(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Seabreeze, really? dun look at the time? Oh dear, I'm a clock-watcher when it comes to pumping cuz I want to limit myself to certain duration ie. 30min max rather than get carried away and keeps pumping to hit a target and without me knowing, the next feed is just 1hr away. I need to keep to time so that I can let allocate time for rest and others and not all day long pumping. Ok, maybe instead of keep looking at the clock, perhaps I can set an alarm?

Re: husbands vs daddies
Alfafa, dun be upset over it. Many of our hubbies I believe fit the bill of your hb's description. They rather nua in front of TV and help out when they feel like it only. Sometimes I think we as wives are also guilty of neglecting them once bb arrives. My hubby complained that I do not love him as much as before, and the lack of couple time since the birth of our #1, makes him feel less loved. For us, Mother Nature creates us in such a way that our maternal instinct would drive us to care and fend for our little one no matter how tough it is and whatever we do, we would want the best for our child. But men are differnet. They need to be reminded and told specifically of what to do and how to do. No matter how competent they are at work, when it comes to babycare, they know nuts abt it, trust me. Give him a little more time, the fact that he is NOW A DADDY would sink in eventually.

On the other hand, we got to be honest and ask ourselves whether our conversations with our other half always revolve around children, household etc. I, for instance, is guilty of this and hardly talks about things other than my 2 sons or the mundane household chores and grocery list. I've been married for almost 8years and sometimes things just get into a routine of wake up, go work, come home, dinner, settle children and bed and the same thing goes on the next day. There's not much to look forward to and sometimes a movie or a dinner with just the 2 of us is good enough to rekindle the kind of feeling you got when you are dating. Give yourself a break and if you have alternative caregivers, you could try to put bb in their care for a good 2-3hrs, and have some couple time together. Men also need to be pampered, just like women!Once they feel that they are being loved as much as before, they are more willing to do their part for bb!

I can't tahan my CL. Just had an hr-long complaint session with my mum over the phone. CL is simply too lazy. Caught her pre-capped the ebm with the teat and cover in the fridge way in advance for the night feed. I dun like the idea of putting on the teat and would prefer the bottled ebm to be sealed with a screw cap to preserve freshness and minimise exposure while they are still in the fridge. CL certainly is trying to cut short her prep time during feeding where she just have to take out the bottle and dump it into the warmer without having to change cap, fix teat etc. but leaving the ebm in such an improper storage condition may not be the most ideal way in keeping out the germs etc. When I opened my fridge last night at 10pm, I saw it and who knows what time is she gg to feed bb with that bottle of ebm? when I went to bed at 12:30pm after my last pump session, bb had not woke up for his feed yet. Just keep my fingers crossed that quality of the ebm is not compromised. and the other thing is that CL uses my resources like it's free!!! 1 kitchen towel would be gone in 2 days cuz she uses that to wipe practically everything so that she dun have to rinse the wipe cloth etc. and talk abt wipe cloth, every few days she would throw away 1 piece and take out a brand new one from my storeroom! Mum said she's simply to lazy to wash the cloth, so once they are stained, she just throw them away! when maid wants to stand there and watch her cook so as to learn cooking, she would chase my maid away and scold her for "tou1 shi1"

alfafa,

3 weeks of latch on then no more nipple confusion arh? No wonder... am only in my 2nd week of latch on... my bb only started latching at 3.5 wks old due to my slow flow.. Ok, i would ren another week.. actually i realised tt if i m not the one feeding bottle, she not so confused. Yesterday, my MIL came to hel me feed bottle n it wasnt as bad at nite. maybe i would try to avoid being the one feeding bottle for the time being.... humm.. but no one to help me leh. nvm.. one more week!

fairymoss,
Actually your CL is not wrong in wanting to cut short the steps in preparing ebm at night. I would have done the same thing also so that baby will not wake up the entire household or cry too badly when wanting milk at night. I assume you are using storage bottle with no proper cap and hence the teat is exposed in the fridge? What about putting container with a lid that is big enough to cover the hole set-up of bottle and teat in the fridge so that the prepared bottle of milk can be stored hygienically?

What is the problem about tou shi?! Confinement food is not that difficult to cook. I know it cos I did my own confinement cooking in the last 2 weeks when CL left for home emergency.

fairymoss,

there is no cover for the teat? i store my ebm like ur CL but my teat is not exposed as there is additional cover. Think it is ok leh.

