(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

teddybaby
same here..i prefer pumping than latching! but feel bad if only do pumping and never let bb latch. sometimes vr difficult to get the correct position and bb get vr impatient..and then some more during latching..bb n me got very sweaty..haiz..
me too tried sleeping position but not successful

Altho i've breastfed #1 for 18mths, for #2, never really bf him direct since he came back from hospital. I see tat a number of mummies prefer pumping to latching but I must say tat the bonding when bb is latched on is very very special. So from tmr onwards, I'll be gg for total latch on.....pumping will oni be when it's necessary. Wish me all the best!!! =P

Alfafa,
I understand how you feel bcos my hb oso needs to be pushed..never push, never move. It'll get on my nerve but have tried to see broken bcos afterall they are different from us....heee~~ Do take care ya....

Seabreeze, thanks for the information. I'm thinking of calling up my PD also. Maybe will do that tomorrow, cos what I read is the PD should actually check the descending during birth, and during birth, his PD din tell me that his right testicles is not descended, but then maybe tat time he is in NICU, so the PD might be more concern on his breathing rather than his testicles?
And yes, what the doctor at polyclinic did is open the diapers and squeeze the testicles. Later I'll check him on my own, dunno whether i know how to feel correctly anot...

Regarding the liver test, they poke him at his heels (3x) to get the blood drawn.. apparently they need quite a bit of blood, so the poor boy was screaming his head out... first time I see him cry till so cham.... really break my heart....

Grace, yup, if din descend when he turns 1, might need surgery... this worry me... Haiz...

grace
about the bonding between us n bb..I find that latching is vr stressful sometimes..I feel i can bond to bb more when I bottle feed him..i find more relaxing to me n bb..plus i get to talk and sing to bb..

hello mummies!

been MIA for almost a week. why? cos after my CL left, i've been trying to cope with taking care of bb on my own... but not very successful and nearly got into another bout of depression cos taking care of bb, got to also do housework, so no time to pump and thus worried about MS again (as MS still not established yet, only about 80ml every 4-hrly)...

yesterday was my birthday and i been crying almost the whole day, kept thinking that after 30+ years, i'm such a failure!

finally, went to search around and found a nanny to take care of bb during the day at my place
she'll come tomorrow. nanny will come mon - fri, 8am - 6pm...

Srumpee ...

yap if your bb drinking Fm then ok to feed water cos FM suppose to be heaty

re: MIL

anyway i rem an argument with my MIL when she wanted to feed my #1 water ... her reasoning was that must intro water early if not bb dun like to drink water

and my reply to her was: have you EVER seen any living adult who hate water? no right?!? so doesnt matter intro early or late.

anyway i have already clashed with my MIL for my #1 so much so that she already know that she should stay out of matters concerning my kids so for those of you with #1 ... good luck *wink*

Irene ...

yap check with your PD is the best ... i dun like drs from polyclinic ... always jump to conclusion and a little bit wan to send me to KKH - irritating!!

my PD oso say that they will draw blood from his hand as the test requires more blood ... but i tell myself check the liver once and for all lar ... otherwise like my #1 keep going back every 2 week and kanna poke

jtho ...

MS will be affected if you are stress and dun have enough rest ... so stay happy k

hopefully the nanny is good n gives u v good support and help!! *hugs*

can anyone give me the massage lady for breast?? The one that everyone is raving about earlier on. my breast suddenly got a lump and a bit painful...anyone know why?

jtho, hugs, Happy belated birthday! Cheer up, it is good that you have found a nanny to help you. How much are you paying her? I am in the midst of getting a maid but havent found anyone suitable yet.

alfafa-- read ur post very early just now and kept thinking - why men like that arr-- argued with hubby also the 1st few days - never get his priorities right!! - true he is retreched no job yet - yet his bro can ask him for this help - that help.... so angry when i just gave borth--so more after massage - stomach binded -so try nt to move ard too much and yet i must do so lor.`.. i cried many times too during the earlier days - just again ystdy.. so angry leh with them - nt sensitive to our feelings... haizzz..

miss83,
yup...u're rite abt the bonding during bottle feeding too..... =P

Irene
Yup very worried...but cant do anything now but to monitor his testicles.
Btw, we were already told by PD when he was in NICU.

jtho,
Happy belated birthday.
How's ur bb's nappy rash? Better??

jtho - *hugs* if i knw u lookin for nanny can recommend u someone who stays clementi.. but since you found already then its okie. heh heh. hope all goes well!!! =) Happy Belated Birthday!!

