(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Cassey,
won't be joining the gathering cos thurs usually got meeting. Moreover I am at the south, prob can't be at bugis/Vivo/Raffles City by evening. You gals enjoy.

Re:sleeping habits
I have difficulties sleeping on any sides. I guess it's the uterus being pushed by the baby and I kept waking up to go toilet. The tightness makes sleeping quite impossible at times. Sigh. Anyway, have to get use to it.

<font color="0077aa"> Thanks Tubbym~, innocentwar, Mika~, creamer, bbjun, fatmom &amp; createjoy for PMs
Feel free to revert to ver.2 again!

bbjun, clarification pls: do you "really" mean Raffles Place, or is it supposed to read Raffles City?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Now that I've got more to go on, based on current most popular dates from the above MTBs PMs, here goes...

<font size="+1">CENTRAL GATHERING SURVEY VER.2</font>
*Note: This is an OPEN INVITATION to ALL June MTBs active on this thread.
If you're interested, just click on my nick to drop me a PM in the following format for my convenience pls.

PM Subject: <u>Central Gathering Survey Ver.2</u>

1. Nick (if different from your username)
2. Avail April Date(s) from list: Thursdays 2nd / 16th / 23rd and/or Fridays 3rd / 17th / 24th
3. Preferred Location(s) from list: Raffles City / Bugis / VivoCity
4. Special Requirements (e.g. No Beef / Budget-conscious)
5. Any other relevant remarks

At the mo, suggestions for eateries include: Shokudo, Swensens, Marche, Hans Cafe, Cafe Cartel...
I am looking to tie down a location before "launching" an eatery survey. Thks for your patience. Will keep you all posted!</font>

<font color="0077aa">LFB, thanks for letting me know. However, do still feel free to revert cos Thursday is just my initial suggestion. Doesn't mean it's the only day tt will be considered. *I'm NOT a tyrant ok!* South is closer to central than the rest of us working in West/East, isn't it? I work Bt Batok... Just that I'm not expecting to stay late since I'm serving out the final period of my notice. Heehee!!</font>

cassey, hv pm u again

re baby awake while mommy sleep
think i read somewhere when mommy is still, baby is more active.. which is quite accurate for me

oh i hv one more qns.. for those mummy still working and going to give birth naturally.. when u plan to stop working.. e.g. 1 or 2 wk before edd? i need to plan when to start my maternity leave..

Cassey, have PMed you. Still pretty much the same thing from me lah, almost any day can, any central location can, any food can, any budget can

Just ate 3 slices of pizza, and feel so sinful. *gulp* Shall make up for it tomorrow by eating healthy stuff. Oh, maybe make up for it now by eating an apple.

<font color="ff0000">LET'S MAKE THE CENTRAL GATHERING A BIG &amp; SUCCESSFUL ONE! EVERYBODY PM CASSEY NOW!!</font>

Fat mom, Tiny bu bu,

I will take 1 week b4 my EDD. Thought good to rest, get ready, eat(so that I won't be deprived!) and also get some stuff done. Some of my colleagues actually worked till waterbag burst or contraction started. On right?

LFB : I actually want to take 1 week before EDD as well but m gynae said to standby usually 2 weeks before EDD.Have you heard the same thing?

hi tiny bubu,
my edd is exactly 1 wk after urs - 16 jun.. i am trying to avoid taking leave too early cos i want to maximise my maternity leave + child care leave (6 days right?) and annual leave.. hopefully, only need to return to work in dec..

Tiny bu bu,

haven't ask my gynae yet. May also take 2 weeks, all depends on my situation. My friend gave birth 10 days b4 her EDD, so anything could happen. Ya, abit tricky. My boss very nice one, told me just hand over by end May, and the rest of the days, I can just go into office and "cho bo". He even told me I can claim hours will do, that means do like 4-5 hrs per day then go home rest. So maybe I will take 1 week.

wow LFB, ur boss so nice.. i hope mine will be like that too.. actually ever since i told him i am pregnant, he has been assigning less and less work to me.. and now i am starting to do my handover.. but i doubt he will let me work 5 hrs nearer to due date.. other dept will gossip one..

going off for supper now..

hi tinybubu, congrats to u on becoming a mom too! I guess its never too early to start reading up to be prepared..
I have also bought the desitin nappy cream (creamy) &amp; few types of wet wipes. As for diapers, i have got 3 packs of newborn pampers active (36pcs p/pk) ready &amp; planning to buy nepia for newborn (60pcs p/pk).

