(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

wow tubbymummy, you alrdy set up ur cot liao... which kinda mattress did u get?

now my room is in such a mess! ytd my hb brought back 2 strollers which his colleagues passed to him... so all chuck in our room... alrdy no space to walk liao, now become worse... yet my hb say he might wan to buy the capella or the loola bebe comfort stroller instead!

btw, wat's muslin squares? wat kinda towel or handkerchief is dat? can buy from where? audreyaw, u mentioned u bot it.. from where ar? is it the ones with different colours one?

jackie, glad dat they now know wat's wrong wif ur boy. with the medi, im sure he will be ok in no time.

wah blurmom, i din know eating durians will make bb grow very big... so far i had durians 3x le... oh oh...

hello babyethan, fat mom and T_Teo and Sharon!!
welcome to this big family!!

wah chidori, ur gal is big... my boy only 700+ at 25wks.
wat did u eat? i also to eat so dat bb will absorb more than me!

audreyaw, you feeling better? wat happened to ur stomach?

bbjun, take care, drink more water...weather been bad... my hb down with sore throat and cough... me also start to haf sore throat again... hopefully i wont haf that awful flu again, i hate the leaking feeling.

btw, wat's manuka honey? i sometimes add honey to oats leh...

wah LFB, ur siblings abit exaggerated leh, hold full month party at hotels... diao...really can faint sia.

<font color="0077aa">BabyEthan, it's a long list but many of the MTBs are not active on the thread any longer. You can check out the list when BlueDream posts it next. I don't know how she keeps track of us all. Haha

Tubbym~, I guess there isn't a Yami near your place right? Used to be one at Parkway, but no longer. Oh! The weather in the West today is absolutely gorgeous for sleeping in! I let Cassey into the room at 10+ in the morning and she was purring belly up as she snoozed with mummy til 1.30!! *Sorry working mums, today's my off day!*

Blurmom, the 4.3kg vaginal delivery is not me ah! It's a friend of mine.

bbjun, poor you.. I'd hate the weather if I were out... but staying in, I have to say it's lovely. I hope you get better soon. I'm feeling about 50% recovered after dr started me on course of antibiotics. Rested lots over the weekend too.

First Mum, actually, no. My sis is feeling a little scared. She feels really ill prepared, but a number of my friends have shared that you never feel ready until it happens and you just cope with it. My sis is a trooper though, so I'm sure she'll do fine.

>> I was surprised my obgyn's package is one of the most affordable too! Esp. the starting from 2nd consultation part.
I chose him cos was looking for a good Christian ob-gyn and at my current 40-50-strong workplace, a whooping FIVE colleagues have used him for their children!!

BabyEthan, I'm seeing Dr Gordan Tan @ Joy Clinic for Women. I recommended a friend 7 weeks behind me to see him... she lost her bb at wk 9, but really liked him and will go back to him for subsequent pregnancies. A client of hers asked why she had been MIA for weeks (after miscarriage)... turns out that client ALSO saw Gordon for her 2 children!! So I was expecting to meet others seeing him on this thread, but so far no one leh!

>>I was also concerned about Manuka Honey, but someone (I think it's Tubbym~) clarified that for pregnancy is ok, but not for young infants.

Welcome babyethan, fatmom, T_teo and sharon_limb

babyethan, manuka honey usually contains active ingredients, which is not safe for baby/infant's tummy, this is supposely to neutralize the stomach acid for us adults with gastric problems. My gynae said it's ok. Read somewhere that can't give it directly to bb, but since bb in the womb, the food will go through our digestion systems first. However, if you want to be safe, can just take normal honey (non-manuka or those with active ingredients)..

ahnetsan, manuka honey is a type of honey which supposely good for our digestion systems.. for more info on manuka honey http://manukahoney.com/

Cassey, how are you today ? My turn to be sick, was down with fever last Friday, caught flu &amp; cold I suppose, until now feeling very drowsy and having watery eyes too.. went to see gynae last Fri, he only gave mild medicine for runny nose which doesn't clear the nose but make me more drowsy instead.. sickness aside, my lil princess is 1.16kg at wk 27 *happy* but I put on 1.9kg since 6 wks ago..
about the honey thingy, I just took manuka honey ytd and this afternoon, diluted with water..

Welcome Sharon_limb!

Cassey, you took your off day on the right day and time! hahaha...

Ahnetsan, I bought the cot which comes with 3" latex mattress... I was told that Latex got holes and they are more breathable... However the uncle say, must look after baby also cos we cannot breath through the mattress for sometime what! He say latex is more "liang" then normal mattress...

