(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

oh my god. i just realised the IT Fair is this weekend at suntec. lucky i went to the baby fair today.if i ask my man to follow me to taka during the weekend, he will confirm show poor thing face.

ahnetsan : i wanted to do a scrapbook as well because i saved the home pregnancy test and thought it might be cute.however, my colleague told me the scans from her first child faded after 1 year and she felt so wasted after spending so much time doing the scrapbook.she told me the scans now look like white paper.

Me too, haven't done anything also, just threw them all into a file. Preg test also in there haha. My MIL and sister have been bugging me to email them the prints, but I haven't scanned either. Oops...

WAT??!!! nw look like white paper??? huh? wah...
but if put in those sticky film album type, can still write short notes mah?

haha i also saved the home pregnancy test kit... my GP asked me to keep it...initially i stil say he crazy, keep such thing for wat. hahaha

i think the pregnancy test is very important. i remember i did it at home because i had a weird feeling.and when it tested positive, i felt the blood rush to my head and i had to sit down on the sofa in the living room.then all of a sudden i started crying because i was so happy but at the same time so scared.i kept checking it over and over again to see if i had seen the wrong result.then i quickly threw on a bra (i have this habit or not wearing a bra at home - haha) and ran down to the clinic to confirm.

tiny bubu,
yup! don't feel bad.
the worst is u see him scold the nurse on the day of your delivery.. hehe...cos thats what happen to me n he scold them in delivery ward and on his daily visit to check on me, he scold them also. *can't remember he scold them for what reasons now* i think the nurse there also very scare of him.

superbee : ahahaha.wait when i go pay my deposit at MAH, they get scared.all of them will scissors paper stone to schedule their off day on my EDD.

ultrasound scan
mine okie leh.. it's been >1 yr leh... but to keep it for life time hor, why don't you scan it as a image and put onto your blog or online picture gallery? cos i put my scanned pics on blog and next time, tell my #1 & #2 to read! :D

Re Scan photo
Yep, will fade as time pass. I also bought a scrap book but haven't paste anything yet.

tiny bu bu,
you can buy those sticky album from Precious Moment, if you are looking for something sweet and nice for a little gal in future. I got one as my wedding gift.

Re Matress
Is babysafe that good? I just called my sil and she will check out my size for me. Taking over hers.

Hello ladies, I'm still at work, going home soon, brain freeze by now.. can't help looking at this thread, about the hospital choices.

Tinibubu, TubbyMummy, Superbee
I'm with dr Adrian as well. I think Superbee was referring to me, I shared about dr Adrian's preferences of TMC when I asked him which hospital to go.
My relative was with dr Adrian as well, and she delivered at MAH, dr Adrian very chop-chop style, and I was initially a bit worried, but my relatives said that during the delivery, he acted very quick when her baby's heartbeat was slowing down after pushing for quite some times, and I thot, a quick-actioned gynae is very important at point like that, and by now, I'm quite used to his style, I did my own research, list down and ask him anything I wanted to ask during every visits, as I know he will just go thru the standard drill if I didn't ask him anything.

Back to hospital choices, lookin at my relative & some friends, I also initially die-die choose MAH, not once I thot of TMC. Until.. I went for the tour, and got a lady named Auntie Betty who brought us thru the tour. She only talked to the caucasian couple, and rushes thru the tour, she even just walked off even tho some of us are still left behind. When we asked questions, she gave me and the other couple an irritated look. I only managed to ask her 3 questions, in which the answer is just 1) go check the website; 2) you can call the hotline; 3) later you ask the front desk lah. I didn't get to see the deluxe single, but as she dashed, she said "it's no diff from the single room".. so cold & unfriendly, but one thing is that, all the other nurses we walked pass during the tour, they all seem nice and friendly.. maybe that auntie is havin her post-menopause syndrome or something, dunno, but she's very very cranky & grumpy..

I was utterly disappointed, that's when I decided and called up TMC for a hospital tour 2 weeks later. The lady who brought us thru the tour was quite young, very formal, not extremely friendly, but at least she showed us almost all the rooms (4 bed, 2 bed, single bed and deluxe), we didn't see the suites (balmoral, etc), but I felt it's enough as she showed us the pictures.

