(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Shelisa,
ya, my lower neighbour really hear my upper neighbours lor. Until now, I very careful with moving my things even though I know my bedroom laminated floors comes with a layer to help minimise sounds. After knowing that from my lower neighbours, I even more careful not to drop things or what liao. Scared they really kena disturbed from me.

Jam75, actually I think Stemcord n Cordlife abt the same, esply in their annual storage fee. The diff is the upfront fee which I think as long as we can get a good price, shd be ok la. Reason for doing this is just to buy something like a health insurance for your family. Compatability is higher for BB's siblings than parents but better than dun have lor.

Dovey, ya... FBI only for TMC.

shelisa and MTBs,
the priecs I posted is for the stem cord storage by cordlife..
cordlife has 3 successful surgeries whereas stemcord currently nil..

bbjun,
I'm still considering.. coz my hubby not really keen as for me, i see it as an insurance for leukemia for my baby.. if I'm not wrong, you only need to deposit for first child..
if not storing, I will donate my child cord blood..

dovey,
I did my NT scan with my current gynae.. results were good as the nurse told me over the phone.. have yet to see the actual report.. also dunno can get back or not if I change gynae..

Good morning ladies
hope all mumies MS start to disappear by now.. I've got no more MS at all, but gastric pain getting worse..

Jess_Ma, my next appointment's next week Tuesday, sure hope can tell the gender.. but you're rite if it's a girl, may not be able to confirm yet until the detailed scan.. that's good idea, should have my niece & nephew's photo too..

chidori, like Jess_Ma said, dun let other's expectation bother us lor.. my hubby said my mil only kidding when she said boy, dunno if I'm too sensitive, but whenever we're out at the bb shop, she'd point at bb boy's clothings.. then say hope can confirm the gender soon.. usually I just kept quiet lor..

amk_gal, thanks for the info, besides tops, is there any pants/leggers there ? hang in there, a couple more weeks and no more vomiting, acid reflux, bloatedness n heartburn will stay tho..

Shelisa, these ppl seems like got no shame one.. be very careful when u talked to them or see them hor.. if talkin din work, police din work, town council bo chap, then put in media lor.. but not a letter to strait times la, like that they sure know one and they'll hold grudge against u leh.. use stomp better i think, more anonymous..

think bbjun quite right, newer flats' slab is thinner, my neighbour upstairs r all foreign workers, frm kitchen & outside stairs we always hear prc workers talk vr loud, then in the room, we can hear bangla arguing, moving furniture, knocking on the walls, drilling etc, can even hear their tv channel..

bbjun, that bad of a noise ?? omg, if can hear 2 level down is bad..

nozomi welcome

jam75, it's nice of bbjun to share the info, quite tempted, but still vr exp leh.. promo ending soon anyway (20 Dec).. dun think will be getting it..

Anyone interested to go for the hospital tour at Mt Alv ? They have weekdays at 2pm, and Saturday at 10am and 12 afternoon.. I'm going next week Saturday, wanted to see the difference of the wards..

chidori,
the stem cord is not just for BB. can save parents and siblings as well. Think one of Cordlife's cases is actually a fren of my fren. She was saved by her BB's stem cells just a few mths after the birth of her BB. She was diagnosed with leukemia just 1/2 mths after delivery. Luckily the stem cells compatible with hers and she was saved. Heard this from my fren n becos it's so close to me, I decided to do this for my family.

chidori, why u wana change gynae?? i think u should be able to get the report back since u already paid for it. must ask for it.... at least got records.

Ling, u having gastric pain??? did u tell ur gynae about it? cos i cant tahan normal gastric pain.....

regarding stemcord: i think it's always that if u know of cases how the stem cord can save lives, then u probably will save it. for those who have not heard anything of it, will prbably consider.

by the way, i heard can use the CDA to pay for it rite?

Hi morning Ling,you must take care your gastric problem also,need to ask your gynae.. i already almost no more MS liao.but sometimes appetite,don't know bc of my mouth ulcer or it's normal for this period.. hospital tour?it's for??

