(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

things to pack for our nursery bag:

mummmy: maternity pads, towel, 1 set of fresh clothing, toiletries.

bb- 1 pair of mittens & botties, hood towel, 1 set of clothing,2-3 pcs of new diapers & VERY IMPORTANT rubber teat from the disposable milk bottle frm KK for the new born had already got use sucking it..

tat wat my friend told me to pack as she also deliver at kk too & was told to pack tis

I guess for disposable undies and maternity pads, my personal preference is no need to pack.hospital will provide and if i need more, i can just ask the nurses for more.i'm sure the charges will be either the same as outside or just slightly higher than outside.

alternatively, get hubby to run down to the hospital pharmacy to buy items.i just feel so sian knowing that private hospitals dont provide nursing gown for us to wear in hospital....i know KKH provides which is really good.

Cassey, post a pix of ur stretch mark leh, lets compare haha... my sis described stretch mark looks like watermelon skin and i tot they look more like the apples i bought at shop & save last night

maternity pads is not needed cuz hospital provide it but not disposable panties..they dont have..they'll just tie the maternity pads for u..

Shelisa- i also got discharge but it sticky & white & sometimes yellowish but no itchy .. did mention to the gyne b4 & they said as long no bleeding it is ok ..

now talk abt this im so excited hope can faster see my bb..but also very sian i dont like to stay hospital..the last time i gif birth i stay for 2 days den start to cry and ask my hubby let me go home..cuz i csect suppose to stay for at least 3days but i really cant stand the loneliness in the hospital..

Split, must we use maternity pad? cant use those night use pad which are longer as they are stick on type, maternity usually need to tie.

maternity pad was use in the hospital cuz the nurse will tie it for u..but they also got provide night use pad for u..

Annie, i also dunno leh. Last mon i go checkup, then suddenly she ask my hubby stand aside. then ask me undress my bottom, then i ask her what u 1 2 do? Then she say need to do vagina swap. then ard 10secs, she is done. Then today nurse call me say i have infection. Sad leh.

Mrs bubu, i think Mount A got provide disposable panties leh. But only give 1 piece. If u need additional, it will charge per piece $8. I rem that time this thread got discuss before. Cassey, can ask ur sis whether they provide?

Split, i think i better go buy Pyjamas then bring along. Rather then last mins nthin to wear.

i think we need to go a swab test for GBS at week 36, supposed to be on antibiotic 4 hours before we deliver if we have GBS infection...

tiny, you can get a non live-in confinement nanny maybe? cos it's your first-born, i think having experienced help around would be very useful for you. the last thing you need to is to be burnt out taking care of the baby, esp since hubby not around often. if you stay nearby, maybe at least we can pop over and meet each other..it's not much but at least there's support hehe

so think abt the part time confinement nanny lah..in the long-run you might appreciate it. esp in first month, new mummies need lots of support from hubby and family. we are here for you, but you might benefit from a CL..if you want lah. just my opinion..

my neighbour first time mum only had her mum stay over for first week, then she said she was okay to handle baby on her own. but her hubby and FIL stay with her so she has help with other chores eg cooking, laundry etc.

re boy/girl baby: actually with a girl, she might surprise you! hehe..but detailed scan got confirm see the 3 lines right?

Shelisa, you packing breast pump? i think not necessary cos your hospital should provide one. better check with them. the lighter the bag the better.

Annie, you packing towel cos you intend to bathe? hospital don't have is it? hehe..just realised i never stay overnight in hospital before *touch wood*. but can you bathe?

re rubber teat: why don't you latch on straightaway? i read that if baby havent learn to latch on, don't give them rubber teat. feed milk from spoon, otherwise they will never catch on with BFing. im also delivering in KK and im told the baby will be handed to mummy one hour after delivery to try first time BF.

neeciel, I think the swab is done in week 34, not 36. At least I rem Dr Chan said so at my last check up at week 27+.

How's your BB's growth? Did she still say too big n still must induce?? I m gg for the regular check up next sat. Hopefully, my BB is not growing too big. Oredi trying to avoid durians.. but I had one durian cake last week at Shangri-la high tea. :p

Annie, im not too sure leh. Not alot of mommy do this.

Caramelle? Really?? I shall ask them again.

Neeciel, im not too sure what infection i ganna? As the nurse told me the name so so long. She only say need to eat anti-botic for 1 week and see how

Shelisa, the infection (I also can't rem the name), is harmless to adults but can cause harm to the BB when he/she passes through the canal. So we usually dun feel any discomfort even when we are carrying the bacteria/infection. The antibiotics is just to clear it so that BB can come out safely.