I was still undecided between MAH & TMC after that due to the costs, with MAH, there's a special rates for DBS cardholder, while with TMC, I had to apply for the FBI card for $100 discount and gynae's delivery discount (5%)..

So I asked dr Adrian, after all, Tinibubu, as you said, it does matter too how comfortable the gynae with the hospital. dr Adrian is gynae from TMC, he definitely more familiar with the hospital rather than MAH. When he said the nurses at MAH are slow, I asked him why it's such a problem, he said, during delivery, every minutes & seconds counts for the safety of the mother & baby, so can't take your own sweet time. Also, he highlighted that even if we opted for natural birth, shall emergency C-sect is required, at MAH, you'd have to be transfered our of the delivery rm, go upstairs to 4th floor for the C-sect..

But again, it's all back to how comfortable we are with the hospital itself. I think it just happens that I had that cranky lady @MAH.. I told my friend who's going for the tour next week, try not to get auntie betty, most of the others who feels good abt the tour got Sister Raj, so I told her to ask for this lady instead..

Sorry for the long post..

ahnetsan, there's this AnneGeddes pregnancy journal, selling at Takashimaya, next to the baby/kids dept.. I bought the journal as well as the My 1st year for bb girl. The journal is quite general, while for the 1st year journal, they have in pink (for girls) and blue (for boys)..

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, you crazy woman. By the time I get to you, it'll be peach juice liao.

jam75, excellent! Thanks, babe. Sorry haven't been as active as before. Hectic schedule at work cos of upcoming events

pinkiez, I'm good!! Haha... cos your nick has pink, see, so I guessed princess. Whoa! More princesses joining us here. Maybe will balance out our numbers soon..

BIG <font size="+1">hello!</font> to Angeline &amp; Sam2, I'm sure by the time I finish doing my OT, someone would have responded to your question. So I'm just going to say welcome on board! And hope you get all your shopping done soon!

bing, as I said, it was already confirmed by the time I paid up on the 20th Feb. So there was no issue from the start and TMC doesn't have to contact me. I saw gynae every fornight for first few weeks, then monthly, now every 3 weeks. I'm in 3rd tri, but next apptmt is still in 3 weeks.

Ling, sounds good to me. See u tmr. Watch your health even as we're all busy yeah?

tiny_bubu, this thread world is like twilight zone. Time mysteriously disappears... which is why once I'm in the office, I'm never around anymore. I cannot disappear into twilight zone! Sticky back albums can be purchased from many places - simple MPH and Popular stock them.

Firstmum &amp; tiny_bubu, yup. Dr Adrian psychos all his patients into switching from Mt A to TMC. My sister and her fellow April MTBs were also talking abt it. She's not impressed. As per Tubbym~, I'd just choose whichever hospital I'm comfortable with. I'm his patient so as far as I'm concerned he has to go with my choice. Just a thought... skali all the nurses don't like him and 'sabo' him! kekeke...

Sigh, I've been itching like crazy down under. Now I'm starting to think it isn't a scratch and wondering if it's got something to do with the new shower foam I switched to.
Initially the labia puffed up and hubby was laughing at me. Humph. Then it went away, but yest the perineum area started to itch and kept me up almost all night. Then that went away, and now my clit is itching like crazy. ARGH!!

tinibubu, haha.. dun think he scold every time he's at MAH, he was quite alright when my relative gave birth last time, and another good feedback I had on MAH is that they're very pro breastfeeding
I'm quite set with TMC, single-bedded room, but a bit uneasy as I saw they have no sofa bed for my hubby to sleep, only a single couch, unless it's the deluxe/premium single-bedded.. while MAH, as long as it's single-bedded, they sure have standard size sofa-bed in the room..

Ling : i should thank you for the long post.you're right to say every second counts during the birth.

