(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

ahnetsan, i was told that it is a drip. She say she will inject on our hand, she will inject, then remove out, then put in dunno wat plastic thing, like that im on drip liao. She say that plastic thing will be on my hand thru out the whole pregnancy!! then i ask her pain anot? she say ur contraction will make u pain until u wont notice the pain on ur hand!! But after heard the way she describe, i tell myself regardless what i will go for it!! Mother are also brave and noble. I believe we can do it!!

wah shelisa, u very brave leh.
whenever i see someone on drip, esp the tube on the hand, i can feel my legs giving way lor. i will jus feel soft and freak out. i cant imagine it in my hand! seriously, i've been regretting abt being pregnant now le... all those pain dat i haf to suffer... think liao i can faint.

btw, u stopped ur antibiotics alrdy right?

Ahnetsan, I have the same thinking as yours too!! if I know I have such bacteria, I rather don’t give birth lor. I don’t wish I will spread to her even tho I know now medical is so great!! But im just afraid “IF”, we adult got immune system, we suffer ok. But the baby so small and immune system just start. That y I don’t wish her to suffer. I have phobia in tube too as last year my auntie give birth and suddenly doc tell us be prepare to see her last time, I saw her all body is more then 10 tubes in her body. I admit im SCARE!! But ahnetsan, we don’t have a choice to scare or soft legged. We must dare dare go for it, lile that then we can protect our baby!!

I started my antibiotic last sat for 1 week, so I think tomorrow shld finish. U started yesterday right?

dolly, thanks for the link..

TubbyM, seriously.. even after the antenatal class, I'm not quite sure of all these signs & symptoms, they said, there's BH which irregulars and will go away after a while, and the REAL contractions which will be more and more frequent.. but in the first place, what is really a contraction ? Is it a tightening of the tummy ? Which part of the tummy ? Menses like pains & cramps ? Uterus pulling ? I can feel baby's head already settled 'down' there, and at certain times I can feel some thumping there as well, baby kicks so much more nowadays too..

I had a little chat with some of my colleagues earlier, experience mummies, they all say the same thing, when it's time, you WILL know.. yeah, but how..? I like things to be under control, know the contractions early, can go to hospital and get ready there.. I'm scared that I didn't realise the contractions, suddenly the water broke, then panic all around...

really hope baby will decide to come out mei mei near the EDD so she can grow a bit more, even as of now, my colleagues still says that my tummy looks kinda small for nearing full-term, and no swelling on my both feet either..

bbaugustine, TubbyM, the hunger pangs getting more and more these days rite.. I also woke up sometimes at 3 or 4 am just to find food..

Shelisa, ahnetsan, Jackie, please take care..

ling
the symptons of a delivery not only must be contractions. if you have 'show' or your water bag breaks, it's also time you should go to the hosp. for my #1, i don hv any contractions. my water bag broke so immed admit hosp liao.

Ling, thanks. Im also very confuse about the contraction thing. My mommy also say when it is time, u will know!! She ask me wait. But I also scare I blur blur dunno anything then ended up panic alone.

Ahnetsan, yup yup. In the end my auntie she recover, she stay at ICU for 3 days, then normal ward 4days!! Actually when my auntie pregnant till ard 24 weeks+, she started to swollen up for the whole body, everytime she went to checkup, gynae will say it normal la, pregnant will swollen 1 ma. But week 28++, we feel that her swollen is damn DAMN swollen, we feel it is not right lor. But still gynae still say it normal. Who know ard week 30++, my auntie told my uncle she cannot breathe liao, she so suffocated!! She say she wanna die liao. Then imm call ambulance, then reach hospital, imm c-sect to take out pre-mature bb, then my auntie ended up in ICU. Then I ask doc y like that? He said because of the swollen, the water stuck at at my auntie lung!! So she is just like dropping into the big sea and wanna drown to die liao. That y must imm c-sect. then dunno still say heart also can prob, kidney also have prob!! Haiz. But luckily she recover. And my poor cousin stay in KKH for more then half mth!!

Crystal, water bag burst. The water a lot?

wahhharrgghhh!! I cannot catch up with all the archives!!! ehehhe

MIA for few days cos bz...now see the archives also pengz!!

