(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

see i got so excited by tang yuan that i didn't write what i wanted to write.

anyone took a video of their scan? after the NT scan then i suddenly tot it'll be nice to look at baby moving during the time inbetween the scanning. the photos that they gave us like not so clear. so maybe next time, i'll check with the doctor whether can take video or not. my next scan is at wk14. that's when the package starts. it's 2.4k including delivery charges. can't remember what it includes though.

have a gd wkend everyone! usually don't log on pc during wkends

ling
r u staying near Boon Lay MRT? I'm staying somewhere near there too! =)

ok..regarding breast pumps... think our mother's time there wasn't alot of variety of breast pump n breastfeeding was not so 'on the ball'. I wasn't breast fed. Brought up on milk powder.
Having a breast pump is a good thing to have..would say it's a MUST for those of you going into breastfeeding. Whether manual or electric... depends on you liao. There are some people like me who can't latch the baby directly due to inverted nipples or short nips... an elcetric breast pump is a worthy buy as it saves time n trouble to get EBM for the baby. Those who can latch on directly, maybe a manual one is good for you when u go to work n u can express the milk at office for the baby n bring it back.

Maybe u gals are wondering how come must pump so much one? Becos our milk supply depends on the demand...so the more u pump..the more milk supply you'll have. It's really about being diligent n determination when it comes to breastfeeding. For me, I can't latch my baby on so I gave him EBM for about 3 months plus... pumping for about half an hour each time with an interval of 2-3 hours. really felt like a cow..keke... Wish to breastfeed him longer but fatigue sets in for me as I'm alone at home looking after him by myself... thus stop pumping around 3 mths... for successful long term breastfeed, you need only your own determination but alos family support... if there was an extra pair of hands at home to help me, think I could breastfeed longer.

I hope by sharing my exp with you gals..you gals can learn something from it... wish you all success in your breastfeed! Hopefully my 2nd one I can breastfeed longer.

oh ya..one more thing very important! After birth, please try to relax n take things easy...whether breastfeed or looking after baby, dun be too hard on yourself.... cos after birth, hormones can wreack havoc on your emotions n can get depressed easily... I almost went into post natal depression cos I had so much hope on brestfeeding but got problem everytime trying to latch...
I was feeling realy lousy n bad...felt like I'm a bad mummy..can't even feed my baby... lucky my hubby was there to support me physically n emtionally. He took care of baby, volunteer for night feeds(give EBM to baby), support my decisions n giving me as much rest as possible knowing I hardly rested at home when he's at work during the day... sigh... so gals, dun be too hard out on yourselves k? There'll be other people wanting to give u this advice, that advice...adding stress to you...just filter things out...dun take it too hard. Trust me...there'll be people trying to tell you how to take of your baby... dun get too upset just take things positive. JUST REM YOU BOTH ARE THE PARENTS not them..how u wanna bring up your kid..it's YOUR AGENDA...not theirs.. so selective hearing!

Hope my exp can serve as some guide on what to expect after birth so you gals can prep yourselves mentally for them...

have a great long weekend! =)

think I read someone has the same EDD date as me...=) also on 25th June.

if you gals got anything u wanna know like birth story etc... can always let me know. I'll try to log in as often but gonna take care of my 1st kiddo..so it'll really depends.
Since I've been thru it before like a year ago, I understand the anxiety n feelings in you gals esp 1st timer.
Just enjoy the process of pregnancy n the couple time as much as possible!
Talk to you gals again!

Toffeecat,

My hubby tried before. He used his camera to video dw baby's move. It's quite clear. Hubby checked with gynae & he immediately shift the scanner to him. One bad pt is i can't see, unless u got to film it urself.

HI Mums to be
Does anyone of u experience abit difficulty to breathe.. i always feel difficulty in breathin but gynae says quite common lei..

shermine
dun worry too much..it's normal...
read it before it's normal though it doesn't affect all ladies. Dun worry too much.

