(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

amk_gal,
from wat i know, sore nipples is due to latching for more than 30mins, dats y the skin will be sore sore. or if u r pumping, mayb the power is too strong? minimise the power a bit?

im very scared of kenna sore nipples, dats y i only latch at night..cos if sore nipples, den it will be painful and uncomfortable and dun wanna latch or pump le.

mayb can also use breast milk to rub rub a bit and den air it a bit.

if u feel pain or discomfort while latching, den the technique is wrong le. if no pain no discomfort, shd be latching correctly ba. as long as baby is making the swallowing sound, he shd be taking in milk.

ohh i can go back today..gyne visit me & cant find me as i go downstair do my boy birth cert...
at 1st yesterday said i go back on sunday but he said since i can go jalan here & there & checked wif the nurse i finished my food so clean so it better i go back home & my hubby can rest too..
& yah i keep going toilet urine & changing pad

his name- Nesher Matthias Oh En Yao

Ec_mum- i also dont know... but later Nesher is coming home wif me at 5pm today..

ahnetsan,
how many session you had? did you loose weight after the sessions?

amk_gal,
sore nipple can cause by latcing wrongly or latch too long. pump power too strong also will cause sore nipple too.

Thanks Caramelle

I am at TMC, and we have engaged Lactation Consultant to help us. Thanks for your advice!

Hopefully baby is latching on correctly, he is 20min both sides, hope that is enough for him.

I don't regularly log in here. Just to share i have given birth to a baby boy on 22 May. Edd was on 1 June. Wt:2.920kg, Ht: 47cm Head cir: 35cm.

Hv a question. My son hv not pass motion for the pass 2 days. Is it normal? Can anyone help me on this?

<font color="0077aa">ahnet, i find sterilise and pump very troublesome - that's why i latch only and on-demand. yest the lac con say if feeding on-demand no need to pump because it can cause oversupply and therefore more likelihood to engorge. today no leakage so far. i bought medela purelan yest and put it on 3x daily and don't wear bra, but sometimes the chafing against shirt very annoying feeling. i can see the soreness healing very quickly already.

my mum supposed to stay and help me but so far she only come to cook and stay for few hours since hubby at home still this week. he's been very very supportive and such a great dad - alya is a lucky girl, her dad really loves her. he helps me a lot and each time i wake up at night for feeding, he'll wake up too. i wonder what will happen when he goes back to work next week. my mum will probably stay longer with me in the day, but i much prefer him around.

amk_gal, if you going KK, ask to see Teo Yen Ping who's a lac con there. i paid $50 for a consultation with her yest and she showed me how to latch-on correctly and clear my breasts using pump. she's very knowledgeable and im so grateful to her that i can feed alya better and happier now. i had sore nipples too but after my session with her yest, it's healing fast because she showed me how to latch on. and no need to stop latching while nipple heals because it will heal by itself. as long as you latch correctly, even if nipples are sore it won't hurt as much.</font>

hi baby, TMC has a free 24 hour hotline where it is manned by either a parentcraft specialist or a nurse manager.You can give them a call and they will advise you on the phone.At least after hearing their advice, you will feel beter because these people deal with babies all the time.

my baby's poo started only on day 3.

caramelle : i totaly agree with you.although purelan is slightly pricy, it really works.i usually put it on even if my nipples arent sore to prevent soreness.ehehehe.

also, my LC stressed to me that keeping fluids up is very important.must drink at least 2.5l every day.and doesnt have to be hot drinks.cold drinks also ok.

if we're dehydrated, our body will take whatever water in our body to feed itself and wont make milk.so i've been religiously drinking like mad and it'sstarting to help....

i only have problems feeding her between 8pm to 11pm as i dont know why but i never have enough milk for her during that time...