Went to Robinson's sale ytd, it was prob one of the better Robinsons sales since Nursery quite a few brands was straight off 25% to 30%!!! not the usual 20%+10% nonsense.

Also managed to find some acceptable Front Button PJ gowns there at affordable prices... Satin nightie from Impressions - $35 less 30% abt $25 and Karmy's cotton ones at $23 less 30% abt $16 before 5% card discounts. Think can go there looksee if any of you interested.

Also, went to have my hair done yesterday! kekekeke

ya lor, i also cannot tahan those experienced ppl keep saying "when it's time to pop, we will know." but when lor? how would we know lor? haiz.. plus im those super blur kind, everything also blur blur one, end up might be even more blur even when it's really the time...

wah shelisa, ur auntie's gynae so not observant. how can damn swollen be normal? wah... ur auntie deliver at kkh ar? heng she recovered. wah poor bb ended up staying for so long at hospital.

Ling&Shelisa,me also confuse about the contraction thing too,sometimes feel a bit not conformable then i just go lying on bed,after that will be ok~~ don't know whether eat "liang" food.. Really wish our bb can come out on EDD...more healthy.

hiccups:Recently i felt my bb hiccups too,i guess so,but don't know what's reason caused bb hiccups,next time will go ask gynae.My husband always said that i need to drink more water bla bla...

Prenata class in KKH:
This morning KK education center's staff called,no need to go for class this saturday liao,they will refund us the money due to swine flu outbreak.

Ling,don't worry about what your colleague said as i got 1 friend when she go to give birth,her tummy still like 5 months pregnant even that's time already full term liao... and her bb is came out @ AVG size~~

Crystal, hmm, understand.. I tho only a few drop. But it sound like waterfall. Wahahah

Sweethalo, seem like u r having a good time ytd.

Ahnetsan, yah lor. So I hope for mine is waterbag burst or see red. Because I think that is confirm it time to give birth. My cousin really poor thing. But luckily everything is fine now.

Jess, my bb hiccup at least 3-6times a day. Sometime I wake up liao, sitting there makeup, she already hiccup!! Dunno how come also?? I think depend on individual ba, sometime when I don’t feel good, I will stopped and resr then ok also

hehehe Shelisa... yeah was happily shopping and then went for hair appt...

But today leg aching... and also worried abt Swine flu!!

Actually when the real contraction comes, you really will know lor... cos will be constant and the pain is nothing like the our monthly cramp. What i did for my first baby was i ask my hubby to time my contraction to see if its real or fake. Water may not break when the contraction starts. I experience 3 days of contraction, about 10 mins apart before my water broke...as i opt for all natural birth, the midwife did not induce me :p I just have to go and see her everyday to montior the baby well being... When its time for baby to come out, you will feel like you need to go toilet (i mean pass motion, hee hee)and that is when the mid wife will ask you to get ready to push...

<font color="0077aa">Re: Thumping Hiccups
OH! SO THAT'S WHAT IT IS!!! HAHAHA!!!
That is SO adorable!

dolly, u're welcome, babe.

Nozomi, stares la! Not glare. You think my niece is a chao ah lian? She does smile... she smiles in her sleep and sometimes even gurgles out loud when she's smiling. She's super un-glam - burps loudly and farts super stinky farts like nobody's business.

LFB, i agree. I think the kick counting is a hassle. My boy is really quite active. Every hour or two he starts this thumping, drumming, glug-glug thing so I think I'll notice if he isn't active. I've noticed he moves a WHOLE lot when I'm lying on my side with bump slightly against bed, or when I'm lying (a little sideways) on my back and he might be squished. I love it!

qi, classically, reduce reflux by refraining from greasy &amp; fatty / acidic foods. Have smaller snacks more frequently throughout the day instead of large meals. Stay upright after a meal for at least 30min. Last meal should be taken 2hrs before bedtime.

