(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

caramelle- havent on ML yet now on HL till 5june..
gyne said if contraction then the whole tummy be very painful then stop for 5-10mins then start again then stop then start till u cant tahan

caramelle: Wow LV bags huh! My colleague wife was given LV nursing bag from her boss, but end up didn't use much though.
I've enough nursing bras after getting that buy 3 get 1 free from Triumph and 2 more from Moms in mind! That's on top of 3 eternity bra and 2 pigeons bras

I will go Tangs though, at least to spend off the $10 dollar beauty vouchers which is expiring next month!

Annie: Better dun worry about work, you can just call your colleague up when you are feeling really fine! They can't disturb you but you can disturb them!
Good to wait for baby to develop a bit more before coming out

Annie,
wow, so fast! Must really rest. All the best!

I also can feel pain now when bb move. Maybe cos I am super busy today, so I can feel my bb movement also terrible! I just told one of my manager to bring the next client to my cubicle, then for me to go all the way to the meeting room. So painful to move up and down! Luckily he also nice!

Tinybubu,
your gal so cute! Girls are always so sweet looking, melts pple hearts!

I am really very tired now, with all the work, moving and talking to pple. Now I can feel I lose steam liao, as if I will collaspe anytime! Colleagues kept asking when I am due and they said so fast! I am looking fwd to pop, at least I am assured my bb is ok. Think all of us most worried abt this!

ahnetsan,
monitor your bleeding. If persist, do go see doc.

Re:shaving bb hair
My nieces and nephews never did that and their hair also nice and thick. I asked my sil and she also never did that. Boy hair very thick and black leh! So I think maybe for some bb lor. I definitely won't make the hair writing brush, so no reason to shave. Will leave it as it is then! Many sale gimmicks going on, like making footprint plaque and the brush. HB don't like all these, luckily! So we save money! Hee hee hee! I will prob get my colleague to do bb shooting if I want. Think outside quite ex hor? Anyone also engaging photographer to do bb shooting??

dolly- yah so now is resting resting & resting...& waiting for u to pop 1st before me

LFB- thks...
but also scare if really going to deliver can i tahan the pain

Annie,
sure can! Just tell yourself after the pain, you will see your beautiful bb and able to cuddle! Must jia you! Mothers are the most wei da creature! We can do it!

dolly - u nust be ahead of me
i must move slowly & tell my boy to slow down..

LFB - easy to say than do... still worry.. but will love to see my boy soon.. now better chk the name meaning lion or else i going to get nag by my hubby

annie - hope u are better, do get some rest.

Caramelle - wow! LV bags! hehehe... yeah go Paris can get 20% cheaper due to tax isit?

annie, sorry meant HL instead of ML. oh better look out for those signs of tightening. always thought it's baby moving2 or changing position inside.

dolly, aiyoh LV diaper bag so expensive $3000+ i so heart pain to buy. im getting the neverfull for my diaper bag and the galliera to reward myself for the past 9 months and many more years to come! hehe
yest i went to Tangs Triumph but they said don't have nursing bras leh..you buy from where? btw, moms in mind i want to order the raspberry tea (maybe too late by now!) but wondering how long will the order take?

sweethalo, Paris LV is cheaper by abt 20% plus got 12% tax rebate. but my friend cabin crew so dont think will ask her to claim tax if she's rushing for flight. even without tax rebate a lot of savings, cos my galliera + neverfull in SIN is about $2900 together but from there it's about $2400 so 20% savings. if she can claim tax even better..hehe

omg!! i jus read annie's post...
"tightness on the tummy...when the bb move it pulls my vaginal"... DATS WAT I'M FEELING LAST NIGHT FOR A COUPLE OF TIMES LOR!!

this one is mild contractions???

i tot it's cos bb moving wor! and the upper part of tummy painful cos of bb movements...well, dats wat i tot it is...

besides, i dunno if bb is engaged or not. din ask gynae ytd

annie, ur pain is wat kinda pain?