Vernice,

her no is 9271 6091. Mdm rokiah.

jtho,
Happy belated birthday! im also v worried when my CL leaves. I may not be able to cope well without her around. My CL is really good so now I can relax whenever I want..

Do you let your bb sleep with aircon? These few days, the weather is real stuffy. Had 2 fans blowing at baby's bed but no use. Bb will still wake within 1 hour. Any idea?

chalris
weather is sooo hot...always check your baby neck (behind). it the skin is sweaty that means he's hot. if the skin is same temp with ur skin, he's ok. and if it's cold that means u need to put more blanket.
my bb always sleep in aircon room at night (25C)..never cover him with blanket or swaddle coz he always kicks it..he seems more calm and settled if i remove the blanket. but I dress him with long sleeve and pants + socks mittens.

chalris - on n off i wil on the air con... but 26 degrees... also long pants/sleeves, mittens & booties... my girl prefers cold and cnt stand the heat.. but on nights when i do not on the aircon, i will let her wear 3/4pants, short sleeves, mittens & booties.. then on the fan... i also do not swaddle nor cover with blankie.. she wil kick it away... hahahaha

My CL will swaddle the bb cos afraid that bb will be frightened by noises. But she said will unwrap bb tml as bb will be 20 days old. bb will be sweaty sleeping and wake up. Bb sleeping with CL and the room's aircon is spoilt so can only on fan. When I hear bb cry, so heartbroken and guilty. hopefully the repairman tml can fix the aircon. Else, I think I'm moving my hubby out of the room and get CL and bb to sleep in my room.

jtho, happy belated birthday.

Seabreeze, I'll tried to check him but i dunno how to feel it..

Grace, his PD din say anything about this. I'll call up the clinic tomorrow to ask. If not, I'll make a trip to his PD for another check.

prosper - i have to ask if she is keen. she's those very no nonsense type? lol... i dunno but i cn get along with her... she's actually my late patient's wife... she's currently lookin after her own grandson but i do think she can help others look after as well.. but she's not cheap wor... depending on the timing as well... i can sms her to ask her then if she is keen il pass u her number? what kinda working hrs r u lookin at? i let her knw 1st... she stays near sunset way that side... i think is st 11..

chalris - if not then at night let him sleep in short sleeve and shorts? then jus wear mittens and booties... that time my air con also spoilt jus b4 i gave birth... luckily they managed to repair it b4 i gave birth if not i think during confinement i will go bonkers! LOL... if nt i have to sleep in the spare room... =P

aircon room, we wanted to sleep in an aircon room, but seems like Zac can't take it. He will make a lot of noise if we on the aircon and sleep. I think he is scare of cold... so now we need to suffer in this hot weather... can only on the fan

thanks mummies for the well wishes!

sportyger
the nanny i get is actually my friend's CL. but i didn't want to engage her full 28 days, and not Monday to Sunday, so instead of $1800 for 28 days, she is charging me $65 per day.

Grace
yes, bb's nappy rash is almost fully recovered. still a little bit red near the anus...

missycandy
it was a very last minute decision to look for a temporary nanny before we go to France next month. and i wanted the nanny to come to my place instead of us sending bb to nanny's place. however, i am still contemplating whether to put bb in infantcare. so if u have good recommendation, i might still consider putting bb with a nanny instead. let me know the details if possible. thanks.

alfalfa,

I know its tough for you but hang in there. my hubby's job require him to be oustation on every alternate months.

after this june, my parents and younger brother will move to their new apartment and i will be left alone with Brianne.

my hubby works as an engineer on an oil rig stationed in the middle of south china sea, which makes telephone communication impossible unless through satelite phone which is pretty restricted to all due to the high costs. (radiation caused from a mobile phone signal will trigger explosion due to the flash point of crude oil) So, unless its a matter of life and death, else i won't get to hear my hubby's voice at all for a full 28 days minimum.