Shelisa,becareful those ppl,now you need to think more about your BB and yourself,let your hubby or others to solve this kind of things.. don't angry with them..

jam75,i have no idea for cordlife yet,will think about it first..

Any MTB in KKH got package??they told me that they discontinue the package and now only hv delivery package which is sign after 28 weeks.. and not yet give me the details.

curently, trying to hunt for cheap maternity clothings leh ... any cheap places to intro ?

hi jam75,
I think i m gg to TMC as well on 30 Jan leh.. wat is ur appointment time?

Dovey, yup I've checked, FBI only avail @TMC, I initially shortlisted TMC & Mt A, but so far heard all abt Mt A services so good, I dowan to go hospital in labour pain and still have to face horrible nurses.. recently got a colleague gave birth at TMC, they say overall ok, but got some hidden charges, at the end cost quite a lot, and one friend's (senior) gynae said that just in case emergency surgery is required, he prefers Mt A than TMC for the convenience of equipment.. Mt A having DBS/POSB delivery promo price until Jul 09..

crystal, I'm going next week for the tour, all the way I wan single bed for the comfort, but will most likely book for 4 bed first, got friend said that we dunno if our bb premature or need jaundice treatment, means will prolong our stay there, if everything normal, we can always upgrade
u've been to the tour ah..? is it really nice? I went there last was 2007 to visit, but they said it's been renovated since..

bbjun, think I'll be very lucky if got neighbours like u
for me, marble sounds, adult jumping/running, door banging, loud hindi movies, or furniture moved/dragged from upstairs is normal, dare not to complain, that unit got at least 6 foreign workers inside, it's good enuff they dun kill each other..

tulips/Jess_Ma, my gastric pain really horrible, finished one bottle of the suspension syrup liao, on my 2nd bottle now, taking it before every meals, every morning wake up with sharp gastric pain, told my gynae, he still gave the same thing and told me to continue..

tulips, I'm not quite sure how stem cell (Stemcord/Cordlife) works.. is it really can use CDA ? my hubby also not very keen..

Jess_Ma, u've mouth ulcer ? due to heaty food or due to the vitamins..? dun take the green powder (for ulcer), I've been taking it in the past 2 wks for sore throat, turn out it contains Ku Shen, not supposed to take it.. are we allowed yet to take some cooling stuff, like chrys, etc ? I'm having sore throat & flu too

chidori, are you going back to the gynae anymore? if yes, you should be able to get the report..

cheery, am thinkin to go to the shop amk_gal mentioned, either the one at Amara or Harbourfront ctr.. sounds good (since she bought so much.. hehe..)

bbjun, tks fyi!

ling & jess ma, mi & hb oso nv tot abt the cordlife thingy yet...also feel quite ex....tink will consider 1st & ask ard b4 making decsion lo!

cherry, my appt is ard 11am+ dun remember exact timing le...wat abt yrs??

ling, mi oso hv bad gastric recently...i did ask dr adrain he say v common wo...he got prescribe gastric pain syrup to mi....since u r going to c him nx wk probably u can get medicine fm him!

i'm new to this thread, previously joined the july 09 however since edd's been pushed earlier i'm here now.. guess i will be alternating between both threads for the best of both world...

EDD- 25th June 09
Gynae- Dr Caroline Khi
Hospital- TMC

Today i'm 12 weeks and 5 days..

reagrding maternity wear: i think the one amk_gal says seems resonably priced. another one with quite ok variety is spring maternity. some pple like to buy online for tops....

welcome dyva.

welcome Dyva!

Ling, yes, confirmed Cordlife can use CDA to pay. U just need to provide them the account details within 2 mths of delivery. They will only use one of your credit cards as guarantee first.

bbjun, how come my upper neighbour not like u leh?? talk abt them make me headache.

chidori, thanks for your informaton.

Ling, i have feedback from town councilshe has this is hdb care already. i will monitor again, if not i go stomp post up.