Re:pillow
can i ask the mummies here if they allow their babies to sleep on pillows? all the books that i have read discourage the use of pillows till the babies are 1 years old but my mum has been nagging me to get one cos she says that the baby needs the support. So far the pillows that are being sold belong to 2 types: the really soft type and the ones with a hole in the middle. I have only seen 1 really firm one that is from the brand babysafe but it seems kinda big...

any advice on this? thanks!

ann, why did they discourage the use of pillows in books? hehe just curious. My bb is using the really firm one that you saw from baby safe. THe flat flat one from 0 - 2 yrs.
My #1 used the hole one from baby safe too and now he's using the toddler one. I love babysafe.

There's a mommy who send the baby for liver test, is it you Seabreeze? How's the result?

I just send Zac for the test also, cos till now still abit yellowish. The jaundice result today is 10. 2 days later then get the liver test result.

mommies with baby boys, did the PD check if the testicles are descended? Just now the doctor at the polyclinic checked Zac and his right testicle is not descended yet. Wonder if this is normal.

Hi Hi
Abt nipple confusion...my bb super hungry when e time comes, he has no time to distinguish if itz a nipple or teat?! As long as got milk to drink...haiz

Oh ya i tried putting my bb in living room as it seems airier...surprisingly, hez back to wake up from 2-3am n sleep thru from 11-2am/ 3-7am...Phew! Tink my bb feels hot lah so no amt of feed/changing/cuddling can appease him...my mom n i slept better too.

A little note on e role of hb...i watched e papadang jia yesterday on Lina Ng n HB's share of duties; he a virgo so when he does things, very detailed n meticulous...hmmm...sometimes our hb like to nua cos they hav hard time @ work (note their defn of hard work very diff frm us)...sometimes...itz jus plain inertia...it takes a loving hb to see past his needs n empathize w his wife...Sometimes, they ignore us to spite us, cos our conversation starters usually evolve ard Kids...so once in a while, we mus centre ard them 2 make them feel cherished...No wonder my dear male friends say when u hav a bb, u actually have 1 BIG bb n 1 SMALL bb. Both need ur care n attention...

Hi ann, thanks for e info...jus wan to make sure tat my bb does not drink overdue milk, no matter how $/effort precious they r...

Hi alfafa...itz a big adjustment bcoming a SAHM...jus a passing thot...in view of e bad times, perhaps ur hb is doing his best to provide for e family so when he reaches home, he kinda chill n b a hands off dad...Not to give excuses for his behaviour but i believe all tat u experience so far r e symptoms...until u noe e cause of his bo-chapness, u will continue to receive his brunt end of e stick...

We try our best to care for e bb, don give urself too much stress k...

Heh.. i think i am the big bb here.... hee hee... now whenever i call my hb or he call me, first thing he ask is bb. I very jealous and ask him y never check how am i first... then ask him miss me more or bb more, he say miss bb more... so sad!

Cindy,
according to the books, not allowing babies to sleep on pillow is to prevent SID (Sudden Infant Death).. same as why they dun advocate babies to sleep on their tummies even though my boy does sleep way better this way but me being kiasi will try to avoid putting him on tummy to sleep unless he's really cranky..

hmm, maybe i'll get the babysafe pillow then.. only thing is will have to get lots of extra pillowcases? cos my boy tend to spit up milk...

Alfafa,
i think perhaps your husband has now drawn the line very clearly in terms of the roles that you each play in the family - he is now the sole breadwinner while you are the baby caretaker. hence, u shd do everything related to the baby and any help that he renders to you is a "bonus"? or he may be just really stressed out about being the sole breadwinner cos this means that he has to bear with whatever shit (pardon my language) that gets thrown at him at work cos he can't afford to lose/change job at this junture ... hope u guys sort things out cos apparently babies can sense tension in the family .. take care : )

Irene ...

am going to do the liver test on 25 april cos this weekend is bb's full month and we dun wan him to kanna poke on that day ... he still looks yellow but think same as my #1 ... BM jaundice until 2.5mth oso

and with regards the testicles descending ... if you wan to be v sure bring back to your PD to check DO NOT EVER trust the drs in polyclinic on that cos they just open the diapers to check and squeeze the testicles and v likely that the testicles will shrink back

that happened to my #1 and the dr just happily say wan to refer me to KKH to see specialist ... luckily i say you just write a letter and i wan to seek 2nd opinion with my PD and my PD said tt they check for the testicles already @ birth

otherwise when you bath for Zac in warm water ... you can check for the testicles yourself too ... it should be there one

fairymoss ...

what i mean is for mummies who latch on ... dun look at the clock trust tat your bb know when he/she needs to drink ...