<font color="0077aa">bbPP, no worries. always good to get lac con to see how you latch on and correct you. do it at least 2 to 3 times, and change sides and positions.

initially i was told to do only 15min each feeding and only 1 breast. my gynae said no more after that. but lac con said max 30-45 min on each breast and not necessary to offer 2nd breast in first few days. alya's pattern now on day 4 is feed for 20-30min on 1 breast, sleep/look sleepy for 10-15min and therefore tricking me and hubby into thinking she's done then when we are about to go to sleep, she'll wake up and ask for more milk. so then i will offer other breast for about 15-20min. then she sleeps for 2-3 hrs till next feeding.

another tip: before feeding check if baby poo/pee already. if yes, don't change first cos during feeding baby may poo/pee again. so just wait till feed is done and baby looks almost sleepy then change the diaper. after that swaddle them and lay them to sleep! good luck to all mummies!</font>

<font color="0077aa">tiny, maybe you want to feed her at 6pm then pump right after that - to stimulate more production to last you from 8-11pm when you can latch on and if she's not satiated, then offer to top up with the pumped milk earlier?

i feel like hubby is missing out on the whole feeding experience but he insists i don't pump and just latch. he shares my views on no teats until we absolutely need to. so no pacifiers or bottles. i feel that when the time comes for bottle feeding she'll take to it quite easily since no need to "work" for milk. but won't intro so late lah..in case she refuse teat completely how i want to go back to work like that...</font>

thanks caramelle!!!

i think every TBF's mother's nightmare is not having enough milk....

oooh, do you have alya's picture to post up here?
it's such a pretty name!!

can i check on average how much weight your babies lose on the day of discharge from birth?

mine 2nd day already lost 100+g. wonder if its because never drink enough cos he latches on only 10 mins each feed then doze off! and the nurses here seem v lazy, only bring him to me every 4 hrs!! normal?

wow this thread moves v fast!

erm, the passing gas is me, not bb haha! it's very irritating. hope it passes soon. no pun intended.

styliciously: wow your milk ss is very good... mine is slowly increasing by 10 ml only everyday. 3rd day also 10ml only.

first mum: maybe you can request to them to bring every 3 hrs.

anyone doing full ebm? today so far I do full ebm but will prob latch when possible cos I got to take care of first child and pumping really cuts short the time... and solves problem of having to deal with sleepy baby. But I do miss latch on sometimes.. but no choice... elder kid requires attention.
anyone in same position?

caramelle, my baby latches for about 15 mins on one breast and sometimes up to 30 mins. i offer only one breast at a time cos having sore nipples. wondering if it's normal.

i think i'll find the LC at kkh. hope they work on sunday. my baby got jaundice so must go down and check tomolo and maybe do phototherapy..

my baby been peeing and pooing quite little... doc at polyclinic says it's due to jaundice.. i wonder if he's having enough milk from me.. so sad... today is his 4th day and so far i only saw 2 meconium at home.. pee very little... and when he drinks, he doesn't take long gulps but short sucks. i can't hear him swallow though... is it too soft for a 4 day old baby tat i can't hear??

now having engorgement. two painful rocks.. hope i can continue to total breastfeed... tough luck with the pump too.. pump very long only 10ml from both breasts... cannot pump too long cos nipples sore too.. too little suction power nothing comes out... how how how..

hi AMK_Gal

i just delivered last friday.. i was quite lucky with my breastmilk. able to pump out 20 ml of colostrum during my hosp stay. and now i can pump more than 100ml of bm. but i'm trying hard to go total breastfeed.

Becoz after discharge, i been pumping out my milk instead of latching on my bb. he also got jaundice.

i think u can massage ur breast everyday so stimulate the flow and use compression during each pumping. can enhance the whole process. That's what i did.

hi FIRST mum.

is very normal. Nurses usually bring bb to u when he/she is crying that is provided u opted for TOTAL BREASTFEEDING.

bb loses wt during hosp stay is normal.

newborn usually very sleepy.. mine was like DOZE OFF once my nipple in his mouth >.<

<font color="0077aa">first mum, big is it? hehe..no lah still 3kg only. super power BM!

alya went from 3.1 to 2.9 on 3rd day. it's quite normal to lose up to 10% of birth weight..nothing to worry about if they are peeing and pooing well.

lazy nurses?? they bring to you every 4 hours cos i think there's a schedule ba..if u want them to bring more frequent just let them know. you prefer to room in with baby?

