(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Prosper
Pacifier will make the teeth grow faster? I'll try first... If can dun give her, then I dun give... My #1 still eating pacificer, but we give her only when she is going to sleep.

Srumpee
Ya loh... She follows whatever I do... Haiz...
BFing can do re-bonding and colouring? Will affect the milk anot?

hoho
How do u see the size to buy? It covers the whole breast?

devil,
the boss happen to be staying at bukit panjang, so i just pop by her place.

I got medium size. Give them a call. both lady boss are very friendly n pro bf!

I find really gd, and i dun feel nipple sore. Ya it covers the whole breast.

devil,
the boss happen to be staying at bukit panjang, so i just pop by her place.

I got medium size. Give them a call. both lady boss are very friendly n pro bf!

I find really gd, and i dun feel nipple sore. Ya it covers the whole breast.

Misscandy
Those were the good times... not now.. sobz... last night i fed 2 hourly... i started using my stored milk for her yesterday. she really quick at gobbling down the milk! i gave her today too. i discussed with my maid too, who has 4 kids. wonder is it becos my milk ducts are few and bb cant suck out / having difficulty sucking out... or my ms is really low so she tired of sucking...

scrumpee
noted. thanks. i bled on my first week too. dont know ma. thou the sucking feel suppose to be this way. at the end then realised nipples bleeding. but not as bad as urs... anw, i just gave her abt 50ml of milk aft she sucked for like 20 mins on my nipples... should i say suck or tickling my nipples??? sigh...

Me too, i cant handle bb if i m alone. i will go crazy cos she really treats me like a mother cow only...

moomooland
I am interested in the gerbert therapy too. i stay at kovan melody.

I smell my bm twice before feeding bb. it smell fishy and tasteless.. yucky!

Scrumpee
i oso go out too. to hockhua, ntuc etc to replenish stuff...

Devil
I called TMC's ParentCraft to check if I can still give BM after rebonding and colouring. I overheard the nurse asking Mrs Wong, she said no prob so I went ahead. But I also remind my stylist not to touch my scalp.

Reverie Island
I think our BM taste better than FM. I tasted both. I think my BM tasts better although tasteless. HAha...I am using Friso Gold as FM, it tastes more yucky.

Wah! I am so glad I am not the only with bb sleep problems. Re: fussy evenings - it's called cluster feeding, and it's very normal in bb's. Info here http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/fussy-evening.html so mums don't worry! Milk output and supply typically low in the evening time cos tired at the end of the day. Think abt it if we get tired bb will also get tired, and so mother nature created it such that bb tend to be more clingy and difficult to pleae and become full so wanna latch on and stick to us all the time - help to increase milk supply, and if feed more frequently just before bedtime, will sleep longer thru the night also. My boy started doing this in week 2 - also coinciding with growth spurt so imagine poor me trying to pacify him with continous feed and was worrying about overfeeding!!!

FOr the mums whose bb's seem to exhibit this behaviour pattern in the middle of the night as opposed to the evenings, maybe u could try and 'trick' bb's body clock - what I did to mine and it séemed to work was to simulate night time very very early - start bedtime routine in the evening ard 7pm when he starts to be hungry - bath and then feed, and during that feed, put in darkened room with dim lighting etc basically pretend it is 3am and it is time to sleep. indeed after a few days bb stopped fussing later and started fussing prior to 7pm.

Also, young bbs will want to sleep all the time, so the rule that keeping them awake in the day so that they sleep better at night is completely not applicable cos their body system is NOT like an older child or an adult. The more awake they are in the day, the more cranky, and the worse they will be to get to sleep and get worse quality of sleep also. So if they wanna sleep in the daytime, let them!!!

oh btw, i brought my ger to PD just now. got eye drop, ridwind for colic and dappy rash cream for her. asked doc how to increase ms. he gave me two choices. fenugreek from gnc as supplement or a med which i cant read his wording to be taken for two weeks. i choose the first one. is fenugreek effective?

i tink most of us have the same issues. my bb will sleep when i carry him, but when i put him on the cot, he will wake up soon.

when he latches on my breast, he will drink n cry, but when i give him EBM on the bottle, he is fine I suspect my milk flow is flowing too fast into his mouth, so he cannot cope with he fast flow.

when he sleeps, he also makes some funny noises, wich sound like some engine-cranking noises to me.

moomoo,

MMR = measles/mumps/rubella

Ester,

My boy is the same. Turns out he refluxing cos when lie horizontal the stomach contents/gas go back up. Will explain the noises when sleeping cos of the discomfort of liquid going back up and irritating the throat. Feeding at the breast is also worse cos of position bb is in when feeding. If your boy brings up a lot of milk or squirms and gurgles a lot when breastfeeding, or bubbles some saliva at the mouth when lying down, or vomits up a fair amount milk after he feeds typically when u change his posture, he may have the same problem. Just monitor and see how he goes.

