(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

caramelle- cos yr hubby coming home soon.. must look good hehehehehe

my hubby turn to go reservists on mid of may till mid of june but he can come home every day as he be in the airforce...

tubbym,
my cramps can get painful at times, but yday was mild and the discomfort lasted the whole day. now everyday im like thinking, is today D-DAY?! im not sure what causes the cramps, even my gynae cant say for sure. but i think i heard her mutter baby v active and pressing against the pelvis. but due to cramps and admission to hospital once, my visits are now bi-monthly even though im only gg 31 wks..

ling/ sweethalo,
thks girls. feeling better today. but havent been sleeping well. haiz.

caramelle,
hate the thick kotex maternity pads. this time round i wana try mothercare. it looks so much thinner, but duno abt its absorbency.

fatmom - nope I am not working
I still am driving but not very long distance... so far driving is pretty comfortable for me still but early morning traffic is terrible... I don't like the Buses and find them becoming Road Bullies these days.

First Mum - glad u are better... me also not sleeping very well these days until poor hb has to go to sofa to sleep..else his snoring will make it even more difficult for me to fall asleep

Baby seems to be ever more active at the time when I am going to bed... Last night, he seemed to be doing a Cha Cha!!! And I am not joking... even my hb was amazed looking at my tummy..

Caramelle - wow hb coming home soon... so nice!

bbjun- thanks! must find a chance to meet up with you
Buffet sounds good!

This bunny person selling away the MIM sling is quite funny...heheh says it's brand new since nvr use it because bb don't like material.. how does that happen?? heheh

Nozomi - yeah didn't go last week for Sat class cos was just too exhausted from previous day's wierd out of the blue puking...

How was the BF class?? Any interesting good tips to share???

Are u coming for the last session of the BF class?

sweethalo : yeah,i heard lot of good reviews about it plus the good thing is can buy it at any supermarket.perfect for lazy people like me...

now i'm wondering if i can just wear loose flannel pyjama pants and a singlet instead of buying a nightdress specially for hospital use.

The only thing about pj pants is that if we happen to hv C-sect then it may hurt the wound... so best is still to get some night gown thingy...

yeah and those maternity pads look so awfully thick!!! can't imagine being soaked through in them...eeks!!

Hi fat_mummy,

For my #1, I drove to work everyday from Hougang to Jurong, I drive till the day I delivered. The traffic was a nightmare also, everyday sure jam like hell. #1 was a planned c-section as well, but he popped few days earlier, work half day got brown discharge and gynae ask me to admit to hospital on that same day liao.

Now not working liao, so no problem

sweethalo : thanks for the advice.think i'll just bring some ugly old nightdress that i usually wear at home when i'm feeling fat and ugly.but it's not a nursing one.

picked up a small can of Friso infant formula from cold storage this morning at $12 for standby purpose.i plan to do total breastfeeding but better to standby a tiny can at home in case the baby decides to pangseh me in the middle of the night.

heheh... yeah it's not really easy to find gowns with button openings these days... beats me why... it's either the ugly mkt ones or expensve ugly nursing types from maternity shops... but I managed to get an ok looking one from MIM that was not overly expensive so that's my standby first day attire

For Tubbilitis Mummies...

NewMom Exhibition
30Apr - 3May 2009
Singapore Expo
12noon to 10pm

I still need to get my NB donut pillow...hehehhe... wonder where is TubbyM today!!!

JessMa: My gynae is anything-also-OK type, so I just told him about swimming, he didn't suggest lah. Anyway, no one to accompany me during swimming, just got to be careful myself

Annie: Guess my hubby dun care if I have long or short hair. To him it's just waste of money. I also stop highlighting my hair, so now it's plain black... lucky me, take after my dad's gene, so no white hair yet

caramelle: maternity pads, I bought kotex, both loop and stick one, see which one is better

fat_mom: I personally dun drive, but I heard of mummy driving from office back home after water bag broke, went home and start the laundry before going hospital to give birth... so it's all your comfort feeling. But then again, heard that when we are pregnant, our insurance coverage is different when we drive.

sweethalo, here here, I'm here! Wahaha... My eyes opened bigger, in case u were wondering haha. Wonder any good or not leh, skali like last time that one, like not very exciting right?

fatmom, I'm still driving. I don't drive only when my hands are too numb, not because of other discomforts. What sort of discomforts are u experiencing? Agree with sweethalo that it seems like busses are becoming road bullies these days. They happy happy just pull out and cut lane, cos ppl sure give way to them, since they are SO MUCH bigger.

