(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tubbymummy, so envy that you can indulge in durians! As my bb is on the bigger side, my hubby put very tight control on my food intake... so durians are definitely out of question for me! even 1 macdonald ice-cream cone or sundae, must also seek his permission and must share with him! *sob*

today is suppose to be the doctor's talk @ SCGS which i din make it...
gotta work late... yesterday also work late til 10pm... really really very tired out... so i've decided to start my maternity leave from 25th May even though my EDD is 10th june... and intend to clear all 16 wks at one go... since i intend to leave my company right after ML...

innocentwar,
just came back from the doc talk.. u didnt miss much.. 2 docs presented.. and the first one was dr joycelyn (gynae).. talked more abt what to expect during delivery, those epidural pain relief.. think mostly recap from wbb class.. 2nd doc was some dr ng.. that one is all useless one.. tips on managing relationships like pre-marital class i think

re smooth delivery,
today doc talked abt walking more, climbing stairs and squatting can help in labour

<font color="aa00aa">Calling all June 09 mummies interested to do a group maternity photo shoot!

I'm organizing a group photo shoot for us to keep as a momento of our friendship here as well as a sweet reminder of how amazing we looked during the last few weeks of our pregnancy.

Tentative date: either 09 or 16 May 2009 at 10am (most of us will be in week 33-36 by then)
Venue: 58A Pagoda Street, Singapore 059217
Dress code: All white/cream
Price: $18 per person (minimum group size is 10, more people will be cheaper)
Photo: Everyone in the group will get 1 x 5R

Please PM me if you are interested and indicate which date is better for you. I will try to finalise the details by Friday 24 April.

Plus, if you are interested to do individual shoot thereafter with your hubbies, price will be $162 (10% off Bloom package) and option to buy back all shots from the session for $200 (usual price is $250).</font>

innocentwar : high five! i'm planning to leave after my ML as well.My EDD is 09 June 2009. Dont forget about your Childcare Leave!!!!

tiny_bubu, my company now very lao gan... using leave under review as excuse, they actually disallowed employee to apply childcare leave or even to use their remaining maternity leave! one of my colleague suppose to have 4 wks of remaining maternity leave which can be taken flexibly over the next 12 mths was blocked from taking. She has resigned recently and left the company and lugi her 4 wks ML + 6 day CCL...

03-06-09 gang: *hi 5*! hehe... I'm hoping mine will stay in till then. I'm silly over numbers like that. My wedding was 1-2-3 hahaha. Was telling my hubby by right, should have 2 kids, one is 2-4-6, one is 3-6-9. But since now start with 369, my hubby was saying if we have another one, maybe plan for 4-8-12. Wahahahaha.... Yes we're crazy.

LFB, my gynae also said the numbness is normal preg symptoms. This visit, I told him it hurts more now, he suggested wearing gloves to sleep, cos when the hands are warm, the blood vessels dilate, and that increases circulation. But I find it so strange lor, and wondering if having hot sweaty hands will prevent me from sleeping. So I'm not doing that unless I'm truly desperate (which might be soon, cos even typing this post, my left hand hurts). Oh yes, OB also said that if the pain spreads to shoulders, must tell doctor, cos maybe it's something to do with spinal nerves.

innocentwar, think u start ML earlier makes more sense, cos you can't continue to work till 10pm everyday when u're in the last few wks of preg lor. And for the durians, u can always refrain for now, and eat all you want once baby is out! hehe... not long, just few more weeks to go!

HappySAHM, no worries lah, even if c-sec, as long as your baby comes out healthy and happy, that's most important right? And those old women who wants DILs with big butts hor, they may be in for a surprise if they find out their DILs' big butt is not because of wider bones, but because of fats! Kekekeke.... No offence to the bigger butts here, cos I also have one wahahaha.

