(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Dolly- i tot double eyelid is get frm birth...glad yr boy passed his jaundice test..
me now in kkh mcdonal waiting for hubby as he have to do a client motor insurance....

cocoswirl- nesher cant discharged today as they wan to keep him till tomorrow alothought frm 270 he dropped to 261 ..normal is 250 the nurse told me doc wan his level dropped to 220 then give me back my boy.. but can see he is in good hand wif the senior midwife... but sure miss cuddle him at nite...

just brought the avent electrical breast pump as my breast so hard & pain & las nite manage to pump out manually & it hurt meh... now breast dripping wif milk & i put breast pad...
cost me $299 but no choice as i tired of pumping it manually...

cocoswirl, i have the pumpin pal super shields.. doesnt work very well for me. only used like 3-4 times.. i find it's too big for my nipples so it doesnt really extract my BM well for me. But maybe it's due to me bah

Hi dolly.. your hospital bills is so expensive!!! its 2x the price of their c-section maternity package!! ... including my gynae fees at abt $2500 at least (including deposit).. I think I am gonna be super broke after delivery if i go thru c-section. However, didnt know that medisave can claim $5000 off hospital bill, tot the max claimable is only S$2k plus..

styliciously, superbee.. thank you for your encouragement.. that really helps.. as long as the baby comes out healthily and naturally, i wun mind even a labour stretching more than 20 hrs!! just pray that my cervix dun fail me!..hmmm, I shall discuss with the gynae before making deciding on thursday then.. so nervous.
but thank u so much for ur encouragement !

cocoswirl, i have a colleague who is using the original handsfree strap from mumsfairy with her ameda dual pump.. she says its super worth it.. and she can pump her milk anywhr.. i think it will be very useful when u are going to do breastfeed via expressed breast milk excluively, ie when we go back to work.. if u are latching on.. then i think perhaps not necessary.

Just wanna ask around where will u be bringing ur babies for vaccinations? Polyclinic, GP or PD?

I am still in dilemma whether to choose polyclinic or PD. Coz gonna send Aisha to infantcare, so need to opt for Rotavirus jab which is very pricy. Last time heard that polyclinics got no optional jabs but I asked the nurse last week, they have. Only the 6-in-1 jabs they don't have. Right now coz of Aisha's jaundice, I am bring to polyclinic coz need to take blood test to check the levels. I think if go PD, my feel is that blood test won't be taken, PD will just examine baby. Polyclinic will monitor thru blood test until levels are safe. Each time cost only $11.

For my #1, I went to PD at ESH all the way. But I find it quite pricy. First consulation is $50, subsequent is $35. Everytime go confirm at least $100++, only once or twice less than $100. I opted for Pnuenococal jab for her and needed to do 2 jabs coz below 24 mths. That 2 appointments costs abt $260 coz do with other jabs also. I tot of going Bedok Kidslink coz nearer to my home - can walk! But heard their consulation is $50 each time!

Dolly,you try to use salt warm water wash nose,its helps for block nose.Rest more,hope your C-sec wound will recover soon!

Annie,we also go to polyclinic to check bb jaundice too,sunday went to KKH,only today no need to go,tomorrow will go to hougang polyclinic again.How is your bb's jaundice now?I haven't start pump,don't know when need to to use it.Aircon temp i only put 25-27.yesterday i feed my bb every 1 hr and sleep half hr.after feed him fomular milk then he can sleep about 2-3 hrs.

TubbMummy,thank you.

Jessma- baby jaundice had dropped to 261 ..normal range is 250 but the nurse told me doc wan to keep him till he dropped 220..sure miss him alot.. now at kkh mcdonal waiting for hubby then go up cuddle my boy again

u breast feed yr boy one hour per feed.. wow tats reallt tired.. i intend to pump out the milk & mixed wif formula milk then he can sleep longer

guess all baby really looked alike when they are born..kekekkee
i booked NTUC pasir ris double storey chalet for my boy one mth old.. then waited till he is two mth will call up kelly for the photo taking...

