(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cassey, no wor, so far i only steer clear of the kfc leh... im jus lazy cos i was alrdy carrying ntuc bags, so it's a bit heavy for me. but instead of having kfc, i ate famous amos cookies instead...

my mil jus came in my room and ask if wan to eat mac... diao... so bo bian, gotta call for mac delivery... hmmm, wat shall i eat? mc spicy? mc chicken?

creamer, no worries just let cassey know. i also if not getting better might not go cos im not from the office, will be coming from home so quite far..my ligament still painful. yest night cannot sleep well because if sleep on stretched side, will be painful. sleep on other side i feel like my entire tummy content resting on the other side so equally painful. yah, must be careful at crowded places like taka fair. wah must grab things ah? sounds like a jumbo sale to me! im looking for another stroller, lighter one and can close with one hand for when i go out with baby alone. hopefully got good deals with aprica there. also buying the babysafe mattress and maybe bedding. but i saw the aussino bedding for cot also quite nice..see how. oh and must get the hot water flask either tiger or zojirushi to make FM when we go out. so many things to buy..bye bye money

ahnetsan, maybe we are not the examplary DILs..i think some MTBs here get along very well with their MIL. just us lor..dont worry, once you have your own place you will be much happier! talking about HFMD, i went for this KK talk last week and they were talking about all the vaccinations needed for baby. so poor thing the baby, our time never have to take so many vaccinations. in fact i had mumps for 2 weeks and i turned out fine, now got 3-in-1 mumps, measles and rubella jab. and there's this pneumococcal one which cost like $150 per jab and you need to do 4 times for baby under 6 months. so expensive! what happened to let baby build their own immunity? i told hubby, since everyone going for the jab then we can spare our girl cos she'll be living in a "safe" environment. hehe..

Cassey, i had KFC for dinner too yest and felt super guilty but baby was moving a lot inside so i think she likes it too. but mustn't get her used to it though
btw, you're right about the adequate rest before i go back to work. my HR manager said to me before i left that she hopes my pain will go away although she wonders if it will worsen since i'll get bigger. i told her, let's take it one day at a time. can't imagine she'd think im more concerned about coming back to work than my baby..crazy little woman she is. hehe..IM SO LOOKING FWD to Fri and hope i can still walk. would love to get some opera cake and chocolate smoothie..hmm..yummz!

ahnetsan, FAMOUS AMOS is the ultimate cookie..love them so much. must get some this Fri at JP!

Shelisa/Ahnetsan, those kampong durians are picked from the Lim Chu Kang Forest, hahaha so not very sure if they are selling outside. I drank alot of milk but it doesn't help much with my insomnia... Let me try again tonight...

Jam75, I think you got me wrong? The web was saying that, babies do NOT need baby detergent unless necessary. So following ur mom style will be fine
I understand that folks have their own ways of doing hence we just follow lor... Kekeke...
My mom and mil say baby cannot be too clean, later cannot adapt to the environment outside...

T Teo, You must be HOT MAMA, thats why you boy loves your milk so much... Muahaha... Our babies are born in year of cow, so we are the Moo Moo Mama lor...

Creamer, twin peak resting on belly = Neh Neh Lao Lao! hahaha...
There are alot of inconsiderate communters out there, even those not very old ohbasan also like that...

Dyva, yah baby usually pop out earlier than edd. Hi 5* Mine also 3rd year... I guess I will be celebrating at home by pumping more milk and admiring baby...

Cassey, I dare not cross my legs now as my baby will have lots of movement whenever I do that... He gets pretty fussy with my all my position...

Caramelle, you ligament stretch sounds pretty painful for me... *Sign* Hope that you can recover from it asap then go cheong at taka fair... Hahaha
I will be getting the Aussino babies bedding... Only this bedding catches my eyes... Very very nice looking leh... kekeke
Getting along with mil formula = REN! hahaha

Hi ahnetsan,
I used the Avent via cups and glass bottles to store. Also used bags before but must store properly coz some tear eaily.

After feeding, better to pump out excess milk so body can start to produce more. You're right, our lives just revolve around feeding, pumping & resting if we're lucky. =)

blurmom, which bedding are u getting? I m oso getting one from Aussino. I kinda bought online n will go down n collect this Sunday. Tired of calling up to find which store is carrying it cos called two, they dun have stock of that.

cassey, dis fri mit up at JP macdonald is fine wif mi...i will paid bibs & blankets to u dis fri too! so we go straight to mc or wait at mrt??

blurmom, ya my mom oso say no nid so bao bei wan la! oso muz let bb adapt to noisy enviroment...my PIL cannot stand them lo if my sil's gal is sleeping their tv volume is super super soft i can hardly hear lo....so i tell my hb like dat beter switch off! my niece can happily sleep even our tv or we tok super loud she oso no prob!