I also got trouble looking for button front night dresses. I don't want the kind with pants bottoms, just the "shirt" that is long enough to come to mid thigh. And i can't stand batik print, or hello kitty, or whatever, Almost giving up, and seriously contemplating buying sewing machine for my mum and asking her to sew as many as i want...

i was initially thinking wear a nursing bra and my disposable panties and then wear my bathrobe over when i'm in hospital.but afraid this might be too sexy (or skanky) for a new mummy. the nurses might faint when they see me walking around my room in my undies and bra........

Hehehe... tinybubu, yeah, knowing the kind of aunty type nurses we sometimes get here, they MAY faint. But actually, if u have a robe over, who knows what you're wearing or NOT wearing under, right..?

annie, oh you lucky girl. every day he comes home!

First Mum, pureen one says it's thick and absorbent. thick better no?

sweethalo, yah i so happy he's coming home!! had the weirdest dream last night. he hasn't called me since last wed cos first i got upset over something petty then he got busy with planning missions etc. i dreamt he came home early and i took leave today to be with him. actually i've gotten used to not having him around (a bit sad right?) but i think i'll appreciate having another human to talk to besides the kitties! btw, the kitties are fine. they were spayed at the vet yest, and my mum accompany me there. she said i didnt even kiss them before i left (was so excited cos going to do my hair!)..i told her they're in safe hands lah. but when they came home, i was quite sad to see the after-effects of the GA on them. thank God all is well now and no more cat in heat season for me.,.YAHOO!!

tiny bubu/sweethalo, where you buy the pad from? i cannot find leh! re pyjamas, it's advised to buy the button-front dress type cos your wound down under after delivery will be painful, you'll want to avoid wearing pants. and easier access for BFing. if it's not convenient, then maybe you won't feel so motivated to BF maybe?

i bought my nightdress from pasar malam. after 1 wash and before i wore it, already color looks so faded. but nvm lah..$8 only what can i expect right?

caramelle : i bought mine from cold storage. but i've seen sofy (night comfort fit) in carrefour and ntuc as well.they should have it everywhere.

you guys are so lucky you have pasar malams close to you. i stay so close to town that we never see any pasar malams here...sigh.

Caramelle- he sign up for air force after poly so tat y do reservists there..

u can get sofy at every supermkt cos i used it when i had my menses..

caramelle : my hubby's in bangkok now for a weeklong training session with his company.and i know his colleagues are all the super ham sap type.married but still like to be funny. after dinner at the hotel, they like to go out and "explore", "massage" etc etc. my hubby will go along because it's a bit boring to stay in the hotel room by himself. previously, i used to follow him for his bangkok training trips and we will be happy just going for shopping and to go to different restaurants to eat but this time i am too pregnant to travel.....

every night,it's a nightmare for me to fall asleep thinking about what those idiots are doing.

caramelle,
no la. some pads are ultra-thin but v absorbent, whereas some cheapo ones are super thick and cannot last. i used kotex the last time and personally i think it sucks. its so thick, it becomes abrasive and "loses shape" very fast.

sweethalo,
thought what happened to u. cos u seldom online these days... i like the button front nightdresses from mothercare (MODA) but so ex!! $79 for 2 i think. market type dam ugly but under $1o each nia. im going to get the nursing camisoles, they look v comfy

Innocentwar,
How can your co do that? The 4weeks ML and 6days CCL is paid by gov, they have no right to block it. You may want to report to MOM on this.

Tubbymummy,
Actually I’m not worried, juz hope I can have natural birth as this will be my last pregnant.
Last time after I gave birth to my girl, I told my hb I dun feel like gave birth before tho I went thru labour pain. I really hope I can experience the pushing part and hold my bb at moment he come out.

tiny bubu,
Mt A dun provide paper panties, you have to bring your own. They provide loop maternity pads and the string.

sweethalo,
I realise I only got 1 box, now still await another box, I e-mail the seller, she haven get back to me on the tracking#.

Kikismom,
Your’s another big baby.
I went to Thomson one, feel they more friendly.
Mine opp, gynae est 3.4 turn out 3.75 :p

i bought free size cotton disposable undies and had to return them to guardian because i couldnt even get them up past my thighs.they gave me FL (FREE LARGE) which is so comfy and fits nicely........ it's $4.95 for 5 undies!

any mummies packing breast pump in their hospital bag?

fat_mom,hope you will getting better soon..

