(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

subway far from my place leh..i need to go sembawang shopping centre leh...

bbPotato, oh! haha. are u a subway lover too?

ahnetsan, i walk to amk central every afternoon to buy subway for lunch lor. until hb forbids me to eat. haha.

Annie,so cute.. hehe~~ everytime my gynae did scan very fast.

Papapya,i brought milk bottles 250ml.I only brought 1.

About arrange room:
All MTB/Mothers,when did you all arrange your room and put in baby cot?Some old ppl said don't arrange our room until after we give birth?This satuday we will receive baby cot but don't know shld follow the rule put in our hall first or should put in our room.And they said when those ppl sent baby cot to our room,i need to be outside my house.

Jess Ma, my friends suggest that too. reason being: if u set up the cot too early, it might invite 'unwanted stuffs'. u know what i mean right? but then it's really up to u to believe it or not.

for me, we dun believe it lo. my colleague passed me her baby cot last dec and it has then be in our bed room since. it's not empty la. we threw our bags and stuffs inside. the mattress we bought are still nicely wrapped in plastic. hb intends to leave it this way until bb is delivered. then he will start packing and prepare the bed. hahha.

me too... my cot is hand me down one... alrdy put in my room long ago le.. jus dat nw the mattress is still wrapped in plastic too. before tat i dumped all bb stuff inside the cot too.

depends on whether u r pantang or not lor. or maybe when the cot is being put in the room, u dun stay in the room, jus stay in the living room ba.

wow this thread runs vv fast. just roughly browse thru the archives.

cassey
great to hear you are doing well!

skylermum
dont worry too much abt supply. just try your best. i understand abt the part abt family not being supportive. thats the older generation cuz most of us also grew up on FM and is also all healthy now so they prob dont see why we insisted on bf-ing. sometimes if really too stressful, can try to do partial bf first before your supply steps in. one feed bm one feed fm while you continue to do pumping. i understand how you feeling now cuz for my #1, i also failed at bf-ing. this time round, i try to 'kan kai abit' more so did not feel as stressed as previously. just jiayou and try your best =)

lovelytulips
yes the home lights do help because as long as there is heat, it could reduce some jaundice. the nurses at mount A told me. i actually tried all methods to bring down bb's jaundice though he is not the seriously kind so i also used home lights. cuz i cant stand seeing him slightly yellowish while my #1 was nvr like tt. i tink i keep doing comparsion which is not very healthy.

jess ma
yeah when there are movement of furniture in your hse, pls move away and stay aside. old wives tales again but i tink believe it rather than regret.

bottles
i gt 8 avent 120ml bottles and 5 260ml bottles. but the small ones mostly used for storage of bm. will transfer them to milk bags soon cuz so tired of washing so many bottles. heehee.

Bing,that's time did you shift your bed as well when you setup your baby cot in your room?

Ahnetsan,i just heard it from my friend.. not really understand it when she told me that..

Crystal,your mean i can still at home but just sit outside of my room is it?

JessMa: my cot also hand me down, my colleague delivered it to my house. And he ask me to be out of the room when hubby and him assemble it.
Haven't bought the mattress though
But hubby arranged the cot nicely liao

bbPotato, the neverfull MM seems like a good size right? I was also thinking of that...

ahnetsan, I'm reading up on Baby Whisperer instead, by Tracy Hogg. Will try baby whisperer first (if possible), and if it doesn't work, will try Gina Ford. If still don't work, then time to spank the kid! hehe

Jess, my cot has been in the room since a few months ago haha... A few days after we brought it home, my hubby fixewd it up one day without me even knowing. I was just sitting in the living room
We die die had to put it in, to be sure that my cupboard doors on both sides still can open after we put the cot in. Once it's there, we never moved it again. Mine also like Bing's/ahnet's like that, filled with other baby stuff, mattress still in plastic hehe... Giving birth on Wed liao, still haven't pack. Oops.

Qns: Why confinement cannot eat Subway?

Oh.. Gina Ford, I have one book name "The Contented Baby's First Year" is that the one? Didn't know that she's famous ... think someone pass my hubby that book, haha

dolly & tubbymummy,i'm thinking tomorrow after checkup then i go to library so let my husband handle it too..

Tubbymummy,maybe confinement we need to eat those food that more easier to digest one.. so cannot eat subway... i'm not so sure.