amk_gal, sounds perfectly normal to me. how many days old is baby now? mine also started 15min on each breast cos i cannot tahan the pain. throughout hospital stay was like that and i was advised to only offer one side. only now when alya is 6 days old then i offer both breasts. LC work Mon-Fri from 730am-430pm. call them at 62934044 and ask the call center page for Yen Ping. pee and poo little is it because don't eat much? i suggest you quickly make appointment on monday with Yen Ping or if she's not around, any other consultant also can. get your latch corrected, get medela purelan cream and maybe even a breast shield. good latch means you can BF even if nipples are sore and for longer period so feed baby more, purelan to heal the soreness and breast shield to protect your breasts against rubbing your shirt (this is optional because you may not need to use it for long. i bought medela breastshells for about $20plus and it can be used to collect leaking milk too). sucking i can see, swallowing is when they suck suck then they stop cos they are swallowing a mouthful. re pumping, bring your pump when you see lac con on monday and they can pump out for you and show how to do correctly. when pumping, try to massage your breasts at same time so more can come out. do the massage with 2 palms at top to sandwich breast and left and right side - did your lac con show you that when you in hospital? if you need more info, PM me and i try to help. i was in the same situation few days ago too..

alya also doses off when she's feeding. and sometimes wakes up within 10minutes cos still hungry..dont know how else to keep her up.</font>

Caramelle, thanks for your encouragement in the waiting game.
.. I went to sentosa to walk walk today in hope of delivering my baby soon.. haha..

looks like breastfeeding is really tough.. and I am sure remembering every single tip u mummies gave!

Did you buy the medela purelan from dept stores or bp?

<font color="0077aa">Mummy Ash, no worries..i got one way of sure can induce labour..BEDROOM ACTIVITY!!

re BF-ing, it's not tough but it doesn't come naturally easily. like i must learn to swim/cycle, same with BFing. got techniques to get it right and painless. most important is the first latch on, get a lactation consultant to check if you're doing it right. the first time i did it was right after delivery. since i wasnt leaking before that, even my colostrum not in yet. then that night i told nurses i want to BF cos i dont want to get started on the wrong foot. but there was no consultant, only the nurse and they didn't really teach me closely. so the whole night i got it wrong..all the way till the following morning. by then i was gnawed raw. then the consultant that saw me first was not very friendly so i still didn't get it right so the whole of 2nd day i kept latching on wrongly. alya was just learning too and she wasn't guided well by me so more damage. only on third day before discharge then i saw a really good consultant and she taught me a lot. but i was quite excited about going home and my nipples were so sore i was quite tired of the whole thing. i thought i'd figure it out myself...so whole of day 3 and day 4 still not doing it right. yest on day 5 then i saw her and since then i'm working hard on getting it right and practising. now other problems kick in e.g leaky and hardened breasts so now i hand express and massage a lot. so you see..diff problems happen to the same person at diff times. i will share my experiences to learn frm other mummies here as well.

i bought purelan and the breastshell frm mothercare since i was at KK yest. but can also buy from WTS threads here. there was a lady selling a lightly used tube for $5 (I paid $19 for mine) but i couldnt wait cos she had to post it out to me.</font>

ahnet, u can bathe everyday? so gd. i oni managed to bathe on the 9th day and tat's becos i cheated. feel so shiok now. is ur pain at the bottom part of right breast due to block ducts?

EC mom, wow, no veg for you at all? lucky me, mom said oni gailan &amp; caixin. at least i hv 2 types of vege.

annie, got contraction but no pain, i know how it feels. ha! i was staring at the ctg scan, regular contractions and getting more frequent towads the end, but i'm still feeling blissful, thought it's just very active Braxton Hicks. i should have taken the heed and ask the nurse for epidural or something. ha! cos it suddenly came all too fast for me, once the pain comes, it was unbearable. and trust the scan, my contractions were definitely very very close when i first begin to feel painful contractions.

bbPP, i'm having tons of confusion on breastfeeding as well. i'm trying to up my supply, but there are contrasting views on how i shld do it. i don't know who to listen to. from what i know, for latching, bb's mouth shld b covering most of your areola and bb improves on their latching skills as the days go by. i hv a sleepy baby too, so i hv to wake her constantly, i don't know how, sometimes i'm successful, sometimes not. i read that bb will determine how long he/she'll be fed. when they finish, they'll naturally fall off your breast, or they'll lose grip. or if they only suckle and not drink for very long, it's probably time to take them off or switch sides.