Thanks bbjun for the recipe. Will try it out someday.

Today was a day of eating snacks ...so unhealthy.. need to stay away from them! Doesn't help that the weather is cold here - i am living in Taipei now. Tend to eat more...so need to start eating more nutritious and healthier food.

Btw, does anyone have recommendations on where to get maternity clothes in singapore? I got some stuff from 9mois at Paragon, but it's quite expensive for something that can be only worn for a few months...I'm running out of clothes to wear , need to start clothing hunting soon.

bbjun, same. i also don't like the way she cook. plus everytime we eat the food she cook, we must say nice, so nice. if we didnt say, we will give us face see say she spend so much time cooking, this la that la, aiya next time u all eat outside better la. fainted lor. too bad, my mommies is working so she cant cook for me. but she everyday called me 3 times ask me what i ate for the whole day. then she will go ask ard whether this food can eat?? if too cooling or heaty she will tell me next time dun eat. i also love my mommie

Ling, 'tang yuan' alot of places also very nice. i think those sell 'tang yuan' only mostly is nice. those selling with other dessert hardly nice. I also love the yam paste most. u 9pm then reach home? must be damn tire ba. maybe w/o pregnant, fight for the future earn more $$ is ok. but pregannt, mood swing easily, so alot of thing very hard to manage especially in work. some ppl wont understand then tok we act funny but deep inside we cant control lor.

lavender_lover, thanks for sharing your personnal exp with us. Actually i also pine very high hope in breast feed as there is no bad news on breast feed before thus i strongly believe breast feed is damn damn good for bb. so i really hope i can breast feed bb for at least 1-2 yrs. but i also scare my nipple or not enough milk. alone at hm can be something frustrating and something enjoyable. so sometime see on the positive side will be better.

you are right, ppls mouth tend to talk alot. it depend whether u believe or u wanna listen anot? as alot of us here are 1st timer mommies, so what ppl say we tend to believe and scare. ended up sometime make us feel guilty, sad. so sometime as what u said 'selective hearing'.

shermine, i only have diff breathing when climbing uo the stair. regardless slow or fast still tend to be very hard to breath. usually what i will do is stop and have deep breath in and out.

hope all mommies enjoy their weekend.

bbjun, Lo Hwei Yen is realli a sad story, hope she is the first and last local victim in a terrorist attack. So young and talented, is such a waste to be with God so early...

Shelisa/Ling, is normal to cry a lot and oso normal not to cry... b4 i started watching korean drama i never cry too haha...then hb started laughing at me once i started to, he says he tot i had a dead heart
kao_angry.gif

lavender_lover, thanks for the info on BF, i guess most first time mummies will be pretty kan cheong if we cant BF our babies properly =)

tofeecat, ur package is high de.

;) think lavender_lover shared some useful advice! i hoping to full breastfeed my second one coming up. I missed the relaxing feeling that breastfeeding will give. I breastfed my daughter til she 1 years old n when i got pregnant. I did have the struggles in the beginning especially latching one. The key to breastfeeding is to make ur baby learn how to latch on. Once can latch on, it shouldn't be a problem. Last time my mum would say give FM lah.. she so hungry already n still crying for milk n cannot latch on properly. Tat's y in the begining very hard n resort to giving her FM. Sometimes, must let babies cry also.. if not, they nv learn to latch on.

shermine,
difficulty in breathing when? I do get breathless after climbling stairs or carrying my baby up/down stairs. But i get tired very easily.. everytime, really like no energy by the time i reach home from work. even sometimes, keep checking the clock 2-3 hrs before finisng work coz its sooo tiring.

i noticed got quite alot of interruptions in the thread when sometimes someone post their stuff to sell!

Wanna check with FTWMTB here, who's going to take care of ur baby when u returning to work? Anyone decided on infant care already?

