(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

skylermum, I have fever thrice already after birth and when i have fever, one of my boob is painful. Never see doc at all cos scared they will diagnose as H1N1. so i jus throw away my milk, and stay away fr bb. fever recover itself after a day or 2.

hope it helps

Annie - hope Nesher gets well soon.. take care... heard tt icy cold milk does relief the pain abit for bb...

Re:Frozen Cabbage leaves
Heard it relieves engorgement also will slowly bring down milk ss.

Maybe u gradually slow down ur pump schedule.. dun pump so often... stretch the timing... etc... then slowly milk ss will go down also...Heard take medication will hv harden lump inside... not sure true or not

skylerM- maybe take panadol? did u? does ur breast hv red blotches?

annie, thanks for the link.. i search on internet alot of links asked me to nurse more to recover faster.. but the problem is, actually i want to stop bf aredi.. so not sure is it becos of the longer stretched hours of not pumping (due to returnting to work) then got this problem. Don't worry, nesher will be well soon! jia you!

sweethalo, took panadol aredi, fever came down then after that go up again.. yeah one of my breast is slightly red and nipple a bit swollen..

Probably is Mastitis ba... think can go to LC if u dont feel comfy just taking panadol. Jus take the normal panadol.. dun take strong type...

I think someone mention before... must continue to pump but throw the milk away else ss will drop.

Dun stress too much, get well... n think positive.

ooo.. din kn u are stretching pump hrs so tt can slowly stop bfing... hmm..

Or u can try get Malay massager to come and clear blk duct for u?

First Mum - yeah... thanks! realised tt am not alone on the sleep dept for bb...

Anyway, I started getting him to sleep in daytime in my rm where his cot is.. instead of in the hall where bassinet is... seems to be able to sleep better leh... so will see how it goes.

Last night also managed to get him to koon at 1230 aft his night feed ended at 1130... and he only sort of roused at 3.30pm... so was very thankful for the 3hr straight uninterrupted sleep tt I hv not had for a long long time! hehehe...

createjoy:
I dont use warmer but i use steriliser.. think easier to handle compared to big stainless pot to sterlise bottle..not sure plastic will melt or not...

createjoy n caramelle
Mense didnt come doesnt mean not fertile...definitely fertile..my friend had
2nd child unexpectedly...but my doc said menses comes means unproductive milk production..thats y due to hormonal changes...menses comes

createjoy,
once my mil spoilt my bottle cap when she boiled the bottles n stuff. the cap melted...

blurmom, no leh. no pressure felt.

caramelle,
fasting while breastfeeding.. salute you ah..
i get hungry quite easily nowadays..

anyone got menses liao? I had my menses 3 times in the last 2 months.. hated it as everytime menses come supply drops.. Caramelle, you should be happy that menses is still not here

thought breastfeeding should delay the return of menses?!

createjoy,
I also sleep feed like artist.. my gal will latch at about 9 to 10pm and then sleep.. at 12am, I will sleep feed her and she will sleep til 4 to 5am before she crys for milk.
when I return to work, I will sleep with her at 10pm. hubby do the 12am feed and I wake up at 4am to latch and prepare for work..

I dun change diaper after she sleeps. unless she poos..

createjoy,
are you the one who is seeing Dr WH Kee too? if yes, other than pap smear, what other things he do during the post delivery visit at the 2nd month?

annie,
poor baby.. so young kenna HFMD.. hang on there mummy!
your baby will get well soon..
the fastest way to stop breastfeeding is to get the medicine from doc.. 2 to 3 days will dry up.. you aure you wan to stop? now is the best time to give your boy the good antibodies..

skylermum,
I'm one of the unfortunate ones who kenna mastitis 2 to 3 times liao..take the antibiotics and panadol to bring down your fever.. massage massage and massage, use warm compress to help the milk flow.. nurse and pump out..
after pumping, use cold compress to sooth your breast.. if you wan can use cold cabbage to reduce the milk production so not so painful..