Me and hubby only get to catch up when he comes back after his 28days shift.

i am suggesting this... even when you and hubby fight or quarrel... at least u get to see each other and hear each other's voice..

Don't feel sad... just like what daphne said.. man are slower or not as sensitive as us.. we begin our motherhood once we got pregnant cos we had to take care of our babies even when they are in our womb already and we are born with maternal insticts which man never had so it does takes time..

Its ok to rant in here.. cos we all understand and you will feel better after letting it all out. we will lend u our ears..

Hang in There girlfriend.. Hugs...

Asura,

hehe.. i know what u mean cos my hubby's HP wallpaper is brianne's picture.

i ask him how come not mine jokingly.. he said he can try to communicate with me thru the internet but cannot talk to brianne.. and then he show me that he has or picture in his wallet.
kakaka....

Jean,

Happy Belated birthday!!! cathc up soon.. i look forward to going Jurong Point with you, Olivier and Brianne...

Let's do this when we are both settled.. heheh

Jean - Happy Blated Bday!!

i have the same concerns as you, guess just have to time tasks accordingly...boil water early in the morning...prepare bb clothes and stuff before her bathing time...prepare water for her to drink after bathing..prepare to warm up her feed. once she goes to sleep, prepare hot water compress for pumping haha...im sure these are some items that most of us carry out everyday...etc etc

i have not established sufficient MS for TBF, not sure if i ever will have. now only manage about 5 feeds a day...

Thanks mickey mummy for the contact.

Happy Belated birthday to jtho.

Chalris - i have been sleeping with bb in aircon since i came back from hospital...the weather is too hot n humid. but i will swaddle him cos he seems more secure and settle in more easily

has anyone went for the bb's 1 month check up already??

need to check if the PD uses touch light to shine at bb eyes??

vernice,

buy from spree! or is that bulk purchase. I got mine, inclusive of shipping for $70 sing thereabouts. Amazon was selling it at $36+usd for a while.

Lenny,
I salute you. Whole 28 days without communication? Oh my goodness.

We are ok now
But well, whether or not he puts in effort from now on remains to be seen. As mentioned by some forumers, I guess he is still learning-on-the-job, albeit very half-heartedly right now. Hopefully he will get closer as Grace grows older and is able to "engage" daddy more.

Idaarshad,
Oh dear. how? you two okay now? I find them very strange. They can so willingly do stuff for their brothers but when it comes to their immediate family ... haiz. Must be really tough on you what with 4 children. Goodness gracious. You really have to take care of yourself well.

Re: aircon
my bb sleeps in a blacked out aircon room every night. Temp set at 26 degrees. She will be in her rompers, socks and tightly swaddled. During the day I bring her out to th eliving room which is unfortunately pretty warm. I switch on the fan near her.

St,

I brought my bb to th polyclinic at 5 weeks for the supposed one month check up. he didn't shine a torch at her eyes though I think most PDs do? Anyway, I won't advise anyone to bring their BB to polyclinic for check up ... it took all of 2 min. The doc hardly looked at her except checked her diaper. He spent the rest of the two minutes running down the checklist with me. Imight as well fill out the checklist myself like that. :p

I brought her there mainly for vaccines so thought might as well do check up at the same time. The nurses were nice on the other hand. Took her weight and height etc.

Polyclinic cost $4plus only for children.

alfafa, $4 is next to nothing for vaccination? or just for consultation fee only? It looks too attractive to be true, imagine I'm paying bombs at the PD. The highest outpatient bill so far that my elder incurred was $500+ for flu at one of the clinics at TMC. Each review is at least $150 which was ridiculous. In the end, only went for 1 review.

re: jab at polyclinic

the jabs at the poly is abt 50% cheaper if i were to go to the PD ... thats why i am going back to polyclinic for the jabs

based on my exp with my #1 ... checks/jab done by the nurses are ok its the dr that sucks BIG time!! when my #1 is sick or anything arises from the check like the testicle not descending ... i will go back to the PD

