(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Hi I'm from Jan 2009 thread. I have a Brand new Medela Mini Electric for sale, with a 3 pack of medela bottles absolutely free!

The pump alone retails at $193.90 and the bottle pack at $31.50. I am letting go the brand new package for just $150 and will deliver to any MRT station. Thats a saving of over $70!!!
Conatct me on 93223995 if keen thanks =)

Good morning all MTBS!!

Ms. Cas_sey.. hmm gotten rememeber how to pronounce yr name, if not gana hump tam next time. hee. Wana thank you again on the effort to fix the westies gathering (even thou i dun stay west) and sure to the central gathering! Add me in! I tot Fri is nice at least end of the week more relax.. But this time round prob we can make an adv booking for a eating place under the name of "mummy junies' keke..
Mayb Han's will be nice, variety mix of chinese and western with economical price.

This time round for central gathering, hope we can have a Mega Mummies Meet up (haha, like those car forum meet up, also say mega .. say target at more than 20??) *open eyes big*

Nice meeting last nite 8 mummies up! yeah, the miss tofu skin really *envy* leh. So fair & smooth.. Hardly will get insect bite cos they jus could not hold on to her skin even for a sec? Agree? kekeke..

anyone going to the baby bazaar at pan pac today?? the crowd going to suntec will be quite high too due to IT show so i not going down...

bought my ameda pump at isetan private sale le... today until 23 mar it's going at $350, free with additional bottle, nipple shield and also nipple cream.. i bought it on thurs since tot i won't be going down to pan pac today..

been feeling increasingly tired this week. can hardly keep awake at noon time. having backache too..

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, SOUNDS GOOD!!! I'll pm you k? I'm clearing leave most of next week cos it's the school hols and lessons are suspended for the week =) I must make sure I - I mean, YOU get some yogurt into your system.

bbjun, you very kua zhang leh. Need so much energy to keep eyes from rolling...! Your eye balls sound a little like a pair of 'bu4 dao3 wong1's
Now you not just have a MIL from hell, but also a boss from the same region! Hubby must nurture you all the more.

creamer, you silly woman, type with a super lot of typos leh. I envy Miss Tofu's skin too, plus I covet your height and build, covet both your compact low-riding bumps!! Oh dear, "thou shalt not covet"! Thanks for getting my nick right! Kekeke
What HUN TUM!? I wasn't rude abt it eh! I'm just a pretty candid person. *emphasis on PRETTY... Hahaha! Not!* =P
for anyone who's wondering, pls note "Cassey" is spelt with double 's', so local pronounciation key: 'care-see' and NOT 'kay-see' hor, thank you very much!

>> I'm more keen on Thursday cos like Tubbym mentioned in her pm, Fridays are typically very crowded in central areas. Plus some MTBs have Fri as date/family night. So Thursday seems like a good balance... not mid-week, but not Fri peak ma!

Tubbym~, Ling, thankfully the itch down under appears to be subsiding. It only wakes me less than 5 times a night to kinda apply a bit of pressure on it to ease the itching. Shouldn't be a big prob. I'm going to attribute it to the antibiotics &amp; hope it ceases over the weekend.

My boy's been kicking rhythmically all morn - thump, thump! He must feeling high from last night's Yami

Didn't have breakfast before going in to work. SO HUNGRY NOW. Having Ritz Bits cheese &amp; Milo... Aaahhh...

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, seriously. There aren't any outlets in the East!!! How can that be?! I'd think they should look into opening one at Parkway and Tampines Mall!

Chevron House #B1-K1
Choa Chu Kang MRT Station
Icon Village 12 Gopeng Street #01-30
Junction 8 #B1-K5
Le Meridien 100 #01-02
Square 2 #01-15
Suntec City 3 #B1-K4
Plaza Singapura #B2-08
Jurong Point 1 #B1-03</font>

cassey, haha.. sorry for being a scrambling spider this time round. mayb i'm too IT-dependent. thought already look slightly ahead by broadcasting my attendance here before most of the attendees start heading to JP. will look even further ahead next time. my mail server is back, after 3 days of downtime. and i've saved all 10 of your numbers down. will pm you on the central gathering.

amk_gal, me feeling worn out easily too. like back in 1st tri. can barely keep my eyes open in the afternoons. and yes, backaches too. every morning when i wake up. i need to get out of bed, walk around, or sit up supporting my back with cushions before it goes away.

