(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="0050b3">yah, ahnetsan kooning already... I guess you need to wait till 6.30am

I'm gonna rest soon...</font>

<font color="0077aa">Blurmom, I just hope junior isn't overdue!! I'm hoping he'll pop at maybe... week 38 or 39? Heehee...

ahnetsan, coconut myth is that it helps to wash off the vernix (whitish layer of protection on bb's skin) so that bb comes out nice &amp; clean. My colleagues say only have to drink twice before delivery.
> I think anyone could pop first... Esp. Tubbym~, whose due for C-sec anytime start of June. Skali my junior doesn't want to come out? I'm most afraid of overdue bb.
> My vital stats are much bigger. Bump bigger than your bottom!

Blurmom,
from my personal experience...

RE: Things to bring/prepare

* Pigeon breat pads (36+6 pcs) - we wont actually leak milk during the 3 days. we wld only have precious colostrum and usu not in huge amts.
* Disposable cotton panty 10 pcs (NTUC) - bring a pack just to play safe

* Pampers and pads - diapers and pads are provided at TMC and usually will have leftover to bring home after the stay.

* Baby wipes - i think TMC also provides. bring a small pack to stand by.

hope it helps

sweethalo,
i saw the chicco stuff too. exciting hor? and not cheap also.

are u mothercare member??

morning mummies~

sweethalo, you're welcome.. ya.. like nothin much for clothes but i'm eyeing 1 of the shoes.. her price is much cheaper &amp; the shoes are all sooo cute.. lucki i'm having a boi.. if not sure broke...

ahnetsan.. u mean 38 inches ba? dun worry lah.. i pass the 38 inch mark last month.. just measured, my bump is a good 40 inch now.. *scarry*

<font color="0077aa">OH DEAR. TUBBILITIS EPIDEMIC RAMPANT ON THIS THREAD!

SuperBee &amp; Blurmom(?), ok. Sorry, sis clarified that Mt A! bb's are dressed while in hospital but others are right, upon discharge, dad n mum need to prepare bb's go-home clothes, mittens, booties &amp; swaddling cloth (one is available in the goodie bag).</font>

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1"><blink>Confirmation of Central Gathering</blink></font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: Friday, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

RSVP via PM pls!

<u>Confirmed Attendees to date:</u>
Bbaugustine, Bbjun, Cassey, Creamer, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, Jackie, Jam75, Jess Ma,
Katelee, Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Tubbymummy

<u>Tentative Attendees to date:</u>
Ahnetsan, Audreyaw, bbPotato, BlueDream, Blurmom, Caramelle, Fatmom, FirstMum, Jetaime, Lovelytulips,
Mika Rei, Nozomi, Sweethalo, Vibe

<u>Pending Responses from:</u> hapeverafter, neecial, tiny_bubu, Xuan...

<u>Apologies from:</u> Bing, Chidori, LFB

<font color="ff0000">*Note: ONLY June MTBs <u>currently / recently actively posting</u> on this thread are invited</font>.
(If I don't know you, I cannot be inviting you. Do organise your own gathering if you like, please.)

<font color="ff0000">**<u>Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME</u> as reservations will be made.</font> Gatecrash: to attend an event without an invitation

Organiser: Cassey</font>

hi cassey, thanks for the invite.. I'm not sure if i can attend as i think my mgr going on leave during that week so may have to work late.. will confirm you with nearer to date.. =)

am preparing to go out.. for WBB class! am in the 2-4pm session but attending alone again as my hubby working late again this week..

Reminder to all mummies attending WBB class~ location at AMK hub this week, not @ thomson, dun go wrong place wor..

afternoon ladies..

Not sure if anyone went to mothercare yet, i just came back from there and bought the bathtub set home cause it was on sales. Price tag at $50.60 but I only paid $50. If anyone want to buy, maybe can go down this weekend. Not sure when the offer ends..

Hi ladies, busy with work &amp; no time to do OT to read the archives hee... so if i missed out anyone's qns, pardon me ok?

Cassey, put me as tentative attendee, no preference on location =)

I dun hv a new EDD date yet, guess may be got to be closer to the date then gynae will let me know when to induce me.

Tubbymummy, bb weighs around 1.3kg @ wk28, i think got bigger babies around but i simple dun understand how come she keeps saying i am small size? There are smaller frame mothers who can deliver babies near to 4kg...

hello mummies, Just back from gynae check up.

neeciel, my bb is 1.295kg at wk27d2 by gynae's original EDD n is wk 28 by the new EDD I have from DS. Gg for gestational diabetic test next sat cos of the sudden wt increase beyond her expectations, partly my extended family members have history of diabetes. I guess she wants to be on the safe side, just in case. Doesn't sound like your BB is too big compared to mine, and some others in this thread. PLUS I m definitely smaller frame than u. U know that! LOL.