http://heartburn.about.com/od/infantschildrenandreflux/qt/infantgerdsympt.htm

http://infantrefluxdisease.com/infant-reflux-symptoms.php/

Devil, go for a good haircut if situation allows,I am gng this fri while CL still around, need some ME time,keke...
I hv nt cut my hair for 6 mths and it is like wild grass lor, confinement worse, the scalp is so oily even I wash wif the confinement shampoo

Wah Scrumpee, u gng for hair rebond and colouring? When? good to pamper urself

I think it is still ok to go out for a short while, but food I be taking for 40 days..so will be ordering either newbaby or natal essentials confinement food after my CL left

Think my gal also hving grow spurt, try to give her more dosage per feed she cant finish, but she need to be feed per hr esp at nite

sung,

Those timing, my gal woke up for feed. I comeonline while waiting for nipple to dry.
Actually i sleep at 9+ pm to 9+ am almost everyday... but wake up to latch then pump if still full.

RE: latching...
me desperate also.. getting very painful that i tear. Haiz.. dont know wat to do.. called parentcraft and they ask me to go down for training. I quite reluctant cos i think once intro bottle, problem come back again.

devil, Hehe u think u could do me a favour and pm me with your cl contact? My girl friend is keen on engaging a cl so thought I can pass her your super good cl.. Hehe. Thank you!

Devil
My gal is the same oso. She'll imitate how I do the pumping & oso use the hot bottle to go over her chest...heee~~ Very adorable

Growth Spurt
Think my bb is gg thru tat. Does it mean tat we'll need to increase his ml for subsequent feeds from now on? Eg previously taking 120ml...this period 150ml.

Pups
Your #1 so guai liao ah...
My #1 still gg through the attention seeking stage becos she'll try to beat the brother and cry for no reason. Very tired trying to manage the both of them.

Fussy BB
These few days, he hasn't been himself. Dun really wanna sleep. If sleep, oni for awhile then wake up...wan pple to carry if not will cry till face very red and no voice. *tsk tsk tsk*

Gerber Breast Pads
Sorry abit lost...who is arranging for it?
Am quite interested.

Smell & Taste of BM
It can taste very sweet too. The smell & taste will very much depends on wat we eat!! =)

irene,
yes, we can sitback. very useful for me, at least my back not that aching.
oso i can take a nap during pumping time.

now thinking if i shld get the handsfree kit. :p

Hello mummies ,

Had been busy with confinement and baby so MIA for quite sometimes . Baby now in week 6 and baby also at times don't want to sleep at night from 12am - 4/5am . So tired looking after the baby and also at the same time need to look after the 2 elder gals .

My maid is from philippines and we paying her 340 monthly .

My MS supply reduce and now many half bm and half fm . Think need to get medicine from gynea to increases the supply .

Fairy Moss

My maid also can;t cook. Sometimes I cook. Stimes if I am very tired I ask her to cook. I give her instructions but I am a lousy cook myself so I am very lenient with her cooking...hee

BB wanting to be carried
Last nite hubby took over and persisted in not carrying bb even tho she kept carrying. He gave her pacifier, sang to her and pat her for 20 mins then she slept. I hope I can "harden" my heart and do the same today :p

Prosper, I thot pacifier not good cos will make the teeth layout not nice? My niece's front teeth actually protrude out a little and we suspect is due to her frequent use of pacifier. Ahyway my gal also using pacifier as last resort.

scrumpee,
bloody nipples...e way my bb boy latches on me hurts too as he has more strength each day...whenever it is his hungry cry...he literally screams! Guess when he is more aware of his envt, he will b more @ home n not so polite animore.

Try to nudge his lower lip to release ur nipple...@ least we only hav to deal w soreness, not blood! Whenever i cant take e pain, i just express my bm...

Teddybb
My hb bought an IKEA changing table cum wardrobe for bb around $250. I find e height e bit high for my hands but guess still manageable. Rite now, i change him either on my or his bed...all this carrying him n latching him does make my wrists n fingers sore...somemore only 1 mth...scared whether i can tahan till 4 more months...

Jus curious, some moms mentioned going back to work after confinement...i thot most of us hav 4 months of ML...? Ani1 here exception?

BBwise mtd...cheat e bb by making him sleep frm 7pm onwards...does it mean lowering all TV sounds/pple's voices n light @ this time? A bit unrealistic...but i do agree w e routine...feed/change/nudge to sleep/sleep pattern...Guess e struggle comes when we try all e above n they still eh eh eh...my mom said we used to b such well behaved bbs dunno why this group of cow babes so hard to please...wonder if itz e food we take prior to preg or e milk they drink...

