(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Serene, which package from Neo garden did u order? can share what are the dishes? besides loh han chye, what else not nice? portion small or big?

Thanks Serene, cuz website not clear, said 15% for package above 12.99, so i thot must order 13.99 to enjoy discount.

Mummies, full month party got taboo must celebrate in advance of actual date or on the day itself, can it be after the actual date? my bb actual full mth is on Thurs, but if celebrate coming weekend, too soon and I CAN'T EAT THE FOOD as I'm still in confinement. :p

moomooland,
haha, i was always on the look here. ya my bb also drinking 100ml and i was thinking should increase her intake liao but one day i tried 120ml~~she nv finished wasted my 20ml....
I know ur bb is one day earlier than mine.. hehe

Ann
Thanks! I'll see if I need it, I let u know.

Fairymoss
Secretly eat abit is ok i think..

<font color="119911">fairymoss: if not wrong, muz celebrate b4 actual date.

can eat a bit le since confinement ending soon n if not c-sect shld b fine.</font>

Devil,
The medela pump can fit all regular-size bottles

Serene,
Your guests eat very little? I ordered 35 pax for 35 guests and we have hardly enough for the late comers! :X I suspect some took 2 helpings at least cos they were raving about the food. Ha!

fairymoss,
Prima Deli is halal certified.

miss83,
Perhaps they changed the instructions. I am dead sure I saw the 5 times clause last time. Anyway, thanks for the heads up but I have not bought any to use this time round.

Fairymoss
I ordered NEO'S EXCELLENCE-A ($12.99)
1. SIN CHOW MEE HOON
2. LOH HAN CHYE- not nice
3. SWEET &amp; SOUR FISH- nice
4. CURRY CHICKEN- nice
5. BUTTER prawn- very nice
6. MINI CHOCOLATE éCLAIR- so so
7. DEEP FRIED PLATTER E1- nice
8. SEACOCONUT W LONGGAN
9. DRINKS-FRUIT PUNCH

Portion are small.

fairymoss, ya, u have to order 55-60 portion.. else don't think enough.. yes. 15% discount is only for certain packages.. perhaps my guests have bigger appetite as compare to Serene's one..
I ordered the indulgence set.. 17.99 ones..
I was also on confinement, but i already eating the food liao.. nvm one..

sooo happy! went on mjor "shopping trip" this weekend.

in 2 days i bought several toys &amp; gagdets for my bb, including top seller ones on amazon such as the rainforest jumperoo. can't wait to let my bb try them! also bought the bb bjorn air carrier and even full set of little einsteins dvds (for my niece who is 2plus).

spent $350 liao hahaha but damn worth it cos about 40% off retail price. bought al the v good condition or even brand new resale items. babes, do check out the "want to sell" thread when you have time. really good buys there.

oh yah, i'm using a conventional sarong sling which my mom made. excellent for carrying my bb around. been bringing her alotin this way since one week after delivery. compact, convenient and light way to travel. But does need getting used to at first. A delight once you get the hang of it cos it leaves both my hands completely free.

having said that I (just) bought the bjorn air carrier as my hubby refuses to use the sling. Am also worried that it might be difficult to use my conventional sling as bb gets heavier.

got to run!

after much consideration, i bought the avent storage bottles. Not the Via Storage ones, but those which are the same as the avent bottles. Kinda ex, but at least more long lasting ba....
might need to get more.. cos now only got 4 storage bottles plus two drinking bottles.

Help needed...

For the past few days, my bb keeps drinking and drinking non stop. My nipples are so sooooooore. She can latch on for almost an hour on both breasts but she did not seem satisfied. I just read that bb growth spurts starts fr 5-6 weeks and 3 months blah blah, and can be as early as 3 weeks. She is coming 4 weeks on tue. I get so vexed, lost and irriated... We do not know what she wants. she refuses to zzz. So far, max i can pump from each side during engorgement is 80ml only per breast. Everytime i almost resort to FM...

And i am having lesser rice than before delivery but having more dishes than before.

My MS seems low... like cant meet her demand...

I am ordering from neo garden. mini buffet. 15pax.

ivy - my bb is almost on total FM now.. my MS is dwindling slowly... i guess i will stop soon... anyway, her milk intake varies... she takes 60mls - 90mls.. depends on her ba... sometimes hungry wil drink all.. sometimes will merlion... heh heh

Hi reverie island,
Don despair...
How abt trying some food tat gives u more bm?
Fish soup is good! Im eating this fish called 'wu yu' as i still under confinement.

