(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

CONFINEMENT
it was the most torturous 28-day period in my entire life! i hope i'll have it better the 2nd time round. the nanny i had sucked and kept telling me to give formula milk at night. she cook until my house became like a kopitiam, she even drank my last packet of milo which i usually took for breakfast!

i went against her advice and bathed twice a day and washed my hair once a day. i remember the weather was very hot, and i had to eat HOT food and drink HOT soups everyday, bay tahan! cannot drink water and made to drink red dates tea until i got sore throat. being the hygiene freak, i wanted to die cos cannot wash hands with tap water!! after use toilet, how can dont wash hands ley. my goodness.

my fan and aircon also on whole day and i wore shorts and tees after a wk cos i really cnt stand wearing long pants, long sleeves, socks and slippers in our hot weather. i think the confinement practices are insane.

sweethalo,
dont have la. in fact my chinese friends who live overseas also dont practise confinement. but then again, if they deliver in the cooler mths, i wldnt mind doing confinement. its just so sickening in spore context.

First mum, actuali our confinment period izzit consider the hottest? so my fren always say they plan f bb doing confinment in year end cos weathr cooler!

jam75, actually March is the hottest month cos it's the month where the dist between the sun n equater is the shortest. However, generally, the temp in Jun, Jul & Aug are relatively higher than other months.

jam75,
duno ley but i suspect so.

but then again, my last confinement was in dec and it was HOT, HOT, HOT too loh. so i think in spore context, the weather is just hot all the way la.

bbjun, hmm so still hot lo...my colik more funnie he say he born in jun so u get hot v easily i tell him where got such logi wan...so i tell him i born in dec so i tend to feel cold easily lo...hahaha!

I m still trying to ascertain if Ikea sale is really on this weekend. Nothing on the website leh. Anyone has news on this?

jam75, oh of course! now that you mentioned it, i never see my MIL in nice clothes at home. she's always sweaty in a long dress after cooking in the kitchen then just change to tshirt and long pants when she sleeps.

i grew up in house with girls, but yah even when my dad around at home i don't wear nighties. so only for hubby eyes when in the bedroom lor!

bbjun and sweethalo, i think so this weekend but i also never see any mailer. my aunt works at the alexandra branch and she say there's a sale coming up (when i last met her last week) so must be true ba...

ikea got give advance info meh? thought usually they just advertise on actual day in the papers?

Last time I still get mailers from there when I had the friends of Ikea card. But I terminated it a couple of years back... so dun have mailers anymore.

Hello Mummies-to-be

Sorry for intruding.

Just want to share with you, if you are looking for any good Confinement Lady, I can recommend mine to you.

This aunty (Mdm Low) is from Kuantan, Malaysia and she charge me $1800.

She cooks very well and look after me and my baby gal very well too.

Kindly pm me and I will forward her details to you as I dont always log into this thread.

Best regards

merlynzz & xuan> i dunno haf 'feel' for crocs... but i guess i will go check out the ones suitable MTBs ba, hopefully i will like them... haha
i din knw crocs are supposed to be for comfy purposes. haha

wah 'cotton on' sounds good leh, will go check out too.

audreyaw> nah, i din buy the maternity pants myself... my MIL bot them in HK while she was there... and apparently my unmarried SIL tried on them and she found them okay for her, so she bot the same size for me... but i stil find them loose... but never mind la, i seldom wear them unless bo bian...think after a while, can wear them le...

omg, i din even knw taka and metro was on sale ytd!!! when is the sale til??

omg cassey, you had diarrhoea at 4am?? wat happen?? u feeling any better now??

haha shelisa, dun start drinking the stretchmark cream yeah?! i laughed when i read ur line...so funny..