Wt gain for me is still on track, 7.5kg gain now n my BP is closer to being normal.

Not sure if the sudden increase in BB's wt was due to that 4giant seeds of D24 durian I had last Sunday. hmm... ... Hope that the test next week will show negative for diabetes cos I cannot live without my carbos! Just thinking about the fasting is already daunting. How can a water guzzer survive without water!

wow fifi the bp thread u post so cute... feel like getting the big noodle cup .. wow just nw see starhub "mei shi da san tong" featuring durian! strange leh msia got pple serve durian paste w grind chilli as salad paste..urrgghhh i like it original, sweet &amp; smooth. i'm doing my glucose test on wed. wonder if i still can eat durian this 2 days? will it affect the result?

i like ade soft shoe too. but buying now too early isnt it? still got 10wk to birth and shoe is for 6 mth. wow biang the shoe is gonna b in cupboard for 8 mths...

<font color="0050b3">firstmum <font face="symbol">®</font> Tks for sharing! I guess my bag will be ligthter now... Hehehe

YamiCassey <font face="symbol">®</font> Not to worry, I was told that the first baby usually pops earlier

Audreyaw <font face="symbol">®</font> I went to mothercare at Causeway Point however they don't carry much items there. I wanted to get my nursing bra from them but the lady ask me to get them during my 8mth of pregnancy. Ended up, we shop at Kiddy palace for all the loose items.

wah think everyone is just waiting to pop now...I just reached my 30th week..counting down also. I count down to 37 weeks so earlier hee...thats when I am officially full term!can't wait!

Think must start to pack emergency bag in 2 weeks time cos I rem during the hopsital tour at Glene that they advise to pack at ard 32 weeks. I still haven't got my nightdress for breastfeeding, something with buttons on the front.

Yest nite my tummy started to itch...I am really terrified that it's going to be the beginning of a new symptom in 3rd trimester. I scratched till it was really sore then had to apply some cream to soothe it. sigh...other mummies got itchy tummy?

My blood glucose also a bit on the high side so doc asked me to watch my diet..is this a rather common thing in pregnancy? I figured I have been eating too much carbo as I like to stuff myself silly at mealtimes so that I don't have to keep looking for food!=P

Am just back from WBB class.. i think i remember one of the mummies was asking abt placenta consumption? WBB advise is not to take it cos placenta acts as our baby's liver &amp; process all the tonic waste for our baby so consuming the placenta after that will mean taking all the tonics as well!

bbaugustine, you're not the only 1.. think its because our tummy's skin is stretching thus the itch, best to apply cream &amp; leave it alone but easier said then done.. i'm scratching my tummy like crazy too.. usually most itchy at night for me..

bbjun, confirm water guzzler cannot live without drinking water. I almost wanted to die when fasting for the GTT, SO, I cheated (by a little bit). I took a few small sips in the morning after I woke, couldn't stand it. So dehydrated after a whole night's sleep, how can don't drink. Some more I had sore throat. And what's worse, they told me that after drinking the glucose solution, still cannot eat or drink for 2 more hrs when they will be taking the next 2 urine and blood samples. Yes, the glucose drink was a small relief after not being able to drink, but because it was so sweet, it kinda makes you feel thirstier after that. Ok, but I survived, so JIA YOU!!

neeciel, your baby's weight sounds ok to me what... Yes, there are some others around who are bigger
Don't worry about it too much lah, let nature take its course... If you feel very strongly about not being induced etc, just tell your doc, think it's doc's duty to try their best to help us have our baby the way we want first, then only resort to alternatives when it can't be helped right?

createjoy, by right it's a fasting test, so what u eat should not have that big an impact, but hor, I just played safe, and ate normal things for the few days before my GTT. I ate what I would normally eat for my usual meals, and didn't go and do adventurous things like pig out on ice cream or eat durian... But I also didn't purposely go and eat like a saint lah.

bbaugustine, yes it's easier for blood sugar levels to rise during pregnancy, that's why it's quite easy to get gestational diabetes. Try to cut down on the carbos lah... I know it's troublesome looking for food here and there haha, but it's actually better to eat 6 small meals instead of 3 big ones with lots of carbos. If u usually eat white bread, switch to whole grain bread, and cut down on white rice and noodles. Better to "suffer" a bit now, rather than really kenna diabetes. Cos when u get it during pregnancy, u increase your risk of getting it later in life, and also increase baby's risk of getting it as an adult too. Good luck!

