(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

helo mummies,

my EDD is also in June 09.

Just want to inform you girls that Isetan's member sale starts today.

Not sure if the taka sale or the isetan's sale is more worth it tho. Can go to both since I understand most of you will be taking leave.

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, actually I never made a conscious effort to avoid KFC - I'm not a skin person - so KFC has ever held a lot of appeal to me. UNTIL NOW. Heehee... I used to only eat their Popcorn Chicken, cheese fries and coleslaw. But now I enjoy their 2 piece chicken meal.

Tiny_bubu, there are many stretching exercises recommended in preggie books.. Besides swimming, walking is also a good form of low-impact exercise for us. I know this is a very "Cassey" thing to say, but why not just Google it and see what you get?

LFB, your obgyn sounds a little aloof!! Poor friend of yours... I hope both she and bb are doing well. So out of curiousity, what gift did you bring her?!

fatmom, I have no idea! I usually see them in mags and online... Not something I'm intending to get, so I haven't looked out for them in stores. Actually, as of last year, out of my bb &amp; mummy shopping list, I only have items like detergent, toiletries, milk storage bottles and bedlinen left. So I haven't much interest in bb shopping these days. *Sorry no help!*

Blurmom, that line running down the middle of our bump is called the linea nigra and it SHOULD go off after a delivery. Anyway, I've always washed my belly button... but I've heard ppl say it's not good to stick a finger in. Hmm... BUT HEY! Don't discriminate against my poor belly button if its got a dark scar! It's not the poor little thing's fault ma.

bing, sweethalo, LFB, I'm getting a little paranoid about missing TMC WBB's lesson next Sat. Haha... relying on you ppl to remind me! Look fwd to meeting you, bing! And not forgetting, can suss out each of our husbands! Heehee.. LFB, what time is your class? Ours is the 7-9pm one.

<font color="0077aa">*Flood Part 2*
caramelle, yummy mummies, yummy cookies, yummy Yami!!! WOO-HOO!!! How can you resist?! I hope you won't have to crawl though... haha. Although, it may be a good idea. I'll be able to identify which one you are straightaway. *chuckle*

>> Re: Contact numbers. Sorry ah, I've been busy. So only those in the initial mailing list (before confirmation of date and venue) got the numbers of all the others. I usually give others only my mobile #. HOWEVER, don't worry, cos after the gathering, I'll send out another email with photos attached together with all attendee's contacts.

ahnetsan, sweethalo, Tubbym~, join la! Famous Amos, Yami Yogurt &amp; all of us HOT mama's beseech you!

Mika, no further emails after confirmation of date and venue. If there were any, those listed under attendees would have definitely received. That's why even confirmation of McD as venue, I asked on the thread
Just drop me an sms tonight or tmr or something... We should be at McD. Unless I go into premature labour and we all end up at the hospital or something. *grin*

Hi pinkiez, you here to join us, eh? When are you due and let me guess... are you expecting a little princess? =) Thanks for the heads up.

Ling, will you be joining tmr?

haha cassey, nah, me not joining tmr, though famous amos and yami seem to be calling me... the timing really abit off for me, i dun wan to join the peak hr crowd in the train leh...
u tabao some cookies and a tub of yami peach for me and i meet u at sembawang mrt control yeah?

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">OPEN INVITATION TO ALL JUNE'09 MTBs</font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">(Non-working MTBs, do pls try to drop by, won't u?)

<font size="+1">WEST'IES GATHERING <font color="ff0000">TOMORROW!</font></font>

Date: Friday, 13th March 2009
Time: 7pm &amp; after
Venue: Jurong Point (Boon Lay MRT) Further details T.B.A.

Attendees - Nozomi, Jam75, Chidori, caramelle, Joyce, Cassey, *Ling, *Mika Rei, *creamer, *Katelee
<font color="ff0000">Any cancellations or further confirmations, pls PM me!</font>

Kindly PM with positive RSVPs for contact# exchange in case I miss out on posts. Thanks!
~Organiser: Cassey</font>

Caramelle, my hb got diff view as mi lo….he said my mom hse so noisy afraid bb will scared wo so I tell him like dat beter can train bb can sleep anywhere even u go outside noisy oso NP….but fren oso told mi she treat her gal same way so now how noisy her gal oso fall asleep de! My PIL v precious their grand child wan fried food, cold, sweet etc kid cannot take but my sil’s gal oso v weak leh…tend to get sick easily oso!

Cassey, ok noted will go straight to mac to mit up wif u’ll on fri then!

Cassey &amp; tubbymummy, how u’ll can ctrl KFC f so long?? My hb love KFC a lot lo so b4 or aft pregnant we still frequent KFC a lot leh….I oso try my best to ctrl myself but sometime failed leh…saw hb eat I cannot ren end up share wif hb!