wah din knw so many of u so onz on applying stretchmark cream... i only started applying for 2 days den i din apply last night le... jus plain lazy... haha and worse, i din eat my multivits last night, cos lazy too and my hb was too tired and slept earlier and so i din wake him up to help me cut the pill...
hopefully my boy wont realise the lack of vits for ytd.... heehee

btw, talking abt stretchmark cream, dat day i was at my gynae, i asked him wat brand of stretchmark cream he recommend, he jus shook his head and say actually any brand also can... and actually whether u apply or not, it doesnt really haf any effect on preventing the marks from appearing, it's normally genetic.... but he says the CHEAPEST form is to apply OLIVE OIL.... dat's the best, he says.... well, i've yet to try it...

yeah, i also agree dat must TRY to maintain after giving birth. but it's gonna hard. heehee... esp if hb hint hint liao, den all the more we should do something abt it... if nt really send our hb to another woman's arms....
and i guess by maintaining ourselves, will also give 'face' to our bb...haha.. if not bb will think 'hw come my mummy like dat one'...haha...
wah but at least you all know hw to make up.... i only knw hw to put on blusher and eyebrow and mascara and lip gloss only.... dun even knw hw to put on fake eyelashes and dun even knw hw to apply eye shadow, dun even knw hw to apply foundation.... haha

wah cassy, you sick man.... fancy u having that idea..."I used to fantasize about just plopping my tummy roll on the cutting board and lopping a whole chunk off. Abt the right height some more. Then I think, I'll bleed and it'll hurt like crazy, but bleed bleed, call ambulance, say it was an accident, go hospital for stitches... then FLAT TUMMY LIAO!! Quite instant ma"... i read liao my legs all numb and got goose pimples sia....

talking abt confinement, i told my hb dat i die die will go bathe one lor...den he say aiya, dun bathe la, jus follow the tradition lor... den i say pls lor, later i stink like hell... den he say aiya, i sleep beside u i also dun mind liao, u mind so much for wat sia... 0_0" i dun care la, i will bathe one... if my MIL wan to scold den scold la, nw wat generation liao.... think can bathe using the herbal bags one...

bing> wah if confinement cannot even on fan, i think i will go mad...already so hot and humid and sweating le, plus wif the bb's crying, i think i will be sent to woodbridge...

btw, my fren who jus gave birth say recently got tis programme hosted by quan yi feng one, on chn U, abt 'nu ren da zhu yi'... in the prog, there's a TCM doctor who talked abt confinement i think, and he himself says can bathe during confinement... in the old days no bathing is allowed, cos in the old days, ppl bathe using the water from the well, and well water is very very cold so it's not good for bodies... but now, in sg weather, we got water heater leh and those herbal packets meant for bathing one, of cos we can continue to bathe, and jus remb to blowdry our hair after dat, instead of jus letting it dry on its own...

firstmum> wah, ur confinement sounds like hell sia....

my MIL keep telling me to cut my hair short.... me nw already look fat liao, if i cut my hair short, i will look fatter lor.... den she say cos i give birth in june, will be very hot weather, if long hair, sure cannot tahan one.... den i jus say huh, no lah, everyday bathe lor, den she give me dat 'u idiot' look on her face and say best is dun bathe.... i dun care lor, i jus say huh, hw can dun bathe, so smelly, and hot, skali later ur son run away wif another woman den how.... den she kept quiet.... hahahaha *Yes, another win for me*
but den hor, every month is hot in sg la, so june or not june, it's stil the same ,i guess

just back from my detail scan, no hope liao.. cfm baby boi.. but ok lah. first grandson in the family. haha.
gynae says my baby head big leh! body size normal & legs abit shorter than normal. wah liao.. say my baby until like 'bu dao wong' so sad... then my hubby have the cheek to say ok mah.. next time boi boi dun nid umbrella.. *depress*

shelisa & bing, i went to taka to check out the sale.. think no nid to go cos like what lovelytulips posted, only 20% discount on pigeon products, nothing interesting. the avent sterilizer is cheaper at kiddy place at $171. dun get from taka.

i dun makeup too.. my hubby says i look like 'ru hua' when i put on make up.. haizz... even for work, i only do my eyebrows, power & light blusher, no lipstick, eyeshadow or anything else..

i'm using the clarins oil & only applying when i remember leh.. so 1 week maybe 3 or 4 days only.. haha.. i think i still have 90% in the bottle & i been using since my 3rd mth..