Annie,be prepared always better than just worry ... who knows.. next time your gynae will be able to tell you liao...

Dolly,so good.. you can go swimming~~ i must need someone accompany me during swimming,because i'm short sight plus not really can swim.. keke..

tiny_bubu: Not packing breast pump, heard that for the first 3 days, we produce colostrum instead of milk and our babies supposed to be able to sustain without milk during that time.

Tiny,i don't think we need breast pump during stay in hospital as most of hospital will provide it~~ and if really need that time,still can ask your family to bring alone when really need it.. I just plan to bring IC,hospital booklet,clothes for me and baby, slipper & chocolate,maybe mp3 or laptop also...

Jess Ma: I can only manage breast stroke.. anyway, sometimes I just walk around the swimming pool (in the water) as an exercise. Cos our tummy is not that heavy once we are in the water. In fact, with swimming + walking in water I can stay in the swimming pool for an hour without legs being tired, unlike shopping, need to find seat and yet still feel tired.

Sometimes I had the funny feeling that my baby is swimming inside

thanks dolly / jess.

ooh, you girls are not packing marriage cert , bank book etc etc for birth registration and baby bonus registration?

tiny_bubu: Found this article, very good, our babys stomach is as small as a tiny marble when they are born:
http://www.llli.org/FAQ/colostrum.html

Guess if you really use milk pump, you might be disappointed by the little colostrum that can be extracted, but that's precisely the amount our babies will require.

kikismom, yup. Thanks for the support. I just told my boss my leave plans earlier today, right after she told me I m confimed! Yeah!

Sweethalo, yeah. I love buffets cos of the spread. Was thinking of gg one last one in May before popping cos after that one month confinement... no other food to eat during that month besides confinement food leh.

TubbyM, I m still driving as well but not often. Just abt twice a week to my mum's plc. I agree that the buses are becoming like road bullies. I will definitely give way to them if I have reaction time to do so but not when they suddenly decide to come out of the bus bay at the bus stop. Thinking of stopping driving altogether in a few weeks time cos driving a manual car, means more coordination and concentration and sitting closer to the wheel. It's getting a little uncomfortable already.

Pads: I bought one pack of kotex stick on maternity pads. after what u all said, I think I will buy a second pack from Sofy. Was using that before preggie anyway.

Breast pump: I m packing that in cos my fren said that we may feel up to it to pump a couple of times to stimulate milk flow. Just bring along a huge container to put the parts in and sterilizing tablets to sterilize the parts n bottles before pumping. Even if u only manage one or two times, i think it's good enuf.

tinybubu, I made photocopies of those documents and put them in a folder together with all the receipts that we will need to submit. Prefer to be prepared then to have my hb struggling to find the documents at home alone while I am in hospital.

annie and tiny bubu, sofy one is just the normal one is it? not necessary maternity type?

tiny bubu, my hubby ever told me (when we were dating) that during the RnR in Taiwan, the boys were given condoms in case they want to ahem ahem. at that time i didnt think so much of it because dating only mah, and he said officers wont do this kind of thing because must jaga reputation. but now im 8 months pregnant and he hasnt had any bedroom activity for quite some months so on some tiny small level i am a bit worried. but i cannot do anything about it, so i pray that God watches over both of us and protect me from such worrisome thoughts. crazy i know! but can't help it because boys will be boys! us girls will never do this lor!

First Mum, you're referring to kotex maternity or normal ones?

Happy, if we pack breast pump means must pack sterilisation kit all right? like so mah fan..just use hospital one lah.

tinybubu,
I think they meant to say certified true copies of the docs. That's why I make photocopies oredi. I did pack the original marriage cert in but not the bank book cos I m still using it leh. Hopefully I m not rushed into hospital, n have time to just put that one bankbook in. The rest of the docs like IC shd be at hand. I don't think I will leave the hse without my wallet!

sterilizing tabs are available at NTUC pharmacy, kiddy palace. I bought one box from kiddy. It's only for use at the hospital cos I dun thinK i want to bring my sterilizer there lor. Can still use the tabs next time if u have to pump at places other than your home, like at your parents' plc?

bbjun, maybe depends on your delivery type ba. cos if C-sect then you may want to pump if you cannot latch on easily. also cos C-sect stay in hospital longer. if normal delivery and can latch on, can save the hassle of bringing a pump + sterilizer all..since average stay is 1.5-2 days.

how odd that a sterile place like a hospital would not have a sterilizer?? hehe
maybe we should ask them if we can use their sterilizer? am sure it should be okay right?