Oh, sweethalo/Caseey, forgot to update that my GTT results came back NORMAL! Yippee!!!

i took the GTT test as well and I really thought it was pure torture. In the first place I didn't expect that I had to stay for 2 hours to take 3 urine tests and 3 blood tests!so before I went to the lab I peed. Then the nurse told me she needs to take urine test and I was like HUH? I just peed! Yep the sugary fluid was horrible tasting.

Tubbymummy, yes I guess I have to eat in smaller portions and watch the type of food I eat. As I am working sometimes its just not convenient to eat at odd times but no choice have to watch my diet cos I dont wanna end up having diabetes and taking insulin!

Xuan, yeah the itch of the tummy only came at nite...so I prob was scratching in my sleep...hope it doesnt happen again tonite.I have been trying to moisturise conscientiously.

xuan,
i so puzzled now.. i tot my class is wbb one.. cos the presentation slides wrote wbb.. but i just attended the class at thomson from 130 to 330 while u attended at 2pm today.. cannot be 2 wbb one right.. haha.. is the 2pm class big.. i chose 2pm cos i stay in amk.. so amk hub is really very convenient for me.. anyway my lecturer also say the same thing abt placenta..

bbaugustine,
guess u hv to start taking less carbo.. esp rice.. try brown rice mix with white rice and wholemeal bread.. i been cutting down too..

tubbymummy,
good to hear that ur GTT results is nnormal.. is GTT an opt in thing or what? my doc never offer me leh.. should i ask for it?

tubbyM, good to hear that your GTT is normal. Keeping finger crossed for mine next week. Hearing what you and bbAug said, I m really dreading it. U will see me downing water like mad before the fasting starts then. I think I can tolerate the without food part but this no drinking of water is practically hell for me.

fat mom, if your BB does not have sudden wt increase like mine, shooting beyond 90percentile (my gynae says one), then there is unlikely to be a concern for gestational diabetes, then dun need to do lor. Gynae shd be able to advise on that.

Would like to share with you, triumph is having warehouse sales at Orchid Country Club, tomorrow is last day liao.

Just back from there, bra ranges 3 for $30, 3 for $36 and 3 for $45, briefs ranges from 5 for $10, 5 for $15 and 3 for $15. There are differenct designs to choose from. And they have swimwear as well.

new EDD
Talking about that, I asked my gynae on my last visit as mine changes every month. He told me still the same date but didn't really tell me why my EDD is different everytime I do scanning.

Blurmom, i went to the mothercare at KKH.

Bought my son there for checkup and had told the therapist to help me to transfer him to special school. Heard her saying she would write to a medical officer(wonder who is that, any idea Cassey?) and perhaps wait?

bbaugustine, huh? we supposed to start packing around 32 weeks?! Alamak, I haven't get most of the items required in the hospital bag. So i got to get it real soon?
Don't scratch your tummy!!! It will make it worse. Seen it on my friend who scratched most of her time during her pregnancy, it was speechless after that.

TubbyMummy, glad to hear that your GTT result is normal. I thought it was compulsory to do it every pregnancy as I was told to do it previously but I got no family history of it. Stupid me to go through all those suffering for not once but twice!

caramelle,
think i miss ur post.. so did u get the bebesound? i still find it quite gimmicky leh.. maybe i didnt use it properly? anyway thanks for the info on aprica.. will get that maybe when bb is 3-4 mths old..

re car seat,
think this is covered before.. when we bring bb out of hospital, is it a must to put bb in car seat..

Fatmom/bbjun/audreaw, thanks thanks, so happy that my GTT test results are normal. Over the phone I didn't ask for specifics, but when she told me "test results normal" I just reconfirmed that there's no cause for concern, and she said yes, all normal, no worries. I will be getting the results in black &amp; white when I next see my doc, will ask him to explain to me then if there are any figures.

fatmom, like bbjun said, GTT is not compulsory. Doc will recommend that u do the test if u have a scenario like bbjun's (baby has big weight gain), or if u have family history (like mine), or if your pee stick test indicates that u may have sugar in your urine. If all not applicable to u, then I think u shouldn't put yourself thru the hassle/torture hehe.