will be at my moms hse during my confinement but defintely will bath & aircon on.. how can stand the heat?? will die lor..

jam75, huh!? It's not so much romance as just my personal preference leh. I don't find t-shirt and shorts comfortable... We've been dating for 10 and a half years and will be celebrating our 4th anniversary next Thursday.

caramelle, agree with you. Household of girls more comfortable for dressing obscenely at home. I used to strut around bra-less in really short nightdresses cos they shrank in the wash. *GGRRRR* They ended above mid-thigh when I sit down and I didn't really care if dad saw my prunes or anything.

But what jam75 says is true for me too. I just don't feel that it's as appropriate if it's my own son. My mum wears beautiful gowns and flowy dresses to sleep, but she always keep her underwear on until she retires for the night. Lucky dad!!

ahnetsan, true abt the stretchmark cream - it's more to keep skin moisturised and for us to feel like we're pampering ourselves. It doesn't really make a HUGE difference to how much stretchmarks you get. In fact, I'd just use a regular creamy moisturiser once I use up my stretchmark cream present. But I say, if you're doing it, give the same treatment to your boobs, arms, thighs, butt, sides and lower back too.. Not just the tummy. Sis had angry red rashes, not on bump, but all down her sides as skin stretched.

Re: diarrhoea
ahnetsan, at least my tummy contents are NOT green! Haha.. then again, in the dark, I didn't check. But quite sure it won't be green. Thank God I had light lunch and so far, am still doing ok. *phew* Just that bb is kicking like crazy. So distracting from my sessions..

YAY!! Tmr not working, can sleep in! Trade-off, I must work Sat...

Re: Long Hair
You know ah, I showed hubby the G'Jeans photograph and he commented that all of the attendees had long hair. I hadn't even noticed until he mentioned it. =) He's quite observant huh...?

Xuan, you must be very ku niang - need umbrella for sun and rain kind, is it? Your obgyn and hubby are both hilarious...! Normal for femur length (thigh bone) to be short at this point ma. It'd experience a growth spurt very very soon and start kicking you like crazy!

WHOA... To look ike Ru Hua in ANY state - even in labour - is a super insult, man. (Unless you're our own local Abigail - in which case, it's a compliment.) *BBBIIIISSSSSHHH* your hubby!

cassey, wah.. ur hb really observant. If I have gone, I will be the only short hair one then. I m trying to grow it now. I don't want to cut it real short to keep cool during confinement nor end up at a awkward length that I cannot tie. Lucky hair is growing fast during pregnancy.

bbjun, that awkward un-tie'able length is really an abomination. Colleagues keep telling me to trim my hair to make for easier maintenance... but short hair harder to maintain when it's poking out all over after bed.. when it's greasy... long hair, greasy, just tie it all up! =)

Has FIL responded to your email? Or has he spoken to MIL yet?

no lah.. actually i'm too lazy to carry any umbrella ard. dun even have 1 in my bag. umbrella usually carried by my hubby if raining when we go out.. haha

oh.. really? then i can worry less.. boi leh.. cannot be too short mah.. even thou his mummy & daddy not very tall lah..

haha.. my hubby jus dun like me with makeup.. duno why.. but i cfm dun look like Ru Hua lah.. at least nobody else say so!

cassey, no. My FIL has not responded. He usually doesn't cos it is quite torturous for him to type long emails in English. I believe he has spoken to MIL and MIL is panicking if I m really in pre-natal depression cos she has been calling quite few times since ytd n I have not been answering. I really don't wish to end up having a conversation where she will be just trying to defend all her actions to justify the unnecessity of me being upset. It's quite pointless when she doesn't get it that we just need her to respect us and treat us like adults instead of 3yr olds. I will catch up with my SIL who will be finding out the status with my MIL this weekend. I m sure my MIL wld have complained to her on this unappreciative DIL even though she knows how close the two of us are. My hb will call my FIL this weekend when he is back to find out how things are with her. At this moment, I just prefer to keep my mood light than to face her and keep bottling up n tolerating her nonsense. I m so totally believing that our moods affects our BB cos the few days when I was so upset with her, my BB hardly moved or respond to my talking.

ahnetsan, haha. really ma. so much place to apply so drink faster.

