(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Jen,
but if hv appt shld be ok isnt? but her patients are really alot.. haha My next appt is on 13 Oct. tt will be my 11.5wks le. so happy. reaching 2nd tri soon.. hehe

JRTlover,
I've bought few maternity bottom during my #1 from perfect mum. so im wearing nw. more comfy.. As for top, i intend to get those babydoll top from this fashion.. Some are quite nice and cost only $10+. after deliver still can wear.. hehee..</font>.

haha jen. ur husband like tat oso can ar..aiya, mayb nez time she respresent singapore go run leh since her leg muscle so strong...then ur mil will b so proud of her. no worry...

JRTlover, i stil keep my previous maternity wear. so, no need buy tis round. hee..but my stomach so round tat it make it so obvious..even the dress which i bought last month oso abit tight liao...faint...

Xue - wkend ve appointment also need to wait for half to 45mins..
so i go alone on wkdays, less than 15mins wait can liao.
my appointment 23th i only 11wks.. thinkin whether to go on e 12wks instead..

regarding package i ve asked her abt it, is wat i stated above. but there is an additional $1.4k fee she charges for delivery on top of the delivery room charges e hopsital charging us..
i can't rememeber my previous 1st gyne got charge this amt or not (need to go dig previous birthing records)

I am keeping my old maternity pants as well. May be i just buy few more maternity tees so that I can have more variety..
The tee from dorothy perkins for maternity wear is pretty comfy..

So far I am still wearing all my tshirts and pants.. luckily most of my pants are low cut.. so they didnt cling too tight on my waste..
My body has not expanded yet, except i have the showing tummy.... like a fat lady like that hahahaha...

WL - my MIL adores her cos she very playful but MIL using my FIL as example mah cos my FIL also started walking b4 he is 1yr old n he now 70plus still working.. **faint**

Ermm... Seems like I should go and get maternity pants hor... As for tops, I can still fit into This Fashion babydoll tops!
Nice and cheap!

My pants also getting tighter le.. feel like loosing the buttons now LOLzz..

That day I went Kiddy Palace, saw a maternity pants selling for $24.90.. should be consider cheap? Then i noticed it got no size one.. its adjustable at the elastic waist by buttons.. so I think maybe can buy that to wear?

1.4k is for normal delivery? If so, quite ex lei.. If C-sec lagi more ex... My #1 gynae charge delivery charge and hospital bill separate. I think all gynae charges this way? Anyone advise?

JRTlover,
Yea. Clothes from this fashion very cheap. hehee</font>.

hello mummies

Lots to catch up but seems morning discussion in mainly on what to eat and gynae packages :p

Just brought my gal for her long overdue MMR jab and chicken pox vaccination and now she is sleeping so have some peace at last!

Re food - i eat almost anything and everything but gynae did say to avoid alcohol lo. I also try to limit to 1 cup of tea per day which is so difficult! normally morning i will take tea-o then lunch is tea and nite is chinese tea but now i can only choose 1 meal to take

adv_sports - are you a teochew? me too! ka ki nai
hehe...

Jen - me too same as you, most of my gynae appts I have to go alone as hubby is working overseas. But its okie since we are still small now. Maybe when we are bigger than must be accompanied.

Where do you ladies buy the maternity pants from? I have no idea where to buy.

Jen, ur waiting time stil ok..mine can wait up to 1 or 2hrs...
coz they nv fixed the appt time. juz say come btw 9-130..so...

Rc-cola, tis morning then got 1 colleague says i fat liao...wahaha...is a guy some more. thought guys would notice the change...end up, he says mi..faint...

Vera, if u wan more choices, can go suntec there look look then decide...coz there got few shops beside 1 another

Hi Jen, don't worry. I started walking at 10 months old and my life is not hard so far. My bosses had all been very nice and my hubby does everything for me. Don't worry so much..

My gynae also charges separately for delivery. I think it's $800 for normal delivery, excluding delivery room charges, ward charges and other additional charges like epidural..

I also need to buy maternity clothes. I plan to buy tops from This Fashion. Any recommendations on maternity pants?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Maternity pants:
I bought mine from Perfect mum. Cotton material. Very comfy.. </font>.

just came back from seminar...so many posting.

