(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

neeciel, infant care all starting from 2 mth above. but of cos more expensive alot.

bbjun, okie, i will ask Mount A next time i go there for checkup.

thanks bluedream for the updating.

ling
maybe i could see you at Mt A cuz our EDD is just 1 day apart. heehee. hopefully got chance hor.

but my gynae says i would deliver early cuz it's #2, so mayb in may i might deliver liao. my 1st pregnancy, i delivered at 37wks.

bbjun, thanks for sharing.. premium rms very ex rite.. eh.. how come labour rm got jacuzzi n bath ? What is in the parentcraft workshop..? if found more info on the workshop, share with us hor.. thanks..
Think I'm going to arrange with both Mt A & TMC for the tour..

crystal, wah.. u spent so much for the pump ? are we really going to require both manual & electric one..? me too, very hard to drag my feet to work these days..

Shelisa, feel frustrated at times, as when the mood swing attacked, it's the people around me who suffers..

hatemenot, I'm interested in the aqua class at kkh too, but they haven't got the schedule for 2009 I think, and I wanted to go probably in Jan or Feb only.. not so early..

Bluedream, thanks for updating the list..

neeciel, yah lor.. think my emotions is more crankiness rather than in the form of tears.. which is bad.. *haiz*.. I'd rather cry over soapie than angry with almost everything..

Hi gals,Last friday just did my NT Scan,saw BB keep dancing,very cute.. ;-) Will do screening @ ADC on 30 January 2009.Doctor give me multi vitamin and Calcium.After NT scan,my gynae rushing for a operation so she arrange me see Dr Han on that day.

I have asked gynae and nurse about package,they said they only have delivery package,the normal package already discontinued.So i got to paid as per visit.

Ling,i also still eat chilli,watermelon can eat a bit,but not too much.. sometimes depends on our body,some ppl they can eat everything.. if you having cough,they eat steam pear with honey.

BlueDream,thanks for your info.My EDD is 16 Jun 2009,KKH,Dr. Jeanette S C Chen.

crystal, yah hor.. just 1 day apart, lucky we got diff gynae, orelse might even be in the same labour ward..
just curious, our EDD is calculated 40 wks from LMP rite..?

hi all, think i read someone mentioned about maternity band. is it something that we can have with our normal jeans so that we don't need to buy the maternity pants yet? may i know where to buy and how to use?

hi all, long time no post... have been pretty busy...

yesterday me and hubby went to OG and bought a pair of maternity jeans from Thyme Maternity... being very petite size... all the jeans are toooo big for me...
but very luckily they have got the petite range... phew! so managed to get a one... i was worried that i couldn't get a jeans and have to wear dress... cos i dun like to wear dress to work one... the sales promoter commented that my tummy look big when i told her i'm only 3mths+... dunno issit cos i'm very small size... so tummy look bigger? so ladies, just wondering how many inches have you all put on around your waist since start of pregnancy?

Hi Mika, can't remember if it was me, but I was told the preg-band is more useful for late pregnancy, to help support the tummy.. I think those shops selling maternity items like in kkh should have it..

Sharing some information on the medisave maternity package, the details can be found in this site
http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/hcfinancing.aspx?id=19744

for vaginal delivery, maximum claimable amount from medisave is up to $2,250; while for caesarian delivery is up to $3,650

mika rei, i think there are two types of maternity band. one type sold in mums and babes, kind of like an extension to cover the front of an unbuttoned pants, but only works for button type.

i got another band, called the bella band from maternity exchange at marina square. it's elastic and fits over your skirts and pants tat are partially unzipped so that it doesn't drop.

Hi Ling,

u can read abt the parent craft workshop at TMC at this website: http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
Please scroll down.
Yup, will share on the pricing tonite when I go home n see the brochure.

Supposedly it's just for the mother to shower after birth, I think. I seriously dunno why a tub is there! There is only one such labour ward. The guide says can shower at the observatory ward also.

innocentwar, dunno leh.. Only know my tummy has grown but never attempt to go n measure. The only thing I measure more regularly is my weight.

thanx Ling & amk gal. amk gal, the band can use for now so tat we can wear our normal jeans but keep it unbuttoned? if so i wan to chk it out, desperately need some casual comfy jeans. i still can't stand the panelled waist band for maternity but i need to wear jeans. mums & babes (whr's tat?) and maternity exchange ... set, i'll check that out. thanx!

