(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

i jus booked my postnatal massage. mine is considered cheap le, cos i normally see prices like $50 or $60 per session... mine is $35 only.. with arms included as well. Got feedback say not bad, so i took it.

joyce, she told me 1hr like dat, but must take min 5 sessions. first time trying, so hopefully it's as good as the feedback.

Anyone going to the baby seminar organised by TMC and cordlife this sat at pan pacific hotel?? Heard from mummy that there is promo for ameda breast pump but no details weather its open for public? Anyone knows wats the price for the breastpump or did i miss out on any posting here? Cos you gals have been so active leh.. hard to catch up. hee

First mum, u know abt it?

good afternoon mummies. wah so happy i will be working from home until early april. told y'all yest that i have this ligament stretch at my tummy area so very hard to walk/stand and sleeping is the worst! i got letter from my new gynae yest (yes i went back to dr tham so most likely i will deliver at KKH). he's such a nice guy, very patient and when i told him my problem is that i can work on a desk like check emails all that, only thing is i cannot commute to work. he straightaway say ok he'll write me a letter for my company to request permission i work from home. this morning i had the arduous task of talking to HR manager about it, she's not the most compassionate person lah let's just put it that way. she told me working from home is not a permanent solution, i told her i fully agree but i need the time to recover and i simply cannot be commuting everyday. it's much too painful. so in the end, she agreed to let me work from home until my next medical review on 04th april. i also hope i can go back to work by then cos i don't like to ask for special favors like this, i know the colleagues will talk.

so here i am, after having a nice soupy yong tau foo lunch, logging in to say hello to my fellow comrades while clearing my mails cos i was on MC since friday. also bought maternity belt earlier to support my tummy, not that it's very heavy but just to minimise the movement. i told my hubby this must be my retribution for having an easy first 6months..hehe. we believe that doing good deeds (like being pregnant and giving birth) is not easy so must earn our points for it.

can u believe that still with the gnawing pain im looking fwd to friday? i must be crazy but i hope to get better so i won't hold everyone up when i walk like old lady..hehe.

btw, any mummies here have a fitness ball you don't need anymore? i want to buy one from you..cos that can help with my stretch pains. if anyone have, just PM me lah.

re palmer's cream: i just bought my first bottle yest and it smells heavenly! should have done this earlier..i wanted to save and buy the mothercare one but i think my skin needs more moisture so when i use palmer's now, it's so soft and supple. so far no reaction to it yet, unless u count the kittens licking my fingers. hehe..

re malay massage: from what my mum told me, not necessary to book so early as in put deposit all that. just inform them that you're delivering around which date and they will put you in their appt book. my neighbour was using this old lady for her prenatal massage but then the masseuse not free to do for her after delivery cos my neighbour delivered about 3 weeks early and the lady was busy. but good to keep about 2-3 contacts, just in case. btw, im paying about $350 for 7 sessions all-in and she will not push me to buy any products. also if they ask you to buy "jamu" to eat, try not to because it will affect your BM. jamu for massage is okay. my problem seems to be that my mum and relatives plus me have so many contacts and i don't want to offend anyone by not taking them. so im doing my first 7 days massage with my mum's contact, then rest, then another 7 days with another masseuse. she did for my neighbour and my neighbour slim back already..i so jealous
she's a part-time model so she needs her figure back..me with my red stretch marks got no chance lor. only to show hubby..hehe and hopefully lose more weight than pre-preg.

tubbymummy, where did u buy the baby monitor? how much? does it haf a screen dat show u the bb while you are in other room?

Welcome all new mommies that just join the june thread.

Hi ladies, so busy recently in work, got 3 project on hand, no time to read archive at all. But got something to share with u ladies.

Last sat went shopping with mommy and told her that I need to buy nursing bra. So I show her the triump nursing bra @ $39.90 each. She was like so ugly the bra, such material, no pattern and only have black n beige. Then she say must buy so expensive 1? She say some more dunno the bra I will use how long? Then she say dun buy 1st, she go see see where cheaper. Ended up she call me up on Sun and tell me CK department store got sell!!! Some more per piece is $3.90. She say if I buy triump 1, I can buy 10 pieces from CK. Then she say CK design nicer, material almost the same & got my favourite PINK colour and beige. She say if im getting 3 pieces from triump which means I can buy 30 pieces from CK. She say brand only la, insisted wanna help me to buy. She say the $$ can save n buy bb other thing.