Tiny_M: fully agreed...nothing to eat so miserable.

avd_sports: dr loh is senior consultant or consultant? i choose dr yeap, consultant.. 1st appt next week. maybe i try to ask the nurse for the package.

xue: so nice u reaching 2nd trimster.

re: maternity wear,
my skirts is getting tights...but dare not buy anything now..cos not yet 1st appt...and think better wait for it to be stable lst.

i have white discharge (bai dai), is it normal?

Mummies, sharing an article i got from another thread about the article of nanny, published in New paper..

September 26, 2008

IT was one shock after another for the Singaporean mother of a baby girl.

TRAUMA: Madam Lee's daughter is now a year old, but has to be tube-fed her milk. Madam Lee holds up a copy of the police report the family made. PICTURE: SHIN MIN DAILY NEWS
First, her nanny called to say her daughter, then 4 months old, had been rushed to the hospital's emergency unit on 22 Apr.

Later that night, she and her husband were questioned for 20 minutes by the police on suspicion of child abuse.

The doctors diagnosed that the baby girl had been shaken so hard, bleeding had occurred in her brain and eyes.

The couple worry that their daughter, now 1 year old, may never regain her sight fully.

On Monday, the police issued a stern warning to the nanny, who had looked after the baby girl and her brother, now 7, since last December.

The New Paper checked with the police yesterday as to why only a stern warning was issued. The police were not able to comment by press time.

The nanny is in her 30s and has two sons of her own, aged 12 and 8.

The mother, 31, who wanted to be known only as Madam Lee, a sales assistant, said she had been on her way home at about 6pm on 22 Apr, when the nanny called to say the baby girl was in the emergency unit at the National University Hospital (NUH).

Madam Lee rushed to the hospital after informing her husband.

Shivering

She recalled: 'My daughter's entire body was shivering and the whites of her eyes were showing. She was also breathing heavily.

'I was crying. I was very scared and panicked. My husband rushed down to join me, but we could only wait while the doctors and nurses worked to save my daughter's life.'

She said it was two hours before the baby girl pulled through.

She was transferred to the paediatric intensive care unit, where she remained for 10days.

Doctors told the couple that their daughter's brain and eyes were bleeding internally and that she had been having a seizure when she was admitted.

Madam Lee said: 'The doctor then told us that the police will be taking our statements because they suspected that our daughter had been abused. We were stunned. The thought had not crossed our mind till then.'

They gave the police their statement.

Madam Lee said the nanny had been the only one with her daughter before she was rushed to hospital.

Their son was in school then.

The nanny's husband was in China for work.

Madam Lee said: 'At the hospital, the nanny said she had not done anything except, maybe, put my daughter down on the bed too forcefully.

'But the doctor said my daughter's entire head was bleeding. It was unlikely to be caused by a fall or by hitting her head against a hard object, because the injury would be only at one point on her head then.'

The couple had hired the nanny, who lives across the road from their Jurong West flat, on an ex-neighbour's recommendation.

They paid her $750 monthly to look after their son and their daughter from 7am to 7pm, Mondays to Fridays.

They usually dropped off the children at the nanny's flat in the morning before they headed to work, and picked them up in the evening to go home.

Madam Lee said that in February, the nanny had told her that the baby girl had rolled over and fallen from a cot while she was busy cooking in the kitchen.

But as she did not detect any swelling on her the next day, Madam Lee did not take her daughter to see the doctor.

She said: 'I did notice a blue-black mark on my daughter's cheek the night before the incident, but the next morning, I forgot to ask the nanny about it.

'After that, my daughter was admitted to hospital and I forgot about the mark.'

Two operations

Madam Lee said doctors at NUH operated on her daughter twice in three months.

The first time, they inserted a tube into her brain for excess blood to flow out into a bag in order to relieve the pressure in the little girl's head.

But her condition did not improve.

Three months later, doctors again inserted a tube to let the excess blood flow into her daughter's stomach.

Their daughter was in hospital from 22Apr to 15 May.