<font color="0077aa">Mika~, haha!! Once bitten twice shy. Good girl! Saved our numbers... surely one of the 10 will be there for the gathering right?! Seriously, sometimes it's frustrating when the technology we've come to depend on fails us. Then again, I'll try to reduce my frustration by telling myself it's my own fault - to think it can be trusted. I'm a tech-phobe!

YAY! Can knock off soon!!</font>

Care-see:
GASP!! No outlets in the east!! This is some serious bit of discrimination going on! Hrmph. Guess Suntec is kinda the closest to my neck of the woods then, will keep that in mind. Where do u prefer? You email or SMS me what's a good time for you ok? I've disabled my PM here.

Went and signed up for Stemcord this morning. Glad that I've gotten one more thing out of the way. Now wondering if I should take up on stem cell transplant insurance offered by Manulife. Haiyoh. Why are there so many things to consider?? Just when I thought comparing child medical insurance was enough of a headache.

BTW, I remember someone (was it caramelle?) mentioned that it costs $20k+ to retrieve cord blood in future. I asked the Stemcord people, and they told me that retrieval is free if you're with Stemcord (so prob same for Cordlife). But for others, in future if u would like to look for a stem cell donor, then yes, it could cost up to $20k+ to look for a suitable donor (perform many tests etc) and to retrieve that matching stem cell. Just general info for all. This does not affect whether u should still donate to SCBB or not, cos whether u may need donor stem cells in the future has absolutely nothing to do with donating now.

Oh, and if anyone is in a mixed-race marriage, chances of finding a matching donor stem cell in public banks for your mixed race child may be a lot lower, so if can afford, better to store in private bank. (as advised by Stemcord)

Jackie, pity I didn't get a chance to meet up with you, but thanks a lot anyway!

Cassey, i tot too heavy, jus ordered another husk pillow from BP...haiz dunno wats the right weight, lost!!

it's me doing my usual OT.. no time to read all archive yet.. but just to share that the taka promo for 10% cardmember disc is only applicable till tomorrow.. i went yesterday and traffic was good, lots of ample car park lots, think becos of IT show.. so tomorrow should be fine too

and cassey, re the central gathering.. i should be going.. depends on the date.. no pref at the moment.. as for the venue, prefer bugis.. raffles need to erp.. vivo not so centralised for me.. btw, i work in changi and stay in amk..

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, thanks for the info on stemcord. I've so taken a break from any preparation for bb's arrival for so many months now. Sigh. Need to get my act together soon before the fella pops.

neeciel, I've got two husk pillows. Bought one on my own and my sis got me the second with a customised cover.
What do you mean don't know what's the right weight? Of the pillow?! Are there differing weights?! *gasp*

fat_mom, it's hard to please everyone, isn't it. Many taking public transport have different preferences from those who plan on driving. Bugis and Raffles City both are within the restricted area. Entry to Bugis before 7pm is still a WHOPPING $3. Add parking charges to that and you're looking at about $5+. If ERP is such a concern, the best I can do is advice you to leave the car at home and grab a cab or train like Tubbym~ &amp; I do respectively. Alternatively, you may want to consider parking at a Park &amp; Ride carpark of your convenience.

<font color="aa00aa">All responding to central gathering survey,
As and when I find the time to, I will be collating survey data <u>based on PMs received</u>.
I haven't the luxury of time to be trawling thru archives of posts in search of relevant info in random posts by various ppl.
As such, I appreciate ur understanding &amp; cooperation when I request you kindly <u>drop me a pm in the format requested</u>. Thanks
bbjun &amp; Mika Rei, your pm's are received &amp; noted with thanks!

went to the Taka fair finally! The traffic was good, but the crowd over at the fair was scary! So many pple! Almost all the booths were crowded and with some parents pushing their prams and strollers, the walking space are just limited! Anyway, I got what I wanted and was really happy. My loots!

1. Babysafe latex mattress and mattress protector(cost me total $170 after discount, saving of more than $80!)
2. Pigeon bottle brush
3. Medela storage bags and 3 small storage bottles
4. Towels
5. Nappy shields
6. Cotton balls
7. Changing mat
8. 3 pigeon komono tops

The discount was really good, esp the latex mattress! I sent them for delivery and will expect them this Thursday! Yahoo!