Jess Ma, i don't want to angry also. but sometime after dinner lying at sofa relax, shaking leg or wanna have a nice talk with bb. u cannot concentrate as their noise will disturb and u will start to flare up n start to nag again. But of cos sometime i tell myself is ok. but deep inside my heart is not ok leh.

dyva, welcome.

Actually all mommies. i have started to drink chicken essence since last week. Every weeks drink 2 bottle then every sun drink 1 bottle bottle bird nest (those diluted type). so far so good. I think we can start drink some tonic but rem must drink more plain water as tonic is very heaty. if don't drink more plain water will cause body heaty easily.

hi all, and welcome dyva.

hmm... cordlife & stemcord were not in my consideration before this. but now maybe i'll chk it out as well. not familiar with it though. so can it be used more than once for life saving?

sigh, i am interested in tw spree too. but i think i'll hv to wait till end of the mth. am not going to be in town for more than a week.

Welcome Dyva, your EDD same as mine...

hi ling, i've registered for the tour for 27th dec too... gng for the 10am session... r u gng for the same? then we can see each other there...

spring is good... like their style and they always have a rack of promo items... at least the tanjong pagar outlet is good, and the salesperson is really frdly too... talking abt this, time to shop for some casual clothes... :D

<font color="119911">Hi all, I'm new to this thread.. wantd to wait awhile more before joining but wanna share some info... =)
EDD : 18 June 09
the rest TBA =)

Re: cheap maternity clothing
Check out Carrano Garment &amp; Trading Co
185 Toa Payoh Central #01-334, 310185, Singapore
tel : 62523791

they have a few branches including bugis (that big corner clothing shop opp OG) and beauty world i think.. bought some shorts, $24.90 each with adjustable waist bands (like perfect mum i think)..</font>

Ling,is it you eat not on time or sometimes eat until very full?maybe you can try to find some other solution if this is not suitable for you.I'm not sure it's due to vitamins or heaty food,vitamins will caused ulcer also??i just bear with the pain for few days and keep eat tomato and orange and drink water,i also put honey on the ulcer for 15 mins once.now seems better already.. last few days very very painful.

Jam75,ya,but the promotion price cheaper a lots compare with the normal price.My hos is KKH,don't know whether got promotion or not.i still need to do some rearch.

Shelisa,or you try to on the music and just enjoy the music with your BB OR you can go out walk walk after dinner?will it be better?

Jess, i think don't drink orange juice too often. some old ppl say orange juice is too 'liang' and orange juice can cause bb have alot of phleme after birth. maybe change to yougurt? yougurt can cure ulcer. if wanna ucler recover soon, rem not to use ur tongue to keep touching the ulcer as i will only make the ucler bigger and pain.

gg out for a walk come back home liao still the same. so i keep telling myself bear with it. i cant do much too. so sad.

Dovey, those tours is recommended by your gynae or u yourself go to the hospital to check whether they have such tour? Usually those tour abt how much and what the tour contain?

Shelisa,my block upgrading lift in front of my door.very noisy also,but luckly is now almost completed,so everytime if they using electric drill then i just on the music or go out,try to ignore the noise.

After i resigned my boss hired another two girls to do my work.start from yesterday,i less headache liao.1 more week to bear with it.

Ling, think a few days should be ok. need to rest more k. hope you are feeling better now. have to drink more milk or calcium and restrict to one or two cups of teh-o cos the caffeine supposed to make the calcium harder to absorb. and for the gastric, not supposed to drink acidic stuff. think refrain from chocolate also. will it help if you eat something before you sleep? or drink milk if you wake up in the middle of the night to go toilet?

amk_gal, you have acid reflux? think have to abstain from tea and chocolate too.

