(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Joyce,
Noted with thanks

oki:
you can refer to the EBM storage guide to accumulate EBM of different timing to make a big bag..

then, can maximize the bag qty!

oki and shers - you are doing well in bf supply.

i went down to parentcraft yest coz milk ss is really slow in coming in. realised my milk ducts are blocked up. bb has bn lazy to suckle properly after we intro bottle feeding to supplement bf. so was taught to cup feed bb. hope my milk ss will inc nw dat the blockages are cleared somewat.

mummies- i need some help here.. Can someone pls send a list of things tt i should get for bb's arrival... Nt tt i didnt get any.. Bt dun wana miss out anything.. Coz am thinking of getting them today.. Pls send me the list ok?? Thanks a lot....

To: [email protected]

shers - i didn't use playtex liners though i had a pkt of them fr a fren. they are not the ziplock bag type so i gave them away. you nid to buy clips from ikea to tie them up. but i tink they are cheaper than those ziplock type of storage bags.

oki - a tip on milk storage, you might wan to store the milk bags flat so dat you can stock them more easily in the freezer.

Feb mum,
Noted with thanks. Just ordered online for the blue egg milk bags. Hope it will comes in handy bah.. Btw, have u used avent milk bag before ? I have 2 boxes given by my friend & wonders it is good ?

Oki:

I used to use Avent milk bag.. the hassle is that you will nid to use something to fasten/seal the bag! then, have to stand in the freezer till frozen then can let it lay down flat!

Oki:

Basically, what I did last time is, put the milk pump out at different timing to stand in the lower compartment of the fridge (in bottle) till end of day.. when they are in the fridge, they will be of the same temperature, then transfer combine them all into a milk bag, & put them in the freezer!

Not sure if it's clear to u!

Joyce,
Bingo got it. Just collect all the milk at the lower compartment & pour into the bag before heading to the freezer. Right ?

Joyce,
GUess will only do that if his milk intake increase current he drinks ard 90ml to 100ml. Unless I thraw it and split them up again

Hi Okipoki,

Avent liners are the same as Playtex liners. You top up the liners with ebm, use an ikea clip to clip it across, lie it flat on a plastic container. When it freezes, can remove the clip and keep it in to box or ziplocked bag in the freezer. More troublesome but cost saving.

Joyce,
Yeh noted on that, can split the milk for diff time feeding. Cos EBM only meant for night feeding as day I will latch him.

I bought the Avent manual pump. Do we need to sterilise the pump first before using or just wash clean will do?

Cos i'm not sure if all the parts of the pump can be sterilise or not?

hello ladies..

congrates.. xue,juju,moon and sk..

(paisei if i miss out any other mummies there)

heehee so many of them already popped.. make me gettin more n more excited lo..

Oki:
can.. in the fridge is 48hr, cannot more than tt. Meaning, if you take out the amt to feed, leave the balance in the fridge for the most 48 hr only..

I usually bring down frozen milk to thaw in the fridge only.

twinklesp, i think all the parts can be sterilise..i also remove all parts and dump everything inside my pigeon rapid steriliser..

I'm back! Sorry I've been MIA-ing cos life had been hectic handling 2 kids @ home. Biangz!

Well, in the end, I landed with a c-sec on 22-Apr and gave birth to my baby girl weighing 2.685kg.
It was a last minute decision to c-sec cos baby weigh didn't gained after 1 week --- still est. 2.3kg. So in the end, I gave in to c-sec. Sigh!

Luckily this time round, recovery was faster. I can walk and squat now

RE: Maternity Loop Pads
I think you need to have the white color string ... go through the front loop on the pad from 1 side, then to the back loop and tie around your tummy around, like wearing a belt.

Congrates Kerene.. what ever the method of birth, as long as bb is healthy & doing well, it's good enuf, right?

You can always try a different method the next time!

Hi mummies ...

Congrats to all new mummies

Been busy with baby n my feet swollen after gave birth. Any mummies got exp like that? Or maybe I put on drip too much

Hi Mummies, what are the signs that baby is already engaged? I am experiencing more BH and today, the thighs and abdomen area felt painful too (like sore)... but I don't feel that baby has dropped with the lower tummy or that I am breathign easier...

Tinkle,
Actually u wont know but according to my gynae, the baby will only engaged during labour itself. But there are other gynaes saying that it can be engaged early.

RE: Maternity Loop Pads
Think you'll be better off just getting the normal overnite ones. At least not bulky and more comfortable!

joyce..oops, i thot it was c-section. i guess induction would take abt the same or longer than normal birth.

oki & thinkle..my 1st was engaged very early (think in wk 37wk) but he din come till 40wk+1day. so i guess being engaged doesnt really mean much.

hi tinklemum,
my doc said my baby is engaged already after feeling thearea below the tummy and looking at the ultrasound. but didnt say when i will deliver. u can also see that your tummy has dropped . i noticed it when i see extra cloth between my chest and the tummy area and also by looking into the mirror. my edd is 15 may. i have taken maternity leave to relax at home and am wondering when i will go into labor ;p

Lily, i think u are having lot of water retention that y feet still swollen... did u drink the red date drink?? did u get malay massage?

Re. maternity loop pads
usually the nurses will ask u to stack 2 pads, one top of the other n just wear it.. dun need any string.

Porky: Huh?! Wah he dare to scold another patient's hb in front of another patient? So unprofessional. Not surprising considering him...

Anyway I gave birth 2 May via emergency c-section cos baby's head big and the cord was in a knot. He said baby did a somersault.

My anaesthetist was better than own gynae, more reassuring and comforting. Plus tactful and professional.

Baby's name: Arielle Eden Yong Rou En
Weight: 3.69kg
Length: 50cm
Head cir.: 33cm
Delivered via: emergency c-section with epidural
Date: 2 May'2009
Baby #: 1

Going to hospital to see Baby Arielle now, she's not discharged yet due to jaundice.

Chat later mummies...

Abby,
Congrats !! Ur bb head 33cm needs c-sect ? My bb head is 35cm my gynae also allow me to deliver naturally. It could be the cord was in a knot that he suggested for csect ?

Tml am bringing my boy to see PD cos his jaudice dont seem to go away.. already day 12 liao.

Congrats Abby! Arielle has a good weight- 3.69kg

oki poki,
dun worry, am sure your boy's jaundice will clear up very soon.

Star,
Thanks, he stayed in the discharge last week for 2 days for the phototheraphy. Hopefully he wont be staying another round.

Ling Lim,
I did but u see the recent weather don seem good leh. Then I see him still abit yellowish and tml going back for review.

okipoki, ya quite true morning weather not good. i olways try to suntan him b4 10am...
my mum went to chinese med shop n bgt 'huang qi' n sew 5pcs into a braclet n place under his pillow.. got a saying this will help..