(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Prosper,

No... rice wine not oily. My confinement prepared basin water pour with martell or rice wine for me to wash hand wash face brush teeth...
When i finish wash my hair, she even pour 1 cap of martell on my hair...
Hahaha... I also find it weird... but just obey and LUN lor...

sassybaby,
i still have rice wine, think i will prepare myself. Thanks Btw,my cl prepare ginger water for me to wash hands but so far most of the time, i just use tap water.

sassy - wad sweet wine? i only knw rice wine leh... gt sweet wine meh... hmmm

prosper - where do u live? i have quite a number of the herbs thing... u jus boil in a pot with water.. then use it to bathe cn liao... food wise maybe u cn cater? call those companies like. melrose bake house. newbaby. ehh ... i cnt recall the rest... natal essentials.. im sure they cn cater for u 10days or so.. =)

Sassybaby
I think the sweet wine your mum refer is the Wincaris. My mum use that to cook chicken during confinement. You can buy from NTUC.

Prosper
Same as you my mum want me to do 40 days confinement. Nut i thought after 30 days can bath but food wise still must eat those confinement food. Mmmm......later check with my mum.

Got hard time catching up with the thread.

RE: Full Mth
I am getting Sweetest Moments for relatives too. I like the packaging. And hb and me will be inviting our frens and colleagues to restaurant to eat. Anyone got suggestions on good and nice budget buffet to recommend?

RE: Milk Supply
My gal drinking habit is terrible. So right now, daytime I pump out to let CL feed her. Night time, I tell CL to give BM. So far my supply is not bad. At least 100ml each time at 3hrs interval, last pump at 10pm.. first pump at 9am can reach 200ml. Compared to my first gal, this time round is much much better. Remember to drink hot drink/soup 10mins before pump, supply will increase.

miss83
water retention will last one to two wks. dont worry. i hv checked with my gynae. your gynae is dr adrian right?

dont give up breatfeeding, at least you guys got the chance but not me......

misscandy,
Thanks. maybe ask my cl to teach me before she leave..

Really works for me too. Drink hot drink b4 pump, will increase supply.

Red date with longan,
My CL actually make the red date drink with red date, black date, longan, wolfberries, bei qi & dang shen. Just put everything into the slow cooker at night & it'll be ready by morning.
She said can increase milk supply. Not sure if it works but so far my milk supply is quite good. i can pump ~200ml each time (5-6hrs interval). Still, it cannot fulfil my ger's demand. She drinks 100ml every 2hrs(1.2litres per day) and I have only 800-1000ml. No choice, CL is feeding her FM during night time.

Finally I start drinking the fish soup with papaya today. The taste is ok though. I also bought the fenugreek raw seed and will try to drink it tmr. hope to increase my EBM. Somemore my CL told me my ger seems to hungry earlier nowsday & she'll be increasing the milk for her to 110-120ml soon. Faint*

prosper, same here.. each pump around 100-120, best yield i got so far now is 160ml, tat is i wake up late to pump. sometimes supply drop to 80ml.

sinmey, your supply is good. 800-1000ml per day.. i only get 700-750 the most

Sassybaby,
i think i know wat ricewine u r talking about.
i bought 5 bottles of the ricewine(from my ex-colleague) and had been eating it everyday since back from hospital. *sian*
Breakfast: mee suah with ricewine, sesame oil & ginger
Lunch/dinner: meat/chicken/pig kidney with ricewine, sesame oil & ginger + soup
I had finished 4 bottles in 18days and now eating the last one.

Not sure if this is what u wan. My ex-colleague bought it from her fren. This rice wine is homemade one so need to buy earlier. If you wan, i can ask her when she can get the wine if order now. let me know k ?

irene,
but still not enough for my ger leh ... she needs 100ml every 2hr and CL told me she need to increase to 120ml per feed. I need to catch up with her demands liao.
I just broke my record earlier, i pump ~280ml, but that is becoz the last pump was 8hrs earlier. My breast was so engorged and i just massage/squeeze till it's soft/empty.

dun give up, ur supply will increase de if u pump consistently.
Let's Jia you together !!