Shelisa, hope the hdb and town council will give a good solution and act fast. maybe can find a comfortable ear muffs in the meantime...

bbjun, your baby is growing quite fast! is it the things you eat? you drink a lot of milk?

welcome nozomi and dyva and 11_beans!

toffeecat,

I oso dunno what I eat makes BB grow so fast. Actually very worried cos I dun want BB too big until I cannot go for natural birth! I only drink about 2/3 cup of the mama milk every morning and it's diluted to like half the recommended amt cos I cannot tahan sweet milk. Sometimes during the day/nite, if stomach hungry, I take abt the same amt also. Not alot. There are days I oso skipped milk once in a while. I dun think it is really the milk ba. I only try to eat balance meals but then, sometimes really no appetite until only want to eat instant noodles. Other than that, I still eat quite normally (actually spent one whole hr ytd, thinking if I ate something that make BB grow so fast &amp; still dunno what).

Jess Ma, this show that ur boss is cutting cost when u are ard, maybe u too efficient so he act blur. so good. u can at hm rest and relax.

toffeecat, i also hope they can act fast. it seem like you don't encourage ppl to eat chocolare. may i know y?

shelisa, i read from the sites that hospitals conduct free tours... from wat i know, they will bring u ard the hospital, show u the diff type of wards and dunno wat else... i thot it's good to take a look at the environment... u can call them up and register for Mt A... the other hospitals, i'm not sure...

jam75/bbjun, I never consider cordlife before, hubby not keen as it's not so common yet so expensive, but if this stemcell really useful, and it's supported by CDA, think I'll find more info and discuss it again with hubby.. meanwhile, these are some info I found on the CDA:

http://www.stemcord.com/bonus.html#q1
http://www.cordlife.com/data/babybonus_sgp_faq.html

jam75, same here, he said it's normal and gave me at least 3 bottles of that white suspension syrup, didn't help much..

Shelisa, good.. let hdb take care of this, yup, monitor and follow up wif t/council, if not, ganged up with other neighbours n post in stomp lor (pics &amp; video).. I know exactly how u feel, it's like u with ur upstair neighbour, me with the ppl in the bus/mrt, nobody wan to be angry in the first place, but these ppl are just too much..
my hubby's the one who suffer to hear all my scowling.. been trying to calm down these few days tho.. I try thinkin of bb whenever I'm starting to blow up..

chicken essence is quite heaty rite ? while bird nest is quite cooling.. that reminds me, need to buy bird nest this weekend..

Dovey, yeah! so happy, can see you there next week then, but I'm going for the 12 o'clock one.. I'll b driving, so giving myself a buffer (just in case I got lost..) would probably bump into you when I arrived and as u're leaving..

nozomi, are u a FTWM ? glad to know u're going fine..

Welcome dyva, 11_beans

I have a Brand New Kiddopotamus Swaddle Me Infant adjustable wrap for sale $20.
Colour: blue cocoa dot.
PM me if interested. thanks

1987753.jpg

Shelisa, only for ppl who have acid reflux. that's wat my fren who has gastric reflux told me. she said doctor say one. can't remember why. think cos of the acid. but she still eats. it got so bad that she got sore throat cos of the acid going into her throat at nite. otherwise eating chocolate not a problem!

bbjun, baby growing fast probably cos of your genes. should be absolutely fine. the biggest growth is the third trimester. no need to worry so much!

toffeecat,
no lor.. I short one (154cm only). My hb is the taller one though I can only consider him to be above average for guys (cos still quite a bit below 1.8m) but not the super tall type (stand beside me, of cos look super tall la :p) Still, think BB has his genes la. Oredi my hb say if it's a princess, will be tall enuf to be a supermodel. LOL

Ling, i also try to think of bb before flare up but sometime u haven even have the time to think and u flare up liao. haha. but i will 'ren' 'ren' 'ren'

Yup yup. chicken essence is quite heaty. that y must must drink more more water. Actually my SIL say too early to drink bird nest but alot of other ppl tell me drinking those bottle bird nest shld be ok as it is cooling. So i think it is moderate lor. 2 heaty essence and 1 cooling bird nest so shld be quite ok ba??