I saw LC before, they say the milk is safe for baby consumption and I let my bb drink..

yes. I always kenna when I dun pump for half a day coz my gal does not empty my breast when she nurses..

vogue mummy,
menses come means unproductive milk production ah?

blurmom,
nope, I dun feel any pressure at V area. Is it unitary tract infection?

blurmom, I feel that often. Gynae says it's normal and some ladies tends to feel it more than others. Caused by BFing. The feeling is really quite uncomfortable at times.

<font color="0077aa">just came back with hubby and bub from a whole day out!

started mid-day at the BMSG BFing event..wasnt as good as i expected. i was looking forward to this talk abt carriers and slings by an expert, but turns out she was a business owner and she was only familiar with the slings she was selling. i asked if she knew how to BF with Baby Bjorn, she didnt know. but she advise better to use slings if want to BF but it takes abit of mastery. there was little else to do cos nothing much to see at health promotion board...thought there might be booths selling nursing clothes or diapers..but none.

so now im looking for 2nd hand MIM sling, any mummies who's selling it cheap and in gd condition pls PM me okay? i already have a baby pouch (pupsik), baby carrier (baby bjorn) so now looking for baby sling to complete my collection. haha!

re warmer: i have a philips one and it's really good esp to warm up chilled EBM. takes abt 5min to warm up 90ml glass bottle (mind u that glass warms up faster that plastic bottles). mine has an auto thermostat so the light goes off once the milk is ready. however i find that it warms the milk too much..cos when i pump out, the milk is cooler. should try to reduce the temperature or take it out earlier.

re sleeping at night: i dont know if this helps, but maybe mummies who are pumping BM want to discard the initial milk (either by manual hand expression or after pump 2-3min throw the milk out) and just feed baby pure hindmilk. the color is much more whiter and consistency is thicker, this milk is more filling. for BFing mummies, avoid switching breasts e.g if last feed was around 8pm on right breast, then baby wake up ard 10-11pm for another feed, give frm right breast still i.e. empty the right breast completely as the more you do this, the more hind milk is given. hind milk is richer in calories and therefore more filling. then once baby sleeps ard 11-12pm, pump out the right breast if feeling full and go to sleep. there is no evidence that this might work! but worth a try since it'll cost u nothing...

re FEBM: only last for 1 hour? usually before i go out i will pack 1 bottle and warm it up then keep in thermal bottle bag..and will use within 4 hours. cos fresh BM last 4 hours at room temp mah..so chilled then warmed milk should last ard the same time no?

re solids: WHO recommends to purely BF until 6mths so i wait until after then to intro solids. anyway baby dont need solids till after 6 mths, the first nutrient to deplete is iron which they are born with to sustain until 6 mths.

LASTLY re BFing while fasting..must be honest and say i did have hunger pangs. cos although i dont eat regularly eg breakfast lunch dinner, i will definitely eat a lot at each meal eg cereal + bread for breakfast. and i snack often too..but today was mostly thirsty cos i got out. however felt the day pass by very fast cos was out and seems like i had to carry/mind/feed/sleep baby all the time..haha

caramelle - must take care of urself... really salute u for fasting now...

hmm ur hind milk idea sounds workable...may try it when i can reintro btl to bb

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, ur problem with bottle was abt nipple confusion right? u gave noah bottle and he forgot how to latch on to u is it? im using NUK latex teat and she's okay with bottle and breast..u got try this?

dear, PM me ur contact can? can sms chat..hehe</font>

Annie: Hope your baby recovers soon. When you place cold cabbage leaf on your breast to ease the discomfort, leave out the brown area.

artist: Thanks for the link for the soft cover book, thinking of ordering too!

caramelle: MIM sells their defective sling (colour runs) @$15, maybe can buy that one and fix the colour yourself?
I'm not feeding baby any water yet, so guess the foremilk got its own purpose?