<font color="0050b3">Hey Ladies, I just came back from Vivo city! So tiring, cannot even shop all the shops now. My back and legs stopped me from walking futher, zzzz... I'm looking forward to meet MTBs tomorrow! Oh yah, I just bought Bread papa puffs back, heehee

Desitin Creamy <font face="symbol">®</font> I just received my Desitin Creamy this morning and the seller actually packed them with bubble-bag

The expiry date is December 2010! Hehehe

bbjun, yup i heard the nurse say something like that too. Stupid unlucky lor, actually found out kana external pile, today found out dunno wat infection. cried..

Blurmom, im looking forward too. but i will be late. will reach before 7.15pm.

<font color="0050b3">Shelisa <font face="symbol">®</font> See you there! I need to figure my way there too, haha very suah ku

Tinybubu <font face="symbol">®</font> Very sweet right! I saw this quite sometime ago but just wonder how to do? </font>

i am home..

Shelisa, you sound so happy to hear me reach 70kg gang lo. I feel so sad, going to control my diet from now. I gain 3 kgs in a month while my boy only gain 600grams from it.

I also not sure where is the new Raffles City wing when my company is the architects. Haha.. Too bad i do not really know the architect-in-charge or else I can ask him. *sigh* Will reach there early to search for the place.

Erm.. I can't remember the names Cassey sent me, I have STM. Please tell me your name when you meet me ok? ^^

<font color="0077aa">Jess Ma, thks for missing me *grin*
I've been at work... It's my last teaching day. Bittersweet. Will miss some kids.
Tmr AM half day for clearance...! Then I'm a free woman!! ... until my little monster arrives, that is

Shelisa, thanks, Shelisa! *hug hug back*

neeciel, YES I AM GOING TO DO THAT TONIGHT!
I took another snapshot of left of bump last evening... but only got hm aft 11pm n too tired to come online.
Will go home and post tonight... see if still saved the initial appearance pic then I'll post before and after.

audrey, just get there and ask around. It won't take a rocket scientist to find out.. Raffles City isn't tt big like Vivo!</font>

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Central Gathering</font> <font size="+1">- TOMORROW!</font></font>
<blink><font color="ff0000">*Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME as reservations will be made.</font></blink>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: TOMORROW, Fri, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

<u>15 Confirmed Attendees:</u>
Audreyaw, Bbaugustine, Bbjun, bbPotato, Blurmom, Cassey, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, JessMa,
Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Sweethalo, Tubbymummy

Organiser: Cassey</font>

Sweet Halo, my colleagues' cousin was diagnosed at her last visit to the gynae. I dunno how to tell, but I am definitely monitoring the movements of my baby nowadays, if I cant rem him moving for some time, i will try to prompt him to! heh

Tubby mummy, tiny bubu, waxing at honeypot?? OOOH... I am gonna call and make my first appt soon! It's my first time tho, scared! and i thought it's such a waste of money! S$60bucks for 1 session?

Btw, anyone delivering at mount e? My gyane is stationed at mount e, but since she can deliver at mount A too, I opt for the cheaper alternative.. the catch is, I have to agree to epidural cos gynae says she cant make sure that she can rush to mount A in time from Mount E! sigh.. I've heard horrendous stories on the hospital bills at Mount E, anyone any idea?

BP for baby bjorn original/air carrier/synergy selling cheap

Ready stock for desitin creamy 4oz blue

BP for lansinoh milk bags

BP for Capella strollers/baby standing bath unit

BP for medela freestyle/pis advanced

just had dinner! A spring roll!

I haven't pack my bag yet! I have this list but dunno when should I do it. I also haven't got a chance to wash bb clothings too, cos we haven't bought the foldable rack to dry the clothings. I am stuck with buying teats. Can someone advise me? I got some glass bottles from SIL and also some plastic ones from sis. But can all teats fit different bottles? If not, then how I buy huh? What is good for new born? Silicon or whatever kind? So blur and so confusing.

I havent packed the hospital bag yet too! But i bought 2 nightdresses with front opening for breastfeeding. Hope the milk will come in soon enough for baby to latch on in hospital so can get help from nurses. Through talking with friends, heard it takes abt 3 days for milk production. The beginning is just the colostrum. I pray that the breastfeeding will work out for me cos I really wanna do that. Heard of horror stories from friends abt engorgement and infection. One of my friends even had to have surgery to clear the pus due to the infection. scary!

I don't intend to hire any confinement lady cos my mum will come over to help but she does not know how to cook the confinement food! so I think have to rely on recipe cookbook for that. Hope it works out. Anyone got this problem of cooking confinement food? Is it really necessary to strengthen mummy's body after labour? Is anyone catering?

what should be in a hospital bag -
- 2 nightdress
- 1 set of going home clothes for mummy
- 1 set of going home clothes for baby
- 1 pair of socks for mummy (during labour)
- breast pump
- disposable breast pads (5)
- toiletries (not to bring deodorant/perfume as baby is comforted by mummy's natural scent)
- pads for mummy (a lot of people adv to get Sofy)
- 1 pack of disposable panties

ummm,am i leaving anything out?