I also walked over to Aussino to get their comforter set, consisting of side bumper, fitted sheets, bolster, pillow and comforter. Let hubby choose cos want him to be involve in it too.

For those yet to visit the fair and you hold Taka card, pls go tmr! The extra 10% discount is indeed worthwhile! I am glad I went today! BUt will drop by again this monday since I am meeting a friend for lunch.

I just managed these 2 places and I am so tired liao! Cannot tahan anymore and took the train back! But of cos I stood throughout cos no one bother to give up seats. I already see open!

LFB, i also see open about people giving up seats on trains... well, this is singapore.

there's pigeon kimono tops at taka?? is it the yellowish one? didn't see any when i was there on thurs..

As for mattress, i bought from mums n babes. same price as kiddy palace, so just bought from convenient place. bought the foam one with ventilation holes, only to come home, pick up a magazine which says the holes are actually not necessary.. and it cost $10 more than those without holes.. argh. waste money again.

anyone looking to buy Goo.N diapers? can buy from GMarket. no delivery charge, and cheaper than diapers.com.sg for now.. not sure if it is a limited promotion or what.. order 3 packets of NB diapers today. plus 1 packet of fitti and 1 packet of mamypoko, i think it should be enough to last me through the first month..

hi cassey,
sure will pm u.. for bugis, for those driving.. i usually park at raffles hospital.. no need to go thr cbd.. and car park cheaper i think.. like $2 per entry after 5 or 6pm if i am not wrong.. so usually i park there and walk less than 5 mins to bugis

one of my relatives will be giving me the cot.. do u think it is necessary to get a new set of mattress, pillows etc..

as for sales, my friend just remind me that good fri and easter are round the corner.. usually robinson and tangs and maybe taka will hv promo for cardmembers.. if i recall correctly, robinsons always hv 20% disc for cardmembers nearer to hols..

hi Tubbymummy, it was me who was concerned abt the retrieval cost. thanx for chkg it out from them. ok.. such a relieve. so it doesn't cost us anything if we are retrieving our own stock but it will cost $20k+ if we are not retrieving our own stock but are finding a match fr others. tat sounds so much better. heard from a fren that someone paid $600+ to collect the cord blood but after that, was told that the cord blood was contaminated during the collection so they'll hv to give up, and that $600+ is non-refundable. sigh.. such are the risks.

fat mom , ya for hygiene reasons change the mattress &amp; pillows... i'm tking pass dwn from sis. she say hers is wipe clean dunno what she means no need buy new. so i see how later lor but i'm definitely getting new mattress cvr, pillows &amp; bolsters.

just bought bb cupboard from giant,very cheap leh one at $33 another at $49. it's blue,red &amp; yellow color door with white finishing. last week got promotn cheaper by $9 but hb drag and i forgot got date so lugi... hb assembling now. face so black i didnt warn him the cupboard 33kg x 1, 13kg x 1... he carry alone as we stay on 4th flr no lift. i didnt notice the weight when i went to survey mah...
but i like it colorful &amp; cheap lor. MIL come back scold so late still knocking :p already told him tomolo wat for my dad to come help assemble he dont listen cos already piss with the weight thing.

oh thanks for the MT A promo website! but not showing the one i seen earlier leh. anyway i guess can only ask wn admission.

hey strange leh since thur my bb kick much softer &amp; lesser thought suppose to be harder but at least more kick tonight than yday.. i almost wanted to go hosp wn he finally started a series of kick after i sat 1.5hr! wonder i block nose will he have less oxygen so less active or not...? is 3rd trimester suppose to be less active cos no space? i just entering 27th wk only leh...

for those who need to buy more maternity clothes..
do heard down to belly sima clearance sale on 28th feb
tops at $10/ $15, bottoms at $15, dresses at $20
http://www.bellysima.com/INDEX.HTM
bought a dress, 2 tops and 1 bottom at $60

createjoy,
my gal was also kicking soft yesterday (she always box/ kick me but she was just pushing around yesterday).. got a bit paranoid too.. gynae told me to go down to TMC.. in the daddy tried to coax her and she started to kick around a little.. read on internet sometimes they have shifted their position and kicks may not feel as strong..

fatmom, it's best to get new mattress and bedding. The cot itself, u can wipe down with Dettol or something to clean and disinfect, but there's no way u can disinfect mattresses/pillows etc, so it's always recommended that you buy brand new. Even if the mattress was hardly used, it may have picked up unseen nasty stuff like mites or whatever, while in storage.