Now, i planning to put my 1st in child care at 18 mths n moving to my home when she goes CC earliest in april 09. For my 2nd one, i dunno what kinda child care should i choose for her. I can let my aunt take care who is now taking care of my 1st. But need to travel more than 5 bus stops even though nearby.
I dunno if I can find a trustworthy babysitter near my blks. Babysitter is cheaper than infant care. Infant care very convinient but expenssive.. n more vulnurable to viruses with kids around!
Any advice??

lavender_lover, thanks for the advice. i guess alot of times, the surrounding pple start worrying for the bb not drinking enough, making the mummies more irritated. that's what happened to my friends. then the parents or nannies will bulge into the room and say give FM cos the bb keep crying. alot of them din manage to breastfeed for long..... very sad.... hope i wont have such problems.

styliciously, i should be putting mine in an infant care. cos dont know any babysitter and i think safer to put in infant care compared to babysitters who are strangers! if u have a relative to take care, then ok la, somemore she took care of ur 1st b4.

neeciel, there was a period many years ago when i suddenly stop crying till i watch this taiwanese drama. hahah.... for a moment, i thought my tear well dried up. hahaha

lovelytulips, i seldom watch tw drama hee and i oso stopped my korean drama, now chasing after TVB drama haha...

styliciously, my mum and MIL will take turn to look after my baby while i go work during the weekday cos my mum is staying further away from me whereas MIL is only 2 bus stop away.

Hi all, Im a first time mum to be, due early June 2009. My skin has been hyper sensitive due to the pregnancy and often have to deal with itchy rashes but other than that, its been great. Have been really picky abt food as well-driving my hubby nuts.

I bought the palmer's stretch marks cream (125g) but have not used it at all due to my sensitive skin. I'm hoping to sell it at $15. Pls PM me if anyone is keen.
Great to meet you guys to go thru the experience of pregnancy together=)

oscar, i ordered from bluberi too and have received them long ago.. got my husband to go to her house and pick up..

styliciously, i'm also considering childcare options. after i deliver in june 09, will have 16 weeks of ML. after that when i return to work, my mum will help me for a month or so cos i'll have my vacation again after that. on the look out for babysitters in my block already. if cannot find, i'll put in infant care too.

not much choice, dun want to tie my mum down with caring for the baby full-time cos she's quite old already. if frequently sick will have to see how..

styliciously, I have decided on the infant care to use if I cannot find a nanny within the few blocks of where I am staying. Finding a nanny is preferred as it is more flexible and less hassle and transport cost involved bringing the BB to and fro. The good thg abt infant care is that u cld have observed how other babies are handled before entrusting ur BB with them. nanny, still need to test them abit unless u have a good reference.

Went to see gynae ytd (11w 2d) but BB has grown to 5.1cm which is abt 12w2d! Surely, BB is taking after daddy cos I m so short!!! BB was super active doing dancing movements and alot of waving movements so we could see BB's hands and legs. When we were commenting that BB has stop moving, BB seemed to hear it and started to dance ard again. Gynae said this BB likes to show off. LOL. GG for OSCAR and Thale test on 15 Dec.

neeciel, I will post the details on our gynae's package later. Left the sheet in the car so cannot rem the details.

the other time there was some discussion on infan care.. me staying in juring west looking for infant care for my baby too.. my mil just dropped bomb saying she will not be able to take care of my baby..

so far, this is the list of infant care i found in jurong west area.. anyone considering too?

