(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

While cooking dinner come up and surf a while.. anyone still having wierd taste in mouth?? i'm having it from time to time.. totally tasteless... and no food can satisfy my tongue if i have tat taste...

anyway, MTBs going to deliver at KKH can register for hospital tour. they conduct tours every friday 11am..

anyway, does anyone know if using nappy liner with disposable diapers will be useful?? so far i know it works well with cloth diapers cos can separate the solids from the cloth so the cloth is easier to wash with lesser stains...

amk_gal, yes... kinda like a sourish taste... or sometimes a metallic taste, yeah? Sometimes I find brushing my tongue with a toothbrush helps. I read tt nappy liners are useful... but I don't see why I'd need it with disposable liners leh. Hmm...

Blurmommy, baby carrier not quite the same as what you call a sarong. A sarong is more commonly termed bb SLING, whereas a bb carrier is one with straps that go on both shoulders... kinda like a backpack.
2183064.jpg

Tubbym~,
your friend is right. It's usually the 3 measurements taken together, sometimes with a 4th - the biparietal(?) circumference. But I'm thinking... perhaps if bb seems to measure in the normal range, maybe they can estimate the other measurements based on the one measurement taken..?! But then, bb's estimated weight must have a wider margin of error... Hmm...

Anyway, re: your dizziness and aspirin thing... I came by a column on the current page of my preggie calendar that answered my concerns abt your dr's course of action. I post it here for your info and createjoy's too.

TOXEMIA
Toxemia (preeclampsia) also known as Pregnancy Induced Hypertension (PIH), is a serious illness that could occur late in pregnancy. Signs of tozemia include a sudden rapid weight gain, swelling of the face, hands and feet, a rise in blood pressure and the presence of protein in the urine. The signs may be accompanied by severe headaches, dizziness, blurred vision, nausea and vomiting. Although the cause of toxemia is unclear, it can be successfully treated if it is diagnosed early. If toxemia goes untreated it can progress to eclampsia, a condition dangerous to both the mother and baby and characterized by convulsions. If you have any of the symptoms of toxemia, call your health care provider immediately.

In fact, it answers yours & sweethalo's discussion question about the significance of protein in the urine too.
A further note about significance of protein in the urine, courtesy of DK Pregnancy Week By Week:
Protein in the urine can be a sign of infection - usually urinary tract infection, which can remain undetected for a longer period of time in pregnant women.

Good morning Ladies, hope is a good start for all one!

Last sat went for checkup, bb is weighted 600gm at week24. Still a princess! no changes. haha. During checkup she was sleeping so so sweet. thus checkup was fast. but i gain 3kg+ within 1 mth

Cassey, really? i think like that must ask grandma to buy if nipple sore or crack.

sweethalo, so is cabbage or DA BAI CHAI?

ahnetsan, last sat i went down to kidzloft but . . . ended up empty handed back. nthin to buy at all

createjoy, from beginning till now i have gain total 8kg. i fainting soon!! i got control my diet leh. must be last fri, i ate nyonya zhang, ang ku kueh, bubble tea, ice cream, chicken rice, peanut muah chee. shit.

TubbyMummy, ur bb is huge leh. mine seem small.

Good morning.

Shelisa, I think your BB is making good progress. Tubbymummy's BB's wt is estimated using one measurement so I think she oso dunno zun or not.

My mother and aunts told me is cabbage lei. How come become da bai cai?

Heng not much activtives during the weekend, otherwise i will read till blur blur again.

Cassey,
happy belated anniv

Re : Diaper
My boi got golden backside. Thus he will be using huggies comfort during the day, mamy poko during the night and mamy poko pull up pants for gai gai. Before that he use nepia and i get from this supplier at 62262650. They are selling at 4 pack for $60 include delivery.

Alot of my gf let their kids use drypers, petpet n even ntuc brand. So really have to depend on your kid

Morning ladies
How's your weekend?