Fat mom,
that's why I "sell" my life to him one! I am the xiao one that start work around 630am! But he very nice, always look out for me, so I also very pia for him now. If we go out for dept dinners(which happens very often), he will make sure someone will send me home after that. If I can, I will not take advantage of him, cos as you said, pple will talk!

joyce : Hi Joyce! When is your EDD?

LFB : When should we get ready our diaper bag?Is early May too late?

Fatmom : You mean we can take childcare leave and maternity leave together?

Tiny bu bu,
I will prob get it ready 2 weeks b4 my EDD. I went online to search for items to pack from mommy who popped. Very useful tips from them. Some even include daddy's bag! Ha ha ha, items like digital camera, mag, toiletries(for single room) and laptop. I will check with sis and friends too, but think antenatal class prob will also dicuss. You attending one?

joyce, lucky you!
At first i thought i could go back to work after my maternity leave but now i'm thinking i'm such a crybaby i will most likely cry at my desk everyday when i'm back in the office. i might quit after maternity.

Any mummies here have the same intention?

Tiny bu bu,
I will stop work from Jan 2010. After maternity, I will clear work for 2009 and be full time mum for 1 yr to try out. The company is keeping my position, so I will just return back when I am ready. I want to stop work, cos many said that first yr is the most impt yr for child. My MIL and aunt will assist me when I work after maternity.

tinybubu, I m a member with cordlife oredi. PM me if you are interested to get my details when u want to sign up with them.

Cassey, sorry.. meant to say Raffles City. I worked at Raffles Place so it's quite usual for me to end up saying that. :p

<font color="0077aa">fatmom, I've heard tt too! I see the logic. But sometimes I wonder if it's because it's easier to feel bb moving when we're still..?

fatmom &amp; tiny_bubu, I'm serving out my notice now so needn't think abt tt.. However, a number of my colleagues didn't go on maternity leave until the day they popped... said they didn't want to waste their maternity benefits waiting for the big day. Skali 1 week overdue then wasted 2 weeks!! So on the day they go into labour, they just call the office to say that they're not coming in, and they're out of action for a few months... Hmm...

tiny_bubu, can I just call you bubu? Very long to type neh. I've heard about first bb's usually popping 2 weeks early... but my colleagues' babies popped only a couple of days early, a day late and a few days late neh.

Joyce, don't worry! I'm just being cheeky.
I know what can and CANNOT be firmed up. *grin* I'm glad we've poached you over from the "other" thread. We Junies must be a nicer bunch! Kekeke... *sorry Jul MTBs!*

bbjun, thanks for clarification. I thought so. WHOA! Very close by for you then.

Tubbym~, thanks for being very cooperative! I see from your PMs tt you absorb info very well
I was originally hopeful can get up to 40 PMs within days... but last few days have been slow - prob cos of weekend. So I'm re-adjusting my expectations and hopefully will hear from a total of 20 MTBs by the coming week! Heehee... Including myself, 8 down, 12 to go!

KEEP THOSE PMs COMING, JUNIES!
Paging sweethalo, ahnetsan, LFB, blurmom, caramelle, jam75, shelisa, nozomi, Serene, Ling, Joyce, tiny_bubu... and others I can't recall offhand *sorry!*

caramelle,
induce happen when u r overdue or advice by dr to induce due to whatever reasons. my #1 overdued by 2 days &amp; i wanted try natural so i opt for induce but unsuccessful n pay c-sect + induce price...

ling,
i m also with dr adrian &amp; i don't bother asking his opinion of which hospital during my #1. so when i was delivering my #1, he was nagging/complaining of the nurses infront me. ;) and you r rite that if end up emergency c-sect, have to take lift to level 4 cos i went to c-sect after failed to induce. so was wheeled to 4th flr to get "Cut". :p

tiny bubu,
must pay deposit to MT A one meh? I tot only send/fax in some form to "chop" a bed there and no need to pay deposit wor.. unless they now change policy already?

fat mom,
my #1 was overdue and i work until the week b4 i pop. then i took 3 days of MC at home to rest and eventually go and get induce #1 out.. :p so i think this time i will continue to work n c how it goes...i find taking advance maternity leave to stay at home and wait is wasting the leave.

cassey,
love to join the gathering with the mummies but weekdays dinner will not be possible for me cos i gotta rush back to fetch my #1..

Good morning! Finally find time to log in. I am on leave today! Yahhoooo!

Cassey, PM you liao. But I only have 2 days to spare! Sigh. Meeting on the 3rd, so sure no chance to travel to town!