amk gal, third day only, dont' give up. ss haven't kick in. mayb dun pump, jus nurse direct? i'm using medela pump, and it doesn't seem to be able to empty my breasts, my bb does it better!!

babysister, i'm wondering if 50ml is average too. cos i was at abt that level. but now i bf, stop pumping already. hoping to get bb's help to up milk ss so can't gauge.

bbPotato, u din use epi? luckily i'm allowed to. cos my labour was 1 hr 20min. and i was already on the brink of murdering anyone who's gonna touch me. i only had 20mins of the benefits of epi. the midwife refused to give me pethidine while i wait for epi cos she said it's too late as bb would b drowsy. i'm so glad it wasn't too late for epi. u r so brave!!!

tiny bubu, i also hv this prob, i din hv any posts until now cos my bb wun sleep for 4 hrs. faintz! she keeps needing to latch on. n i started to hv self doubt if i can bf. ya, keeping fluid instake high for milk production is indeed true. when i drink, i can feel my milk ducts tingling. ha!

baby, i hv a fren who told me bb din poo for some days is normal. she also flustered, went pd chkup, but everything was ok. but if u worry, jus go visit pd bah.

congrats to mummies who've popped!

i m having contraction pain since 3+pm and the gap become 5-10 mins interval from 9pm onwards. Pain until want to squeeze pple liao &amp; keep getting lower backache for each contraction.... this time shd be real rite?? my brain seemed dead and cannot think logically... hubby say wait till 12am n just sms gynae to see whether i shd go hospital now or wait some more...

huajing,
today my last session with mona... i took 5 sessions. i din check my weight leh.
cos no weighing scale at home.

caramelle,
alya's so adorable.
i like the first pic, where she puts her hands at her chins. so cute.

firstmum,
it's normal for babies to lose their birth weight at first... my jarius at birth weight was 3.335kg, den at discharge, he was 3.1+kg... den when i brought him a week or so later for PD review, he was 3.5+kg le. so no worries. yeah, the nurses at tmc worse lor, they only brought my boy to me after breakfast for bfg, den at midnight! afternoon and evening all never bring to me for bfg lor!

nicolle ann,
for me, i requested for TOTAL BREASTFEEDING lor, yet the nurses at tmc also din bring baby to me every few hours lor!

amk_gal,
massage ur breasts. put ur hand on top on breast and another hand below the breast... den do clockwise or anticlockwise rotation massage to the breast.
take hot showers and massage at the same time, it helps to reduce the engorgement... dun set the suction power too high, if nt very pain one.

mika rei,
i dun care lor, i wanna bathe.. cannot tahan lor. but i wash hair on alternate days lah.
now the bottom part of my right breast is better le.. ytd i asked my massage lady why like dat, she say cld be due to more milk producing, dats y to her, it seems it's engorgement.. dunno lah, nw better le, so i dun care lor. heehee

my baby also will fall asleep a short while after i latched him. dunno why also..im beginning to think dat im a human pacifier to him le.. each time he whines a bit, i latch him, den he will fall asleep.

superbee,
jiayou!!!

oh btw, those doing confinement, think it's very impt to haf enough rest... cos i din haf enough rest, yesterday morning while pumping, i suddenly feel like fainting...

den i rested the whole afternoon ytd, now i feel better le...

even my ML says i like nt enough rest like dat.. cos my body all the muscles aching..

I have popped via epi csect. Failed to deliver natural cos waterbag is green liquid so gynae m midwives say Dangerous for bb n ask me csect. Sob.
my bb name is Danelle, weight 3.495kg n height is 53cm.

morning ladies..Isaac's been very awake lately and he seem to be drinking alot but still like not enough..he's taking like 120ml of milk now but after finish the bottle less than 10mins start to ask for more he will latch on for another 15 to 30mins..yesterday he's awake from 12am to 7am..the moment i put him onto the bed he's awake and start to ask for milk even after just finishing his milk..