Ahnetsan : thanks for the advice.i'll go check out preciousmoments this weekend.

lfb : i bought the babysafe newborn pillow as i heard it's really very good for newborn's head not to go flat.

mummies, can i check with you on sleeping matters. we bought a baby cot and all my baby's blankets are the kiddopotamus swaddle wraps.i also bought a babysafe newborn pillow and a husk pillow.

however, my man tells me that we should also get a moses basket (the one where it's like $80 and a foldable basket like thing) or a sleep positioner for the baby for the first few months.he wants to put the moses basket between us on our bed when we sleep.or put the thing in the crib so the baby can sleep there.he was told that newborns like small snug places to sleep in.

but shouldnt the snuggle me be sufficient?

any body?

tiny bubu... i don't think you're referring to moses basket, but rather the infant tray with breathable mesh at the sides right?

http://www.toysrus.co.uk/Babies-R-Us/Travel-and-Pushchairs/Travel-Cots/Snuggle-Nest(0035198)

i think the main purpose is to prevent the mum and dad crushing the baby, not so much for babies to feel snug. probably a good idea to have one, if you plan to have the baby sleep in your bed.

by the way, singapore weather too hot. i've seen babies who don't like being swaddled at all...

Also went to taka fair ard 11+am. Already got long q at e cashier ...
avent sterliser gg at $147 or 149 can't really rem... much more cheaper than the original price at $171

tinybubu, my baby shld be sleeping in a bassinet a.k.a carry cot for the first couple of months, cos my room is pretty tight at the moment. I would prob have to shift the cot into my room at some point so that kid can sleep in there for a couple of months more, but kid is definitely sleeping in her own bed, won't be sharing the bed with us, and will be moved to her own room when I feel she's ready (maybe at 4-6mths old). I'm not letting her sleep in the bassinet because I think she needs a snug space, but more because there really isn't a lot of extra space in my room, and I want to delay having a COT take up so much space.

bing, my checkups were on weeks: 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 16. Then the package kicks in, and the appointments go this way: Wk 20, 24, 28, 32 (every 4 wks), then reduce to every 3wks, then to every 2 wks then weekly. Depending on when u actually pop or are expected to pop, this "schedule" may change accordingly. But roughly like that. My package only gives me 8 appointments, but they did say that if I'm overdue, then doc will continue seeing me FOC every wk until I pop.

Ling, forgot to update you on my baby monitor test. I tried out the movement sensor, and it is sensitive to the slightest of movements, so I believe it will be able to track baby breathing as a movement easily. The alarm really did sound when there was absolutely no movement. And it's loud enough to wake me for sure! My hubby asked "Is the alarm so loud that it will jolt baby into waking up and breathing again??" hehe... Maybe that's a good idea. Sound reception was pretty good, and quite easy to use, though I've not gone and read thru the manual properly. Overall quite happy with it

ahnetsan, think u also asked me something about the baby monitor I got right? It's Angelcare brand, I saw it selling in Mothers Work Baby (Great world city), 2 models, one is less than $200, the other is $200+, think the difference is one got 1 movement sensor pad, the other got 2 pads. I got mine thru Amazon UK for about GBP60, so that's rather cheap, considering the Philips Avent ones here are already selling from $100-200+, without sensor.

hey gals..

Started my day quite early at the Isetan Sales... bought the Tiger food warmer (with free vacuum cup) and Tiger Flask (with free small vacuum flask) on offer for $49 each.

Was disapptd that the Avent trade in bottles for 30% off, only starts tmr! Anyway, later also heard that they are only for non BPA free bottles...plus 9oz BPA bottles are not in Singapore yet (expected DOA April)

only one thing good was that Medela was on 20% off instead of the std 15% off at dept store sales!! arrghh! all the rest like avent, pigeon seems like std discounts as usual.

Hopped on over to the Taka fair and met 2 lovely June MTBs there shopping as well... didn't get to see TubbyMummy there although I was there at 4pm too.. ehhee..

Nothing much at Taka for me this time, cos I think I bought most of my stuff at Tangs Sales and RObinsons Sales last week... plus no Taka card still! HB still didnt submit the Taka Card form!

Vibe - The avent steriliser u mentioned is it the IQ24 one?

sweethalo! I was also at Isetan first, spent a good amount of time at the flask section, before walking over to Taka. Didn't see u at flask section leh... But it was pretty mad there. Goodnesss. Household goods seem to be really hot.

haha... ya I was on 4th floor for so so so so long!!

The queues were madness and even the delivery line was crazy!! Siao! hehe...

Did you buy any flasks?? I bought the 2 on offer because my fren said that will be useful when the kid gets older and eats solid food.

I was on 4th floor quite long too! Left there to grab a bite, then headed to Taka side already. By that time both me and my friend were so tired, so I only walked thru Taka fair very quickly, maybe 10min.