U 80ml per breast...tat amts to 160ml per time? Wow! My right breast seems to give out more bm than e left breast...mayb more open ducts, i guess.

I intend to persist bm till end July, b4 i go back to work. Now, i go for fm 2-3 times a day while e rest i try bf. I oso hav sore fingers n wrists; so scared of spraining them...so e Gerber Breast Therapy sounds useful...

Vivian pls count me in. not on PM but can contact me @ [email protected].

Fairymoss, mus it b microwaved b4 using e pads? Any other heating alternatives?

My bb was gek-ing for nearly 2+ hrs on e wee hrs of Sun morn...1st time, not sure if this is wat u mean growth spurt...care to share e characteristics? Does e bb cry non-stop n nothing seems to really satisfy him? My mom n i fed/cleaned/hugged him but he still looked upset. Even applied ru yi oil...finally he rested his cries when i put him on my chest...my mom n i thot he could oso b missing my bro's wife long cuddling in e afternoon...i oso kan jeong...tried measuring his ear temperature but pushed his ear away frm it... from 1-4am...luckily he slept thruout till 8+-9am.

I jus hope after my confinement, my hb n i can care for him accurately. Gotta pray for him oso cos indeed not everyday we can take bb's good behaviour for granted...

Reverie Island
Wow....80ml per breast is not too bad!!! Just continue to pump at regular intervals...you can do it!!! =)

Reverie Island
I am one mother who has miserable BM supply, trust me, your supply is considered very good as compared to mine. After pumping for 3 weeks, I have also learnt to acknowledge that giving FM to baby is not a bad thing after all if we do not have enough BM. At least we mangage to give some if not totally. And I believe that motherhood is more than just giving our baby BM, no BM doesn't mean we don't give our baby the best. Cheer up.

BTW, anyone tried Four Seasons catering? I am using them for my bb's full mth next Sat. The customer service lady is very friendly and prompt to my enquiries. Hope the food is good too. I have about 90 over guests, thought of cathering for 70 cos afraid of too much leftover, not sure if is enough?

Hi mums...check out these web links on Growth Spurts...from e experts...

It is normal...every bb is different but e articles offer some help on how to tide thru e sleepless nites...

Look out for...
a. when a growth spurt occurs
b. how a growth spurt looks like (sleeping a lot
is oso possible; not jus waking up freqly n
acting cranky)
c. how to detect a real hungry cry, besides e
sleeping noises made along e way

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/growth-spurt.html

http://infant-toddler-health.suite101.com/article.cfm/baby_growth_spurts

http://babyparenting.about.com/cs/sleeping/a/newbornsleep.htm

j7kp%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/baby/bbreastfeed/0,,j7kp,00.html

http://www.babiesonline.com/articles/baby/growthspurts.asp

http://articles.directorym.co.uk/Sleep_Basics_for_Newborn_Babies-a1079813.html

* applies to both bf/fmf moms

I m having e same prob with my gal these few days. she is 3wks old le and after feeding, changing we tried to put her to bed, she ll cry and we ve to carry her and walk walk but she ll cry after some time...can last for hrs..all of us take turns to carry her, so tired. My MIL ll try to place her to zzz on e tummy and its seems like she can sleep better.

should i increase her feed also? she is taking ard 110ml(EBM/FM) each time but when she refuse to zzz and cry. I ll latch her on and she ll suck abt 30-40mins then when we tot she fall asleep liao and try to put her to bed, she ll cry again...
Is this growth spurt?? Really TIRED liao.

And my MIL like not keen to feed so much, say she drink too much liao not comfortable. sometimes if BB cry 'for milk'in less than 3hrs interval, she ll say havent la..sometimes ask to feed abit of water or give pacifier..
Anyway we ll still feed her with MILK cos no one can bear to see BB SCREAM

hi.. read in previous posts that can buy fitti premium direct from supplier at $11/pack. Can PM me the contact no? Also, can I check the no. of pc per pack? Must order 6 packs of the same size?

Hi Pig Pig

My gal also 3 weeks old and same pattern as yours leh...today whole day cry and cry...she will sleep like for 30 mins then wake up and cry on and off the whole day and seems hungry all the time but each time only take 60ml...I also dunno what to do...she only manage to calm down ard 10pm.

Btw Mummies, do your bb hate to change diaper? Everytime we change her diaper she will cry and scream. I thot bbs dun like soiled diapers (?)

bluebell

yaya these few days we change pampers for her, she also scream....aiyo only when we carry her then she ll settle down abit..

juz went to some website tat tusky posted..hope these 'growth spurt' only last few days..cannot tahan for long leh..really tired man
Lucky my MIL always there to help and HB also plays his part..i already quite slack compared to em but feel so tired...