I am going to Isetan sale and Taka sale again later. Meeting a friend for lunch in Orchard area so thought I will just pop by. Don't waste a perfect day for shopping.

Morning Ladies,

It is such a nice gathering on last Fri. Apologies to those mommy if I didn’t talk much to you on that day as I reach quite late. But overall I enjoy myself that day and hope those mommy enjoy too and nice meeting you all.

Cassey, yup yup. No photo..
I have pm u reg central gathering. BOOB?? Haha..

Morning ladies!Am on leave today.Wanted to go see Dr Adrian in SK but IKEA is delivering my new sofa today.They told me their delivery time is 10am to 3pm and i replied saying I need to see my gynae.Is there anyway they could come before 12pm?And they kept saying no.So might not be able to make it.Sigh.I'm running out of fish oil.......

bbjun : have PM you.thanks!

Cassey :no problem to call me bubu.hehehe.if you're serving out notice now, does that mean you wont be entitled to maternity???

Superbee : When i went for the Mount A hospital tour, there was a couple who liked Mount A so much they wanted to confirm on the spot so they asked the sister how to do it.And the sister replied to do to Admissions desk, fill up a form and make payment of the deposit.

tiny bubu, replied.

To all, just sharing something good with everyone about a promo at Shangri-la Hotel. Please see below:
-----------------------------
At Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, we are committed to being the market leader for lifestyle concepts and innovations. Following the success of recent promotions, such as Lunch by the Minute and The Line's 4th Birthday celebrations, our F&amp;B team will be introducing a bold, ground-breaking campaign call FLASH YOUR AGE!

With effect from next Tuesday 17 March 2009, guests who celebrate their birthdays at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, will enjoy a dining discount that is equivalent to their current age at all five restaurants - BLU, The Line,
Nadaman, Shang Palace and Rose Veranda. Please refer to attached mailer for more details on the terms and conditions.

For restaurant reservations, you can call Dining Reservations at 6213 4398.

-------------------
Afternote: Discount is based on Percentage!!!!
If i bring my 101 year old ah-gong, it will be free meal for up to 8 paxs, they even have to 'refund' me coz she over the 100 age. hahahaha...
If i bring my 61 year old dad and my reservation is for 10 paxs, it will be 61% dist for up to 8 paxs, 2 paxs u pay full rate. But discount applicable for food only. Beverages you still have to pay.

bbjun, wasted both my parents' birthday over liao! Both turn 66, very good discount kekeke... And me and hubby bday both in the last quarter...

tinybubu, eh, I thought our gynae's office just takes care of everything for us? Maybe check with your clinic first?

Today is my boi 1st day back to childcare centre after 2 weeks plus of MC. So glad he didnt cry

Tubbymummy,
I need to thank you too
...So pai say last min cannot meet u.

Cassey,
Have just PM u

Tubbymummy, thanx for the stemcord &amp; cordlife comparison. i was going to ask. i went to cordlife talk but haven't been to stemcord. was wondering if there will be any big diff. seem like the diff is slight.

Re taka fair:
I'm interested to buy a combi stroller from the fair. But from today onwards, the 10% further off with the taka card will stop right? Anybody has any complains about combi strollers? Checking if there's some minus points which i didn't know cos of inexperience.

Createjoy, Fatmom, same here leh. bb kick - uncomfy. bb dun kick - worry. yesterday even worse, walk a bit more, my right side of the tummy will feel sharp pain. i also don't know because of what. anybody also like that? maybe baby wrong posiition? or stretching pain is still relevant in our current tri?

Tiny bubu, wah, you are all prepared. i haven finish my basic shopping yet. Big milk bottles you bought? I am trying to look for big bpa free plastic std neck pigeon mlk bottles. I can't find anywhere.
. or am i looking for something which is not in the market.

Creamer, i tried to find out from friends. nobody actually went thru cord blood collection before. but my doc friend says shld b the gynae collecting, then pass it to the cordblood org pple. cos gynae wun let anybody in when your placenta is still inside you. but cos some mummies when pushing, they may defecate, so risk of contamination during collection is present.

Hi Jackie! Glad that your boy is finally back in good health. Wah, I also want a kid who won't cry when going to school. I used to be a complete nightmare, and I'm hoping karma won't catch up with me! I used to delay time at home, mum had to drag me out, then I'll walk super slowly, hoping to be so late that the doors will be locked, then when reach the door, will start crying, and wailing, and refusing to go in. And when I finally do, I'll make my mum wait for me for the whole 3 hours I was in school!