Ann, my bb sleeps on the beansprout pillow. it can make the head round, also the pillow is light and will not make my bb sweat too much. my mil made 6 beansprout pillows for her of which 2 are placed at my mom's place. you can place the pillow on bb's tummy too, so that she will not be startled by any noise when asleep.

puking of milk :
my bb will tend to puke too, remember to place a small handkerchief on top of the pillow and it will do the trick.

kris, i have the beansprout pillow as well but its more for the purpose of putting on his tummy. i'm afraid to use a pillow cos my boy sleeps on his side so am afraid he will bury his nose on the pillow... ur bb wouldn't bury his nose into the beansprout pillow?

anyone's bb has cradle cap? my bb has it at her eyebrows leh.. very sian... =( i read that in future may develop to ezcema... i lagi sian.. of all things... =( my MIL also has ezcema at her eyebrows lor... haiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

misscandy ...

just apply bb oil before bath and leave it there for a couple of minutes and clean it off ... the cradle cap will come off

my #1 has it on his whole head that time heehee

alfafa
actually my situation is similar to urs.. most of the time hubby out working n leaving me all alone to take care of the bb ever since birth.. but dun feel sad.. he will eventually come to term tat his is now a daddy soon...
but if my hubby show his black face i will scold him telling tat this is his creation as well n he has no right to be upset/unhappy when helping out to take care of his own flesh n blood..

Re: pillow
ann
so putting bb on pillow n sleeping on tummy promote SID ar.. coz i have been doing these at the same time for few weeks liao.. my bb sleeps better in this way le.. he cant sleep well on his back coz easily gets frighten with his hands in the air.. not even the beansprout pillow on his chest helps.. only on his tummy he can sleep longer..

seabreeze
hmmm.. i think my bb cannot be trusted one.. he seem to know tat he can get his milk at own time own target which really add stress to me le.. hahaha.. he simply just drank little by little so wake up every half or one hr for his sleep.. happy happy sleep n eat at his preference.. aiyo.. physically ganna torture by him very badly for the past weeks since birth.. only this week things getting better nia.. latching on full time not tat easy sia..

ann, my bb is 5wk4d already, sometimes when she is resting on my chest, she can support her neck and turn her head looking ard. but at this time her neck still weak, so i dun leave her head unattended. when she sleeps sideway on the beansprout pillow, normally her back is supported by her small pillow too, so that she feels more secure too. You can adjust the beansprouts and prevent the bb from burying her nose into the pillow, but beansprout pillow that you bought outside should be very safe cos they normally wont have too much beansprouts inside (that's what my mil said).

p3pp3r ...

mine oso and the worse is that he does it at night hahahahah day time can drink and zzz 3hr but at night its like once every 1.5hr or so ... but if you wan to feed on demand its like that one lor ... thats why i say dun look at the clock and dun count the number of feed - take 1 feed at a time so that you dun feel so stressed =p

thats how i am dealing with it and keeping myself sane but dun worry it will soon pass ... like now my #1 ... i have to run aft him to finish his food hahahahaah

Scrumpee,
How did you managed to sit through all those hair works without suffering from engorgement? How many hours were you at the salon?

seabreeze, thanks..heehee misunderstood u. my bb usually takes 15min to empty 1 breast, so both sides usually half hour. However long it takes for him to finish, I just let him be.

Re: liver test
Is this the only way to find out if it's bf jaundice by ruling out the normal jaundice? If it's bf jaundice, then what could be done? My bb until now, 3wks 2days still can see a tinge of yellow. I remember my elder cleared it quite quickly. Wonder if it's bf jaundice. Got to wait to see PD next week for his jab. One of bb's toe also look crooked and in fact, PD highlighted it during birth and asked us to massage it to straighten it. It's been 3weeks and the toe still look the same. Quite worried if it would affect walking in future.