Annie,saw your baby's photo already,very cute,look like you.. ;p hope your baby can recover and discharge from hospital soon!I can understand how you miss him.When my husband and my mum bring my baby go to check jaundice,i also miss my baby a lots..And plus worry.Ya,yesterday night didn't sleep well,but saw my baby growthing healthy everyday then no matter how tired i still happy..I will try to pump out milk also,tonight i start my massage session will consult the malay auntie.

Ahnetsan,thank you,my boy don't like to wear mitten,always taken out by himself and we always busy to looking around where is his mitten.. keke..

Jessma- they said baby looked more like daddy and he cried very softly when he wan his milk... daddy was saying as his dad talked so soft baby take after him...

my boy so bonny his mitten cant fit his small hand

Ahnetsan - my baby just developed heat rashes in his cheeks, so we are going to on aircon for him at night, and bathe him twice a day now. I have checked a lot of websites and they all say it is due to our humid and hot weather.. my heart is so painful seeing my boy so much in itch

Cocoswirl - I think they are rashes and should go away a few days later after you keep him cool with more frequent showers (air-dry), or on aircon at night. We are seeing PD for regular visit tomorrow and lets hear what he say...

Annie - I also have breast engorgement 2 days ago, now it's gone. You can use hot tower to warp around the area outside aeola and then massage the hardened parts especially. I cannot sleep intially at night because of the pain, but they seems to go away quickly now, thank God!

sometimes i hate hospital... 1st gave me my baby then let me enjoy him for 3 days at home then take him away frm me... sob sob.. going up soon to see nesher... brought 3 covered pyjamas for him cos he keep sneezing... somemore seeing him naked in the blue light sure made my heart ache...

Annie - why don't you try pumping more often after BF? I think that will help as well. Massaging the hardened areas is very important and my HB applied quite reasonable force onto my breasts, though the nurse say dun use so much strength.. I think it is different for every moms.

<font color="aa00aa">finally got time to log in cos hubby talking to the kiddo and entertaining him right now... haben read archives.. =)

the stats update :
Length : 49cm
Head : 34cm
Weight : 3.14kg
Name : Javen Ho

Chinese name we using youlongzi..

ahnet >> Mdm Mona.. is it skinny skinny and got many tattoos one?? hee i'm using her .. today finished 3rd session. started off with 34.5inch waist.. today before wrapping was 32.5inch.. 2 inches in 3 sessions.. sure hope can at least go to 30 inch by 5th session.. haaa

Latching on :
had some trouble with this in hospital .. no engorgement or anything.. just keep feeling that my boy is hungry though i feed him every 3 hours.. end up suppplemented with formula and i so gek sim i cried in front of everyone..

pumping : i using Ameda dual now.. i feel that pump seems so much more painful than baby latching on lor.. today is 8th day, i only managed to pump 3 ounce combined, and only for the 1st pump in the morning.... latching baby, i'm feeding 2-3 hourly.. quite the siong sia..

hi 11_Beans, may i know how much u paid for youlongzi for the chinese name? Did u get to meet him or his disciple? He used computer or book? Generated how many names for u to choose?

styliciously
let me share this info abt vaccines i gathered from polyclinic (cck) and kidslink (cck)...

kidslink 6in1 (3 jabs) at 2/4/6 mth (incl 2nd dose of hep b) at $155 per jab.

polyclinic 6in1 (5 jabs) at 3/4/5/6/18 mth (excl 2nd dose of hep b to be taken 1-2mth at $20) $320.10

you can use cda a/c to pay at kidslink. just bring the card will do. din ask abt consultation fees though but i feel imptly the lesser no. of jabs to be done at kidslink is far more attractive to me as zach will be exposed to so much lesser torture :p

dolly
my close fren encountered the same thing when she delivered her #1.. the gynae oso told her dangerous is bb starts to eat in the poo in her tummy thats why emergency c-sec.

Just finish a marathon feeding! My baby feeds every hour and just now he latch on for more than 1 hour, I got to change breast cos my left get suck until super soft after 55 min, well at last he's satisfied and when he release his latch, there's still milk dripping from his mouth ... hopefully can last long

cocoswirl: Yeah, I'm using breast milk to sooth my nipple, sometimes top up w medela purlan.

styliciously: Think PD will do blood test too,
but today cos my boy jaundice is very light, so she say no need to do.