<font color="aa00aa">hi there.. i'm a first time mum. my edd is on 5 jun. may i join in yr discussion here?

i saw the table by bluedream and am puzzled y some of u oredi knew the gender of yr baby. wldnt we noe the gender only in the 5th mth?
kao_confused.gif

jessma, after 12 wks I eat most of the stuff I wanted to eat lor, think you're rite, for every food it depends on our body whether can take it or not..

bbjun, thanks for the info, initially I thot the parentcraft is some pre-natal class, but from the website doesn't seem like it.. that's great, share with us once you read more hor.. thank u..
oh.. abt the tub.. I read in pregnancy magz, some hospital prepare tub for some hydrotherapy or something called water-birth, make me excited, gotta arrange the tour soon..

Mika, think the one I was told abt on the preg-band is the one for support only.. but they said it make u feel quite warm, esp during late pregnancy when we easily sweat..

welcome rosel! finally someone with the same edd with me
no worries, I'm on my 15th wk now and also still dunno the bb's gender.. some mtb are quite lucky to be able to find out the gender by wk 16, but that is only if the bb co-operate and in an obvious position.. orelse, most gynae can only tell us in the 5th month

hi rosel, welcome. i think the gender tat you see in the chart tat bluedream has updated is the gender of their first kid, not the current one in their tummy.

amk_gal, about the bella band, i was thinking of getting similar stuff too. Is it very tight and uncomfy?

Ling, yeah me thinking of either end dec or january for aqua class too. Hopefully the schedule comes out soon.

bbjun, tmr i'm gg for my oscar test, think i will ask more about the parentcraft classes too. Heard from neeciel that must be at least 20 weeks then can go? me now 12.5 weeks

hi ladies..

thanks for all the replies on ur child care arrangements. guess its hard to depend on our mums/mils esp if they are still working or staying far!

For me, unsupervised maid is definately out. Also, having another person in the house not only privacy concern but also will bring up utility bills etc coz additional 1 person always at home.

Babysitter yup, read somes are more ex than infant care but definately less vulnerable to viruses. It would be good if can get a babysitter by recommendations through relatives/friend compared to a total stranger. You know that be trusted more than a stranger who might not know her values etc. My mum used to babysit a few of my distant relatives. Hoping can sound my mum to help me look for one soon! hehe.. coz i feel my aunt getting quite old to handle another one! So for me, its babysitter or infantcare!

Baby stuff:
i havnt started buying coz still got no. 1's. but with the sales, it would be to buy bargain stuff or wait for Taka baby fair in March. Tat fair is good to buy big tix items like strollers, car seat coz i feel more discount than normal sales.

hatemenote/ling,
when will the schedule be out? quite interested coz i love being in water.. need to get some exercise too - always feel lethargic. just contacted my massage lady to do prenatal massage for me this sat! can't wait.

spring maternity has quite good variety now compared to last time. anyone interested can go shopping (!!) with me coz i got their VIP card. Egg Materniy at vivo i think also nice clothes there but i havnt shop there yet. I have a feeling it is ex.

hatemenot/Ling,

the cost for parentcraft workshop as follows:
Those delivering at TMC:
Weekday class is $181.90
Weekend class is $214.00

Those delivering at other hospitals:
weekday class is $203.30
Weekend class is $235.40

Those delivering at TMC and has FBI or SBI, have some additional discount.

Weekday class starts form 7pm to 9pm.
Weekend class as follows:
Sat has 2-4pm, 430 - 630pm, 7-9pm
Sun has 10am-12pm, 12.30-230pm, 330-530pm.

Hatemenot, if u can get the schedule, that would be great. Think we can sign up first as long as the start date is ard wk20 or after. Cos I heard the classes are very hot n got ppl not able to sign up.

hello...

i think parentcraft can only book when in week 20 right?? remembered reading something like that..... think i'll probably go for the weekend classes

regarding maternity wear, i think marina sq has an outlet, cant rem the shop name which is more affordable. definitely not maternity exchange - maternity exchange is selling almost 100-200 for a pair of pants!!! but the other shop that is cheaper, always no size one.....

styliciously, how did u get the membership? i only know citibank got 10% if u buy 150 and above....

mika rei, there are quite a number of mums &amp; babes shops in singapore i think. i think there's one in amk hub and another in united square.

hatemenot, the bella band is not very tight la. there's different sizing. just tat if u have sensitive skin u may have some itchiness if u wear for a long time cos it can get quite warm.

i'm in my 12th week going to 13th. still having vomiting. anyone past the vomiting stage completely and when will tat happen?? i was so sad when i continued to feel unwell and vomit when i hit 12 weeks...

Thanks, amk gal. Think I also want to go n get one.