<font color="cc0099"> Praise God! Went to see lactation consultant yesterday and it was a most fruitful visit!! She test Kyle's suckle and said he has a reasonably ok suckle - not the strongest, but not too weak either. Then asked me to show her what i do and said it looks like I'm doing everything right, baby seems to be the one with a prob. So then she brought in a nipple shield for me to try. AND VIOLA!! EVERYTHING FELL INTO PLACE! He latched on perfectly, calmed immediately and started sucking right away!!!

Consultant left me to nurse him for 30min and he just stayed latched on for a for a full 30min and suckled. She returned to check if my boob was nice and soft. It was!! Considerably lighter and softer than the other side. So Kyle passes the latch-on efficiency test! YIPPEEEEEEeee!!!!

After our consultation, we went to Orchard for lunch and then to get myself a pair of nipple shields. I am OVERJOYED to report that nursing sessions have been an absolutely success. I allow him to suckle as much as he wants for an hour (30-40min at one breast, abt 10-15 on the other). If he needs a top-up, I'll top up with expressed milk. But he hasn't needed any the last 3 feeds. He just suckles until his uber-bliss face comes on and his head lolls back in drunkenness and his eyes roll back in delirium. It's been poop and pee aplenty so he's right on track now on the nutrition front! *LEAPS INTO THE AIR FOR JOY*

dolly, not so diligent anymore... Justus hubby goes back to work tmr. I'll be on my own and definitely more weary.

JessMa, I enjoy my massages. Everything included. But no baby massage. About 60 per session plus binding. Start from day 4 for vaginal deliveries, day 14 for Caesarians.

sweethalo, I have no idea leh. I haven't checked email so maybe she's sent me the link but I haven't seen it. Will let you know again.

SkylerMum &amp; bubu, your little bubs are ultra adorable!!! Sophie's a beautiful little girl! OOoo... so many many newborns popping! I wonder if mothers tuning in from other threads are getting impatient to see their own bubs!!

sweethalo, I'm not using a dummy (pacifier). Don't plan on using one at least for first month.

caramelle, I bought ma. From the GMart site. I was reporting here that I got the goods the same night and the day after. But discounts not always applicable.

capirho, jaundice: baby's immature liver has to expel the bilirubin by itself once it leaves mum's womb. This happens thru pee and poop. Usually they have problems expelling cos colostrum is thin and milk hasn't come in. 80-90% of all babies have jaundice. This buildup of bilirubin causes a yellowish tinge in the baby's skin tone. Many western countries just let it be for 3 weeks or so and allow it to clear on its own. But here, if it's serious enough, hospitalisation is needed. Hope this helps. Apparently Kyle was a 12 on the scale (score of 215). I don't know what all these means. But a 10 on the scale means jaundice not a problem.

Annie, i stay at bt batok still southwest district. why on HL? the pain is becos u gonna deliver soon or nt?

sophie so many hair! so envy, i was born w little hair , after teenage yrs becm very thin,think be worse after birth. haha yeah skyler look so sweet &amp; hugable! oh wish my boy come out oso got qt alot hair. mmm ya skyler look jaundice lor. hope he discharge soon too. i think it's qt common my niece had it too but she abit milder didnt hospitalise only almost had to. i used to sit bside her in the morning, blindfolded her eyes and fan her while listening to my mp3 haha. now she's already 5 yr old... kids grow real fast man... i aged so much while seeing her grow.

G market Goon diaper nw nt as cheap 2mth ago i bought $14.90 now think it's abt $20. those who are alreafy member will rec email got the $6 voucher, just login &amp; grab it. then choose what to buy,at shopping cart apply voucher.