Mummy_Ash: The hospital bill is 7k+ including the gynae fees lah, but it's presented in the same bill. So we paid around $2.3k for hospital and $1.5k for gynae, the claimable part is like $3.2k?

JessMa: Thanks! Today my gynae changed the dressing for me, he says the wound looks fine, but my tummy still big so cannot see

Wow, your son also very big leh!

Annie: Agree w you, all babies look alike! My hubby and I purposedly went to the nursery to see if we can still recognise our son... haha, I recognise his cry

11_beans: Although PD told me to feed 3 hourly, I just go ahead to feed him when my CL says he needs milk, and yeah, he really wan it, so I'm feeding almost every hour. Maybe you are like me? Then dun wait for 3 hour lah, just feed him!

chris38a: wow, so nice, baby looking at the sister!

<font color="0077aa">dolly, hehe
mine also only one side still abit sore. eh your pump hurt your nipple or areola area? is it cos the suction too hard? can lower it?

cocoswirl, which are the super shields? is it the one that funnels downwards? i bought something from mumsfairy Pumping Pals too but not sure what's the name; it helps to funnel milk downwards when you pump. so far never use yet cos my freestyle pump comes with softshields which is more comfy.

annie, i think naked because need to expose to the light ba..the longer expose the faster he will recover.

chris38, so cute the pic of your 2 kids!

just finished my first massage today. not so pain leh..quite shiok. except baby kept crying cos i gave my mum milk to feed her but only by syringe or spoon, don't want to start on teat cos since day 1 she's never been on any teat, except my tit! but she refused and was wailing. after 1.5hrs of massage, i had to feed her. me with the binder and all some more! but oklah, managed to pacify her.</font>

11beans,
yeah dats mona. haha u also got her as ur ML. good dat u lost some inches. jiayou. did she measure ur tummy inch too? are you going to add a few more sessions or jus stick with 5 sessions.

dolly,
wow, your left breast dun feel pain or sore meh? latched for 55min leh!! wah... i latched for 30min, i alrdy feel very slpy le. dun worry lah, sure can last long long one...

caramelle,
wah u stil can bf ur bb with all the binder and wat not... i feel so uncomfortable with the binder plus bfg. haha, like cannot relax like dat.

i wanna complain abt wat happened today...
damn angry...

well, for those who knw me by now, my complaints are always abt MIL! and yes, this time is abt HER again!!!

first, tis morning i've been latching my boy every hourly... den she made comments like hw come he keep wanting to eat every hourly... ur milk not filling for him is it? den at 12pm, she say bottle feed ebm la, den he can slp longer, so i bo bian ok lor, BUT, at 1pm+, my boy wake up again lor!! so no difference whether it's bottle or latching lor!!! damn it!! den i tell her, see la, same wat... den she diam diam...

second, my boy wants to sleep in afternoon, my irritating mil and dat 1yr+ old boy (dat's the ktb my mil was babysitting) keep making alot of noise lor... den my boy very edgey leh, and he keep stretching nonstop.. my mil den say aiya, let my boy sleep on his tummy lah... i say cannot lah, so young, even though his head and neck looks quite strong, they are still fragile at this age wat!!! den she say last time ppl also like dat sleep, better, so they wont be startled easily... i say dat was last time lor.. now is now lor... plus i got bean bag for him lor... so he shd be fine....

third, in the afternoon, my boy was crying, so i haf to pacify him with my human pacifier lah.. my breast lor... den he suck suck a while, he fall aslp le... den a while later he cry again lor... den my irritating mil came into the room and im latching my boy lor!! so my breast was like half exposed lor!! argh... den she say aiya, add a bit of formula to ebm lah, den mayb he will feel more full.... i jus ignore her when she say add formula lor...

see lah, now dat my hb nt ard, her fox tail come out le lah... always say stupid things against me one... i die die cannot let her win!!
later my hb back, im gg to complain again!!! argh

ok end of complaints.