Shelisa, i heard that as well for the nursing bras no need to buy expensive ones. i think i will still end up investing in one because my size i dont think CK will have..only those ang moh shop like mothercare/marks and spencer cos im like a mammoth lor! see..i wish i have smaller boobs..

Blurmom, i jus tot of the 183 club when i wrote that in. so we call ourselves the 1.7 Mummies club den!! We dun sing and dance like them, but we play hoola hood with our big belly. wahhaha..

creamer oh i got hear of this shop before. yah no need to buy fanciful ones cos mostly wear at home esp in 1st month. not sure how many mummies here planning to BF very long..

caramelle, ya its for wearing to sleep with the breastpad, jus in case we leak lor when slp.. I also hope to breastfeed for long, but goin back to work after maternity leave will have limited time liao. Cos demand = supply. So will make full use during maternity days only.

i was thinking maybe going on thurs night after my antenatal class. was thinking of fri but we have the gathering...see how. you coming for the gathering?

Blurmom, ohh!! u miss me? haha. Actually my last project just ended (previously located at site office)but recently HQ transfer me back to HQ and i will stationed in HQ but sometime need to inspect diff project. So have to run up n down. Now handle 3 project (2 factory and 1 condo. Thus very very busy, hardly can log in during office hour + my house got no computer)

Anyone having prob bathing now? I cant wash my leg clean!! I bent down my tummy blocked, I lifted up my leg, my tummy blocked thus I just soup whatever area I can and just let the water run down.

Shelisa I miss u lots,
hi5* I cannot even see my bush now so not to mention about washing legs. Now I lift up my legs on the sink and try to reach my toes... But seems that I really got a hard time doing it... So I went to get those long brush from watson, just to clean my legs...

ahnetsan, yrs malay massage v cheap leh...the cheapest i found is $50/session leh...where u get dis lobang huh??

Babyethan, all along i hv been craving f bubble tea juz dat i can't resist so hv been having it like almost 1/wk.....till my wt sudden increase in 2nd tri so now ctrl myself to take bubble tea le!

Blurmom, ohh.. so sweet of u!! i think u better don't lift up ur legs to the sink ba? so slippery and soapy. or not at most lift up to toilet bowl seat ba??

shelisa, can't reach yr leg huh...ask hb to wash f u lo! hehhehe.... i told my hb now i bend down abit difficult so i tell him nx time he muz wash leg f mi he say OK leh! hmm dis wkend should test him realli he will wash my leg f mi ma?? er he already cut toes nail f mi le! hee

jam75.. SHUT UP!! haha.. kidding only hor.. so so jealous leh!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that time i told my hubby i cant cut my toe nail liao, then he said huh? so fast cannot cut urself liao? errr, u slowly find a good position la, if cannot then let it be lor. i ask him help me, he say later he hurt me!! then he walk away..
i think for bathing he still ok, maybe every alt day force him come him help me brush my legs!! yipee..

shelisa, scared mi at 1st i saw u say SHUT UP...tot i mk u angry...hahahaha! my hb volunteer to cut toe nails f mi is bcos he scared my nails too long then hurt him lo! teach u la dun cut yr toe nails let it grow & accidently use the toe nails to poke him if he complaint u say NO CHOICE can't cut myself so hv to let it grow lo...hahahaha!

jam75. haha.. no la.. u nv make me angry.. make me jealous only. Must show off to my hubby what ur hubby did to u. See whether he feel guilty and cut for me anot? Or not i really let it grow long and purposely hurt him.

Recently this thread keep talking abt durain. So i force my hubby by tonight we must go buy durian eat or not i cry!! haha

shelisa, i oso love to eat durians leh...hb got say wan to buy f mi but i forbid him to buy lo...cos i eat liow i put on more wt....my cousin bb was under wt so gynae ask her to take durians...indeed her bb got incrase wt & herself oso incrase quite abit...so i tell hb i will monitor 1st if bb nid to incrase wt then i take if not i ctrl!

talking abt malay massage, im one of those pathetic mummies who gave up after 2 sessions. cos its so oily and smelly, and i gota breastfeed and cannot bath/ remove binder until the next day before the masseur arrives. i decided i wld rather be fat and clean then slim and oily. so i stopped.

Shelisa, now u start to talk about Durian... Naughty u! Make crave too...