Saw the details in straits times today
RE: Baby Talk - Seminar on Pregnancy & Raisin a Healthy Baby (org by TMC/Cordlife)
Date: 14 Mar, Sat 12.30pm to 5 pm
Add: Ocean Ballroom, Level 2, Pan Pacific Hotel
Registration fee : $15/pax, $20 per couple. Free entry with gynae appt card
Topics:
(1) Cord blood banking
(2) Live Massage &baby yoga - by Wong Boh Boi (many mtbs fav)
(3) Sucessfully manageing your preganancy & confinement
(4) Labour pain. What monther needs to know

Baby Bazaar: baby and maternity bargains (open to public 12pm to 5pm)

Cordlife Resilience Plan at $400* for 1st year (1 day only at Baby talk)
Register online: www.cordline.com/babytalk
Tel: 6239 0808

ahnestan, saw the BP. Actually my hubby has bought the chips BP from his fren b4, dun know is it the same supplier. For cheese lover, i must say the cheese was really thick and creamy type to go with the chips. The chips and the cheese sauce is really a big pack, take very long to finish. But good for gathering with frens.. the cheese is really yummy.. hee

Re: Belly Button
Anybody got hard time cleaning the belly button? My belly Button haven't pop out yet and becomes very tight till I cannot clean them...

Creamer, tks for the details

My bb is surfing inside me now! LOL, got big waves... So funny!

Blurmom, wee.. surfing inside the amniotic fluid ah. Fun to see baby moving inside at least show that bb are active.
Re: Belly button mine havent pop yet too but its seems like its popping out soon cos its getting flatter now so dun need much to wash. How come yrs got hard time cleaning?

blurmom, mine also haven pop out leh. i use cotton bud to clean belly button after i bathe. jus dig dig, cos always g0t water stuck there one... but dun dig too deep la.

big waves=tsunami.

Re: Belly Button
Cos mine is pretty deep in one... Before preg, I need to clean by poking in with my fingers. Now it begins to surface up a little so I cannot clean inside lor...

My bb surfing with wakeboard leh! LOL, ticklish and amusing to see his stunts...

Ahnetsan, yaya like tsunami on belly... heehee

Scare me!!!
I just realised alot of water dripping down my legs and I tot my water bag burst or what... I almost freak out then I stand up and check... My water cushion leaked lah... Xia Si Wo!

bbjun, nice meeting you last night and sorry ah, left without bidding good bye cos i want to beat the crowd, scare lots of couple leaving after the break...

did u sit thru the talk?

hi neeciel,

nice meeting u too. no worries. ya.. sat thru that talk cos getting a lift from merlynzz home who just stayed next block to me.

U didn't miss much. Besides some informative slides on what chemicals to avoid, the rest are very much on what he can do for us to make us ravishing again if our hb have the $$. Perhaps, that's one reason why the daddies are ushering the mummies out of the auditorium in the middle of his talk. LOL.

wow blurmom lucky was the cushion! haha so funny, i will freak out if i were u too! oh i didnt know aussino can order online. yipee! i'll go have a look.

caramelle hope ur ligament get well soon! sigh it's not easy to have understding boss/hr these days... afterall tons of pple eyeing on the jobs so to them now is u dun do someone else will do & might b even cheaper to rehire..

weather really weird, sweethalo & tubbym ahem those more "friendly" to virus , pls be extra careful! tk more fruits! vit C help... and beware of fall. glad this week no one reported falling except one almost fall i think it tubbym?

createjoy, yes u can order n pay online for aussino but the system abit siao one. Even when I click self collect, I cannot choose a Sunday date for pick up. I have to call their office to arrange after I got my order ID. Try to collect on ur own cos delivery charges applies.

Hi neeciel and hatemenot,

I was able to see you n hatemenot sitting with bbjun at the talk yesterday.
I was sitting near to the back of the auditorium.

I will be going to the Cordlife talk this Sat. Hope to see you there too if you are going.

