(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

thanks hapeverafter... den i think i will get the vouchers from my fren.
since can be used at baby fair

TubbyMummy - great! ya think it's more worth it to join as a member and get the free pack of huggies.

Re: New Laptop
Need to get one there too... HB will make the decision since I don't wana squeeze with the crowd there. The Net Tops are quite affordable now, plus it runs on Windows XP which is so much better!!!

Vibe- thanks! I think Tangs has the IQ Steriliser at $159 (plus Tangs card rebate) So it's cheaper if you don't need any of the bundled items in the manual steriliser.

<font color="0077aa">tiny_bubu, I, for one, am pro-Moses' Basket!! =) Not for bb to sleep in at night, but to bring him out in the day - especially to church and to mum's or other homes. I've got a Snuggle Sleeper too - which should fit alright in our King sized bed... (So that I can just throw a melon into it when he needs feeding *kekeke*). We're intending to shift bb into his playpen-cum-sleeper once he's ready. My Moses' basket is different tho- it's not one of those tiny cushy ones for newborns, but a long large basket for which I buy my own bedding for make snug for bb. I hope this helps.

neeciel, yup... those weighty pillows are a comforting weight on bb's stomach or back when they sleep...

First Mum, sis is officially full term as of yesterday
Her obgyn visit declared her girl to be 2.7kg. Now we wait!

Everyone's buying bb stuff.. Admire you all for lugging your bumps around and braving the crowds!

Haven't seen bbjun around in a while... Where are you!? Hope you're ok!

BabyEthan, no leh, it says 15% discount and prices shown are before discount. but i didnt ask anyone, maybe will ask when im going to buy. better confirm before bring to counter than decide not to buy.

hapeverafter, can get the co-sleeper (if you're referring to snuggle nest all that) at taka/robinson.

ahnetsan, the card can apply on the spot and get within 4 hours (this is according to tiny bubu, but i applied mine yest and taking on sat cos i went about 8+ at night yest). must pay $15 for the card for 3 years.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000"><blink>WEST'IES GATHERING TODAY!</blink></font></font> <font color="aa00aa">(All June MTBs pls feel free to drop by and say Hi)

Date: Friday, 13th March 2009
Time: 7pm &amp; after
Venue: McDonalds, Jurong Point (Boon Lay MRT)

Attendees - Nozomi, Jam75, Chidori, caramelle, Cassey, *Ling, *Mika Rei, *creamer, *Katelee
<font color="ff0000">Any cancellations or further confirmations, pls SMS me, girls!</font>

~Organiser: Cassey</font>

<font color="0077aa">p.s. thanks to createjoy, dovey, creamer, nozomi, Ling and others for PM update!</font>

Has anyone taken alook at the Graco Playpen at Taka Fair? Do u find it better than the one at Isetan little Tots fair?

Caramelle- so what are u going to grab tmr?? hehee

<font color="0077aa">Ling, is your email up and working yet? I would be utterly miserable if I had to work so late. I'm glad the colleagues on my side of the office like to leave ON THE DOT. Haha... Instead of packing up and shutting things down at knock-off time, we lock up the place at knock-off time! Heehee... First time I've seen such a 'culture' but thumbs up!!

>> I HAVE been washing each time - but only with water now. I'm thinking maybe it's the antibiotics too...? Hmm... If it persists, I'll have to call ob-gyn and see if I should get any cream or what-not. I'm so looking fwd to finally meeting u in person tonight. Hope you get off work early and have a restful wkend!

sweethalo, are you fully recovered now?

caramelle, are you feeling better? Will I still be looking out for a crawling MTB?

sweethalo, i was thinking initially the medela pump! but now not so sure. maybe the beddings and i really really want to get an aprica stroller but at 1000+ if i can't pay by credit card, i lugi the points. so wondering if the $100 savings off can mitigate my lost points. hehe..and also must see if hubby can agree. i think he likes it, but that would make it our second crazy investment in a stroller. the brown ones are so nice and so light, compared to the bugaboo i have now - nice but NOT LIGHT!

maybe also grab other small things like tongs for bottle, warmer and toiletries. i actually have quite a fair bit of taka vouchers which i was saving2 for this, then if cannot use like so wasted.

Cassey, yes I am getting better thank you! and was so happy i could roll out of bed this morning. usually im reeling in pain. so looking fwd to tonight and i won't be crawling..hehe. now must find the shortest route from punggol to boon lay, not via outram cos scared from outram to boon lay no seats!