Shelisa, it should be cabbage and they used it to stop milk flow also.

The bb measurements only form as a guideline, not really zun one... Most bb real measurements are so different from est.

Cassey, tks for the carrier info... I find the sling kinda of warm for bb while ur carrier looks kinda of good

good morning mummies, im back from my weekend break! met some beautiful mummies on sat at the first mum congress although we didn't talk much. Tubbymummy, sorry I didn't say hi. Actually had my mouth full of the wanton that's why cannot shout. also cos i wasn't sure it was you, but now i am so next time see you confirm i shout hi ok? also met lovely creamer who's so tall! didn't see your bump from where i was but am sure you're one of those slim mummies lor..so envious! and ade-sourz sorry didn't reply your msg cos didn't charge my phone batt before i left so when i thought want to reply to your sms at the break, phone die on me! hope you all enjoyed the congress as much as i did and learnt many useful things. agree with Tubbymummy that WBB demo was the most interesting one, then the last 2 sessions was okay lah. learnt sthg very impt abt face creams which can harm your fetus and i think some of you may be using it (like me). the dr said that acne creams/makeup/those containing RetinA and salicylic acid can harm the fetus, causing it to be born with birth defects. i went home and immediately checked my moisturiser for RetinA, then i panic cos have leh..and salicylic acid some more! this morning came to office straight away do some research and find there are quite some inconclusive studies done. but to be safe, im switching to mineral-based makeup so going shopping tonight. any recommendations anyone?

re BFing and hubby sucking: a mummy shared with me that in the first few days the body don't produce milk, only colostrum which is thin whitish liquid but enough to feed the bb. another fact i found is that bb can survive up to 3 days with no food, so like what Tubybymummy say don't worry if your supply not enough to feed bb. my mum told me bb tummy is only size of walnut after birth so their crying can also another sign of adjusting to new environment not just for food. and don't worry abt bb weight/size suddenly declining after birth, it's normal for babies to shrink then grow back again. like a sponge cos they live in water so long, then after birth they lose water (therefore shrink) but after a while they adapt back and with proper feeding.

conclusion abt asking hubby to suck to relieve engorgement right after childbirth? firstly im not sure there'll be engorgement right after since supply havent kick in yet (experienced mummies pls confirm). but after reading the posts im a bit concerned so maybe i will buy a cheap manual pump first for this purpose at the hospital then decide on the "permanent" electric one within 1st week. for me it's also because i must consider if i'll be BF-ing after i go back to work. quite wasteful to buy a $600+ pump if i only use for 2 or 3 months. my new mummy neighbour BM supply drying up already, and her bb only 5 weeks old cos she feed him formula most times. so really the rule is must fight the urge to use formula and feed bb with BM almost exclusively. when not feeding, pump and store so supply is maintained. final note on hubby sucking: some men find it quite a turn-on to suck cos it's exclusive mah. not everyday can suck and get milk hor!

amk_gal: hey we could have met in antenatal class at KKH if i didn't change mine. now im going for the thursdays one. how was your 1st lesson? quite boring with all the theory right? i heard from some of mummies here who went for TMC Wong Boh Boi class that she got teach massage to relieve backache all. sigh..hubby say no need to go for so many classes otherwise i would have signed up for another one! i think WBB classes rock cos she's so funny and knowledgeable.

re diapers: my mum went johor on sat and bought me a pack of drypers 84pcs for RM38. what a steal! iirc, she told me the drypers newborn 28pcs pack selling for RM7, in SG it's SGD7! i think from now on i'll buy diapers exclusively in JB! she also saw some bb clothes, gd quality and only RM8. i wish i can buy in bulk and sell to all mummies here (hehe..) but i heard got limit? if you buy too many pieces later kena tax. so funny, diapers also want to tax?? anyone else heard same thing?

