(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi all mummy

I've popped same date as Porky, so suprised and didnt saw her in e hospital =p

My baby weight 3.5kg - c section, pls update.

Thanks, baby may ,graceofgod for sharing the angbao amt.

I pray my CL will be good. My hubby and i sort of regret not taking the confinement lady from TMC who's well trained (by Parent craft) in taking care of newborn . But my mum has booked the CL during the beginning of my 2nd trimester and given the deposit liao.

Shers, you've really got good yield! Do u eat alot of fish ? I jia lat, i cant stand the smell of fish, hence dun know if there's any other replacement to produce BM.

baby may, no le.. me and cola and rest of 4 more mums pop on 30th april..

star, i eat fish every meal.. i prefer steamed fish.. and soup every meal too..

there is another way of increasing supply.. green papaya with fish.. but that soup is super fishy smell.. i dont like though sweet..

babymay, my msn is [email protected]

Wow, shers, that's a lot of milk
Mine slowly coming in but definitely more than #1
On the average, each pump at 3 hrs interval only about 120ml but I thank God for this amount.

Yup, the papapya soup is super duper fishy but I dont see how it helps with my supply. not much of a difference. Fish everday? I am concerned with the amount of mercury content in fish also leh... my friend, a doctor told me to eat fish moderately cos research has found mercury causing autism in children. Don't know how true this is.

Star, I heard soup and a lot of fluid help as well. Try that. What about cooking fish in other styles like grilled or panfried. it wont be that fishy.

yvette- i'm also experiencing irregular contractions.. Can't sit up coz pelvic will be painful.. So prob gonna induce earlier than expected. Will be delivering at gleneagles as well.. Pm me ur contact... Jus in case me decides tt enough is enough.. grgr..

Babymay- my msn contact is [email protected]

grace, all fish contain mercury or certain fish only??

#1, i had fish every meal also.. my mum and mil insist i have fish and soup every meal to boost up milk supply..

i didnt eat alot of rice... the big bowl of soup every meal made me so full already..

before pumping, drink lots of longan water.. then wait for ard 5mins.. u will feel that breasts have tingling feeling.. more milk is coming!!

Baby May,
Is ok to feed FM from hospital for a day or 2 to stock up ur EBM which I did initially.

Yes, I only latch her during day & EBM only night. I told my CL if is milk time just bring the bb to me. My 1st CL (whom I hv fired) kept saying bb is hungry whenever he cries. I am so pissed with that.. Hahah. My current CL I never heard she said my bb is hungry when he cries. Hahahah, she will check on him 1st & check at the time before determine if he really wants milk.

As my boy is still having jaundice, I hv stop all BM for him but still expressing out. Will resume latching maybe twice a day soon. I hope with introducing of FM for the past 4 days will bring his jaundice level down

Grace,
Yeh sometime felt so guilty especially if she has done something pissing (guess she is trying to get my attention) & I scolded her. Anyway, she has been a very nice jie jie & she will wait for me to finish expressing BM before heading to sleep with me. (Sometime can be quite late)

As I donot have a maid, she is still very clingy to me. Day time she has school (playgroup), & MIL is also around to spend time with her

wow 915, 54cm very long leh...my boy only 46cm short like his daddy...hahaha

graceofgod, thanks for ur encouragement ! i will jia you to pump more for my boy...40ml is not enough for him...i feel so lousy...

grace, ya our boy share the same birthday !

just had a nice phone chat with Jamie. hope she will pop soon and join our club !

haiz, my bb likes to doze off after 10min... juz now she refused to wake up to continue her feed

porky, very good to pump out 40ml with avent pump
jia you and hope ur milk ss will come soon.

re: immunisation
baby_may n shers, thanks... we will go for 5in1 then.. anyway, good to check on bb's progress at 1 mth -- wonder whether she put on weight.. coz i dunno how much she is drinking due to direct latch on...

porky, i enquired abt the price @ PD(kidslink) -- 5in1 is $110 per jab, 6in1 is $145 per jab. my fren brought her bb for 5in1 @ polyclinic -- $90 per jab.

re: milk ss
for the past 2 weeks, i hv fish and soup everyday -- usually steamed fish(cod, threadfin) or salmon soup. also, started to drink similac mum's milk 1-2 times a day. dunno if my milk flow is gd, so far bb still feed on 1 B each time... waiting for her appetite to grow (or when she can stay awake longer!)

re: latch on
sometimes my bb gets impatient when she din latch on correctly.. so now i hold her neck and let her "find" her way to best fit
m still trying to find the best position -- will hv backaches if she sucks longer than 15 min...

my mil just commented that she did not think I will have much milk. as compared to her other daughter in law... I just replied that by feeding formula, it may cause my milk supply to come slow also... I am trying very hard liao... my hubby and her not very supportive...

i try to latch on 5-6 times a day (15 - 30 mins each) and feed ff 60 ml each for 6 times a day... will try to pump and check supply...

pump more painful than latch... although I am having sore nipples on and off...

this morning baby cried, mil ask me to let her suckle... i say wait...she hint for formula feed... why cant just wait for me to have some rest. my last latch was less than 1 hr away... loh...while formula was fed just an hr ago as well..

me still doing housework... sianz... cant expect mil to help all... she does wash all clothes and bath baby... also help care for baby at nite...

sigh... wish I did not have c-sect... prob... may be able to do more than wat i can do now...

last time I suggest buy diaper rash cream... she say dun need...yest doc suggest to apply... then she try to apply... this morning... my girl got slight rash liao...