Durians are fattening... Heehee

Baby kicks - Ladies, do you feel your baby getting stronger and more often now? My baby only likes to swim inside which causes wave on my belly. He seldom kicks unless his daddy beg him to kick... I wonder if this is normal!

<font color="0077aa">Blurmom, audrey, bbjun, creamer, most books say week 27 is start of 3rd Tri. Although I've a local-produced journal that puts it back to wk 29 or something, and one book says week 26 can also be considered entering into 3rd tri. I consider mine from 27 since several books, magazines and websites concur

Tubbym~, I wouldn't like to feel obliged to do it... but I guess maybe just view it as a time to show off your precious little bundle and your *hopefully* regained figure!?
Mum was going to organise one for me at her place after my confinement, but I told her if I do have one, I'd prefer it to be at my own home... prob a few weeks after the official first month ba. I see it just as an "open house" - with friends, brethren &amp; relatives dropping between a stipulated timing... say, 2pm &amp; 6pm? Then I cater finger food and just seat around. Haha...!

caramelle, that was a sad but funny dream - that no one woke u up until it was time to go home..! C-sec while you're ASLEEP some more... FOr Tubbym~'s sake, I wish that were possible. Kekeke....

Hello TTeo &amp; Sharon! Two more newbies to the club... Come on aboard!

ahnetsan, told you mine is an addiction liao. Manuka is a natural honey from New Zealand touted for its wonderful healing properties.

<font color="0077aa">Ling, I'm still unwell and producing lots of green muck from my nasal and oral cavities
But thankfully I'm sleeping better now that I'm not waking up coughing, choking and sputtering... So I'm nowhere near as miserable as the last week. EH!~ Why does my little guy seem so light huh?! Haha... prob cos my gynae just tracks measurements and gives me a weight estimate.

Blurmom, I've converted from FT to PT this year so I have Mondays and Fridays off... Very soon I'll have served my notice and can stop! YAY!!! But until then, trudge on, trudge on... *zzz...*

Cassey, did ask how do our gynae measure our baby? I forgot who ask this question and I told her that they est. the weight thru 3 measurements.

However, my gynae only measures the stomach and est. the weight now...

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">OPEN INVITATION TO ALL JUNE'09 MTBs!</font></font> <font color="aa00aa">(Non-working MTBs, do pls try to drop by, won't u?)

<font size="+1">WEST-SIDE MEET-UP THIS COMING FRIDAY</font>

Date: Friday, 13th March 2009
Time: 7pm &amp; after
Venue: Jurong Point (Boon Lay MRT) Further details T.B.A.

Attendees - Nozomi, Dovey, Jam75, Chidori, createjoy, caramelle, Cassey, *Ling, *Mika Rei, *Katelee
<font color="ff0000">Any cancellations or further confirmations, pls PM me!</font>

Kindly PM with positive RSVPs for contact# exchange in case I miss out on posts. Thanks!
~Organiser: Cassey</font>

wow ling, how did u manage to gain only 1.9kg over the 6wks?? dats very little leh. how did u do dat?? wow ur gal weight is so nice.

<font color="0077aa">Blurmom, I've answered this question before as well, and just mentioned to Tubbym~ yesterday or something... It's actually 4 measurements, although some websites do it only with Biparietal and Abdominal circumference. My gynae is more concerned with tracking progress on each measurement - those 2, plus head circumference and femur length. He doesn't seem to be hung up about getting actual estimate of bb's weight...

Based on website calculations with measurements from my last scan @ 27 wks 5 days, bb is a mere 1.015kg! He seems like quite a little guy.
And here hubby and I were - afraid we'd get a giant! Our families were all guessing I'd pop a 4+kg little sumo cos daddy and mummy are both large. Heehee... *phew*

<font color="0077aa">Ling, Oooo.. your anniversary is coming up really soon! RECOVER QUICK!!!
Remember to still drop by the gathering huh? Then you can go home after and continue celebrating

Feel like durian... but cannot or else get even more green muck

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan... green muck = my EEECKY GROSS DISGUSTING viscous thick green mucus and phlegm! Heehee...
NOT YAMI YOGURT LA! You think I'm talking in code again ah?! *chuckle*</font>

hahahahahhaaaa.....no, i was thinking of something else....heeheee

going to shower first, very warm, cannot tahan le...