1 PT4350 GRACEFIELDS CHILDCARE 5, Kang Ching Road, SINGAPORE 619061 62655745
2 PT8080 PAT'S SCHOOLHOUSE PTE LTD 511, UPPER JURONG ROAD, #02 - 04, THE ARENA COUNTRY CLUB, SINGAPORE 638366 62626990
3 RC1711 WHISPERING HEARTS INFANT & CHILD CARE CENTRE 688, JURONG WEST CENTRAL 1, #01 - 237, SINGAPORE 640688 67922321
4 NT0470 NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd 671A, JURONG WEST STREET 65, #01 - 96, SINGAPORE 641671 67915166
5 PT6080 AGAPE CHILD CARE(JW) PTE. LTD. 274D, JURONG WEST AVENUE 3, #01 - 99, SINGAPORE 644274 68618865

neeciel,
sorry, I don't understand ur qn. I m scheduled to take both oscar n thale on the same day ah. Or u mean why I didn't go for the tests at the last visit? Cos Dr didn't want to schedule when I was there at W8d2. Now that my BB grew so much, the nurses had a had time trying to schedule me for OSCAR tests cos quite fully booked liao.

As promised, here's Dr Yvonne Chan's package whihc can start from wk 18.

$800 for
- all subsequent scheduled antenatal consultations (frequency will be decided by gynae)
- Routine urine test for protein and sugar
- Wt & BP measurements
- U/s scans BUT does not include the cost of the detailed scan at wk 20
- does not include emergency consulations
- does not include vitamins & medications
- does not include other tests other than what's listed above

Delivery fee for
- normal is $800 (medisave claimable is $225)
- Assisted is $1000 (medisave claimable is $400)
- C-section is $1500 (medisave claimable is $700)

Wk 20 detailed scan is $110.

I'm glad to join all of u, mommies-to-be. I'll be due on 2nd june 2009 and am seeing dr john tee at kkh. learnt a lot from reading all your posts.

bbjun, sorry i over read ur posting, tot ur thale and oscar test doing it on separate day =)

wah thanks for the package, you manage to get the breakdown thats great =) wanted to go for C section but deposit is so high alamak....think i better discuss with Dr Chan at later stage wats my option.

welcome Kelly.

neeciel,
The delivery deposit should be $800 to be paid before delivery. Then other costs that comes in subsequently u add in and pay after delivery. This one is just my impression cos I didn't ask the nurse but somehow got this impression. Maybe u confirm with them later. But even then u need to let Dr know ur intention to do C-section.

Sorry to interupt. I am an Oct mummy.
I have 2 boxes of Medela washable breast pads for sale. Did not get to use them coz gave up breastfeeding since Day 1 ... Bought them for $20.50. Willing to sell them at $25. PM me if you are interested.

morning!!

bbjun, that's very detailed. thanks. so i guess, that's the doctors professional fees for delivery. on top of that will be the hospital charges like use of labour suite and the stays right???

now i'm thinking, i know the labour suites charge by hour. so if someone goes into those 12++ hours of labour, will the charges be very high??? been hearing long hours of laboour lately..... makes me scared and thinking whether to just take c-sect instead.

anybody started buying baby stuff??

i went spring maternity yesterday and bought a pants. cost me 65. so ex.

lately my parents and i have been discussing infant care options when i return to work when the baby is 6 months old.

The options are
1. babysitter (at my blk, else neighbouring blocks)
2. infant care (quite a distance from my house)
3. maid (unsupervised most of the time)

my parents live opposite me, but r unable to take care of the baby full-time. they can offer to come up and have a look at maid when they r free (which is quite rare). my in-laws live in the other end of the planet so it's impossible for them to help as well. my problem is I have to get to work by 7.15am, so i need infant care from 6.30am. i knock off at irregular hours, good days 3pm, bad days 7pm.

which option would u ladies take? i have difficulty having a stranger live in my house as I feel that I will be losing privacy.

cheery, not too sure about pimple cream but i remembered pple saying not to use oxy10 becos of the high dosage of a certain ingredient meant for drying pimples. my facial therapist says it's ok to use the body shop tea tree pimple stick. but i havent been using it for long. i leave the pimple there as it is.

amk_gal, seems like u gonna have a hard time deciding. infant care opens at ard 7am i think, so to put bb in at 6.30 seems early. u might wana check it out.

unsupervised maid is dangerous but it's all heng suay. but u probably wont want to go thru that probability. i guess the best choice now is a babysitter. try to ask for referrals or see if the babysitter has any prior expereiences, go to their house and see the cleanliness etc.

same here, both hb and i dont like having a stranger in our house. it's not only losing privacy but i think a maid gonna bring us even more headache.

morning...

lovelytulips, yes there are other charges like labour suite, your hospital stay etc that needs to add in but that goes to the hospital.