Xuan, thanks for ur information. cheers up, bb will still grow up and most imt bb is healthy.

bbjun, i think mine will be the shortest. My hair length ard ears or longer abit. Actually last time my length is ard waist. Then bcos of e hormones changes, body have 700 rashes dot, thus 'per chek' and cut that short. haiz..

re:dressing up
My hb appreciates having me to dress up even though he knows I do it for myself. So he never even bother to chase me if I m still putting on make-up, deciding on what to wear.... while we are really running late. :p
He will sometimes just sit there n watch me put make up n give comments... then fall asleep waiting for me. I think he is thankful that nowadays the choices of clothes for me is lesser n his waiting time has shorten tremendously.

bbjun, what - so you're kinda complaining to her thru your FIL and she's complaining to you thru your SIL... haha... Ok, nvm. Don't waste anymore discussion time on her. Let's move on to happier things...

Can't wait to see my boy at obgyn's clinic tmr. He's been so active... I think he likes tim sum. Had tim sum late lunch yest with a friend and he kicked all the way from middle of the meal at 2plus til 6 plus. At one point mid-conversation, he kicked so hard and suddenly that I made a short exclamation (like 'oh!'). My friend thought she'd scratched me with her gesturing... Haha... She was really happy to have been able to feel bb kick though.

I've yet to visually see any fetal movements at this point. My blubber is cushion enough to camouflage it all at this point. *sob*

shelisa, must be heartpained to cut it from so long to so short. I had it long in 07 n chopped it off in 08 after keeping it long for 5 years. now I just want enuf length to tie during confinement.

cassey, MIL doesn't really have ppl to talk to. My SIL is her almost only confidante to talk n I m not sure if she is aware that there is little secrets between me n SIL. Other than SIL, she will call back to Taiwan to complain to her sisters which depends on the issue at hand then... cos she cares abt face value. Yep.. there are happier things to talk abt.

I dun think any of us can see visiable fetal movements at this point. My BB had only made a few giant movements last week, so much that I can feel my stomach bounced a little but I don't think I will be able to see that. Well.. it wld be soon.. when 3rd trimester comes.

bbjun, ur hubby gd leh. wun fuss abt when u are putting on make up or thinking of wat to wear. if i m not ready before my hb does, he'll start complaining say i slow. i thought guys are 'meant' to wait for gals, ha!

bbjun, usually when i dressing up, my hubby will say he wait for me downstair. then he slowly wipe n clean his darling car. i think no much diff for me except now abit faster as hair is so so short, very easy to manage. heart is damn damn pain now!! that time cut not pain as rashes make me itchy. didnt think of regret or pain. i dun think i can tie it up, at most will be wearing hair band! haiz..

haha mika, guys are 'meant' to wait for gals before marriage... after married liao, will complain we slow la, we fat la, we round la, we ugly la, etc... heehee

my hb always says i slow in getting ready to go out... of cos slow la, nw dat my choice of clothes so limited liao, and i feel ugly wif dat bump and limited clothes, of cos will spend more time looking thru wardrobe see got any other clothes to wear or nt mah...

Gosh, all of you not working ah..? I only absence ytd evening & this morning already have two archives to read thru..? *fainted* my turn to do OT I suppose.. maybe I should take my revenge like ahnetsan & post long long as well.. *evil-grin*..