Mika, ahhh... so it was you
Ya, what the lady said was that with private bank, retrieval is free, but with public bank, since you have to test many samples before finding a match (if any), the retrieval could come up to a hefty sum. I'm not sure if this cost is covered by insurance. But yes, if end up the cord blood is not suitable for storage for whatever reasons (contamination, quality of the cord blood etc), then they will charge a "processing" fee of $600, and refund u the balance (so if u paid $800 to enroll, u will get back $200). But if no cord blood was collected at all, maybe cos some emergency arose, and obviously the doc's priority is to attend to you/baby, and NOT collect cord blood, then you will get full refund of everything you've paid. I opted to have mine deducted from baby bonus, so have not paid a single cent so far.

Diapers:
As mentioned by amk_gal, go check out Gmarket. If u're looking at buying Huggies Ultra diapers, it's only $4.40 per pack (24pcs)!! It's the cheapest u can find anywhere, and they will deliver to u, even if u order just one pack. Think quite a few ladies from the May thread have ordered and received their stuff already.

Can I check if anybody here has signed up with cordlife?
I went for the talk at pan pac yesterday with my man and the cordlife people mentioned that if i know anybody who is a cordlife member, i get a one time $50 off!!

Also, which do you think is better - Stemcord or Cordlife?

Sorry to interrupt mummies...i have the following for sale:

1. Pigeon Fridge to go (Totally new) - selling at $40 with free 3 pcs of pigeon storage bottles worth $15+

2. Lucky Baby warmer (used once) - bought at $34.90 selling at $25.00

Self collect at Geylang or Sembawang, PM me for details please.

Cassey, i bought a husk pillow weighs about 150g and the one i bought from kidzloft weigh at least 500g i guess... isnt it too heavy for a new born?

tiny bubu,
my friend went for the cordlife talk, while I went for stemcord, and when we compared "notes" last night, we find that they both offer almost exactly the same thing. From what I know, if u take up on Cordlife's 10-yr package that was offered yesterday at panpac, it works out to be a wee bit cheaper than Stemcord. But on a normal basis, when Cordlife is not having a super offer for their packages, Stemcord is cheaper. Guess the main difference is that Cordlife is accredited by AABB, while Stemcrod isn't, they just work according to AABB criteria, and Stemcord was the first private cord bank approved in Sin by MOH. I think most people just sign up with either based on who's having a better offer at the moment

Tubbymummy : Thanks for the tip. Have you decided on which plan tot take up with Stemcord.I'm deciding between the resillience plan and the Anuual Plan.10yrs &amp; 21 yrs is a bit too much for me.hehehe.

At the Cordlife talk yesterday, they were giving a one time $400 off,right? But we realised later on that the Thomson FBI membership offers a discount of $450.Sounds like a better deal. =]

Still undecided at the moment.

Any mummies here are already Cordlife members?

tiny bubu, I signed up with Stemcord yesterday. $800 enrolment fee (usual $1280) which includes 1st yr storage, 2nd yr onwards $250 per yr. I was referred, so my 2nd yr fees will be $200 instead ($50 off). Mine is renewed yearly, they did not offer me any 10-yr package or whatever, so everything was pretty straightforward. This works out to be $3k for 10 yrs. If I manage to refer other customers along the way, I'll get $50 off for each customer. I decided to just go with Stemcord because Cordlife seems to be having different promotions all the time (e.g. over CNY, they had a $2,888 promo for 10yr plan, Christmas they had different promo, etc.) and I was getting too confused trying to catch up with what the current promo was haha. I didn't wanna take up on some promo, only to realise that 1mth later they hv an even cheaper promo, leaving me to feel very bang. Besides, I don't have FBI card for discount.