Scrumpee,
How did you managed to sit through all those hair works without suffering from engorgement? How many hours were you at the salon?

Scrumpee, that's my question too! am wondering how to tahan that few hrs at the salon. every 3hrs, I got to pump/latch, otherwise breast gonna explode. Sometimes in the morning, when it's past 3-4hrs since last latch, I could feel the hardness right up to near the armpits! it's definitely not a nice feeling.

Mummies, do your breasts got a lot of visible veins? Mine do, and right up to the armpits! wonder if it's due to milk production? I don't have that during pregnancy. so ugly, cannot wear tank tops.

any bb here having cross eye? my ger's eyes look normal but when she stare an object too long, she will tend to cross eye, then we got to divert her attention
They say bb will tend to have cross eye and will go away but she is already 6 week old le. still have meh??

prosper!! my girl also cross eye.. now already 8wks liao ley.. worrying man!!

ann:: i see. hee yes i bought many pillow cases

Asura79
Same here. I staying with my mum for confinement now so when hubby calls, 1st thing he asks is how's baby. He said he misses baby cos did not see him for a day but never say misses me.

Pups and Fairymoss
I went to the salon at 12.30pm and did not reach home till 6.30pm. I have no engorgement cos my MS very little, so miss one session of pump is ok for me. I pumped when i reached home but only got 40ml from both breasts. Haha...don't know this is good news or bad news. Good is I can go out for long period without having to worry about pumping but of course, bad is not enough MS for baby lor.

re: cross eye

will go away one ... what i do is that whenever the bb cross eye ... i will put my hand over his eye to 'reset' it =)

fairymoss ...

why you pump and latch on ar? why dun pump out aft the feed so that you can be sure that the bb had enough

cross eyed - dont worry mummiess!! it will go away!!! my dad also told me last time he thought my bro also had cross eye... but the PD told him will go away... still small baby... they r tryin to focus on things... so dont worrie ba... =) my bb also sometimes lidat... hahahaha

seabreeze - see le very bth leh... i apply olive oil le... dn during bathing i rub with the soft towel... haiii...

Kris - my bb also like urs... we like to put on her tummy to sleep... or whenever she lies down.. she doesnt like to lie on her back... dn when she is awake, she will push her head up and look around... then after that lie back down... then ownself will turn left to right to find comfy position to sleep... see liao quite entertaining... hahahaha... becos she looks so cute!!! then the mouth will make O shape... hee hee... initially when i saw her do it ard 3weeks i was a bit worried... didnt knw they cn turn their head themselves.. thought they would "bua" their face on the mattress....

does anyone have any info/web that states the bb's development? hw many weeks they start doing things... like flipping.. turning... yakking... i jus wan to be prepared... hehehehe

seabreeze,

regarding latching.. i was reading that if we latch whenever they want, we might let them develop a snacking habit. So if it was only 1 hr since we last started latching, got to pat bb, cuddle bb, carry bb first. If after half hr, bb still want latch, then give. We would suffer if they snack.

candace, the web is good.. heehe...

anyone giving water to their bb? sighs.. my mil has been doing that... as much as i hate it, i kept repeating to my mil not to give my bb too much water, but as and when she is free or if she sees the feeding hour is approaching, she sure gives my bb water... i feed my bb every 3 hours, but by the 2nd hour, my mil will say time to feed her. then just now my bb was sleeping in the sarong without making noise, my mil went to carry her and said it was about feeding time (only 2 hours from last feed), i told her not to disturb when she was sleeping, now my bb was crying away and choked on the water... sighs.. i also worried she will feed her my EBM cos she will keep on adding more and more milk to her feed, so got to keep an eye on the feeding time to make sure my mil doesnt overfeed her. WHY CANT THEY UNDERSTAND???

asura79 ...

for me i dun feed him straight away ... cos i will check diaper and carry/sing/talk etc until i cfm that he is hungry then i will latch on ... interval is at least 1.5hr

but on days when i know that my supply was no good like the period when i was sick .. i tend to let him drink as and when he wants cos i know that he really didnt get enough and its a good chance for me to build up my supply

keron ...

ask your hubby to talk to your MIL cos bb on TBM NO NEED water and if you need to print out some web page to show her etc lor

or bring her to your next appt with PD/Dr etc and ask them to tell her cos when you give bb water ... its empty stuff that is filling up their stomach ... BM is better than water anytime

Irene
Re: Testicles
My PD oso told me the same thing tat the left side has not descended. He say he will continue to monitor it. It shld be descended when he turns 1 yr old!