Ling, 3 weeks before EDD sounds very reasonable. I hope yours hangs on until your maternity leave begins.. and hopefully gives you a few days rest before forcing you into slavery again!
> Don't worry abt the bump thing. I think yours seems more advanced than me. Even my photographer said my bump doesn't show up very well in the pictures. It was quite funny she kept telling me to breathe in and stick out chest and bump. But hey! Who cares! Better a compact little bump than a HUGE clumsy waddling one. I haven't any swelling in my feet or anywhere else either. But dr still predicts a popper in abt 3-4 weeks.

ahnetsan, ARGH!!! Strep B! I was worried about Step B increasing chances of earlier delivery. Don't worry... I read of several MTBs from other threads having some infection (dunnot if it's strep B) in their final weeks and taking antibiotics for it. It's quite common in the home run. Glad yours detected early and you're taking something for it. Thanks for heads up on chix essence!

Re: Contractions before Popping
Ladies, I'm not experienced either, but I say don't worry. I'm sure when they come, even if we're gong gong in the beginning, we'll SURELY recognise them as they intensify and get more frequent. Like I heard at the dr's talk, there's no way you'll be sleeping thru it when it gets intense.

> I repeat here again, my obgyn says when the real things come, each contraction begins from top of bump and radiates downwards and outwards (or sidewards). He says monitor and when they get to about 10min apart, time to call.

I've got the following, pls PM me if interested:
-Ready stocks for lansinoh milk bags (50pcs) / lansinoh nipple cream / avent bottom balm and Desitin creamy 4oz expiry:12/2010 selling 9.60 per tube exc postage

-Baby bjorn original/air carrier/active/synergy from $105 onwards only

-Medela Pis/freestyle BP

-Capella strollers BP

cassey,
huh? GBS increasing chances of earlier delivery?? gosh, my gynae din tell me dat... he even assures me dat im gg to pop in june and still tell me i can relax in may.
yeah he told me wif antibiotics everything's fine and dat it's actually quite common.

cool, shall remb the contraction begins from top of belly onwards and timing is within 10mins apart.

Shelisa, who was your aunty's gynae har? We better all avoid!! Scary lor, hate when doc always tells us this is normal that is normal.

Ling, I feel the same. I have that menses cramp feeling before, I also had the other tightening at the top of the belly one before (which I didn't know what it was until Cassey described it! I thought was baby moving). But neither means anything to me so far, if u know what i mean. But according to another fren, real contractions won't feel like that, it is more tightening pain like starting at top, spread to sides an downwards. Then my sis say feel like menstrual cramps. But she didnt have any cramps until suddenly water broke. Haiyoh, everybody different story...

Does flu vaccine help with preventing swine flu, anyone knows? If yes, how early can babies take flu vaccine?? Looks like we're all giving birth in the thick of things man...

though it's my #2, i still not very sure whats the difference btw mild contractions and BH. i only know extreme contractions! my contractions only came intensely when i am at the hosp, one hr before my girl was delivered. previously upon reaching hosp, i cant feel contractions at all though the CTG says contractions are 3-5min apart. if you ask me did i ever experience any contractions at hm, i would be ???

shelisa
the feeling is a super strong gush of GALLONS of water. the feeling is funny but not scary at all.

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, don't take my word for it... the Strep B one. I'm sure your gynae knows what's happening and many bb's pop slightly early anyway. As long as it's a full term bb, u'll be fine! Anyway, Re: Drip... I'm afraid of those too.. but have had them quite a few times for various procedures and when I had a bad bout of food poisoning once. Just squeeze your eyes shut and think happy thoughts happy thoughts. The only thing that annoys me after it's in, is that it gets in the way when you're trying to sleep (especially when you move as much as I do). And when it comes out... I looked once and almost gagged. I've never bothered looking again when they're removing it.

Tubbym~, my parents' dr friend called them up to come in for a flu vaccination before they flew off today. I guess if the (politically correct) H1N1 flu does NOT mutate, the current flu vaccine might work to protect against it. But there's no telling what might happen in the coming months. Thank God for your home rest order! Heehee... Don't think babies can take flu vaccines in the initial month given their low immune systems... but again, don't take my word for this one.

<font color="0077aa">Long weekend coming! YIPPPEEEE!!!!
Ling, your 1 month countdown begins from today!!
Bing &amp; dolly(correct?), our 1 month countdown begins tmr!