Cassey, oh, it's after 37wks is it? I always just thought 36wks is full term, so anytime after that is ok... We all better hang on to our little ones till after 37wks then! Hope u enjoyed your waffle

<font color="0077aa">LFB, I didn't have any sweets after dinner today... so I'm still thinking abt your muffins and hankering after a moist crumbly blueberry one. Heehee! Walking helps induce labour, yes, I'm not sure it makes things any easier though. But of course, fit MTBs have easier labour and I'm thinking fit can't = walk for a fortnight right?

fatmom, I so regretted going for tonight's session. It was a waste of hubby's time rushing from work and rushing back after. Goodness me, it was SO dull and didn't provide much new information. The second speaker in particular, seems a very kind man but was SUCH A BORING SPEAKER. I sympathise with him for having so many ppl walk out before he finished, but part of me understood why they didn't bother staying until he finished. *oops*

Tubbym~, I kept reading after 37 weeks.. But I remember that in her first class, WBB said 36-37 weeks is ok. So who knows? I still say staying in til post week 37 is best. Cos books say a bb born a mere week earlier could be fully developed, but somehow studies have shown that they tend to have weaker suckling reflexes than a fullterm bb. BE GOOD, BB GIRL! STAY IN where it's safe and snug!

cassey : can i ask you if mount a provides disposable panties? i heard some mummies say they give loop maternity pads and the belt.

cassey, i also regretted attending.. esp when we were supposed to celebrate my mil's bday.. but becos of the talk, we hv pushed back the dinner till weekend.. so weekend kind of burnt

Hi Gals

MIA for awhile cos been tired and breatheless most of the time... then somehow came down with a cold this morning...sigh

TubbyM- hope u are better now... do get enuf rest and stay cheery ... baby will be fine
Had durians just now too... hehehe

kikismom- wow! When is the buffet to tt we shld indulge tog with TubbyM?? hehhe count me in

Cassey/ Fatmom - phew, I didn't make it to the talk tonight as not very well, and thought it might be boring plus hb was tied up at work... so snoozed at home instead.. now I don't feel bad missing out..

Tinybubu- think i m still gona bring my own panties and the disposable ones, just in case the disposable ones are just not comfy at all..hehe

Caramelle &amp; First Mum - hope u are both are feeling better too... rest well

Cassey - wah got personal 1 to 1 tuition from sis... hehehe...

Ahnet seems to be MIA for some time too...wonder what happened...

HappySAHM - glad u got your package through the post

LFB - Go Ahead and bake away... ehhehe... I helpch u eat :p

bbjun- thanks for passing my bean pillow to TubbyM for me... will meet her when both of us feel better

looks like I am the latest in here tonight... nobody else oredi.. hehehe

sweethalo &amp; tubbymummy,
Glad that both of u are feeling better now. Didn't manage to see u gals in sat class.

Cassey,
congrats in gaining your 'freedom'
ur waffles really 'siah' me leh..*drooling*

am still the earliest though I am logging in now. Going off for that stupid doc appt to check on my GD.

Re: Food
Had a tiny bit of struggle as I was comptemplating between wantan noodles or my multigrain bread for breakfast! But the little angel won the fight and I guai guai took my break with milo and low fat milk. May start my baking now. Hmm, banana chocolate mufins sounds so tempting now!

Cassey, ya, agreed that though I am pro walking, I dunno how much I can handle. Walking home from MRT is already a struggle everyday. Me like a old dog panting and struggling behind my poor hubby, who has to carry his backpack, my bag and also groceries. Hee hee!

Tubbymummy, I don't think I will resort to wearing gloves, so funny. I am use to it. The problem now I have is pain in the tummy. I dunno whether is it BH. But last night was quite bad, cramp like pain. I don't dare to tell hubby cos he will make me go A&amp;E. I just watch out for bb movement and make sure he moves. Since I am seeing doc today, will inform him abt it. Have to start writing down the qns I want to ask him.

LFB: I was told that BH is tightening of the tummy, usually last for 15 min and will go away. If it's BH, why not start practising birthing? Do some slow breathing during the pain and just treat it as a practice for the actual labour! I was told to do that during my class, no worries, the baby won't come out during BH.

LFB, today i accompany you being earliest to log in. good to hear you're sticking to your diet, hope it all works well for you.

