(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tinybubu, tks for the birthplan link

How many pads should we bring to hospital? Mine is 10pads in a pack one.. And why do we need dispposable panties? during Labour?

Audreyaw : Vicks is for rubbing blocked noses.hahaha.Somebody told me that Vaseline is for really dry skin on the baby.I dont know if baby lotion is enough.If it is, then there's no need to get Vaseline.

=]

Yeah I also trust J&J but recently heard that some researchers did some study and found that certain chemicals inside the products react tog and creates another chemical which may be harmful...but apparently AVA said is ok??

Anyway, I bought this brand of shampoo bath by Chicco which was highly recommended by Sales person at Tangs

ahnetsan, that's y I said.. u very hardworking to do OT with the archives.. kekeke.. no medication lor.. so now really really watching out the portion of my food.. I oso stayin wif my PIL.. so far no conflict as I'm working and hardly at home, rather worried with the confinement period later..

LFB, aiyoh.. you're still less penguin than me leh.. I'm in front of you during the exercise lah.. cannot missed out one.. the short girl with long hair.. went to toilet a lot one..
next wk one I'll look ard for u hor..

Ling / Sweethalo : http://www.asiaone.com/print/News/Latest%2BNews/Asia/Story/A1Story20090321-130107.html

It was some weird independant group that accused them but after investigation, FDA found that there is no evidence to back the accusation. J&J is now thinking of countersuing the independant group.

I guess I will trust j&j as they've been around for a really long time and they are already established.

Ooh, to add on to my outstanding list :

Things to do :
1) Complete birth Plan and get gynae to endorse it.
2) Buy singlets from Cotton On (2 for $20) for hospital stay (these are so stretchy that you can just pull it down when it's time to breastfeed and they come in cute colours.
3) Buy ankle socks for labour from Daiso.
4) Sign on for Javanese Post Natal massage.
5) Corner my man into deciding about cord blood.
6) Decide on hospital.
7) Buy thermometer.
8) Stop going to baby shops / baby fairs as now i'm getting a severe case of tubbylitis.....
9) Remember to make appt for Brazilian waxing at Strip.

OMG! just realised i still have quite a few things to do..
I'm not trying to be kiasu but starting to feel worse and worse every day.While walking from Daiso to Spotlight in Plaza Sing this morning, my calves started cramping up.I was totally stunned as this kind of cramps usually happened in the past when i had been running for a long distance or when i try out a weird position in the bedroom.hahahah.

tiny bubu, ya ya our due is same date leh, somemore same Hospital & same gynae too! so qiao!! my last visit wif dr adrian i told him i wan to choose MT A he dun realli encourage to go there but i still insist going there lo...my cousin oso wif him choose MT A but she hv to go c-sec last min & MT A is full so go TMC...she told mi to choose MT A instead of TMC lo...she said MT A nurse is beter & dr onli visit u 1/day & the rest of the time is between u & nurse...so i guess i realli depend on yr luck ba! her sis deliver in bth MT A & TMC oso ask mi to choose MT A leh!

tiny bubu, making mi gun jiong leh...u so well organize huh...still got outstanding list...i even started to tink of it lo!

disposable panties, mi oso got mine at watson but is free size de not sure izzit will b too small f mi or not?? is beter to get COTTON type disposable panties as it is more comfy!

TubbyMummy,thank you.sure,i will update you after my next check up.Hope i can remeber to ask gynae ;p hehe .. Why you going for c-sec instead of normal delivery?

tiny, i was reading the birth plan. think it's common in UK/US/AU and maybe in hospitals here where the mummy is not local, cos for us not so common. my dutch friends also asked me to draw up a birth plan, but i dont think KKH will entertain. myabe nurses will scream at me if i pass them the list hehe
. i was reading the part about i'd like music/essential oils..ah i wish i can get. dont think i can even deliver standing up/squatting which is the most natural position and easier for mummy.

i jus received robinsons' mailer....

Sale starts from 26 March to 29 March...

Enjoy 20% off for Kidswear.
Cardmembers enjoy an additional 10% off.
Disney Baby, Goldbud, Krickets, Nike, Mon Bijou, Periwinkle, Petit Chou, Richigi, St Andrew, Teeny Tiny & more.

Enjoy 20% off for Nursery.
Cardmembers enjoy an additional 10% off. - Amedea, Aprica, Britax, Core kids, Graco, K's kids, Medela, Munckin, Nania, Nuby, NUK, Sassy & more...

Enjoy 30% off Safety 1st merchandise.
Cardmembers enjoy an additional 10% off.

Enjoy 20% off Toys, Baby Alive, Disney Princess, Fisher Price, Heros, Hotwheels, Leapfrog, Megabloks, Mellchan, Playskool, Thomas and Friends & V-Tech.