Mika, I forgot to add a couple more points (so bear with me hehe). 1 advantage of Cordlife is that they seem more advanced technologically, cos they got some closed system collection method using some Sepax machine that is supposed to reduce contamination. Think Stemcord method is the normal kind, where gynae use syringe to extract the cord blood, then transfer to the cryobag. But 1 advantage of Stemcord is that they store the cord blood in 2 separate buildings (Science Park 1 and 2), so just in case there's power failure or whatever, and 1 building is affected, u won't lose all your cord blood. Maybe since u know the advantages of Cordlife, u can call up Stemcord to ask them item by item how they match up? Then can make decision from there. But a bit subjective also lah, depends on what kind of sales person u kenna.

Oh, the Pigeon BPA free bottles, I thought I saw in Taka? At the usual upstairs baby dept. Or are those the wide necked ones? Those are the only ones I've seen anywhere. Some places don't even carry Pigeon BPA free bottles. Heard that Isetan have, but not sure what type of neck.

Mika Rei : I had this concern that I would be too heavy to do any shopping in my third trimester (which is now). Also, my man is constantly away on business trips so shopping duty was left up to me.

Are you planning to breastfeed your baby?I've read that if you would lik to breastfeed your baby, the best bottle to get is the Tommy Tippee one because the nipple on the bottle is exactly like mum's nipple.This is good because when you cant nurse him, you can feed him your breastmilk in the Tommy Tippee bottle.

So far i have bought milk bottles from 2 brands - Tommy Tippee, Dr Brown.

I am planning to buy a bottle called Adiri Natural Nurser from the shop - The First Few Years.

I have bought 1 bottle from each brand.This is because i will not know what brand my baby will be comfortable with.so it might be a waste if i get bottles from 1 brand and my baby refuses to drink anything out of that bottle.

tiny bubu, I got the whole tommee tippee set. Love it!
I like the bottle shapes, so cute! Oh, I also read somewhere that can consider Nuk, cos some pediatricians say Nuk teats won't cause nipple confusion. Not sure true or not.

morning mummies..wah a few of us on leave ah today. thought only mummies with schoolgoing kids would take leave since it's the school holidays. hehe
anyway enjoy whatever you have planned for today.

tiny bubu, call them and ask what time they'll be at your area. because they have a delivery plan and will know roughly by what time they'll reach your place. like mine in punggol is one of first few because nearest to ikea tampines. definitely beats waiting around endlessly for a delivery. usually im understanding that there needs to be a time range but all drivers plan their route so they can give you the closest estimate. hope this helps. (just realised it's almost 12 so not sure if this helps you?).

tiny bubu, i was reading somewhere that if you planning to feed baby FM/EBM and still BF, better to use spoon to feed the milk instead of bottle so they won't get confused with teat vs tit. but i still prepare some NUK bottles (because im told most babies take to their teats very easily) and thinking of asking the hospital for some bottles which i think are glass (since they throw after each feed anyway).

Mika, what i heard abt Combi is after 1 year, the parts will start to fall apart cos it's quite light. so no need to buy high-end model one. from my small circle of friends, no one has used their Combi beyond a year and bought a maclaren or something else which is more sturdy. yes no more 10% at taka, but you can check their distributor tai sing at arab street there to see if can get better price.

re maternity leave: some gynaes can issue you hospitalization leave ahead of your delivery so you don't need to take your maternity/annual/childcare leave there. im thinking of asking for 2 weeks before cos they said mummies who take a longer break before delivery get more relaxed and more likely to give birth natural without drugs. my office not the most compassionate despite being ang moh company but i think it's because most are single and not married (some even though they are like 30, 40+ yrs old!) or they already have kids who are big. other than me, can't imagine anyone else announcing they'd be pregnant so the HR not so adapt in handling pregnant mummies i guess.

Caramelle : Yay! Sofa just got delivered.Can go visit Dr Woodworth this afternoon.Must also remember to pop by Popular to get their photo album for the ultrasoundscans.

I totally forgot about hospitalisation leave.Thanks for reminding me!

Tubbymummy : I'll have a look at NUK later when i'm at Kiddy Palace.Usually it takes 1 hour to be able to see him so can spend my time browsing at KP.Hahaha.

ooh.. really? Gynae can issue hospitalization leave!!!??? OOH.. I need to ask my gynae at my next visit! Thanks, Caramelle!