re bb measurements: i so sad lor cos the last time i saw precious princess was 14 feb for our detailed scan and the sonographer just told me bb is healthy and growing well, no indication on how heavy or how long she is. so must wait until this fri at my next gynae appt to find out. but she did say must take those 3 measurements (as Cassey said) to give estimate on bb's weight.

random note: at the first mum's congress i saw the TMC booth and so tempted to switch to TMC, esp after seeing the new suites. im anyway in the still-looking-around phase, will see my current gynae hopefully for the last time this friday and then want to make a switch already. so need some advice from mummies here cos i know quite a few of you going to TMC, can you recommend a female gynae who fit the bill below:

- female gynae
- have evening clinic on weekdays or open on weekends
- takes appointments cos my current one don't take appt and i end up waiting for 3 hours each time
- short waiting time during appointment but reasonable consultation time
- very pro natural deliveries
- nice, friendly and motherly

thanks in advance!

Good morning ladies!

Blurmommy, thanks, that's what I thought lor, that other docs measure all the items to make the weight estimate. Too bad my girl was sleeping so happily in what seems like an awkward position. For sling/carrier, I plan on getting a carrier, cos some mummies say that sling very difficult to adjust, not sure true or not. And over the weekend, I saw a few ppl carrying their baby with sling, ALL of them still had to use arm to support the upper body of the baby, cos if not it looks like the sling doesn't wrap high enough. whereas my friend who use carrier, both her arms are always dangling free, even when baby is sleeping. Maybe it's just that those few mummies I saw over the weekend are more KS lah, but think I'll go with carrier.

Shelisa, ya mine the measurement was estimated only from belly, so like bbjun says, I think it's not zun. Yours sound more normal haha. Mine was 300g at detailed scan 4wks ago, now suddenly jump by more than double, difficult to believe lor. Unless it's an indication that MUMMY is starting to get gestational diabetes! Arrgghh!!

Cassey, RAPID WEIGHT GAIN? SWELLING OF FACE HANDS FEET??!! *faint* I don't want!!! Anyway, so I did remember the protein part correctly, that protein in urine is often an indication of infection too. Cos I had a kidney infection last time which led to the discovery of more "problems", and it showed the protein levels in urine to be high, and doc first thought it was UTI. Anyway, the pee stick tests have been good so far, but blood pressure to me is a bit weird - 124/65 (my usual pre-preg is 110/70, so systolic went up, and diastolic came down??). But doc/nurses say it's ok. It's been consistent over past 2 visits.

Thanks bbjun

Blurmommy, ohh?? okie, anything happen to my precious nipple will ask grandma to help me buy.

caramelle, so far which brand of product u found cotain RetinA and salicylic acid?

TubbyMummy, ohh. same last 4 weeks my bb also weighted 300gm.

Shelisa, i was using Garnier Pure range of products. but Retin A is very common, esp in acne treatment products. so all those that prevent blemishes/clear breakouts should have one. if anyone going to gynae, wondering if they can check with gynae too? cos the dr that did the presentation was from thomson aesthetics clinic.

tubbymummy, ur BP still looks pretty normal. Mine is forever 90something/50something. Everytime I see liao, I scare man.

caramelle,
sorry I went off without saying hi too! It's only after reading your post that I remembered I didn't reply your last SMS to me! Sorry.... got bird brain these days... When i finally managed to free myself from the crowd, me and hubby went food court to eat dumplings and nasi padang instead haha... Glad u enjoyed the second half of the talks. Yes, to me WBB was the most interesting, but can't see her from so far away, pity.

