(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo, usually try to latch on first! Let baby feel you and your beautiful breast!

They say its bonding... Let bb suck neh neh first! go home then express out

i saw freestyle leh..i know that first years shop at KKH always sell the medela pumps cheapest in sin (unless you buy from sprees in US). because PIS is 699 iirc.

next week after my class, i double check again and inform you all.

Thanks caramelle!
wonder got staff discount or not, if hv maybe ask my aunty buy for me...hniak hniak hniak hniak

oklah..im going off duty. leaving the office now for a fun weekend i hope!

take care everyone and i will be seeing a few of you tomorrow at the first mum congress!

I was thinking of bringing the pump to the hospital too so that in case breast engorged i can continue to pump so that not painful

bb and tc caramelle, have a greak weekend!

sweethalo, provided she wan help me tc... My sil already have 3 kids with her! Think no slot liao! LOL

sweethalo, shouldnt need to pay. iirc they will let you try the pump and see if you can take it or not, then if you like you can buy at the hospital shop before you go back. there's a pharmacy there, next to it also selling medela pumps.

btw, im talking abt KKH not sure abt other hospitals.

and finally, best way to relieve engorged breasts is to get your hubby to suck out the milk. that's what our parents and aunties would do before pumps existed. they say it's less painful because hubby can regulate the sucking power compared to machine. although my hubby said he won't do it, i think when he see me in pain, he will surely help relieve it for me.

ok now really really going liao!

wah! hubby sucking... heheh Ahnet's hubby will be happy.. giggle...wait till I tell mine when he wakes up later!

Yeah I think this method is better than the Frozen Bai Chai leaf place on the breast... Don't think that will encourage milk flow

yeah supposed to put the Bai Chai in the freezer then tear out leaf by leaf and put on engorged breast. apparently, hospitals also hv standby baicai leaf for new mums staying there...

But I tend to think that u hv to pump so that the relieve comes from demand not some cold thing on the breast... if not i think the flow will stop due to lack of demand...

It was my hubby's male colleague who taught him this method but his wife was unsuccessful in bf due to engorged breast which were too painful... hence I think it was the bai chai that did them in...cos he prepared like 2 big bai chai in the freezer and the wife kept using it

back...jus bought duck noodles... hungry sia.. din eat lunch.

sweethalo, u also nt wrking? wah i din knw... heehee. can i add u to msn too?

Wah! So heng! Come back only have to read thru one archive only! Hehehe...

I went orchard gai gai, was in the Shaw House area, remembered that Pacific Plaza got HoneyPot, so went over to kaypoh, end up did my brazilian wax! Who was the one who gave me a contact, Bbjun is it? Sorry leh, I didn't call her, was procrastinating, then suddenly today just got inspired, so acted on the spot.

First time in my life waxing, and I went all the way. Can't stand it anymore, can't see comfortably past my tummy, so can't shave properly, everything feels itchy and pokey. So happily told her to take everything off! Freedom! There was a therapist that is apparently very experienced w doing preggies, but she had another client at that moment, so I got someone else. Turned out ok too, cos she warned me in advance which areas would hurt more, so I can suck in breath and grip onto towel. Yes, it HURT. But the moment it was over, I forgot the pain liao. For me it was not the hurt until will cry that kind. But not for ppl like Cassey. I'm going back every month, until before delivery. Took up package, buy 5 sessions, free 1 session.

Cravings:
I satisfied my bubble tea and nonya zhang craving! Woohoo! Had that for dinner while waiting for hubby. Then met hubby and friends for some drinks, and I ordered a fruit salad, so I felt quite healthy. Fruit salad came with lotsa greens too. I felt like a good girl

Husbands suckling:
Eh, I think I will NEVER let my hubby suck milk from my breasts!! I want him to continue viewing me as a wife and lover, not milk producing cow. In fact, I think my hubby will be freaked out by the idea of it as well, thankfully. As it is, I'm worried about how he would deal with me breastfeeding, that's why I'm dragging him to breastfeeding workshop, hoping that the more he knows what it involves, the better prepared he will be. I don't want him to be shocked or feel weird about my breasts suddenly becoming a feeding tool for the baby, so much so that he is not interested in them when we have sex. I'm worried about these things lor...

sweethalo, I also intend to bring my pump along with me to hospital, in case baby doesn't know how to latch and breast end up being engorged, at least can pump a bit out to relieve the breasts.