Think some here have signed up for Cordlife already. Don't remember who though.

hi tubbymummy &amp; createjoy,
thanks.. think i will get new set afterall.. though my relative say hers is brand new..

re baby kicks,
i used to get baby kicks around 2am and 5am each night.. knew the timing cos i am a light sleeper so usually when she kicks, i cant sleep.. but on fri night.. she didnt kick at all for almost 12 hrs.. i also panicked.. then i turn on the babyplus.. finally got response.. though still relatively weak.. so i think as long as got some movements should be ok.. my hubby say i so hard to please.. too many kicks also cannot, few movements also upset

First Mum,

It's call Babysafe Waterproof cover. Original price is $23.8, but yesterday Taka got 20%+10%(Taka member) so end up quite ok, think abt $17 only.

Createjoy, Fatmon,

ya, I also get abit paranoid about baby movement. I kept reminding myself to lookout for kicks and movement. Hee hee, think we are all alike!

tubbymummy : thanks for the tip.with have a talk with my man to see what he thinks!

createjoy / lfb : i'll be 28weeks on 17 march 2009. right now, my baby girl kicks so hard i can see my stomach moving.i also can detect her patterns because i'm a light sleeper as well.

sometimes, when i dont feel her kick, i take orange juice or coke and within 10minutes, she starts kicking and i feel relieved.

sigh, i have finished buying the necessities for my baby already that now whenever i go shopping, i tend to pick up useless things like extra blankets,clothes and toys.need to start restraining myself!!!

Thanks for sharing, yday my boy finally back to his strong series of kicks like his normal routine at 2am. yeah i love to see "rocky waves" on my tummy!

createjoy : when i'm getting ready to fall asleep,i'm not sure why my baby is kicking.

do you think it is because my baby is finding a comfortable position to sleep in or it's just my baby being irritating and trying to keep her mummy awake?hahaha

good to hear that createjoy..
tinybubu,
my gal also does not like me to sleep on my sides.. she kicks me whenever i do that.. no chocie but to sleep on my back..

chidori : isnt sleeping on your back a bad thing?i've read in many pregnancy books that it's no good for your spine.

Please be careful.I wouldnt want you to hurt yourself.

tinybubu,
yupz.. the best is sleep on right side.. what to do? naughty gal.. just got to prop with pillow lor..

createjoy,
may I know which giant u bought ur cupborad from? cannot find in pioneer mall one.. can post a pic for me?

chidori, think I read somewhere that sleeping on the left is actually the best. Something about the liver being on the right side, so when we lie on the right, the whole weight of baby/uterus weighs down and impedes liver function... And supposedly sleeping on left improves blood circulation to heart and baby.

I've been waking up with numb arms, and I'm wondering if it's because of sleeping on my back. Thankfully so far baby does not dictate which side I sleep on, but I am by nature a back sleeper, so regardless of how many times I wake at night to turn myself to the side, I always wake up on my back. And in the morning, both my arms are numb.

hi Cassey, gd to know u gals had a gd time catching up last Fri nite at JP. Was most unfortunately that I was down &amp; unable to make it. Thanks for putting together another gathering, hope to be able to join once u have firmed it up

hi tinybubu, i signed up with cordlife for the 21-yr plan earlier this year
My sis, best fren, cousin, and another gd fren (who just delivered this month) also signed up :p

joyce : thanks for the info.is this your first child?

tubbymummy : yes i read that too.left side is better.i've been doing my best to sleep on the left side but it's impossible to lie on one side the whole night.so no choice, need to sleep on the right side as well. =]

just had a craving for french toast and milo.made myself a few slices.now feeling guilty because i should watch what i eat....

tinybubu, don't worry too much, french toast and milo sound pretty decent still, so just be happy that you satisfied a craving. Now I feel like having french toast! Hehe... Earlier I felt like having spanish tortilla (also because I only have eggs and potatoes at home now hahaha), but I didn't wanna consume so many eggs, so made it more like a thick-ish omelette instead, and made my own garlic mayo, and had that for late lunch. Super happy now! Maybe next weekend head to Tapas Tree for the real deal...

joyce : congrats.i'm also pregnant with my first child.so exciting to think that in a few weeks, our pregnancy will be over and mummyhood will begin!! i wonder if it's too early to start reading up on books on how to care for newborns...

tubbymummy : omg!!! tapas.that sounds damn shiok....

anybody have any idea on what diapers are good for new borns? i've decided on J&amp;J for toiletries and Desitin Creamy for diaper cream but not sure on diapers yet.So tempted to buy Huggies from Gmarket but dunno if it's too early...