Blurmom, yah i hope no one else will have ligament stretch cos the pain is crazy. i move around very slowly. just now went to the shop near my place, this elderly couple overtook me as they were crossing the road. thanks, i hope i'll be okay by tomorrow cos got antenatal class at 6pm then maybe after that go taka looksie2 with hubby.

bbjun, oh aussino can buy online? i didnt know..must check out later.

jam75, think your parenting style abit like my SIL, the more gungho type - not like kiasu me. she also let the baby sleep in front of TV. she say so baby won't be so sensitive, next time outside if a bit of noise only cannot sleep. i don't always agree with her, even on this point but hey to each his own right? if it works for her, then as long as she and the kids are happy that's fine
sometimes i also think don't treat the kid so precious, later they grow up like a wimp hehe

createjoy, yah i think so too. that's why i a bit scared to work from home at first cos if they don't see you they might forget you, so if there are cutting plans, you'll be on the chopping board. esp preggie mummies. but i think we have this protection like if less than 3 months before mummy give birth, the company must pay her the maternity leave. would prefer for things not to be like that, but can't help worrying right?

Just want to share with all of you a book that I have benefited a lot from my first pregnancy. It’s call “Baby Wise”. Very practical and down to earth book about what to expect for new born, get your new born to settle into a routine and lots of tips on breastfeeding. But just a quick note that it is a “Christian Based” book but there is no “preaching” about any Christianity in there. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and colleagues and they all love it. Just want to share with all of you :)

mummies, i read in the march forum that taka fair is on already today! one mummy said got many good deals but im still searching for more details. anybody working in town area can go looksie2 for us after work and tell us if anything good?

i wish i can go but hubby work late. just now creamer said must grab things, maybe all the good deals taken before i can go..so sad

Createjoy, yah lucky was the cushion not waterbag... Scary scary.. Later must tell this joke to my mom, hahaha...

I did post on aussino baby beddings set past few days, need to dig out archive..

Aussino Babies bedding ($69.90 - $79.90)
Bedding set includes -
1 pc Fitted sheet 132cm x 71cm x 10cm
1 pc Comforter 90cm x 120cm
2 pcs Cot bumper 25cm x 200cm
1 pc Pillowcase 30cm x 41cm
1 pc Bolstercase 10m x 48cm

the aussino bumper is not v gd. will become "nua-nua" after a few machine washes. so best to hand wash.

the fitted sheets are nice and durable.

Firstmum, any idea what material they stuff inside the bumper? How come will nuah nuah? I'm too lazy to handwash leh... If not good then I will not get aussino liao..

was just reading about this mummy from march thread who have birth in week 27! baby girl was due in march but she delivered 01 Jan. baby was 1.5kg i think..scary but what a miracle story!

oklah enough kpo-ing in other threads. time for a snack and TV!

createjoy, thanks, will watch myself and try not to fall again. Ya, couple days back was me, my foot slipped, and I almost fell, some more holding umbrella and nothing around me to grab onto. Thankfully managed to balance myself, while an entire kopitiam full of old uncles stared at me.

Blurmom, while I was reading about your baby's surf, mine also did what felt like a somersault! Hehe... Then I tried talking to her, and she went absolutely still. *gulp*

Too clean environment:
I also don't believe in this. I believe in the (direct translation) "dirty eat dirty big" theory. I want my kid to be able to eat anything, and sleep through any sound volume. My friend's daughter is like that, we had gathering in someone's house, everyone still laughing, talking, music playing, she just fell asleep on her own at the sofa. So good. But for me, I think immunisation has nothing to do with the "dirty eat dirty big" theory, cos some diseases have nothing to do with how sanitised our environment is.

Oh, I know someone who says if we can afford it, seriously think about getting the expensive pneumococcal jab. Her daughter fell ill at dunno how many months old, cos did not take the jab, and the heartache and hospitalisation fees paid to get her better was simply not worth it. Kid had to undergo complex surgery at such a young age, almost died, and was in hospital for couple of months, then took 1 year to recover. Kid couldn't walk until almost 3yo I think. Sounds super scary lor. So she said as long as can afford, go take the jab. Mumps, measles this kind, even if the kid kenna, it's not a big deal, can take medicine and heal. But she said the pneumococcal jab prevents some big illnesses that could easily cause death, so don't play play...

First Mum, I went to check on the fitted sheets, wanted to buy, but the size is too big for my cot mattress. I was wondering if I should still go ahead and buy and try to tuck underneath. But if can't tuck nicely, loose sheets also very dangerous for baby right??