I have the Gina Ford book on sleeping. Will attempt to try out when my milk supply is established. I think it's difficult to follow from the start when BM supply is not there. Haven't finished reading the whole book though.

<font color="cc0099"> sweethalo &amp; dolly, dolly got it right! The cocoon thing is the photographer's. So cute huh!? We took him in and out of these things and he just slept through it all, my sweetie pie.

Re: My Giant Niece
Sis says the April thread babies all look like that... I imagine looking back in 8 weeks time thinking: Was Kyle ever THAT small?! Haha... sweethalo, we can compare our bub's sizes in 2 months' time huh? See if mine's a giant too!

SkylerMum, isn't that the truth? The local people are such busybodies sometimes... Keep poking their noses in where it isn't wanted. I hate it when relatives decide to advice me on breastfeeding and how to carry baby and stuff. But on the flip side, it's encouraging when people visit and say, yeah, breastfeeding is good... but takes hard work. etc. etc...

+ On my side, grandma and granddad are the same. Can't seem to get a clear understanding that that's what babies do - cry and sleep. I spoke to my mum from the beginning telling her that total breastfeeding is a real challenge and I really don't need people telling me my milk not enough or use formula. Sister got me a tin of formula, but I declined so it all went into my little giant niece. Dad kept throwing wet blankets in my face in the first days when Kyle J. was wailing and howling cos he couldn't get a good latch. I kinda lost my cool one day and told him NO. I DON'T WANT TO BOTTLE FEED! LEAVE ME ALONE. THIS IS THE LAST THING I NEED. So I'm REALLY REALLY thankful that Kyle's wailing and thrashing episodes have come to an end for the moment.

+ Kyle J. loves his bath times... Or maybe not all of it la. He wails when he's getting his shampoo and when he's on his back, but is super happy and settles when he's crouched froggie style on his front
I feel so happy whenever I see him twist his head upwards and wrinkle up his little forehead to look up at me. Sometimes he crosses his arms and leans his head upon it. *swoon* I think I'm in love all over again. *keke!*

*Ok! Mdm Rubiah is here... off I go for my last massage! OT later!

Tubbymummy,

yup. initially i wanna buy e GM, then when my fren she went to buy in e jap boutique, she called me said too big, nt nice, so i changed to MM instead

tubbym,
i cant find the secrets of baby whisperer! dats y i took e gina ford.
where did u find it at?

think u can start to unwrap the mattress plastic and do up the cot bed le over this weekend.

dolly,
the gina ford book i haf is the 'complete sleep guide for contented babies'. i think its the same as bbjun. haha i also havent finished reading it. jus started a few days ago only!!

cassey,
thumbs up for persevering with tbf! yeah it's frustrating when ppl ard u dun give the encouragement and yet all they do is to splash cold water!!

Cassey: Enjoy your massage! Regarding breastfeeding, it's really our own people who discourage us from doing so. Good that you've made your point so clearly. As for me, since my mum can't make it for at least the first 2 months, so by the time she comes, I should be able to breastfeed without much hazzle
Now just hope that my other elders don't discourage too much.

Milk bottles: 2x Pigeons 150ml glass bottles + 4 x Medela 150 ml BPA free bottles + lots of glass bottles for sample milk at Mt A
Didn't buy the sterilizer though, thinking of just boiling them

ahnetsan: Just flip open the book, the one I have is the second book from Gina Ford, and it is divided into 12 section, each month one section. I've not started reading though.

sorry MIA because in meeting. ah sorry PM is the medium size one - that one also looks a bit small on me when i tried it. think it's my bump.

Tubby, GM can fold in the sides mah..so won't be so floppy i guess.

Jess Ma, this weekend im also setting up the baby cot. putting it in my room instead of baby room because i need to put the changing table thing across it. figured it's more convenient in my room, so when she's older then can put in her own room.

my office had some renovations and i bo pian still have to stay at my desk and listen to all the knocking etc. wish i can move away but scared later people who don't understand will ask y i so sensitive. i think it's more not to give shocks to baby from the noises.

jessma, hubby didn't shift our bed to set up the cot cos there is alr a space for the cot. also, i wasn't ard when hb assemble the cot too.

tubbymummy, hee. i read the Baby Whisperer by Tracy Hogg too! it's really a good book!

aiyo, my mom say confinement cannot take vege cos vege is cooling. but my mil say can. haha. i dunno la. both moms are strict types but i hack care lor. haha. see how ba. i guess it's going to be challenging.

