<font color="cc0099">
*sorry, super flood ah. But a lot of ppl I want to reply to leh... pls read hor*
Very rough last few days. Kyle's getting more and more alert and always checking out his surroundings. He fusses for the longest times at night and it's been really REALLY trying. Last evening, he nursed from 6 to 7pm. And fussed for 4 out of 5 hours from 8pm to 1am. It was a relief when he finally fell off to sleep. And he was a little angel the rest of the night and today until his evening fuss today. He's finally fallen into exhausted sleep about half hour ago, the silly boy.
<font size="+1">We're MORE THAN 50% popped!!!! GO GIRLS!!
Congrats to Comfort, EC_Mum & by now, Mika~ !!</font> Share your pics soon k!
ahnet~, 120ml BOTH sides la! One side then I'll run out of storage liao. Shelisa also has "overabundant" supply. So funny... said she'd donate to KK but they don't send ppl to collect and there's no one to send her milk to KK on her behalf. What a blessing!
bbAug, Nipple shields & breast shells (or is it shield huh?) are different. I had the mistaken idea they were one and the same, so was very reluctant to get them. I think breast shields are the one you wear with clothes on. I only use my nipple shields when I'm nursing Kyle J. And even then, ONLY one side at a time. I use them not to protect nipples, but because I've flat nipples and apparently, Kyle has very little (if anything) to latch on to. But from the pic I posted previously, you'll be able to tell that there is NO WAY you wear nipple shields UNDER clothes unless you want people to think you're the newest SuperHero on the block-
Nipple Girl!! *chuckle*
Tubbym~, by right it's no bottles until after breastfeeding is well established - usually about week 4. I read in a book that by wk 4, it's time to intro a bottle if you don't want baby to reject. Some parents try to intro when baby is a few months old but baby rejects, putting a lot of pressure on mum cos no one else can help by giving baby a bottle.
+ Having said that, the book only recommends that we <u>offer a bottle once every THREE DAYS</u> or so. At the mo, I've intro'd Kyle to a bottle (as I said previously, I used bottles on him 2 times in the first 2 weeks) and only allow him to have a complete bottle feed one day a week when dad takes over either on a Fri night / Sat morn.
creamer, welcome back!! So how does baby look - resembles mum or dad? Or neither? Or don't know?!
innocentwar, hang in there. Good job on meeting up with lac'con. Babies and mum can take up to weeks to learn how to latch on correctly. And typically my books say that baby can forget from one feed to the next! Quite funny when you think about it that way the next time baby is all over the place instead of on your nipple
bing, there's no strategy that's fullproof for total BF leh. You just have to keep persevering and hope things turn out well. Key things to keep up milk supply are: REST and keep yourself hydrated. Apparently we should be drinking NO LESS THAN 3L of fluids a day. Even if "no" milk, keep latching baby on to stimulate production. Perhaps you can do top-up feeds after latching on for a while on each breast...? OH! You're ALREADY doing that. *heehee* My lac'con says limit nursing sessions to 1hr so as not to stress yourself out. HANG IN THERE!
ahnet~, feeding on demand can start at any age... but for Kyle, I couldn't start it off early cos he was sleeping for much too long. So I did feed on demand, but added feeds once he failed to wake and demand milk in >4hrs. Now that he's not such a sloth any longer, I'm totally latching on only on demand. He typically wakes 2.5-4hrs after a feed. Except fussy evenings la. Then he won't even sleep
Do do DO try to see if you can manage to catch Jarius before he's at the crying stage. Initial almost 2 weeks with Kyle was like that cos I "caught" him too slow.. but then he was too agitated to latch on successfully. Watch for the early hunger signs and I hope that helps provide you with more opportunities to work on latching him on!
Re: Sore Nipples
Sore nipples are from incorrect latch-on, not from latching on all the time ma...? I only get a little tenderness after marathon nursing sessions on fussy evenings like the last two days, when he comfort suckles for 3hrs straight or 3/5 hours. Of course, I'm using nipple shields, but even before I started using, it's just a little tenderness after a 1.5hr session. I just apply nursing cream & air them prunes for a while and it's ok. Kyle is currently refusing his dummy so I'm still offering my breast. Hopefully that'll change soon. Books say at wks 4 onwards, sore & cracked nipples become more prevalent again as mums become less particular about latching on properly. So HEY, those of you with sore nipples, pls check, double-check and triple-check baby's latch-on at every feed!
amk_gal, that's about it ba. It's much easier said than done though. So be ready to persevere no matter what others say! 2 things I have to say though... Note:
1. nipple shield does NOT work to reduce abrasion with clothes. I think you mean breast shells (pls see above reply to bbAug).
2. You can feed on demand for MORE than 1 month... BUT IF your baby is NOT waking for frequent feeds, then you cannot feed ONLY on demand (pls see above reply to ahnet~).
fatmom, I think you may mean breast shells instead of nipple shields again. Pls see replies above to bbAug & amk_gal re: those.
dolly, you're overdue! Issue late reminder to baby pls! Been waiting for super long liao leh.
sweethalo, so do you have a vague idea how BH feels like now? Oh... you still don't. HAHAHA!!!
Anyway, glad it was a false alarm.. Don't induce! What would we on this thread do without you?!