Sorry to interrupt.

I have a preloved Medela Mini Electric (single) used for only a month during confinement to sell.
I have the extra membrance (the soft white cap) to go with it. Bought at $190, willing to let go at $150 (neg).

Let me know if you are keen. Thanks.

pad/cotton panties
mummies sofy comes out a 40.5cm long night comfort fit & I bought a few pack & 5 pack of cotton panties from NTUC $3.50 for 5...I think we may need more as we may ve menses over 10 days or more so prepared more just in case...

caramelle
normal pads will do..just get those with longer support cos it'll be heavy flow..

bbjun
glad that ur leave is approved..u got time to take abreak before delivering..me also thinking of buffet before confinement LOL...

capriho 88/ bbjun
me too.. been driving till my #1 pop..that time me driving a manual car from hougang to tuas so tiring I understand esp when come to traffic jam..got to step on to the clutch & keeping changing gears

HJ
for #1 I din consult a lacation & the supply gradually drop & I only managed to BF for 4.5mths so this time round hopefully with the help I can BF longer...

tiny
u only need ur marriage cert for birth registration.. u'll be given up to a month to register upon giving birth...

caramelle,
i got a private bus from my place.. but only in the morning.. evening hv to take public bus... when my car was sent for repair.. it took me more than 1.5hrs to reach home by public buses (express some more) if take train longer

how u go back now? public buses?

first mum,
ur cramps sounds like mine.. yesterday when i called doc he said it should be braxton hicks contractions.. but when i went to google online the symptoms sounds so diff.. only when i went to see him and get examine then i know it is my bb head against the pelvic bone.. now got medication to ease the cramps.. but i think i will only take at night to help me sleep

sweethalo,
just got up from my nap.. too bad i am still a working mum... it is quite a good feeling to rot at home and rest.. so envy those who are not working

i also hvnt get the donut pillow.. but i tot donut pillow not required for newborn infant.. i saw one donut pillow at friven (under some advert) not sure how much it cost.. looks nice

capriho,
just curious for ur #1, even though he popped earlier, did u still proceed with c-sec or natural? actually for those who are do c-sec, how many days before edd? i may need to do c-sec afterall

ok, with all this talk of what documents we need for going into hospital, I'm panicking a bit... cos I'm absolutely clueless what to bring! Ok, breathe.... I'm sure I can figure it out.... I don't know where is my marriage cert!!! Ok, I shall task my hubby with this job of finding out what we need to bring, and putting it all together. Muahahaha...

fatmom, my EDD is 14 June, but I'm going for c-sec. Doctor gave me the range of 25May to 3June, and asked me to choose a date from there. Think the usual for c-sec is 2-3wks before EDD.

dolly,
thanks.. i heard abt that too.. didnt know abt insurance coverage being diff..

tubbymum,
nowadays, get tired easily.. so sometimes i hv trouble focusing on the roads.. afraid i become a road hazard plus all those ppl who anyhow cut lane.. really need to focus a lot on driving.. each drive zap a lot of my energy.. so usually i speed to remain focused.. not good too..

ur edd so close to mine too.. mine on 16 jun.. but 3 jun still sounds early.. is bb develop then? i tot the longer the stay in womb the better.. so u selected 3-6-9 right?

happy sahm,
was ur #1 c-sec too? elective or what?

tiny bubu,
the disposable cotton panties sound good.. is the material thin.. or can take wetness? i am afraid i sweat a lot then it becomes awful..

jess,

bbjun,
why need bank bk? i lost all of mine.. now i just rely on e-statement.. i also totally clueless what docs required.. at first tot just marriage cert and ic..

re pads, i always use laurier nightsafe.. think i will stick to that.. i think sofy is a bit too thick too..

tubbymummy : no problemo!

fatmom : the material is thick like normal cotton panties from triumph. even i was surprised.this type of panties confirmed can wash a few times before throw away.

for bankbook, you need it for the babybonus registration.if no bankbook, you can bring along your latest bank statement that the bank likes to email you.