Cassey, your boy is still within healthy weight

Tentatively I got chubby baby... Mine was 700++ grams @ week 24 day 2... I think I look pretty worried during the previous scan and I ask my gynae if I got Big baby. She says that my baby got longer legs hence he is slightly heavier.

During my 2nd visit of oscar scan, I was told that my baby have wide head circumference, smaller abdorminal and long legs. I really do hope that those are only ROUGH ESTIMATION! My gynae did advise me to be mentally prepared for e c-section if necessary!

Ling, so envious envious leh! I put on 3kgs within 3weeks... Hahaha... Horribly, I have put on 17kgs in total!

Bedroom dept: When should we stop this activity?

Cassey, Ling
Thanks... i was also concerned whether can take manuka honey safely becos of the medicinal effect. I know baby cannot take honey directly, so not sure if can take while we r pregnant. Think better play safte n drink normal honey.

Thinking of starting to take birdnest now. Anyone tried Lo Han Ka's?

Just had my nap, feeling so tired plus raining weather.

bbjun, i saw the guidebook saying 28 weeks is start of 3rd trimester. I am not sure also.

caramelle, guess they can't give us much in terms of medications as some meds will affect bb. if there is a need, get another day of mc bah.

wanted to ikea last weekend too but the thought of being the last few days of sales might encounter many people put me off. Is difficult to look after my tummy plus 2 running about kids.

I been dreaming daily since the super big snake night. Some random dreams, always wake up in the middle of the night and stare at ceiling before able to get back to sleep. Wish i could have a nice 8hrs un-interrupt sleep.

LFB, that's the disadvantage of having party at your own house. Lucky that time my mum was the one cleaning it and partly we put the buffet at the corridor so everyone sat there. But one thing for sure, the toilets are unbearable after all your guests gone.
But got to prepare yourself that you might not look like what you do before preggie. -.-

Welcome T-Teo &amp; Sharon Limb!

ahnetsan, that is the name i found on the packet. The material is like cloth nappy. Quite soft and thin. That day I bought it at mothercare as I got a birthday disc card from them. There are 2 colours in it, white and yellow.
No idea about my stomach, doc just give me some carbon compound to stop it.

Cassey, so 3rd trimester will be coming soon for me. Can't wait for the little fellow to come out. Somehow I am tired of waiting for that day to come lo.
Hi5 cassey. My gynae is also more concerned with tracking progress. Guess that's more impt? Hee..

<font color="0077aa">*narrows eyes at ahnetsan* You thinking of poo, is it?! It's nice and cool outside, but I also feel bit warm. Must get up every now and then to walk or else chair gets really warm.

Blurmom, we thank God he is a wee fella! SO FAR, anyway. I'm hoping to just "pop him out", especially cos I'm opting for NO-episiotomy unless absolutely necessary. Then I can fatten him up after that. Keke... Ooo.. he's kicking me now. He must like what mummy cooked for lunch.

You're welcome, bbEthan. My bird's nest, cooked or uncooked, are all supplied by mum. So, sorry! No help with Lo Han Ka's!

bbjun, hubby read a children's Bible book to bb yesterday. So sweet... Instead of getting excited like some MTB's bbs, the little guy quietened down once dad started. Until 5 min after dad finished, then he starting pounding in joy. Heehee! Dad means to start reading to bb every night but I can't help but wonder how long dad'll be able to sustain it for. *so bad!*</font>

Jackie,
Hope your boy is getting better
. fwah, u only gained 2 kgs since last visit? I've gained 3 to 4 kgs since last visit (4wks). i must control my appetite.. I realised after flipping through last yr's delivery with our gynae + this yr's..her prices had actually escalated by $500 (just for normal vaginal delivery)..it's $2-2.5k now..*faintz*

Re: Yami
was thinking to replenish my stocks this friday during the meetup. hehehe

<font color="0077aa">Blurmom, not sure if you saw my post yest morning. If no low-lying placenta/incompetent cervix/other probs, can still continue bedroom exploits, but obgyn said try to keep it for later in the term (after wk 34) in case of premature labour and advises against deep penetration. *creamer hear already feel sian.

audrey, whoa you are SO on the ball. Can't wait for him to come OUT already?! I'm still wanting to enjoy more of pregnancy first... although on bad days, I think OH NO! Bump's still gonna get bigger!! Books say we are less in deep sleep these days, that's why we can remember dreams. I hope you have sweet dreams in the nights to come! And stare at ceiling with a smile on your face.

