(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

re: breastfeeding
maybe i'm a bad example, but i come to the conclusion that breastfeeding is just part of motherhood. i should not be stressed out by it and i should be able to enjoy my time with my baby. bonding with a relaxed mummy through other means is better then bonding with a stressed out breastfeeding mummy. (i actually cried and requested the nurse to push my baby away on the 3rd day at hospital because i just could keep up with the baby's demands.)

re: c-sect gynae
my gynae, prof biswas from nuh, is very good at c-sect. i think he had performed a 5th c-sect for one mother.

Gd morning ladies!

Congrats AK and welcome back!
I beeped u last wed, tot of visiting u since i was @ NUH that day..dunno if u recieved

Anyway thanks for the contact, and i'm still waiting for my turn to pop....

Dun be stressed on breastfeeding, i remembered i couldn't keep up with my #1's feeding in the 1st 2 weeks too, then my fren asked me to keep pumping, the milk will come gushing in, which it did after 2 weeks for me. if really stressed, then FM might be the next better option..which is what i am going to do if this time my milk cannot match her intake. juz my 2 cents' worth

muffintop,
Not feeding but pumping (12am ~ 7am). Usually if u see me posting at weird hour means I am pumping. Night feed will be EBM fed by my CL. I will latch during the day and pump out the excess as much as possible

Ak,
I am like u when having #1 and with #2 I try to take it easy. For the 1st 2 nights, I fed my boy with the FM samples from Mt A so that I can store more

Re; Breastfeeding

Mummies who are bf...must remember..If you are stress or tired...BM will not come in readily..So rest well and allow your family members/ CL to feed some FM (a few feeds for the first one week is fine) so that BM will come it more readily..n in great abundance. STRESS = NO BM in my opinion. Jia you!!!

Last nite, i went ti NTUC to buy 5 coconuts!! plus 4 boxes of durians! Finished 1 coconut and 1 box of durian with my hubby last nite after #1 fell asleep. So shiok!! Will be going for my 37th week visit at the gynae later...

Yeh agreed with Poohwei, is ok to feed FM for the 1st few days
and of cos sleep more which I did.

Haha I just had a few durians last night

Re: Breastfeeding

I gave 1 FM on the last feed at nite at abt 11 or 12. Usually baby will sleep very well after tat and I get abt 3-4hrs of rest. And I really like those little bottles of FM they have at the hospital, I dunno why they dun sell it outside.

Hi Okipoki,

Wow...confinement still can eat durian arh?? Tot confinement food already so heaty..plus durian...woooo...

Re: Weather
The weather this morning is so shiok...So cooling. Hopefully by the time i deliver, the weather is as good too!

Hi AK, it's ok...

anyway i think last wed was a bad time, coz NUH started the swine flu check...there were many ppl..very chaotic.

I am seeing prof wong coz prof biswas not available when i booked.

meanwhile u eat well and rest well and take good care of urself!

Muffintop, i'm still right here waiting with u...
apparently this time the mac donald meal din work for #2,i asked her to come out yesterday but she din...i guess she is not as glutton as her big sister..

maybe i will go out shopping and eat that cedele eggless ice-cream later to cut the waiting time.

Poohwei,
Can but I didn't eat a lot juz a few seeds. My CL said can leh

Arghh am sooooooooo thirsty now and my darn super duper slow CL haven't get my tea ready.

Hahah counting down liao hor
I remembered I had curry fishhead for dinner before I popped and a can of coke before arriving the hospital. Hahaha

Xue has given birth to her boy this morning. Received her SMS at abt 630am.

I am going to bring BB for check up.... if hv time will visit her at her ward.

Adv_sports:

You are doing a great job. But, if you feel engorged for the other breast b4 feed, use warm towel to massage 1st b4 latch.. or express out a little to relieve engorgement.

Oh goodness Xue, so happy for her. Mum and son are fine.

Firefly > do send my regards to her if u see her at the ward k. Thanks!

Such a fine day and how I hope for more of these days to come for my confinement.

congrats Xue!

Oki, so the curry does help to trigger labour?

Ashton really looks like chloe...very big eyes..like you! and u sure got lots of EBM ...

915, wanna go out together to eat the ice cream? tomorrow?

i insomia,only slept 2 hours last night, so dun think can drag my heavy butt out today, summo got two con calls today later in the afternoon. But i want to start RELAXING!

