(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Porky > Din opt leh. Was put to 4-bedded as chosen by Dr Adrian but will be auto-upgraded to 2-bedded loh. I hope I wont get to share room with a "noisy" patient. *Pray*

Yes, C-sec tomorrow. Hopefully to see my gal before 11pm tmr.

Oh btw mummies, baby 1st month is calculated by the lunar calender yah? To go by 1 month after baby is born hor? Cos thought it's by the ang moh calender. And celebration can be done either on actual day or before yah?

sk,
All the best to your c-sect tmr..

Full mth is based on lunar calendar.. can be earlier, no later.. but some pple dun care lah.. unless u have elderly who will gossip!

porky,
yes, will inform when pop! hopefully, she dun nid to be induced.

icyen / xue / tan liping,

poohwei,
shiok leh! 5 coconuts & 4 boxes of durians!
i have to abstain from durians liao! but still taking coconuts when possible!

shers,
ur gal look so chubby & sexy - angelina jolie in the making!
ur #1 so cute! kiss & sayang meimei!

adv,
u around???
can ask how much is the interim bill for kkh A1 ward after including delivery charges???

Joyce > Thanks much for your advice. Cos if I go by the western calender then I cant do a full 28days confinement liao. now that you have corrected me, thanks yah.

Time to snooze, a bright new day tomorrow. Nitey mummies~!

Morning mummies!! rainy day today...

Joyce, thanks for the advice. i din know we can pre-warm the EBM n leave in room temp for up to 4 hrs! My boy tends to sleep for 5-6hrs at nite w/o asking for milk leh..is this normal ar? do we need to wake him up to drink? sorry.. first time mummy.. asking so many qns..

SK, if urs is a boy, usually pple do on the actual day else earlier.

Oh i didn't know EBM can keep? My CL go and throw away quite a lot!! HEART PAIN. So that means after the baby drink and cannot finish, what do we do? put back into the warmer? If no warmer then how?

morn ladies..so good to hear so many babies have arrived! i'm still in the waiting game and so far, totally no sign. will be 38wks in a few days and i'm starting to get restless.

wonder if i shld take early ML and just stay home and brood.

liewb- wahahha.. Be patient... Dun take ml so early.. Coz time crawls when ya at home..
and u'll end up wanting to induce bb out early. A few of us are in the waiting game too..

Ling Lim,
You shld be glad that he didn't wake up frequently. No need to wake him up, if he is hungry he will cry. Am envy! Hahah!

This morning my boy cry non stop from 430am to 7am and I pity my new CL.

adrienne..*sigh..i know. i think the lack of sleep last nite is making me grumpy. must hv woken up every hr. think i'll hv to eat more to change my current disposition..hahaha.

okipoki..does ur baby sleeps with cl in a separate room?? this time i'm also getting a cl lady and i'm still thinking abt the sleeping arrangement. i cant bear to be apart from baby, so i think i'll sleep with both baby & cl lady. prob is sleeping with a stranger in the same room is a bit weird..

Ling/Bean:
Unfinished milk nid to keep in the warmer (elect warmer).. the warmer will self heat up the milk.. else, nid to stand the milk in hot water & change the hot water when it turns cold..

Ling:
Think it's normal to sleep thru at such early stage, but, his pattern may change, so dun be caught surprise if he suddenly wake & want to drink milk!

Liewb,
Yes, my CL sleeps with my bb in another room. I want to have more rest during these 28 days cos I know in months to come I will have more & longer sleepless night
After my CL leave, I will move in the sleep with my bb cos more convenient for feeding.

halo mummies!!!

i'm latching on my bb while reading n posting.

had engorgement!! pain until buay tahan.. i didnt pump out just keep on latching on.. mayb i shld start 2 b hardworking 2 pump out remaining after each latch..

yes, my #2 looks exactly like #1 when bb time..

glene also restricts 1 visitor at a time. young kids not advisable.. thats y my gal visited me once only..

ling, my gal also can dont wake up for milk. i just carried her up n latch coz too pain liao.

