(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Ling:
Actually engorgement can happen anytime as long as our breast is too full and not clear fast enough.. or sometimes we over 'stimulate' them, ie, they over produce!

That's why I do not encourage new mummies to express b4 1st month.. let the supply comes with bb's demand!

audrey - hang in there. you are not the only one. i've been crying too. it's stressful being a first-time mum. but if so many mothers have made it, so will we. when you get disheartened, just look back at the progress that you have made so far.

oki, i am still waiting... my bb still dun want to come out, so today went pig out with muffintop.

i was still thinking what if these 2 39wk+ and 40wk+ preggies suddenly go into labour on the street...heheh

joyce, if engorged, dun pump out... i get the fever easily... so no choice...
i oso dun understand how come will get engorged coz if i pump one side only 80ml leh... not much

Ling:

now have to pump out le... no choice.. u try to use warm towel & massage, it will ease.. if in time for bb's feed, just latch..

Watch ur temperature..dun let it become Mastitis..

joyce, im monitoring.. so far, everytime fever, if i manage to sweat.. then it will go off.. so shld be fine..

if i express the milk out, can i leave it in room temp?

Xue,
Congrats!!! Cant wait to hear ur birth story

Okipoki,
I had catered from Lexin also, variety not bad, foods are also cooked wi fresh ingredients.. Had also tried Neo Garden but won't recommend it, coz it was under Neo Garden's subsidiary and not really under Neo Gdn.. the foods not appetizing and ingredients even worse.. maybe u can order trial meals (3 days trial i think) for some caterers in mind, before u decide which one to engage

fireflies,
what's ur bb's head circumference? mine was also very big.. 34cm at 34 week..

re: breast engorgement
agree wi joyce, dun let it turn to mastitis.. clear ur breasts totally after each feed.. i had very sore breasts and hardened like stone while i bf my elder boy coz i din manage to clear all, so i went to TMC parentcraft for mrs wong to clear the blocked ducts for me.. so painful till i teared!

dodo
mine 36 cm at 36 wks... doc initially wanted me to do c sec but i insisted on natural so she sent me for pelvic xray. turns out my pelvic range bigger than most women so she agreed to let me go for natural but must induce cause she scared baby head outgrow my pelvic allowance.
You and hubby's head big? My head and hubby's considered big so genetics :/ i hope i don't tear too much... sigh
somemore doc said usually head circumference at full term is only 32cm... make me even sadder... sigh

Hi mummies ....

Now then have time to log in, yesterday discharged.

Tinkles Mum,
can update for me ... My princess name is Rachel Teo
Today register her already.

Congrats to all who popped up

SK,
how r u?

fireflies,
i think our bb's head size similar... my 1st born had head circumference of 37cm when borned at week38+.. so i have big head bbies!

actually my hubby's head very small, mine average i think but my face big!
gal, all the best to ur trial for natural labour! hope will be a smooth and success one! i had emer c-sect for my #1, so i cant have induce labour this time round coz the wound may tear.. will seek my gynae's opinion again on my next visit.. so i guess mine is either waiting for the pop day or scheduled c-sect... take care gal, dun worry much! cheer up k!

okipoki- thanks for the info.. coz am afraid tt Dr Cheng might over-estimate like my first...
and he recommended me to deliver at Mt A instead of Gleneagles instead coz.. if bb gotta go in NICU.. its very ex in glen e... sigh...

aft discussion with daddy.. he still want me to deliver at gleneagles..

feeling tad vexed over low amniotic fluid.. sigh... and he's giving me till 19th may.. (max) to induce bb out........argrgr..

anyone still around? believe it or not, i'm totally wide awake after 1.5hr sleep. *sigh..think sleep is not coming easy these days. very irritating as i know i'll be very tired tom for work.

and outta the blue hv craving for instant noodle with egg.. hehe..

liewb,
me jus goin to bed...
instant noodles wif egg... yum! maybe dat will be breakie in the morning or watever time i wake up!

juju...i feel so guilty whenever i hv instant noodle. but it's one of those things that i sometimes cant live without. just had a couple slices of bread and milk, let's hope that'll keep baby happy for a bit. nite nite.

hey girls, reporting live from tmc. cant slp.. bt luckily i'll be discharge tmr.

so far bfing is gng quite well.
jia you to those who haven deliver & those bfing.!!

sorry to interrupt..