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, yah lor no choice got to BF cos baby was crying for abt 1 hr liao, and i dont give FM, and the BM must feed using spoon/syringe. since it's my rules, i must take responsibility lor..so after massage i straight attend to her. i hope to intro teat in week 3 or week 4.</font>

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, don't listen to her lah. as long as you hold baby and handle him yourself, what can she do? but i think she thinks she's being helpful by making those suggestions. maybe she only wants to help you by making baby stop crying. don't stress yourself dear, just in one ear and out the other. always think that she's trying to help, whether you want it or not, it's up to you.

i know you feeling very angry, sometimes my mum does that to me...and it's my own mum leh! she also like to let alya sleep on tummy..instead of getting upset, i just let alya sleep like that for a while and watch her closely. after a while i carry her and put her back up.

old people tend to be direct in what they say, they don't mean to intentionally hurt you. stay cool dear, baby can sense when mummy is angry/sad...</font>

caramelle: It's both the areola area and the nipple, guess I need to lower the power, and PD tell me to feed first then pump.

ahnetsan: My left breast dun feel sore.. now my right breast is starting to feel better also, I was still yelling in the car today when he latch on roughly
Cooool down! hehe, even my CL will suggest maybe my breast milk not enough, but then today I went to see PD and she say OK. Anyway baby gaining weight (to almost the birth wt in 1 week) so I'm fine.
Actually she might be out of concern lah, my mum also feel tiring for me to wake up every hour to feed baby at night ;)

My baby is finally here after 11 hours... He arrive at 1659hrs and at a weight of 3.160kg... Mine is an assisted vacuum delivery with epi.. The last part was painful even with the epi but seriously without the epi i cannot imagine...

I was vomitting for like few hours due to the epi after effect so end up didnt get to bf my boy in the labour ward.. Now he is too tired to latch...
He is hungry im sure not getting a drop of milk since he was out...I will try later in abt 2hrs again.. Wish me luck

past few days have been traumatising. i was discharged on 2nd day after delivering. baby had to go back to polyclinic to do jaundice check as usual. He had a borderline high level at 175.

Went back again on 4th day, level was 249, just 1 mark off phototherapy level of 250. Went again on 5th day to KKH(A&amp;E), level went up to 350! once it hits 400, blood transfusion has to take place.

did another check 2 hours after we reached kkh, level went up to 364. my god. he had to be admitted immediately.

generally, he was not well hydrated hence not passing enough urine as my milk supply has not come in yet (hence not passing the bilirubin out). doc says must supplement with formula. i was puzzled cos he was feeding every 2-3 hours just like every other mother who's doing total BF and each session 15-30 min. He's active, happy, but we did notice that he has very little urine.

Anyway, he had to be warded and do intensive phototherapy. 4 UV light shine on him, not allowed to come out of the box to feed, no diapers, had to put a drip on, sleep without mattress in the plastic box and last but not least, have blood tested every 4 hours.

After 1 day, the level changed from 364 --> 322 --> 271 --> 283 --> 242. From 242 onwards he was allowed diapers, 2 UV lamps and no drip. Occassionally still can carry out to feed.

on 2nd day of hospitalisation, his level dropped to 219. down to 1 UV light.

finally this morning, it went down to 173. but with no more UV light, it went up again to 181. though doc allowed us to bring him home, we have to monitor his urine and bowels output.

i'm quite apprehensive about total BF now. why wasn't there sufficient fluid for him? it's contrary to wat other mothers say about surely having enough. if i do not introduce bottle feeding now then his jaundice will surely be critically high..

i'm only able to pump out 40ml per time currently and it's like not that sufficient for his 60ml appetite.. took papaya soup today. hope can express more tomolo. i dunno if i should feed him EBM now, or latch him on, then supplement with formula to ensure that he has sufficient fluid intake...

caramelle,
im ok now le.. jus dat i hate it lor. damn her. den she will tell my hb wat's supposed to be done or watever, she thinks i dunno meh... den when my hb tell me, i will ask him who say one... den he say fren lor, colleague lor... but he doesnt dare say it's his mum lor.