Got a weird smell on my boy, found that his right ear is covered with dry, falky stuff and it's a kinda smelly, clean up a few wax fr ear using baby oil. Anyone got the same experience? I'm thinking is it because I'm cleaning his ear too much yesterday or this morning?

ya, noah rejected latching cos he prefered the btl...lazy n impatient boy...hehehe..i tried the disposable nuk teats guven by my gynae but mum said he chokes...so we used back e avent nb ones..hmm mayb he choked then cos not use to btl then hor??

ok will pm u my hp...

now waiting for my next pumps..

re mastitis,
i also got it a few times.. got to clear the blocked ducts.. first time, i inexperienced, used cold cabbage leaves and then my milk supply drop drastically. the next few times, i massage like xiao, rest a lot, and took panadol.. the last time was very bad.. i had to call a massage lady to clear for me.. so unless u want to reduce milk ss.. dont use cold cabbage.. use hot compress before pumping.. massage during pumping and after pumping, use cold massage to ease the swell.. pls note that u can only take normal panadol.. cannot take extra strength ones.. if take those, bb cant drink the milk, must discard..

re fussy bb,
i realise that my bb will be quite drowsy after taking gripe water.. did some reading on it.. it seems that gripe water help to soothe bb cos it provides relief to the stomach wind.. i only feed her 5ml gripe water mix with 15ml water once a day..

re routine,
my bb day time doesnt sleep long.. she only sleeps more if i carry her non-stop or sleep on her tummy.. now with gripe water, she managed to take naps of 1-2 hr.. overall, her afternoon naps is around 3-4 hrs

night routine is slightly better.. she will be wipe down at around 10.. pat pat and listen to music with very dimmed lights till she is a bit drowsy then we will let her lie on the cot.. but the moment we put her in, she will wake up with marble eyes.. then we will tell her she has to sleep.. leave the room with dimmed lights.. she will play on the bed till she is tired and sleep.. feed can be every 4-6 hrs.. depends on her.. sometimes she doesnt want to drink at all throughout the night.. and as for changing, we change every feed.. somehow the pampers do not last more than 5hrs for our gal..

re glass bottles,
how long can we keep these.. i have quite a lot.. but not using cos my milk ss is pathetic

re stop milk ss,
i also been reducing my milk ss gradually.. after my last mastitis incident, i talked to my gynae to ask for medication.. but he told me to do it naturally.. no need medication if i have the time to reduce it.. since then i have been dragging my pump time from every 3 hrs to 6 hrs to now every 8-12 hrs.. now my target is to maintain to pump at least every 12 hrs so my bb can have 1 breast milk feed every 1-2 days

but before increase pumping interval, got to clear the milk ducts first or any engorgement.. otherwise it will make it worse.. if really painful, use cold cabbage since dont need the milk anymore.. i apply cold cabbage for only 1 day, about half hour after each pump, my milk ss drop by half.. too effective

Aiyoh annie u rk care too, mami tend to fell sick wn bb sick... too tired..

hey dolly u keen too? artist, shall we all combine get it cheaper?? keen in 10,13,14,15. if we can combine to 21 book then we can get at $3... aiyah if only the taka gathering was later then we can easily combine and collect.

chidori, nope my gynae is suresh nair.. hmm he just do u/s and pap smear lor. oh mense cm means milk production not efficient?? strange leh i only 100ml leh... no mense cm.. i rem casey had her mense long ago and she got lots of milk!

superbee pls put me in tentatively for taka gathering, thks! do u have simlac glass btl? i like them for being big enough, if u got spare i queue after cassey :p

anyone wan share milk bag? WTS got one selling playtex. 140liner (tie w rubberband or clip type) for $11 only but i dont need so much.. will be great if someone share half with me.

dolly,
re smelly ears, my gal also got it.. at first we tot it is some ear infection, but then after cleaning the ear smells ok already.. think it is becos her hair is too long so trap the moisture or milk extra.. now we clean the ear twice a day.. use wet cotton buds to clean the dry yellowish things.. those mini cotton buds are also useful for cleaning the "folds"

ya lor caramelle i tot chill one can keep 4hr too. and some more i dont warm up before go out, buy a thermo flask of hot water, warm b4 use so i feed it even after 4hr :p anyway i read ameda website here what it says: guideline differ, why can't experts agree? First, research confirms that your milk will not spoil before the times listed on this website. But the longer your milk is stored, the more vitamins are lost. That's why some breastfeeding books list shorter storage times. Those experts prefer you to use your milk sooner rather than later. But this doesn't mean that your milk will be spoiled if you wait longer.

well after reading it, i tried to pump every 2hr to time w jayden feeding until last week i'm sick of pumping, i now pump 3-4hr alt chill and fresh exp milk haha wat a lazy mum... i guess that's y i cant latch on too mayb it's not he cant latch but i no confident and so conclude he didnt latch well keep latching,find constant latching tedious end up now can only pump..

fat_mom: The glass bottles can keep, I got most from my cousin who gave birth 2 years ago. But you got to buy the plastic bottle cap fr the pharmacy, dun use the metal cap. BTW, how do you clean the sticky surface after removing the labels?