I have the following for sale or exchange with Huggies Barcode:

1 x 700g Similac Mum Voucher (for $5 OFF), Expiry 30th June 2009 -- Valid at Cold Storage, Shop n Save & Guardian.
*Selling at $2 including postage*

1 x 900g Similac Follow-On Formula Voucher(for $3 OFF), Expiry 30th June 2009 -- Valid at Cold Storage, Shop n Save & Guardian.
*Selling at $1 including postage*

1 x Enfapro A+ Voucher (for $5 OFF), Expiry 1st July 2009 -- Valid at Cold Storage, Giant, Shop n Save, Guardian & Market Place outlets.
*Selling at $3 including postage*

1 tin of 400g Enfapro A+, Expiry Aug 2010
*Selling at $12, self-pick up*

Pls PM or email me [email protected]

Adrienne,
Don't feel vexed as it will affect your ger
I thot Mt A is closer to your home. Anyway, if u have choosen GlenE then go ahead.

I thot u would want your ger to be out early? By 19 u shld be ard week 38 juz hope everything is well. Suppose henry is not trying to put u at risk. Thus, would suggest for induced. Take it positively

Dodo,
Thanks mayb shld give lexin a try after my confinement
your son also has big head. My boy is 35cm during birth and me too tear abit. Am having hard time to push him out!

morn morn...another rainy day, how nice! miss my instant noodle with egg, i've totally forgotten abt it until a few mins ago. think i'll just hv that for dinner now. :p

congrats to all the mommies who hv pop! am going to gyne this fri, hopefully she'll tell me baby is engage.

good morning ladies

oki, thanks, will call choz to check when to place order

shers, oh, so avent pump will leave a mark... i thot i was pumping too hard!

bean, if i press halfway, the milk dun suck out leh...

anyway, so far, i can only managed to hand pump a few drops of milk after each feed... maybe my supply not that much yet... m still feeding one B at a time -- coz bb dozed off after 15-20 mins...

adrienne, hope things worked out fine and wish u a smooth delivery of a healthy princess!

fireflies, the pain and tears will be worth it thousand times when u see ur princess

xue, good to hear that u r doing good!

Adv sports, i didnt taste all from choz. my hb and me tot its good to give some traditional thing.. so we only taste the following:
- Fruit Tart
- Ang Ku Kueh
- G/Rice
- red eggs
- marble cake

so far everything is quite nice except for red eggs which tastes the same to me.. hahhaa.. anyway if i were to order, i will order 'ésctasy of growth' $15plus..

for those who r bfging and pumping, how much yield u getting??

adrienne, dont worry abt inducing.. u will be fine! just get yrself ready to receive yr little one.. join us in the moo moo club soon ya?

xue, good to hear that u r doing fine. join us soon in this super hot weather confinement! hehhee..

915 and muffintop, dont worry.. just enjoy to pig out more.. after that u ladies will join us in the moo moo club and super nasty hot weather!

i'm still very lazy to pump out.. so i will only pump 2 times per day.. the rest of the day, i will just latch and latch...

good morning mummies !

latest update. SK has popped on 5th May 10.17pm at TMC. her baby ger is 3.22kg length 48cm. congrats to SK !!!

oki..wow, tat's very good vol!! when was ur baby born again??

joyce..actually i think it's the msg that i'm craving, terrible right? hahaha...

gratz all mummy who hv popped!

I'm almost 39 weeks ..getting a little impatient, cnt sleep every night!

Hate this waiting game ..=/

oki, wow, u hv very good vol!

SK, congrats! welcome to moo moo club :p

shers, my hubby also wanna get the traditioanl items like ang ku kuehs, egg n g/rice... anyway, we plan to order "wonders of life" for colleagues and "Tic Tac Toe" for relatives/friends

re: confinement food
can i eat egg, chicken, cake/bread? any chinese herb to avoid if i m breastfeeding?