Adv sports,
Yes, my baby is like yours too, when i latch her on, she drinks super fast for a while then she starts to sleep. I would touch her ear lodes gently, this wakes her up a bit and she starts to suck again.
I realised that when I swaddle her and breastfeed she falls asleep easily. So sometimes I don't swaddle her when I feed her. It does help a bit.
Normally i would pump out all the excess milk after latching on.
But sometimes when I pump out, the milk don't seems to flow out easily, its like the breast is still alittle full but no milk comes out. So I wait a while, then I think abt my baby being hungry, suddenly the milk flows out! Its very amazing and I'm so trying all sorts of ways to breastfeed better! Its like everyday is a new discovery!

so good,..so many mummies have popped...I am already 39 weeks, 3 days and still no sign apart from strong braxton hicks which is not consistent...so tired of waiting...

How to see whether there are block ducts? When I pressed the nipples, they milk can come out, but when I pump.. nothing leh.. but I still feel my breast a bit full, though not as full as before pumping.. Not sure whether anyone like me?

oh one more question!
Should I pump the milk out the moment it starts to drip drip drip? Like now! I just pumped out at around 930am. Now its not yet 2 hours

Congrats Xue!! And yes, finally your turn

Haha I dont think so but thats my craving. #1 also hv this stronge craving for certain food & I delivered te next few days

JustMe, i am experiencing the same as u..now already 39wks+2days and lots of inconsistent Braxton Hicks...

even my CL is getting kancheong..she juz called me to see if i have given birth....

Bean, i remembered for #1 when my milk starts to drip means bb wants milk...somehow dunno why got connection one...like the breast can 'hear'

halo mummies, finally got the time to login..

discharged yesterday but super no time to login because got to brief CL, settle down on the super hot weather and of course play with #1..

tinkles mum, my gal is 51cm weighing at 3.12kg..

what else do i need to update?

my c-sect timing is scheduled at 1pm and was back in ward at 3pm. pretty fast. and this time not as nervous and scared as 1st time. hehhee.. nurses and doctors inside OT kept cracking jokes with me. maybe trying to make me relax..

me also not as slpy as 1st time.. managed to talk alot with visitors and hb.

my gal came to visit me at nite with my mama.. before she stepped into the room, i heard 'mummy.. mummy' my eyes were teared..

then when she saw me, she got a shocked. i was lying in bed with drip. then she said 'mummy, pain pain.. poke poke..'

when she saw meimei, she was smiling away and kept asking my mama to carry meimei so that she can see clearer. then what surprised me was she kissed and said 'sayang meimei'

sweeten me.. melted away all the pain.. hahhaa

anyway the giving of present was abit screwed up by my hb.. he passed the present to #1 and said meimei gave u present..

then when i asked who gave u present, she replied to say daddy.. *fainted*

i didnt BF the very moment because i was on drip and worried abt drug passing down to my gal.. asked for FM to be given. luckily my gal was given 2 times of FM only.. and i changed to TBF. till now, i'm still on TBF. had very bad engorgement yesterday.

asked my massage lady to come down and unblock for me.. so now my breasts depends on how well my gal latches..

and my gal takes my breasts as pacificer!!!

i have a question here..

if i dont wan to express out, all i need to do is to latch on demand right??

but my breasts will never feel soft.. always full but not hard le.. will this cause blockage of milk duct??

your due date also 7 may?
like joyce, my braxton hicks is very strong at times and i am going mad liao...really hoping the pain gets progressive so i know the time has come...

shers,

yes, feed on demand is better.. anytime if u feel too full, just hand express out to ease a little, you can choose to dump it, at least this will prevent blockage or engorgement!

JustMe, no..mine is 9 may....

My #1 was born @ 38wks+6 days...so i tot #2 shld be earlier....but today will be 39+2 for me, still no sign..i am hoping maybe waterbag can burst or something other than the inconsistent BH..

915, not really le.. think its e way shermay lies on bed.. anyway i have been latching on n on... i didnt even see e timing already..

hello mummies !

shers, ur ger so cute and chubby..looks like ur #1 ?

i am on mc today...so nice ! can sleep till late late then wake up..haha

Just came back from gynae visit! Gynae confirmed with me that TMC will only allow 1 visitor in the ward at any time. SobSob!! Will not be able to see my #1 for at least 2 days...Grr...

Baby is 2.45kg at 36 weeks 5 days. She is moving down already and partially engaged. Gynae finally gave me 1 week hospitalisation leave again but she says it depends on HR on whether they will count it as ML or HL since i am already 36+ weeks.

experience mummy, can help me ?

i am using the pigeon rapid sterilizer..i need to ask some question...anyone using the same ? can pm me ?