Caramelle, my cousin going to due in early apr oso hv fibroids leh…she hv to go f early delivery via c-sect due to bb head not turning down as the fibroids is blocking it….heard she said aft dlvy she will go remove fibroids lo….hmmm so aft u pregnant then yr gynae told u dat u hv fibroids huh?? Tink my cousin b4 conceive already hv le!

Hi caramelle,

I think need to pay extra if induce bb out leh. Not very sure though because last time I was c-section. This time also

As for sterilising the bottle, once steriliser I will just leave it there, if didn't use within 24 hours I will re-steriliser again lor.

bbpotato, so if bb din empty the breast until the hind milk, if i pump out and feed her, will achieve same effect of her gainning the full benefits of hind milk?

Tubbymummy and Caramelle,
yes, we will hang on and encourage one another. I am very determine to do so, cos I know that's the best I can give my bb. I waited 5 years for this bb. Surely bb can wait a few days for my BM to come. Anyway, I believe ask and I shall be given. Will start adding this to my prayers from today onwards!

Cassey, bought nothing lah. Actually wanted to get a nice balloon but cannot find last min. Moreover she inviting me for 1st month, so I will give later. Most prob ang bao lor, more convenient(i no need to buy) and she also can use it for better use.

Got arrowed to go for a meeting this afternoon. Sigh. Seems like this coming month end is a pretty busy one! Shucks!

jam75, i found out abt the fibroids when i was 6 weeks pregnant. before that i got married in feb 2008, then pregnant in sep so maybe i had a bit of a challenge conceiving initially because of the fibroid cos it was big and blocking the way for egg to latch on.

capriho, ok thanks for info. cos the hosp bill breakdown like dont have a charge for the induce that's why i asked. anyway my next appointment in week 28 so by then must make bed booking and deposit already right? then i will ask the nurse.

cassey, I'm due on 19/6/09. Yes its a princess! Nice guess work.

bbpotato, thanks for the welcome.

Unfortunately I don't think I will be able to join you girls tomorrow. I'm going for the Taka Baby Fair tomorrow.

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Edd 13/06/09, baby boy, delivered at Raffles Hospital.

I'm so unprepared though baby coming in 10 or more weeks. I was wondering anyone out there has a Checklist of things to prepare before baby arrive. A past link will help :)

Re: WBB's lesson starting on 21 Mar 7pm to 9pm
cassey, yeah. i am looking forward to attend WBB's lessons too! I received an updated mail from TMC stating that the lesson will commerce on 21st Mar. u gals got it too?

Re: Visits to Gyne during 3rd Tri
will be visiting dr.adrian this sat for checkup. it's been a month since i last see bb. am so excited to see his growth this sat.

how often do we need to visit the gyne after week 28? i remember visiting biweekly during the 1st trimester and monthly during the 2nd trimester. how abt the third?

Re: Taka Baby Fair
Taka having baby fair from 12 Mar to 29 Mar. Hubby and I taking leave tml to check it out. i still have a list of to-buy items. hopefully, there's some good deals for grab. wonder if there is any extra discount for taka card holders.

welcome angeline.

re cord blood:
i jus heard that if we sign up to store our bb's cord blood, if we need to use it, we hv to fork out some 5 digit figure as admin fee. is this true? i went for cordlife talk, but it wasn't mentioned.

Mika, i think to store it you have to pay an annual fee because it says if there is a promotion you only pay $400+ for the first yr so i imagine subsequently must keep paying and maybe higher amount. any mummies know?

think there's an insurance for it, last time my gynae did give us e brochures, it's for them to do test on e cord blood to determine whether it's suitable for doing the treatment, something like dat

caramelle &amp; bbpotato.
yes, i think thr's storage fees and tat's reasonable. but to pay a 5 digit sum as admin fee jus to retrieve it for use when in need is quite a high price to pay i thought.

Welcome pinkiez and angeline

bbPotato, I am on calcium pills every morning and drink milk every night but gums still bleed... I think I am too "heaty" hence the gums start to sore and tear...

THEN I see some mummies posting on KFC! Feel like having it badly now... *Slap myself*

Dear ladies,

I didn't login yesterday and already 2 archives for reading. Thank you all for sharing the info on the sales, wanted to go to Taka fair, maybe this weekend if time allows..

Cassey, so sorry haven't been dropping in here much these two days, my first one today in fact, been tight up with work lately, got deadlines to complete, hubby's work also have been ridiculous these 2 weeks, we may not even have the anniv dinner as planned tomorrow
I'll try my best to leave earlier tomorrow so that can catch up with you all, even just for a shortwhile, really wanna meet up with you mummies who got me hooked here.. I've got your number, I will sms you tomorrow evening..