For facial products, I've been using all natural cleanser, makeup remover and moisturiser, and I also use mineral makeup all this while, so I think I'm quite safe. I sell these products, so they are readily available to me haha! Ok, I am NOT advertising my company here, so I won't say more. But just some notes on mineral makeup since u're thinking of switching: It's quite easy to get in Sin now, quite a few online vendors, and ppl organising sprees to buy direct from overseas (but these will take a bit longer to arrive). Most impt thing is the ingredients. The powders should not be bulked up with bismuth oxychloride or talc. Both of these are super cheap ingredients that may cause allergic reactions in some people. Also try to get something with a bit of SPF, which presents itself in the ingredients as zinc oxide or iron oxide. Since our skin during pregnancy is more prone to pigmentation problems, better to use something with some sunblock properties. If in doubt about colour, buy samples first. Almost everyone selling mineral makeup sell samples

tubbymummy, did u eat lots of red meat? I got low bp and my gynae advise me to eat more red meat... Perhaps you had too much red meat?

tubbymummy,
am thinking about switching my make up to mineral one but dunno which one to try. Another concern is whether the powder dries our skin more. I am already having dry skin (even more so now during pregnancy) and so do not have the courage to buy one to try out yet.

ya.. oso know my BP very jia lat. I can't stand too long. Time limit is 10mins. Walking is about 45 mins. After these times, I will start feeling faint n dizzy n need to find a place to sit down liao. everytime I stand, I have to remind myself to shift my weight regularly. WBB taught us that but then, I keep forgetting la.

caramelle, i think i go home check check.

TubbyMummy, thanks for the info.

Blurmommy,actually red meat beside beef still have what meat consider red meat?

Blurmommy, I do eat quite a lot of red meat. I try to make sure at least 1 meal everyday got some meat (preferably red). But that's what my doc said to do, cos I got low blood count, and increasing iron intake will help with formation of blood cells (or something like that). My multivits also has iron in them. but if it's causing the bp to go up, then how wor? Eat also cannot, don't eat also cannot.

bbjun, I know your appetite not good, but when u DO eat, maybe wanna make sure got red meat in your meal? And ya, the weight shifting thing does help, cos it keeps up circulation as well.

luckily over wkend the posts not dat many if not really having hard time to follow up as i dun log on during wkend de!

shelisa, mi too now put on 8kg le....i oso fainted when i saw the increase lo...was tinking last 2 wk hv heart burnt & diarrohea couple times & appetite not gd...tinking dis is the time my wt will reduce or at least maintain...i din prepare f increase of wt...my target to gain onli 10 kg oso can't mk it le...so hope wt gain througout pregnancy not more than 15kg!

createjoy, hmm not sure when gynae will start to monitor our bb wt but my cousin when wk 32 gynae ask her to eat more as bb is under wt....but aft eating more her wt do increase slightly but still bb under wt & dis time round gynae advice her to eat durians to increase bb wt...if still no improvement will ask to hv early dlvy in wk38!

tubbymummy, the prob is that I only take chicken, fish n pork (is this red???). I love to eat lamb la.. but then my mother refuses to let me eat lor. Then my MIL ask me not to eat duck some more. Sighz. Dun eat beef cos of religion. I m not really a meat person to start off with. Hence, totally reliant on the iron tabs that gynae gave n all the green veges that has iron.

Anyway, good news. Appetite improves somewhat over the weekend. Not sure if all the facial and pre-natal massage I did over friday n sat helped that or not. More excuses to pamper myself. :p

now gg for Peking duck lunch with my colleagues.

good morning ladies,
weight talk again.. me already gain 10kg so far leh.. I'm the winner among all.. currently standing at 63kg..

anyone going for the breastfeeding workshops this sat at the Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group (S)?
I signed up for this coming Sat and the next one.. hoping to say hi to some of you ladies there..

bbjun, I also got super dry skin (since young), so I use a lot of moisturiser before putting my powder on. I'm lucky cos my powder is very friendly with moisturiser. In fact it gives nicer coverage (you know lah, mineral makeup coverage can be quite mild) when I apply it straight after moisturiser when my face is still oily/moist. Mine doesn't go blotchy. But it depends on what brand you buy, cos some brands go very blotchy when you apply straight aft moisturiser. You can usually get around this blotchy problem by putting on moisturiser first, let it absorb for maybe 10min, before applying the powder. Mineral powder feels drying, cos of the way it is in loose powder form, it helps ppl with oily skin to absorb some of the oiliness and prevent shine. But by right, it shouldn't be drying, as long as u moisturise properly before that. If there's a brand that you're eyeing, buy the sample first, then try it out after you apply moisturiser. Like I said earlier, if it goes blotchy, try letting your moisturiser get fully absorbed before buffing on the powder. If this still doesn't work, find another brand.