Madam Lee said her daughter had to be given morphine so she would not feel the 'many needles and tubes inserted all over her body'.

She said: 'The doctors said they had to let my daughter 'sleep' because if she woke, she would feel the pain. And if she cried, the pressure in her brain would increase and cause another seizure.'

She said the bleeding in her daughter's head has subsided somewhat. But doctors have to monitor a blood clot at the right bottom part of the baby girl's brain.

Her daughter is unable to see out of the right eye completely, while the left eye can still detect light.

Doctors told the couple that it was unclear whether she would regain her eyesight.

Madam Lee also said that her daughter has forgotten how to perform simple actions like turning over and drinking milk.

The girl now has to be fed using a tube inserted through her nose. She also has one session each of occupational therapy and physiotherapy every month.

Madam Lee said: 'The nanny initially told us at the hospital that she'll take responsibility for my daughter's accident. But a few days later, she denied ever saying that.

'No one knows what happened except her and my daughter, who can't talk. But the accident did arise in her home, so we feel she still has to take responsibility.'

The couple has stopped letting the nanny care for their son after the incident.

Madam Lee said she did not know if the nanny was looking after any other children.

3wkold: I have bai dai too! Sometimes quite a lot somemore.. I checked with my gynae and he said it's normal. i googled it and several webbies said it's normal too. as long as no brown or red discharge, it's okay.

rc_cola: i read that article in new paper yesterday. the nanny very bad. luckily, my mum had promised to look after my kid so i'm relieved.

Tts quite ex. My previous gynae charges $600-$800 for normal delivery...

Cant imagine there are so many abusive ppl out there.. ill-treating and abusing those defendless children... luckily i hv my mum to look after my son..</font>.

3wkold - now very hard to find good private nanny who are very dedicated.
not dat i'm bloasting but my mum is 1 dedicated person.

who looked after children since their 1st mth now on hand got 1 3yr old boy, 1 2mths plus (both r brothers, used to look after their elder sister but she now goes to pri school) n my gal 20mths... got 2 on waiting list (hahaha) n she looking after them without help from a maid (said so easy n still got time to read papers) but think if my 2nd one join think will need to employ a maid or she ve to give up 1 of e brother :p

so i really pai fu my mum, last time i tried staying home with my gal when she is 2 mths plus, i dun ve time to rest let alone eat n drink leh.. all ve to wait till my hubby comes home then i can take a rest n shower.. my mum almost faint when i told her my suitation. :p

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> hey ladies,
don feel well. will be going hm at 1pm+. enjoy ur wkends. =)</font>.

Take care xue..

Thanks WL, will check out suntec.. I heard that united square also got quite a number of maternity shops, but duno will be exp or not.. cos at novena area..

Xue - take care. Hope you will feel better tomorrow.

Vera - I heard from my friend the united square does sell alot of cheap children's clothes. I'm not sure abt maternity. I guess its worth to have a look.

Hmm, maybe can go check it out when I go for my next gynae visit, since its near there too..

I feel so sleepy now esp after lunch =P

Xue - take care

Adv sport - i think i missed your qn on if i am a teochew.. nope ler.. i am a hakka

Re: bbsitter
I think best is to get our parents or in laws to take care, someone whom we trust..
bbsitter is a stranger and they are not related to our babies at all, so i think if you can find a good one, then count yourself very lucky...

For me, if my IL cant help me already, I will become a sahm until they are big enough to go childcare or at least 1.5 yrs or 2 yrs old, a bit xing ku when bbs are young, but i think it worth our sacrifice...

Re: gynae package..
Wow some gynae charges so cheap ar S$800 per delivery??
My gynae charge S$1800 for normal delivery and S$2100 for ceaseran if i am not wrong..

S$550 package is so alluring.. so far i have went there twice and spent about S$400 liao.. wah wah wah.. really cheap ler.. S$550 plus vits..

Rc_cola, have read the article oso..poor gal...haiz...so, is stil safer to have our parents to look aft..