Re: Feeding amount
Seems like all your bbs are drinking a lot. My ger is only drinking 60ml. I doing latching most of the time. Gave her EBM at nite hoping that she can sleep longer. But she only drinks 60ml and falls asleep. Will not drink no matter wat. Ended up i have so much excess BM. I still pump cos at nite, even after a day of latching, my breasts still feel full. Gotta pump it out before I can go to bed.

RE: Full month cake
Can I check when do we distribute the full month cake? As my ger's full month falls on a weekday, we are celebrating earlier the weekend before. Do we only distribute the cake on the actual full month day?

JG - think most ppl will hold over weekend, and may distribute during the celebration itself...

sinmey and irene - how big are your bb now? as in how many weeks old, you guys seem to have very good ms.. *xian mu*

JG,
Having excess BM is good so that if you go back to work (if you're working), you have nothing to worry abt! Not like me...still thinking how to start stocking up the supply....but still cant bcos express today will feed for today/tmr.. =P

Moomooland,
Tatz wat I want to say oso...seem like many mummies have good MS... =P

ya me too Grace. the milk bags i bought will need to be sold later *sobsob* *cross fingers*

irene/JG, can share the secrets behind good ms? im sure mummies are dying to try out the secret 'recipes' ;)

Oh mummies
So envy u all can pump so much
For me every pump its like onli 20ml the most I get its on 50ml lor.Today its already day15 but supply still so low think will not catch up with baby feed ba.Haiz but at least gt feed better than nothing hope ms will go up soon.

sinmey
how many weeks is your baby now? 1.2ltr a day is a lot... but i so envious of you, can pump 800 - 1000ml a day... my boy taking around 750ml a day now, but i can only yield 350 - 400ml a day.

irene/sinmey
got any secret to share how to have good MS? like moomooland said, i will be dying to try out the secret recipes!

moomooland
Think i going to sold away my milk bags too. I might give up giving breastmilk. I got the feeling that my ms will be gone soon. I don't feel any engorgement, don't understand why.

Feel like giving FM and i will be relax. Haiz.....will see how.

full month celebration
check with mummies here... do we still have to give out cakes/eggs/ang ku kueh if we are catering food for our guests? we ordered cakes and ang ku kuehs, so guests can help themselves to the cakes and ang ku kuehs during the buffet. my family will be preparing the red eggs. i only invite close friends and relatives for this celebration. means i dun give out individually to the guests, they help themselves. is it correct?
then for colleagues, we will be giving out cake vouchers.

moomoolandy, zac is 24days old, borned on the 7th.
he is drinking ard 70-80ml per feed.
i dun have special receipes, din take any special stuffs, just try the power pump wintertime recommend and it works on me. Used to pump only 40ml both breasts also then slowly increase to 60, 80 and now 100-120ml. Oh ya, i pump for at least 20-30 mins each time. Pump 7x a day.
Got a fren told me if u wanna increase ur bm, increase the number of pumps per day n it will increase gradually.

I'm trying to stock up bm also. Stored ard 8 bags in the freezer. In fridge, got 2 days of ebm extra, guess cos my boy only drink 70-80ml every 3 hrs ba.

kome
i dun feel any engorgement too. i also dun understand why

i hope i dun have to sell away the milk bags that i bought, i am still trying to increase my MS. not going to give up without a fight.
you JIA YOU also, k?

kome, jtho, prob because body already used to making tHAT amt of milk that you remove so you don't feel engorgement, we're adjusting ourselves. don't Give up!!

irene
u did the 10mins pump, 10 mins rest, 3x or the 10mins pump, 1 min rest, 3x? how many days did u do?
i tried 2 days le, each day 4 times, today 3rd day, i done once. but MS still low leh. i'm pumping 8x a day, 3 hr interval.

kome, i dun feel engorgement also, but doesnt mean no supply. I only feel engorgement if i'm way way pass the pumping timing. Oh ya.. I fixed my pumping time so everyday i pump around the same timing. Maybe this will help? I pump at 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm, 10pm, 2am.

Jtho, i give cakes to our elders like grandma, granduncles, grandaunties only, the rest are vouchers. Thos invited to the buffet will not get cakes or vouchers.

cindy
i'm not giving up yet... but hope to see improvement soon.
just wondering if i should increase the frequency of my pump.