I only bought a small slim flask, eh, don't think it was Tiger brand, dunno what brand it was haha.. Good for carrying hot water out that kind of size, cos I wasn't sure what would be useful... Should have brought my mother along! I bought 2 Petit Bateau rompers for baby
couldn't resist. Fell in love with a baby dress from Burberry, but it was $230!! Obviously didn't buy...

wow.. Petit Bateau quite ex right! hehehe..

I was with a fren and we shopped till ard 11 plus and went to Mos Burger for a bite then went back into the maddening crowd again before leaving for Tangs (picked up a 3lit Tiger Hot Water Vacuum Flask there too for the House, which came with FOC 1lit Flask!! ARRGH!!) and went to Taka Fair met up with mum there. Had a munch with fren and mum at around 4plus at Macs in Taka and headed back to Isetan for the stuff we deposited there... ended up waited for hb to come and pick me and stuff.

Also bought a Levi's Baby gift set - pair of jeans and 2 rompers for $47. The Burberry's were gorgeous especially for girls.. but so oouch!! hahaa

Now sort of hv so many vacuum flasks! oops... hehee

Petit bateau was having 20% off, and I bought the "cheaper" ones, that was $24.90 and $29.90. The rest were all like $59.90 for one romper. I couldn't get myself to part with that money haha.

Wah, your flasks etc sounds like quite a lot leh!
I'm gonna ask my mum to buy all the hot water related things for me (flask etc), cos she should know better la. I don't want too many, cos I know I won't use all. Plus kitchen counter real estate not a lot hehe.

ooo didn't see Petit Bateau at ISetan leh... I picked up quite a few pcs of home/casual wear for bb in the wagon... all going for $3 each only

The one from Isetan is more for outdoor use, when kid is older and taking semi-solids and the vacuum flask i figured can use when mum brings Red Date Tea for me in the hospital??? Bought the one in Tangs for use at home, to put hot water in for making formula etc in future.

BTW, u didnt manage to find any nice flats at Isetan yet huh?? hehhe...

I was so tired walking around upstairs, and I was hungry by the time we finished at 4th floor, that I skipped the 1st level altogether! Hai... It's fated lah haha...

Oh ya hor, it didn't cross my mind about mum bringing me the red date drink to the hospital. I had just assumed I'll be drinking normal water when in hospital haha. Duh.

tinybubu &amp; ahnetsan, yes the scans will fade. so best to scan it and keep a soft copy. office scanner no gd? hmmm... whr u all stay? i use my hm scanner, still look decent bah. if got chance can help u scan &amp; pass to u.

tinybubu, those sticky film albums are available in bookstores and photo developing shops. i bought a few in the last few yrs to do my 'scrapbooking' sort of album. gives a lot of flexibility. but hv better to put a piece of colour paper or sorts as a base cos if photo is paste directly onto the sticky film, it will not be able to be removed neatly as time passes. so i sort of cut a pc of paper the size of the photo, or slightly bigger so that it looks like a nice border to put beneath each photo.

tinybubu, yup yup, IT show at suntec this weekend. heard lots of people there. you going with ur man? protect ur bb bump ok?

Tubbymummy, abt the baby monitor, you got angelcare with sensor pad? sorry, me not very familiar with baby monitor. it will beep you? it picks up every slight movement or big movements only? i want to consider this cos i probably will be taking care of bb on my own, so it's more convenient, and my hearing is not the best to start with, will rather hv a device to help me.

Mika, yup, I got the Angelcare with Sensor pad. It's is a traditional sound monitor, with room temp display, but with added movement sensor pad function. It does not have video, so u can't see your baby on the parent unit's monitor. This is the one:

http://www.angelcare-monitor.com/ac-401/
(the pictures may take a while to load, depending on traffic)

The only other brand I know of with sensor pad is Tommee Tippee, but I don't know if Sin sells it, I've not seen it anywhere. The Angelcare sensor pad is a piece of plastic that you put under the baby mattress, and it detects small movements, even baby's breathing. It bleeps when NO movement is detected for 20secs. Both the parent unit and the base unit (in baby's room) will bleep. I find it loud enough. The purpose of the sensor is not for monitoring the big movements (cos baby may simply be awake and happily kicking around in bed), but to monitor the lack of movement (baby stops breathing). When u do pick baby up though, must remember to switch off the base unit, otherwise the sensor will think that there's no movement, and bleep after 20secs hehe.