Even though I've never BF before obviously, just thought I'll share some stories I've heard from other ppl, so we can learn from other people's mistakes, and hopefully be successful at BF.

Some mothers told me that they didn't realise it takes so long for breast milk to come in (around 4 days on avg, but if C-sect may take even longer). They also didn't know that supply can take up to 2-4wks to stabilise. So in the meantime when the supply is very low, they assume that they are starving their kid. They kept stressing to me that even if u feel heart pain, u have to ignore the baby's cries and DON'T give in to feeding formula. Cos if u do, baby will not make as much effort to suckle from you, and u won't be able to establish supply. U might think u're torturing your child, but they'll be fine. If the kid is starving, they will keep feed longer or feed more frequently, which will actually increase supply, so whatever u're able to produce is actually what your kid needs. So many ppl I know regret giving up at this stage cos they thought they were starving their kid, cos no one told them otherwise.

One recent mummy I met also said that her kid had a bad case of reflux since born, and she thought it was something to do with her BM, that maybe kid was allergic to it. No one taught her how to recognise the signs of reflux, so she got scared and stopped BF, only to realise that the kid still had reflux when feeding on formula. By that time too late liao, she had no more BM supply. So for her 2nd child, she was very determined to BF, and she succeeded. She said that joining support groups like Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group was very helpful.

So I'm determined to try lah. I'll try damn super hard, so I know if I really fail, it's not because I never try hard enough

Oh, I had problems with my printer, so i asked the lady (called Ivy), if I can email her my details and transfer the funds to her instead, and she said can. I had downloaded the form already, so today I sent it to her in Word doc format (with all my details typed in), and did an ATM transfer. Theirs is DBS account, she'll give u the account no.

Think u should do this too, so much easier.

I'm not sure if Ivy is the only one who replies emails, maybe got different ppl check this email generic looking email account, so maybe no need to address specifically to her?

You talking about the workshop in April hor?? The 4 sessions one.

I think should have ba... if the office not open tmr, then no one else can register, so between now and Mon, no difference haha.

Wah, think got some gastric reflux, food keeps coming back up to the edge of my throat, threatening to come out. YUCK.

Wah, u have a good point about the bank acc! Hmmm... hopefully I'm not scammed. Think someone else here also paid to bank acc. I think it's Nozomi? Cos believe she as e one who told me can transfer, so I went to ask them...

I better go sleep liao. Tmr first thing in the morning see gynae. Yay, can scan baby again! Quite excited to see how much she weighs now...

Chat again tmr, gd nite!

wow biang i OT 2hrs after i come back frm gynae.. u all dont talk so much abt food leh non stop posting wow then we later cm in have to OT haha :p today check up wow biang surprise i put on 4+kg already i thought i hardly put on weight haha... OMG! my boy hi fi to me during scanning just now keke so cute.

wow the glucose test must sit ard for 2.5hr & fast the night b4?!! siao no bfast i b v xinku.. y the strip not sufficient still must blood test & test so long??

Cassey, i means you ask me to use permanent marker to draw my hubby aerola. that y i say u rock it!!

Blurmommy, i will bring the breast pump to hospital leh. As i scare bb dunno how to suck. den i can pump out and bottle feed. or not i scare the duct will jam?

caramelle, my hubby say he say die die also wont suck for me. sob sob

sweethalo, really? frozen Bai Chai?? got logic anot?? first time hearing it leh.

TubbyMummy, *hi five* to me im also swear to die die try my damn best to BM. regardless wat!! *wink wink* pls update us ur scan! enjoying dancing with ur princess.

createjoy, 4kg+ is from whole pregnancy or from last appt?

LFB, you can hi five to the leaking gang! ahnetsan, Cassey, You and ME

i've received all my items from kidzloft last night!! very happy with the things i've bought, especially looking at the original price and the price i've paid for them! and it's the same stuff we see in departmental stores.

anymore MTBs visiting their warehouse today? today is the last day for 50% off all items!

there's also a mini baby fair at BHG today. going to take a look too..

amk gal, how the quality of the items? want to go later.. but hubby duno can come home in time anot.. he's working.. if not i buy online also liao..

blurmommy.. same as me.. poor us..

BHG is last time seiyu? so bugis, bishan haf BHG.. not sure what other places..