About the car seat, it's required by law that as long as a baby/child is travelling in a private car, it's in a infant/child car seat. But frankly a lot of ppl have their kids rolling/jumping around, and I've never seen any TP enforce this rule. A lot of ppl prefer to cradle baby in their arms, but for me, I will definitely be putting baby in car seat when bringing home from hospital. For me I feel it's just about safety lor, cos if carry in arms, if some idiot really bang into you, a) baby may fly out of your arms; or b) baby might get crushed in your arms. I shudder at the thought. In fact, I was thinking I will bring my own car seat even if I take taxi (currently not decided yet how I will be going home fr hosp, cos I'm the one who drives, and I don't expect to be driving myself home after I just give birth!), cos some taxi drivers drive like maniac...

Audreyaw, how come your doc made u do it if u are not high risk? Maybe there were some signs on your pee test stick is it?? If not, then you very poor thing leh, go thru for nothing... Like sweethalo like that, kenna in her 1st tri for no apparent reason also... Glad to hear that some things seem to be moving along for your boy. But they make one referral, will take how long?

bbjun, ya lor u r smaller frame than me leh hee.. i did my GTT oso on week 28 and luckily i cleared my diabetics test but i got anaemic, sian, need to double my dosage on iron intake.

so did dr chan gives u a new EDD yet??

Tubbymummy, i guess is normal too...maybe she will advise me again weeks later, but anyway i am prepared to deliver in May since my EDD is 1st week of June, maybe pop earlier anyway =)

btw fatmom/caramelle, I read a couple of reviews regarding bebesound, and it supposedly doesn't work, can't hear anything. Not sure true or not lah.

neeciel, no leh. She didn't say anything abt it. We asked her previously if my EDD has changed, she said it's an estimate, so can still be used cos it's gg to be any time within that two weeks before the EDD. =_=|
I was telling my hb that I m still optimistic abt clearing GTT cos I still clear my urine test today leh. Attribute the sudden growth spurt to a slightly heartier appetite + durians for the last two weeks. I think there is still chance for you to do it naturally, rather than to induce. Afterall, BB grow at their pace. Mine was growing very fast in the first tri (gg beyond ave), then very slow for most part of 2nd tri (measuring 50percentile) n only suddenly recently.

oh ya, visited hatemenot today. Good to see her looking good. But have been really tough on her to be totally bed-ridden. Hopefully she gets discharged soon to rest at home instead.

TubbyMummy <font face="symbol">®</font> Good to know that your GTT result is normal. I wonder if I can survived that fasting part! My GTT will be next wednesday, haiz... My gynae say my latest consumption will be at 1am! Guess I just eat and drink more to suppress all the cravings... Hope that mine will be normal too

FatMom <font face="symbol">®</font> Car seat is required by traffic rules for private cars. Think We can carry our babies in our hands too.

bbjun <font face="symbol">®</font> So nice of you to visit hatemenot. Btw, which hospital is she in? If at Thomson then I can go peh her abit
Can you pm me her ward details?

I just came back from Ikea, bought a 6-drawers cupboard for baby... We saw the baby bath tub however my HB didn't like it so we didn't buy... The bathtub is slightly sharp at the edge so mummies may try to feel it before getting them.

wow long day again... hehehe...

Morning met up with 3 lovely June MTBs and went to Ade's place! hahaha... we had a great time fanning out tubbilitis syndrome... kekeke...

Just back from class and felt hungry so had a nice bowl of Myojo mee again! arrgh... who is the one that started on the instant noodle thing!

TubbyM- glad that your GTT is good!!

wah seems like we have a new gang of champion Nightbirdies leh!!! 3 am also never koon!!!!

First Mum - yes I got the Mothercare membership. If you are need the additional 20% member's discount for baby's clothings, just drop me a PM and I will let you hv my HP no. Apparently just quote the no. can liaoz.

Re: Seat Belt
I saw a mummy discharged at Mt A and she craddled her bb in arms as you got seated in the car. I was quite concerned so approached the Nurse that was sending them off, after they left. I asked her if the lady did that because the infant was afew days old and therefore not suitable for carseat travel.

She told me, absolutely not and it's up to mum's preference but of course recommended to use car seat.

I am definitely not going to put my Newborn at risk by craddling him in my arms while in a moving vehicle, however good and careful driver my hb is. Sometimes, when you least expect, things can happen and it may not even be in my hb's control eg. other driver's mistake etc. So will be using carseat

Sweethalo, did you receive any newsletter or mailers from mothercare? I couldn't recall which mummy rec'd them. I am their member but I did not rec'd mailers from them leh...