My hearing is pretty good, but I just want peace of mind I guess. Heard that sometimes infants simply FORGET to breathe, and we can prevent death if we discover it early.

Tubbymummy, oh... tat shows how much i know abt baby monitor. so it tracks non-movement instead of movement. ha! which makes more sense too. thanx for the URL. i'll be checking this out.

hi tiny bubu, we have a separate nursery for the baby to sleep in. main reason being there isn't any space for a cot in our bedroom, and our queen sized bed wouldn't fit 3 of us comfortably if we try to put that snuggle nest between us.

but just as well, we do intend to train the baby to sleep on his own. plus my husband works hard at his job while i'll be on maternity leave (and could POSSIBLY nap in the day *crossing fingers*), so i think it's only fair that he gets as much quality sleep as he requires.

i'll just have to get a baby monitor
hopefully find some good deals at the taka fair later.

actually, if you don't have a cot in your room but you still want to have the baby sleeping with you, you can consider a co-sleeper that's attached to the side of your bed (and much less bulkier than a cot)

Hi if anyone is interested in the the Philips Dect Monitor, I saw that Robinsons has a different bundled deal there last week.

I think it's abt $200 plus includes Philips Dect Monitor, Avent Diaper/Milk Bag (which costs $100plus on its own), Avent baby moisturiser and lotion thingy and some other stuff I can't quite remember oredi.

stickymouse, I'm of the same school of thought. I want to train my kid to sleep independently, which is why I'm so reluctant to put the crib in my room from the beginning. But I should still be having the kid with me in the first month or two sleeping in the bassinet, cos while I'm recovering from my c-sec wound and may have difficulties moving around, I don't think I'll want the hassle of having to go to another room to check on or feed baby.

Baby just let loose a whole series of kicks. Maybe she's protesting haha. Or who knows, maybe she's excited to have her own room!

wah looks like few of us either went or going to the taka baby fair! but i must admit with the additional 10% discount for taka cardholders, a lot of items are cheaper so if you havent got one, bring a passport size photo and proceed to level 2 customer service to apply first.

Superbee, thanks for info on the induce must pay. sigh, besides epi, that's now another charge i must avoid. hope i can tahan! better go for long walks to build stamina.

re babysafe: yes i was looking for this mattress too but i think so far only robinson got extensive range. didnt see it at the taka baby fair, only at the baby dept upstairs but mattress think there were only 2 pieces left and both were not my size. so guess now got to go back to robinson. any idea if robinson got sale? or where else can i get the mattress at good price and extensive product range? my cot dimensions is 27 x 51 so i got to get mattress slightly smaller right? aiyah, all mattresses for cots should be made like our beds: single, s/single, queen and king then no more headache!

re which hospital to deliver: your other halves are so nice! mine just said it's up to you since you're delivering so whereever you want. when i told him just take KK 4-bedder cos i dont want to spend so much, he said okay. now im going to tekan him take one-bedder in KK hehe
so he can stay over. besides his family travels like a gypsy troop so everyone will want to come and visit, better not to disturb other mummies.

First Mum, you're right about some hospitals having nurses from Philippines/China who are very young and have no experience being a mummy so they cannot relate to us, and some are very impatient. that was one of the deciding factors for me to change from ESH to KK also, cos KK nurses are mostly local and some are quite old..hehe. share with you a story: i was walking with hubby to the carpark after seeing dr tham at KK. this was after i got the stretch and hubby was in a hurry so i was holding on to my stomach to manage the pain of walking quickly. then this nurse approached my hubby and said,"if you don't mind, can you pls carry her bag and files?" my hubby was embarassed but he quickly too the items. but i was so grateful cos the items were in the way of my walking but i don't dare ask him to carry cos if my hubby in uniform he cannot carry my bags one - one of his silly policies lah!

tiny bubu, re moses basket: sorry to say but it's a very ang moh thing. and it doesnt last as long, only 3 months and im not sure where you can get one for $80 unless it's second hand. if you still want to get one, PM me and i will give you a link to this website where a lot of expats post items for sale. im using the snuggle nest which is the foldable one in between us, i found one with slight recline (so baby wont puke after a night feed) and has a night light. saw it at taka yest for $89 so will grab this weekend when i go back - maybe this is the one he was referring to?