bbPotato, I actually prefer the monogram, but thought of getting the damier cos it was launched more recently in Sin, and less ppl have it... Not sure if it's an impulse purchase haha. Shall think some more...

ahnet, I bought "Secrets of the Baby Whisperer" at Kinokuniya, the Liang Court outlet. Think it might be the last pc there, so maybe you should try the BIG Taka outlet. There are several other titles too, like Top Tips from the Baby Whisperer etc. I wasn't sure which to buy, so I just bought the Secrets one first. It's on a whole baby routine, not just the sleep part. I tried calling up Borders repeatedly, stupid people don't even answer the phone. Thankfully Kino had. If you still wanna buy, you can call up Kino and ask them to reserve for you first. Otherwise, think u can order online, and they will deliver to you. $5 delivery charge, free delivery if order more than $50.

caramelle, think it's just me, got some mental block when i comes to bags above a certain size haha... PM is the petit, smallest one. Think I might stick to the MM if I do get... Still thinking haha. Oh dear, office reno not very healthy for you, especially if there's wood dust or glue fumes floating around... Wear mask?? By the way I've been pigging out on chocolate too. Today, I've been stuffing my face with Loacker DARK choco waffers! Mmmmm.....

bing, I haven't finished the book yet, just bought last week, only read before bedtime, so now only halfway thru hehe... I MUST finish it by this weekend!

bing, oh ya, I think veg can take lah, but depends on what kind. Cos I came across confinement recipes for veg dishes also leh, so must be can take right? If not, you'll constipate very badly... The recipes usually have some fish or meat inside, so I think it's not that bad. Maybe show your mum the recipes?
E.g. of recipes:

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/vege2.html

bbpotato, argh getting all confused because there's 3 sizes. ok i think the small one is way too small for me, and the MM one looks okay but now that im pregnant looks small too. so thot of going for the GM.

Tubby, btw now damier or monogram also same price so might as well get damier right? and some more damier inside is red color so if dirty also not so obvious.

eh is that the new flavor? saw quadratinis in dark choc and wanted to buy but thought i should shrink piles first then can resume really sinful chocolate food. for now only can settle for coco pop with milk, subway choc chip cookies and keeblers!

bbPotato, yeah! haha. the Q&amp;A will definitely be a super long list. hahaha.

tubbymummy, jia you on the book! u will be able to finish it. =P hee. thanks for the vege recipes. can pass to my sil so she can tell my mil to cook for me. haha.

caramelle, ya, think the dark chocolate is the new one. I also saw in 7-Eleven, selling at the cashier counter, individually wrapped packets of Loacker waffer with some dark choc coating. Don't remember what's the name, bought one to try
Not bad. This one that I ate today is one long pack (maybe about laptop keyboard size?), says Loacker Fondente in front. I like!! My piles went down slightly, so I never die before, already stuffing my face with such stuff hahaha... Shall go drink lotsa water now.

bing, ooh, if your MIL will cook for you, that'll be great! Can surf the net for more confinement veg recipes, I'm sure there are

tubbymummy, my MIL doing confinement for me. but i also pai seh to ask her cook so many diff dishes ma. i let her choose what to cook but i do tell her food that i dun eat: pig's liver, pig's kidney. told her to cook fish and vege for me can le.

but she was saying that can i tahan the same food for a mth. then i laugh at her and say i puke onli lor. see how ba. worst, just eat like normal lor. aniway, it's really how pantang u are ma. if u not pantang, u can eat anything one.

ok going off now..if i dont come back for the weekend, have a good one ladies and for those popping or planning to pop, wish you a smooth delivery. hehe

bing, so nice your MIL doing confinement for you. i just found out my MIL and almost his entire immediate family going for holiday in the week im due to deliver. i dont know what to say lor..cos last time when my SIL was delivering (and i wasnt married yet) i was told by then-bf cannot go on holiday because wont be nice if she deliver and he's not around. but now when it's my turn it seems to be okay.

sigh..i must stop being so bitter and take everything in my stride. maybe should cut down on my chocolate intake hehe

jessma- i always look forwards to see the scanning of my baby

tat time i got a bigger new wardrobe so as 2 have more space to put the baby things..the uncle ask me to stay away &amp; my mum dont let me stay inside the room so i hid in the kitchen &amp; wait till the man go off then i go clear the stuff

caramelle, *huggies* things are like that one. they can say some stuffs then dun do lo. it happens to me also. just close eye and ear lo.

so who is doing ur confinement?