I went to apply the card yesterday and read that applications rec'd after 4pm, collection of the taka card will be the next day @ customer service lvl 2. Before 4pm you can get it immediately.

So please take note that if you are applying for the card and wish to take it immediately, must go earlier.

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, yeah, I was reading abt your shopping and thinking, thank God for keeping you from harm! Admire your energy levels. I've been SO SO tired lately even the crowd on the train dismays me, much less at any fair. Should have gone with Tubbym~, then you both can look out for each other!

caramelle, I'm glad you sound heaps better. Actually a few of us should meet earlier huh? To avoid the peak hour traffic... But I kinda thought if we meet earlier, we might be ready to call it a night by the time some of the working MTBs arrive... Now I'm thinking... Hot fudge sundae...? or Yami Yogurt?! *grin*

Tubbym~, talk abt looking out for you... haven't seen you mention any further spells of dizziness and breathlessness. Have they gone away? Good on your ob-gyn for his keen-ness if that's the case!

Pinkiez, pardon me if you've said before and I didn't notice ah. This is your first bb right? Are you a working MTB?

intending to go get the car seat ...
saw Safety First car seat selling at $219. can let 3 mths baby till 36kg kids sit ...
And mayb get the combi rocker cum bouncer - price at $279

cassey, I m still ard. Just more busy with work and managing some ridiculous requests and ppl up there that takes up more time recently. But still reading the thread regularly.

Recovering from flu. Was better until my boss sneeze big big in front of me wihtout covering her big mouth yesterday. Now, having a slight relapse but just a minor headache. Dun understand why she can't cover her mouth!!!

Hope you all have a good gathering tonight. I am so looking fwd to the end of the day. It's been a crazy week at work and I can't wait to go trim n dye my hair with hb tomorrow.

First mum, I oso saw a thread dat dr Adrian suggest mommy to go tmc!

Tinybubu, mi oso wif dr Adrian so far I din ask him to comments on MT A &amp; TMC but most likely I hv set my mind to go MT A le….hmm tink I won’t ask him which 1 beter since u &amp; ling already ask the same que and bth ans he gave is TMC .

Ling, so aftall u hv decided on tmc liow izzit?? Hmm my cousin oso wif dr adrian &amp; will getting c-sect soon…she choose MT A leh…cos her sis oso wif Dr Adrian &amp; her 2 son oso delivered at MT A she commented dat MT A is gd leh!

<font color="0077aa">bbjun, Yay! Hubby's back!! He's getting his hair done too, or just bringing you? How long will he be back for this time round?
You sneeze back at your boss!
If can't muster a sneeze, then cough in her face. Heehee... that was really rude. My children do that all the time - but they are children. Your TMC WBB classes have ended, is it?

jam75, he's known for that leh.. he hasn't said anything to you yet? He only delivers at those two hospitals, is it?
I hear so many ppl saying week 26-28 already, must decide which hospital and book by this time. I'm into Wk 29 and haven't booked any hospital yet. Does it mean if you don't book, they won't accommodate you? Hmm... I'm only hoping to make a firm decision by about Wk 34-36...

*scary thought... 8 wks to full term...*

cassey, yup 1st bb girl. Olso a working MTB. With the baby coming along, can't afford to not work. haha ...

I'm going to get the Avent sterilizer today. It seems to be a better deal than Isetan's pigeon sterilizer package. Problem is I bought those big nuk nuk glass bottles already. Not sure if they will be able to fit the Avent sterilizer.

cassey, ya he delivers in MT A &amp; tmc onli...he hasn't said anything abt hospital to mi yet...izzit hv to decide by wk 26-28?? i dunno wo now i wk 27 le....u know his pattern realli super fast in every scan de wonder izzit bcos i din ask so he oso nv ask mi to choose...hmm tink 2moro my appt mayb i should chk wif him....abt supplement i oso dunno cos he din tell mi at all till saw u gals tok abt fish oil etc!

tubbym,
allow me to share my joy with me.

i finally bot my maxi cosi and babysafe mattress at taka this morning and both are such steals! maxi cosi was $298, 10% off for taka card and 6% voucher rebate. im such a happy woman today!

for those who still need to buy big items and hold taka card, pls make a trip down, the 10% is for almost everything! even discounted items! im impressed.

caramelle,
yea, i dont have a v gd experience with all these foreign nurses. first, they have language barrier, then they are quite blur. i still prefer the sporean aunty nurses, but not many of them around. i almost wanted to deliver at ESH cos its a stones throw fr my plc, but decided i'll stick to my previous gynae and TMC.