Tubbymummy, Burberry's got sale at Suntec this weekend, maybe you can try there? i was so tempted to buy this dress which was on 50% few weeks back at taka but my hubby restrained me. maybe i can sneak over on sat and try and buy it this time. hehe

stickymouse, if you planning to BF might be easier for you if baby sleep in your room, otherwise you must wake up every few hours for night feeds and go next door..or do you already have a plan for this?

sorry for the long post!

tinybubu, i din tour Mt A cos my gynae only delivers at TMC, i went for the hospital tour months back and the deluxe room was nice too at TMC but they dont come in as a package. Only rooms up to single comes in maternity package, so i opted for single bedded.

hmm i m not sure abt the pillow cos i tempted to buy a few husk ones cos i scare the bean ones are realli heavy... anyway we are supposed to place the pillow on their chest or tummy not for the baby to sleep right?

caramelle, I really wanted to go to the Burberry sale (more for myself actually! oops..) but suntec having IT show, I think it'll be absolutely mental there this weekend, so I doubt I'll go for Burberry's sake...

Rather quiet today... all the remaining ladies went to cheong Taka fair is it??
Ooh, sky is super dark out now, gonna pour. Looks like perfect weather to go back to sleep...

btw for mummies getting a medela pump, think you should grab one at this taka fair cos by far the cheapest i've seen even compared to KK/Paragon first few years which is the cheapest on normal days. i saw the freestyle going for $988 plus 15% store discount and additional 10% for Taka members so works out to $741 which is cheaper than $799 at first few years. only catch is you have to pay cash/nets, cannot pay by credit card with the taka card (unless taka credit card). and they bundle it with additional 3 bottles plus the purelan cream. i saw ameda there also but didnt compare prices..

Hehe... caramelle, I actually wanna get a new laptop, cos have had problems with mine for a long time now, and have been using hubby's laptop all this while (he doesn't bring it to work anyway). I want my own again, so we don't have to fight over it in the evenings. I think the IT show will have good bargains, but I really can't bear the thought of the human squeeze. So no choice, if I really wanna buy one, gotta spend more money (or get less freebies). Sigh.

sweethalo, I emailed Ivy (BFSG) already
I'm gonna convert to joining member at $25, and signing up for workshop at $35, so need to top up $5 more. Feel it's more worth it like that. I should have done that right from the start lah, but I'm stupid like that sometimes hahaha

caramelle
taka fair has additional 15% discount on top of the $988? When i asked the lady yesterday. SHe said it's $988 n bundled with some free things.

Tubbymummy - how muc bought for the Angelcare ?
Thinki read b4 that someone bought from oversea for u. Just check the local distributor here the model u have singapore is not selling ... latest they have is the AC-301R selling at $339.
http://www.vine.com.sg/

vibe, I saw 2 Angelcare models at Mothers Work Baby @ Great World City (level 2 or 3). Think there was the AC301 and also my model AC401. One was selling at $1xx and the other was selling at $2xx (sorry, don't remember the specific price). Maybe u can call them to ask? I also checked The First Few years website, they have the AC301 at $279. Here's the link:

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=SM%2D1
(you may have to click "refresh" if the website doesn't load, it acted strangely on me)

I don't know what's the difference between the AC301 and my AC401. My MIL helped me buy it on Amazon UK for GBP64.99, and she shipped it over to me with other stuff, so I don't really know what's my exact cost, so to speak, sorry. Here's the link, and u can also read the reviews on it:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0013FW5G8/ref=s9_subs_c5_s1_p75_i2?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&amp;pf_rd_s=center-1&amp;pf_rd_r=15FG7J5WR448GGGJMPSP&amp;pf_rd_t=101&amp;pf_rd_p=463374953&amp;pf_rd_i=468294

vibe, Mother's Work website a bit stupid. Here's their contact instead:

Mothers Work Baby
#02-12/14 Great World City
1 Kim Seng Promenade
Singapore 237994
Tel: +65 6738 5886

Business Hours:
11am to 9pm