RE: CL
My CL requests to leave 1 day earlier. Say her next slot is delivering. Should I deduct 1 day off or don't give her ang pao? She actually did quite a good job during her stay here. But I just don't feel good in letting her leave earlier (partly also becos it means i gotta wake up for nite feed already). Any advise?

pigpig - ur bb drnking a lot leh... my bb is 1mth le.. but drinking ard 60-90mls nia... hmmm

pampers changing - my bb will cry n cry n cry when wet/soiled.. when we open the pampers then she will stop... close back then will cry to be carried.. and my mum is spoiling her rotten!!! have to keep telling my mum nt to carry and pat her to sleep... if wan put her on the bed and pat her to sleep but on your bodyyyyy if nt who is going to carry the whole night? grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

JG - its $60 for 1 carton of 6 packs. A person is allowed to buy only 3 cartons.. only can order sizes NB, S &amp; M. Fitti Tel no. : 6861 9155 . Offer til 30th June 09.

Pig Pig

Ya, I find it helps to "change hands". Stimes will help to calm bb for a while. Anyway also better otherwise one person carry will go mad :p

Misscandy

My maid also leh...keep rocking my gal now put her down only will wake up and cry...

ivy

My bb on total fm. When he is hungry he'll finish drinking 120ml in 15mins time. When he's not but time for feeding already he takes 45mins.

I was overly ambitious to bf but not blessed with bm supply. Aniwae i have 2 boxes of 25pces each lansinoh milkbags n 1 box of playtex liners, 2 jumbo pkts of 126pces of pigeon disposable breast pads, 1 box of washable avent breast pad n lastly an obuba wrap choc dots design. Sigh. Should have bought after i know what my ms going to be. Anyone keen pm me pls. I seldom read the thread.

Nana i had PM u already.. interested in the milk bags if you r letting off at a cheaper price..

reverie, 80ml per breast is gd enough.. if I can always get this amt, i will be very happy already.

re: growth spurt
my boy lately also seems to be in growth spurt. 7wks plus.. keep demanding for milk and very cranky.. but today he's much better.. hope the spurt is over..

Diapers
I am currently using Mammy poko size S.. if you have cheap lobangs for this, do let me know..

wintertime - i bought from giant jus the other day.. 72 pcs for 21.99 im nt sure if cheaper than usual but its supposedly on promo. bought frm sembawang shopping center GIANT. =)

JG,

Weird, normally they would inform the next mummy to wait for them instead. Anyway, u should deduct the one day and give her ang pow. Cos Ang pow is actually her "performance bonus" and she shouldnt be earning from both sides for the same day.

tuskywoolie, Serene is keen to order the gerber breast therapy pack with me as well. Will email you.

Serene, $5 registered mail to be shared among the 3 of us when I have confirmed with tuskywoolie.

anyone knows when we can reduce the freq of pumping? Or to extend the interval between? Feeling very tired having waking up to pump....

irene,

I believe is a trial and error thing. Cos different woman differs in terms of breast milk capacity and breast milk production. If u have the capacity, a reduced in the pumping frequency would not make a difference to the total volume of milk produced in a day. BM capacityhas no relation to the size of the breasts. Hope this helps.

had bb's first month last fri and CL left too. very happy to see her go, my CL has a very bad mouth and created some trouble at my house. also not pleased with her hygiene level towards baby. we cut her angbao for he troubles she caused.

re. bf
very happy my course of antibiotics ended, could bf baby again. bb latch on willingly
but he takes a while to differentiate btw my nipples and bottle teat, biting and chewing every first few mins he latches, ouch!
sore nipples all over again. tink my left breast flow is slower and more blocked ducts, he's happier suckling from right breast and bites left side more.

re. ms
ms dropping since i resumes bf. very sad
when i had to pump and throw away while taking antibiotics, was 100ml to 140ml each time, both breasts. now dropped to 60 to 80ml both breasts, like pre-Mdm Rokiah times. wonder if it's coz i'm having less sleep and rest since now taking care of bb now, lesser times to pump or what... hope ms will go up again coz bb taking so much nowadays, 120ml per feed...

re. blocked ducts
compressing but new blocked areas keep popping up. oso less time to compress noe tat CL left. noticed that the skin on my breast area is now dry and rough, not sure if due to all the hot water i hv been using, so sad

re. fourseasons catering
full month celebration food was from fourseasons catering, very good reviews from friends and relatives. service was very good and prompt too. the portions are huge, we expected 43 pax, ordered 40 pax, actual turnout btw 35 - 38 pax. a lot of leftovers even after we tabao for dinner.

