(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cocoswirl,
my massage lady is ok. so far i lost 3 inches on stomach and 3 inches on waist. hopefully will lose further!!

that's good news ahnetsan, hopefully i will lose few inches in few days too..now tummy feels like punctured tyres :p we must all jia you!!

btw does mona bind you on the tummy and do we have to buy the binders or she'll give new one? thanks

cocoswirl, i engage mdm mona during my no1 too, the effect was good but during the massage abit pain..but so far i find her price is the cheapest $32 per session..usually first or 2nd session can lose abt 1 or 2 "

ahnetsan, u going for more session?

<font color="0077aa">annie, welcome home and back online! if you want to BF maybe you should start now because if baby don't start to suckle your supply will take longer to kick in. or you can try to pump if painful to latch. cos colostrum in first few days of milk supply is VERY IMPORTANT. it builds his immunity. can always give FM still for some feeds to slowly get him used to your BM. FM if bottle feed makes it easy for baby to feed so he might take a longer time to take to your breast in future.

i think alya not big lah...just that my camera shot that angle. hehe
post pics of your little prince leh...

bbaugustine, thanks for the tip. will try to burp her in btwn but when she sleep then the head so floppy2..i scared. will try anyway. and yes will massage while waiting for her to wake up too.

welcome cocoswirl to the big happy family.</font>

coco, dun have to buy binder from her she will provide but u need to wash for her and return her..last session she'll use food wrap

<font color="0077aa">question for mummies using steam steriliser: after sterilising, the items inside are very wet. if i want to dry it first, how ah? cos the other day i went to KK and had to pack the sterilised pump items but all wet2 leh..then put inside ziploc bag cos i was in hurry. is there a better way? i prefer the items to be dry when i pack them or is it normal to be wet2 then use the items?</font>

bbagustine: Not enough milk lah! And although no crack nipple but right side sensitive especially after trying out the PIS pump! My areola was stuck onto the pump and I got to slowly peel it away.

Just finish another 30+min feeding, got to take my nipple out slowly so that he won't wake up, now thinking whether should FM feed him or give him pacifier!

<font color="0077aa">*alya hugs and thanks aunt coco*

dolly, don't pull out your nipple after pumping. you got break the seal by putting finger on one corner to let air enter then the pump should come off on its own.</font>

cocoswirl,
yeah my 2nd session, i alrdy lose 1.5inch.
heehee, yeah go call Mona and arrange with her ba.

split,
dunno whether to go for more sessions leh... you going?
eh got food wrap meh? wat's dat?

caramelle,
jus shake the items first den ok le. it's ok to be wet... anyway, it's not very wet kinda right? jus got a few drops of water right?

Hi ahnetsan and split

I have also ask for Mona as my massage lady but i think she charging $35.. Any reason for the difference?? Or can i quote you ladies that she is charging you only $32?? Thanks

ahnetsan, ya i remember the last session she dont use her own binder she use those transparent food wrap so after the binding can throw away.

Yan, i remember she's charging $35 for prenatal massage did she quote u wrongly?

Caramelle - OK, I'll try next round, try 1st time ytd, got a few drops of milk only, 2nd time today no milk leh... Lucky Kendrick has poo and pee many times today, else I'm more worried

Just fed him 3 times in this one hour! He latched for 10 min then doze off.... and the circle begins again, such a good sleeper!

Congrats to all mummies who have popped! *group hug!* Take my hat off to sweethalo and Jessma, you endured and survived such long labour! *clap clap* Well done!

Confinement:
My mum very not strict kind, so I'm enjoying this period of having extra help around the house. I'm looking after baby on my own round the clock, but having my mum cook and clean is such a luxury. Wonder how to survive when she goes home after this month! But yes, my mum very cool about confinement "laws", so I'm allowed to go out, eat hawker food, drink cold drinks, drink plain water at room temperature, and eat vegetables and fruits hehe. Happy!

Massage:
Haven't started yet. Told her to come next Mon, but just realised that next week I may be very busy cos it's baby Skyla's first month, and I may need to run around delivering cakes and stuff. Hmmm, may need to postpone again till the following Monday...