He's growing bigger and heavier also think he already outgrown the drypers newborn..

split, is he on EBM or FM?
Sophie is 3wks 5 days today and she's really alert.
when she was younger, she used to fall asleep aftershe's had enough milk but now, after she's full,she likes to kaypoh and look around, then she likes to stone and stare at the ceiling, then mummy has to tap her bum or rock her till she eventually falls asleep.after checking with TMC Parentcraft, thisis the stage where her eyesight is starting to get better and she's very curious about all the blurry things she's been seing for the past 3 weeks and how they're not blurry anymore.hahaha.

and trust me, sophie does the same thing where she's up all night.so irritating when i'm reallysleepy.sometimes while feeding her i can fall asleep but will quickly realise and wake up.

have you tried burping him or just letting him fall asleep in your arms?

superbee : end of the day, what matters is that baby is safe and sound!congrats,ya!

good morning mummies!

superbee
green liquid means bb has pooed in your waterbag... which my gynae told me b4 its dangerous.. must c-sec immediately...

<font color="0077aa">Mika Rei, keep up the good work with BFing. if you got any questions or tips to share, let us know as we are all learning mummies here, and some a bit more experienced since they delivered earlier.

Superbee, CONGRATS! so happy you can finally see baby.

ahnet, thank you my dear. *baby alya hugs auntie net-net*. eh received your PM but no time to reply. will sms you later okay? must create support group besides being online..sometimes hubby nag at me cos he said i should be sleeping when baby sleeping but i like coming online here with you all lah....

alya got new pattern now, feed for 20min then fall asleep. so when i think she's done i will change her diaper and swaddle her for bed, then she start to cry for feeding part 2! by then i may already be in bed under the sheets..so now after her feed part 1, i will kacau her but if she wont wake up then i just put her on the cot for a while to see if she'll wake up for part 2. if never wake up within 15min, i assume it's all done then change diaper/swaddle and put her to sleep. any mummies with good tips on waking baby up? i tried tickling feet soles, palms, earlobes but not to much avail. i scared to move her too much later she posset out the milk. so after feed i try to sit her up abit so milk can go down.

me also achey all over, scared to tell my mom later kena scold bcos i delay start of massage. is it normal? my tummy area inside there like achey, then sometimes leg also swollen.

re bathing: maybe cos i not chinese so i can bathe since i came home which was day 3. so sweaty from the hospital. can wash hair on alternate days only and only 1 shower per day at about 10am-12noon. if rest of day i get sweaty..die lah. so always stay in the room only. but i switch fan on in the day and at night aircon, i know the cold is not good but cannot help it. i try to cover up as much as possible without sweating. later sweat then breasts will smell MUSTY! cant be good for baby.

split, is Isaac abt 3weeks old now? maybe going through growth spurt so this is adjusting stage.</font>

Good afternoon to all mummy&amp;MTB!
I hv discharge from hospital on 19-jun noon.will update my birth story soon.
Sweethalo &amp; annie,thanks for your updates and thanks for all mummies's good wish.
Congrats to all mum who've just popped!
Dolly,how is your running nose now?recovered?
Cassey,congrats to kyle's full month!

amk_gal,my boy also went to KKH today for check his blood sugar and also jaundice level.I'm at home alone.

got not enough milk for my baby yet still colostrum,today is day 4.a bit sad that everyday still need to feed my boy with formula milk.and when he took bath or changing diapers seem like not feel comfortable.on aircon at room,keep adjust the temp as sometimes feel too warm to him and sometimes cold.

My birth story

17-jun
5:30 arr hospital
6:00 check bb's CTG and cervix
6:30 insert medicine
7:00 gynae came to take my blood for test
9:00 go to ward &amp; take blood pressure &amp; temp &amp; test urine
Waiting for real labour,eat breakfast and walk around
11:30 test bb's CTG
13:46 felt contraction persistent
17:00 contraction 5 mins apart
18:30 contraction 1-2 mins apart,go to delivery wards,start early labour,don't allow go toliet
20:30 2.5 dilated,gynae broke water bag
21:00 contraction 1 min apart,husband ask me don't keep bear the pain as nurse said still long labour,so use epi
22:58 3cm dilated

18:40 gynae came did VE 1.5cm dilated

18-jun
00:00 check blood sugar normal
01:00 5-6 cm dilated
01:34 7cm dilated
01:59 top up epi
03:48 10cm dilated but can't push yet as bb's head still high position
5:30 prepare for pushing &amp; midwife teach me how to push &amp; bb's head still a bit high so need to push him down then call gynae
6 plus gynae came
6:26 my baby came out,heard he cried then I also felt want to cry.happy
I call my family and my husband busy taking bb's photo when gynae seal my wound.after that stay there two hrs for monitor,

20:00 using laugh
18-jun

Congrats again to all the mummy who've popped!