ahnetsan, don't know if this will help, but like cotton/spandex/nylon, muslin is quite simply a thin, netted looking type of material. It isn't a product or something.

nozomi, WHOA! Your gynae's inflation rate is way more advanced than the rest of the world. That's terrible!! Yay! We can both go and get Yami on Fri!</font>

bbEthan,
I've tried Lo Han Ka's last rd..ermm..it tasted more like concentrated agar agar to me (very dry)..comes with both sweetened/unsweetened. even the sweetened ones, is actually tasteless to me wo + must consumed w/i a month (or few wks? can't recall) after opening. i still prefer those home-made birdnest with the rock sugars..yummy. though LHK's claimed to have no preservatives..hmm..but i still think there must be some..i've not taken any birdnest for this rd yet.

<font color="0077aa">Signing off for now... sit in front of comp too long get backache. I'm going to go lie down, eat ice-cream and read.

ahnetsan, after a most wondrous ZERO-kg nett weight gain in first 2 tri's, going into last tri, I put on 2.2kgs at last obgyn visit!!
NO WONDER LA! Must be my Yami addiction! Not Yami per se.. but u see, when I'm at home and there's no Yami, I eat ice-cream instead. *oops*

Hmm.. wonder where sweethalo &amp; Tubbym~ are today... YOO HOO!! Did you 2 go off to shop at Taka or something?!</font>

nozomi, i oso find dat my wt gain is super fast recently leh...i m onli having 3 meals dun realli hv extra meal all days juz occasionali...dunno y it increase so fast!! now dun dare to step on my weight scale!

Jackie,
yesh..$500! last yr was $1.5-$2k for normal vaginal delivery..after reading through the rest of the mummies gynae delivery charges, i went to check through it.. was it far off from your past delivery charges? hmm..wonder y our gynae has no antenatal packages like the rest?

Sorry ladies, my friend had just invited me to join her breastfeeding workshop on fri so i gotta skip our fri gathering,have just PM cassey. Hope u gals have fun!

Full mth-i intend to give cakes to close elderly relative and also org a buffet for relatives &amp; close friends along my house corridor. wanna intro my little boy to them mah.hmm i'm not so looking forward for the big labour day for him to come out soon. i'm enjoying this honeymoon period without being very heavy, without constant demand feeds &amp; needs frm bb and yet feel him playing inside me...

i'm sort of worried about the lifestyle changes, the sexual relationship w hb and the big mental &amp; financial responsibility wn the little one comes along.esp in this economy crisis &amp; i'm not working (worry cant find job later). though this was a planned preg, in fact a very much wanted preg still feeling abit fear &amp; lost...

Tubbym can mms me ur mobile toy pic? i'm interested too.. but i dont have tangs card, wonder if i go tangs easy to find pple lend me their card or not...

Nozomi, so much?! omg, got to ask my hubby where he kept the gynae charges. I don't even know how much i am paying him at the end of pregnancy.

Cassey, cause i looking forward of stop working! i can hardly wake up in the morning nowadays even though I sleep early. I've been staring on my bump, hoping it won't grow too big or else i will have a hard time getting them back in shape. Haha..
Ahh.. been having weird dreams, nothing sweet. I even dream of quarrelling with my hubby last night. -.-

jam75, eating too much carbo stuffs or sweet stuffs?

haha... no cassey, i wasnt thinking abt poo...
btw, wat's episiotomy?

wah blurmom, your bedroom activity is still going on?? envy envy...

audreyaw, shiok right, the nap?

nozomi, replenishing yami?? u usually buy in tubs??

well, at least you all only gain a few kg, i alrdy gained abt 3kg in jus one month!! diao... every month go gynae, must ask the nurse to shhh abt my weight... they seem to like to announce the kg on the scale... i hear liao always tell them to shhh leh, dun so loud leh...

createjoy, me and hb also haf this worry... esp for me, cos im nt wrking.. worried abt cannot find job next time...

cassey,
perhaps i should also indulge more on yami too. My last pint(boysenberry) is almost to the rock bottom.

jam75,
keeping our fingers crossed that our bb are absorbing all the weight.

hmmm, i still dunno wats muslin squares leh?
where can i get them? mayb i go to shop den find and den will know wat's dat.

ya lor ahnetsan... i'm just an office girl now tons roaming round... episiotomy is a cut at the vaginal to enable smooth delivery esp wn vaginal small or bb too big ganna stuck. the cut is better than a tear cos if it tear on it's own from the force of bb coming out may be harder to recvr cos it's not a neat wound and may affect bladder if it tear all the way down. haha i explain in very layman terms from what i digested forgotten how it was written in books.