Re: KODOMO detergent
I only manage to find those refill packs in ntuc... Where else can I find those Bottled Kodomo detergent?

jam75, as i feel my bb is like on the border line weight, so wanna try to see whether eat liao will increase bb weight anot? Actually for my weight gain for last 2 checkup. each mth gain ard 2-3kg even tho i didnt eat supper leh!! so i think might be the water i drink?? i drink alot alot of plain water each day ard 2litres, den plus i also drink milk, soya bean, or soft drink thus i feel my weight gain is by water? So i wanna eat durian every 2 weeks? i cannot tahan durian leh, i love durian. During durian peak period, hubby and i can eat everyday for 1 whole mth and each time we eat away 6-10kg durian. wahahaha.

Blurmom, i "REN" very very long liao leh. As i scare heaty that y i always walk pass the store by closing my eyes and stop my breath. Then last week read the archive, someone mentioned durian, that y i cant stand anymore! i must pamper myself durian tonight.

First Mum, is it must keep on overnight? I thot few hours only? my neighbour also cannot tahan because we malays still have the param and pilas/pilis to put on forehead, hands and feet to keep warm. but she said after a while all flaking away so she just wash off, but now she complain of body aches..so maybe better to pantang after all.

hopefully my mum will be around all the time so i no need to handle baby except during feeding time..

yes, the binder is supposedly more effective if u keep it overnight. but some people say at least 5 hrs loh. and the amt of lochia after the massage, i got scared out of my wits cos it also hurts like hell, i thought i was going to die from excessive bleeding! i also think my hubby v poor thing to slp beside me if i dont bath cos we are both clean freaks.

yes someone has got to be ard cos during that 1 hr u cannot attend to your baby.

First Mum, with the massage there's more lochia is it? im wondering if it's to dispel "dirty blood" or is it worsened from all the intense massaging?

Cassey, yeah.. u got sick first
must be the weather.. just blame it on the rain
you had chicken burger again ?? is it really that nice ? I usually had the fried chicken wings there..

jam75, hahaha.. that's him.. I realized this after the first few visits, since then I've my own checklist to ask him.. usually, he'll speed it up by going thru my checklist himself.. ask vitamins - checked, mummy's weight - checked, bb's weight - checked, and so on lor..
34.. only one yr diff.. doesn't count, hehee.. hmm, getting more mummies here with our gynae hey.. pretty happy abt it, but also can't help to wonder, if our labour time around the same time, at diff hospitals, how is he going to handle ah..?

blurmom, wow.. you are indeed tall.. 55kg at 1.7m is really slim leh.. wah.. so nice..

Tubbymummy, thanks for sharing the info.. the monitor sounds very very advanced leh.. I haven't really look around for monitor.. I'll try to see at Taka baby fair then.. but, lemme kow how your testing go ok..?

caramelle, welcome back..
hope ur ligament pain got better after some rest, dun move around too much alright..
$350 for 7 session is quite a good deal.. can share with me..? caramelle, can go for bra shopping with Cassey.. hihihi..

Shelisa, same here.. also tight up with work, gotta work late again today..
about nursing bra, a bit late leh.. I just bought from triumph last last week, you're right $39.90, quite comfortable, they let me try 2 type, I took the fully cotton one..

shelisa, tink eat durians can realli increase bb wt leh....cos a few of my fren oso say if bb under wt eat durians can increase de....hmm i oso dun eat supper but i oso put on quite fast...but how we know wt gain is by water?? cos i look at mirror i tink i look v ba ba so is gain extra fats leh!

caramelle,
yea the massage is supposed to speed up all the discharge and lochia. sorry to be gross, but some comes out in big pieces YIKES!!! and also massage supposed to shrink the uterus faster.

but me and a few friends cope well without the massage. personally i think BF is best to get back in shape and help uterus shrink back.

Ling, haiz.. me too gonna work late, u rem to buy some biscuit on ur desk so when hungrey can muach abit 1st. Ohh, you so early buy liao? My mommy say maybe later part then buy as she scare I might increase again. Anyway she say $3.90 only, spoilt throw lor.. haha.

Jam75, same!! That y I hate to see mirror. So I console myself that it is caused by the water. haha

ling, ya i oso tink wat if a few jun mommy wif same gynae give birth ard the same timing how gynae going to rush here & there f delivery!!

Jam75, that's what I asked earlier also... Skarli my day got so many pple due... then cham leh! We are charge hourly during labour you know...