Vera, for united sq, i think got some shops sell reasonable maternity. u may take a look there oso. take it s a walk since wkend cant go town area oso (F1 race)

Take care xue....

juz back from farewell buffet lunch -- can only watch my colleagues eat sashimi... they commented that i eat little -- i no appetite due to MS but cannot say...

piggy_cow, yup, me teochew -- relatives 500 years ago

3wkold : dr. loh is senior consultant. i wait till he confirmed that my bb ok then i bought my first maternity pants @ mothercare at KKH -- expensive @ $60!!

xue, take care and rest well for the weekend!

re: child abuse
yah, my mum told me abt it this morning... haiz, will think abt my childcare problem later...

re: prenatal music
haha, maybe a fews years down the road, the kids will wanna learn piano. violin etc. i listen to classic music before i zz -- helps to calm me and make MS feel better...

today is so boring ler.. maybe let me share with u all the picts of my girl k.. just to cheer you all up hahaha.. kinda remind me of when she was very small hahaha..

She kinda changes a lot!! from chubby to now slim coz of super active kekeke.. first time mummies!! you will have your own set of new images when your baby is born!!!

WL - I also duno how my in-law will handle.. he's taking care of my SIL's two young kids..

wonder if infantcare is reliable? heard it pretty ex too..

adv_sports - ohh I missed sashimi too.. yest had jap with my colleagues, they are kept eating sashimi and I keep drooling =P

rc_cola - She's sooo cute...

rc_cola...ya, today is so boring...no mood work sia...keke...ur gal is veri cute...she smile til cant c her eyes liao. keke...tis shows tat she is really veri happy..

Well Vera, with the new subsidary fees, i think it will b cheaper...previously i oso thought of putting my son there, but my in law says they so young put there etc...so, i nt sure if is reliable...
sashimi, i ate quite alot b4 i knew i m preg. dunoe izit ok anot...anyway, already eat liao..keke...

WL, vera
Thanks!! Your bundle of joy would be snugging in your arms soon, bear with the MS as every little bit of your baby will make you totally forget what is labour pain, M/S, backache, or whatever ache!!!

WL,
I think eat already nvm so long as the progess of the baby is alright should not be a prob.
I am not a sashimi or raw food lover, the only raw thing i eat is egg.. nowadays wont eat any raw egg or semi raw egg..

Tiny,
thks for the info...so that i can dun need so worry.

WL, no worry....i ate some sashimi too before i knew...i m a japanese food lover especially salmon sashimi.

Re: Baby sitter
i tot to place my baby in infact care when i going to work. Both side parents...getting older. dun think they able to take care.

anyone is engaging confinement aunties to do confinement for you? i thinking getting one.

rc_cola - ur gal so cute! My gal also slim down after she learn to walk and fly..sigh...miss their chubby looks sometimes!

3 wkold - most prob my mum will do confinement for me..haven tot of the childcare arrangment yet cos by the time my #2 is out, my #1 shd be 2 yrs old so got to see whether my parents can handle 2 monsters or to put in childcare for #1.

Wow! seems like we have a few jap lovers here, including me! Maybe we shd have a jap dinner one of these days (after our MS goes away) to celebrate! haha :D

Actually no matter how govt help us for the parenthood package, still tough if parents are not around to help. Cannot expect me to put my babies in a helper's hand rite? just dun feel safe lo...

Hi mummies, my gynae said I am in my 5th week plus but still cannot see the sac &amp; hear the heartbeat yet. Any mummies also like me cannot see the sac at 5th week?? Gynae advise to go back in 2 wks time again.

FA,

No worry so much.. Your ovaluation could be later hence you cannot see the sac yet.
Go 2 weeks later and see how.

I think infant care should be ok bah... I am not on good terms with MIL (so dunno if she will help me take care.), my parents are not very young liao wor. Me also headache who take care of my bb when I go work next time.

I used to work in a childcare,judging from experience, infant care should not be that bad bah. The most impt is do visit the place and ask questions and when you are comfortable with the place, then enrol your baby there. Infant and child care centres are governed by MCYS and there are regular checks by MCYS officers to make sure they are following the regulations.

rc_cola,

Your gal so cutee...

Oh ya. I am a Teochew too! A Jap food fan!!!
Count me in if there is any gathering!