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, 3rd tri woes can actually set in as early as end of 5th month so I def don't think it's too early or merely psychosomatic for u. Heartburn is a constant feeling of acid reflux being regurgitated up the throat... sometimes it's simply gastric juices/bile but other times it may be some food tt you've had before (with or without particles) YEECH!

JessMa, pls don't assume I have super sonic eyes and am always here leh. If you don't wanna email, you have my number, at least sms me. Good thing Caramelle pointed out your cancellation to me this time. THANKS CARAMELLE!!

Shelisa, I think you should wear a dress tmr. Keke... then pull it UP to show me your stretchmarks! Hahaha!!! I'll post my sad pics shortly.

Bubu~, don't worry abt what ppl say. They don't have ultrasound waves lor. My sis also had lots of ppl telling her she's carrying like bb's a boy. But popped out still girl ma. I think in this day and age, unless you ask not to be told, delivery room surprises are few and far between. Enjoying married life? Almost a week as Mrs now!!

> My day was hectic once I got in... what with handing over and the actual teaching. The colleague taking over is a complete freshie and so, needs a lot of guidance than the first round takeover colleague. His mum is quite recently terminally ill so I'm trying to prepare more materials for him to tide him thru the first fortnight after I go.

bbPotato, it's at the new wing of Raffles City, where Watson's and Cocoa Tree is. I think if you take the escalator down from Starbucks, you kinda head towards 12 o'clock. The Raffles City basement is only that big... I'm the kind of person who'll just stop someone and enquire so I say: Just ask someone!!! Or if really so shy, check the mall directory?

LFB, THAT IS ABSOLUTELY PATHETIC. A springroll for dinner. <u>A</u> springroll?! I had a MOS Burger plain dog set (yum!) and strawberry ice-cream!

Tubbym~, I bought a tub of Yami today too! I tried rambutan and green apple flavours... didn't like either so packed peach. Heehee.. there was macadamia nut too, but I think asking to sample 3 flavours a bit qian4 bian3 so I didn't.

Hi tinybubu,
I intend to do tbf, but after hearing many stories of low milk supply, I am keeping my option open. Still, I will try my best to bf, as that is still the best milk for bb. Only when I really cannot, I will try fm. Think it all depends after the bb is out. But I read that supply=demand. So the more we feed/express, the more we will produce. So I will hang on and try my best!

bbpotato, nuk? Can fit any bottle right? I have mixture of different bottles, so I dunno how to buy. Think this week I must really start packing. 31 weeks too early or not? Thanks.

bbaugustine, confinement food are suppose to be good for us as different food has different remedy purposes. We are comparable to a block of ice after birth, so we need to eat heaty stuff to warm it up. Acc to my colleagues, sesames oil is suppose to clear our system and she didn't take alot, so she has lots of residue in her. You can buy cook book that has recipe and remedy. Quite good. I bought 2 from Malaysia, find them very insightful and educational!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Central Gathering TOMORROW!</font></font>
<blink><font color="ff0000">*Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME as reservations will be made.</font></blink>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: TOMORROW, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

* IF YOU CAN MAKE IT AT THE LAST MIN, PLS SMS ME IN ADVANCE BY 5PM!

** LAST MINUTE CANCELLATIONS, PLS SMS IN ADVANCE TOO.

<u>15 Confirmed Attendees:</u>
Bbaugustine, Bbjun, bbPotato, Blurmom, Caramelle, Cassey, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, JessMa,
Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Sweethalo, Tubbymummy

<font size="+1">Note:</font> Can I pls have an indication how many of you will be there early or on time?

Organiser: Cassey</font>

thanks for the kind words cassey.feel better now!!!

i'll let you know over the weekend how life is as a married woman.hahaha.solemniazation was on sat night and then we spent the rest of the night entertaining friends at the bbq till late.he left for brunei again the next day and will only be back tomorrow night.

i feel so bummed that i cant make it tomorrow to see you guys but i only see hubby every weekend and i hope you guys wont get offended.so sorry!!!

Cassey,
my dear, you are aware of my situation, right? Still dare to sia me with your mos burger and yami! But I think I am really good gal. Silly hubby eating nachos chips beside me now! And I can tahan and just ignore him! I am aware of my own determination. I know I can do it means I can do it! So my decision is carbo for morning and afternoon(cos I need to work!) then just veggies and protein in the night. Throw in fruits in between the day as snacks! I has a grava and half an apple. But I did snack at 5pm. 1 piece of Pork chop, 2 small fried spring rolls and 1 siew mai. Then a fresh spring roll at 730pm. Keeping me meals small and spaced out!

tiny bubu, my list for gleneagles states:

Maternity bras
Nightgowns with front openings
Baby hat, mittens and booties
Maternity pads
slippers
Toiletries for yourself
One baby suit for day of discharge
a warm jacket for husband

You can use this for comparison.