Tubbymummy, no worries. can imagine the crowd was crazy esp when you were leaving!

btw, tried to PM you to ask abt mineral makeup but your PM not on. can you PM me instead? expensive or not? hehe

jam75, same.. hi five. hope whole pregnancy not more then 15kg. Or not i think i will really faint leh

bbjun, great to hear ur appetite improved!!

chidori, u are not the winner.. the winner is 'Blurmommy', so far she gain 15kg!

anybody can advise red meat is which type of meat?

bbjun, chicken, fish and pork (and duck!) all white meat! very healthy if you're on diet but not enough for iron source. what abt wholegrain eg wholemeal bread, nuts, dark green leafy vegetables -- all these also alternatives. i'd advise you to eat natural food rather than supplements (which sometimes can be too rich).

Animal sources of iron (easier to be absorbed by body) include red meat, especially liver, eggs, and seafood such as tuna, salmon, and oysters. White meat also carries some iron, but not nearly as much as lean red meat does. Humans should not rely entirely on red meat for their iron, but it should be considered a significant source. When animal sources of iron are eaten with green leafy vegetables, the body is better able to absorb the heme iron in the animal products, so a balanced, healthy plate of food is recommended.

Non-heme sources include many grains such as wheat and oats, along with lentils, beans, soy, leafy greens like spinach, broccoli, and mustard, and dried fruit. Oatmeal, whole wheat bread, and soy products such as tofu, tempeh, and soymilk are all excellent sources of iron. Many companies also supplement products like cereals and soy milks to increase the amount of iron that they contain.

source: http://www.wisegeek.com/which-foods-are-good-sources-of-iron.htm

side note: i can feel bb swimming and moving around now as i type, so nice the feeling. hehe..but last sat we went to watch a midnight movie slumdog millionaire. the music was so loud that bb kept moving, think she was agitated. i wanted to leave but hubby say nothing lah..so i wrapped up my tummy with my scarf hoping to block the sounds. poor baby..no more midnight movies and loud noises for me!

Any mummy who wants to try out the motor sound for medela pump can pop by the shop at AMK hub, din check out shop name but is beside Funzcentre. I asked the sales to let me hear the motor sound for Mini Electric Plus, not as loud as i expected, and i think they do rent out some pumps.

Shelisa, red meat is all those which are red as you see in the market eg beef, mutton..think that's it. rest are white meat.

bbjun, y cannot eat duck huh?? i love to eat duck leh & hv been eating quite often wo!

shelisa, at the rate of my wt increasing i realli scared i will hit to 20kg leh! hopefully the wt gain is to my bb not to MI lo...pls bb absord the food leh dun let mommy put on so much!

bbjun, pork is classified as red meat by the USDA, so I guess if you're eating pork, it's still good. But I'm wondering, why would red meat increase BP (Blurmommy, did your gynae say why?), is it because of iron content? If it's iron content, then some seafood like shrimp and sardines are also good sources of iron...

Shelisa, red meat should be beef/veal, venison (deer), lamb/mutton, and pork.

chidori, I also gained almost 10kg liao. Measured on sat, weight = 65.5kg.
But in the last 4 wks, weight gain was only 1kg, so I hope to maintain it like that. Some friends have told me that some preggies gain lotsa weight in the beginning, and towards the end slow down, I'm hoping I'm one of those!

caramelle, I'll PM you.

caramelle, wah your info on iron very good, thanks!

bbjun, forgot to ask, why are you not allowed to eat lamb and duck??!!

