(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Audrey:

I was worried for you!

You may however, try letting ur girl sleep on her tummy..

for bfg, at least let her latch 15mins each side.. instead of only 5mins, this will help to boost ur milk supply..

Pls dun cry...this will affect your emotions..my mil said confinement cannot cry..

Take care.. just call me if u nid help (dun worry abt bothering me or not).. I'm still waiting for bb to come.

Feb-mum,
Yeh alot of hardwork actually
Btw, noted there are 2 types of blue egg so which to get ? Haha I am like 1st time mum all over again cos I didnt get to bf #1.

So Audrey, jia you but pls dont stress yourself cos it might affect ur supply. I am like you when having #1. Take it easy....

Joyce > Exactly, very strange dream I had.

Audrey > We need to be brave. Agree that it's not easy to build up the rapport and perserverace needed for bf. I be joining you soon. Let's jia you k!

my bb "overslept"... juz finished feeding her
and she poo after the feed! while changing diaper, she wet the bedsheets n bed *faint* haiz, next time must remember use the changing mat!

re: manual vs electric pump
joyce, bean, shers, thanks for sharing... hmm, think i dunno how to use the pump properly... will try again later...

bean, i tried pumping for 10min -- but the suction become stronger with each pump and too painful for me to tahan

shers, does the avent pump leave a mark(from suction cup) on ur breast after use?

re: after confinement
oki, great that ur MIL will be ard to help u
i will be home alone after confinement... will see how i can cope with bb alone...

audrey, let's jia you on BF! take care and rest more!

SK, wish u a smooth delivery tonite
and that's a funny dream -- u tell us whether it is true after u delivered

audrey...hang in there. believe it or not, we've all been there or abt to be there..hahaha. things will get better, bf is at best a struggle for most of us at the beginning.

hello mummies

quite a gross questions but just wanna cross check whether anyone spat out phelgm with blood towards the end of your pregnancy... My MIL cooked some chicken soup and added gao li shen in it without me knowing ... so now dunno whether its too heaty or something else.... already sent my phelgm for lab test but quite worried.... :/

Adv-sport,
I am sure u can do it fine cos my #1 after CL left I stayed at my mum's place for 2 weeks. After which I moved home and I managed the bb all by myself. So no issue cos most of the time they are either sleeping or drinking. But most imptly before ur CL leave, pls ask her to guide you how to bathe ur bb and let u try as well.

fireflies...nope, but sounds scary. hope ur lab test comes back ok. apart from that, you're fine right?

oki & adv sports...speaking of bathing baby reminds me of my first experience. i only did it the first time when my boy was 9mths old. and it din went well. after tat, both baby & mommy were traumatised!! :s

Hi audrey,

I was in the same shoes as you after my CL left. I had to carry my #1 in the MIM sling all the time because she was so used to our carrying and cuddling during the 1st month. End up, she cried wherever she goes unless i cradled her. My mum had to order an electric sarong for me so that i could have some rest. Worst thing was, my MIL kept asking me why my gal was crying non-stop? What's wrong with her? I got so stress that i did not want to go to my in laws place at times. It did not help also when my hubby was the hands off type.

My advice to you is: Dun cradle baby in the sling all the time. While baby does not like the cot for the time being, just let her cry out for a while to adjust. If not, she will have a harder time adjusting in the future. My #1 had this cold turkey treatment also.

With regards to bf, if you do not have time to boil fish soup everyday, have more hot milo to aid in milk supply. I managed to tbf my #1 for 8 months before i was switched to partial cos i was too lazy. In ur case, i guess it is the insufficient rest and rocky emotion that is preventing the bm supply from increasing. Remember: Happy Mummy = Happy Baby = More supply!! Thats my logic.

You can msn me as well to chat as i am currently on leave already. Clearing my work from home now.

Audrey... sorry to hear about your stress. Cheer up yah, you have alot of support here.

Can't help you with any advice but will pray for a smooth time soon k...

Take care gal!

adv sport - no worries abt coping with bb alone after CL left. hard to believe but bb will settle into a routine by the end of 1st mth so it will definitely be more manageable. i ordered tingkat lunch prev so dat i dun hv to worry abt cooking and can spend the time taking care of bb.

firefly - i didn't hv bloody phelgm but i had bloody nose dirt! ;p i read somewhere dat it's due to the increase in blood flow in our body dat's causing such prob. things will normalise after you give birth.

Febmum,
SO is it necessary to get the one with thermal ?

Poohwei,
Same case as u, #1 sleeps in the yaolan with urge request from both MIL & mum. But I realised they get addicted if we stop swing, sure cry out loud. So hubby bought the electric one too.

Hi oki,

If you are freezing milk, i would encourage u to use the cheap n good playtex liners. Think 1 box of 140 pieces which can hold 8 oz only cost $14. Very cheap n economical. When i had #1, i was so silly to buy the medela ones which cost me $25 for 20 pieces. But you need to use ikea clips to clip them cos they are not the ziplocked types milk bag.

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2792434

Can get at overseas bp or post under WTB section i think.

oki - personally, i tink not necc. juz get the basic version will do. wat i look out for is ziplock bag type, any brand will do. rem to fill only 3/4 full if freezing or else it will break.

on tingkat, i ordered from lexin. they are one of the few who hv single portion meals and pricing is reasonable. no msg too. you can chk out their website: http://www.lexin.com.sg/

re yaolan - i'm quite against it though i know the older generation wld prefer dat bb sleep in them. i juz dun wan them to get used to being rocked to sleep. some bb want dat even when they are outside so it can be very diff and tiring.

Hi Everyone

I am trying to post sth while #2 is sleeping and #1 is napping.