Thanks for the advice about the ear. We cleaned it just now, but there's still something at the hole, and it's a bit smelly still. We dun dare to dig it too deep, hope it drop out by itself. Wonder why it developed so fast, is it because I was outside this afternoon and using shawl to nurse and therefore dunno if milk has dropped into his ears?

My boy can't sleep on his own leh, mostly need to latch on before sleeping, wonder if it's because he's hungry. Other than that, he can sleep in the stroller when it is moving too!

createjoy: Thinking of getting the whole set leh because of the pricing, where do you stay? If near Sengkang, then I can get it posted to my place and meet u @ Compass point. Then better get the registered mail.

superbee: for Taka gathering, I'm still pending my mum's schedule cos she's coming to SGP to visit me this Monday. Thanks for organizing!

<font color="cc0099"> just scanned thru n shall revert to what I rem...

dolly, ebm can last 4hrs at rm temp after being heated up. Chilled can last longer in chiller bag. Guideline is as long as smells good, looks good, tastes good, it's good to go. It lasts for a lot longer than the guidelines say, really.

artist, I got a few cloth books for Kyle before he was even born. Heehee... off the WTS thread for cheap.

superB, YES, GLASS BOTTS PLS! I was thinking of heading back to Gleneagles to ask for <u>20 more</u> glass bottles. I have 18 sitting in the freezer now. I didn't get the Blurmom gathering attendees contacts leh. So don't have your mobile. but will pm you soon. Can you spare that many?

Skylermum, Does sounds like mastitis, you poor dear! Hope you get medical attention and it goes away soon.

fatmom, don't think glass bottles have a use-by date lor!

Just a note. Sigh. Think I need a down under biopsy. Things not too well with funky discharge.
*sorry if too much info ah*

<font size="+1">Invitation</font>, have thksgvg gathering for Kyle passing 3 months coming Sat 3pm-6pm. My friends are attending... but I also invited those I know are living in West to drop by... so far only Chidori coming (THANKS, DEAR!). Negative RSVPs from KateLee, createjoy n tubbym. Do drop a pm if you'd like to drop by, ya? I'm at Pioneer station. Refreshments will be catered so pls rsvp.</font>

Cassey: Thanks for the info. I'm storing the ebm for the nanny, wonder if she bother to taste it before giving to my son!

Anyone knows what is the proper way to prepare frozen ebm? I was told to move the ebm from freezer to normal cooling compartment 1 hour prior to drinking, then warm it after that.

I'd this Vaginal pressure feeling after childbirth, esp before and during menses... Gynae said its water retention? I ain't sure if its really retention. My elder sis also have this problem and her daughters already more than 12yrs old. *faint* Hated this! Always need to go toilet to relief the pressure, sometimes it helps but sometimes don't! I suspect I got urinary infection, but I'm using lactacyd after every 'big/small business'! And it only happens before and during menstrual period...

Bbjun, do u feel the same way too?

Blurmom,
Mine is like a pulling pressure. My gynae never says it's water retention. She just says that becos I m breastfeeding, uterus will contract. Some ppl feel it more, some dun feel it. Some may have this feeling as long as they are bf-ing. I dun feel the urge to go toilet to pee leh.. but when I pee, I can feel that pulling pressure more. Sounds like we are experiencing different things. Maybe u wanna check with another doc for second opinion???

i'm not bfing leh... Yah, I think different pressure feeling... Alright, should ask gynae again on my coming appt. If still the same, then I think I better seek for 2nd opinion. Tks Bbjun

been away at the granny's since friday. havnt been there for 3weeks since i moved n she been missing my kids. Ayuni skipped daycare coz of her swollen eye n yest had her kindermusic class so had to let my aunt jaga Aisha coz my mum working. so tiring coz of fasting. had a feast yesterday coz all my cousins n nieces break fast there.