As for MS, almost zero except ocassional loss of appetite n bloatedness since wk 11 started. But started to realise that I can't take normal meals amt... can take about 2/3 amt comfortably. If try to finish, I get bloated n feel uncomfy. Then get hungry fast also.

hatemenot/styliciously, the schedule is not out yet.. I've just checked the kk website..

styliciously, I heard a lot abt the Taka fair, going to wait for it too for the strollers, but for other things like sterilizers, I may get them from Metro or Robinson sale, any ideas what brand you gonna get for the strollers ?

bbjun, thanks for the info on the parentcraft workshop, is it a one time class only ? My main choice for hospital would be Mt A, so I was looking at their classes too (http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/Childbirth%20Education%20Brochure.pdf), not sure if they are the same class as the parentcraft..

amk_gal, I was just like you, when I hit wk 12 and the nausea doesn't go away.. I'm in wk 15 now and haven't been vomiting or have any nausea since saturday.. only got gastric/acid reflux twice, and keep burping the horrendous fish-oil scent in the mouth..
endure hor.. a couple more weeks and you should feel better..

amk_gal, u r not alone, i am now 14 weeks but MS doesnt seems to go away tho have improvement. I dun vomit but still feel bloated and a lot of wind in my stomach which causes nausea too.

when is the Taka fair??

same here.... i also have alot of wind in the stomach, burping and very loudly. dont really vomit alot nowadays but on and off, will still vomit, especially at night, after dinner.

i think i eat alot nowadays, especially after breakfast and before lunch. i can take 2 slices of bread for breakfast, and then another 2 slices during teabreak. think the food goes into me more than into the bb.

Ling,
Think the free one is when u have delivered and staying in the hospital. TMC also have that where mothers can join the class for free while staying in the hospital after delivery.

TMC parent craft is 6 lessons. Think Mt A one covers similar topics and also 6 sessions.

I dun go toilet so often now. More or less normal liao. In fact, I didn't wake up last nite to pee. So happy. If it's during the day, depends... cos sometimes I drank too much water. :p

neeciel, think someone mention taka fair is in Mar.

me too. now gg to 13wks still got MS. think it got kind worse in the 12th wk. the nausea seems to bounce back faster after meals. hopefully it will be gone by next week. recently losing my appetite. used to be able to finish all the noodles in the bowl in the 9-11th weeks. now seems to go back to my "usual" standard.

same as bbjun, my toilet gg is also less now.

wow, TMC and Mt A seems to have a lot of stuff for MTBs. think i better check with RH on my next visit.

For MS,better since wk12,but only eat a lots when dinner time and supper.

Now mouth got ulcer,quite painful when i eat something like walnut..

Innocentwar

I m a very small size gal b4 preggy also and my waist was about 26-27". But when I had my first one, its up to 40". I can't believe my tummy could go that big too. So my advise is to buy a bigger size rather than just fit.

come across this website: www.coozfashion.com. they got range of maternity pants and stuff and I bought few items from them.

Jess Ma,
me thinking of getting babyplus.. but that one need to use 2 times a day.. currently I'm listening to classical music half an hour a day.. according to my col, play the same CD always and when when baby is born.. if he/she throw tantrums, play the same CD, they will quieten down..

calling for dovey and anxious,
would like your review regarding dr clifton chan.. thinking of switching gynae..

tulips, we're officially in our 2nd trimester liao.. lots of gas in the tummy, but am glad that the MS is not as bad anymore..

bbjun, ah I see.. I'll see which one then, think it's quite similar.. I still go toilet often, whether I drink a lot or not.. maybe due to me eating lots of fruits too I guess..

chidori, you're changing gynae ? I went to dr clifton once, my first visit actually.. quite good, he's patient and would explain things that you wanted to know, I didn't take package with him because of the location and also as I've been recommended to go to my current gynae..

I've been trying to call Mt A hotline since morning for the hospital tour, but nobody answer leh, anybody went for Mt A before? How to arrange/register..?

Hi chidori.. me reporting here.. y u wan to change your gynae? Well, Dr Clifton is patient just as Ling had mentioned.. so far so gd, no pushy recep also. The pkg price that he offered also quite attractive wor.. most importantly, i chose him cox of the location...
Hope the above helps...

eh, btw, anybody out there knows any safe firming or lifting cream/lotion for arms or legs that we can apply?? Now my whole body had been expanding.. kekeke ^-^.. arms nw a bit flabby le.. haiz...

anxious,
thanks alot.. maybe I go pay him a visit.. my current gynae too shiong for me.. I stay in jurong west so clementi still ok for me..

for firming lotion, think palmer like quite alot of ppl use.. me planning to get their stretchmark cream..