Same, not keen to get a maid cos hb n I are not used to having an outsider staying together with us. We are using a part-time maid who comes in on Sunday to help out with some cleaning which is fine cos she is just here for a few hours. Hence, we get a nanny or use infant care as the option instead.

gd morning everyone! welcome Kelly!

tiring wkend for me. seems like nowadays walk for 1-2 hours will drain me out completely already, especially climbing stairs. have to catch my breath after every step. ya, i agree with styliciously that i look forward to knocking off time everyday. luckily or not luckily, my co. is having retrenchment this month so most of the ppl also no energy to work... hmm..

is that wat u mean by difficulty to breath, shermine? hmm.. maybe nowadays have to take deeper breaths. think i do..

comfort, wish i had tot abt it sooner. missed out on taking videos for the last 2 scans liao. anyway better late than never :p

Shelisa, ya, i also think my package quite ex. but i feel quite comfortable with my gynae so dun want to change. and raffles is quite near where i stay now. i tot that the prices are quite the same when seeing the price website somewhere. maybe that was only the delivery and hospitalisation charges. maybe for checkups my package more ex. one good thing is the waiting time not too long, abt half an hour.

lavender_lover, thanks for sharing ur experience. can i check with u whether u went for epidural? read somewhere that it may cause baby not to latch and other side effects? or it is when if it's not done well? a bit reluctant to go for epidural but think my gynae pro-epidural.haven't had a chance to talk to him abt it yet.

Shelisa, finally got my dose of tang yuan! it's at blk 85. was quite nice but not as nice as i remembered. maybe now even more picky abt food than last time.

ya Newbie mom and lovelytulips, materntiy wear really ex. bought jeans at thyme maternity OG for 76 after the 20% off. and 2 skirts at 55. but the tops not very nice. think have to go somewhere else to shop. sigh.. shopping is sooo tiring...

morning ladies, how ur long weekend?

lovelytulips & bbjun, fyi, if im not wrong. Gynae delivery charge is Gynae delivery charge. hospital charge (labour room & accomdation room) is hospital charge (2 bedded for 2 day 1 night is $1613)

bbjun, thanks for sharing the package. ur package very detail. even the delivery charge can claim up to how much medisave also have write, mine dont have. i think next appt shld ask.

styliciously, not all bb sitter is cheap. alot of bb sitter even exp then infrant child care. i think if the bb sitter can trust then worth the $$ if not i rather trust infrant care.

thanks bbjun for the breakdown. really help alot. =)

tmr i'm going for my oscar test and visiting dr chan again. Hopefully everything will be alright.

for maternity wear, there's a few shops at vivo that is quite affordable. I bought a pair of adjustable pants for work for about 50 plus. =)

amk_gal,

me also considering these 3 options:
1. babysitter (at my blk, else neighbouring blocks)
2. infant care (need to check out the ones near my place)
3. maid => in the end eliminated as no one to supervise, cannot be trusted..

for your case, possible to get hubby to bring baby to infant care after 7am? or get a babysitter who should be more flexible with hours..

hi all, wow, so many posts even throughout the weekend. how's everyone today? i'm still in holiday mood, dun feel like coming back to work. ha!

hatemenot, whr do u go shopping for ur maternity wear? i'm hoping to just buy baby doll dress or baggy tops. it's the jeans and capris tat i have problem with. the capri which i bought with the maternity band seem quite uncomfy. was thinking if can get anything tat's draw string or low waist so that it won't touch my tummy, it's quite sensitive.

Mika, me too. Struggling to concentrate at work when my heart is with my bed at home. LOL.