menses:
i like having no menses when breastfeeding. only had once b4 i was pregnant again and it was very light. but no menses means scared if get pregnant too ealy coz I was not on any contraceptive. My gynae n i decided not to talk abt contraceptive coz i was undecided on any. When i came back for 2nd pregnancy, he said my timing very good coz can fast this yr n last yr n shd repeat the cycle a few more times. He was saying nowadays standard is to have 7 kids.. :S Aiyoh, he anyhow only!

skyler,
if u wanna stop bfing, u can see ur gynae for the medicine to stop milk production. but must be super sure abt ur decision coz will really dry up ur supply. or u can wean off ur baby from bf gradually but will take longer coz only been bfing a few months. its easier to wean off gradually when u've bf longer like a year esp if u are working. U can completely stop latching on ur baby completely n pump only when breasts are full. its harder to stop bf if u still latching on. R u sure u wanna stop? if u are working, can still bf at nite so ur baby wont fall sick so easily.

caramelle,
HPB there usually nothing one.. hehehe...

blurmom,
i used to have that pressure feeling during confinement but now no more. dunno y the feeling like dat.

chidori:
If menses came too early, could be due to not latching enough / whether baby been introduced formular etc...which cause hormonal changes in mother that cause menses to come..this menses period milk supply may drop a little..
This is uncommon but is normal i guess...just to be sure it is really menses and not post-partum bleeding

dolly:
think my girl is like your boy... used to latching to sleep...actually not becoz he is hungry..but wants to suck for comfort to sleep..Recently i intro pacifier becoz worried when i returned to work, baby cannot sleep..My girl now also likes to suck her fist...Think its normal..

caramelle-reali admire u 4 fasting! way 2 go girl!

mommies-do u ladies use baby carrier?my bb is now 2 n half months.is it 2 earli 2 use carrier?i use d moms r us sling.

Blurmom... we haf the same gynae rite? i suggest u go for 2nd opinion..i no longer go back to 'her' i feel not experience enough n i had pulling pressure right after delivery for more than a mth lor..even now aso haven fully heal..cant stand n walk too long or i feel a 'seng seng aching' feeling down below..not is confirm nt water retention.i went for 2nd opinion n the gynae was damn experience..she say is due to the trauma of childbirth injured the whole pelvic bone n musclee area as i had a beri diff delivery all thanks to our gynae..

sweethalo- thks
in fact Nesher is much more better &amp; he do cry but not so much anymore..

las nite my fever went up 39.4 &amp; hubby got to take care &amp; feed him milk.. pump out 200ml BM at 10.45pm yesterday &amp; 180ml BM at 2pm today &amp; threw it away. as i taking medicine dont know will the medicine go inside the BM or not....

chidori- no choice ... better stop faster or else troublesome...

dolly-??? cabbage got brown area???

createjoy- got his virus las nite &amp; today my parents help take care of him... keep nappin

dolly: regarding the ear, my daughter had the same flaky dry skin too and i cleaned it + applied baby oil , after that it became red and inflamed - infected! the paediatrician then had to prescribe topical antibiotics and steroid cream + oral antibiotics. Fortunately it got better after applying the creams, so didn't take the oral antibiotics. You might want to monitor to make sure it doesn't become infected. Hope this helps!

vogue mommy,
I latch my gal fully for the first 5 weeks. after that introduce bottle using EBM.. so far total breastfeed, no formula.. my milk supply is also ok..
my locchia only last 8 days..4th week menses come I thought its lochia not cleared.. then 6th week and 8th week come again..
hmm.. think I better check with my gynae when i see him this Tue..

vogue_mommy: Started to intro pacifier one month ago, but he's still not taking in yet. He also like to suck/lick his fist, but it doesn't put him to sleep easily leh

Annie: I mean the dun cover the nipple using the cabbage

Newbie Mom: any sign to look for if the ear is infected? So far it look a bit wet on the outer area and I continue to clean it this morning, used water instead. It hasn't gone flaky again yet

dolly i stay bt batok! extreme end frm u...
y cannt cvr nipple with cabbage?

annie, see lor i so "zun" mami tend to ganna. wish u get well soon. anyway fm other pt of view mite b a blessing in disguise since got parent to tk care no need worry get plenty rest. i was dwn with slight diahorrea yday. morn felt abit light headed prob at night didnt slp well or had fever. luckily by aftn was feeling perfect.

vogue mom where u stay?? hope got ppl lobang for the cloth bk.. if cheaper then i buy... $4.50 qt ex to me cos i not wking leh... hw many u order?