MIA past few days because of weekend + system was down + on leave to take cats to vet.
now back to boring routine of work, go home then sleep.

can those mummies keen to do the photoshoot please PM me asap so i can consolidate and finalise the details? was reading a book on pregnancy and they say the longest friends you keep are those whom you met when you're pregnant either at gynae clinics, antenatal classes or forums like this. logical since we're all going to have similar experiences for next few years to come (birthing stories, BFing stories, childcare stories etc..) so those who are hesitating cos shy/scared you wont look nice, trust me - NOBODY will look like a supermodel. hehe
hope to get more responses soon!

besides im not sure if ALL of us are doing individual maternity shoots so would be nice if we have a group phoot to remind us of how we look like in our final pregnant weeks!

Cassey, that 2nd speaker you were talking about, the boring one, I wonder if it was one of the speakers during that congress organised by Mediacorp a while ago, where a few of us went. There was one man, who was so super boring, I was dozing off, and almost fell off my chair, really. I was bored to tears, his voice was that droning sort that just went on and on... That was what made hubby and I leave during the tea break...

nozomi, ya, skipped class on Sat cos I had an eye infection. Eye was painful, red and a bit swollen, and decided better not go to a class full of preggies, in case it's contagious or something. Even if I'm not contagious, think people may still be scared. Was tired and a bit depressed that day too, so decided to just stay home and sleep. Eye is ok now already, so will be there for the last session coming Sat. You didn't sign up for this Sat's right?

LFB, hope you'll remember to ask your doc about the cramps. Even if it's just BH, at least doc can just check and make sure everything is ok, since you're already there.

My sis smsed me in the middle of the night last night and scared me. She's in US, so I think she forgot that it's a stupid time in Sin. Anyway, I had written her an email updating her on my pregnancy, and she scared me cos she said that for her, she had pink discharge (only a small bit), and had no cramps whatsoever, and couple of days later, her waters broke, and she popped prematurely at 34wks!! She said same kind of pink discharge that I described, and when she finally DID have some contractions, it was exactly like the mild cramps that I described too! Wah biang, that made me wake up and toss in bed for 2hrs, waiting to see if I have any crampy sensations or not. Now seeing stars...

wow..forum is now so active ya?

TubbyM, dun worry too much on bb's wt..jus constant monitor bb's movement and hope for the best!
I didn't have a good sleep last nite..been waking up several times due to nitemare and peeing sensation. then at 1 point, i was feeling hot..toss away my blanket. and the other moment cold..buried myself in blanket! hope i'm not gettin any fever or watsoever! and hate the nitemares! always dreamt me n hubby broke off! ^&amp;&amp;$^$ geez...then wake up n beat him...hw stupid...

caramelle: I already PM you quite long ago regarding the photo shoot.. hope it didn't get into the junk mail bin

Anyway, either day is OK, now that I'm going to visit my gynae EVERY Saturday... I'll push my appointment to 9am and hope to catch you all at 10am then.

sweethalo, hope u rest well and recover soon! No probs with the pillow. Hope u n TubbyM get well soon to meet up.

TubbyM, dun stress yourself over this. Impt that you rest well and stay relax. Labour for everyone is different so what happens to your sis may not be the same for you. Don't give yourself additional stress!

<font color="0077aa">bubu &amp; Shelisa, sorry for late response. Kept forgetting to ask sis la. Finally asked, and then kept forgetting to post. Nope, sis says Mt A doesn't provide disposable undies but they do provide looped pads. She brought her own knickers. I'm also intending to bring my own. Possibly older pairs of knickers, but not disposables.

fatmom, what an absolutely waste! The talk was NOT worth burning a weekend over leh.

sweethalo, I didn't think you'd go. Cos you're a naughty one. Haha.. but seriously, you didn't miss out.

nozomi, you're finally back! We'll have to catch that Starbucks cuppa some time soon before our little people arrive! I need another pedicure.