Caramelle : Dont worry about those meanies in KKH! you will be paying for your delivery so do whatever makes you feel comfortable. for me, it's better to draw up a birth plan because once i'm in labour, i might not be able to make a proper decision.i'm predicting a lot of screaming and vulgarities while pulling my man's collar and demanding for an epi.hahah.this is because even when my gynae tried to do a blood test earlier in my pregnancy,i started crying and got really scared even though my man was holding my hand and pushing my head into his tshirt to muffle my crazy woman crying.And if anybody screams at you at kkh, let me know.i will go down there and hammer them with my slipper....

Jam75 : how big is your baby now?mine's 1322g at 28 weeks.a bit big right???

tiny bubu, hahaha.. i got myself confused with this 2 brands. They look so similar (to me). I think lotion should be enough? unless baby is sleeping in air-con room.
You are so organised.. I just buy whatever I remember and didn't even write a note for it. I think I did write it but lost it somewhere..

I intending to wear disposable panties for the confinement period lo. Where got time to wash the panties and i'm trying to avoid water as much as possible other than bathing. Haha..

jam75, that's what i'm afraid of so usually i buy those with sizing instead of free size. Maybe you open up 1 to try it in case u can't wear it. I wonder is there any other places selling disposable panties, seems difficult to find them when u need it. Urghh...

i also wan to get J&J baby shampoo and shower leh... dunno to buy them or to buy another brand jus to play safe?

wat other brands do you all recommend??

tiny and jam, waaa... i am so envy with the 2 of you. My boy only weighs 1005g at 28 weeks and my hubby keeps nagging at me saying I eat too little. Better don't let him see this thread or else I will definitely getting more nagging from him.

jam75 : you know dr woodworth...he kept saying his standard "good good".

you're so lucky that your baby is in the average weight category.with mine, i'm worried about having to either deliver early or c-section if she keeps growing at this rate.

so that's why need to finish buying everything on my list...

audreyaw : i'm actually envious of you! i read in another thread that some mum gave birth naturally and a few days after she got discharged, she sat on the toiletbowl and put a mirror down there to check her stitching.

AND she said her vagina hole was so big that she could clearly see all the way inside.i felt so poor thing for her.

bbpotato, er... what is that for?

ahnetsan, i forgot what brand i bought. I didn't buy j&j since both of my kids didn't use them previously too. Later i try to search my bb stuffs and let u know. hee..

cassey, ur hubby is such a good student. and practise wat is taught. i don't get massages WBB style, i don't get reminders to rest every 20mins WBB style, but my bb gets her daddy to talk to her WBB style.

i don't think anybody will believe the room is clean cos we all sanitized our hands before coming in. haha! we didn't sanitize our clothings, our feet, our bags, etc... the class is interesting though, with some jokes and laughters. and i'm glad that kept my hubby awake throughout the course.

audrey, tink alot of plc got sell disposable panites, i saw at metro, JL, NTUC, but not sure got size wan or nt...like i said beter get cotton wan more comfy...hmm tink like wat u said beter open 1 of my disposable panties to try out sekali now every where expand i might not fit into it liow...hahaha

i tell my mom & sis dat my bb wt 1191g they stil comments Y SO small?? did i c wrongly bo!

Actually, for baby toiletries, i know MAH uses J&J head to toe wash for baby's hair and body.This is because it doesnt sud up as much as the others and gentle on baby's skin.

i also opened up a bottle of it at cold storage the other day and found that it smells really good.

so my personal decision is that since a hospital has deemed it ok to use on the babies,should be no problem for me.

but i understand all of your concerns because it's no point buying something we're not sure about.

blurmom : my bum is also very big.i think i will win jLo if she decides to challenge me....

jam75 : any idea about what dr woodworth thinks about cordbloodbanking?

MTBs,
just to share that some bath soaps are non-rinse. for 1st-time mums who kalang-kaboh with NBs, u may wana consider this. instead of trying to soap the baby then rinse the baby with clear water, double hardwork! instead, just squirt the non-rinse solution into the tub and bath baby inside, simple 1-step nia.

some highly recommended non-rinse baths are latacyd (used in TMC too, i believe) and sebamed bubble bath which i used. J&J has 1 non-rinse too, but i forgot the name.

Got this off e web

What are its Uses?
TCM believes that placenta helps to strengthen the body, builds up the immune system so that the body is less susceptible to flu or bacterial and viral infection. Because of this, from ancient times, placenta has been used to cure illnesses like lung infection and extended periods of cough.
Placenta also helps to prevent ailments caused by allergies like eczema and sinus problems.
Placenta contains high levels of hormones, thus it helps in contracting the womb, helps in the development of the breast glands, ovaries and uterus. For men, it helps to rectify problems like low sperm count and helps to stimulate the testicles.