Cassey, I saw the GJ's pics, OMG.. all you gals so slim..? Your arms all so tiny, if I had gone that day, sure got award for being shortest & having the biggest arms liao.. *haizz*...

haha ling... bo bian leh, me got to read archives for just one night and one morning only... den read and type on notepad lor... dats y ended up having long post...heehee

eh, hw come got GJ's pics ar.... i also wan to SEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WAH PIANG, MY FIL BANGED THE LITTLE BOY'S HEAD AGAIN!!!! MONDAY JUS BANGED, TODAY THURSDAY ALSO BANG AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WTF WTF

Xuan, the avent steriliser box set is selling at $171 at all stores normally, just that the taka $188 package is throwing in more things, that's why few bucks more. Taka has a cheaper package $155 only, which still includes the steriliser box set
Unless now sold out already lah. Anyway, about the length of your baby's legs, my scan showed that my girl has below average measurement for everything, except the arms, which were right on the 50% percentile line. Body small small, arms long long haha.

bbjun, I had an ex-colleague who was pregnant at that time I was in the company, one day she got into a huge fight with another manager, and they were screaming at each other until management had to come and intervene that kind. After that, her baby didn't move at all for like 24hrs. She panicked and had to call up doc etc. So yes, I think things like that really does affect baby, so keep up your good work of staying zen. Don't let MIL affect you and get all upset over it, baby may "suffer"...

Ling: my arms very fat one. I just stood behind and try to hide my arms haha!

stomach roll:
I also fantasise about chopping off roll of fats. Or having some kind of fats transplant to my stick skinny friends. Wah, u think if I have c-sec, can convince doc to cut off some fats at same time??!! Wahahahaha!

confinement:
How to dun wash hair and dun bath?? So unhygienic... Ang mos don't do confinement, and they turn out perfectly fine, so I'm subscribing to that. My hubby will also think I'm mad if I start doing all those confinement things. But my mum thinks should at least try a bit, like bath in those herbal water, so I just humour her. She's boiling that herbal water anyway, so I just bathe.

long hair:
I won't be cutting my hair because of baby/childbirth/confinement. Few years back, I cut my hair till ear-length bob, and it was HORRIBLE when it was hot. The ends of the hair kept brushing my neck, felt so itchy, and when it grew a bit longer, the hair pasted to my neck whenever I got sweaty. I hated it. At least with long hair I can bun it up. I don't know how ppl do it with their not long not short hair. My long hair is staying long.

Shelisa, one of the lovely ladies sent it to the westies group this morning.. only managed to see it this late aftnoon.. haiz.. they all really those slim-slim-slender type.. -_-" I dun believe Cassey said she's Bigger size one.. NO big gal in that photo Shelisa, trust me.. and yeah.. all Long hair.. judge from the pics, they all also quite tall, I'll be like the hobbit to stand among them leh..

ahnetsan, hang on ah.. I'm still a quarter page on the 1st archives.. grr.. once I'm done will post long looong.. gotta try this notepad method thingy.. very good idea.. hmm..

tubbymummy, your experience with your ex-colleague is so similar to my ex-colleague, except my colleague ended up having her BB still-born cos she was made upset for a prolonged period of time by her boss. It was so sad.

ahnetsan, that poor baby's head must have a lot of bumps by now. sighz...

I also want to see the pic leh... but I will not scream like ahnetsan... my laptop screen is gg to crack liao. :p

ahnetsan, OMG!!! pls help me sayang sayang the boy pls. painz

TubbyMummy, you are making me scare leh. my hair length is longer then ears abit. i didnt tho of that before. my last short hair is when i 12 yrs old. shit!! how??

Ling, so bad!! didnt share!! ahnetsan and i dun frenz u all.. (pull ahnetsan down together) hahaha

he likes to put the little boy on floor, and play toys and the boy nw is 10mth old mah, can crawl.... BUT, the point is, HE is jus with the boy, TOGETHER WITH THE BOY ON THE FLOOR, hw can he jus let him bang head like dat!!!!!!!! imagine he's wif the boy leh, yet stil can bang head!!!!!! wtf lor.... and each time bang head liao, evening when the mother comes to fetch boy, no one tells the mother dat the boy today bang his head lor........... tell him so many times liao, put the fucking cushion or play on mattress!!! the floor is fcuking hard lor....

i feel like telling the mother.... the mother is only 2 yrs older than me leh.... sad lor... each time i hear loud thud, my heart jus stopped...