re. care of bb
so tired after full time care of bb for 3 days, fri, sat and sun. hb is home with me these few days and helps out yet i feel so tired. every bath and wipe body time feel like a mini battle. bb dun really seems to enjoy it and we hurry hurry through worrying that bb will catch a cold, so crazy. then he refuses to nap or sleep nowadays. feed feed, carry carry, cry cry, no sleeping. yest got so fedup at bb for biting nipples really hard again and crying that i scolded him. poor boy, he's only 5 weeks old and i doubt he understand me...good thing though is he slept well after my scolding till 4am when he just woke up for feeding. hb feeding him while i pump. must try to pump more so can feed him ebm and give my nipples a break. suddenly i feel so happy mil is coming over to help tom onwards, else alone with bb i feel overwhelmed. really pei fu all the mummies who could take care of bb by yourselves!

re. bb first haircut
jts, in case any mummies oso keen, got taimaobi paz to come down coz we wanted to make the pen for bb. shaving is very fast and does not hurt bb at all. relatively safe. bb is now a very cute botak head

re. gerber breast therapy pack
does anyone knows how to warm this up without microwave? if poss to warm up without microwave, i'm keen to buy to try too. got the donut one from BP before birth but found it not good as it can't retain heat, only abit warm for less than 10 mins then cold liao. seldom use the hot stone now as find it painful when using and must rem to boil first, now is grab ant chance to pump when bb dozing, no time to pre plan compressing time...

miss83,
Yes. We are talking about the same Avent VIA cups

fairymoss,
If you are really particular about being in confinement and cannot eat "outside" food, then just avoid those buffet dishes with seafood like the prawn dish. The rest should be fine.

sung,
Tell me about full time care for baby! Yes, can be so tiring. I have been caring for baby full time since 3rd week of my confinement cos CL left early due to home emergency. Baby is 5 weeks old now. I have been managing a total of about 3 - 4hours ACCUMULATED sleep time in 24 hours. In the last 2 days, when I am done with chores and pumping and want to grab my afternoon nap, my #1 wakes up from his nap and I have to accompany him as well.

sung,

me also got same prob as u. bb would chew the first instant of tsking the breast in. going to try full latching today and see if i can correct her confusion. else very painful! i also always scold my 5 weeks old bb, she definitely dont wat i talking abt, hee. just bear with it on ur left breast, it would clear soon with bb suckling.

I'm going crazy with my 7 wk old gal already! For the past few days, she has been such a terror come evening/night time. She drinks and drinks but it never seems to be enough and demands to be HANDCARRIED all the time. The most frustrating thing is, when she looks like she's dozed off, we'll put her bk in her cot. And like MAGIC, her eyes will open big big and within 1 min she'll whine to be carried.

We changed her diapers, fed her milk or water but she still wants to be carried--this can go on from 7pm plus till 10-11pm plus! Gosh.

Is there anyway to resolve this? Any mummies already training bb to sleep thru? I'm not expecting my bby to be able to sleep thru the night now, but how do i make her not be so 'sticky' during the evening times? Its very tiring

pups,
wow, you managed to do it for 2 wks n with 2 kids! i only hv 1 and today's only the 4th day haha n i feel like going nuts fm lack of sleep already. juz apologise to bb, yest so angry tat i commented y did i bring myself agony by getting pregnant. angry words but def not wat i tot as bb is such a miracle gift to us considering tat we tried for a while. must learn to keep calm admist all the demands haha.

asura,
let me know if you hv any method to correct bb. si far i tried telling him and breaking suction by poking my finger in if he bites but it only makes him cry and becomes more frustrated tat his food is taken away, then he bites harder, sigh...i'm taking a break dis morn, will pump to give nipples time to recover before trying latch on again later today else really painful liao..

clio,
my bb oso behaving dis way for coming to 2 wks. at first i tot he's going through a growth spurt but now i'm not sure. he needs to be cuddled, else put him down on cot, he'll wake up and demand more feeding, despite juz drinking. sometimes even vomit milk fm overdrinking. so to prevent the vicious cycle, we juz carried him till he sleeps soundly and this means over an hr of cuddling. he does this from 8pm-midnight. i oso dun know wat to do...

sigh, seems like most of us have naughty cow babies! Hope they wisen up and be guai guai soon..

Pups, me also same like u.s. Accumulated sleep hrs ard 3 to 4 hrs. Haha. #1 and #2 really can shake hands. Take turn to torture me.. One sleep, one awake. Cannot sleep together! Terrible.