Trying very hard to find a good pair of maternity jeans but didn't find any I like. Now, I m wearing my jeans without buttoning it and wear a longer top to cover it. Thinking whether I shd just buy the waist band only. cos I find my jeans more comfortable than the maternity one that my fren lent me. Does anyone know if this waist band can be bought at any maternity wear shop?

Finally told my direct boss abt my pregnancy. Seems like she is ok with it though she is shocked to know it's gg to be wk12 by this thursday. Asked me to tell my big boss as well n told me to take care cos I m staying alone most of the time. Felt a sense of relief to have just told her this.

toffeecat, so jealous. over the weekend i go find.. all peanut or not red beans. dun have my fav yam paste. so sad. some ppl package higher, some ppl delivery charge higher. but i know all is $$. we have to save save save

good morning ladies
hope you all had a nice long weekend.. didn't log on during the holiday, still having internet problem at home..

createjoy, I noticed you mentioned that you went for the psychiatrist at kkh, sorry for bein a bit kpo, but is it related to pregnancy? if yes, does it helps ? I've been more cranky n sensitive lately, a lil worried if it gets worse after pregnancy.. scared if my hb oso couldn't handle the mood swing.. am a bit frustrated now, my hb said can't blamed everything on hormones, and there are other women who are also pregnant who has to go through all these, but what's hard is that, sometimes I can't even control my own emotions..

toffeecat, we took video of the session when we listen to the heartbeat, can tell the gynae on the spot, usually they're okay with it..
lavender_lover, yeah.. I'm staying near the boonlay extension actually.. found it a bit stressful as I used to live in Sengkang, I found Sengkang more peaceful, while B.lay & JP are a total mess with non-stop pushing crowds...
your co. retrenching this wk..? my co. worse still, they'll be retrenching until early nxt yr, but no confirmation on when & how many will be affected..

I'm happy with my gynae, at first I thot he's a man with few words, while I really like things to be explained in details, so I've got things and wishes unanswered, so on the last check, I came with a list of things I 'd like to have and to clarify, he go through each patiently with us..
thanks for sharing with us ur experience
it's really helpful, I never knew the importance of the pump and EBM.. and thanks for preparing us mentally for the post-natal time, makes me think and feel that I really have to get ready for that.. the other day, my brother briefly mentioned that it's another 6 months til the bb arrives, I'm getting cold feet thinkin abt the labour and delivery process..

Newbie mum, so far I only bought 2 maternity (long) pants, other than that, I can still stick to those one-piece dress that I have before I was pregnant, those babydoll type also works, just pair them with diff colour jacket to work everyday
this way, after pregnancy I can still wear them too..

Shelisa, haven't ate any tang yuan so far.. since pregnant, nuts doesn't sit well in my tummy.. straight away vomit one, regardless.. yah lor.. very tired one, lucky my mil usually already cooked dinner by then, we told her not to wait for me for dinner, but she'll have the food on the table, so when I got home I'd have my dinner n clean up.. I know what u mean, being pregnant, still have to fight for $$ in between the headache, body pain & nausea, it's really not easy.. mood swing also at times can't control.. but what to do, it's recession, gotta even work harder to keep our job.. haiz.. can't anyhow go on mc if not feeling well now..

neeciel, same here.. my hb oso said that, 'u have no heart is it? the soldier's father just died, how can u don't cry ?'.. I told him that the actor's father still alive and well, in the movie there's a director who told the father to lay still and not to move..
hahaha.. my mood swing is more temperamental, sometimes a bit worried, hope my bb takes on my hb's instead of my temper..