TBF:
Nipples still feel a bit sore everyday, to this day. Kiddo has a habit of biting down with her gums on my nipple, before she latches and suckles. So each BF session usually starts off with a big yelp from me. Sometimes she latches on straight away, sometimes she latch spit latch spit for a long time (longest record was 1hr just to LATCH) before I take her off the breast to "scold" her, then she latch properly. Think she's having another growth spurt, so over the last couple of days have been struggling to pump to increase my supply. Tiring man... Oh, Medela PureLan is the best invention EVER. At first I bought only the small tube, cos not sure how much of it I'd use. Once I knew I was going to sell my soul for it, I quickly bought a BIG tube off someone in the WTS. Let's see how long that big tube lasts.

Weight loss:
Eh, how's everyone's progress? I gained total 14.5kg during pregnancy, and when I weighed myself 2 days back, I had lost 8kg (2.5wks post-delivery). 6kg more to go! But belly looks shrunken back already (even though I don't dare to measure myself), doesn't look like I'm pregnant anymore. But obviously I got extra 6kg of FATS to lose. Sigh. Hopefully once my massage starts, I'll lose more. Anyway, I decided that total latching on is really helping me shrink my belly, cos my friend who gave birth 6wks ago doesn't latch her baby, and she still looks about 4-5mths pregnant.

Baby full month:
I only just realised that whatever cakes etc that I wanna order, I have to place order by the next 2 days! They usually take orders 1wk in advance right?? I need to distribute the week starting 29th, I just realised it just now during dinner! *panic*

Baby carrier:
Anyone knows where to buy the Pikkolo carrier?

Wah biang, didn't realise Skyla was planning to sleep a full 3hrs, otherwise I would have gone to nap after dinner! I thought she would wake very quickly, cos she fell asleep within 5min at her last feed. Now super regret not napping, cos I'm sure she won't let me sleep tonight!

Hi Split
Thanks for the info.. Think i will ask her when she comes for my massage and if she says $35 then i may just mention that she was charging u ladies $32 and see what she says then.....

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, thanks for info abt sterilising. btw, your ML got put anything on your forehead and arms to keep you warm? it's called param and pilis, for malays we always do this. how long was your massage session and did she massage baby too? sorry so many questions..cos my ML also charging $35 so wondering what's the inclusion. she in malaysia now and will be back on tuesday so cannot ask her until then.

Tubby, my mum also helping with confinement. and hubby going back to work on tuesday. sometimes i feel bad that im cooped up in the room minding the baby while mum is cooking and cleaning outside. i ask her to rest in the guest room but she's not comfy i guess. your mum stays with you? does she stay the whole day with you? and when she goes back after one month, you think you can manage meals and housework on your own? it's only day 6 and already im thinking how to make it work from 2nd month onwards.

re TBf: alya's like that too, she's so eager for the nipple that she goes in for the kill right when she sees it and before im even ready sometimes. i wait for her to cry then when mouth big big i dive her in. works sometimes, not all the time. i'm sometimes a bit scared to put her on left breast because it's more sore than right one. btw Tubby, when you use Purelan, you don't wear a bra right? then does your cotton shirt fibres stick to nipple? i tried wearing it with the breastshells (which also collects leaking milk) but my sleep bra covers all the holes on the shell that i feel nipples not getting aired enough. how ah?

my stomach still hurts, don't know if it's the uterus. it's hard to even sit, stand or lie down. luckily my wound is healing well (i hope) as now i can sit directly on chair. was using the donut float for past few days.

any mummies using the BF pillow? i find the positioning very weird, and can only do the football hold comfortably.

going to sleep soon cos her night feeds are like every 2 hours. yest for the 5am feed i was so sleepy and cannot hold her properly.</font>

yan,
you doing the normal massage or the post-natal massage? from i know, she charges $35 for normal massage.

tubbym,
wah, so fast it's full month celebration alrdy?

ur mum is cool abt those confinement rules...envy envy

i lost abt 9kg after delivery... i still haf another 8kg to lose.
dunno hw to lose those FATS man!

caramelle,
no leh, my ML din put anything on my forehead or arms. my session last for an hour or so. no massage for baby.

i haf the breast friend pillow.. but i stil cant master using it.. i find it weird leh.

anyway, jus nw i latched Jarius on my right breast from 9.20pm to 10pm!! for the first time!!! so happy. normally it's only a max of 15mins. this time it was more than 30mins and den finally he spit it out and had this satisfied look while sleeping.
hopefully there's more such latching experiences.

ask u all something, do u all burp ur baby after latching? breastfeed via latching need to burp one meh??

my mil is bottle feeding my boy now... she came into my room to take baby's clothes, say he vomit out milk... so i went to her room and see my boy lah... den i saw the bottle of milk is alrdy half drunk le... so apparently she has alrdy starting feeding half the bottle to my boy le... must be she never burp him halfway den he vomit lah!!