Irene ...

you will feel something like a ball on each side ... you feel that side that the dr say have descended one first so that you know what to look for =)

my 3yr old did his check at the PD while he was there for his flu ... oso less than 5 mins heehee

i steralise in the morning and put everything in a zip lock bag but we have this super hot water dispenser which i use to soak the stuff in for the 2nd pump session ... i used to pump once during lunch and one more around 3pm - 4pm cos my ex-boss was pro bf ... dunno my this new boss ok or not

opps sorry, went out to meet the seller of her BN pupsik pouch at the mrt, just got back. WOW I love it! so much nicer than my sling. Actually my mom's self-made batik printed sling (ala MIM type) is gorgeous but it lacked the finer details of Pupsik's e.g. pocket on the outside with extra clip to hook stuff. My mom's one has no padding either. Am carrying bb in our arms right now with a pupsik while she snoozes, hehehe allows my hands to be free to surf and chat.

I bought 2nd hand but BNIB piece for $28. Very nice seller. She still has another BNIB piece (colour is bluebell) for sale if anyone wants. But hers is size 1 only hor.

Very comfy and stylish looking. Best of all, a pupsik bb pouch has no rings to irritate the hell out of ya.

$4 is consultation only. Paid ten plus dollar seperately for Hep B 2nd dose. Am not sure whether to take the 5 in 1 at polyclinic or go GP. Heard HP only 320+? This polyclinic (queenstown) charges $87 per job ... anyne knows how many jab in a 5-in-1?

WOW $150 for a one month developmental check is damn exp!

Irene,
sure thing. Just that your first visit can take a while because bb must go through registration. At the point of registration they will ask you purpose of this first visit then you tell them just for developmental check lor. For me, I told them ahhh I need vaccines and developmental check. They ask me which jab then I blur blur say not sure, need to talk to PD. So my whole visit took much longer than expected (total 1.5hrs) cos they have to pass me around. Hahahah blur mama

Oh yah, I'm lucky that I didn't have to wait long (5min only) for registration. Queenstown Polyclinic has very few visitors. And I also checked the clinic webcam before I go to make sure it was not a busy period before I headed down. I'm lucky cos the clinic is only 5 mins walk away from me. My first time bringing bb out on my own. Hehehe

Once registered, you can make appointments for BB for subsequent visits so you don't have to wait. They have special concession for BBs.

oh, also one thing, i called up the PD's clinic, the nurse told me that the PD will check this at birth.. so if the PD din highlight, it means no problem. However if I'm still worry, i can go to the PD and tell him what the polyclinic doctor told us and ask him for review

OK just checked

queenstown polyclinic (v nice, new building and few visitors) has no 6-in-1, just 5-in-1 and seperate hep B jab.

5-in-1 is charged at $349.60 for total of 4 jabs ($87.40 each). Jabs taken at 3mth, 4mth, 5mth and 18th month. Meanwhile, seperately take Hep B at 2mth and 6mth. My 2nd dose only cost $10+, guess the 3rd dose taken at 6 mths should be about the same. Consultation only cost $4+.

Yah as seabreeze mentioned, the nurses are nice. They are also the ones who administered the Hep B jab on my bb.

Think I will check out GP price cos I heard from this thread before that it only cost $320+? But not sure if consultation fee is chargeable each time. Think GP consultation fee is also at least $20-$30?

Comr to think of it, I'll most likely bring her to GP for jab becos I want the extra 2 vaccines. Rota virus and something else I can't rem. My 2 yr old niece kenna rota virus at age 1 before. Had to be hospitalised. so poor thing.

speaking of which

reminder to all mommies to get medical insurance fast for bbs yah?! One of the plans I got is AIA starshield, a new plan which covers HFMD, food poisoning and dengue fever for kids.

fairy,
$500+ for a flu?

*faintz* is that the norm or your PD over-charged?

P/s anyone can recommend a GP who does 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 for bbs? With optional 2 more vaccines rotavirus etc. Preferably in the west but we're not fussy lah. can drive down jus for vaccines no problem