Jtho & Cindy
Really feel like giving up BM as my ms seems like so watery and my son after 1 hr will cry for milk again but when i give FM he can sleep for about 3hrs. By giving him FM, he can sleep longer and i can be more relax too as my hb or my mum can help to feed also.

i pump for 3-4 days using tat method, 1st day the 10min pump, 10 rest. The rest is 10min pump, rest 1-2min.
while pumping, i surf net, so will not think of the amt i yield.

irene
I did try the power pump also for 2 days but not much increase + my ms looks watery.
Last time for my elder son's full month celebration, i gave cakes to all the relatives and friends including those came for the buffet as they gave quite big hong baos and gifts while the cakes and eggs etc not that expensive lor.

kome, dun give up. A little ebm for bb is better than none. Maybe feed fm at nite so u can sleep longer.

Jtho, one more thing, drink water... I drink warm water or milo or the red dates tea before i pump.

jtho, no... Lazy to do it at night cos sleepy, did the rest 1-2 min de whole day thou. Nowadays sometimes if i feel my ms drop, i will rest 1-2min then pump again

Grace,
I was thinking it's a bit too early to store the milk. Can only freeze for 3 mths mah. For my #1, I ended up throwing away 40-50 bags of expired frozen EBM.

Moomooland,
I dun ve any secret recipes really. I TBF my #1 for more than a year before getting preggy w #2. Maybe MS already there. But my advice to all is that not to give up BF. It's the best natural gift we can give to our bb. It really built up their immunity as I can see fr my #1.

Drink more fluid,continue latching/ pumping regardless of how little ur ms is. I always believe we gotta train our brain to produce the required amt of milk. Like now, though my bb is not taking a lot, but I always latch her whenever she's awake. Regardless if she's drinking or comfort sucking, it will still stimulate the MS.

MY BIRTH STORY:

friday - 27/3 - my off day

had brown discharge from 4pm plus till evening - on and off but no pain at all - funny that it did not happen to my 3 pregnancies before--only my 3rd one showed aft i did enema

called my executive and told her - she siad will have blood show or waterbag burst - due to work till tue b4 ml.. so told her i will monitor till 5am or not will get my partner who is on AL to come back - she already on s/by

logged in smh and was in till abt 3am plus - told my executive i will come in for werk - she said no but i said at leadt to change agents skills (we are CSOs) then i go home

my 3rd boi cried so sadly when sleeping - sfter singing to him also he so sad - then i got a feeling to why is this happening - he usually does not cry like this - got a hitch that i mite deliver..

340am - put my head to my pillow when i felt water trcikling out - i jumped -hubby tot was blood - but no it was clear liquid - in my heart -dies must faster go as all my prvious ones - doc burst my h2o bag - shortly after i delver

345am -washed up in the toliet - out on 2 pads - hubby got ready and out by 355am

no cab in fron of my house(jam remember - where i collected naraya bag and passed u diapers that road) - taxis changing shifts - contractions were very close and painful then - hubby just wanted to stop any vehicle but i said no - we take a cb... slowly i walked - stopped when contractions came in and continued quickly when they were off.

0405hrs - managed to take a cab and i saw the time on the small screen tripe started: 0405hrs

held on to the hand rail on top of cab door when contractions came in and seems like forever to reach when u are feelikng like that)

0425hrs (i tink) time i reach - admin staff said can she walk up to delivery - hubby said maybe no - put me on whellchair and off i go to labour ward - no time for enema - nurse took off my cloths and asked me this and that - dr eunice chua was the replacement doctor i said.. and wanted to check how far dilated i am - couldnt even open up my legs when i was down on bed - i could feel the head liaoz - she said to take in long breaths in and out - she said "listen to me - relaxxxxx... take a long deep breath and out and out"- feel like kicking her at that point of time!!!.. continuing

she put in her fingers to check and quickly shoted -tell doc to come now - visible already - visible already - my hubby who was asked to go down to do admission was asked to come back up adn as they pushed me to delivery room - she had her fingers in there all the time and asked me tol follow her instructions ( later i know the reason being why hers finger there all the time was afraid my bb mite just fly out if i push (OMG!!)