Baby and I get discharged on Friday after intensive phototherapy and feeding breast milk + FM for the day. Have been on total bf except for that day with phototherapy, and Kendrick can empty 30ml after breastfeeding and he didn't pee too much, haha, this show how hunbry my boy is.

Huh huh! Very very busy with feeding! My boy is a super duper sucker and my supply is not that fast! Only started to feel a bit of engorgement yesterday (5th day) and in just one night, he suck until my breast is soft again! And he suck every hour... huh!

I tried to use the Medela PIS, but my breast feel more pain than his sucking, and nothing much come out! My CL say I dun have much milk anyway, cos my boy is sucking them out every hour... True also!

Jackie: So nice that your confinement over! Mine just begin!
Blurmom: Good news! At least your hubby dun need to be separated from baby and you

amk_gal: I ask for nipple cream in the hospital cos my nipple were a bit sore after the 1st day. Then when I can start to squeeze milk on the 3rd day, I apply breastmilk after each feed and let it dry. So far no crack nipple even though Kendrick suck for up to 1 hour.

JessMa: Congrats! And natural birth! My running nose healed before the C-Sec, so lucky, but I guess it starts again cos lack of sleep, very pain cos my C-sec wound pain when I sneeze.

thks blurmom, bbaugustine, ahnetsan

bbaugustine- yah we doing our own confinement now...
still managable

caramelle- stil didnt breast feed at all cos baby seem to be used to similac milk
but wil try when i got milk flow..

styliciously- i also nvber expect i wil kana tat badly but i better &amp; even can move around so discharged within 24 hours wif my baby boy

EC_mum- i got package but since i discharged earlier the admin will do some rebate &amp; wont charged us so much later for the baby &amp; my medicine..
me singaporean of cos want fast kiasu lah..kekekekkee

tiny bubu- my baby shited alot twice a day...

caramelle- yr gal so big...

mika rei- the pushing part is ok it only the contraction which is really unbearable..

superbee- whether it is c section or natural delivery, it doesnt matter as long as both of u are well

jessma- tomorrow my turn to go polyclinic to check bb jaundice.. i stil bottle feed &amp; he drank 10ml per 2 hours &amp; i dare not on air con too low so put temp 22.. he jus had his milk &amp; sleeping now

Caramelle, usually if baby hasn't suckled long enough to empty breast, burping him sometimes helps to wake him up to continue 2nd part of feed. The nurses at gleneagles also taught me to massage my breast when he stops feeding and falls asleep. Sometimes it works and he will start to suckle again.

Sometimes baby stops suckling because he has wet his diapers. So I change his diaper and he is awake again. Then I resume feeding him. Hope this helps.

Dolly, you sound like you are breastfeeding very smoothly. Great! No sore and cracked nipples with the long feeds means you are latching correctly. Better rest well so that runny nose doesn't come back.

For me, during the first few days after C-section, the wound was really painful and I was hardly mobile. I had to be helped to get up from bed even. Sneezing and laughing definitely made it painful but it gets better with time. Now its much better but it still hurts a little sometimes especially the right side cos i tend to bend my body towards the right side to get up.

Annie, i think the only confinement thing I am doing is eating the food cooked with lotsa ginger! Everything else goes against the rules of confinement haha. I still bathe and wash my hands as per normal, on aircon, blow fan etc. hee

Congratulations to all mummies who have just popped. I've been a slient reader of this thread for many months now and have decided to join the fun.

I have recently just popped myself last Sun.. time flies when you have a baby, its been a week liao

Thanks ahnetsan. saw that you just finished your massage with ML mona, mind sharing your experience with her cos I'm currently looking for one?