i know my hb may be sandwiched, but hello?? im even more poor thing here alright?? imagine there's a 1yr+ old boy babysitting here and plus my baby, and from wat i see, my mil cant cope with both lor!!!

dolly,
well, at least CL only stays wif u for one month, den it's good riddance le... for me, im still wif her and stuck wif this plc until 2012 leh!!!

if its my own mother, den it's still ok leh, cos i knw my mum wont say such things lor, but this irritating mil always say things to my hb and den pretend to hint here hint there. it's getting on my nerves lor.

chris39,
thanks for the info. The difference in no. of jabs for 6-in-1 is coz there's 2 versions right? One of them is the modified 6-in-1 which is the 3 jabs only right? Less jabs is good, means less trips to the clinic too - can save on consulation fees. CDA account will be definately fully utilised since I'm sending both my babies to infant and childcare.

ahnetsan,
I encountered the same complaint about BM not enuff when I had my #1. But it was my mum, not MIL. If MIL, i sure more frustrated. So I did supplment with FM especially at night but it makes my breast even more engorged and have fever a few times until I broke down. Feels that mums/MILs their suggestions can be useful but the way they say it makes us dunt wanna listen. Took me about almost a month to breastfeed comfortably.

amk_gal,
wow.. must be traumatising for ur baby too, being on drip especially and blood test every 4 hrs! 4th day level considered quite high. Jaundice more common in breastfeed babies coz dunno how much fluid they taking in especially when they are sleeping alot most of the time... When I came back home from hospital, Aisha seems to sleep more and latch on shorter period.. so I suspected confirm her level will go up. Plus can really see yellow in her face, gums and eyes. Even have a photo of her just before admitted where can see her face yellowish.

so many babies pictures today!!! drools...

dolly, thanks for the hospital charges information. ;)

talking abt breastfeeding, how do we ensure that the baby is feeding enough for the first few days? are they supposed to wet their diapers at least 7 to 8 times per day?

amk_gal: My boy was tested jaundice when we were in the hospital, I was told to supplement BF (15 min each side) and 30ml of FM every 3 hours. And when he's able to discharge together w me, I just went all out and feed him whenever he's hungry w BM, which is like every 1 hour.

styliciously: I learnt from Cassey and tell my mum sternly that I need support from her for BF and not asking me to supplement w formula
And then of course it helps that Kendrick jaundice is not getting higher and he's gaining weight!
Wow, both your kid a lot of hair!

My boy just had a second feed in this hour! haha, just waiting to see if he wakes up so that I can feed some more. Just now that 30 min feed he only slept for less than 20 min!

Mummy_Ash: My boy poo around 5-6 times and pee a bit less than that

the poo poo should be mustard colour...

think no worries ba, i got a fren who's feeding her baby on formula, her baby din poo for 7 days, den after dat poo super alot and very smelly one.

however, if you are worried, mayb can call up parentcraft and ask? or call PD?

my PD saw the baby for her review when she was 1 week old.Then told me that since i wanted to give the 6 in 1 jab, to come back when baby is about 2 months old!!!

is this normal?

also, anybody giving the jab to prevent the rotavirus thingy?

was wondering if i can bring my baby to any GP for these shots? PD's office is very far from home...

HAHAHA finally I slept more than 3 hours this morning! OH! hahaha, my milk is coming in at last! And then I was trying to feed my boy w the more engorged breast, but he was not taking it, then I realized he can't drink when it's too hard

tiny_bubu: My PD ask me to come back when baby is 1 month old.

my PD also never tell me when to go back for review or checkup. only the staff nurse say come back after 2 mths for jabs, unless we opt to take jab at GP or polyclinic.

Morng all,

Had been having sleepless nite since back fr e hosp, AJ likes to do comfort nursing, so it's simply impossible to rest. So got to introduce bottle to him, after nursing him liao topup with another 40ml BM, so that I can get my rest, and need to quickly pump then zzz. E cycle begins again every 2-3hrs.