Shelisa, waters breaking/rupture of membranes not always a gush like on tv. Cos bb's head blocking cervical opening helps keep water flow from being like a waterfall. Many publications say that there may be an initial gush, but more often it's a constant leaking of water down your legs that you just cannot control. </font>

yeah tubbymummy, i agree!!

yeah cassey, no worries... omg, why did u almost gagged when u looked at the drip... and gosh, i salute ur courage, u dare to look while they are pulling it out? i probably would haf fainted alrdy.

wow crystal, feeling like a strong gush of GALLONS OF WATER?? dats alot!! *faint

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, aiya.. curious ma. I figure since they're taking it out and not putting it in, no harm looking.
The portion that goes under the skin is NOT tiny or short lor.

As they pulled, my eyes got wider and wider until my eyeballs almost popped out.
By the time they finished, I was speechless and blinking profusely like an idiot. </font>

cassey
initially mine was constant leaking of water. but when it really burst, it's really like waterfall. once the water bag burst, means bb is coming out soon.

TubbyMummy: Swine flu: as of yesterday news, it will take 6 months to develop the vaccine. So we just got to take care.

Cassey: yeah, my EDD is 1 June... but then again, it changes everytime I visit my gynae

ahnetsan: have you donated blood before? Guess it's the same lah, once needle is in, you won't feel a thing

<font color="0077aa">dolly, huh?! Why huh? Isn't tt annoying? Shouldn't EDD stay the same based on first tri scans?
Sometimes drs expect bb to come earlier at week 37-38, but EDD still remains wk 40 ma. No meh?
Eating ice-cream now... yummy...</font>

Hungry again! Eating triple choco cereal w milk now... yummy! Why they dun sell the Milo from Australia anymore leh? It will be perfect with some milo powder on top!

Cassey: Gynae est based on the scan loh...
hmm, maybe should add ice-cream ... hahaha

<font color="0077aa">dolly, but after the first tri, all foetuses develop at different paces ma. Oh well..
When was your original EDD then? Right at the beginning, estimated from first tri measurements?
YUP~ I think you should add ice-cream to your cereal! *grin*

crystal, no worries. Every pregnancy &amp; labour is different. I'm not disputing your experience.
I'm sure if you say it's a waterfall, that what you had. Where did THAT happen though? I hope at home and not work</font>

sweethalo,
im so sad! i tot the robinsons sale is today!! when i read in another thread that it was actually YESTERDAY, i was quite devastated. haiz.

so all ur baby shopping is completed i suppose?

NURSING ACCESSORIES
girls, how many of u bought nursing accessories prior to delivery? like nursing tops, nursing cover, nursing pillows etc? or wld it be better if we wait til baby arrives to see if we can actually keep up with breastfeeding?

FULL VS PARTIAL BF
just wondering how many of u wld be gg for full BF from delivery? cos hospital wld ask for our preference the moment the baby is born.

<font color="0077aa">First Mum, I'm intending to do exclusive breastfeeding from the onset. Although I'm open to supplementing with vitamins/water if there's a jaundice or some other prob. I've already gotten my nursing shawl and pillow.

I guess it won't be too late to wait to see how the BF'ing goes before getting those things though. They're quite easily obtainable.</font>

Cassey: My first EDD is 15th June by another gynae in HK, I was holidaying and found I'm 8 weeks pregnant.

First Mum: I'm aiming at full BF. And yeah, bought some nursing bra and wearing them already.

cassey
no worries =)
it actually happened in the hosp. i was leaking all the way to the hosp. but the water only gushed out at the delivery suite. so heng heng! haha if not dunno how to wipe if it's at home.

first mum
i would go for TBF - total breastfeeding right after delivery. same for my #1's times. because going on tbf will stimulate supply to come faster.

i bought some nursing bras. as for nursing tanks, i hv not get yet. i am replying on the front buttoned tops first. alrdy also gotten a nursing shawl. all from my previous preg. heehee.

Needle phobes, agree with dolly, once the needle is in, it won't hurt (unless you suay suay kenna one rookie nurse who dunno how to insert properly). When they insert the needle, it hurts a bit, like usual injection. If you're scared, just make sure you don't look, take a deep breath, and don't move until nurse finish up. Like Shelisa said, the first "injection" will be to insert the needle, but when they remove the second part to fit in the plastic thing, then fit the tube in, it shouldn't hurt, maybe u can feel the needle moving a bit. Just don't look if you're scared ok? You guys will be ok
(I've had my fair share of those things too, and obviously I watch very closely each time haha)

sweethalo, ya, then they put all those thermal scanners also dunno for what...