BTW, if anyone else interested, fitted jersey sheets are $19.90. Currently member get 15% off that price (they're having some sale now I think).

Tubbymummy, your girl is very attentive... Cos mummy talk and must stay still and listen carefully... SO cute!!!

I agree with your dirty eat dirty big...
My niece was pamper in a way which she cannot or don't take lots of food, esp veggie! That time we went McDonald so I bought her one Fish Burger... I think she saw the green veggie in the tartar sauce, then she actually spit out everything and get REAL messy... The half chewed burger was all over her face and dress...

wah vegetables good leh.. why dun take?

btw, cot bed mattress should haf hw many inch thick??

wah how much is the pneumococcal jab? why is especially more expensive?

caramelle, my fren stayed in hospital when she's in 26 wk until abt wk 32 den she give birth. the bb was very tiny and has to be kept under special care...

Ling,
Don't think I will see you after my class. mine end at 3:30.. maybe next time at amk hub.. i will try to loiter after the class.. got lots of junk at the basement

blurmom,
ship restaurant is at isetan scotts.. think 4th floor.. it's been there for so many yrs.. think my parents generation one.. food is just alright but quite value for money.. love the potatoes cos it comes with bacon bits.. unlimited.. very yummy..

is brazilian waxing safe now? i want to do but scare leh.. never do before.. any recommendations?

caramelle,
what is the maternity belt for?

ok gtg for dinner.. OT later

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, good enough la. I've eaten KFC like 3 times in the last 2 years... suddenly since preggers, I've already had them 4 times within the last HALF a year lor. I had Subway cookies yesterday after you talked abt it!
Next weigh-in will be scary again...

caramelle, creamer, sorry ah. Me OT just scan thru archives only. Let Cassey know what huh? CREAMER CAN JOIN ON FRI?!?!?! *hopeful look*

caramelle, cannot walk nvm, just sit on train, walk to McD and sit down... haha.. NO WALKING allowed then! I walked from City Hall to Suntec today - it's a typical hike I take all the time. But today I felt SO exhausted. Might have something to do with PPL ACTING BLUR ON TRAINS! I stood all the way from Jurong East to T'Pagar.
I felt so sleepy, eyes closing, back hurting, butt aching, feet weary... Went for my Gloria Jeans coffee to try to psych myself up for the bus ride to mum's place. Thought half an hour would do the trick but I ended up sitting there for 1.5hrs!

jam &amp; WEST'IES, some are coming from work and will only reach after 7.30. So going straight to Mc's will be good! I'm thinking first ones there can bag us seats - and sms the rest! Prob in the little section facing outside, beside McCafe cos it's a little packed inside... Remember West'ies, most of our contact numbers have been sent out to one another via email.

jam75, chidori, I've left the bag of your bibs and blankets near the door... but am paranoid that I'll forget to bring!! Nvm la, then you come to my place after McD's ok?!

Blurmom, yeah! Belly button getting stretched! Esp. the top part! It's starting to look really wierd. I still stretch bump up a bit and stick a wee little finger in during showers to wash &amp; dry after leh. My sis' one is a bit dark - she says it's cos of our laparoscopy scar. I wonder if I'll end up seeing my scar too. Hmm...

>>WHOA! Your friend's girl is a rascal! Spit everything out in TARTAR SAUCE cos of a pickle bit?! Leave her all messy ah, haiyo. Why should dad and mum clear up her mess if she got into it cos she was naughty?! SMACK HER UPSIDE DOWN!

fatmom, maternity belt usually to help provide ease some pressure on lower back by helping to support weight of bump across a larger area of back. (Sometimes presentable ones can also be used to hold up pants/skirts that have waistbands tt no longer fit...)

Hi mummies!just got out of the shower.It's getting harder and harder to wash my feet in the shower nowadays!!!

BTW, any mummies here know which exercises to do in our third trimester?All i do is a bit of walking at work (but mainly deskbound) and sometimes, i get my pregnancy float and go for a leisurely swim for half an hour.Other than that,not sure what can help to stay fit and help with labour.

I decided to wear my man's boxer shorts as pyjamas tonight and noticed they're skin tight/feel so sad already....i'm officially a fatass........

Cassey, guess you're like me when it comes to KFC haha. Cos I'm so fat conscious, I eat it maybe only once a year. Now since preggers, I've had it once, and that was cos me and hubby were too lazy to go out and eat, so got KFC delivery hehe. I enjoy eating the stuff, but I keep thinking about the calories. Hai...

ahnetsan, think caramelle mentioned the pneumococcal jab is $150 or something like that? Not sure why it's more expensive. Maybe because it's not a very common jab?