BUT BUT she say jus nw i latched him, i never burp him, dats y now he vomit milk! i was like WTF, i latched him at 9+ til 10pm lor, and dat's fucking like 2 hours ago le lor!!!

sibei pek chek!!!

Hi Ahnetsan
Mine is post natal massage too.. Another mummy in July thread oso say she is being charge for $35.. Maybe her charges increase?? Will ask her when she comes for my massage.. Im expecting to give birth anytime now too..

yan,
im nt sure if mona increases her charges or not. sorry, cant help on this. yeah, think u ask her when she comes to massage u ba.

when is ur EDD?

ahnetsan
my edd is 07/07 but doc was saying anytime from last week coz i was contracting quite frequent jst tat cervix not open... My cramps n pain is terrible so every visit im put on the ctg to monitor...

Hi Ahnetsan

Latching baby also need to burp, especially if the volume is large, if not baby will vomit out all the precious milk, this is what the Lact Consultant said.

Anybody know what is the pricing for Huggies Ultra pampers? Size S and M? I'm too tired to get out of house now so thought of getting it from Gmarket...

Caramelle - breastfeeding position: because of the c-sec wound, the first time I was told to breastfeed on bed in the hospital. So now at night I'm also breastfeeding lying down. Then you dun need to hold the baby and can afford to doze off once in a while

ahnetsan: I dun burp my baby after latching
Only that time when bottle feed during the phototherpy we burp him after bottle feed. In fact I thot reading somewhere that for breastfeeding we can burp our baby before feed so that the air can get out of the stomach and baby can take in more!

Congrats to all the mommies that have popped.

Delivered my bb Sarah on June 20 ( EDD was supposed to be 12 June). She is 3.490kg and 49 cm. Sarah was delivered via Csect w epi. Due cervice refuse to dilate even at 41 weeks and not favourable for inducing, dr suggested to do csect as water level is getting low. Sigh...bit least she is out safe and sound. We are still at Mount A. Hopefully can discharge tom. Stitches are still v sore but lucky still can the pain while Bfing.

Sharon_Limb: Congrats!
You have the same condition as me! Also 41 weeks, cervix only a finger dilated. I also went for C-sec w Epi and was at Mt A too! Remember to get the LC to teach you how to latch, for my case, the LC only come on the first day, she managed to latch my baby. Then I never remember to ask for LC help again until the night before I discharge, and the LC reluctantly come at 11:30am, just when we were busy discharging and I've fed my boy already...

caramelle, my mum and dad is staying with me day/night for the month. I am FEARING the day they leave, cos now all my meals gets cooked for, and the house is kept tidy. And occasionally when I desperately need a nap, my mum will watch over Skyla. Skyla doesn't need much watching lah, cos normally she also just sleeps in the bassinet, but it's just peace of mind that there's someone with her while I totally concuss for an hour. Usually aft BF, I apply BM to the nipple a couple of times, then let it totally air dry, then I apply the PureLan before stuffing boob back into sleep bra. I made the mistake of not wearing a breast pad in the first couple of days, and the PureLan stained my bra badly. So now I make sure I always have breast pad on. It only sticks a bit to the breastpad. So I guess this means my nipples don't get a lot of airing, only that 10min or so when I air dry after applying BM... I can't stand the sensation of nipples chafing against clothing now, cos abit sore and very sensitive, so I rather compromise on the airing...

Ahnet, 3rd July will be exactly 1 month mah, and that's a Fri, so my mum say distribute cakes during the few days before, cannot after. So means next week distribute liao lor, which means this week must order cakes. You also around same timing leh!
Oh, and I usually burp baby after latching. maybe KS or what haha. But she did posset a few times recently, came out like fountain like that, so I got scared and have been religiously burping her... But most of the time she never burp leh, assume she never take in any air haha!