Cassey, jus realise got the pm format. Oki doki, will pm you instead to make it easier. I got many typo error meh? how come i didnt spot it?? Eyes not open wide enough? *Grin*

Mika Rei, cordblood contaminated during collection and still no refund? U mean contaminated by the cordbood organisation or the doc?

RE: Baby kick,
Yest i went to karaoke again. My fren say will sing softer, but later find music no kick den on louder and baby kick later.. but not as much as my first karaoke session which she dun allow me to finish my last song. Guess she is kinda know wat to expect for the 2nd session. But i still left earlier about 2am plus as i feel baby kick more than the usual, dun know wat dat spell? hee

<font color="0077aa">fatmom, thanks! Good tip! I'll keep that in mind next time I go Bugis before 7. *heartpain last time* I was there for only 2+ hrs

fatmom &amp; createjoy, I've read that we need new mattresses for new babies. Not for hygiene reasons but cos old mattresses allegedly have 'indents' from their previous little owners and may not provide adequate support for their new sleepers. fatmom, if mattress is still in original packaging, maybe it's really brand new and un-used?

createjoy Re: Baby's movements getting softer - I was just sharing with half the West'ies that last 2 weeks bb's movements seem more muted - like it's coming from deep deep down, no longer the thump thumping and tap taping near the surface where it's easily felt by hand. The last two days, he's grown very rough again and is thumping away now. I'm not sure why those weeks, the movements felt somewhat different leh. Like yours.

neeciel, hmm.. interesting question. Actually, I wouldn't think 500g is too heavy on a 3kg baby. Especially on the chubby parts... But I haven't compared my pillows yet. One is at my mum's so I can't do it now. I'll let you know after I compare compare k?</font>

<font color="0077aa">tiny_bubu, my fella kicks and thumps harder than ever when I'm trying to sleep too. Cos I sleep at a 45 degree angle to the bed, with bolster propping belly and body up a little. If bump gets squished on left, he thumps on the left. If right, he does the same there. heehee! I think he's just trying to even out his space in there, but I don't care. He's already getting more sleep than me!!

tiny_bubu &amp; chidori, medically, sleeping on left is best. FLAT on back is supposed to not be good cos the uterus falls against the spine, pressing on the median nerves - which may cause backaches and cramps. Also, placenta may be bit squished, leading to less oxygen flow to bb. But most of our gynaes have said it's ok if we're comfortable. For ppl like creamer and myself, we feel rather strapped for air when we flip on our backs, so we know it isn't ideal. I'm a bit like Tubbym~, I just go back to sleep on my left if I wake, but usually end up on my back or on my right.

Joyce, firmed what up? My BOOBS?!?! *chuckle* Kidding la! There'll nvr be another gathering in that case! Haahaa...

creamer, thank you for the consideration! I can't remember what the typos were but like "rememeber".. kinda thing. Doesn't matter. Maybe your girl wants to be a dancer and is trying out her moves to music!</font>

Hey mummies, yest i went to karaoke den i realise something, does baby hear sounds thru mummies ears or direct from the belly to their ears? Cos yest, i try to cover my belly with shawl to muffer the sound. Den i ask this qn to my hubby den he say ya hor where huh?

<font color="0077aa">creamer, not from your ear to her ear! She hears what is filtered thru the bump.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Aiyo, collating survey info received thus far.
I believe I'll have to narrow down some dates and eateries based on suggestions.
Will posted updated survey questions again soon!

Thks cassey.. hmm so can filter those sounds with pillow on belly if dun wan her to hear. haa

Yup, need to narrow down the suggestions. Cos the whole of Apr dates and so many eateries in sg will have too much choices!

<font color="0077aa">creamer, exactly. One lady only has thursday of the 23rd free!!! So I'll have to do a Which Thursday survey too... Haha..</font>

Yeah Cassey.. i guess thurs on eve of good friday will not be a good day since it can a family or other frens gathering. But still, we have 4 other thurs to choose cos Apr month quite a long weeks...