting sound, normally it's poo le... but sometimes no poo one... so i think it's fart.

re: colic
my boy's colic oso getting worse. According to the calculator capriho attached, a boy his weight should be drinking about 90ml every 3 -4 hours.

After increasing his feed to 120ml yesterday, he is still taking 120ml every 2.5 hours to 3 hours, the same when he was taking 90ml. I wonder whether it's indigestion causing him all the pain? or is it wind? he farts alot though but always cry in pain when he breaks wind.

Any mummies' baby drinking that much? he's about 5 weeks old

11_beans
i'm currently using Natal Essentials for my confinement food catering. if ur MIL doesn't mind the cooking, think 2wks will past very past. Good thing about confinement catering is it's convenient. FOod are served warm which i prefer. If u prefer piping hot food, can just microwave them. Not much washing also required as they use disposable plastic wares.

LFB
Both my #1 and bb don't sleep in aircon. Currently, i swaddle baby n put on a blanket with the fan on and window open. nowadays, the weather at night is not as hot as a few weeks ago. So not so bad. In fact, the nurses at the hosp nursery was telling me at this age, they sleep better in warm environment than cold ones as they are used to our body temp when in our womb. then slowly they will adjust to our temperature tolerance. maybe then, u can consider switching on the aircon when weather is too hot.

<font color="0000ff">thanks everyone for reply on confinement catering!

Yup in tat case maybe i ask my maid to cook. Go online look for recipes ask her follow..

Anyone drinking yomeishu? I start drinking yesterday cos used to find it very effective. But still bleeding, scared will aggravate? Know if it's ok to drink? I drink in the morning after feeding and before bedtime..

Wa lfb u so patient, can pump for 40min on electric pump. I find it quite painful and cant stand it, usually i take 15min each side then give up le. Else sure end up sore nipples..

Talking abt sore nipples, wat does engorgement feel like? I manage to soften the breast thru pumping, noticed milk coming slower so thot something stuck. But nipples got sharp pain constantly since last night.. Like burning, tingling like tat. Anyone experience this?? So pain.. Dunno still can feed today or not.. </font>

<font color="0000ff">
My bb not sleeping aircon at night, but during the day if hot i will on aircon lor.. At night he wear long sleeve and swaddle and blanket and no aircon. But these few days quite cooling so i only monitor make sure bb not sweating shd be ok i hope.. </font>

11_beans: engorgement- Your breast will be rock hard and painful too! And baby cannot latch on properly, need to massage until a bit soft first. But then my CL said mine still not that bad yet! In fact, my baby can suck until my breast soft soft again, so it's kind of relieve.

I also has some tingling feeling at my left yesterday, but I just continue to feed and it seems to get better.

<font color="0000ff">i just tried to feed using the painful side.. Wa. Super pain! O no dunno wat's happening.. Breast not very hard leh. But still so pain.. Not even sure is engorge or not.. </font>

11 Beans - I think yr pain could be due to some Blocked or plugged milk ducts.. Visit this site.. it maybe useful for you to relieve pain..
http://www.ehow.com/how_2291979_clear-blocked-duct.html

For me, I drank lot of warm red date water during yr confinement..I drank @ 3liter a day.. I am a water tank.. No food nvm but no water I will die... (I so happy.. today is my last day of confinement)

Oh yah!! massage yr breast and drink one cup of hot drink (red date/milo) before breastfeed/pump is also very important.. ensure that all milk ducts are not choked..

Thanks god.. All these are useful to me.. it help me to @ 100 ml every 3-4hr..

Try these.. I maybe useful to u..

Hi TPY Mommy

well if cost isnt a problem u may wanna see a professional lactation consultant? All the best, think it's never too late to try so long as u still got ss!

Anyone feeling breathless when they walk and tired when standing cos i'm in confinement still and like getting weaker leh... haha

babysister: I dun feel breathless leh, but am tired because I'm feeding baby every time! Did you drink the chicken wine? Or food cooked with wine? Heard the chicken wine is very important leh