Ugh, just venting.... I am frustrated...

shers, maybe that's why your milk supply so power!!

Grace,
Any kind fluid to recommend to increase the intake? Do you know if we can drink coffee if we are breast feeding? I have been yearning for a great cuppa of coffee!

Melody,
understand how u feel .both my mum and MIL are not very pro BF, cos they go for FM during their time -they give up after their milk supply didnt come in for 1 day (lack of info from hospital and nurses back then) .

Will u be able to leave the hsework to your hubby when he returns from work at night? You shd have as much rest as possible else will get severe backache next time. Vent out whatever you have, dun bottle it in you .

Shers, wow, really envy you. 320ml in one pumping session? How long do you pump? You are only one day ahead of me and your supply is so much. I realised that my supply is the highest during the morning first pump at only about 120ml today. Then subsequent pump can be only 60ml 0r even 40ml.

thanks star,
my mil & mum also never bf... so they never understand... yet got so much comments...

we as children also cannot be rude...

Melody, my MIL was initially pro breastfeeding. But just now she told me, can stop after one month since baby don't want to latch as she afraid baby will go hungry. I told her I will give as long as I can.

Baby may, don't give up! I'm also trying very very hard... I realised that milk is much more after a few hours of sleep.. Maybe you should try to sleep more, maybe it will help!

hello ladies..

i already popped on 10 May 2009 around 5plus am emergency c section wit ligation-GA at TMC.

BB name :Aaron Tan
BB :3.455 KG
Length :48CM
BB got :Jaundice

porky,
ur CL realli good!
i only managed to pump out 1x35ml, 1x40ml, 2x20ml. today keep latching, hope can increase supply.

shers/ cheyanne/ star,
i added u to my msn.

adv,
try putting pillow on ur lap for bb to lie on, if u dun hv bfg pillow. also, make sure u got good support for ur back.

sallen,

babymay- thanks but me not gonna induce today.. feels better le.. i hope it wun turn into regular contractions though.. lol.. coz i still dun want her to come out so early..

sallen- congrats...

Bean, thanks for your encouragement. I won't give up. Actually past few days I sleep through the night. Was feeling slightly better this morning and intend to wake up during the night to pump. But while I was taking a nap just now, I feel cold in the aircon room. First time, cause I have been perspiring even in aircon room last few days. Don't know whether I am falling sick due to the heaty food that I take.

I just delivered on 08 May at NUH, naturally with epidural.
Nigel Yang, 2.668kg, 49cm.
He's drinking 60ml now, every 2 to 3 hours. Latching on and off but mostly express breastmilk. So far pumping about 120ml per time every 3 hrs.
http://www.joanna-shawn.blogspot.com/

Any PD to recomend at Sengkang Area ?

babymay, wat is ur msn ? or u add me ?

melody, why u say pump more painful ? u using wat pump ? i use avent manual pump...not painful...but my hands very suan...my hb say help me pump tonight...hahahaha

juju, wow ur supply also good...we work hard together ya

sallen, congrats ! thot ur c-sec is scheduled on 11th may ? ur boy wan to come out earlier..hehe

joanna, our bb share the same birthday ! my boy also drinking 60ml..but today he took 70ml already...i see the PD dr allyson tan at sengkang rivervale mall, The Kids Clinic

bean, really sleep will have more supply ? i have been sleeping a lot leh...

Just got back from Isetan Private Sales....Crazy me right? Can be due anytime and yet chiong the sales. Anyway, hope that the walking will get baby to come out sooner.

Went to buy Thomas n Friends Set for my GAL!! Can you imagine? My #1 is getting very tombish. She has been playing with legos and train sets recently...Grr..

Re: BF
Sleep is definitely one of the factors that help to increase BM supply. I still believe the fish soup and religious pumping and latching will help to improve supply. The older generation are generally less pro-bf. Can you imagine that for my #1, i had so much BM that my entire freezer was filled with EBM and my MIL could still ask: Baby is hungry issit? Not enough BM for her to drink arh?? I was like...Duh???Cant you see my SUPPLY??

Baby may, take care not to stress yourself up! My girl is drinking like 110ml every 2 hours. I'm pumping like 120ml every 3 hours. Everytime pump also not enough for her to drink! hahaha. So I don't bother to pump also, I just latch up in the day recently. hee

Porky,
Yeh, for me after a nap, I get more milk like 140ml instead of the usual 120ml.

Agree , Melody, we try not to be rude. Just keep silent and let them express their own opinion . But at times, i really cannot tahan, i wil walk away.

Congrats sallen and joanna!

Joanna,

Didnt see you post for so long, thought you may have popped! Happy for u that baby nigel is delivered near full term

I'm currently 37 wks now. EDD is 30 May. Been a silent reader all this while. So far, baby's weight is 3.1 kg during the last checkup on monday. Cant wait for him to come. I will be delivering in Mount Alvernia.

Pls add me to the list. Thanks!

aiyo...i very angry with my mil leh !!! she always go to carry my boy anytime she likes...sometimes is not feeding time yet...when she see my boy awake and playing in the cot...she will go carry him up...then keep asking my CL is it feeding time already...but is only less than 2 hrs loh...my CL also blur when she keep asking her is it feeding time...just now i catch my mil doing it again...i am so angry..then i ask her, why u always carry bb up ??? then she say cos bb is crying...but i never heard him cry at all loh...my bb sleeping beside my room only...haiz...must "feedback" to my hb tonight...