Cradle Cap
My bb oso has it on his scalp and eyebrow. Has just started to apply olive oil

Pillow
Have been told by PD not to let bb sleep on pillow until they are 1 yr old.

Re: Patchy skin tone
Any bbies with patchy skin tone esp on the hand & legs? Wonder if it's becos my bb was under the photolight for 2 weeks......??

sportyger, cindy, asura, tuskywoollie, seabreeze, fairymoss, ann, pepper, pups,

thakns all. Very touched to log in today and see so many words of encouragement. I am ok already. At first I was too tired and disappointed to try, so this morning I just did my pump. We didn't speak or even look at each other. Then I went in to nap before he left the house. But was so sad that I prayed and cried myself to sleep. Refused to pray yesterday cos I was just too angry. I would probably have ended up cursing him! Anyway ... praying softened my heart I think so by mid day I wrote (email) to him to say sorry for my angry words last night, and also took the chance to tell him my concerns (though not the first time). Anyway he replied with a sorry too for snapping at me and said he will try harder. Thanks all. I told Grace this morning that mommy and daddy are just tired and short fused as a result, but all these will pass.

Sportyger,
Wow how did you manage to have your baby sleep 7 hours non stop? how old is your baby? Any tips?

Seabreeze,
hubbies really ask for it sometimes, with the kind of stupid remarks they make. You must be hopping mad at that time. I would!

yes, 1 day at a time. Aiiii my baby is only 7 weeks plus, which means I still have a long way to go before reaching my 6 mths of BF-ing goal. Plan to introduce a bit of semi-solids come 4.5 mths but still mainly BF-ing. Feel so lazy sometimes.

Asura,
depends la. My friend's bb has no problem differentiating between teat and nipple from the beginning. But I rather not take the risk so I didn't intro bottle till after the first month. Lactation consultants usually say 3 weeks is enough.

Hobo,
re BM in room temperature. Think most conventional advice is up to 4 hours. But I usually put 2 hours max. I saw on one of the local hopistal websites the two hours rule as well. Can;t rem which one.

Fairymoss,
wow one kitchen towel roll in two days ah?? My hubby gets cheap kleenex kitchen roll (he works for KC) so we use it like machiam free, even then it takes us more than 2 days to finish using.

As for chilling EBM with pre-capped teat + cover. Actually that is what I do also. I think the cover is designed to be air tight so should be ok. But I understand your concerns lah. Your CL has nt been trustworthy so far so naturally you will get worried.

Re: pillow
I don't use any pillow for my bb right now. Did try putting the soft bean sprout pillow on her chest before but I freaked out after one incident. I got roused from my sleep in the middle of the nite by strange sounds coming fr my baby when she was about 3-4 weeks old. When I got up to check I realised she had wiggled and wriggled so hard that the flacid pillow actually shifted up to cover her lower face (nose and mouth), and the beansprouts have all moved to the ends of the pillow i.e. weighting the pillow down so she couldn't shake the pillow off her lower face. she was struggling so hard when I saw her. Good ting I saw this in time.

Re: liver test.
I sent my girl for the liver test at 5plus week old. Thank goodness it was an all clear

Re: insurance
have just confirmed all her immediate insurance needs for now. H&S, Personal accident, critical illness and term insurance. Btw, AIA has come out with a new children's protection plan that includes HFMD, Food Poisoning and Dengue Fever! from as low as $10 a onth to $20. Plan is called Starshield. From what I know Prudential and Great Eastern doesn;t have as good a children protection plan as this.

Re: I coloured and permed liao, consecutive for two weeks. I did mine at Kimage. Perming took about 4hours, had to rush home to pump after that due to terrible engorgement. Colouring took less than 3 hours and I managed to latch bb in the car right after so not so bad.

Keron
I do give my bb water esp after feed becos he will always hiccup. I also give him water when he cried but not yet his feeding time. But not alot, just a few sip to calm him down.