Ok, I copied this from somewhere that I forgotten. Very long list, but I thought quite useful leh.

Standard List Of Things To Pack In Hospital Bag For Day Of Delivery:

Documents To Bring:

1. antenatal checkup card
2. ATM cards (?)
3. gynae's letter (if any)
4. NRIC of husband &amp; wife
5. outpatient appointment card
6. coins for vending machines

Items For Mother:

1. disposable breast pads --- to absorb leaking colostrum.
2. disposable cotton panties.
3. elastic hair band --- to tie up hair.
4. face towel.
5. going-home dress --- to wear on day of discharge (a full dress is easier to wear and is more comfortable, particularly if you happened to undergo an emergency caeseran delivery).
6. hair comb or brush.
7. maternity pads --- to absorb heavy postpartum blood flow.
8. mobile phone and its charger!
9. nipple shields --- to protect sore or cracked nipples while breastfeeding.
10. nursing bra --- to use with disposable breast pads.
11. socks --- to keep feet warm.
12. spare plastic bags --- to store soiled/wet clothes &amp; towels.
13. spectacles with case --- if you are short-sighted, but leave your contact lens at home.
14. tissue papers --- bring the soft-pack travel-size type (eg. NTUC/PASEO brand).
15. toiletries --- eg. shampoo, soap, facial cleanser, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.

Items For Baby:

1. baby blanket or wrap towel --- to wrap baby when going home.
2. booties.
3. mittens.
4. newborn cotton vest.
5. newborn-size disposable diaper.

*** Hospital May Provide The Following: do check with your hospital beforehand, or from the start of your 3rd trimester.

1. baby clothes.
2. baby diapers.
3. baby wrap blanket/towel.
4. bath towels --- in case you need to shower, simply request from the nurse.
5. disposable panties.
6. maternity pads.

lfb : were you around when we were talking about the raspberry tea from momsinmind?

also,some kind soul told me that green papaya &amp; fish soup will help to increase milk production.

i also want to breast feed but it all depends on god's plan for me.... =]

Ok, another list I copied somewhere. Think is a mummy who gave birth and her thoughts after that.

For diaper bag
For Mummy :
2-3 pairs of warm socks (to wear in the delivery room)
1 extra pack of pads (most hospital provide only one pack and will charge you if you get more. It is not necessary to get maternity pads; just get pads used for heavy flow. If you want to get maternity pads, buy them from the Hospital pharmacy, Cold storage or the bigger NTUC FairPrice outlets might have them but quite hard to find. The Hospital Pharmacy is your best place to look for these items.
Disposable underwear. (4-5 sets)
Nursing Bras
Discman with your favorite CD (of course music that will help you relax) - *OPTIONAL*
One presentable robe (For you to look presentable to your visitors or when checking on your baby in the nursery)
Massage oil (recommended in most childbirth classes)
Two sets of nightgown (one that opens in the front if you are planning on breastfeeding and preferable thick enough because you are not likely to be wearing bras. Have seen some nice ones at Robinsons (Karmy brand) and Metro. If you don’t mind spending, more, Victoria’s Secret has nice nightwear too)
One set of clothing for happy trip home (clothing with plenty of room will be the most comfortable, breastfeeding dresses will be good for moms who have gone through natural or caesarian birth)
Cosmetics
Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
No Deodorant. Preferably not, as you will musk your natural scent from your baby. Studies have shown that traces of deodorants can be found in the breast tissues.
Slippers
Handphone and charger
Breastfeeding pillow to assist you during breastfeeding, but I find it rather unnecessary as newborn are pretty light.
Breast pump to help stimulate milk production ASAP as babies tend to be sleepy during the first few days after birth.
Inflatable ring or Boppy pillow to ease episiotomy wound.
Nursing pillow to make positioning of babies easier especially if you have a c-section.

For Daddies :
Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Camera and charger and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore)
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your baby’s name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.
Admission form and bill for CPF deduction (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation

oh, can i ask where you gys are buying your nursing clothes from? i only see nursing wear on oldnavy.com and in singapore, either the nursing clothes are risiculously priced or super ugly like mad.

Tinybubu,

the only time I heard of raspberry tea was when WBB warned us not to anyhow consume. So I just listen lor.
Ya, think we must think positively, but also not to be too obssess with only tbf. Must have open mind.

<font color="0077aa">The Big Stretchmark Tragedy - Cassey's I actually went back to retrieve Week 31 pic from archives...
Wk 31, little devils made 1st appearance. Now Wk 34, yes they have definitely worsened...

2359319.jpg
2359320.jpg

I guess I can only say thank God at least they aren't worse..!