Creatjoy:
I ordered 10...u want to share to get total 21 copies? Or can get 5 each.?..perhaps can get $3 each..( can be duplicate copies right? Not need to be one full set)

dolly:
My girl suck fist/mittens also cannot sleep..becoz fist too big to go into her mouth..slowly she will then learn to suck thumb..by then can sleep...so everytime she suck fist, i will switch to pacifier..although not everytime she will take...She use to reject it strongly at 1st becoz as long as BB has never tried sucking, they wont know if they like it..but u got to be paitent..once your boy willing to give it a try...will like it.. and falls aslp quite fast..Now when my girl doesnt want pacifier at night but perfers fist, i will latch..if not I will just use "yao lan" and she will sleep..but may take a slightly longer time...Best combi is "yao lan" + pacifier...Keep on trying..not when he is too agitiated...when he is happy, use the pacifier like a toy to let him experiment..he will learn to like it..best is to use one that is same as the teat he is using.

chidori:
I experience something like yours..i tink mine most likely is menses..although it lasted quite sometime compared to the past..the discomfort is similar so i think so ..when did u give birth by the way?

DEAR MOMMIES WHO PROVIDED ADVICE,
My Girl is finally taking bottles..After one week of training cum struggling/protesting, it works! Now she using Nuk Big Teat type. And now I try to let her latch on once a day and she is accepting both.
THANKS !!

sweethalo:
maybe u can try to use bottles once a while..Believe your BB should have no trouble accepting both..

bbjun, is ur pressure more like contraction? I was wondering about the uteras shrinking part... I had this pulling sensation during bf-ing, just below tummy. But it stops after confinement... It take about 6 - 8 weeks for our uteras to shrink back to normal size.
http://www.wyethnutrition.com.au/$$Uterus%20Care.html?menu_id=96&amp;menu_item_id=9

styliciously, you had your menstural started already? I got this pressure during confinement then it stops... Then before and during my period...

Doglefox, tks for sharing your experience with me ya
You need to take more rest and do more keegal exercise... I'll seek for 2nd opinion for sure as I also lost my confidence in her too! I found her quite horrible after chatting with u! My HB wants me to get another gynae (rec by his colleague), also located at Gleneagle... I will then update on my Pressure thingie again... Hopefully everything is fine! *pray hard*

Blurmom,
I got my menses once but very light, when baby abt 1 mth. After that no more. During confinement, alot of weird feelings, sometimes pee also very hard or painful. But so far ok. Just this evening I felt the uterus shrinking feeing while bf. Dunno if its my menses comes coz discovered some spotting on my underwear.... need to ask my mum if i should cont fast tmrw.

<font color="0077aa">dolly, my girl also must clean behind her ears and just on the lobes gently. think because when i bathe her sometimes water gets in but i never dry properly.

sweethalo, try the 0-6m NUK latex teats. shouldnt choke but you may want to sit him a bit more upright during feeding. from what i test using this teat, the milk will not come out unless your boy sucks so lesser chance of choking by right. btw, received ur PM

fat mom, baby should not drink plain water. it affects milk supply. that's what i learnt from LC cos she encourage me to exclusive BF for first 6mths and not introduce anything else, including water. just give gripe water on its own lor..or if u have a dropper?

raudha, thanks. u are fasting too no? re carriers: yah i have a collection of them! think a few mums here using the MIM sling. im looking to buy one too 2nd hand, cos i hear easy to BF in public with it. never too early to use carriers, just different position.

calling raudha and styliciously fasting mummies, if u can make it on thurday do COME!</font>

<font color="0077aa">dolly what does colour run mean? how can i fix it? thanks for the heads up btw...will chk the webby now</font>