TCM doctors also believe that blockage of milk ducts is caused by a stoppage/bloackge in blood and "qi" flow, consuming placenta helps to relieve this ailment.

tiny, haha he always tell mi is NORMAL or NOT TO WORRY...so sometime oso dun bother to ask him le...cos my cousin bb is underwt so my hb quite concern abt our bb wt so ask dr is our bb wt ok he say yes ave...hmm tink if we din ask him & tink bb is within is OK range he won't highlight to u!

jam75 : hahaha.yeah.same same.his answers are all so standard. as a first time mum i wanted to do the 3d scan.i asked him and told answered me not to waste my money and time.he said all babies look the same and he also can print out a 3d image of another baby and give it to me if i want.haahaha.then he told me his wife dint do it for all his 3 kids.

so now i want to find out if he's pro cord blood banking or whether he will tell me i should just donate.

omg, tiny bubu, i shiver when i read ur post -

"i read in another thread that some mum gave birth naturally and a few days after she got discharged, she sat on the toiletbowl and put a mirror down there to check her stitching.

AND she said her vagina hole was so big that she could clearly see all the way inside.i felt so poor thing for her."

dat really freaked me out leh....
scary sia

tiny, it's my mil telling my hubby she expects my bb to be at least 8 pounds so my hubby used that as a guide. But they don't understand is not up to me if bb going to gain that much or not. -.-

jam, is it? I went isetan, taka and OG but none of them selling or did i search at the wrong dept? Where do they usually put them?
I also intend to buy a pack first and try its size in case I can't wear them during delivery.
Haha.. they expect us to have a giant bb..

Blurmom, i always have a big bum so i am very worried about the panties since they are not as stretchable as normal ones. Before pregnant, I am already wearing size L so I am expecting to get XL with bigger cutting or XXL.

bbPotato, for eating? Er... I don't think I dare to put that into my mouth actually.

blurmom, mine hips oso getting bigger le...hv been wearing all those XL panties le some oso abit tight...hb comments i should get even bigger than XL lo but i tell him so far the biggest i found is XL le! sob sob! can't imagine i hv to wear XXXL!

tiny, hmm i din ask him abt cord blood thigy leh! everytime the scanning seems so gun jiong so i hardly ask anything!

ahnetsan : yeah, i also felt chills down my spine. but i think it could happen because

1) you're having something so big squeeze through your tiny vagina.

2) even if your gynae cuts you to make the opening bigger, he will stitch back only to the end of the vagina.so your vagina is left stretched.

i told my man about this and he looked at me and asked me "then how to have sex like that??". so ham sap can?

Blurmom, that got to depends how much flow you have. I changed about 3 hourly but the first time when u get off bed, it's better to get your hubby or nurse along. I almost blackout inside the toilet when i first got out of the bed, haha..
You better think twice of using looped pads. Inexperienced mummies will not be able to tie it tight and it will end up dripping on bed and floor when you start to move. Even nurses in ward are not really good in tying but I like the way delivery suite nurses tied, really wont drop down.

jam75, audreyaw, bubu,
My hips is already 38 inches wide! I scare later we sweat then the disposable panty tear.. I tot of wearing my sweat pants without knickers.. Easier to strip.. LOL

audrey, i always saw those disposable at panties area de! hmm if u can't find mayb can chk wif the sales thre...NTUC i oso saw leh!

tiny, din know he already got 3 kids le....sometime his reply quite funnie! so f those 1st time fussy mommy dun realli suitable to b wif him cos he realli v fast in QNA session! like rushing f train like dat...hahaha

audreyaw, yeah I will sure get my hubby or nurses along.. Cos I ever fainted in hospital toilet before.. its scary leh...

Those looped pads! I got this funny experience...
Both my hb and I are still laughing at times... That time, KKH gives me the pad and string then both my hb and I were struggling inside the toilet - trying to figure out how to get that pad stays and fit nicely...
After some tries, we managed to tied up properly and we walked out of the toilet... Then we saw my parents standing outside the toilet... Paisay like mad...

blurmom : better to buy disposable panties.watson's have xl and xxl.they also tell you for each size, what the hip / waist measurements are.

it's going to be difficult for me as well as i'm very used to wearing g strings or boyshorts.i dont have any normal undies but rather than stain the undies i have now, might as well buy a pack of disposables just for the hospital stay.

btw, i went to mothercare today to check on nursing wear and i realise their prices are really high.2 stupid normal looking nightshirts are $89.really cut throat man!

Blurmom, hahaha.. as for tearing, only my finger nails did occasionally tear a little of the disposable pantie when i try to pull it down in toilet. As for sweating, it didn't tear mine down. Hee..