Cassey, yup i remembered you bought from Gmarket but don't want to text and disturb you to ask cos i figured you must be bz playing mommy! btw, which of the diapers works best for Kyle? seems he's pooping a lot so half your stock must be over by now??

btw, great news abt the successful latching! maybe you can tutor us now..hehe

caramelle- as tis my 1st child..better go check rather than pop out in the toilet like my 2nd niece. tat time my elder sis thought stomachache &amp; as waiting to see gyne she go to the toilet &amp; bomb &amp; nabila jus pop out. luckily she managed to catch hold of her &amp; she was scolded by the KK nurse. (nabila was premature baby born on 7mths &amp; her last one ica was less than 7mths while the older gal &amp; two boys r full term)

ahnetsan- my tummy will feel very tight than relax then tight &amp; relax then when it is tight &amp; the baby move u can see the body moving like a wave &amp; it pull my virginal.. tat pain r ..cannot tahan

jessma- yah yipee ..37 weeks tomorrow...
and he a fat baby

Caramelle: I went to Moms in mind last Sat and buy the tea there. So only started drinking it last Sat only.
Tangs Triumph should also have nursing bras, they put it in a drawer one. I got mine at Robinsons Raffles City though.

Cassey: Good to hear that Kyle can suck successfully!

eek..allerhand when go out with hubby. it's an odd pink and red combi which hubby wanted soooo much so he can carry it himself! neverfull when im out with my girl - just us 2. but i still need a handbag to put in my wallet, umbrella, book, waterbottle when im out with hubby and her so can use also. my allerhand quite small so cannot put in brolly + book + cardigan all..

annie, i know what you mean. hubby also was telling me of another mummy who deliver in the toilet like that. i was telling him maybe because the urge feels the same? and these mummies also have high threshold pain so just think it's tummy ache.

dolly, thanks for info. you think moms in mind open this weekend?

caramelle- so we better go check than doing guessing game... i thought of waiting to see how it goes but hubby don wan so call his camp &amp; send me go kkh 1st.. then me pop out in the middle of nowhere then he said i be on the paper the next day

Caramelle: The next opening is 13 &amp; 27 June
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/showroom.html

If you are buying bras, better go there and try, their sizes and fitting are weird, must try then know can fit or not.

Actually my other friend was birthed in toilet too! Why not think of it this way, birthing is no more pain than shitting? Just that everyone gets paranoid because of those horror stories. So your cervix tighten instead of relax, making it even harder to birth!

hi ladies, i am back from gyne! good news! bb has gained wt. scanned revealed bb is now 3.2 kg @ 39 wks 4 days. gyne said everything is fine. told me to see him on monday. if bb still not out on monday, will deliver him on tuesday i.e. induce. haha. am so relieved after gyne's visit to hear that bb is growing and fine. (^.^)

dolly, agreed with ur gyne. if overdue must induce le cos placenta may be old and not delivering food to bb.

Sweethalo, thanks! haha.

kikismom, guess what. i was a sucker for tutu when i was a kid. my mom threw away my tutu and i sucked the milk bottle teats instead till i was like erm.... lower primary school. i remember hearing someone saying suck thumb even jia lut. suck too much kanna the thumb print on the tongue for life lei.

annie, hope u are feeling better. =D must rest well during this period.

ahnetsan, must take care ah.

cassey, congras! am very happy for u to know bb kyle is feeding well. (^.^) hmm... i wanna consult the lactation consultants too when my boi is out.

wow annie ur sis so many kids ah so experience! alamak if were ur sis i also wldnt expect to bomb end up bb cm out wat unless u meant she already at kkh doc say in early labour liao. but then how we know, we need to clr bowel right ? hw to tell the diff? talk abt this i dont dare push so hard liao..i also constipated leh often strain leh,scary..

btw at this late stage (i'm 37wk tomol0) it's qt common to feel like mense cramp right? been having it last 2 night n now aftn also feel it. but quite berable , labour contraction shd be very pain very obvious right?

bing,
glad to hear that bb's growing well!
wow, so you hoping bb come out before monday or u prefer to induce on tue?

createjoy,
i think menstrual cramp feeling is also pre-labour symptom. maybe monitor? or call gynae and ask?