Just finished my dinner part 1. Cooked baked beans with potatoes and luncheon meat, ate with bread. Love it!

tinybubu, it's ok, u'll shed the weight after popping (or die trying!) hehe. I was already officially a fatass BEFORE being preggers! Wahahaha...

Swimming's prob the best exercise. Maybe go more frequently? Pregnancy pilates/yoga is good too.

Hi MTBs,

I'm Rina from Great Eastern Life. Do let me know if you need any help on medical or other insurance.

My advise is different ppl different need. Our job is to help you identify your need, if you need to compare, its our job. Cheers!!

Rina Ong

Tubbymummy : Thanks! I wasnt slim as well before pregnancy because i loved to cycle and my thighs,calves and ass were chunky!!!

Cant wait to go for the taka baby fair this weekend.wanted to go to suntc for the body shop warehouse sale today but couldnt be bothered pushing through the crowds....

anybody went?

came back from OB. BB was active, waving arms up and down. Asked doc re weight, his answer,"baby now around 400 or 500gm lah." Aiya, give up asking him. Then asked him can eat royal jelly cos was given big jar, answer? "why eat chemical food?" Asked abt salmon,"eat variety lah, tuna, cod, salmon". So give up! So ahnetsan, I didn't ask abt the tummy ache, cos can imagine him saying,"normal, pregnancy like that one!" Sigh.

Taka fair started already? Aiya, hubby only willing to go this Sat

But I received flyers that if got Taka card, got additional 10% discount. Hopefully the good stuff not swipe off so fast. Think abt it, I also dunno what to get. Will look see look see lor!

BTW, a friend gave birth today. I went to visit her. Apparently, her waterbag broke yesterday, then she admitted. But her dilation was so slow, 8 hrs later, baby in distress already, so no choice emergency C section. Aiyo, so scary! Hopefully my bb good good. But the good thing abt C section, the bb head very round and pretty, unless those who came out through V. Think this is one of the perks of C section. But painful lor, I still cannot imagine going through it.

hey gals!

All set for the great grabs tomr??? hehee

tinybubu- i heard is good to be on all fours so that baby can start to turn to the right position for birth. Still waiting to attend TMC WBB class next Sat so dono yet.

Caramelle and Ahnet - think pneumococcal disease is very scary leh... supposedly a new virus that can attack kids these days so better to get all the necessary jabs. Anyway, we can make use of the govt's $ for $ top up in bank account of baby to pay for such jabs... so don't worry...

TubbyMummy- hv u found your dream flats yet? Maybe can get from Isetan Sale tmr?? :p

LFB, is royal jelly so "chemical"?? I thought it was a natural health supplement haha! My doctor give me this kind of ans, I think I'll strangle him. Blame it on pregnancy hormones hehe. Taka card got additional 10% off ah?? I don't have Taka card!!

tinybubu, my friend went to the Bodyshop sale today, said it was a mad crowd. What recession??

Decided to save my money for the taka baby fair.I have more fun buying baby stuff than stuff for myself nowadays!!!

Might look out for a baby bouncer, diaper genie and BM bags at the fair. Any mummy bought these items already??

sweethalo, oh ya! I didn't even think of it, on my mind only baby items (so sad haha). Yes, I shall try to hunt down hose flats!

How come Paula Abdul's voice is always shakey these days? And she looks like she's high on something...

ok OT finished

re durians, my mom say can only eat in 2nd trimester or early 3rd tri.. cos she say too heaty not good if eat nearer to date..

my aunty ate lots of durians when she was carrying her girl.. and my mom say my cousin cheeks were so rosy when she was born.. and she is a close to 9 pound but now very oily skin.. so not sure related to durians or not

re cord blood
at first i dont want to do cord banking at all.. then later my friends say since i dont want it.. may as well give to public bank.. it is free and it is like for charity

re breast pump
i am still thinking which one to get.. cos i dont think i will pump a lot once i go back to work.. not intending to go office to pump.. so not sure whether to invest in a electric one or just get a cheap manual one

re maternity/nursing bras, i bought mine from perfect mum.. no cup size one leh.. just buy the size without cup eg 40.. and i think this is better.. no need to upgrade every few mths

cassey, thanks for the info on maternity belt.. where to get one?