Blurmom - Yes, I received email from them leh abt the additional member's 20% discount promo which ends 31Mar leh.

Ahnet- Yeah I got a real deal at Mothercare Centerpt! hehehe... Happy

Today was at Causeway Pt and saw that the Head &amp; Tail bowl was on offer at $10 from $15 but still didn't buy as I feel the bowl is too shallow. Bought a pack of 3 hooded bath towels (green, yellow,white) for $32 (discounted from $47) so think that's not too bad after all.

Blurmom, I did but in the form of email. The offer is till end of this mth.

sweethalo, i ate chu qian yi ding just now. hubby still working at this timing, haiz..

bbjun, er... what happen to hatemenot? sorry that i didn't manage to catch the news earlier.

I try registering online now! If still don't have then I think I will call and ask... Why I always so "Heng" one!

Audreyaw, hatemenot is hospitalised for almost 1week plus? She did post and inform us earlier, think you have to search archive liao

BlurMom - The Mothercare additional offer is valid in all their outlets except for the one in Metro Paragon, so don't go there.

I quite like the one in Centrepoint. Vivo is the biggest but also the messiest! hahah

BTW, I went to KiddyPalace too today! Found the super big bath tub!! Wah really big! but was wondering if Toyogo has them as well so didn't buy yet... ehhehe *don't hit me*

audreyaw- how is your daughter doing? hope ur hb will be back home soon to sayang you

My back is killing me today! arrgh...The massage that WBB taught at class was pretty good... I am sure cassey will be enjoying alot of that from now onwards... saw her Justus senior very hardworkingly copy down notes and seemed to be even recording the lecture with his HP..hehe

BTW, they gave us Mamil Gold at class today.. is it really necessary to drink that??

Aiyo, I cannot register online already as they stated that I'm already their member! *Faint*

Sweethalo, told you! Kiddy palace carries BIG BATH TUBE... Hahaha
But I haven't got mine yet! So many to choose, very vex hor... LOL!

Firstmum, are you the one that told me aussino beddings wash liao become ruah ruah?

Blurmom, okie. will do ot later, hee..

sweethalo, agreed that Vivo outlet is quite messy and they don't really carry many of the autumn/winter clothing. Each outlet actually sell their own remaining clothes so do buy them if you see 1 that you like instead of thinking going other outlets to check it out.
Hahaha.. Wish kiddy palace is near my place. I have either go marina or jp. Urgh..
she is now officially having parts of spreading the virus as some of the bubbles are drying up. She really having fun at home, playing facebook games and watching cartoons.

I only been to Vivo and Causeway Pt mothercare... Hehehe very suah ku hor

Audreyaw, your girl playing facebook game? haha I also addicted to pet society
Glad to know that she is having fun...

blurmom, let me check with her tom before I PM u k? Must ask her permission la. hope u understand.

audreyaw, hatemenot had some contractions + a short cervix. Warded in hospital to buy time to let her BB grow abit more, and to avoid a pre-term labour.

qn to all:
I m supposed to decide on the PD for my bb n let gynae know. erm.. besides asking ard in the forum, is it possible just to go there n see the PD that I am considering n ask her qns???

I really hate the price tagging at Vivo... so messy! Price tagging all sorts of colours, all sorts of prices and still can be wrong. Price tag ripped off etc... why can't they install a bar code price scanner so we don't hv to keep asking the staff what is the price?? As if they don't know mothers well enuf right?

The Mothercare at Marina is very neat and the lady there is super helpful!! Chinese lady at Mothercare Causeway Pt is very helpful too and super frank- will tell you under her breath, no need to buy, waste money...ehhehe

hiya fat mom, think the presentation slides are the same &amp; is prepared by WBB? i'm quite sure my teacher today at amk is WBB. yup, the class at 2-4pm is quite big. most of the mats at the little skool hse was taken up but i'm not sure if its considered a full class? which location is ur class for next week? you should call up TMC &amp; check if you can change ur class? we still have 3 more lessons to go wor..

re: EDD
hmm... mine quite consistent.. only 3 days difference.. first visit doc says its 27 Jun, my 20wk detail scan put my date as 25th &amp; last month visit at 24th Jun..

sweethalo &amp; the other 3 mummies.. pls share ur loots!

bbjun- strangely when I looked at my hospital pre-admission booking slip that the gynae nurse did for me, I saw a PD name already filled in leh.. I hv no idea who the fella is.