Actually i went to 'fu hua' to buy bird nest as they celebrate 9th ann so have 10-20% discount. i brought those 6 bottled packed type. i rem they have 2 type. 1 type which is cheaper ard $20+ (bird nest contain 0.8%), then the other type ard $30+ (bird nest contain 1.1%).

then those type like 1 bottle pack type. 1 bottle ard $15-$20+. Those bird nest contain 2.8%. (if i drink that then will be 2 weeks 1 time)

toffeecat, wo. i don't understand leh. sorry may i may what cause acid reflux?? or what is that??

bbjun, ur hubby think so so far. supermodel. i also hope if i have daughter hope also can like my family genes is tall tall type.

Jess_Ma, usually when I woke up in the morning, the gastric already there, the cough at first I thot due to the acid reflux, but now got coloured phlegm, I guess it's flu then.. not sure if vitamins causes ulcer, but usually ulcer due to heatiness, and those vitamins quite heaty I heard.. tomato good, but orange try to limit, heard it's not good for bb respiratory systm... wah.. ur boss really squeeze 2 ppl's job on u last time ah.. but good on u now
can rest at home and more relax..

Shelisa, u mean the noise &amp; craziness of ur neighbour non stop one ah..? they xiao ah, not tired meh keep jumping &amp; banging like that all the times ? Hospital tour is free.. I'm goin for Mt Alv next wk Saturday, they got 2 slot, 10am and 12 noon, can call them at 63476636 to register (leave message if nobody pick up).. weekdays they have daily at 2pm only

toffeecat, I've been drinkin teh-o daily nowadays, it's causing gastric ? I thot it's coffee that causing gastric..

bbjun, no worries, until delivery, if bb plus minus 3kg is normal..
oh.. some things that make bb grow big is durian &amp; gao li shen..

Ling, yah lor.. i think their kids hypo-active. i tell them radio DJ also need shift, they don't need. they any timing also can.

ohhh.. next sat im gg there for appt checkup at 12pm. i see whether my appt can push earlier then maybe we can meet up. u gg with ur hubby or?

Shelisa,i just abt to put 1 pic of orange in my mouth,i think i need to reduce it liao since it's too "liang".but my HB told me that yogurt also not really safe.now my ulcer better liao after so many days.last time no matter how i told him that i can't keep doing all the things by myself,but he just said will hire one but at the end always don't want to hire a assitant for me.but now hired 2 girl cover 80% of my works..ya,as you said good also,now got 2 girl,me can rest and relax liao.. ;-)

For birdnest,cook by ourself one better right?now buy 300gm also 20% discount.

did you report to police for your noisy neighbour?if you stay in your room will the noisy lower?really need someone talk to them,they can't keep like this and disturb other ppl rest.Now is schoold holiday,you "ren" until Jan shld be better as they need go school will not play until so late.

bbjun,if not bc of wat u eat then maybe you and your HB very tall?

Ling,i think birdnest is not cooling right.when we can start eat birdnest?see any food is good for gastric,try to eat something before sleep.and eat some pear and drink honey water(warm one).hv u try?ya,heard what u and shelisa's advise,i will try to limit eat orange.My boss will only give 80% of my works to these two girls,another 20% give to another guy colleague.even sometimes when i saw a lots of company retranch then i felt a bit guity.But when i thinking of reality of my works and boss,and what's he done now,i'm happy that i made right decision.;-)

if you taking bird's nest, cook with gao li shen. bird's nest on its own is liang and baby will have a lot of phlegm after birth. can start eating after 3rd month.

Ling, I go for facial at Angelface at Tanjong Pagar Plaza. Dun do anything using machine during pregnancy, so dun do the dermabrasion one for the time being la..

11_beans, thanks for the contact for maternity wear! my beautician told me there's a shop in toa payoh near to modern beauty and this is the one! will check it out soon. think i need some cheap and good casual bottoms..

baby decided to give me a break today. been feeling much better in days. slight bloatedness only. hope it stays this way...