Blurmom, My girl can't even upgrade out of her Huggies Ultra NB size yet! Haiyoh, the Pampers NB size looks so big on her skinny ass, so my dad had to go out and buy another pack of Huggies NB size, cos Huggies cutting smaller. *faint* I'm hoping after this pack, she can upgrade to other brand NB size where the cutting is bigger. Anyway, I think Gmarket price should be ok. If you're already a Gmarket member, now got discount coupon right? Think it's $5 off $20 purchase... Some more usually got free delivery to your house.

Congrats SharonLimb! Most important thing is baby is out and healthy now

dolly, the first day, the LC Sara came to help me latch, she also said due to c-sec wound, best position is lying down. But Skyla didn't know how to latch like that, end up we had to hold her facing the wrong way (her butt in my face or something stupid like that!) before she will latch, which obviously means that lying down position wouldn't work for me. So since day 1, I had to latch her sitting up. Pai mia... Oh, and I super KS, made LC come twice a day while I was still staying at MAH wahahaha! Actually, Day 2 and 3 the senior nurse will come and help me latch my girl, cos she knows my girl got very bad latching &amp; sucking reflex and whenever we try for 10min or so unsuccessfully, she will say "I get LC to come", so I never had to ask hehe.

Thanks Dolly and Tubby Mummy.

I too have problem latching sarah on while lying down. Ha ha....end up i am also using the cradle position now. A little more painful and was so afraid i will drop her if i doze off...

My cervice was so tight that its not even 1cm dilated. Very unusual as this is my second child. so end up have to csect. But i guess all are worth it as long as bb is safe and sound...

I guess from now on, we all just have to jia you with our breastfeeding :)

afternoon mommies..

later bring my boy to polyclinic to check whether he got jaundice..

bbaugustine- me too
if ang moh can do it y cant we asian do it too

welcome cocoswirl

caramelle- i try pressing here &amp; ther but no milk leh... will post baby pic when i connect it to my camera as i hardly have time now as i doing confinement alone wif hubby.. daddy is sick so he cant go near my son..

by the way as i thought when we delivered our tummy will be more flatten how come my tummy like having a second one..

round but press inside empty...

tubbym,
i gave birth on 4th June. den the full month should be on 4th july? but i see the calendar, like should be 2 July leh or 25th june... dun understand how the folks choose the date one...

hi ladies...

been awhile..

congrats to mummies who popped!!! june is almost 3/4 past...

ahnetsan, some pple count the date using lunar calendar. so u got to check what is the lunar date for 4/6. then cross ref to lunar date for 1 mth after. lunar calendar is normally shorter like 28 days so it will be a few days before 4/7.

sometimes i'm so guilty of not tbf. but i seem to have a problem in keeping up with baby's demand for milk. any remedy in increasing milk supply???

tubbyM, u may want to try mamy poko NB. it can fit up to 5kg. huggies has the smallest cutting...

We just celebrated BB Josef's full mth yesterday
So i am offically OUT OF CONFINEMENT N CAN EAT JUNK FOOD, YIPPY

We held the celebration in "Straits Chinese Restaurant" http://www.straitschinese.com that serve Peranakan food. Really thumb up for the food and service. Would highly recommened if anyone is looking for a restaurant to celebrate bb's full mth

re: diapers
yeah, my boy is also using mamy poko NB now.

lovelytulips,
yeah lor, been a while... well, like u said before, giving formula or nt tbf is not wrong. so pls dun feel guilty.

drink milo, drink soup, eat fish, eat oats, drink lactating milk powder, all will help in increasing milk supply... and also, pump out every 4 hourly, it also helps to increase milk supply.

btw, anyone tried to let baby sleep on tummy?
my idiotic mil keep asking me to let baby sleep on tummy.... i was like HUH, the neck strong enough to move meh? wat if suffocated den how?? siao ar?

lovelytulips, u can try to take the fenugreek from GNC. heard it helps on the milk supply. i'm also like u, not able to keep up my boy's supply. he has been given FM from day 1. aniway, i am pumping out like erm a pathetic 1 oz every 2 hours. he drinks 2.5oz every 3 hrs now. i was quite depressed for sometime but i come to terms and accept it. baby can still be healthy with FM and there is nothing wrong with it. i grew up on FM also. =D