BM vs FM...i tried tasting e milk too...ya super tasteless but taste like Gold to bbs! Mayb their taste buds not so advanced yet? They jus hav sucking instinct so they literally suckle @ anything...i oso against pacifier even though my mom pleaded me to pacify him...my breasts may b engorged every 1-2 hrs but my nipples not long enuf for him to suckle...end up his mouth jus slides out every 5-10 min then he will give me a gek n pek look...i c him so poor thing...if got energy will express b4hand...otherwise itz latch all e way...extremely tired...FM...

While we hav fussy bbs, sometimes e cry may indicate crankiness while going thru growth spurt; other times...could b he more used to us so more direct in expecting us to noe his needs?

Envy those whose bbs can goo-coo to mama...ya, they will get cuter when they reach this stage...

moomooland, the website ran out of stock for the gerber breast pack when i tried to order yest..

fairymoss, did you said u bought it from robinson? At what price?

bluebell,
ya i too warm the milk before use.

btw, after warm, how long can we keep the milk at room tempt before discard?

Latching on
eg. on right nipple
Make sure bb's mouth is open wide wide so it doesn't hurt your nipple and support the bb's neck with your left hand and push towards your breast nipple, the right hand squeeze your whole areola to fit the shape of the bb's mouth. Make sure bb sucks/ latches on properly before letting go of the left hand. Then right arm underneath to rest bb's head. Vice versa with the left nipple.

Crying/ cranky bb
I realise towards the evening, my bb tends to be more unsettled. This apparently is normal. Just try to entertain the bb during this time.

If they cry profusely, it usually boils down to these few things:-
* wet/ soiled diaper
* needs more feeding
* needs burping - usually the silent culprit

My bb usually has to burp more than once when she starts wailing and I will pass her to my hubby or Mum to carry so that she can burp out. The burp/s may come out only after 10-30 mins later.

Bb sleeping routine
Daytime: My bb has no routine. She sleeps very little but can be a stretch of 2-4 hours if she does.
Nitetime: She's quite consistent. Sleeps around 11-12am, wakes 2-3am, 5-6am, 7-8am.

Changing diaper/ bathing
It helps to feed the bb before changing or bathing the bb first then they don't cry. So feed/ change diaper/ feed again. feed/ bath/ feed again.

Hi mayb having a record of bb's feeding n sleeping time helps...

My bb qite consistent in e day; needing a feed every 2-3 hr gap.

For nite, usually get cranky in e 2-4am slot. Other than tat, ok...been like tat for past 2 days...

Perhaps we can help bb get into our sleeping pattern by keeping him awake as much as we can in e day. If not, we just hav to sleep bbwise w e bb...not easy lol...they sleep whenever full; we qite e opp of them...

vivien,

huh? which website u go to buy the Gerber pads? Yes, I got them from Robinsons @ $19.90, but that was in 2006. Only few days ago I opened the pack to use. was white elephant during my #1 time. U can call up Robionsons to enquire availability and price. I always call up to ask before gg down otherwise incur parking and ERP not worth.

scrumpee,
ha now i feel more comfortable. going to do colouring this weekend. But do i need to throw the first pump? do u do that do?

yesterday was another bad nite. I felt gulity thos morning when i found out that my floor got alot of milk stain.

She cant sleep from 11pm to 3am. I kept on swinging her in the laolan but she kept on making noise. I tot she drinking not enough so i gave her some milk. and never did i notice actually she is so uncomfortable and she spilt out milk in the laolan. I didnt realise until this morning. I felt very bad abt it.

And this morning, stupid me wake her up for shower and she suddenly jump out then cry. I feel so sorry for her.

completed a session with Mdm Rokiah yesterday, must say its a very pleasant experience, breasts so soft after the session..but the breast milk was all over the floor haha...

prosper, my boy is exactly like urs.. fuss from 11pm to 3am, gave me hell of bad times manz.. usually i don't wake hb up at night, cos i latch bb and handle myself.. but last night, he kept fussing and i got so fed up that I ask hb wake up to bottle feed him.. even after i just latched him!!! my boy just gulped down the 100ml of feed and continue to fus.. wah, cannot stand him..
he only manage to sleep from 3.30am all the way till 8am..

So i casually made a comment to my hb that I want to start FM at night and give BM in the day.. so sian to keep latching him at night and he refuses to sleep..

Prosper
No I didn't throw away the first pump, still give my baby as usual since Parentcraft said no prob. But do remind your stylist not to touch the scalp cos I also check with my PD, he said colour hair should be ok but he worried the dye will get into scalp so I did highlighting (where the stylist use aluminium foil) instead of colouring the whole head. Same for rebonding, no touching of scalp

pai say, hope i din confuse u gal..

blur blur n wintertime are the same person.. blur was the previous nick in SB..

moomooland, i had tingkat from mom's cooking.. very gd.. but a little pricy thou.. u can check it out..

Re:maid
i see, thanks for the reply on the wages..i thought indo maids are cheaper than philippino.. now then i realise that their wages are abt the same.. mine quoted my 340 new from indonesia with no experience and no off days.. hope she can help me...