Shelisa, then take pork, or those seafood with good amount of iron. Tuna, sardines, salmon etc. Actually, cockles is a good source of iron, not sure if you take it. But if you do, make sure it's very well cooked hor.

Iron absorption:
Some books I read suggest drinking orange juice with your meal, as Vit C helps with iron absorption. Don't take milk with iron rich foods, as calcium restricts iron absorption.

Shelisa, Duck also red meat but strictly no mutton for pregnant ladies..

jam75, duck can eat

tubbymummy, eat moderately bah. Having red meat 2-3 times per week should be good

I am not a red meat person, hence I only eat them once a week.

caramelle, now our bb can hear whats going on around us. My folks keep telling me not to scare the bb with loud noise however I still scream at my dog at times hahaha

TubbyMummy- really thinking of giving up eating those iron pills as the after taste is really bad... maybe will eat iron rich foods instead.

Any other stuff is rich in iron? Thanks

Blurmommy, what's wrong with mutton? I was only advised that it should not be undercooked...

Blurmommy/caramelle, I subscribe to the opposite theory re loud noises hehe. I'm exposing baby to whatever sort of sounds at whatever levels that we normally experience them anyway, so that my baby won't be the super sensitive type in future, little bit of sound only start fussing and crying. And I also scream at my cats at the top of my lungs haha.

I need to ask my gynae again about mutton.. But my folks version is - Yang Dian Feng!

Tubbym, thats what I wanted too... Just expose them to all sort of sound so they wun be so neow next time

yeah my mum oso say cannot eat mutton becos of yang dian feng.. dont know how true.

me still feeling unwell, going to visit doctor today again. any mummies taken antibiotics during their pregnancy? i wonder whether the doctor will prescribe me cause i have been coughing with greenish phlegm this past week..

have been putting off the antibiotics thoughts cause thought i can recover myself...even my mum asked me not to eat too much medicine too haizz but 1 week liao still like that..

hatemenot, I think better go see doc. If he knows you're pregnant and still prescribe antibiotics, then it should be the type that's safe for preggies. I think u'll feel worse if u don't see doc, and indirectly, baby suffers also right? Hope u feel better soon.. Eat nutritiously, ok?

Yang Dian Feng:
My mum also mentioned it, but she also feels it's nonsense. I asked her then eat chicken in future kid will be come "ji" (prostitute) is it?? She laugh and laugh and told me not to take these old wives tales too seriously. Anyway, I'm not stuffing my face with mutton everyday lah. Think I ate lamb chops once in my pregnancy so far, and had a roast lamb for dinner once, that's all.

hi hatemenot- i m also down with flu for 2wks oredi... since 6 Feb.

I went to doc, he gave me preggie safe antibiotics but i refused to take... rather not risk it... because i was afraid to be allergic to the antibiotics..

But i took the cough mixture and the cold tabs.

TubbyMummy, i don't take salmon and tuna and cockles. As for sardines is very very seldom.

sweethalo ohh!! but now discussion is use Cabbage and DA BAI CHAI. So not sure which to use better?

Blurmommy, ohh.. duck is red meat? i seldom take meat as my house there duck rice not nice.

hatemenot, pls rem to drink more plain water and rest well. can take some chrysantem tea or barley. can help ur body cool down abit.

Reg: Mutton, strictly not allow!! bcos of yang dian feng!! i dunno 100% bcos of mutton anot? As my daddy have similar illness like yang dian feng but he wont bite his tongue. my grandma blame that she ate mutton. she have 8 childrens, only pregnant daddy she ate mutton then daddy have such illness thus they strongly believe mutton will cause such illness.

sweethalo,

ya lor.. my doctor say maybe viral.. so asked me to wait and see if i recover, but i oso have thoughts about anti biotics or cough medicine.. i took the flu pill though (yellow one)

Thanks tubby mummy and shelissa =) just scared the coughing will affect baby cos use alot of stomach muscles to cough everytime