MOSES BASKETS
i love those! but doubt they can last beyond 5 mths. so didnt set aside a budget for it.

Me taking lunch now while reading thru the posts. Made my own rice with fried egg and luncheon meat. Haven't had food like this in a loooong time! So happy!

Cassey, haven't felt any further bouts of breathlessness/giddiness. I'm happy for that, but I'm still wondering what caused those few episodes. Maybe it really was a sudden shift in blood pressure sort of thing. Now I have new problems. I've been waking up with a numb left arm for the past week. Not all out numb, but pins &amp; needles sort of numb, like maybe I slept on the arm for just a bit too long. It doesn't hurt, but feels a bit weak. I've had no change in my sleep patterns/positions, so I'm not sure what's causing it. In the past 2 days, my it's happening to my right arm too, so I didn't even dare to drive yesterday, in case both arms decide to give up on me suddenly.

bbjun, why is your boss so gross?? U better avoid her... Anyway today Fri, so don't have to be around her germs over the weekend, and can look forward to having nice hair instead! Enjoy your hair treat!

jam75, I also came across the same comments in other threads that Dr Adrian always recommends ppl to go TMC. Maybe he just has better rapport with the staff there? I wondered the same thing about my doc, that maybe he prefers MAH only because he has better rapport with the nurses there or something. But I like that my doc kept emphasizing to me that I have to choose what I like best, cos it doesn't matter what he prefers, and in fact he looked a little reluctant to say which hospital he prefers, in case that swayed my decision. And he did not say anything bad about TMC or MEH. So I just chose what I was comfortable with lor, and it happened to be MAH, and when I briefly told him about it, he just smiled and said "good choice".

First Mum,
<font color="ff0000">YAY!!</font> So the $298 was before or after the additional 10% and 6%?? And how much did u end up paying for the Babysafe mattress? Regardless, really good steals!! So happy right? Hehe... I read about it also feel happy haha.

tubbymummy, hmm i hope when i tell him i wanna to choose MT A he won't ask mi to choose tmc...hehehe

re taka card....wonder if i use taka voucher 10% f taka card still applicable or not?? if still can hv add 10% discount then tink is worth to apply f it...if not then i will juz use the voucher to pay will do!

Wah, u all suddenly made me remember I also got Taka voucher!! not a lot lah, maybe $40-50, but still must use what. Maybe I go down next week, I think weekend sure super crowded.

<font color="0077aa">pinkiez, what can I say? Cassey here is a clever little cookie!!

jam75, I think a lot of ppl use him cos he's at TMC... I just realised. *bit slow huh?* I saw some MTBs already paid deposit to their delivery hospitals of choice neh. I don't really care... I think I'll wait. If anything suddenly happens in the meantime, I guess it'll be Gleneagles. Haha...

>> WHOA! You're super well-organised neh. You know, actually, I not even sure how much your purchases come up to. I just neatened the blankets and bibs, then chucked the printout from her into the bag. I'm just gonna bring it in the bag she gave it to me in ok? Cos chidori's item and mine are quite small... so me lazy to repack. *oops* Will see later huh!

Tubbym~, perhaps your ob-gyn was right and it was to do with blood pressure going up - so the daily dose of aspirin prescribed has helped? WRT to the hand numbness, perhaps it's the carpel tunnel syndrome I posted on here for LFB weeks ago. Water retention of the hands that causes tingling and numbness. It's supposed to be part and parcel of pregnancy - relieve by elevating arms, massage, reducing sodium intake and upping water intake...

jam75, just be firm and tell him your decision lor. My gynae delivers at a number of hospitals... I asked him his preferences when it comes to delivery hospitals and he gave me 3 choices. The one your dr prefers was not on the list... heehee...