Clio , me is in a worse situation than u ah. My girl is already coming 7 wks. Night time doesn't sleep le.... Sigh. Carry, feed, pat, rock, whatever. From 10pm, can last till 3 or 4am, then she willing to zzz... Its been so long still no change. I already tried to keep her awake during daytime. Gosh. Killing me softly..

ivy
Can NUK teat fix to avent bottle?

i am seeing dr adrian this afternoon will check with him why my discharge is sticky yellow?

Misscandy
the price reduced already! i order mine for $66 per carton.

sleeping problem
not sure why bb behave in this way.....mine also.she sleep well in the day time but when at night she have problem to sleep. yesterday endup i bring her sleep beside me for 1 hr before i put her back to her bed.

Sung n clio
I think all our babies the same. My boy also started getting cranky fr 11pm onwards despite after being fed. Wants to be carried to sleep 1st before I put him on the bed. Now can still manage cos my mum is helping me, I hope this dun persist after I take over full time next week.

Did u try giving pacifier, it helps sometimes

and thanks for the feedback on fourseasons.

Sung, jia you...not easy taking care of bb alone, I know, went thru that with my first born and every evening I would anxiously wait for hubby to be back to help out :p After 1 week I cldn't take it, moved to MIL's place...btw, how much does the taimaobi costs? I'm interested. Years back heard that there was a hair salon providing free first hair cut for bbs plus cert but have not heard abt it any more. Any mummies know?

cindy,
i like your description "killing me softly" haha feels dis way already with just 1

scrumpee,
welcome. i'm still trying to hold bk on giving pacifier. worried wait bb more confused over nipples, teat and pacifier, means more chewing and biting for me
if i go nuts dis couple of days, may juz give him though.

bluebell,
thanks. the taimaobi got diff costs depending on which design and wood you choose for the pen. not cheap but good keepsake. from $168 onwards. i dun know abt the salon you mentioned.

clio,
Sung,
Yes! My gal also vomit milk from over drinking.
I'm going to try to keep her awake in the day starting from today. See if it works. Or else i am falling sick liao.
Already feeling feverish and sore throat. Arrgh!!!!

Cindy, gosh feel the same way as you. Baby been getting cranky recently, will fuss when feeding. Now takes 1 hr to feed her 90ml, aiyo I can go crazy soon liao.

I am training my baby to sleep through the nite now using the babywise method. It seems to be working as baby seems to be able to sleep longer in the nite. Hopefully she can sleep through soon.

My baby has sleeping prob too.. Difficult to put him to sleep at nite. Yest, worst, when I woke up at 3am to pump milk, the CL was feeding him and aft that, he refused to sleep. CL conveniently said why dont you bf him to sleep since you engorged. Basket! I gave her a glare and tried to cuddle baby to sleep. Finally, CL paiseh and said she'll take over.

I notice that when I latch baby in the lying position, he'll feel asleep easier. Mummies, maybe you can try this position.. The cute thing is, you'll realise your baby inching closer and closer towards you, think they like our warmth. I was so scared of suffocating him and tried to give him more space, but he just inched closer to me.

re: flu &amp; jaundice

went for bb PD check on sat ... his flu has cleared but jaundice is now at 13.5 =P though we all suspect that its BM jaundice ... PD wanted to be really sure so we sending him to do the liver test in 2 weeks time cos this coming weekend is his full mth party ... dun wan him to kanna poke on his full mth

re: BF

its really not easy to TBF ... when i was sick last week i oso suspected that my supply dropped like mad cos my breast dun have any sense of fullness at all and my bb was latching on almost every hour ... but now that i am getting better i can feel some fullness aft a cople of hours and he seem more satisfied compared to last week

re: carrying to zzz

you ladies got swaddle your bb? Cos i find that its q effectively as swaddling gives them the feeling of being carried

alternatively you can try to burp the bb too ... there was once when he keep crying once i put him down but when he got that burp out ... could sleep soudly

otherwise i oso dunno what else the bb wants le ... i must say that its really v frustating when they just cry n cry n cry

for me my real challenge is managing my #1 cos we can sense that he feels super insecure now that di di is back home (cos didi was in and out of hospital the first 2 weeks) and it didnt help that i was staying in the hospital for 4 days with the didi when didi was admitted for his flu

i even saw a pix of my #1 drawing of himself crying ... he say that he was v sad *sob sob* my hubby and i try to spend time with him when the bb is zzz so i am crossing my finger that he feels better now