Tubbymummy, thanx for the further insight. Yup, Cordlife hv some advance system of collecting cord blood that reduce contamination and wastage. Didn't realise it's the advantage of Cordlife until you mention it that Stemcord doesn't have this. Storing cord blood in 2 locations is quite good. But do you mean you pay for one price while they provide 2 storage space for you? Or they have 2 seperate buildings where different groups of people will have storage in different locations.

Oh, the Pigeon BPA free bottles are in the usual baby dept? I didn't manage to go up there to take a look. I was only at the square. Do you remember if you saw Medela std neck big bottles as well? I have not seen Medela bottles apart from the one that comes with the Medela pump that I bought.

Tinybubu &amp; Tubbymummy, yup, preventing nipple confusion is one of my concern. Heehee! Heard that Nuk teats are good too. Does Tommy Tippee sell teats only? I may want to buy Nuk or Tommy Tippee teats but use Medela or Pigeon BPA free bottles. Greedy hor, want to get the best of both worlds. I want to breastfeed and my pump uses std neck bottles. So am thinking of getting all std neck bottles so that i can attach them directly to the pump.

Caramelle, thanx for the info on Combi. Hmm... yes, combi's stroller is lighter than maclaren's. Maybe that's why it's not long lasting. I was thinking of combi cos if i go out alone with bb, i can operate the pram with one hand and carry the pram on my own while carrying bb in my other hand. I tried maclaren, i need to bend down to close the pram and it can't stand upright after closing. Then it's the weight problem, very heavy to carry. Like that i hv to prioritize, lightweight or long lasting. hmmm...! Yup, i went to Tai Sing before going to taka. Price at taka is slightly better w/o the free gift, and same as Tai Sing's with the free gift.

Re Maternity Leave:
I am those sort who likes to work all the way to when contraction starts. Ha! Save my leave. And then can skip the waiting game. Maybe I'll just take MC for a few days before edd so that if nothing happens during those days, my leave is not used up unnecessarily and I still get to have a few days rest.

tiny bubu, good for you! enjoy compass point! if you're looking for NUK bottles, robinson got bundle deal of 2 big and 2 small bottles for $34 with some extra items like sponge and toy iirc. so can also compare okay?

bbjun, no worries. i see in the May thread also some mummies refer to themselves being on HL. can either be hospitalization or home leave, but can't be maternity leave right? my next visit is early april, so those mummies seeing gynaes before that can check for us also..

Mika Rei : Tommy Tippee is sold at Mothercare and a few other places.You can call Mothercare to enquire before making a trip down there.
Why dont you also take hospitalisation leave?It sounds like a great idea.Then your AL will not be touched at all.MC only for a few days but hospitalisation leave can let you rest and enjoy the last few moments of total peace and uninterrupted sleep before the new baby comes.

Mika, can you believe i was at taka yest from 12noon to 9pm partly to decide on which light stroller to buy? parking fee was a nightmare, 2nd time in our lives paying $20plus! you see, i have a bugaboo cameleon which is super steady and safe but like a dinosaur, i cannot carry out on my own and i need to take the seat and frame apart before i can fold it (you may have see the gelite big one selling for $888 - it's an exact replica of the bugaboo i have). so i told hubby i'll get me a second light stroller so was deciding between the Combi Ricco (grey color one) and Aprica. in the end i bought Aprica because design nicer (hehe..yes i vain like that, it's brown in color and matches all my accessories
).

agree with you that maclaren is heavy (for the techno and XLR models which are the only ones suitable frm birth) so that's why i also didnt get it, but it folds much smaller than combi. decisions decisions! but my advice is to get one that serves your need now, then in one year's time can consider getting another one like maclaren or something.

Caramelle : I will ask Dr Woodworth this afternoon when I see him.My EDD is 09 June 09 so I'll check when he would advise my hospitalisation leave to start.

Any other questions you want me to check with him so at least we get a clearer picture?

tiny bubu, i think it's a gd idea too. i'll explore that. haha!! i see how many days of HL i'm entitled to in my contract first. then this fri go ask my gynae abt it. *winkz*

tubbymummy,
Wow, u really dislike gg to school ya kekeke.

Actually my boi also wail during the 1st week of attending childcare. Every morning is a nitemare, so much so that my hubby refuse to be the one to bring my boi into the childcare. HMPH MAN!!!

Lucky, my nitemare only last a week (which is a torture to me)

Re : Maternity leave
For my #1, i work till the day i deliver. So this time round, i will be doing the same thing. Cause i dont want to waste my ML sitting at home and going mad :p