I WANT ICE CREAM!!
I only have dragonfruit. Not even the same category lor. Hrmph.

cassey,
yea, but the hopeless shopaholic in me is worried abt the 1 mth im gona be confined within the walls of my tiny house, and cant do any purchase during that time.

i opted for exclusive BF right from the start with my elder girl. unfortunately it backfired cos i couldnt get any rest consequently and i gave up shortly after. then i heard from some mums that we can supplement with FM cos sometimes MS not very established in the beginning, and their partial BF was more successful than my own experience. so now im abit torn.

First Mum - dont be sad la... there will be a sale again round the corner, I am sure... cos every other week sure got sale one...

Now wondering if ppl will still flock to GSS with the fear of swine flu going on...

TubbyM - yalo... thermal scanner also abit late... we won't even kn if someone from the infected countries have arrived and graced us with some delicious virus and scooted home already.

cassey,
ok, it's super duper long right? i cant imagine it lor, it's alrdy freaking me out. but u dun feel painful at all as it's being pulled out?

sweethalo,
wah u tried to get masks alrdy? and all out of stock? gosh... ytd i saw the news, in taiwan, the masks are all out of stock. yeah scary, take temp also no use.

dolly,
haha no, i've not donated blood before... was slightly underweight pre-preggie and not suitable for donation. and i wouldnt dare to donate cos im scared of needles.

firstmum,
me gg to try for tbf after delivery. hopefully got milk supply.
yeah i also haf a breastfeeding pillow, to prevent backaches i heard? also bot 2 nursing bras.

tubbymummy,
often i realise it's the pulling out of the needle dat's most painful? hopefully wont kenna any rookie nurse sia...

<font color="0077aa">First Mum, HA! For me, I've seen my sister's confinement and it's more the baby stay at home for the full month. She goes out shopping in the day. Her confinement lady and my mum only restrict her going out in the evenings when it's "chillier" and when it rains. So I'm still expecting to go out for the odd cup of coffee every now and then during the first month, as long as someone is with the bb.

How about you shortlist what you'd want first, and show/write down for hubby?
Write down brand, model, where to buy.. and if you're indeed stuck at home, send him out!?

As far as I have been psycho'd up to this point, I'd like to refuse supplementing with any formula cos bb needs to have the demand in order to force my girls to produce the supply. I've seen my sis use formula and it seems to go a little downhill from there if intending for exclusive bf'ing.</font>

Firstmum, I bought breast pump, breast pads, one nursing top, 2 nursing bras. Didn't buy the rest. I'm going for TBF also. For me I've heard the opposite, everybody tells me that supply will definitely not be established in the beginning, and for those that fed FM to supplement in the first couple of weeks, it was even harder to establish their supply (took a lot longer before they could go back to TBF) than those of my friends who stuck it out right from the start. So I'll just try lor. They did warn me that I'll have to compromise on my rest/sleep...

actually confinement not really stay home too. cuz after we discharge from hosp, we still need to bring bb back for review, ourselves to our gynaes for post-natal check up.

Sweethalo, hey, you are enjoying ytd wor, still with hair treatment. My hair is short, so behind like chicken back side like that, all bend up. Wanna go rebonding

Tubbymummy, my aunt is using KKH gynae, she is not see fixed gynae, so everytime go all diff gynae. Haiz. Im afraid is bcos my daddy met those stupid nurse before and it make my daddy bleeding profusely!! But im gg to be brave this time.

Crystal, Hmm.. understand liao. But I heard my manager say before, he say waterbag burst the smell is very very smelly!! Really? Is it sticky?

Cassey, I think TV drama show before so more or less I can imagine the scenario.

Jess, yupyup. I also always drink water and the hiccup go away very fast. IF not can last as long as 5-8mins

i so know what dr woodworth is going to say when i see him this saturday...he's going to be more pro-TMC because of this swine flu and have me second-guess the decision of choosing Mount A for delivery.

I'm sweating as I just realised i'll be 35 weeks next Tuesday.Where has the time gone!!!!

Oh, my boss keeps asking me to go on ML quickly if swine flu gets worse as he's worried about the baby.hahaha. Already i'm starting ML in 2 weeks time (18 May 09)!!!!