LFB, eh.. does shopping count? Hubby has been telling me to stop going out... crazy ah? Stay home one day also cannot? I told him, huh? I only make one apptmt a day in the aftnn ma. Very happening meh? Then I told him I need my exercise ma... get out of the house and "walk walk". Heehee...

Tubbym~, try not to worry too much abt premature popping. I keep thinking thank God we're all into our final weeks now without any incidences of severely premature popping. If it happens, it happens. There's nothing you can do but enjoy your time before, while ensuring you take care of yourself. So just do that! The rest of out of your control.

> Quoting last evening's first speaker Dr Joycelyn Tan(?), she assures us that WE WILL KNOW EVENTUALLY when it's labour contractions. You rest and it doesn't go away. You have a poo and it comes back. She says if you can go about regular activities and it doesn't hinder you, likely not. If you can actually lie down and fall asleep, DEFINITELY not! I don't think you actually have to stay up to figure out if it's contractions... it'll come and slap you across the head, surely rousing you even if you're asleep!

> The 2nd speaker last evening was a psychiatrist. He was nice, not THAT monotonous... just not much inflection of the voice and it was sad, given that the subject material wasn't exactly boring.

cassey : thanks for asking your sis.i actually bought a pack of disposable cotton undies already this morning from Guardian.

Would you happen to know if they provide looped maternity pads or sticky ones?

i'm thinking of bringing loose pyjama pants and wearing a low cut singlet under a bathrobe after delivery.but not sure if pants might be the best option for post delivery...

Cassey: Guess the thing about walking/swimming/squatting is to help stretch/relax your pelvic muscle, not really for fitness, so no worries, just walk or walk in water will help

Caramelle: Thanks for organizing... now need to check if my white shirt still can fit :p

Wahahaha... Thanks Cassey, I like that I'll definitely KNOW when it's contractions. Been reading too many scary stories online, and that's making me melodramatic I think. Feel so silly now haha... I should stop surfing the net! Speaking of which, I went to watch another couple more c-sec videos on Youtube (while I was trying to catch Susan Boyle haha). And just wondered why are some doctors so rough, while some others look absolutely civilised and controlled?? Oh well, shall not start speculating what my doc will be like, pointless exercise...

bbjun, once sweethalo's cold blows over, we should definitely do that buffet! Who does a good one these days? Last I went to was before preg (sheesh, seems like so long ago) at Bar &amp; Billiard Room. Eh, but I think that's quite ex, so maybe not a gd option hehe.

fifi, your night sounds like mine too haha. Apart from all my imagined drama, I also woke up more times than usual to pee (usually wake once only, last night woke maybe 4 times), and one moment too hot, one moment too cold, then at one point hubby must have felt hot, cos he tossed off his side of the duvet, and everything landed on me. Then by morning, had some dream where someone I don't like was trying to come close to me, and I shouted "GO AWAY!!" so loudly that I woke myself up. Wahahaha...

tubbyM, depends what you want to go for. Carousel at Royal Plaza on Scotts hotel is quite popular with my colleagues here who like the spread of desserts, local fare, some fusion and intercontinental food as well. Or DURIAN BUFFET at goodwood park! kekeke...

<font color="ff6000">Calling all mummies interested in newborn photography!! A few of us are interested to engage Kellysjy Photography for newborn photos. As long as 5 mummies sign up together (for any of the packages), there will be a 25% discount off the package price for all of us. You can view some of her work here:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2184017.html?1239006432

www.kellysjyphotography.com

She will come to your house for the photoshoot, so it will not interfere with your confinement if you're not allowed to leave the house. Also, she doesn't use flash, so there's no worry about hurting baby's eyes. Apart from framing and displaying around the house, I thought the pictures would be great for birth announcement cards, or for printing on those cards that accompany your baby's full month cakes. Pls PM me if you are interested, so we can all enjoy the 25% discount! Thanks!!

didnt go to work today again.. cos of the cramps.. just went to see gynae to get some medication to ease the cramps.. well it seeems that it is becos the baby's head is low but not engaged so the head is hitting against the pelvic bone..

now i think i am not equipped to go thr the normal delivery.. cos it will be much worse than this.. and i dont think i want a second bb..