Congratulations to all the mothers who have delivered their babies and best wishes to those who are still waiting.
I am now 39 week 4 days preg and eagerly waiting to see my little prince.
I am an Indian national and Singapore PR and would like to request some help from you. I am quiet eager to try out some confinement soups that Mrs Wong ( TMC parent craft) suggested but I am not sure where I can get the ingredients. Can you ladies please guide me where I can get raw papaya for the fish soup and also dried longons and dates for the tea. Also she suggested that the soups should be boiled for >2 hrs so do you boil the soups on the stove top or do you have any special appliance for the same..

Any mummy keen in getting Avent Duo breast pump. My set still under warranty till Sept 09. Can 1-1 exchage the motor to new 1 if you buy before the warranty expiry.My set is still working very well. So do PM me for details if keen.

adv sports,
i have checked with a few old pple , they suggested to stay away from chicken including Brand's chicken essence after you give birth for the first 2 weeks so that your stitches (be it natural or C section ) will heal faster. Some people may get pus after consuming chicken so may be best to avoid first.

i_luv_baby,
you can get the papaya from almost any market and dried longan and dates from almost and chinese medical hall. Tell them it's for you to drink during confinement. you can boil the longan and dates in a big pot over the stove. After you have boiled it, pour it into vacuum flask to keep warm throughout the day. Try to boil in the morning daily and dun leave it overnight.

liewb,
i do take instant noodles once a while. usu when i'm alone at home & lazy to go out. so add eggs to console myself got nutrition lor.

xue,
good to hear dat u r managing well. jia you!

SK,

oki,
wow! good volume leh! hope i can achieve as much as yours.

Thanks for the information Star..
I did not see the papaya at NTUC, will I get it in wet markets? I am staying in Yio Chu Kang.. any suggestions where I can get it near YCK?

Congrates to SK!

i_luv_baby:
You can ask the NTUC staff.. they do not have green papaya everyday I think!

Last time I got from NTUC in Khatib.. if it's not too far from where u stay. Else u can try the AMK market near Ave 4/6

Thanks Joyce
My maid will usually get the groceries and veggies from Khatib.. I will ask her to check for the raw papaya next time..going to AMK wet market is too inconvenient from my house.. have you seen the papaya at AMK hub NTUC?

i_luv_baby,

you may want to call the ntuc amk hub at 6453 2521 to chk before you go down . Since they are Fair price Extra, they should carry more of everything.

afternoon all mummies...

congrats sk....

been having menstrual cramps last night...gosh...hope it is not a sign...

din slp much at all...

oki..u really got alot of milk...u my idol to look forward too...

those expressing milk...what breast pump are you using? I would like to give expressing another try. My #1 i latch all the time even till now. But i don't have quality time with hubby for 1 year! poor him.

BTW, I am very flat chested. and expressing last time yields insignificant amt of milk. I used a lousy electric pump i believe. =P

Haha ladies, dont be mistaken when I say both it means both Bs amt add together

Hardwork from moi, diligently wake up at night to pump and latch during day. Ask my CL to boil papaya with fish bone soup tho' I dont quite like the taste. Drink plenty of water to replenish fluid.

Am very determine to bf cos it wasnt successful for #1. I am like everyone here, 40ml my max and if time are good will be 120ml (so far only once - 7hrs later). So during that period managed to bf my ger for 2mths with FM in between.

I think breastpump do play a part, I used medela mini electric where my milk slowly depleted especially after my engorgement. Also, I seldom latch on cos my #1 then was super impatient & stresses from mum/inlaw to feed FM.

So with #2, I know what I want to achieve and ignore those unfavour advises and of cos my hubby also supported me

Justme,
I am using Ameda but I think flat chested not an issue lah ;p My friend also managed to TBF her son for 9mths

Justme:
I switched to Ameda for #1 at 2mths, after stopped direct BFG her... managed to last till 6mths.
#2, used the same brand.. he direct/indirect feed till 22mths!

My yield for both kids never exceed 180ml for both Bs!