Hi all, i just came back from the taka baby fair! i stay near taka so that's why i'm home early.

the sale is only worthit if you have the taka card.if not, better to sign up for it. you get 10% discount off your total bill.

i compared the prices in the baby dept and the baby fair.and guess what?dont even bother going to the baby dept.the same items are selling for much less at the baby fair.

mummies must go early,k?i reached 10am and there were about 10 people browsing.i thought i would go have macdonalds and then start to shop.by 11am, the place was swarming with people.so hard to walk around.AND the queue at the ashier was snaking!!!!!

wah tiny bubu, thanks for updating us.

wat's the discount like? 20%? without taka card leh, stil got discount mah?

scary leh, by 11am alrdy so crowded le...

tiny bubu, wah good for you for telling us what to expect! btw, the card immediately apply can get is it? and we can straightaway get 10% discount? is it a credit card?

for strollers, they have maclaren, graco,aprila,combi,quinny and even pigeon.

for carseats they have more than 5 or 6 brands.

they have a pigeon corner selling everything.

they have an avent corner selling everything.

they have a medela corner selling everything.

for toys, they have fisher price, lamaze, einstein etc etc.

for assesories, they have a munchkin corner (very popular), cheeky bon bon corner, skip hop, classic pooh etc etc.

for diapers, they have a huge huggies corner.

for clothes, they have a lot for 6mths and above but nothing much for 0 to 6 months.

some of the things i bought (before the 10% taka member disc) -

Cheeky Bon Bon bean pillow (yellow) - $11.83
Kiddopotamus Swaddle Me -small (green) - $23.60
Minnie Mouse Breastfeeding Pillow (pink) - $15.90
The first few years BM storage bags (1 pack) - $15.92
2 Annakku Baby Binders (velcro) - $5.46

For the taka card, there are 2 types - One is the credit card. that one confirm cannot get immediately.

the other one (which i have) is the Taka Smartcard. that one you can apply today and get w/in 4 hours. You need to give them 1 passport sized photo for them to scan and put your pic on your card.But they will give you back the photo when you collect the card.There is a one time $15 charge to sign up for this card.

You must produce the actual card when you make payment. AND with this card, you can only pay by cash or by NETS. Taka is very smart.They dont want you earning points from them and your credit card company at the same time.Every $10 you spend at taka, you get 1 point with this card.100 points can be exchanged for a $30 taka voucher.

if you sign up for the taka credit card, every $10 spent earns you 2 points.

taka will be opening at 10am till sunday to accomodate the crowds for the sale.

Blurmom : no problem. since i live so near town, decided to update you guys before you came down today or during this weekend.

i was so looking forward to getting a fisher price bouncer but the prices are like normal.plus there was one bouncer i saw for $79.90.i tried to demo it with a doll they had.

the vibration was so strong that the doll kept vibrating and almost fell off the bouncer.hahaha.

btw, if you're a member, you have free delivery of all your purchases if you buy min. $200 worth of items from the baby fair.

I am new here. First time mum. Edd 23/06/09. Cowboy. :p Will deliver in Mt Alvernia Hospital.
Thanks for the updates on Taka baby fair. My hb has applied for the taka credit card this morning after i read this forum. Might need 2 weeks to produce or even shorter as my hb is current a DBS/ESSO card holder. hope can make it by 29 mar.
I have been to Expo Baby fare last 2 weeks and found tt the item is really cheaper. So tis time i must go and grab something in the Taka Bbay fair...:p

my fren jus called me saying the taka fair got alot of preggie women... she carrying her baby she also scared she will knock into the preggies. it's super crowded...

Hi SamSam! i am new here too but everybody here has been really friendly so i dont feel awkward.

My EDD is 09 June 09. But my gynae said to prepare for labour during 3rd week of May already!!!!!

I'm getting very stressed because currently I'm in my 27th week.that leaves me around 10 more weeks before my world will change.

i'm almost all done buying all the stuff i need.just left with the baby's toiletries which i can buy from cold storage anytime.

and i also need to settle my post natal massage lady. House of Traditional Javanese Massage has this package where it's $400 for 10 sessions and they come to your house.

and lastly i need to inform the public cord bank that i wish to donate my baby's cord blood.

i wanted to get a bouncer for my baby but after seeing what i saw at the fair today,i'm not getting one anymore.heheh.

Halo ahnestsan :p i might go tomorro night..:p extended business hour till 10pm i guess...

i have yet to buy baby cot...i am thinking to buy the wooden type..any adv on where to buy??

Firstmum : For Avent / Pigeon, they have about 15% to 20% discount at the baby fair on most of their items (when you compare with non-sales period).

then if you're a taka member, you get an additional 10% off.

Example : a Pigeon small glass bottle is normally $18. At the baby fair, there's a 20% discount, which means you buy it for $14.40.If you have a taka card, you get an additional 10% off, which means $14.40 - 10% = $12.96.

sam, my cot is hand-me-down one... i jus need to get a mattress, and even dat i dunno which to buy le, so many different kinds.
sorry i cant advise on the wooden type of cot u looking for.

tiny bubu, so you booked a slot with house of traditional javanese massage le is it? do they include the arms and thighs as well? baby massage? jamu herbs? binder?