sweethalo,
do u work? i lost track of working mums here... do rest more.. i am having a hard time managing work and pregnancy at the same time.. on mc still need to work at home

LFB,
are u taking brown rice too? think u need to take lots of fibre stuff.. cos whole meal and brown rice may be a little bit harder to digest..

i lived on 3rd storey.. no lift.. and everyday i pant the moment i reach my place.. my hubby will always shake his head.. overhead bridge is equally bad

caramelle,
i paiseh lah.. somemore my hair cut is so boyish now.. not pretty already..

cassey,
first speaker was joycelyn wong.. iso tan

fat_mom: dun be depressed! At least you know that baby is still doing well. Walking up the staircase is supposed to be good for you, so just treat it as a exercise

Huh, talking about hair cut, yeah, I wanna cut my hair even shorter... so better take the pics before I do so!

hey ladies, been MIA for a while... hope everyone is keeping well... will b week 31 tmrw, another 9 weeks to go!!

glad to know that last fri's gathering was fun! too bad i couldn't join, had to attend a class at Mt A...

caramelle, i'm interested in the photoshoot... have to b in white/cream? i don't have clothes in that colour... if it is a must, then i'll probably give it a miss... tks for organising!

Annie: I had long perm hair... cut it months ago cos I wanna go swimming without too much fuss... now so hot, guess I'll go for boy style too!

annie, me too.. i cut bob in apr.. and last wk i just went to cut like a boy.. my hubby hates it when i cut bob.. but i told him all pregnant moms hv to cut short in preparation of birth and confinement.. he believes me till he went for antenatal class.. cos only 10% hv short hair.. yesterday at the doc talk.. he was like counting how many short hair there are and say i lied to him.. haha

Annie,try this http://www.wearsthebaby.com/askce/cebreech.html

TubbyMummy,full term baby is on 38 weeks,means if your baby born after 37weeks then your baby will be full term...

Ling,i haven't prepare those baby's stuff that you listed in here,but for baby power,i'm thinking to use corn power or peal power instead of the market product..

Dolly,did your gynae suggest the same execise to you?you need someone to accompany you when you swim / walk up and down the staircase..

SAHM,i entitle to ML but because go office need 1.5-2 hr plus travel time and my work can't stop even i'm rest at home... otherwise everybody stress up and the project list don't know will be how long when i back to work... so i give up the ML..i can understand how my ex-boss thinking..

Ling,then you can take morning leave and work at afternoon to avoid students crowed.. for heartburn,some of food you need to avoid,here is the link : http://heartburn.about.com/od/preventingheartburn/a/pregnancyhrtbrn.htm wah... 31th May... sounds not really far already... next month.. will your husband accompany you to your office everyday next month?

Dolly- ohh i nvber perm my hair b4.. during school days i had the boy haircut &amp; coffeeshop ppl were call me ah boy as i flat chested now grown bigger hehehehe.. my hubby got a shock las fri as he find it sayang as i cut my hair so short kekekekekeke..he nvber see me in short hair b4..

Fatmom- man doesnt like their wife wif short hair &amp; as my head is dame round &amp; me having a cheeky face my hubby said i realy look like a boy &amp; somemore i always in jeans &amp; shirt b4 pregnancy &amp; now lagi worse bermudes &amp; big t-shirt to work hahahhaha..

annie, ya lor.. even my 12 yr old cousin also asked why i cut so short.. now that i dont colour my hair.. my hubby also count the no of white hairs i hv.. as if i want to have them.. so irritating.. my face is also so round.. and my colleagues even worse.. my hair cut was 100 bucks at backstage.. they say look like go malaysia and cut one.. so auntie

fatmom- we cant dye hair.. i asked b4 during my pregnancy..hehehhehehe i asked hubby to pluck for me my white hair but he color blind.. black &amp; white also plucked.. my face is sharp except head is round.. wow i spent $16 only for the haircut.. hehehehehehe.. nvber mind lah our tummy so big i walked so slow so used the name auntie already..
anywhere my niece 14yrs old so at age of 19 already auntie

wow this thread move so fast...anyway for those that intend to separate the maternity leaves my advise is not to do that...initially i tot maybe left the last mth and take as and when i want can bring bb go see doc sometimes and also stay at home to accompany bb once in a while..but i was wrong...