But your MIL should not go disturb baby when she is sleeping, even if its past her feeding time. When bb is hungry, they will automatic wake up de

misscandy,
mine also! she has flaky skin under her brows, so sad.

Seabreeze,
ok thanks for the tips. Will try putting baby oil. Crossing my fingers taht it will wokr.

Re: sleeping on tummy.
I don;t dare to try up to now. Kiasi mommy :p

Re: MIL whole day saying bb is hungry
My MIL also. Really irritating lor. Whenever we bring bb to visit her she will take every single little cue as a sign that bb is hungry. Lucky I insisted in not feeding so nothing she could do. True enough, once someone pays attention to my baby she quietens down. If baby is hungry no matter what you do they won't quieten down one. I have to be really firm with her if not she will over feed my bb big time. I like my girl to be healthy and abit chubby, not super fat until PD say must lost weight lah

seabreeze, my PD told her in her face that bb cannot drink too much water as it might dilute their blood.. hubby also scolded her many times too.. sometimes i will try to tell myself, whatever it is, we are doing for the good of the bb, so let it be...

alfafa - my hubby and i also communicate via email is really get into major disagreement and no one wants to apologize.. usually il give in becos i dun like to sleep on issues... but hubby is the silent one.. he likes to sleep it off... haii... anyway *touch wood* so far only once in our r/s have we ever had such a major event ba... he sent me really long email and i felt really bad after... hee hee... i guess men will be men... =)

the yellow crumbs dun look good right... ? i see le also sian... so tempted to peel it off but wait become raw & painful for her... so can only do it during bath time... i read that for some it takes a yr to go away... some a few mths will go away ... hope for the best ba...

feeding water - PD actually recommended me to feed water leh... but only 10mls and b4 the feed... but nt every feed... i feed her with the gripe water jus nw and she drank it.. kekeke.. usually she wil pui pui pui out the water... -_-"

my mum also another one... bb nvr cry for milk.. she go and feed her.. and bb jus drank milk 1hr ago!! end up bb drank only ard 10mls and went to sleep... haii.. then an hr later cry for milk again... -_-" i told her already only when she cries for it.. then give... she cry check pampers 1st.. dun jus assume she is hungry... jus becos bb is nw drinking almost 2hrly, she says oh... must faster give.. she says cnt let bb cry too much and too long... gahhhh! actually can more or less tell if bb crying for milk, change pampers, attention or want to be carried... and my mum is spoiling her rotten! i told my mum... cry a bit... jus wait... dun need to rush to her... like kan cheong spider... if not next time i go back to work, she dont need to go toilet, dont need to bathe, dont need to eat... jus stare at baby... aiyO...

keron ....

hur ... then you remind her that dun feed water and whats her reason for feeding water?

misscandy ...

if your bb got drink FM then need to drink some water but if TBM its not necessary to give water cos BM is largely made up of water oso

srumpee ...

actually there is no need to give water when bb hiccup cos unlike adults they dun feel any discomfort when they hiccup cos they have been doing that since they are in the stomach and the hiccup does go away after a few minutes ... my bb can even hiccup in his sleep =p

alfafa ...

at the moment def i was angry ... but whenever we talk abt it we actually start laughing and i always repeat this story to frens ... so he v pai seh too but he cant do anything to me cos its the truth and his frens will always tell him off for me hahahahaha

just finish my massage ... v shiok but i still dun like the binding ... cant wait for the night to come so that i can remove it!!

alfafa, glad to hear that you are feeling ok. My bb is 8 weeks now. I have been using the babywise method to train my gal to sleep. It seems to be working as baby managed to sleep for 7 hrs last nite. Hope this continue but you never know. The method is basically to feed, wake(play), sleep. Then during the last feed at nite is just feed and then sleep.

seabreeze - u also doin massage nw ah? me started yesterday... ya cnt stand binding... feel like walkin lemongrass... lol.. i kinda feel more pain when she massages leh... =( thats why i seldom go for massage... they like to use force on me... becos see me big big fat fat... kns... anyway cn see getting smaller... my hubby was like sure or not.. only 1 day lo! but i can feel it... the massage lady also said today like smaller a bit... i guess maybe water loss ba... hahaha...