liewb, 1st nite i let my gal slps with cl but when come to feeding, cl came in n pass bb to me. then 2nd nite, i told her to ley bb slp with me. easier. just roll over to latch on. somemore weather v bad. i let bb slps in air con room with us.

morning mummies !

sk, good luck to ur c-sec tonight. u will see ur little ger very soon

liewb, i am also in the waiting game...37weeks already...seems like still long wait..haha...i have not take ML yet..but request mc from gynae to rest at home...dont feel like gg to work..btw, i also engage CL..will put BB sleep with CL for the 1st month then after that will shift bb cot to my room

okipoki & shers...last time i slept with baby and my aunt slept in a separate room. end up i was very tired coz i was doing all the nappy change, bf and bedsheet change at nite. so tiring. think really cant hv the perfect solution. either i sleep with both baby & cl lady or i dun.

I am so tired of waiting...2 more days to due date. I am actually starting to feel, i will forever be pregnant.

Joyce,
I put on the same weight for #1 and #2 so far...whopping 18kg like you...some more me pear shaped. feel like a hippo all the time...can't wait to shed all the weight!! and ladies, BF as much long as you can...it really helps to lose those extra weight...GRADUALLY...=)

Porky,
Yeh fired the old one, this new one is recommended by my x CL who did my #1. As of yesterday evening she seem better

JustMe:
my #1, I only put on 12kg, #2 - increased to 18kg, current one.. now 38wk+3days, already put on 18kg..

I used different slimming method after each birth, so not slim down due to bfg.. as I think when bfg, we cannot reduce our food intake.. so, I slim down after stopped bfg!

porky...me 37wk 6days, really counting the days now. still working but seriously, i'm very lazy now..ahhaha..so tis few days doing handover. maybe i'll take it easy next wk and just work 1/2 wk.

joyce...u're right. it's not really possible to cut down on food when bf. i was hungry all the time!! told my hubby i want a personal trainer after this preggy. :p

Liewb,
I will prefer to let bb sleep with CL. CL is feeding my bb with EBM, my previous CL actually knock on my door when time to feed bb when I don't hv enough EBM.

liewb:
I'm also feeling lazy at work..closing period.. but I leave everything to my temp & coll to settle...and give them advice if needed.

I'm counting if contractions happens.. seems not regular yet!

good morning ladies

waiting for bb to wake up for her next feed --... m latching her on demand feeding...

ju, i hv yet to received my bill from KKH -- not even for my 2 full dress rehearsals...

re: EBM
any mum tried manual pump and electric pump? my avent pump is too painful to continuous pump -- nto sure whether i use it correctly... yesterday asked hubby to go KKH to borrow an electric pump to try -- erhm, he forgot abt it after registering our bb birth cert *faint*

oki, wah, lucky u can get a new CL... anyway, hv a good rest! will ur in-law be helping u after ur confinement?

my mum is doing confinement for me... she said beri relax coz no need to sterilize milk bottle, no need to feed baby... she juz need to cook, bath bb, wash bb's clothes and look after bb in between feeds

Adv_sports:

I tried Manual Avent Pump, can't tahan the tireness in hand .. switch to elec pump.. very good & continue for long bfg journey for #2.. Alternatively, you can try going to Momsinmind to loan the ameda lactaline set to try!

Adv,
I tried both manual and eletric. I think the suction of the manual pump is better leh! The electric one quite slow. I think its cuz the milk is not yet established. Supply not strong yet.
There is SOME pain when using the manual pump, but after a while its okie. Its my hand that is pain! not the breast. haha
How long do you pump on the manual?

have delivered on 1st May via natural birth no epi, used gas.

my EDD was 28 April so baby was late. quite long labour

30 April 11 15pm - cramps every few hrs since morning. water burst while sleeping

1 May -
admitted to hosp for observation. no dilation.
ard 5am or 6am
- Cramps started every 1min or 10min like dat. by noon, still no dilation. quite upset coz no dilation after for so long decided go for walk tho still have contractions every minute and then took gas.