once in labour room -all these while my eyes were closed - put me on laughing gas - asked me to follow instructions and for the 1st time i had it werking for me - i can hear these while on it - ida ida ida - are u ok ok ok ok.. i put up my hand and even showe my hubby the scissors sign (my hubby was to cut the umblical cord) the nurses was shocked that in middle of this pain i can still remember - hahaha.. the midwive was prepared to deliver me as dr chua was too far and didnt know if phylis liaw can make it - hubby held my gas mask - the next thing i remebered - the mask was off - doc was in front and the head was crowning - said relax - i pushed - 2nd time was out - i couldnt believe it - then tot bb muz be sammer to be out faster but was shocked when dr wanted to know what's the weight as she said ... this boy is sure a 4kg or more bb!!!true - 4.14kg elivered less than half hour and the most unbelievable part was.. i had no stitch.. wow!!! nurses congratulated me and kept praising how well controlled i am and very good - and even commmented - next time no 5 must come earlier ok!!! - i said huh?? no more number 5 lah!!!

sorry a bit long winded hor..

P3pp3r- Idaarshad pop already, 2cm dilated when reached hospital n within half hr she is fully dilated.. Her bb weigh 4.14kg... wooo~~~ tatz hugh!!! so envy sia with such a fast dilation – no lah .. I was FULLY DILATED WHEN REACH HOSPITAL… HEHE

Miscandy.. thank u

VIVIEN… thanks

Jtho.. thanks

how do we know how much to feed bb? My boy drinks about 70-90ml every 3hrs in the day & abt every 2hrs in the nite. PD say he's supposed to be drinking about 75ml every 3hrly. But I have no idea how much to feed him cause once he wakes up, he will demand for milk and at times, he can wake up like 1 hr aft his last feed & we feed him 15 - 30ml, just to let him suckle & go to slp. But that can only last for an hour & he will wake up again. (this only happens at nite)

Am trying to establish a routine & quantity, to feed him 80-90ml every 3hrs.

Anyone got cheap and good massage lady to recommend? My back are aching and feel like looking for Jamu massage with slimming effect leh. PM me if there is, can?

Sorry I MIA! It's been a month since I gave birth on 2nd March. Baby was 3.66kg at birth and I had to have an E-C section cos I wont dilate beyond 4cm.

Mummies who are Bfing, perservere! My baby was a sleepy baby and won't latch on for the 1st week. Had to wake him up every 3hrs to get him to latch. But I've passed that stage now and can now express abt 125ml (pumping both breast) every 3hrs. I feed him expressed milk once a day and latch baby on the rest of the day.

I also finally started my massage today, scared didnt want to start too early cos of my c-section. Also, I didnt need to have my stitched removed, it just disolved on its own. I read someone, Sung i think, you had your stitches removed. How come?

Ok mummies, I'll log in as and when I can. Take care mummies!

JG,

Can store early lah.. what i do is to freeze all my EBM and used thaw the already frozen ones for use. going to check out the price of a deep freezer, considering to get one if my milk supply increase further, cos my current output is between 120 ml to 180 ml per pumping session. Deep freezer can keep for 6 mths.

Jtho,

Jia you! Just tell urself that got feed EBM is better than totally no EBM. Ur MS still low or slowly increasing? I remember my increase in MS is abt 10 ml each day.. until now. stagnant. dont know if it is cos i stopped my fenugreek heh..

Promeganate,

How long did u take to pass the stage of getting ur bb to latch? I very tired of trying.. desperately seeking a solution to get my gal to latch for the entire feed. My let down is very slow.. takes very long before my boobs start to drip. Haiz..

To increase MS, frequent latching worked for me. For my first born, I did not latch on frequently and MS was very low. This time I can meet BB's supply. I also read that even if there is no milk when pumping, do continue to pump. I did that and shortly after the milk supply will come in. Hope this helps.

Hi Pomegranate

Your case like mine except that mine only dilated up to 1cm. Til now I still feel depressed that I cldn't go thru normal delivery.