styliciously, I agree with u, a lot of interruption here, thot there's another thread in this forum allocated for selling/buying items ? I'm FTWMTB, but I'll have my mil and a maid to help me once I give birth, my maid was an experienced babysitter/nanny before in the country she came from, and she only need sunday morning-afternoon off to go to church, so I'm quite okay with both of them helping me out.. if I'm not wrong, now there's a govt subsidi for selective childcare as well.. can check it out, if I found any info will share with u

bbjun, so happy for u tat ur bb growing strong and healthy.. my sis in law told me that they found out the gender liao in wk 16, they were lucky as the bb cooperatively open his legs
hope I can find out the gender next wk too.. askin bb to be good and strike a good pose..

hatemenot, just like Mika, I also bought mostly babydoll dress, wanted to get baggy tops as well to go with the maternity pants.. you're rite, Vivo got quite a few good shops there.. not necessarily maternity one.. I personally dun really like the clothes they're selling at maternity shops.. so except for the pants, the rest I got from normal shops, those baggy tops with some ribbons to tie at the back also works quite well..

hi Kelly, welcome..

tulips, whoa.. maternity clothings so ex hor.. my mum has bought some 1st month clothings, bb wraps, we were looking at the bb matress the other day too.. for bottles we'll buy avent, and for the sterilizer, we've checked quite a lot, at this point, we shortlisted either Pigeon ($169) or Avent Philips (171).. was discussing abt the delivery with my hb too, 2 bedder would be a cheaper options, but I know myself better, I won't be able to rest if my neighbour snores or has noisy visitors, so we'll most likely get a 1 bed one, but haven't decided on the hospital until we arrange the tour..

anyone would want to arrange a hospital tour for Mt A & TMC ?

Hi Ling,

I just went for TMC hospital tour last Sat since I was there to see gynae. Didn't see all the rooms cos the std single rooms are full. Saw almost all of their premium rooms... super nice n super ex lor. Look n feel like u are staying in a hotel and has good view from the windows for some of the rooms.

I see the labour wards and observatory wards.. oredi quite stressed. Cos the labour room is not very big. One of the labour rooms comes with a jacuzzi n bath.

On the whole the tour is quite good cos u know what to expect at different rooms. The tour guide was very nice and helpful to share info as well.

Next trip down on 15 Dec, I will go n check their schedule for parentcraft workshop. anyone gg to sign up the TMC one? Trying to find companion cos I think my Hb can only go with me for two of the lessons.

ling
a breast pump is very important if you going on total breast feed. i invested about $800 plus on medela PIS for my first pregnancy. no regrets. i also have a avent manual pump that i gotten during the storwide 20% sale. more worth it.

the goodness of bm is very important especially the first 3 days after delivery. that milky liquid is known as colostrum before the milk supply kicks in which is full of nutrients and anti bodies. it's advisable that you should start latching immedicately after birth to encourage milk supply to kick in.

however, breastfeeding is a new skill and it takes alot of time to master it. if you have no help with baby and still have house chores to do, it would be super stressful and eventually would lead to post natal blues. bf is very encouragable yet very tiring. however all mothers would like to give the best to their babies thus would endure the hardships. post natal time is much more worst than what we are going through the pre natal times now. fatigue adding on plus taking care of a newborn is really difficult, however all these could be overcome in time to come. you can definitely do it. plus with the mothers in the forum to give you support and encouragement, you would feel better. i was having abit of PNB for my 1st pregnancy but luckily husband and family detected it early so i was quite lucky. but it was quite scary for me if come to tink of it now. heehee.

yah cant take MCs as and when we like now but i am still very lethargic to come to work. sighs!

bbjun
you will meet the most well known lactation consultant at the parentcraft workshop - Dr Wong Boh Boi. she is super good and you definitely would benefit form the workshop.

however i did mine at mt A and the well known lactation consultant over there is Sis Kang.

bbjun, have such tour in hospital 1 meh? Like that Mount A Shld have right?