<font color="cc0099"> Justus is back at work today so I'm on my own with Kyle. A milestone for this mother! Yippeee...!!
+ Another milestone - Kyle Justus' cord stump finally fell OFF!!! Mum says keep it... I'm thinking EEEwww, that black little gross piece of thing?! NO THANKS! Well, it came off in one of his dirty diapers anyway, so no keeping it.

dolly, I'll say rethink the boiling thing and a steam steriliser is really a worthwhile "investment". Boil you need to use pot and get water and stuff... then boil water, then immerse stuff for 3-5 min, some even 10min. After that must get your things out before water cools and clear the pot &amp; water away. Steriliser you just turn it on and if baby wails or anything, the cycle can just finish on its own in about 6-8 minutes and the things can stay in there until you're ready to retrieve them. Time really is of the essence when you're feeding 3-hourly. Each feed >1 hr... that leaves you with only <2hrs between feeds. Plus washing up and sterilising stuff, that leaves you with MAX 1.5hours between feeds. Factor in toileting, pumping, eating, showering...?! I say, GET a steriliser.

carmelle, now that Kyle J. is emptying my boobs properly, not as much milk. Anyway, cannot keep for so long la! Must be along the freezer aisle! Haha! And not enough for NTUC... maybe HDB provision shop nia. Today I pumped after hot shower with boob massage, usually about 60-80ml PER side. Today only 90mls BOTH sides. But thank God Kyle rarely needs top-ups after a 1-hr nursing session anymore.

bing, that is the NB photoshoot pic. But it isn't a studio pic cos NBs they don't use flash. So she comes to your place while you're doing confinement. Else you not supposed to bring bb out anyway ma.

Tubbym~, I don't think this cocoon is the peanut shot. There's another one... that doesn't cover the body... he's all curled up inside and it's a perimeter around his body... pale brown/beige in colour.
I'm SO glad you posted the KellySoon link here and I took you up on it! But I think the props and poses are all the same for all the babies, unless you come up with your own thing. She had a nice one of a baby dressed in dad's super oversized fave football singlet thing, with medals on his stomach or something. It was quite personable. Too bad we couldn't think up anything.

JessMa, actually, I think if want bb massage, have to ask for it. Not everyone wants tt. I don't think there is always an extra charge. It really helps. I guess there are two ways of looking at it - sometimes I find it adds pressure on me cos I have to make sure I keep that slot open and try to fit Kyle's feed &amp; bath schedule around it. Sometimes I think about it and it's that 1-1.5hr time out JUST for me to pamper myself. The massage really loosens the knotted muscles - for me, especially of back of shoulders, shoulder joints, forearms &amp; hands - that the new baby exercises. Day 1-3 it was really painful, but after that so shiok! *Sad that today last day, but glad that I have all aftnn to myself from now on*

ahnet~, WHOA! You have super sharp eyes leh! His fuzzy back is even worse! It always makes everyone laugh.
I LIKE!

+ I think it may be painful for you cos you haven't latched on before...? I never tried pump until after milk came in so I don't know. But the suction is really the aerola as a whole and I don't find it hurts leh. The Medela setting min - max is the strength of the suction. So you should start off with min if you find it painful. Max will suck your nipples to death!

bing, HUH?!? Confinement cannot take vege?! Then skali constipated, make your episio hurt when you do a biggie lagi worse!

caramelle, to add on, my MIL doing my confinement cos i am staying with my IL and they think it's a waste of money to engage a confinement lady that's why she is doing for me. haha. my mom cannot do for me cos she is working full time.

but really hor, if u let me choose, i rather engage a confinement lady to do it cos i personally think they are more professional and also i can specifically states what i want and dun want. plus my MIL old liao, and her health also not very good, i dare not ask her do too much also.

caramelle: take it as blessing in disguise! They not around you to fuss over you! Isn't that great? My hubby side dun even talk to me since Chinese New Year, and I'm perfectly fine with that. Just hope she won't come knocking at the door only. Anyway, we only met twice for the past years, once before CNY and once on CNY itself. hehe

dolly, wah seh. ur IL so steady ah. dun keep in touch with u and ur hb one? dun need to go visit them weekly or go over for dinner meh? what abt birthdays?

dolly, oh. from my circle of friends, none of my friends stayed with their IL and at most they visit their IL weekly by going over for a dinner.