chidori,i don't whether can use these product safely to BB and us.. Yup you are right,i read the book,it's mentioned that play the same CD,baby will know.. I'm listening to chistmax song and BB song.and watch cartoon and read book.

lovelytulips,
the membership must spend $250 to get it - the salesperson say can qoute membership no if others want to use but with my consent.
when i found out pregnant i straightaway go buy a few tops n bottoms rather than wait till tummy big. gonna wear for 9 months but weekdays i wear mostly maternity uniform to n from work. i dunt use credit card n most credit card offers on and off.

ling,
yup its usually march or sept. if u keen on pigeon sterilizer/medela pumps can wait for taka fair too. notice these always there. stroller i using my old one. bought quinny zapp with maxi cosi infant seat. i like zapp with the maxi cosy but quinny zapp itself cannot recline so my daughter had hard time adjusting to it. n poor thing when she sleeps in it. there is alot of variety of stoller at the fair, just need to know which one u want.

<font color="aa00aa">amk_gal, me going onto 15th week but still vomitting though nt as frequent as b4. i used to vomit <u>at least</u> once a day, but lately reduce to once a day only or every other day. i'm sure u will wean out of the nausea soon. juz to share, i noticed tat so long i dun eat too full, smaller tendency tat i will throw up although will still feel nauseous la. sour plums dun work well for me. in fact, the acid makes me throw up more thoroughly.

ling, so glad to find someone of the same EDD! u r planning to deliver @ Mt A? My current gynae is fr KKH so I will likely be delivering @ KKH. like u, lately im beginning to feel hungry more easily and pee-ing more frequently eventhough the bladder's not very full. but cos my MS has nt exactly stopped, i dare not eat too much for fear of throwing up.</font>

Ling, yes! officially in 2nd tri. so happy. haha.....

anybody still feeling tired? i was packing some of my stuff, sitting on the floor and realise my back aches after a while. and i'm only in 2nd tri. argh. how to spring clean for cny....

i fell asleep while listening to those songs for babies yesterday. wahhaha

hey chidori, i find dr clifton chan quite good... he doesn't rush you through the consultation and allows you time to ask him questions... he is quite humourous too... i'm quite comfortable wif him... gng to visit him this sat, shud b doing the necessary tests as i'm now in week 12...

wah, you ladies started "tai jiao" liao... so fast... i every night watch little nyonya leh... the sad show... is it bad huh?

Dovey, i watch the TVB show at 10pm. lagi worse rite??? all the villians somemore....

i think must have a mix of hapy and sad shows also. then dun ponder too much over it should be ok la..... most impt is ur own mood...

bbjun,thanks for the detailed timings. Yesterday me went for my oscar test at TMC but forgot to drop by the parent craft place cos i was stuck there the whole morning from 9am to 1pm as bb wasnt in good position. done 5 times then able to get the measurements

bought the bella band yesterday too at marina square. Very steep, about $60. Actually can buy online from US but i guess after shipping, should be just slightly cheaper only..

anyway the band is USEFUL! now i can wear my pre pregnancy pants or jeans unzipped with the band on.

went for my NT scan today. good results. 1:3700++ chance only! baby was practically dancing away. kicking legs, waving arms, roll here and there, quite funny.

anyway, my baby's CRL is only 64mm at 12w3d. is it too small?? asked the doc she say it's fine. it measured 24mm at 9w1d the other time when i did my dating scan...

Ling, i signed kkh antenatal class already, 22/1 class. i've check aqua for above 4mth. next commencement in feb. i now every night suffering from headache.. read from website it can be normal due to hormone... i feel like having a fever everynight.. anyone check your temp at night? mine go up to 37.6-37.8. understand from doc 37.8 above then fever eat panadol but been like that many night and daytime ok so i dont think it's fever.. sigh every night is a pain... i 13wk haven start buying any maternity wear , band what so ever.. how about panties? do we just buy normal wear bigger size till 5mths really big then change??

oh ling just saw your earlier qns. oh ya see kkh psychiatrist becos i too nervous , stress becos of preg lor. now attending a support group on every 1st tues at kkh, a sharing session. it's free with refreshment but only if you not working lor hee cos it's afternoon session. talk about temper, i also very hot. that day just shouted at the clinic nurse for skipping my turn. well i reach clinic q no 3. i go dinner 50min, q no. 10. i went macdonald for a seat 35min, went back miss my turn (i 17th) it was 18th. then they call 14, 19,20,21,22... i waited another 25-30min... then i flare up at the nurse. think my hb embarass after that he dont talk to me for awhile... :p i cant help feel very angry at thast point so scare i dong tai qi keep telling myself cool down relax liao sigh...