Digressing from sales and hospitals, anyone else suffering from vaginal itching?
My research says it seems quite a common ailment especially around weeks 28-32, eh.

cassey, ok any bag will do &amp; tks alot f helping mi to take my items...i wanna t prepare $$ 1st so later juz pass u $$ no nid so mafan hv to calcuate! hee hee...so dis way easier f bth of us!

hmm so yr dr 3 choices is wat huh? hahahaa!

talking abt vaginal itching...i dun haf, but i notice my discharge is yellowish-greenish at times. other times is clear... dunno got infection or not.

ahnetsan, my discharge is like almost everyday yellowish-greenish de tink as long as it not itching should b ok ba! dis is wat i tot so lo! cos i oso dun bother to ask gynae cos any que to him reply is NORMAL!

ok cos i also ignore it, until i read a book says it cld be vaginal infection, but its not itchy... so i also dunno whether it's normal or not.

<font color="0077aa">jam75, Mt E, GlenE and Mt A. Actually Adelene (Khaw) asked if our orders were correct. I told her I'm only meeting to pass it to you girls in March and no doubt she'll hear from us if something isn't quite right. But seriously, after looking at all the bibs on the thread, I can't even remember which were the ones I ended up choosing.

>> My mum keeps nagging at me not to buy "so much" stuff cos ppl will give at bb's first month celebrations. Sigh.
I haven't even bought much except for the big ticket stuff and 3 second hand bundles of clothes.
The only new clothes my boy has to date was purchased by my mum herself on holiday lor.
I only bought 3 new plain white and blue tops for home wear.</font>

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, my discharge has never been freaky coloured. But since the itching, on full days of work, I notice a bit of yellow on liner. Tt's why I'm starting to wonder if it's thrush or something... but no odour tho. Hmm...

Tubbym~, I was on antibiotics for the cough and stuffy nose... not for a prob down under. I wondered if antibiotics can cause such a side effect...? *frown*

jam75, I'm fairly sure itching is less of a concern than strange coloured discharge, you know. I read a number of websites yesterday, usually itching is more of a nuisance to mum and doesn't pose much of a risk to bb as infection rarely travels up to the uterus. I think you should bring it up to gynae. I usually just ask: "<state prob> - normal or not?" and leave ob-gyn to expound to me.

Oooh!! OOOOooohHH! I didn't mention! Apparently sex is supposed to help with the itching cos of lower pH level of semen. Heehee...!</font>

i jus wrote down on the paper abt yellowish-greenish discharge... gg to ask my gynae on my next visit. *cross fingers*, hopefully it's nothing serious.

<font color="0077aa">Excerpt: It's normal to have more discharge while you're pregnant than before you conceived. What's key is that this type of discharge is usually clear or white and odorless. You should not have itching or significant vulvar irritation. The presence of yellow or green discharge plus bad odor, external or internal irritation, or itching can all indicate vaginitis. Your practitioner can evaluate vaginal secretions if the cause of the infection is unclear.

Full article at http://www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,5984,00.html

with the 10% taka discount card, should be able to still use the voucher for payment cos it's like cash right? but they are quite strict about the cash/nets payment thing so better to check.

Cassey, yes, taking antibiotics for other stuff can lead to yeast infection which may be why there's the itching. One of my friends, whenever she takes amoxicillin (used for treating ear infections, pneumonia etc), she ends up with yeast infection. You may wanna check with doc?

cassey, aft wat u wrote i beter highlight to my gynae abt yellowish discharge then...since i m going down to c him 2moro!

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, thanks for that clarification! It's a bit of a relief to know. There are good days and bad days... I just completed my course on antibiotics on Wed so I'm giving it time to clear up. If it still persists, I'll get in touch with my obgyn.
THANKS again!

Ooooo... time to go for my pedicure soon, then to meet up with the ladies!
I hope today's turnout is good - like Gloria Jeans!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">All June MTBs, SURVEY OF INTEREST IN CENTRAL GATHERING @ VIVO / RAFFLES CITY / BUGIS

I'm thinking of either a Thu/Fri in April, in the evening (6-ish?) so working MTBs can attend.

Those interested, kindly pm me with the following info pls -
1. Your thread nick (if different from your username)
2. Your available days of week and/or dates in April
3. Preferred venue and/or type of eatery/cuisine (e.g fast food, food court, kenny rogers, swensens, japanese, etc.)

Thanks!</font>

<font color="0077aa">jam75, that's prob a good idea. Yippee! Can get update on bb again
And yeah, keep us posted as to what he says.
If he says it's normal, ermm.. good. If it isn't, then good if he can give you something to clear it up! </font>