FA - JRT is right, the gynae said that normally they will do scan at 7-8wks cos only at that time then can see the sac.. so dont worry for now..

I am new to this thread as a second time mummy.

1. EDD: TBC (5+ week now)
2. Name of Gynae: Dr. LN Sim
3. Delivery Hospital: TMC
4. No of pregnancy: #2
5. dd: 12 mth
6. Location : Redhill.

Just went to see my gynae for a second time today cos i could not see the sac last week. Was so worried the entire week cos based on LMP, i should be ard 6 weeks last week but could not even see anything. However, today, i managed to see the sac finally. Doc said that i probably ovulated very late since i was bf at that time. So FA, dun worry so much! You may be like me, ovulated late.

Hi rc_cola,
I am a teochew too.

Hi Justme,
En En waves hello to Sarah!!

Like Poohwei, im new to this thread too. First time mummy and CEDD is 19th May 09 (if things go smooth) but hope to be the next day cos bb and me will share the same borthday. Hehe.

Yet to decide to visit which gyne. Residing at Jur West.

Rc_cola,
Your girl is so cute!!! Very smiley girl. Lovely!

Re: Infant care
I personally think infant care is safer than those baby sitters! I work in a child care environment. The infant care teacher : baby ratio is 1:3. Of course, do a site visit to the school first. After the site visit and talking to the teachers there, you should be able to decide whether the center is good.

Wow...so many posts!
Came back from my 1st visit today..Gynae asked if this round is correct timing? haha..guess he was saying if this time when we tried did we specifically chose a timing for a girl..But no lor, cos totally unplanned. Anyway, boy or gal, we decided to close shop after this round. Too tired!

Consultation was short, only 10min. cos already 3rd time..dunno what else to ask, except to ask if its safe for me to opt normal delivery. Cos my #1 was normal delivery, #2 was c-section. Gynae said ok..can try, no harm.. hmm..still hesitating.

Den ah, after came out,realised forgot to ask him abt the wine thing. So i told nurse. Nurse said its ok. infact the Gynae sumx will advise patients to drink a bit once in a while, when the mommy can't sleep, or if the baby moves alot until the mommy can't sleep. Funny rite..the nurse aso said red wine is okay.

Still didnt get my crab today. cos just now ate too full, tummy not enuff space liao. for my #1 and #2, i dont really care what i eat. but i do avoid lamb. I also don't believe the myth that eating crab will have itchy hands baby. Cos all babies are itchy hands. if they are not, u will start to worry! I even ate sashimi alot, asked gynae if ok, he said why not. Infact its gd cos sashimi has high omega. hehehe..

Oh ya, btw, i am in 7 wks 3 days if estimate by size. BB is 13mm long. if estimate by LMP i shld be in 8 wks. Saw the sac, BB and the yolk. + heartbeat is there.

Jus wana ask that if if IF your hubby is had been firlting ard since your r married and u had been giving him a chance. And he beg and cried to promise u this and that.End up he still sleeping ard when u r pregent. Will u leave him? or still stay with him??The whole company know he firlting ard and yet im the last to know.Cos he great in acting!! Always say that he bz in OT...now i know he OT in other ppl bed!! He promise me this and that and same promise go to the gal he had other!! What u gals think??Im now 2mths...still can go for abortion.I dont want to live with a lier cum great actor!! ADVICE NEEDED......

I dun wish to bring my bb to this world suffering and having a great lier as a dad.In my knowing he even get his lover outside to go 4abortion while im trying damm hard to get his bb.They had been together 4more than 3yrs. Now i know he do everyting 4his mum..he listen to her...EVERYTING! i think he married me cos he mum say so..ACTUALLY i dun blame his lover cos i know that my hubby is a great pretender.If he is willing to spend so much time with her...i think he really love her. He cant leave me due to his mother.HE LISTEN to his mum....in everything.I used to think that im the lucky one who marry such a sweet hubby,,,who everyday also work OT for this family...but now i know wat i had...IS JUS ALL BUT LIES AND MORE LIES. I do pity his lover...what should i do??????