my last mth of maternity leaves recieve alot of complain from client saying i keep taking leaves after my maternity..people wunt know how many days maternity leaves u left they'll just see u as keep taking leaves/mc/mia...thus this time round im gonna take the full 4mths

Just came back from my checkup… bb turn out to be slighty chubby after 3 weeks - 2.5kg @ wk 34…OB ask me wat I’ve been eating for the past week…I guess I muz refrain myself from coke &amp; other soft drink..

Tiny
I’ll start taking my ML on the 1 jun since my edd is on 3 jun.. I’ll be taking the full 16 weeks at one go…

HappySAHM
Which lactation do u go? The one @ tMC or mt A?? my OB also estimated tat #1 will be big @ 3.5kg but came out only 3kg…

Sweethlo
Anytime…when both of u recover..

Bbjun
Just follow as u plan as u are entitled to all the ML, AL &amp; CCL…no need to bother wat ur boss comment…

I'm selling away my MIM sling for $39. It is still brand new as I hardly use it. Made of silk and green in color. bb doesn't like material.

PM me if interested. Thanks.

re maternity pads: anybody bought pureen? i only saw this brand at kiddy palace. where else do you girls go to buy pads?

i've had some difficulty falling and staying asleep too past few nights. i find myself sleeping lightly and if i have to wake up midway through, not so easy to fall back to sleep. was on leave past 2 days, and if i slept in the day i cannot sleep till past midnight.

fat mom, i just cut my hair also..but not boyish cut. join us lah..just for fun. like i said, it's not a magazine cover shoot! my mum advise better to keep hair length to something you can tie to get it out of the way. don't get caught in between lengths like too short to tie but too long to let down - then you'll suffer!

Dovey and other mummies worried about colors: ok i thought white/cream would make everyone look quite similar so we can focus on the facial expression and bumps (family photoshoots mostly all wear same color mah) but seems not everyone has a snow queen wardrobe
so we can always change the color. maybe wear something light color eg yellow/pink/peach etc. do consider and PM me if you keen okay?

Tubby, your link to kelly's photos look interesting. i ask hubby when he's back can? he's back on 02may..i sms you lah.

annie, actually we can dye hair but just make sure it don't touch scalp. i think some people worried it will get into bloodstream etc but your hair shaft has no link to bloodstream so i think should be okay ba. i even rebond my hair at the top part and the fringe there cos getting too curly for my liking.

few mummies here also went for hair treatment and dye hair..from what i read it's okay.

split, agree with you re the maternity leave. quite hard to monitor so better we just take 4 months at one go and spend time with baby.

annie, so far all the reading i do seems to show that no harmful effects of coloring or perming hair on baby. few studies have been done but none conclusive on this topic. so for me i just toughen up and leave to God. i badly needed a haircut, i was starting to look drabby...now i have more confidence and feel a lot happier after the treatment and cut..

caramelle,
i also hv difficulty sleeping.. now i force myself to sleep at midnight.. make myself so tired so that i hv less interrupted sleep.. but also not good.. cos i hv difficulty waking up too..

er.. didnt know rebonding is ok.. i only do treatment.. and the reason i cut so short was my hair was getting crazy.. got black natural curl on top and dyed rebonded straight at the bottom.. looks so silly

got one query for mommies who drive to work.. do u hv probs driving now.. i think i may hv to stop driving soon cos my distance is at least 20km one way and it is getting a bit uncomfortable to drive.. plus all the stress to beat the traffic and cutting lanes

but if i dont drive, i hv to pay 25 bucks for taxi one way.. not worth it too.. so want to know when is the best time to stop driving

fat mom, where you staying? got private bus from your house to office? im staying punggol and there's a bus from my house to the office.

now i just have to find a bus for the return journey but none so far..