Ling, the mood swing thing is hard to manage. just try to relax and enjoy. i also dare not take mc or leave as yr end scare take alot of leave will attract management attention.

crystal, i also thought to buy avent manual pump but i scare buy liao i have no milk. so adviseable to buy now or after give birth?

shelisa
i nvr tot of this during my 1st pregnancy because i have decided to bf my baby. was very insistent so there is milk supply for me.

actually bf is all in the mind. if you keep worrying that milk supply is low or no milk supply then definitely there wont be any because you are already sending negative thoughts to the brain. but i don have such thoughts at all, all in my mind was bf and how to improve milk supply so thats why i got my breast pump before delivery. else very mafan to get one during confinement then hb maybe dunno how to buy ??? so i started off getting the avent breast pump first because it's cheaper among all the pumps. so when my milk supply came in, i then invested in the medela PIS because i still needed to express during work. so needed a better pump by then. so maybe you can start off just getting the avent manual pump first before you decide whether should you get an electronic one?

HTHs.

bbjun,

think i will be signing up for the parentcraft at TMC too. =)

Think i want to sign up another class at KK for water "aerobics" kinda thing for pregnant mothers? anybody interested? i think it's time to do some light exercise since already in 2nd trimester

For maternity pants, Vivo is a good choice. i cant remember the shop name, have to check again. 2nd level i remember.
I heard from my sis that Paragon has one maternity wear shop that is selling jeans with nice cutting for preggie ladies. I will take a look there and update you all.

Welcome all the new mommies,

Here the updates.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Del Hospital</TD><TD>Expecting #</TD><TD>Current child</TD><TD>Month/Year </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mainemum</TD><TD>29-May</TD><TD>Assof Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Idyll</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lovelle (Claire)</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>oscarsem</TD><TD>02-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawerence Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Feb-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly Ng</TD><TD>02-Jun</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kikismom</TD><TD>03-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlueDream</TD><TD>04-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Ho</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ling</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>dalandcrystal</TD><TD>06-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jen Shek Wei</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb-08 </TD></TR><TR><TD>neeciel</TD><TD>07-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chidori</TD><TD>07-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kee W.H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kate Lee</TD><TD>07-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>vernie</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Henry Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lovelytulips</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anxious</TD><TD>09-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>innocentwar</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Ah Leng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mika Rei</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>stickymouse</TD><TD>12-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shelisa</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Yuin Wen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>split</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaime</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>msn_queen</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>capriho88</TD><TD>16-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Phua S M</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Apr-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hapeverafter</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Ah Leng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy SAHM</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chen Lin Han</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pigletgirl1</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Phi</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pigletgir1</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>createjoy</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shirlaine</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>hatemenot</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ilim</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashley Wong</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>toffeecat</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Tan Yee Gee</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon Koh</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>Dr is Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon Chee</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbPotato</TD><TD>22-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>amk_gal</TD><TD>22-Jun</TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>yukiee</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Dec-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dovey</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lavendor_lover</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Oct-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbjun</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lavender_lover</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Oct-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>comfort</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poulinea</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene22</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>First mum</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Dec-05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veronica Scalea</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously</TD><TD>13-17 Jun</TD><TD>Dr Aziz</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Dec-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cystal</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheery</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ileinaheng</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veronica Scalea</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess Ma</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Janet Chen</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dorcas/Lim Jamie</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daffodils</TD><TD>end Jun</TD><TD>Dr L C Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Oct-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Newbie Mon</TD><TD>mid Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_eye</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanie</TD><TD>early Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Ling, maybe we too realistic and know that we are just watching a drama haha...

amk_gal, got infant care take in baby at 6 month old? I tot some need to be 18 months or 2 year old?

hatemenot,

cool! I let you know when I find out the schedule for the parent craft workshops next week n see if we could attend the same one.

Chidori, I have the details on the fees at home. It's different charges for those delivering at the hospital n not, as well as those who has the FBI or SBI at TMC. I will post the info up later tonite.

Shelisa, I m not sure if Mt A has hospital tour or not. Maybe u can call n ask them?

neeciel, infant care can take BB from 2nd or 3rd mth onwards. The 18 mths is for childcare. Different category.