audreyaw i opp leh keke love to see my tummy growing bigger, got satisfaction that bb is growing mah haha.. but i dont have full view mirror so i can hardly admired my bump except when i'm outside staring at reflections at undergrd mrt and mirrors haha

ahnetsan,
*in guilt* yes..i bought in pints..last rd was 2 pints. oops..as i've to go all the way there, so i would grab more..

audreyaw,
yup..after realising the charges of other gynaes, i want to faintz.

audrey, hmm carbo like bread &amp; rice dat i do eat everyday leh! but i dun take alot leh juz normal meal! so wonder how to slow down my wt incrase!

nozomi, hmm looking myself in mirror wat i can say is i cfm i gain more rather than bb lo is v obvious leh!

still dare to complain 3kg gain in 4 wks haha, nozomi, u gotta thanks cassey they all for starting the temptation :p ok lah, u still look normal size frame to me not plump yet dun worry, still pretty mama!

jam75, i also eat a lot carbo, rice la, noodles la, bread la...
den during the last visit, i see my weight gain i super sad liao... asked gynae hw to stop it from gaining too much...he told me to cut down on carbo food...

so now, i try to eat only bread when i wake up... i dun eat rice or noodles at dinner...
the weird thing is i only eat 3 meals, sometimes only 2 meals... also dunno y the weight gain is too....

gynae also say besides eating too much carbo food, mayb it's due to water retention, dats y the weight is there cos of water.

hello ladies, its nice and cool outside. just woke up from a v restful nap!

cassey,
im sure ur sis will do fine. as long as the mother's there for the baby, it's in gd hands!

abt ur package, its the 1st time i heard where vits are included! cool.

caramelle,
it so exciting to do up the baby's room eh? i went to ikea to order curtains on fri too and had some mental images of how the nursery will look like eventually. so envious ur nursery can accomodate a sofa, wish my room was that big, im now wondering where i shd BF cos my bed is rather uncomfy for bf. ur hubby is SWEET
and yes the kids at ikea are a bratty bunch!!

ahnetsan,
muslin squares just the angmoh name for nappy cloths la.

my appetite growing smaller, last few days eat too full will puke. i know shd eat freq small meals but i fd it ma fan and not economy leh so i still having my 2 full meals with 1 serving fruit in btw. hardly snack cos i'm not hungry.

ahnetsan,
my wt gain is also super depressing loh. im a carbo fanatic, so i eat alot of rice, noodles, pasta and potatoes! and gynae commented why my wt gain is always more rapid than it shd be!

talking abt green bean soup, dat day i bot one from downstairs coffeeshop... first, it wasnt the normal nice ones, thk they add dunno wat inside, taste weird one...second, my hb scolded me when i told him i had dat... and i only had one. haiz....

asked my mum to cook for me, she say cannot eat, cos too liang... haiz.... like dat how? u tell me.
it's not as if i eat everyday right? why cannot? gynae say i can eat anything wor.

haha firstmum, same, carbo freak... esp potatoes, i can eat alot of dat man...

hmm, dunno leh, it doesnt taste like sago or coconut...

wah, canned tuna only once a wk...die liao la, i alrdy had 2 over the 2 days, spread it on bread. and i finished it by myself.

1 rice bowl once a week ok. dont tk big bowl lah and dont eat alot of the beans. i tk about 3 tbsp bean with the water=1 rice bowl. max 1.5 bowl. it's ok one lah now 2nd trim already not like initial stage. dun forget 3rd trim we tk green coconut nt liang meh? also liang wat just tk moderately and dun crash lah dont today drink green bean then tk big glass barley also. somemore i read about green bean help water retention in a chinese preg book in library.

ahnetsan, so wat u take f yr dinner then?? cos f b/f usually is bread f mi lo...lunch usualli take noodles &amp; dinner cos i eat at my mom hse so usalli rice...my mom oso comments i put on so much ask mi cannot eat supper....juz eat normal 3 meal will do....but frankly speaking i eat as normal i dun purposely eat alot cos pregnant leh...but the wt gain is super depressing....tinking if i m those hv supper wan tink my wt gain will b double or triple liow!

yeah yeah potato i love it too... nozomi i have been thinking of baked potato since that day we ate. i bought too, thinking of mking this week hoho. ahnetsan once a while overdose ok one lah. but high mercury &amp; canned food no good keep it 1 a week better.