bing- so u can get to see yr baby soon.. wow jus endure for few days.. maybe my bb might decide to join u too kekekekekeke i also waiting for him

createjoy- me also dare not push too hard when i bomb..scare leh .. she gave birth the 1st one when she 20 &amp; 2nd one was at 22 so still alert to catch hold of the baby me so old &amp; clumsy better don play play

ahnetsan, haha. wa, u sounds more excited than me lei. lolz. have just called and made a facial appointment tml @ 1pm. my hb and mil forbids me to go out, worrying that i may go into labor anytime. dun care la. if bb wants to come out, come out lor. i dun want to sit at hm and wait like some bomb is going to drop and be anxious or paranoid over it. going to enjoy my facial session tml. =P

hi all,just logged in really quick to say hi.baby keeps latching every hour so when she falls asleep, i quickly use the few precious moments to eat or bathe or just lie down and stone.

just to let you ladies know, i experienced menstrual like cramps on the day i went into labour.i thought it was just normal 3rd trimester pains but gynae told me that it's a sign i'm going into labour.

what you have to do is to time the menstrual cramps.

eg, you will feel the cramps staring at 6pm,and it continues for how many seconds.after that it will disappear and everything will be normal again.

all of a sudden, at 7pm,you get the menstrual cramps again and it lasts for how many seconds.then it goes away and everything feels normal.

this is actually a real contraction.and as it progessed a few hours later, the menstrual cramps got really intense.but i was still able to walk downstairs to take taxi to hospital and to shower / eat.

for the actual labour pains, while i was in the hospital lying down in the delivery suite (while waiting for my epi doctor to arrive), i felt a really strong contraction.it was so painful i couldnt even scream.i just started gasping for air and tears flowed out of my eyes.my hubby was sos scared he started yelling for the nurse to get the epi doctor here asap.

i always thought i had a high threshold of pain (i can have a brazilian wax and feel comfortable throughout the process)but contractions are really terrible!!!

i really admire those mummies that went through natural delivery without epi.

oh, and also, when i was pushing, i started pushing just like if i had constipation.so i would feel pressure in my forehead when i pushed.but nurse told me that is the wrong way to push.if i push this way, baby will not come out and i will waste energy pushing.

the correct way of pushing is from your tummy.hold your breath and push from your tummy and baby will successfully move with each push.

as for the epi, the moment you have an epi, you will immediately be numb from tummy down, so they will put a cathater in you for your pee to come out.you can also lie on your back even though the epi tube is on your back. if you suddenly start to feel the contractions come back, just tell the nurse and she will increase the epi dosage for you.when you're on epi, you're not supposed to feel anything at all.

when you push, you also cant feel the contractions.nurse had to tell me :eek:k contraction is coming now.hold your breath and push.then hubby and nurse will start counting to ten.

cassey : i'm so happy that breastfeeding is a success for you.i'm still in the process of getting to that stage.nipples are so sore.even before i have a chance to let my nipples rest, sophie starts crying for a feed again.die,man at this rate.

ooooh, what package did you get for the newborn photography?we're thinking of having it done as well but not sure which photographer is good.

to all the mummies who managed to see sophie's picture : thanks for the compliments.honestly, sophie looks like her dad and all she got from me was her hair colour (black) and blood type (b+).hahahah.hubby keeps beaming whenever somebody tells him his daughter looks like him.

baptism : since i am catholic,i need to baptise my baby but not sure when i want to do it.some people say a good age is 7 weeks.some people have done t earlier.will have to go to kiddy palace and get one of those white dresses for newborns for her baptism...

constipation after delivery : i've been having real bad constipation!!!!been drinking lots of warm water and hot milo and also taking stool softeners.my epi stiches dont really hurt anymore but of course i still cannot run or bend down quickly...

been contemplating getting a pupsik baby carrier so i can carry her around the house.pupsik does local delivery on their online website so might consider that.

sigh,baby's awake...got to get my udders out for her highness otherwise she's going to throw a fit...

xxx

Bing,
haha cos i like to see cute cute newborns and read the birth story..

yeah i also thumbs up for going facial... go and haf facial, pretty pretty and den can give birth le... rather than wait at home, machiam wait for bomb like dat.
enjoy ur facial tmr k! btw, where u doing ur facial at?

hmm, mayb i shd go do facial too, haven had facial done since preggie!!!

wah today dumpling day ar? dolly, i wan nyonya zhong! haha

tinybubu,
when i read this -

"for the actual labour pains, while i was in the hospital lying down in the delivery suite (while waiting for my epi doctor to arrive), i felt a really strong contraction.it was so painful i couldnt even scream.i just started gasping for air and tears flowed out of my eyes",

i almost teared! gosh, it must have been damn damn painful!