2pm - 3pm - VE check shows dilation 4cm

5.58pm - baby born! minimal tears, few stitches then done

Baby v alert

Home on 3rd May

Woo hoo...so excited to see my gal tonight.

Will be sleeping with my mum and bb. Haha. Kinda sandwiched in between them.

Thanks Ling for the advice on the full month matter.

Porky > Thanks for ya well wishes. Will update on my story soon.

So sad to know that only 1 visitor is allowed for visit in hospitals. Still need to wear mask for some cases.

I had a dream last night. Was admitted to a 4-bedded ward and saw 3 other mummies who had just delivered (while waiting for my turn to come). 2 of them via V birth and 1 via C sec. Dunno why I got this dream. The 2 mummies with normal delivery had bare their naked but inflammed V (with anti-flam cream applied) hanging their butts to air-dry. Then the mummy with C-sec also exposed belly with covered "wound" to air. What a weird dream.

adv_sports,

i have 2 pumps.. avent manual and ameda elec.. today i just used avent manal pump coz ameda spoilt.. hb just send for servicing for me..

avent manual though tiring.. but i found that it can empty all the milk.. ameda elec though fast but doesnt seem to empty all.. so #1 time, i used ameda elec and finished with avent manual..

this time, i latch on and express out the remaining using avent manual.. intend to use ameda ele when i go back work

Shers,
COngrats once again
Shermay is soooo chubby and I like the 2nd pics so cute
Yes, I do realised that Shermay resembles her jiejie Shermin hor..

Btw, would like to check with you where did u get the blue egg milk bag. Hope I got it right.

congrats to xue, shers and day-c!

my milk ss seemed to be slow in coming in this time round though i was on tbf since gal was born. nw hv to supplement with fm after i've latched her coz she's reali hungry. sigh. hope my milk ss comes quickly.

joyce - tks.

oki - i got my blue egg milk bags from bp. you can oso check out the overseas spree though dat may entail a bit of waiting.

Shers, Liewb, Porky & Advsport,

One word to describe that CL is "LAZY", always complaint that she doesnt have enough sleep & naps in the afternoon. Then fed Ashton with FM without my knowledge & best is meant for 6mths above (Stage 2).

Initially, wanted to get back my #1 CL but she is taking care of her grandson. So, she recommended her friend who just return after an assignment. Lucky she is available & her next assignment is end June. But, I have a language barrier with her cos she doesnt speak mandarin only hokkien. My hokkien is less than half pail.... haha

Anyway, MIL is ard from 8am to 4pm who can translate for me. Then night time I still have hubby ard.

Adv-sport,
Yes, my MIL will be taking care both my kids but of cos I am ard too. In term of cooking, guess have to make do with it cos MIL cooking sucks. Hahaha...

Joyce & Feb-mum,
Thanks cos all my glass bottles are almost used up for storage.

hi everyone i'm carryiny baby andrea in the MIM sling..

she doesn't like to be put in the cot/bed.. must carry all the time..

hb spoil her.. carry her non stop.. now my turn..

bf issues:
i didn't manage to latch on for first 3 days cos she was sent straight to special care.. she was on cup feed n bottle feed on S26 formula..

but i've been latching her on for 5 mins each side when she cries for milk.. i latch her while hb is preparing her FM..

so while he's feeding her, i will pump out watever i have.. so far yesterday and today i only managed to get 10ml from both sides..

pathetic but i'm still trying.. at least see something.. better than nothing..

sorry haven't been here posting..

crying every nite when hb comes back from work even though my mum is here to help..

i feel so unsafe if i'm alone with bb.. but slowly i'm understanding her and when she smiles at me, i can cry..

thank u all for ur support ok.. bf is not easy and mentally physically emotionally very challenging for #1 mum like me.. but not going to give up!!

miss u all!!

porky,
ur bag arriving this week
ur bb's pampers also with me.

hi audrey,
hang in there! dun stress. it's not ez as first time mum. someone once said there is no return policy for bb and worse, they dun come with an instruction manual! so often, we juz trial and error and do wat works best for our bb. bf can be draining but dun give up. try pumping at regular intervals, say 3hrly to stimulate dd. jia you!