Sharon_Limb TubbyMummy: My first latching was unsuccessful cos the nurse just try to squeeze my nipple into baby mouth. Then second round this Sara come and she also try the butt at my face kinda position, but still cannot latch, at last Kendrick latch correctly beside me, so since then I've been doing that. Then when I start sit up and carry him to latch, my wound is more painful. So most of the time I will latch on the bed.

lovelytulips: Same here, my milk supply is quite low, so I resort to latch everytime he's hungry, and hope that with constant latching, more supply will come. One good thing is there's no engorgement. And I found that I got to start latching once he cries, else he'll take long time (like 15 min) just to settle down and my CL will say cos there's no milk
Now I latch him almost every hour, each time 15 to 30 min.

hello mummies and mtb...
so many mom has given birth.. congrats to all.. been mia for a while..

cos i got mastitis since last weeek.. very bad breast infection.. fever even went beyond 40deg one whole day.. i have done all things i have read in the textbook, hot compress, massage, regular pumps, cold cabbage leaves.. antibotics etc.. still not heal.. and my breast is now red in colour.. any advice?

really having a difficult time.. at the rate i am going i may need to stop feeding after full mth.. btw any one has mdm rokiah no?

Hello all mummies and mtb

seldom login to forum as busy with work. Now I am still working but this week will be working from home till birth.

I m coming week39. My bb head origin is down but is @ side now during my last wed check up with doc ang.

Btw, did anyone of u share the same experience as me? Will the bb head go down again? I do hope i can natural birth...

Doc ang put me on 1 week medication so that my stomach muscle will relax.. n hopefully bb head will do down eventually. my gynae is away for holiday fr last fri and only be back this wed. Pray hard my bb will not pop out during his absent..

hihi ahnetsan,

Ya, we share the same gynae.
My 1st boy was also delivered by him. I feel comfortable with him, so 2nd one also stick to him lor.

I stay @ Pasir Ris, all the way to sebawang clinic to see him.. keke

So how do u find him? Haha my hubby feel that doc Ang style like Phua Chu Kang but he is steady...

sorry to interrupt. anyone needs to stock up on breastpads? I've got a brand new box of Pigeon disposables (42pccs). Selling at $7. Pl PM me if u are interested. Tks!

ahnetsan
I was just telling you that my doc told me delivering anytime.. Today went for check up and im 2cm dilated..

Doc ask to go in tomoro morning at 6am to induce out as my bb is now at 3.4kg in my 38 week.. Abit on the big side so better not wait.. Heeheehee.. so excited yet so scared.. Even thou i read all the birth stories here but still im getting the shivers thinking abt it..

haha dreamy,
i like lawrence ang. if i haf a 2nd child, i will go back to him.
i find him very steady and very professional.

haha ur hb so cute, say he's like phua chu kang... comical leh...

wah, pasir ris, den y u go to lawrence ang?
for me, i at sembawang, den my GP recommend lawrence ang, so i go to him...

and he's cheap and good. heehee

ur first one din use epidural right?

wow I've been sleeping the whole morning/afternoon, wake up feed milk, pump milk eat den sleep den repeat again the routine..yesterday Isaac was awake the whole night..Isaac seem to have problem pooing, he was like so frustrated that the poo don come out and the moment he falling asleep he started to cry..

ahnet, har, how come 2nd Jul or 25 June? Must count chinese calendar date is it?? I dunno, I just use ang moh calendar haha... My mum also blur blur got same logic as me, so we just take it as 3 Jul means exactly 1mth old

lovelytulips, my skinny girl still can fit her Huggies NB haha... Dunno when can upgrade... Don't feel guilty for feeding FM, we're all just doing whatever we can, and in the best interest of our child
If u still wanna try to increase your BM supply, try to latch baby on for 5-10min before you feed the FM, so bb gets chance to suckle on breast, and breast can be triggered to produce more milk. Try to pump more also. Even if pump and nothing comes out, still do it, just to trigger breast to produce milk. I drink green papaya fish coup every alternate day, and pop some fenugreek capsules everyday. Must drink lots of water too, at least 2litres a day is good. Jiayou!

Yan, all the best for tomorrow, update us with your story!