<font color="119911">Hi amk_gal, i think there's a branch at amk too.. try the low waist shorts. Really comfortable and much cheaper than boutiques.. their tops also quite ok.

the waist all adjustable, so can wear till full term no problem..!! =)</font>

Shelisa, seems like acid reflux happens when the the muscles at the bottom of the esophagus doesn't block the acid from the stomach from going back up the throat. checked out some websites and it seems like no one knows the actual causes, only what will aggravate the condition. although most websites say to take less citrus fruits, cafferine, chocolate, there's also one that says it's a myth after doing some research. and what really helps is to eat less. seems like if you have the condition, pregnancy may make it worse. hmm.. so if there is acid coming to the mouth from the stomach or sometimes heartburn, then it's acid reflux.

some self-care at home from the website:
Don't eat within 3 hours of bedtime. This allows your stomach to empty and acid production to decrease. If you don't eat, your body isn't making acid to digest the food.

Similarly, don't lie down right after eating at any time of day.

Elevate the head of your bed 6 inches with blocks. Gravity helps prevent reflux.

Don't eat large meals. Eating a lot of food at one time increases the amount of acid needed to digest it. Eat smaller, more frequent meals throughout the day.

Avoid fatty or greasy foods, chocolate, caffeine, mints or mint-flavored foods, spicy foods, citrus, and tomato-based foods. These foods decrease the competence of the LES.

Stand upright or sit up straight, maintain good posture. This helps food and acid pass through the stomach instead of backing up into the esophagus.

http://www.emedicinehealth.com/reflux_disease_gerd/page7_em.htm

Ling, think teh-o is also quite acidic, even though not at bad as coffee. maybe you can drink smaller cup? if already got gastric, then shouldn't drink so much. you drink after meals right? some of the coffee machine teh also gave me a problem previously when i drink in between meals. nowadays i also stopped or try not to take my favourite teh after meals.. drinking milo-peng and other can drinks.

Jess_Ma, for ulcer can try putting bamboo salt. my MIL swears by it. hmm..

bbjun, yups shld be the genes. i also not tall (1.56cm). our babies will decide how fast they wanna grow :p you are still eating instant noodles?? feel like eating too. but my hb will surely scold me. maybe eat when he's out. like today. haha but my PIL will surely tell him when he comes back. hmm..

you ladies are so active today..
pls rem not to take too much oranges.. else your baby will have lotsa phelgm..

me thinking of switching gynae coz my gynae is expensive.. consultation alone is $70-80 each time plus his package only starts in week20, $800 for scheduled visits excluding vitamins..
if I dun go back, I think I can still call them up and pick up my report right?

toffeecat, I still eat a bit la... esply when I really have no appetite and it's the only thing I feel like eating. But never exceed once a week (actually I think I never exceed twice a mth so far). I have a liking to alot of carbos starchy things. Perhaps that's why I feel like eating the noodles. I think it's fine as long as u dun eat it excessively. My hb allows me to eat cos he knows sometimes I really no appetite to eat anything at all (there are a few rare times he comes back, I sit there n watch him eat dinner cos I just cannot eat). He can suggest 101 thgs to get for me to eat n I still dun wan to eat... so got eat better than didn't eat. :p

amk_gal, good to hear that u are feeling better today.

Actually oranges - if u take one a day, shd not be a prob. Just make sure it's not cold la. I take abt 2-3 a week cos must have enuf vit C to stay healthy esply when flu bug is gg round. It's mandarin oranges that is very liang esply if u go an remove all those whitish fibres. So dun take too much mandarin oranges during CNY hor.

Ling, I have not taken durian and gao li sheng so far cos my mum told me as well. Well, perhaps it's just now that BB is growing faster.

thanks for the welcome. <hugs>

Hi Ling, what does FTWM stands for? (first time working mother?)

Welcome Dyva &amp; 11_beans

thanks all...

i didn't know about eating orange is not good.. cos 2 weeks ago i bought a pack of oranges from NTUC. The small ones from China. They are sooo sweet and seedless. I finished soooo many at one go.. hehehe..

nozomi - FTWM stands for full-time working mother