Shers
Like you I am also very lazy to pump kekeke.. my bb dunno how to suck milk bottle, so far i have been feeding him water thru spoon... He has jaundice and we are currently renting the home phototheraphy equipment, hope it clears aways, saw PD this morning, he said to extend the rent for another 3 days.. haiz seeing him again on Fri, hope by Fri the jaundice level goes down.

Who else popped? nowadays no one update the table liao since xue has popped

oki, feb_mum, thanks for the assurance
will be challenging but defintely will survive!

liewb, oh dear, maybe u can try to learn how bath bb earlier this time?

i watched my mum bath bb everyday -- know how to do it... but will get gan cheong if she cries... anyway, will try before my mum goes back to my sis' place after my confinement...

feb_mum, thanks for the link of tingkat... will be useful when i m too tired to cook

firefly, hope test turns up ok... meanwhile, take cooling stuff -- drink coconut juice

rc_cola, hope keagan's jaundice level will go down soon!

okipoki- i wanna ask u sthting.. Wen dr cheng guaged ur bb's weight.. Did he come out heavier or lighter as calculated?

Sigh.. Me just went to gynae. Bb did gain 500 g but.. Fluid low. Nw.. He is giving me 1 week to monitor.. If fluid very low next week.. Then gotta induce out.. I'm like.. Zzzz

oki, i got my blue egg from bp '1stopgift'.. i got the thermal type.. luckily i standby that coz i didnt expect to express out.. whahhaa.. but i need to top up more..

audrey, u will be fine!!! we shall continue to sms each other ok?

cola, i'm also lazy to pump but seems that my supply comes in very quickly and better than last time.. ended up i got engorgement.. got to ask my massage lady to unblock for me..

so now, i will latch on demand.. and whenever i feel my breasts r bursting, i express out.. i can yield ard 200ml after latching on.. for me, i think its good already... so these ebm, will let #1 drink while #2 continue to latch.. hehhee

adv, ya.. the avent pump will leave a mark on breasts but will go off after awhile.. i think u feel pain because yrs breasts r too sore?? i will feel relieve after pumping.. of course sometimes nipples will get struck.. whahhaa..

cola, my gal didnt have janudice when discharged but back home, my mama and cl commented that she has.. so every morning, she had suntanned.. and today she started her herb showering.. not sure what is that call..

shers, juz to check -- when u tasted the choz full month package, which items r nice?
- Fruit Tart
- Ang Ku Kueh
- G/Rice
- Heart-Shaped Cake
- Chocolate Tart
- Swiss Roll
- Mini Cake
- Sandwich Cake
- Cream Puff
- Candy

Shers,
Ohh I know which webby liao. Btw, today is my 2nd day of massage
Not bad .. tummy flatten abit and no more 5mths preggy. Hahaha

oki, thanks, will choose G/Rice as one of the items
do u know how many days in advance do i hv to place order?

haha, my nieces came to visit me over the weekend and asked me if i hv another baby in my tummy *haha* i haven't start massage yet -- still recovering from stitch wound as i din take any pain killer...

Adrienne,
That day he "measured" 3.3kg but came out 3.53kg. But for #1 he is quite zun leh.

If fluid low also no choice, I am sure he has done his best. U know his style, he wont push for anything cos he is super pro-natural

Feb mum, thanks for the link
Very useful leh..

Adv-sport, I think 3 to 5 days bah.. I cant remember
If I am not mistaken, their webby did indicate if not u might want to call them up.

I am suppose to start the massage last week which I wanted but apparently all fully scheduled. Wanted to flatten my tummy ASAP, dont want to leave it "hanging". Haha

oki, wat massage u using? Can provide details?

I'm still not ready to pop, even tho there's show today.... Waiting....

Audrey, if u r reading this, hope u r feeling better! Nt all of us are natural with handling our bb so dun allow yourself to b depressed ok! Try to relax. U have come so far

Adv sports,
Actually I think you shouldn't feel painful when expressing. Maybe you try again, you try not to press the handle down fully, press halfway, the suction should still be there and maybe will lessen your pain.

HI mummies,

when the baby is engaged, does it mean i 'll go into labor soon?

Can anyone advise how long after chidlbirth must we start the massage so that it will be effective?

Audrey,
Hang on for your baby! With your positive nature, am sure your supply will increase over the coming weeks

okipoki, shers, joyce,
thanks.. i tot must go wake baby up for milk.. :p

aiya.. been suffering fr engorgement these few days!! argh.. fever again today.. lucky today massage lady come n help me massage... been pumping the engorged side instead of latching coz pain..

Ling Lim,
U must massage ur Bs before u pump especially on those lumps. Is good to latch frequently and pump out the excess. I am trying very hard to direct my boy to the correct way of latching. He very smart, knows how to correct his way to my n** - very painful

liewb / feb_mum / adv_sports:

thanks for your reply. besides the bloody phelgm nothing much but its still quite scary since its not traces of blood but erm like a lot of it.
Am in my 36th week, will be inducing next week due to baby's bigger head circumference... sigh...

okipoki, dun noe y engorgement now leh.. tot usually engorgement is 1st wk? anyway, the massage lady asked me to pump out first until the engorgement is ok then latch..

adv,
so long ah? i alrdy got my final bill for dat hospitalisation one.
if u do go kk, wld u mind asking for an interim bill from the business office? if inconvenient, then never mind. :)

day-c,

audrey,
jia you! dun feel sad & cry. try to think of happy things!

Gd evening ladies! Juz got home after dinner at ILs..

Muffintop, surprised to see ur post...u r still ard?? i tot u will be standing by in hospital after the clinic visit?

btw, i really like that sea salt ice-cream

Ling Lim,
Not really, last time I got engorgement at Day 10. So is actually anytime one...it was an awful feeling being engorged