<font color="cc0099"> caramelle, actually, I haven't used that many diapers. KYLE JUSTUS' 10 DAYS OLD TODAY!!! (or 11 depending on whether you count from 0 or 1) and I've finished hospital's diapers (pampers NB) and am on to a pkt of Huggies (dunno what) we received in a gift basket. That Huggies is the most basic, I think and is rather small. Hospital's one is excellent, very thin, absorbent, feel comfy and has a urine indicator so you can tell at a glance whether baby has wet the diaper yet. But sis says it's the most expensive. I still have Huggies Ultra and Goo.N that I haven't opened yet. Heard Huggies cutting is small, so will be finishing those first. Also have a number of Dryper samples from various bags.

bbjun, it's a soft silicon teat that slips over your nipple so that baby latches on to that instead of nipple.
Nipple shield looks like this... ... ... Medela's comes with a cutout allows bb to still smell mum's scent.
2506735.jpg
2506736.jpg

I asked Ling to go get herself a pair. Supposed to help with sore/cracked nipples and in my case, flat nipples too. He's suckling perfectly now... but these shields are not for long term use. So every now and then I have to let him try latching on and see if he can do it without. Before reverting to it. Hoping shields can help elongate my nipple sufficiently so that he can latch on more easily.

Thanks, dolly! Given that all I need to do for him now is feed, clear diaper and bath him. It's a HUGE step fwd for us

bing, yay!! THE END IS IN SIGHT!! You don't have to see a lac.con unless you're having a probs.

createjoy, cos like I said before, my nipples are quite flat so he can't latch on very well although the clever boy opens up really wide.

bubu~, I was very very wary of sore/cracked nipples so watched lotsa videos and read lots of stuff on latching on correctly. Thank God my little fella didn't really give me bad nipples. They were sore and chafed the first few days, but now they're perfectly happy nipples. *heehee* A good latch is SUPER DUPER impt or else the more the nurse, the more you suffer and if any bleeding sets in, you can't nurse anymore and have to pump for a time, supplementing with formula until bleeding stops. That's not good. HANG IN THERE!!

*Okie doksie! Time to feed feed again! See ya ladies!*</font>

tinybubu: Great to hear from you again, still remember us in this madness!

Cassey: Thanks for the explanation, now wonder if I should buy the nipple shield also
So you are bathing and touching water as usual?

ahnetsan: how you know huh? I really ask hubby to buy nyonya zhong

dolly,
hahaha, really ar? cool, i also wan! cos dats the only zhong i will eat! heeehee fav!

cassey,
so far, u think the best diapers is Pampers right? heehee my mum jus told me she will buy me diapers...mayb i shall get her to buy pampers for me

ahnetsan, i signed up for a facial package that comes with 10 sessions for 500+ with bonafides. i went facial with them for erm... 7 yrs ago. haha. they are pretty good in service and it's near my hse.

each of my individual session includes:
- double cleanse
- scrub
- extraction (squeeze ur pimples)
- eye brow trimming
- mask
- am-peel

hey Cassey, so happy for you that Kyle is feeding well!! I really have to try harder. Now pumping every 2.5 to 3 hours. i've got the nipple shield too when i was in hospital but it didnt work very well for me. Can I ask whether your nipple filled up the whole nipple shield? or there is still some space in between the nipple and the shield?

Cos when i used that, it appears that he sucked in alot more air.. and during the night, he became rather colicky. Maybe my nipple too small to fill up the shield.. there's still some empty space in between. anyway i'm gg to the consultants on coming Tuesday again..

Hope they can help me out. Really want to increase my pathetic supply!!

Starting my postnatal massage on Saturday.. really looking forward for the pampering.. hee hee

Oh yah.. and i think Goo.N diapers are really good. Much softer than Pampers